View Full Version : Any Fitness Freaks out here?

Kreedam
30th July 2007, 09:21 PM
Raghu does green tea normalize your cholestrol levels?

Is juice fasting good for some quick fat shedding?

30th July 2007, 09:29 PM
Raghu does green tea normalize your cholestrol levels?

Yes, but it has to be PURE green T, none of that stuff they sell in super market, it has 2 come from a chinese herbal specialist

Is juice fasting good for some quick fat shedding?

No never, ever, u need 2 eat balance diet plus excercise 30 mins a day :D

Kreedam
30th July 2007, 09:43 PM
Raghu where to get pure green tea from chinese herbal specialist in chennai any idea i think ur from the US plz guide me or some online purchase ideas

chevy
30th July 2007, 09:48 PM
Raghu where to get pure green tea from chinese herbal specialist in chennai any idea i think ur from the US plz guide me or some online purchase ideas u get twinings green tea or lipton green tea in india also.. check out nuts n spices - g n chetty rd chennai, or even saravana stores .... u get it in many places..

30th July 2007, 09:49 PM
kreedam,

I am from UK, try this

http://www.chineseherb.co.uk/?gclid=CJjC3LfWz40CFScYEAod3AZngw

not sure how and where u can buy these from Chennai? :sad:

30th July 2007, 09:49 PM
Kreedam

to loose weight, pls follow my advice and others from the 1st page of this topic

Kreedam
30th July 2007, 09:51 PM
Kreedam

to loose weight, pls follow my advice and others from the 1st page of this topic

Dude i am asking for green tea not to lose weight particularly it has lots of anti-oxidants that has many other benefits thats why asking :P

chevy
30th July 2007, 09:52 PM
Kreedam

Dude i am asking for green tea not to lose weight particularly it has lots of anti-oxidants that has many other benefits thats why asking :P i told u ... u get it here in chennai /

Kreedam
30th July 2007, 09:55 PM
Raghu where to get pure green tea from chinese herbal specialist in chennai any idea i think ur from the US plz guide me or some online purchase ideas u get twinings green tea or lipton green tea in india also.. check out nuts n spices - g n chetty rd chennai, or even saravana stores .... u get it in many places..

thanks raghu and chevy :notworthy:

smith1
1st August 2007, 08:59 PM
If U want to purchase quality green tea, u can do so at ECO NUTS - a shop in besant nagar 2nd avenue (near the bus terminus).

All the products sold in the shop are organic & free from any chemicals/preservatives.

Not just green tea, but various varieties of tea, spices etc.,

Kreedam
4th August 2007, 10:14 PM
If U want to purchase quality green tea, u can do so at ECO NUTS - a shop in besant nagar 2nd avenue (near the bus terminus).

All the products sold in the shop are organic & free from any chemicals/preservatives.

Not just green tea, but various varieties of tea, spices etc.,

thanks amchi :clap:

Sweety4u
30th November 2007, 08:18 AM
Hai Raghu.....

I am new here....I read your posts ...Great...
Can you tell me What is the right method to do exercise ... means....which one first...and which next.......for weight reduction...

Best exercise for upper arms ..to tighten musles..wihout building musles :) ?
Plz....

cujoo
4th January 2008, 12:47 AM
Hello friends,
Can anyone let me know good yoga books in tamil or English that I could order online?
Tamil would be better ,cause they would been published from tamil nadu. English books talk about Pillates too.
I want to learn real yoga...

3rd September 2009, 12:15 AM
Doing Heavy weights at lower reps would build up muscle mass, and these muscles would use the fat from other parts of the body to release energy!

But with ABS it does not seem to work, any Ideas as to how to keep muscle bulk and have six packs, i find it virtually impossible, any ideas ppl?

3rd September 2009, 12:25 AM
[tscii:42afaef0d0]Example menu plan for a bodybuilder who wishes to lose body fat, whilst gaining muscle mass

Time Food Protein
Wake 7:30 am
7:30 breakfast 1 scoop whey protein in water 20g

2 slices granary bread toasted + olive oil based spread
½ portion MRP with ½ scoop whey protein in water 31g
100ml orange juice + 1 tblsp flaxseed oil

10:30 1 ½ scoops whey protein in water 30g
2 oatcakes
fruit

12:30 tuna (95g) + 1 tblsp low fat natural yoghurt 27g
½ small chicken breast (60g) 18g
1-2 slices granary bread + olive oil based spread
huge salad

15:00 1 ½ scoops whey protein in water 30g
2 oatcakes
fruit

17:30 ½ portion MRP + ½ scoop whey protein in water 31g
TRAIN

18:30
(after training) 2 scoops whey protein in water 40g

19:30 mackerel (95g) 20g
either 1 small jacket potatoes
or 50g boiled brown rice
or 75g boiled wholewheat pasta
vegetables

22:00 1 scoop whey protein in water 20g

23:30 100g cottage cheese 20g
23:30 - BED
Total Protein 305g

*MRP stands for meal replacement powder.
Sponsor message
AST VP2 from BodyShapers Fitness

This second plan relies less on supplements for protein intake and more on food for a bodybuilder who wishes to lose body fat, whilst gaining muscle mass.

Time Food Protein
Wake 7:30 am
7.30 1 scoop whey protein in water 20g
8.00 breakfast 1-2 slices granary bread + olive oil based spread
3 egg whites + 1 egg yolk scrambled 10g
250ml skimmed milk 10g
100ml orange juice + 1 tblsp flaxseed oil

10.30 120g chicken breast 30g
2 oatcakes
Fruit

12.30 Tuna (95g) + 1 tblsp low fat natural yoghurt 27g
1-2 slices granary bread + olive oil based spread
Huge salad

15.00 120g chicken breast 30g
2 oatcakes
Fruit

17.30 100g tuna + 2 tbsp low fat natural yoghurt 25g
+ sweetcorn
TRAIN

18.30 (after training) 2 scoops whey protein in water 40g

19.30 Mackerel (95g) 20g
Either 1 small jacket potato
or 50g boiled brown rice
or 75g boiled wholewheat pasta
Vegetables

22.00 1 oatcake
Stick celery
50g low fat soft cheese 20g

23.30 100g cottage cheese 20g

23:30 - BED
Total Protein 288g

Oh GOD, this looks like a full time job![/tscii:42afaef0d0]

7th September 2009, 09:50 PM
raghu udamba yehturathuku yethavathu vazhi irruka :oops:

10th September 2009, 08:54 PM
raghu udamba yehturathuku yethavathu vazhi irruka :oops:, yes, why not?, pls post ur question!

10th September 2009, 08:57 PM

udampa ethula yethuRathukku? :roll:

12th September 2009, 03:06 PM

udampa ethula yethuRathukku? :roll:

Tharaasula :lol2:

29th April 2010, 08:28 PM
bought forward for benefit of well being :)

9th August 2010, 09:32 PM
To do things 'before' exercise

1) Eat some light food 1 hr prior to exercise
2) Eat food is high in carbohydrate like potatoes/banana 1 hr before exercise to give energy (only do this if you are doing weight training)

"not to do things' before exercise

1) Do not eat and work out straight away
2) Do not have 'heavy' meals prior to work out
3) Do not take protein shakes before work out as this will make you feel tired (only drink protein shakes/bars post work out)

18th August 2010, 05:54 PM
:ty: Paramu... I hear people saying to me to not to hit the gym so early for weight training. They add that the growth of the body in terms of height will be drastically reduced and advised me to hit the gym after 25 or 27.. How far is this true ??

So, i have restricted myself to floor exercises which i do at home... Time being i concentrate on push ups and dumbells only... Are there more floor exercises ?? Is there any site which gives info about it in an illustrative manner ???

18th August 2010, 06:28 PM
:ty: Paramu... I hear people saying to me to not to hit the gym so early for weight training. They add that the growth of the body in terms of height will be drastically reduced and advised me to hit the gym after 25 or 27.. How far is this true ??

Vinod,

The above statement is only Fossible by Tamilians :rotfl3: I have heard this many times. When people say weight training, they automatically assume weight lifting (like the sport), which is completely wrong!!!

Weight lifting is different weight training is different.

Weight lifting: when you pick up the weights (bar bells) bring it to your waist and bring it above your head. This is a sport only; you need not do this to build muscle, its pure strength training exercise.

Weight training: is what you do with dumbbells, bar bells, Pulleys, cable assisted weights

So, i have restricted myself to floor exercises which i do at home... Time being i concentrate on push ups and dumbells only... Are there more floor exercises ?? Is there any site which gives info about it in an illustrative manner ???

Pushups
Pull ups (hold on to a bar and raise your self up)
Sit ups
streching

more to follow late, konjum busy

18th August 2010, 06:43 PM
:ty: Then i'll be hitting the gym soon... :happydance:

18th August 2010, 07:19 PM
yes Vinod Go for it dude :yes:

1st September 2010, 06:41 PM
Vinod

How is Gym work out going :)

10th September 2010, 06:55 PM
Vinod

How is Gym work out going :)

:ashamed: Rite now it's Home Gym !! Will let you know once i start going out ... The main prob is the distance !! Very soon things should be fine as i am going to move out of my current location !!

16th September 2010, 03:49 PM
Healthy Lifestyle Tip: Mental Health
"You're working out your brain at the same time you are working your heart," says Thomas Cook, Ph.D. a clinical psychologist and memory researcher. Cardiovascular health is more important than any other factor in preserving and improving learning and memory.

People who exercised during their working day were 23 per cent more productive on those days than they were when they didn't exercise, says a study from the International Journal of Workplace Health Management.

In one study, researchers scanned the brains of people who exercised for one hour per day, three days a week, for six months. They discovered an increase in the size of the hippocampus, the part of the brain that controls memory and learning. Working out literally made the participants' brains larger and allowed them to do things better that required concentration and recall.

"Exercise improves attention, memory, accuracy and how quickly you process information, all of which helps you make smarter decisions," Says Charles H. Hillman, Ph. D., an associate professor of kinesiology and community health at the University of Illinois. All that extra blood bathes your brain cells in oxygen and glucose, which they need to function. The more they get the better they perform.

19th September 2010, 12:51 AM
:exactly: Exercise and Yoga ensure a peaceful and focussed body and mind !! Great to know that it also improves learning skills :)

20th September 2010, 02:29 PM
:exactly: Exercise and Yoga ensure a peaceful and focussed body and mind !! Great to know that it also improves learning skills :)

It is all part of our 'great' culture 8-)

24th September 2010, 08:37 PM
Vinod

If you want any info about weight training program ask away. I am a Gym instructor, I am able to help

Shekhar
7th November 2010, 03:26 PM

My morning regimen is like this.
Get up at 4.45 AM.
Go for walk at 5.30 AM (I used to jog earlier, but stopped for the past 2 years due to knee pain)
I brisk walk for about 7 Kms (1hr 10 min)
Do workouts, stretching exercises and push ups (around 30) - 15 mins.
Do thrikoasan, skandasan and Suryanamaskar - 15 - 20 mins.
Meditation- 20 mins.

My height is 5' 8", weight is 64-65 kgs.
Would you please comment on this. Suggest any change ?

8th November 2010, 05:14 PM
shekar

your BMI seems fine, no need to worry, just increase your cardio to short intense work out, try skipping!

31st March 2011, 06:32 PM
Abs Exercise

1) The best thing to do is do Crunches in decline bench as it targets the lower part of the abs.

2) Hang on a bar as you are doing a pull up, but this time just hold your hands and the bar and raise you knees and touch your chin with knees.

and do lots of cardio this will make your six pack visible.

31st January 2012, 04:34 PM
One more exercise for side of the stomach is to stand staright, hold a dumbell , say around 30kg with you pam facing your hips and bend side ways. This will get rid of the fat on your side or the so called Love handles!

31st January 2012, 04:40 PM
This will also work your lower abs 1048

3rd February 2012, 01:29 PM
Ennala 7 second-ku mela thaaku pudikka mudila! :???:

JIN JI DU LI
JUST A SIMPLE BUT A VERY EFFECTIVE EXERCISE !

The essence of the exercise is that your "Eyes Must be Closed" when you are doing this exercise. You must practice the "Jin Ji Du Li" exercise with the eyes closed. This exercise was so simple and amazing that I thought I had to share it here.

Here is the exercise:
Stand on one leg while your eyes are closed. That is all. Just try it right now, stop reading and stand up, close your eyes and try standing on one foot.

If you are not able to stand for less than 10 seconds, it means that your body has degenerated to 60 to 70 years old level in other words, you may be only 40 years old, but your body has aged a lot faster.

I tried this exercise myself when I read the mail. I thought “oh, big deal, I’m sure I can do this easily” I was fooling myself, I’m glad I tried it because I discovered much to my surprise that while I could stand easily on one foot with my eyes open, trying the same thing with my eyes closed was another story! I just could not keep my balance for more than two to three seconds before I started wobbling and hopping around.

You do not need to lift your leg high, if your internal organs are out of synch, even lifting your leg this bit will make you wobble.

Now this was quite scary because it told me that my body was almost 60 years old and here was me, barely into my forties! These Chinese are really very advanced in their knowledge of the human body. It was very heartening to know that frequent and regular practice can help you recover your sense of balance. In fact Chinese specialists suggest daily practice of Jin Ji Du Li for 1 minute, this helps prevent dementia.

You can try slightly closing both eyes while practicing Jin Ji Du Li, instead of completely closing them; in fact this is what the health specialist Zhong Li Ba Ren recommends.

Daily practice of Jin Ji Du Li, can help in healing many illnesses or diseases like
• Hypertension,
• High Blood Sugar or diabetes,
• Neck and Spinal diseases,
• it can also prevent you from getting dementia.
Zhong Li Ba Ren has written a book titled "Self Help is Better than Seeking Doctors' Help", which is a bestselling book that has been the best seller health book in China since it was first published last year. Its success can be measured by the fact that it has been reprinted 12 times within 6 months, with more than 1 million copies sold. The book is a hot seller because is it teaches many simple practical health tips.

It is said that according to the understanding of Chinese physicians, diseases appear in the body because the coordination between the various internal organs encounter problems and that causes the body to lose its balance. Jin Ji Du Li can readjust this inter-relationship of the organs and how they function with each other. Zhong Li Ba Ren stated that many people can't stand on one foot with their eyes closed for even 5 seconds, but later on as they practice it daily, are able to stand for more than 2 minutes.

As you gain ability to stand for longer time, the feeling of "head heavy, light feet” disappears. As benefits or practicing Jin Ji Du Li, you will experience that the quality of sleep improves, the mind clears up and memory improves significantly. Most importantly if you can practice Jin Ji Du Li with your eyes closed for 1 minute every day, you will not get dementia.
(I think it this also means the brain will remain healthy).

Zhong Li Ba Ren explained that there are 6 important meridians passing through our legs. When you stand on a single leg, the weak meridian will feel sore while getting the necessary exercise, and as this happens, the corresponding organs of these meridians and their path-ways, start getting the necessary tuning. This method can focus or concentrate the awareness, and channel the body's qi to the foot. The beneficial effects of practising Jin Ji Du Li on various illnesses associated with hypertension, diabetes, neck and spinal diseases are quick to be seen and felt. Jin Ji Du Li can also prevent gout.

Jin Ji Du Li helps to Strengthen body Immunity rapidly.

Jin Ji Du Li it is suitable for everyone generally. It is the basic cure for "Cold Feet Disease” and it can also strengthen the body’s immunity. You do not have to wait until you have any illness to start practicing Jin Ji Du Li. It is especially beneficial for young people, when they practice it daily while they are healthy, so that their chances of contracting the various illness associated with aging is comparative lower.

Please note that it is not suitable for people over 70 years old, or those old people whose legs are not strong and cannot stand steadily.

3rd February 2012, 02:26 PM
Ennala 7 second-ku mela thaaku pudikka mudila! :???:

I tried it too.. not even 7 seconds... on the 3rd attempt managed up to 9 secs with much struggle. And felt a bit vomitish at the end. But I will keep trying. Thanks for this info.

3rd February 2012, 02:40 PM
tried in the washroom :D
first left foot - lasted abt 4 secs
than right foot - lasted more than 10 secs
after that it was easy :D

3rd February 2012, 03:27 PM
Sridhar

I tried it got one of mates to count, he said i lasted 21 secs, is that good or bad?

what is JIN JI DU LI btw? some sort of Chinese excercise?

3rd February 2012, 03:50 PM
I tried it got one of mates to count, he said i lasted 21 secs, is that good or bad?
you have another birth...

3rd February 2012, 05:07 PM
No Need Sridhar,

I read from google :)

10th April 2012, 08:56 PM
Excessive stress

Stress can do a lot of damage, but did you know it can make you fatter? "When you get stressed you get a surge in the hormone adrenaline. Over time, too much stress wears out your adrenaline receptors and means that you develop adrenaline resistance, the result of which is increased fat storage,"

Reducing stress isn't easy but the first step is to identify what's causing the stress, then you can work out how to avoid it or cope better. Planning your day is a good place to start, as not only will you feel more on top of things, but it can help you include mealtimes, training and socialising to keep you focused and on track.

8th January 2013, 10:22 PM
The best way for 6 packs from your Sofa!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3fU_8kJeXeE&feature=player_embedded

Chappani
9th January 2013, 11:30 AM
Hows the new Orbit elite folks?, was planning to buy one for the Family.

8th October 2015, 08:02 PM
Good old memories from the hub :|