View Full Version : Sindhanai Selvar Dr.Kamal HaasaR - favourite movies,scenes 2
23rd September 2010, 12:45 AM
in PV, the scenes were fluent and enjoyed without a good brain,
Virumandi had diff twists and actually requires some thinking level to enjoy it well.
Thats what was our conclusion when we friends had an discussion on both these movies.
Movie Cop
23rd September 2010, 12:54 AM
Though PV is a pretty good movie in it's own right, I think it lacked some of the finer nuances that Virumandi had both on it's characters and the overall film direction.
tamizharasan
23rd September 2010, 01:14 AM
in PV, the scenes were fluent and enjoyed without a good brain,
Virumandi had diff twists and actually requires some thinking level to enjoy it well.
Thats what was our conclusion when we friends had an discussion on both these movies.
Yes Kamal is good at creating several layers underneath the surface. That is why he is considered to be well ahead of his times.
tamizharasan
23rd September 2010, 07:31 PM
From Vikatan
மூன்றாம் பிறை
'அம்னீஷியா' என்கிற சினிமா வியாதி, 'அமரதீபம்' காலத்தில் தோன்றி இன்னிக்கும் பல திரைக் கதாசிரியர்களுக்குக் கை கொடுத்து வருவது நமக்கெல்லாம் நல்லா தெரியும். அப்படித் தெரிஞ்ச ஒரு வியாதியாலே பாதிக்கப்பட்ட ஓர் இளம் பெண்ணை வச்சுதான் கதை அமைச்சிருக்கார் பாலுமகேந் திரா. ஆனா, அதிலே எவ்வளவு வித்தியாசமா தன்னோட திறமையை வெளிப்படுத்திக்கிட்டிருக்கார் தெரியுமா!
விபத்தில் தொடங்கற கதையை அவர் படிப்படியாக டெவலப் செய்து, ஊட்டிக்கு அழைத்துப் போறது கொள்ளை அழகு!
ஸ்ரீதேவியின் பாத்திரப் படைப்பைப் பழுதில்லாமல் செதுக்கியிருப் பதில் கைதேர்ந்த சிற்பியாக உயர்ந் திருக்கிறார் டைரக்டர். வயசுக்கு வந்த ஒரு பெண்ணை வயது குறைந்தவளாகக் காட்டுவது கம்பி மேல் நடப்பது மாதிரி! நினைவுகள் பின்னோக்கிச் சென்றுவிட்ட பின், வயசு மட்டும் குறைந்துவிடுமே தவிர, தோற்றம் குறுக்கே வந்து ஆபாசத்தையும், விரசத்தையும் கை நீட்டி வரவேற்க ஆரம்பிச்சுடும். இங்கே அது கடுகளவுக்குக்கூட கிடையாது. இதுவே இயக்கியவருக்கும், இயக்கப்பட்டவருக்கும் பெரிய வெற்றி!
அந்த நாய்க்குட்டிக்குப் பேர் வைக்கிற விஷயம் குட்டி சமாசாரம்தான்! ஆனா, அதற்குச் 'சுப்பர மணி' என்று பேரிட்டு, தன் மழலைச் சொல்லால் 'சுப்பரமணி, சுப்பரமணி' என்று வாய்க்கு வாய் கூப்பிடும் அந்த நடிப்புக்கு நன்றி!
சகிப்புத் தன்மைக்கு முழு அர்த் தத்தை இந்தப் படத்தில் காட்டிவிட் டார் கமல். ஸ்ரீதேவியின் அச்சுப் பிச்சுக் கேள்விகளுக்கெல்லாம் பொறுமையாகப் பதிலளித்து, பொறுமையைச் சோதிக்கும்போது (இங்க் பாட்டில் விவகாரம்) பொறுப் போடு கடிந்துகொண்டு, 'நோயாளி' யைக் குஷிப்படுத்த குரங்கு மாதிரி குட்டிக்கரணம் போட்டு... 'ஐயோ பாவம்' என்று அனுதாபப்பட வைக்கிறார்.
ஸ்ரீதேவியின் மழலையும், சிரிப்பும், வெகுளித்தனமும் அவரை அசல் குழந்தையாகவே நமக்குக் காட்டறதனாலே ஒரு சீன்லே கமல் அந்தக் 'குழந்தை' தூங்கப் போவதற்கு முன்னாலே, "பாத்ரூம் போயிட்டியோ?" என்று கேட்பதுகூட விரசமாகவோ, தரக்குறைவாகவோ படலே! அதே போலத்தான் ஸ்ரீதேவி கமலுக்கு முத்தம் கொடுக்கிற ஸீனும்... தியேட்டர்லே ஒரு விஸில் சப்தம் கேட்கணுமே... நோ!
இந்தப் படத்துக்கு இளையராஜாவின் இசை உருப்படியான பக்கவாத்தியம்! ஏற்றவேண்டிய இடத்தில் ஏற்றி, இறக்க வேண்டிய இடத்தில் இறக்கி... குறிப்பா படுக்கை அறையில், முதன்முதலாக ஸ்ரீதேவியை கமல் சந்திக்கும் இடத் தில் வெறும் கடிகார 'டிக்டிக்' ஓசையைப் பயன்படுத்தியிருக்கிற டெக்னிக், டாப்!
பாலுமகேந்திராவின் காமிரா பிரமாதம்னு சொல்றது, நாகஸ்வர மேதை ராஜரத்தினம் பிள்ளையின் தோடிக்கு புதுசா சபாஷ் போடறது மாதிரி! இருந்தாலும், அவர் ஊட்டியின் பனிச் சாரலையும், மழைத் தூறலையும் கண்முன் கொண்டு நிறுத்தியிருக்கிறதைக் குறிப்பிடா விட்டால் அது மாபெரும் அநீதி!
தயக்கமில்லாமல் 53 மார்க் கொடுப்பேன்.
1st October 2010, 11:19 PM
Revisiting scenes from Viruman
The absolutely minimalistic score - Enna confidence (rendu perukkum)!
2nd October 2010, 01:31 AM
From Vikatan
மூன்றாம் பிறை
ஸ்ரீதேவியின் மழலையும், சிரிப்பும், வெகுளித்தனமும் அவரை அசல் குழந்தையாகவே நமக்குக் காட்டறதனாலே ஒரு சீன்லே கமல் அந்தக் 'குழந்தை' தூங்கப் போவதற்கு முன்னாலே, "பாத்ரூம் போயிட்டியோ?" என்று கேட்பதுகூட விரசமாகவோ, தரக்குறைவாகவோ படலே! "பாத்ரூம் போயிட்டியோ?" என கேட்பது தரக்குறைவாகவோ, விரசமாகவோ யாருக்குத் தான் தோன்றும்? இவுனுங்களே மனசுல அப்படி நினைச்சிகிட்டு, அதை பொதுப்படுத்துறானுங்க.. :banghead:
breadpuli
2nd October 2010, 01:04 PM
In Jaya TV just finished MMKR :2thumbsup:
Now (1:30) in Kalaignar TV Dasavatharam :bluejump:
2nd October 2010, 01:30 PM
Sun TV too finished VV now!
Ghandi Jayanthi or Kamal Jayanthi?
2nd October 2010, 01:34 PM
Adhukku thaane Mahatma DaaktEr Kamal nu peyar soottappattirukku
2nd October 2010, 03:50 PM
enna irundhaalum mahatma'va suda paatthavar dhanae namma Kamal..
2nd October 2010, 07:54 PM
but he didnt shoot. atha paaraati thaan ippo kamal padangalaa poduraanga....
2nd October 2010, 07:56 PM
but he didnt shoot. atha paaraati thaan ippo kamal padangalaa poduraanga.... :lol: ..EXPECTED HEYRAM ON KALAIGNAR...BUT PAZHASI POTUTAINGE :?
2nd October 2010, 08:41 PM
but he didnt shoot. atha paaraati thaan ippo kamal padangalaa poduraanga....
sakala, i din say it in that tone :)
rangan_08
5th October 2010, 07:02 PM
As we all know, its always a great pleasure watching Kamal giving out extra ordinary & brilliant performances. It's equally exciting to watch him as a smart, handsome, flambuoyant & tough guy.
It's an absolute treat to watch him in " karka karka kallam karka..." & the fight sequence preceding the song.
Naasthi intro.
breadpuli
5th October 2010, 08:06 PM
enna irundhaalum mahatma'va suda paatthavar dhanae namma Kamal..
??? Kamal was born in 1954; How he could have tried to shoot Gandhi?
:?: :?: :?:
(kidding) :-)
breadpuli
5th October 2010, 08:07 PM
As we all know, its always a great pleasure watching Kamal giving out extra ordinary & brilliant performances. It's equally exciting to watch him as a smart, handsome, flambuoyant & tough guy.
It's an absolute treat to watch him in " karka karka kallam karka..." & the fight sequence preceding the song.
Naasthi intro.
5th October 2010, 08:32 PM
Bala K, a question for you.
What was the HC Kamal Fan reaction to Indian? Just enjoy as a blockbuster or serious boasting in acting stakes? I do not know many Kamal fans who hold Indian in high esteem purely as a vehicle for boasting about Kamal's acting capabilities.
Disclaimer: I emphatically disagree with Kid's assertion that his "reputation" is only a luxury for Kamal. There is an other side (actually other sides) to it and he is just a mathalam, especially in the internet, middle class mama/maamis and Indian media.
Of course what Kid says is true in a "general public" sense. Box office poruthavaraikkum it is a double-edged sword.
Coming to your question, enakku therinju, Kid solra madhiri, neraya fans rave about the performance - internet and field level. That Kamal kind of disowns it is of little consequence :lol:
Let me state the obvious just in case: I certainly don't think it ranks high up in Thalaivar's scale
20th October 2010, 01:38 PM
Moondram pirai on KTV.
The way Sridevi is introduced in the beach, the costume, shades, and the way she treads over the waves is reminiscent of a film star. (and the beach, guitar, etc serves to mind "En Iniya Pon Nilave" - perhaps Sridevi is channeling the Shoba-on-location as Balu knows it) Balu has of course said the whole relationship and the story is written out of the memory, angst, innocence, and loss of that real life relationship with Shoba.
21st October 2010, 07:43 PM
PESUM PADAM
the waykamal brks the stick trying to do magic and escaping from the shop.. :rotfl: :rotfl:
24th October 2010, 02:04 PM
One of the best songs in Telugu cinema: (High quality video)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WiUrKoKAWgo
25th October 2010, 05:41 AM
Watched DEVAR MAGAN (1992) this weekend! What a classic... :clap:
Sudarsh
25th October 2010, 05:45 AM
Thenali is probably one of the best Kamal Hassan films. Comedy is good in every single scene.
Riyazz
25th October 2010, 10:40 AM
Kuruthi punal is nt in option :huh:
25th October 2010, 01:25 PM
Just plugging my blog post that mentions Kamal. :D
25th October 2010, 01:27 PM
have you hired Feeyar's publicist, grouch? :-)
25th October 2010, 01:35 PM
Oh Makkal Todarbu? Kamman, who is it? Enna contact panna sollungga.
Maniraj
25th October 2010, 01:36 PM
Voted for Anbe Sivam :notworthy:
Next in my list would be MMKR :thumbsup:
28th October 2010, 11:36 AM
Anbe Sivam is the crowd favorite. I didn't vote for it. But have to mention a snippet of the affecting performance, the beginning of "Yaar yaar sivam" song with fully plastered bed ridden Kamal. To emote various emotions with just the right eye. I know some would want him to turn a full-fledged director, but the actor Kamal shouldn't be wasted. :notworthy:
28th October 2010, 11:38 AM
I haven't voted yet :P.
28th October 2010, 11:43 AM
Vote for Thevar Magan, let's take it to no.1 spot. Ahead of AS. :)
28th October 2010, 11:54 AM
I have voted for Nayagan... Till now antha performance match paNRa maathiri ethuvum varala engRathu ennudaiya abipraayam. Subtlety at its best in every frame and very natural too in terms of performance. Even as a movie it was great. Dhevar magan is a close second but that had NT. Without NT I dont think it would have been that effective. Anbe Sivam was good and I liked it a lot but overall it had the typical Kamalism. Virumandi was great in terms of Direction.
And IMO Kamal's career life has to eras; Naayaganukku Mun - Naayaganukku Pin.
28th October 2010, 12:08 PM
Yes, Roshan. But one advantage of Nayagan (over performances like Moondram pirai, Guna, Mahanadhi, Thevar Magan, etc) is the different stages of character's life being chronicled.
In this regard, I rate Sagara Sangamam and Swathi Muthyam performances higher than Nayagan. But that's just me. :)
28th October 2010, 12:21 PM
:).
Nayagan; I will never be unable to seperate The Godfather when I think of Nayagan. So i just cannot vote for it.
Thevar Magan: Great contender. One of the Best Tamil Drama's. This is a better adaptation of The Godfather compared to Nayagan. And NT sir is a treat.
Mahanadhi: Power of Emotion. I can never convince myself to watch that film again. Eternally poignant and soul absorbing. Director Myskin once said that when he and his friend watched the film in a theatre they started walking home on the opposite sides of the road. That effect created :bow:.
Guna: I have to confess here I've somehow liked Thalapathi more among the same releases. Somehow this film never appeals to me much.
Virumaandi: A very good film. Well directed. But something is missing to be added in that exclusive list of great films like the above ones.
Aboorva sago: Best entertainer made. The registrar office scene will come in as the top 5 acting scenes of Kamal. One of the biggest BB's and I remember I had to watch it after the 90th day of release.
Salangai Oli, No I go for the Telugu film saagara sangamam: A very very unique film. I am glad that there is a film which show cases Kamal's classical dancing skills. K vishwanath or the producer of the film stated that he had to approach Kamal because all the top heros didn't want to do this film. Chemistry with Beauty queen Jayaprada is the best. Better than with sridevi.
Hey ram: Highly difficult to categorize. Better people have written about the direction and other aspects involved. This is a great ling (http://www.uiowa.edu/~incinema/HEYRAM.html)
MMKR: A film for all ages. Cuts across every age groups and appeals to all film genre lovers. Simple fun.
Anbe sivam: Quite simply the most watched film of KH for me. That this film is a loss is a personal loss of mine and changed my movie preferences forever. Maddy is great too. A Film that is the need of the hour/society.
Vote for Thevar Magan, let's take it to no.1 spot. Ahead of AS. :)
Notable Misses:
Kuruthi punal is missing from the list. That's a closest to the most perfect film and a benchmark for Tamil action thrillers. Acting is very fine too. No Nonsense's elsewhere in the film. In one of these days I have to watch Drokhaal too.
16 Vayadhinile: BR's best effort. Kamal's best performance yet.
Moondram pirai/Pushpak/Satya.
28th October 2010, 12:21 PM
Yes, Roshan. But one advantage of Nayagan (over performances like Moondram pirai, Guna, Mahanadhi, Thevar Magan, etc) is the different stages of character's life being chronicled.
In this regard, I rate Sagara Sangamam and Swathi Muthyam performances higher than Nayagan. But that's just me. :)
Swathy Muthyam'la mentally challenged role - so I will not take that into consideration (mental characters paNNi niRaiya actors pEr vaangiyirukkaanga).
Sagara Sangamam didnt precisely show case the different stages of life as opposed to Nayagan. I dont think the Director would have attempted Saagara Sangamam if not for the cocept which was mainly Classical Dance. And for that matter the movie wouldn't have been a reality with any other actor. It was ONLY Kamal possible film largely due to dance. (athukkaaga, appadinnaa Vineet kooda paNNuvaarE'nu rasigargaL yaarum argue paNNa koodathu)
28th October 2010, 12:27 PM
Swathy Muthyam'la mentally challenged role - so I will not take that into consideration (mental characters paNNi niRaiya actors pEr vaangiyirukkaanga).Nononono....Kamal took it as challenge, made it real,layered and melted us. Others use it plainly for recognition. A crutch. After NT & Kamal, I don't think there was anyone capable of doing this kind of roles in Tamizh film (my Prabhu utpada).
And yes, I voted for Guna. :D
28th October 2010, 12:35 PM
Well written Feddy :) Take some time off once in a while from watching world movies and and try to contribute here.
Guna: I have to confess here I've somehow liked Thalapathi more among the same releases. Somehow this film never appeals to me much.
Same here.. naanum confess paNNikkuRaen..
Virumaandi: A very good film. Well directed. But something is missing to be added in that exclusive list of great films like the above ones.
Yeah I agree !
Salangai Oli, No I go for the Telugu film saagara sangamam: A very very unique film. I am glad that there is a film which show cases Kamal's classical dancing skills. K vishwanath or the producer of the film stated that he had to approach Kamal because all the top heros didn't want to do this film. Chemistry with Beauty queen Jayaprada is the best. Better than with sridevi.
Nicely put! and IMO Rajini-Sreedevi chemistry was better than Kamal-Sreedevi.
28th October 2010, 12:59 PM
As Grouch bhai says, the best thing about Swathi Muthyam is Kamal's self-effacing and nuances in innocence, purity of a man-child, rather than blandly be "mentally challenged". 16V is no different but I feel the range of emotions is on a different scale in SM (how the pristine reaction of the character makes profound sense to Radhika's Widow character, that sometimes the most innocent soul would show up the flawed societal restriction!) Guna feels more like Schizoid than Autism. Alavandhaan's Nandu poses the extremity of Schizophrenia with chilling animosity. I don't know if there are other actors who have rendered the differences within the generic "mentally challenged" type to the extent KH has. Of all, Swathi Muthyam seems like a wondrous creation as its title suggests. Yes, Kamal, the writer-director is unparalleled, but the actor is a great co-author himself!
Sagara Sangamam- it's about a classical dancer to be sure. But that seems like oversimplification. It seems like Kamal's "Raging Bull" to me (this bit is for Deniro fans like myself and Grouch brother). It would be a grand understatement to call it a "boxing film". Like how we see La Motta's life being the real "boxing" to counterpoint the one in the ring. At least, the latter has its rules. That's the whole point of that film. Similarly, it's only incidental that SS is about classical dancing that it doesn't translate to simplistic terms. The actual dance (of love, loss, pain, etc) is the character's life. Again, the whole gamut of emotions that Kamal brings into this character ranks as the Arangetram of a real "actor", a true artist. I repeat, Kamal the actor is no lesser an "author" than writer-director. Two wonderful collaborations with KV.
28th October 2010, 01:04 PM
I know some would want him to turn a full-fledged director, but the actor Kamal shouldn't be wasted. :notworthy:
onRE onRai theLivu paduthikkoLLa virumbugiREn: the gain from Kamal becoming pfull time writer director would be significantly more than the loss, in case he reduces his work as an actor. That said, of course, he should continee to act :-)
28th October 2010, 01:10 PM
Sagara Sangamam- it's about a classical dancer to be sure. But that seems like oversimplification. It seems like Kamal's "Raging Bull" to me (this bit is for Deniro fans like myself and Grouch brother). It would be a grand understatement to call it a "boxing film". Like how we see La Motta's life being the real "boxing" to counterpoint the one in the ring. At least, the latter has its rules. That's the whole point of that film. Similarly, it's only incidental that SS is about classical dancing that it doesn't translate to simplistic terms. The actual dance (of love, loss, pain, etc) is the character's life. Again, the whole gamut of emotions that Kamal brings into this character ranks as the Arangetram of a real "actor", a true artist. I repeat, Kamal the actor is no lesser an "author" than writer-director. Two wonderful collaborations with KV. :shock: You continue to amaze me, brother. Truly :notworthy:
28th October 2010, 01:35 PM
Neenga namma settu
28th October 2010, 01:38 PM
Neenga namma settu
aahaa, thread,poll create pannittu naane marandhutten, that it was for best film and not necessarily best acting-nu.. oru mudivukku vara mudiyaama naan innum vote pannala :oops:
28th October 2010, 01:43 PM
Thilak :thumbsup:
28th October 2010, 01:44 PM
edhukku pOttEnnu enakkE theriyalai. Must be Mahanadhi.
28th October 2010, 01:47 PM
edhukku pOttEnnu enakkE theriyalai. Must be Mahanadhi.
Best film appadinnu paartha - I would pick Dhevar Magan. irunthaalum Naayaganai vittu kodukka manasu varumaanu theriyala :?
Sid_316
28th October 2010, 02:31 PM
Seen anbe sivam like 15 times or something.. but voted for guna 8-)
28th October 2010, 02:31 PM
feeyaar, nAn paNnina campaign-nAla MMKR-ku pOttIngannu nenaikkaREn
28th October 2010, 04:05 PM
Tough for any film to beat Aboorva, but vote nu varumbodhu commit panna thayakkama irukku...
Neenga films pathi adhigam ezhudha maatteenga, aana ezhudhina arumaya ezhudhuveenga. MMKR-ku aduthu edhu unga list la?
28th October 2010, 04:46 PM
I voted MMKR for multiple reasons. My favourite films of Kamal are MMKR, Mahanadhi, Thevar Magan, Hey Ram, Saagara Sangamam, Virumandi in no particular order.
kurudhipunal, swathi muthyam, nayagan, pushpak form the next tier.
Regarding writing about movies, I'll have to go back to my favourite quote on chattis and agappais. agappaila varradhu dhAn chattila irukkaradhu :-).
28th October 2010, 05:29 PM
I voted MMKR for multiple reasons.
B(K) is of the opinion that Sadhineelavadhi > MMKR.
adhunaala dhaan kEkkuraar. Kamaan now.
28th October 2010, 07:09 PM
Sagara Sangamam- it's about a classical dancer to be sure. But that seems like oversimplification. It seems like Kamal's "Raging Bull" to me (this bit is for Deniro fans like myself and Grouch brother). It would be a grand understatement to call it a "boxing film". Like how we see La Motta's life being the real "boxing" to counterpoint the one in the ring. At least, the latter has its rules. That's the whole point of that film. Similarly, it's only incidental that SS is about classical dancing that it doesn't translate to simplistic terms. The actual dance (of love, loss, pain, etc) is the character's life. Again, the whole gamut of emotions that Kamal brings into this character ranks as the Arangetram of a real "actor", a true artist. I repeat, Kamal the actor is no lesser an "author" than writer-director. Two wonderful collaborations with KV. :shock: You continue to amaze me, brother. Truly :notworthy:
Thanks bro. I try. :)
28th October 2010, 08:10 PM
Wow Feddy, many things match. Let me quote and +1.
Nayagan; I will never be unable to seperate The Godfather when I think of Nayagan. So i just cannot vote for it.
Thevar Magan: Great contender. One of the Best Tamil Drama's. This is a better adaptation of The Godfather compared to Nayagan. And NT sir is a treat.
Mahanadhi: Power of Emotion. I can never convince myself to watch that film again. Eternally poignant and soul absorbing. Director Myskin once said that when he and his friend watched the film in a theatre they started walking home on the opposite sides of the road. That effect created :bow:.
16 Vayadhinile: BR's best effort. Kamal's best performance yet.
+1
I voted for Mahanadhi.
Poornima
28th October 2010, 08:28 PM
voted for Virumaandi.
29th October 2010, 04:34 PM
Laptop illama, external HDD illama, enna panrathnu theriyama youtube-la Daisy (1988) parthEn. Amateur acting by leads aside, Prathap pothan's direction didn't seem all that bad. Kamal's supporting ferfamance redeems the film somewhat.
29th October 2010, 04:36 PM
Btw, this is another film where KH appears with cigarette in almost all scenes. The longhaired bearded Kamal of late-80's. :smokesmirk:
29th October 2010, 04:41 PM
So "Four friends" is a (even if cameo) return to Mallu cinema more than two decades after "Chanakyan" and "Daisy"..
Poornima
29th October 2010, 04:44 PM
Laptop illama, external HDD illama, enna panrathnu theriyama youtube-la Daisy (1988) parthEn. Amateur acting by leads aside, Prathap pothan's direction didn't seem all that bad. Kamal's supporting ferfamance redeems the film somewhat.
good soundtrack... can vaguely remember the final portions... kamal plays Daisy's brother?
29th October 2010, 04:48 PM
good soundtrack... can vaguely remember the final portions... kamal plays Daisy's brother?
Yes. :)
6th November 2010, 03:54 PM
VRMBBS
Crazy :clap:
It was one of my "Why this Kamal?" (and still is) films from the moment they announced the remake. But I suppose that's because of the bar Kamal-Crazy combo had set.
I enjoy the original mostly for Circuit and Prabhu's role in the remake was botched up. And whatever little was offered got botched by Prabhu.
Songs'lam konjam :oops: 'Enna kodumai Aandava' sollanum pola irukkum.
7th November 2010, 01:44 PM
From Orkut, about Virumaandi Plot and underlying knot
Interesting Analysis :clap:
புதிய கோணத்தில் விருமாண்டி.. ஒரு அலசல்.....!
நேற்றைய காபி வித் அனு நிகழ்வில் கலைஞானி பேராசிரியர் தொ. ப எழுதிய மக்களின் தெய்வங்கள் என்ற நூல் விருமாண்டியை உருவாக்குவதற்கு ஒரு உந்து சக்தியாக இருந்ததாக சொன்னார். நான் கற்ற ,கற்பித்த கல்லூரியில் தொ. ப அவர்கள் தமிழ் துறை தலைவர். என் ஊர்க்காரர், தேர்ந்த சிந்தனையாளர், நெல்லையில் என் வீட்டிற்கு ஒரு 3 தெருக்கள் தள்ளி வசிப்பவர் என்ற பெருமைகளை தாண்டி, விருமாண்டி, மருதநாயகம் இவற்றின் படைப்பாக்கத்தில் (மருதநாயகம் குறித்த 10 வரலாற்று நூல்களை கலைஞானிக்கு வழங்கியதை நான் அறிவேன்) அவருக்கு பங்கு உண்டு.
தவிர மையம் பத்திரிக்கை மீண்டும் தொடங்கப்படும் என்ற செய்தி வந்ததும், கலைஞானி சிலரை அவரே நேர்காணல் செய்தார். அதில் முதலில் நீல. பத்மநாபனுக்கு (நீல பத்மநாபன் யார் என்பதை அறிய பள்ளி கொண்ட புரம் நாவலை ஒரு முறையேனும் வாசியுங்கள்.) பின் அவர் பேட்டி கண்டது தொ.ப. அவர்களை தான்.
இந்த மக்களின் தெய்வங்கள் என்ற நூலை ஏற்கனவே வாசித்தவன் என்கிற முறையில் அது குறித்து சிந்தித்த போது, நாம் விருமாண்டியை புதிய கோணத்தில்
பார்க்கும் எண்ணம் தோன்றியது. அதன் வெளிப்பாடே இந்த கட்டுரை.
இந்த கட்டுரை பல இணைய தளங்கள் மற்றும் புத்தகங்கள் படித்த பின் எழுந்த என் என் எண்ணத்தின் பிரதிபலிப்பு தான். இந்த கருத்துக்களில் உங்களுக்கு மாறுபாடு இருந்தால் .... most welcome to discuss...
மக்களின் தெய்வங்கள் என்ற தலைப்பின் மூலாதாரம் நம்பிக்கை. இன்றைக்கும் நமது சமூகத்தில் குலசாமி என்ற ஒரு நம்பிக்கை உலவுகிறது. இன்ற சூழலில்
எந்த ஜோதிடரிடத்திலும் பரிகாரம் என்று கேட்டால் குல தெய்வக் கோயிலுக்கு போய் பொங்கல் வைத்து வாருங்கள் என்பது ஒரு பதிலாக இருக்கிறது.
இந்த குல தெய்வ நம்பிக்கை பெயர்களிலே வெளிப்படுகின்றன (உதாரணம் - சுடலை மாட சாமி .. சுடலை என்று பெயராக வழங்கப் படுவது)
நிறம், குலம் வைத்து பிரித்தறியபட்ட வருணாசிரம காலத்திலேயே ஒரு முநீஸ்வரனோ, அய்யனாரோ காவல் தெய்வமாக போற்றப்பட்டு இருக்கிறார்.
இந்த நம்பிக்கைகள் மிக சரியாக விருமாண்டியில் கையாளப் பட்டு இருக்கின்றது என்பது தான் வியப்பான உண்மை..அதை புரிந்து கொள்ள சில கதைகள், வரலாற்று நிகழ்வுகளை சொல்ல வேண்டும். இப்போது நான் கதை சொல்லி ...!
கதை / ஆதாரம் 1:
பிரம்மனுக்கும் சிவனுக்கும் இடையே யார் பெரியவர் என்ற போட்டி நிகழ, விடையை அறிந்து கொள்ள சிவன் ஜோதி ரூபம் எடுக்கிறார். அப்போது சிவன் பிரம்மாவிடமும், விஷ்ணுவிடமும், ஜோதி வடிவிலே இருக்கும் போது தனது தலை எங்கே இருக்கிறது, கால் எங்கே இருக்கிறது என்று கண்டுபிடியுங்கள் என்று சொல்கிறார். வராக அவதாரம் எடுக்கும் விஷ்ணு பூமிக்கடியில் விடை தேட,பிரம்மா மேல்பரப்பில் தேடுகிறார்.
விடையை காணும் நோக்கில் பூமியை குடையும் விஷ்ணு, விடை தெரியாமல் விழித்து தோல்வியை ஒப்புக்கொள்கிறார். ஆனால் பிரம்மனோ டூப் ஆக
ஒரு தாழம் பூவை எடுத்து வந்து இது உங்கள் தலையில் கிடைத்தது என்கிறார்.சினம் கொண்ட சிவன், விஷ்ணு தோண்டிய குழியில் பிரம்மாவை தள்ளிவிட்டு இனி உனக்கு பூலோகத்தில் கோவிலே கிடையாது என்று சபிக்கிறார். தாழம்பூ தனக்கு அர்ச்சனைக்கு ஏற்ற பூ அல்ல என்று அறிவிக்கிறார்.
இந்த நிகழ்வு ஒவ்வொரு கார்த்திக்கை தீபத்தன்று சிவன் ஜோதி ரூபமாக காட்சி தர, மக்கள் கிணற்றில் (இந்த இடத்தில் இதை விஷ்ணு தோண்டிய குழி என்று புரிந்து கொள்க ... ) இருந்து விருமன் (பிரம்மா) என்ற காவல் தெய்வத்தை வெளியே எடுத்து பூஜை செய்கிறார்கள்.
so...
விருமாண்டி = விருமன் + ஆண்டி - பிரம்மா விருமாண்டி (கமல்)
முனியாண்டி = முனியன் + ஆண்டி - உக்கிரமாய் நிற்கும் சிவன் - தீர்ப்பு சொல்லும் நல்லம்மனாயக்கர் (நெப்போலியன்)
மாயாண்டி = மாயன் + ஆண்டி - விஷ்ணு
கதை / ஆதாரம் 2 :
வேலூர் ஜலகண்டேஸ்வரர் கோவில் தல வரலாறு நமக்கு இருக்கும் இன்னொரு PROOF...!
இந்த கோவில் பிரகாரத்தில் ஒரு கிணறு உள்ளது. இதிலுள்ள நீரை கங்கை தீர்த்தமாக கருதுகின்றனர். கிணற்றின் அருகில் "கங்கா பாலாறு ஈஸ்வரர்' என்ற பெயரில் சிவலிங்கம் உள்ளது. இந்த லிங்கம் இந்த கிணற்றுக்குள் இருந்து கண்டெடுக்கப்பட்டது.
இதன் பாணம் கூம்பு வடிவில் இருப்பது சிறப்பான அமைப்பு. லிங்கத்தின் பின்புறம் பைரவர் இருக்கிறார். காசியில் உள்ளது போல, சிவலிங்கம், கங்கா தீர்த்தம், பைரவர் என மூன்றையும் தரிசிக்கலாம். எனவே, இந்த சன்னதியை, "வேலூர் காசி' என்று அழைக்கிறார்கள்.
கதை / ஆதாரம் 3 :
எழுத்தாளர் சுஜாதாவின் கரையெல்லாம் செண்பகபூ வாசித்து இருக்கிறீர்களா..?
அந்த நாவலில் பழையனூர் நீலி என்று ஒரு சிறுகதை வரும்.. அது ஒரு வரலாற்று ஆதாரம். பதிவின் நீளம் கருதி அதை கூகுள் செய்க.matter என்னவென்றால் பழையனூர் நீலி என்ற அந்த சக்தி ஆனது, ஒரு கிணற்றிலே இருந்து கொண்டு ஊர் மக்களை காப்பதாக ஐதீகம்.அதனால் தான் கோவில் நகையை கொள்ளை அடித்தவர்கள் அதை கிணற்றில் மறைத்து வைப்பதாக எழுதி இருப்பார்.
சரி இவ்வளவு நேரம் நீ விட்டிருக்கும் கதைகளுக்கும் நமது விருமாண்டிக்கும் என்னடா CONNECTION என்கிறீர்களா...
சரி.. நம் விருமாண்டிக்கு வருவோம்......!
விருமாண்டியின் மையப் புள்ளி அவனது கிணறு.. பஞ்சமே வந்தாலும் அவனது கிணற்றில் நீர் வற்றுவதே இல்லை. எனவே தான் கொத்தள தேவன் அந்த கிணற்றுக்காக விருமாண்டியை மூளைச் சலவை செய்கிறான்..
நீங்கள் அந்த காண்டா மணி பாடல் எடுக்கப்பட்ட விதத்தை நினைவு கூர்ந்து பாருங்கள்.. பாடல் முழுக்க நெருப்பும், ஒளிப்பிழம்புகள் ஆக இருக்கும்.
அது ஒருவகையில் கார்த்திகை தீபத்தை நினைவு படுத்துகிறது..!
பாடலின் துவக்கத்தில் கிணற்றுக்கு பூசை நடக்கும்..!
ஆடி வெள்ளி பூத்திருக்கு உச்சி பூசை காத்திருக்கு என்று கிணற்றுக்குள் இருக்கும் விருமனை (பிரம்மாவை) கோவில் பூசாரி அழைக்கிறார்.. கார்த்திகை தீபத்தன்று விருமனை வெளியே எடுத்து பூசை செய்யும் பண்டைய வழக்கத்தை கச்சிதமாய் காட்சி படுத்தி இருக்கிறார் கலைஞானி. so STORY 1 partially matches.
ஏனெனில் கிணறு இங்கே விருமன் என்ற தெய்வத்தின் வசிப்பிடம்... as per proof 2 லிங்கமும் கிணற்றில் இருந்து தோன்றியதால் proof 2 matches completely...!
தனது அப்பத்தாவின் மறைவின் போது.. இது கிணறு இல்லடா... எங்க அப்பத்தா ரத்தமடா என்று கதறுகிறான் விருமாண்டி. this dialogue has its own connection with story 3. விருமாண்டியை பொறுத்த வரை அவனுக்கு அவன் அப்பத்தா தான் பழையனூர் நீலி. காரணம் பழையனூர் நீலி ஒரு கற்புள்ள பெண் சக்தி.
அது மட்டுமல்ல அப்பத்தா போன்ற ஒரு பெண் சக்தியால் மட்டுமே தனது கிணறு வற்றாமல் இருக்கிறது என்று அவன் திடமாய் நம்புகிறான். எனவே தான் தனது கிணற்றை ஆத்தா என்று உருவகித்து கதறுகிறான்.
விருமாண்டியில் பிரம்மனை சிவன் சபித்த நிகழ்வு (story 1) எப்படி பொருந்துகிறது என்று பாப்போம்..!
ஒரு கட்டத்தில் பிரம்மன் சிவனிடம் பொய் சொன்ன மாதிரி விருமாண்டியும் பொய் சொல்கிறான். நல்லம்மனாயக்கர் (சிவன்) இன்னைக்கு உன்னாலே ராத்திரி நிம்மதியா தூங்க முடியுமா வே என்னும் போது விருமாண்டி கமல் (பிரம்மா) கூனி நிற்கிறார்.
பொய் சொன்னதற்கு அடையாளமாக பின்னர் அன்ன லட்சுமியை இழக்கிறார் (சாபம்..!)
இவ்வாறு மக்களிடம் நிலவும் தெய்வம் சார்ந்த நம்பிக்கைகளை, தனது படத்தில் சரியாய் பதிவு செய்து இருக்கிறார் கலைஞானி.
இது போல் வேறு சில தெய்வம் சார்ந்த ஆதாரங்களும் புனைகதைகளும் விருமாண்டியில் பொருந்தி போகலாம். எனக்கு தெரியவில்லை.
நான் பேட்டியை பார்த்த பின்னர், மக்களின் தெய்வங்கள்,,பிற ஆதாரங்களை சரி பார்த்து விட்டு, விருமாண்டியை மீண்டும் ஒரு முறை பார்த்து விட்டு ....
என் மனதில் தோன்றிய எண்ணங்களை எழுதி இருக்கிறேன்..
jinju
7th November 2010, 06:47 PM
VRMBBS
It was one of my "Why this Kamal?"
Circuit and Prabhu's role in the remake was botched up. And whatever little was offered got botched by Prabhu.
Songs'lam konjam :oops: 'Enna kodumai Aandava' sollanum pola irukkum.
xactly the same reasons i've always shied away from watching this...probably the only kamalji film that i've deliberately done so. but yesterday, 30-45 mins in the saloon, and the film being the saloon guy's favorite of yesterday's tv events, i was made to watch it...and that pre-climax scene going on, the q n a session after jayasuriya's death, kamalji leaves the exercise aside and gets all emotional about death, god, etc., some really good lines, all sentiments delivered in that character's inimitable style, and then came the stealer in the end, addressing prakash raj "ippo unakku santhoshamaana oru seydhi solren, naan indha college-a vuttu poren...po, engeyaavadhu thaniyaa poyi ukkaandhu sirichikitte iru!" that last line was just amazing, had me chuckling all the way till now whenever i think of it n has prompted me to watch it finally...yes, regardless of prabu! superb writing that in an emotionally charged scene n standout delivery of the lines too! Crazy :clap:
8th November 2010, 01:46 PM
Yes Jinju, I'm far too dismissive of Kamal's "lesser" films, only because he could do far, far better. Why not work with Kamal fans like Bala, Selva, Mysskin(who definitely needs to learn about acting), etc instead of doing these fillers. I'd not mind Crazy but Saran'lam rejeted. Above all, Hindi remakes should be a no-no.
Btw, a Kamal-Sridevi song that I like: (surprised it's available on web)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-0a_ep4xGhE&feature=player_embedded
8th November 2010, 01:48 PM
Don't mind the English lines in the song.. :P
8th November 2010, 05:26 PM
One more time Vijay TV shows the 50 year programme and the follow-up discussion(!) on the 50 year programme anytime in the recent future, i'm going to throw up and get acute diabetes. Ethana?
8th November 2010, 05:32 PM
EmpA? nAn first time nEthu dhAn pArthEn....
Rajini and Kamal - both made awesome speeches. (idhu dhAn en takku!)
Also saw pAsa thalaivan pArAttu vizhaa :lol:
8th November 2010, 05:34 PM
EmpA? nAn first time nEthu dhAn pArthEn....
Rajini and Kamal - both made awesome speeches. (idhu dhAn en takku!)
:lol: Nalla vela ippovavadhu Chennai ku vandhuteenga!
8th November 2010, 05:44 PM
Also saw pAsa thalaivan pArAttu vizhaa :lol:I was forced to watch this!! :evil:
the drama involves Anna, Periyar & MuKa :banghead: :banghead: non-sense...Gounder could have butchered with his counter punch for each and every dialogue...
8th November 2010, 05:47 PM
Also saw pAsa thalaivan pArAttu vizhaa :lol:I was forced to watch this!! :evil:
the drama involves Anna, Periyar & MuKa :banghead: :banghead: non-sense...Gounder could have butchered with his counter punch for each and every dialogue...
and SV Sekar with his jalraa mode activated - the man has his timing spot-on, though, one must give it to him
"namakku elai-nAlE AgAdhu"
Murali Srinivas
14th November 2010, 01:19 AM
Been to Vaalee's 80th Birthday celebrations held at Narada Gana Sabha today evening. 1000 songs of Vaalee have been compiled in a book form [rather 2 books] titled Vaalee 1000 was released on the occasion with Ulaganayagan releasing the same that was received by Shankar.
After so many years I am seeing Kamal in person. Was seated in the left hand side of the auditorium and was looking at the entrance everytime the door opened. All the celebrities came one by one but no trace of Kamal. There was a dance programme for half an hour by a dance troupe that danced to Vaalee's songs and again my eyes were roving the entrance. The dance ended and no, he had not come. Had taken neighbour's family also, they being big Kamal fans and I was embarassed to look at their faces.
Announcement comes that the function is going to start and celebrities who were seated down were asked to come to stage. The lights were off and after some time the lights came on and the screen went up and there he was seated at the centre of the stage. Clad in a white pyjaama with a light blue kurta on top, and sported a black angavastram [thuppaatta?]. Radiant face it is!
He was there till the end and sat for nearly 3 hours. Was seen nibbling with his mobile initially and was seen exchanging some pleasentries with Surya.
He was the last one to speak. After the initial எல்லோருக்கும் வணக்கம், he turned his face towards the people at the stage and never turned towards the audience even once till the end of the speech.
இவரைப் பற்றி பேசினால் நாள் முழுக்க பேசலாம். ஆனால் நிறைய பேருக்கு பஸ் கிடைக்காது. அதுவும் தவிர இங்கே பல பெரிய மேதைகள் இருக்கும் சபையில் நான் அவையடக்கத்துடன் இருக்க வேண்டும். நான் அவரிடம் பல வருடங்கள் பழகியவன். இங்கே அவரிடம் வேளை வாங்குவது பற்றி பேசும் போது அவரிடம் மலரில் தேன் எடுக்கும் வண்டாக இருக்க வேண்டும்.கரும்பில் சாறு பிழிவது போல இருக்க கூடாது என்று சொன்னார்கள். நான் சாதாரணமாக மலரில் தேன் எடுக்கும் வண்டாகவே இருப்பேன். ஆனால் அன்று கரும்பை கடித்து பல்லு உடைந்த வண்டானேன். ஒரு தடவை அபூர்வ சகோதர்கள் படத்திற்கு பாட்டெழுத வந்திருந்தார். நான் பாடலை படித்து விட்டு தெரியாமல் இது நல்லாயில்ல என்று சொல்லி விட என்னது என்று எழுந்து கோபித்துக் கொண்டு சென்று விட்டார். எவ்வளவு சமாதானம் சொல்லியும் வரவில்லை. வேறு சூழலுக்கு கூட பாடல் எழுதுகிறேன், ஆனால் இதற்கு எழுத மாட்டேன் என்று சொன்னார். பிறகு நான் பல் முறை சென்று அவரிடம் சொன்ன பிறகு எங்க வீட்டிலேயே உட்கார்ந்து எழுதிக் கொடுத்தார். அந்த பாடல்தான் உன்னை நினைச்சேன் பாட்டு படிச்சேன். அந்த வானத்தை போல சிலர் வாழ்க்கையும் இருக்கும் என்று அந்தப் பாடலில் வரும் வரிகள் இவருக்கு ரொம்பவும் பொருத்தம்.
இங்கே வைரமுத்து பேசும் போது திரைப்பட பாடலாசிரியர் ஒருவருக்கு நடக்கும் பாராட்டு விழாவில் பெரிய நட்சத்திரங்கள் கலந்து கொள்வது இதுவே முதல் முறை என்றார். என்னை பொறுத்தவரை இந்த விழாவில் நீங்கள் (வைரமுத்துவைப் பார்த்து) கலந்து கொண்டது மிகவும் மகிழ்ச்சி.
ஒரு மனிதனுக்கு ஊக்கமளிக்கும் வார்த்தைகள் பேசுவதில் வாலிக்கு நிகர் யாருமில்லை. சொல்லத்தான் நினைக்கிறேன் படத்தில் எனக்கு ஒரு பாட்டு வரும். அந்த பாடல் கம்போசிங்-ன் போது என்னையும், ஒரு துணை வேடத்தில் நடிக்கும் நடிகனை உள்ளே விட மாட்டார்கள், உள்ளே அனுமதித்த பெருந்தகையாளர். எனக்கு அந்த சொல்லத்தான் நினைக்கிறேன் படப்பிடிப்பு சமயத்தில் நடந்ததுதான் நினைவாக இருக்கிறது. அதன் பிறகு நானும் அவரும் ஏராளமான முறை இணைந்து பணியாற்றியிருந்தாலும் அவை எல்லாம் ஏனோ கனவு போல தோன்றுகிறது.
அன்று என்னிடம் என்ன மாதிரி அன்பை பொழிந்தாரோ அதே போல்தான் இன்றும் இருக்கிறார். வளர்ந்து உச்சத்தை தொட்டவர்களை இன்று அவர்கள் இருக்கும் நிலைமைக்கு மதிக்காமல் அவர்கள் ஆரம்ப காலத்தில் இருக்கும்போது அவர்களிடம் இதே போல் அன்பை செலுத்தி அவர்களுக்கு ஊக்க சக்தி கொடுப்பவர் வாலி.
அவருக்கு நேர்ந்த பெருமைகளைப் பற்றி பேசினோம். அவருக்கு நேர்ந்த சிறுமைகளும் இருக்கின்றன. அதாவது என் கவிதைகளை படிக்க கூடிய தண்டனையும் அவருக்கு கிடைத்திருகிறது. அவரிடம் பாஸ் மார்க் வாங்கிய மாணவன் என்ற முறையில் என் நன்றியை சமர்ப்பிக்கிறேன்.
With this he wound up.
17th November 2010, 12:42 PM
MS,
:ty:
17th November 2010, 12:51 PM
http://www.youtube.com/user/erostamil#p/search/8/aAbnVN-KlSY
The best part is not the 'I hate violence against women even if it's not my jurisdiction. So I have invited myself to this party my friend' (that's a long shot entirely carried by Kamal)..but the mild uneasiness (of having intruded into her personal affairs) finally capped by, 'enna irunthalum ungala adichu irukka koodathu, that's not done'..
thirumba mulusa pAkkalAm pola irukkE. Kamal kaagavE...
17th November 2010, 01:00 PM
:clap: @ avataaram k_g
I watched a special features DVD where the commentator explained the camera tracking to where it stands now. The table is split in half and is kind of joined together only a moment before the camera moves back enough to accommodate it in the frame. This is mildly visible by the top hat still slightly wobbling in the frame you have chosen.
17th November 2010, 01:12 PM
The best part is not the 'I hate violence against women even if it's not my jurisdiction. So I have invited myself to this party my friend' (that's a long shot entirely carried by Kamal)..but the mild uneasiness (of having intruded into her personal affairs) finally capped by, 'enna irunthalum ungala adichu irukka koodathu, that's not done'..
haha - idha naanga 2006'lEyE sonnOm - sila pEr sirichaanga.. One of the best from Kamal. Certain subtle expressions and adakki vaasikkum performance were the main reason for me to like this movie. GVM also needs equal appreciation. Raghavan was certainly refreshing on screen. Intha maathiri padangaL paNNanum - it would be better than doing movies like Dasa.
Movie Cop
17th November 2010, 01:16 PM
DCP Raghavan - looks very easy on screen because of Kamal. Bringing nuances ellam child's play for Kamal.
17th November 2010, 01:22 PM
andha cliff'ai thiriniyum paarthEn. :sigh2:
I refeat: Only Kamal should write his lines and scenes.
TI - kamaan :clap:
17th November 2010, 01:25 PM
TI - kamaan :clap:
I agree, the lines 'emselves weren't great, but the ease with which he says and acts 'em out couldn't be matched by other contemporary actors.
17th November 2010, 01:34 PM
I agree, the lines 'emselves weren't great, பெரும்பாலும் இந்த இடத்துல நான் 'பேருந்துலேர்ந்து இறங்கிடறேன்' மேற்கொண்டு விடியோ கோச்ல பயணிக்கிறதில்லை. :lol2:
but the ease with which he says and acts 'em out couldn't be matched by other contemporary actors.
That's of course there.
Regarding contemporary actors, versus a generation back, I often feel that what is 'par for the course' has actually come down. Most often our comparisons are about the high points of a performance. I don't mean that (not that that debate is itself conclusive).
Simple expressions, reactions etc. were more fluent say 20 yrs back-nu thONudhu. I won't be able to describe any finer!
17th November 2010, 01:40 PM
:clap: @ avataaram k_g
I watched a special features DVD where the commentator explained the camera tracking to where it stands now. The table is split in half and is kind of joined together only a moment before the camera moves back enough to accommodate it in the frame. This is mildly visible by the top hat still slightly wobbling in the frame you have chosen.
Yes, I remember the wobbly hat! Thanks for that info. I do remember the dolly being moved across the room that there's no way they could have done that without retractable table.
I love the depth of field and high contrast that Welles and Gregg Toland opt here.
It's both the metaphorical quality (of young Kane in blissful playfulness outside the window as his future is decided inside) and also the evasiveness of the image (in isolation) in various character's complex relation to that situation.
The mother's the most concerned, affectionate towards the child. But she keeps a cold facade on the outside right up to signing it (as you see in the frame).
The father wants to raise the boy. All the while he protests, but towards the end, reveals his weakness. Not wanting to hear young Kane's playful noise, he closes the window (as against the mother who did seem cold enough to sign it, opens it again with concern. In the very beginning of the scene, she orders young Kane to pull up the muffler).
Lack of tolerance aside, the father's manhandling tendency is brought out by, 'What the kid needs's a good thrashing'. To which the mother says, 'That's why he's going to be brought up where you can't get at him.' (perhaps suggests a history of drunken rage and lashing-out at young Kane)
Cinema, at its very best.
17th November 2010, 01:51 PM
Simple expressions, reactions etc. were more fluent say 20 yrs back-nu thONudhu. I won't be able to describe any finer!
Yes.
Take for eg, Ponniyin Selvan adaptation-ku budget ippo irukkalam, but acting talend pathi thaan konjam :oops:
17th November 2010, 02:39 PM
Provided it shows the character not Kamal himself. Kamal write paNNumpOthu intha pirachinai irukku enbathu yen abipraayam.
17th November 2010, 03:41 PM
Yes.
Take for eg, Ponniyin Selvan adaptation-ku budget ippo irukkalam, but acting talend pathi thaan konjam :oops:
Yeah, twenty years ago - Rajini and Kamal, Prabhu and Karthik, even Sathyaraj and Vijayakant were all capable of bringing in solid competence(Plus much more ofcourse in the case of the big 2). Not to mention the likes of Arjun and Murali, who could shine in their own limited way.
As for actresses, absolutely no contest.
radiochandra1977
17th November 2010, 10:33 PM
Just watch the part where thalaivar says " pombalingala adikka koodathunnu chinna vayasula solli kodukkale ?? "un" gomma. That is the breaking point for jyo's husband. Ketta vaarthaiykku kooda camouflageing style.
20th November 2010, 08:59 AM
A couple of Kamal movies in the last couple of days:
* NAYAGAN - A needless-to-say-more classic! Have watched it so many, many times till now. But the one thing that stood out this time though is the kind of portrayal of the friendship between Kamal and Janagaraj. At multiple occasions, I was made to feel, wow - what great friendship! 8-)
* SAVAAL - Just finished the first half! Hilarious so far... Nice masala! :)
21st November 2010, 11:10 PM
* NAYAGAN - A needless-to-say-more classic! Have watched it so many, many times till now. But the one thing that stood out this time though is the kind of portrayal of the friendship between Kamal and Janagaraj. At multiple occasions, I was made to feel, wow - what great friendship! 8-)
The most important part of their friendship comes when kamal ties the knot with saranya in the temple,just before neeyoru kadhal sangeetham starts......janakaraj overwhelmed by the importance of the occasion and happiness....grabs kamals shoulder and kamal looks back like "silly fella" ...
Janakaraj calls him "velu" when nayakkar tries to call police and surrender...
Janakaraj eagerly watching Nayakar's son dealing the panchayathu and talking proudly about him when nayakar comes
kamal snatches the policeman's shirt in the climax when the constanble tries to move janakaraj away..
Maniratnam :clap: - I am still surprised that Raavanan was not subtle and lots of spoonfeeding were there....havent watched it yet.
21st November 2010, 11:25 PM
Just watch the part where thalaivar says " pombalingala adikka koodathunnu chinna vayasula solli kodukkale ?? "un" gomma. That is the breaking point for jyo's husband. Ketta vaarthaiykku kooda camouflageing style.
I think he used this same style in maharasan...
22nd November 2010, 08:51 AM
The most important part of their friendship comes when kamal ties the knot with saranya in the temple,just before neeyoru kadhal sangeetham starts......janakaraj overwhelmed by the importance of the occasion and happiness....grabs kamals shoulder and kamal looks back like "silly fella" ...
Janakaraj eagerly watching Nayakar's son dealing the panchayathu and talking proudly about him when nayakar comes
kamal snatches the policeman's shirt in the climax when the constanble tries to move janakaraj away..
Maniratnam :clap: - I am still surprised that Raavanan was not subtle and lots of spoonfeeding were there....havent watched it yet.
* Not to forget the scene when Kamal's daughter questions them big time, and slaps Janagaraj... Kamal going after her big time; Kamal putting his hands on Janagaraj's shoulders!
* Kamal is thrown out of his daughter's car in the beach, and when Janagaraj says, "Enna Nayakarae, vayasu aaiduchu", Kamal jumps and grabs him.
* I think when Janagaraj is arrested or something by Nasser, Kamal shouts to Delhi Ganesh, "Selva mela kaiya vechanaa" or something to that effect.
and so on and so forth. The list is endless... :)
27th November 2010, 12:16 PM
Man's first romance is with his bike. (Sorry gaels)
Thalaivar goes a step further. He dances with it like a ballet:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c9_mV-aJ1SA
29th November 2010, 05:04 PM
* Not to forget the scene when Kamal's daughter questions them big time, and slaps Janagaraj... Kamal going after her big time; Kamal putting his hands on Janagaraj's shoulders!
* Kamal is thrown out of his daughter's car in the beach, and when Janagaraj says, "Enna Nayakarae, vayasu aaiduchu", Kamal jumps and grabs him.
* I think when Janagaraj is arrested or something by Nasser, Kamal shouts to Delhi Ganesh, "Selva mela kaiya vechanaa" or something to that effect.
and so on and so forth. The list is endless... :)
Watched Nayagan last Sunday on K TV. Velu Nayakkar and Selva's frinendship was shown very well,, Even the Character of Delhi Ganesh was portrayed very well... Even after so many years, after multiple viewing... Gem of a film.. :notworthy:
1st February 2011, 01:17 AM
Went on a youtube spree :oops:
Some fav. 'moments' of actor Kamal:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yKfwk8Atd1k&t=2m30s
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h1ZWYLjwl-o&t=2m40s
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jW2O4aQ0pG4&t=8m28s
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AhZc1V7N0NQ
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7K0P_k4X6YU&feature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KQvKZd8WSqM&t=2m56s
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f5Dsuf6wfpI&t=2m35s
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RtyCvy1RmF8
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H1GyW7bSjBY&t=3m35s
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M_3DLCYd2nQ
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UPamUI5tGNk&feature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C5RCNJ2LJDs&t=2m58s
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zajOWloDcwM&feature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IS2KTOYcOKg
Miss Chennai
1st February 2011, 01:55 AM
Superb compilation, K-g! :clap: Acting (the emotions, body language, voice modulation, nuances etc.) comes very easily for Kamal... Particulary enjoyed Nandhu on steroids walking in a shopping mall - minimla dialaaks - just acting - Kamal only fossible. :notworthy: That's why actors like Naseeruddin Shah/Om Puri, being great actors themselves, keep re-iterating that Kamal is always "one up".
Keep them coming, K-g.... :thumbsup:
Miss Chennai
1st February 2011, 01:56 AM
My contribution, Moondram Pirai climax:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6IcheSMGW78
Miss Chennai
1st February 2011, 02:09 AM
gunA climax:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hFZ6Jzk6kV4&feature=fvw
1st February 2011, 02:41 AM
Movie Cop, ID maaththi post pannitteenga dhaanE :lol2:
Movie Cop
3rd February 2011, 12:20 AM
Yeah Nerd :oops: That night I logged onto a old laptop and overlooked that it defaulted to the pazhaiya id.
3rd February 2011, 01:10 AM
Oh it was you MC. Thought it was some WUM (wind up Merchant) :lol:
Movie Cop
3rd February 2011, 06:40 AM
Btw, K-g, I know you have written some good stuff/analysis on Kamal's writing. Request you to write some stuff on Kamal's acting as well, if that interests you. :)
4th February 2011, 08:34 PM
movie cop = miss chennai
rombhave dipperenta irukku :lol:
4th February 2011, 08:48 PM
movie cop = miss chennai
rombhave dipperenta irukku :lol:
movie cop was once a miss chennai?
congrats mam!! namma hubla egapatta celebrities irukkaanga pola...
4th February 2011, 08:56 PM
Movie cop phamily total damage :lol:
singam-surya
4th February 2011, 09:43 PM
kamal haasan is great. very talented artiste. his movies last time, no matter hit or flop, very good to see. nice story and screenplay. but now he is bad. i think he should stop acting. he should write story or direct movie, but should not act hero in movie. his time is up. i think he should folow sivaji's exampil, and ct in character artiste role. he shld move out and let next generation super actors like surya and vikram take over.
4th February 2011, 10:05 PM
adhavadhu Vikram'ku Kamal vazhividanum... ivar kurukka irukkuradhaalathan avar mEla vara mudiyalai
singam-surya
4th February 2011, 10:11 PM
adhavadhu Vikram'ku Kamal vazhividanum... ivar kurukka irukkuradhaalathan avar mEla vara mudiyalai
no honestraj, i did not say thut. im saying, when sivaji was around, kamal was not recognise as best actor. all accolades to sivaji only. then when sivaji retired, kamal took visvaroobam. then now surya and vikram are great actors. like ratha charitharam, sillun oru kadhal, anniyan and pithamagan proves. but if kamal around, everybody will talk about kamal, and surya and vikram wont be recognised. or, not just them, any great actors or growing actors cannot get recognise. that is why i said kamal should retir.
4th February 2011, 10:12 PM
Singam-Surya,
Welcome to the probationary board. Enjoy your stay.
4th February 2011, 10:13 PM
i wish the mods take some action as the new ids are irritating to the core...
otherwise this hub would see very few poeople turning up.
4th February 2011, 10:18 PM
no honestraj, i did not say thut. im saying, when sivaji was around, kamal was not recognise as best actor. all accolades to sivaji only. then when sivaji retired, kamal took visvaroobam. then now surya and vikram are great actors. like ratha charitharam, sillun oru kadhal, anniyan and pithamagan proves. but if kamal around, everybody will talk about kamal, and surya and vikram wont be recognised. or, not just them, any great actors or growing actors cannot get recognise. that is why i said kamal should retir.
u r saying that Parthiv patel is not able to shine because Sachin is still playing... oh neenga malaysia'va... appo ungalukku indian cricket theriyadho.. vera logic vechu yaravadhu explain pannungappa
4th February 2011, 10:30 PM
When Sivaji retired-A?
Dhakshan
4th February 2011, 10:42 PM
u r saying that Parthiv patel is not able to shine because Sachin is still playing... oh neenga malaysia'va... appo ungalukku indian cricket theriyadho.. vera logic vechu yaravadhu explain pannungappa
Sandhu gapla Surya-va Parthiv Patel aakitinga :lol2:.
printhan
4th February 2011, 10:50 PM
ella actorusm firldla irukedka mela varavanka than king... y kamal should retire..?
for example... in early time... rajini was a supporting actor in kamal movies... with his talents didnt he overtake kamal ji and become superstar.. i dnt agree with u lion sun... thiramai irunthaal munnukku varalaam..
4th February 2011, 10:57 PM
Sandhu gapla Surya-va Parthiv Patel aakitinga :lol2:.
sandhu .. gap.. ellam onnuthanE.. kozhappuraangalE..
ada unmaiyilaye thambikku thambi chinna thambikku thiramai irukkunga
PS: anegama ellathyum delete panniduvanga.. :P
singam-surya
4th February 2011, 11:22 PM
Singam-Surya,
Welcome to the probationary board. Enjoy your stay.
thnk you, kid-glove. i dont not understand what you told me 'probationary board'. hmm.
singam-surya
4th February 2011, 11:23 PM
When Sivaji retired-A?
when sivaji retired from acting as hero. he only did supporting roles in movies like padikkathavan etc.
singam-surya
4th February 2011, 11:26 PM
ella actorusm firldla irukedka mela varavanka than king... y kamal should retire..?
for example... in early time... rajini was a supporting actor in kamal movies... with his talents didnt he overtake kamal ji and become superstar.. i dnt agree with u lion sun... thiramai irunthaal munnukku varalaam..
i am not saying surya cannot overtake kamal. same goes for vikram. i mean, if kamal lingers around, then peple will only talk about kamal. even if surya acted better in RC, or Vikram acted better in Anniyan, they will still say Kamal acts better. It is true, but if kamal stops being hero, then focus will shift to them. then their talents will be appreciated.
some more, after dasavatharam(mindblowing acting from kamal hassan), kamal has lost his touch. i think he spent everthing in that movei. so it wil be good if kamal retires and let's next person take his place, like sivaji retired and let kamal take his place.
Movie Cop
4th February 2011, 11:39 PM
movie cop was once a miss chennai?
congrats mam!! namma hubla egapatta celebrities irukkaanga pola...
Naan maam illeeng, man! :oops:
there was a time I was away from chennai for few months... Andhe flow-le, endha id create pannuradhunu theriyaama, created miss chennai...
Movie Cop
4th February 2011, 11:44 PM
i am not saying surya cannot overtake kamal. same goes for vikram. i mean, if kamal lingers around, then peple will only talk about kamal. even if surya acted better in RC, or Vikram acted better in Anniyan, they will still say Kamal acts better. It is true, but if kamal stops being hero, then focus will shift to them. then their talents will be appreciated.
some more, after dasavatharam(mindblowing acting from kamal hassan), kamal has lost his touch. i think he spent everthing in that movei. so it wil be good if kamal retires and let's next person take his place, like sivaji retired and let kamal take his place.
One sumaal kostin. After 10A he acted in just 2 movies - UPO & MMA. 2 movies eppadi-nga acting-le touch pOyirrum? I haven't seen MMA yet but UPO is very kood acting (though he didn't had much of a scope except in the climax)... Shah, the actor, played a common man. Haasar, the actor + star, played his own "heroic" version of a common man for BO appeal furfoses. Ambuthu thein diparant.
5th February 2011, 12:57 AM
MC,
Please don't feed the troll. Let them post in the right thread first. Rekost Mods to move this there.
Btw. Always thought Kamal had a thing for animals and props. This is one great song, and Kamal, characteristically brilliant as a villager. He's perhaps more villager than most villagers. Such is his enthu :lol2:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u9wBkrGvTEs
Lol at Sub 2.25 (Append &t=2m25s to above link).
Kamal (to goat): The length of my stick is high. You have seen it already. :rotfl3:
singam-surya
5th February 2011, 01:08 AM
One sumaal kostin. After 10A he acted in just 2 movies - UPO & MMA. 2 movies eppadi-nga acting-le touch pOyirrum? I haven't seen MMA yet but UPO is very kood acting (though he didn't had much of a scope except in the climax)... Shah, the actor, played a common man. Haasar, the actor + star, played his own "heroic" version of a common man for BO appeal furfoses. Ambuthu thein diparant.
in UPO, kamal wasn not hero. mohan lal was hero. that kind of movie would suit kamal now. not MMA type. i saw MMA here, was something one does not expect from kamal. especially the last 30-40 mins, and the ending. made me feel why did I watch the whole movie for this ending? while UPO mde me feel this is good. kamal should do roles like this. would be good if he did movies like UPO with other heroes like surya. that would be a welcome change. if kamal is going to MMA route, then he should stop. he is brilliant writer, so he should stick to that. other reason is kamal is old now. how much longert he can actas hero? better he stops on the high. he shoudl done one more splendid movie like Dasa/VV, and then retire on that note and stick to UPO kind of movies. in my opinion, kamal the actor should rest while other talents of him should be utilised.
5th February 2011, 01:12 AM
You should stick to hub's bar clown role hereafter, what say?
singam-surya
5th February 2011, 01:13 AM
You should stick to hub's bar clown role hereafter, what say?
kid-glove, i am really not getting what you are saying. please tell me clearly, my englishs is bad. i am learning now only, going to night class.
5th February 2011, 01:18 AM
For a moment I thought you were someone else but now I know who you are, Soft-Sword thaanE? Vera yaaru ivalo soft-a wind-up panna mudiyin :lol2:
Btw I rekost you to stay away from this thread unless you're here to discuss fav. scenes/songs/movies of the man. If you want him to sign up for a retirement plan, you'd do better to voice it in the main thread for Kamal called 'news & updates'. Until then, :wave:
singam-surya
5th February 2011, 01:33 AM
For a moment I thought you were someone else but now I know who you are, Soft-Sword thaanE? Vera yaaru ivalo soft-a wind-up panna mudiyin :lol2:
Btw I rekost you to stay away from this thread unless you're here to discuss fav. scenes/songs/movies of the man. If you want him to sign up for a retirement plan, you'd do better to voice it in the main thread for Kamal called 'news & updates'. Until then, :wave:
kid-glove, who is Soft Sword? i am not soft-sword. and i lookd for kamal thread. what is title? i only saw this thred, it said kamal. so came here. is this not news thread?
5th February 2011, 02:15 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CQ9rUMr2T5Q
Whoever choreographed these louly Vetri Vizha songs?! Just awesome till date.
5th February 2011, 03:30 AM
Mabbu'la kekkuradhukku innum jalsa'va irukku.. Only problem is the fear of puking while laughing my ass off:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IwlF1sFztak&feature=related
5th February 2011, 05:53 AM
Kid, the intention seems to be to get peiple irritated at surya. Nov, tm thavira exclusive surya fans internetleye kedayaadhu
Sila vaarangaLukku mun a mass attack was made on kamal threads with a certain pattern
Hero padam peru-heroperu rangela id pudhusu pudhusaa yaarukku regularaa varum hubla?
Do the math. I think the sam.
5th February 2011, 06:00 AM
Kid, now you are feeding the troll. Vesham kattikittu vandha xyz fan-nu theLivA theriyudhu. Question is xyz is who? Could be this one or that, if you see what i mean
(Think which set of fans have new ids joinuing regularly :) )
Movie Cop
5th February 2011, 07:42 AM
Mabbu'la kekkuradhukku innum jalsa'va irukku.. Only problem is the fear of puking while laughing my ass off:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IwlF1sFztak&feature=related
Thanks for the ling. That was a good one especially his madras lingo... On a side note, didn't realize that madras bashai pugazh has gone upto wikipedia...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Madras_bashai
5th February 2011, 10:25 AM
I'm fairly certain the troll isn't a Surya fan! Ha!
singam-surya
7th February 2011, 02:31 AM
I'm fairly certain the troll isn't a Surya fan! Ha!
hi please mind yur vords. dont say bad word like troll. i am only taking part in discussion. i nevr made bad about kamal hassan. why are you pepole talking like this? and why are you saying i am not surya fan? have you seen me? do yuo knoe me? are you my friend? no right, then mind what yuo say abuot others.
singam-surya
7th February 2011, 02:34 AM
Kid, now you are feeding the troll. Vesham kattikittu vandha xyz fan-nu theLivA theriyudhu. Question is xyz is who? Could be this one or that, if you see what i mean
(Think which set of fans have new ids joinuing regularly :) )
what are you trying to say? why do you dont say it straight? and you peopl this is public place, why you tlk like this? everyone should be treated with respect. why are you disgracing your idol kamal? he gives everyone a chance to talk, and isinteligent. he repsects peopl. why are you all like this?
vadivelu_varar
7th February 2011, 02:50 AM
thambi singam-surya, enna pa pesure? unakku ethaachum pirachanai-na puthur selavai naan ethukkuren. yaen ya ingae vanthu kamal rangukku surya-vai pesure? unakku enna thaan problem?? naan ninaikkuren, surya kadantha kalama konjam sariyaa pannalai, athanaala athu Kamal thaan karanam-nu solli yaen ya enga thaaliyai arukkure?? kamal engae, avar panna saathanaigal engae, nee pesure vitham enga. shabbaaa, ippove kannai kattudhu da saami! dei soona paana, alert aagikkada!
vadivelu_varar
7th February 2011, 02:51 AM
on the side-track, intha display picture eppidi set pnnuvathu? yaarachum enakku oru nalla vadivelu padam kodungappa. en posts ellam molukatteernu iruku!
singam-surya
7th February 2011, 03:37 AM
thambi singam-surya, enna pa pesure? unakku ethaachum pirachanai-na puthur selavai naan ethukkuren. yaen ya ingae vanthu kamal rangukku surya-vai pesure? unakku enna thaan problem?? naan ninaikkuren, surya kadantha kalama konjam sariyaa pannalai, athanaala athu Kamal thaan karanam-nu solli yaen ya enga thaaliyai arukkure?? kamal engae, avar panna saathanaigal engae, nee pesure vitham enga. shabbaaa, ippove kannai kattudhu da saami! dei soona paana, alert aagikkada!
i never say kamal is bad. i said kamal is great. i never spoke terrible about his talents. why are you bringing surya now? surya is the next big thig. are you saying kamal has been doing great recntly? kamal too has been diong bad. So speak truth. surya is doing great even if kamal is in the field. dont talk bad like this, ok vadivelu_varar?
vadivelu_varar
7th February 2011, 03:49 AM
i never say kamal is bad. i said kamal is great. i never spoke terrible about his talents. why are you bringing surya now? surya is the next big thig. are you saying kamal has been doing great recntly? kamal too has been diong bad. So speak truth. surya is doing great even if kamal is in the field. dont talk bad like this, ok vadivelu_varar?
shabba....nee eluthurathai padikkurathukkulle enakku dangu-war anthudum pola! ennaiya engili-piece pesure? sari athai vidu, kamal has been doing great! leave movies box office status aloine, he has been giving quality films all the time. VV, Dasa, UPO, MMA all were different genres and brought out a different aspect of Kamal. what did surya do recently? ayan,adhavan,singam,RC. muthal moonume ore maathiri film thaan. ayan was made well, adhavan was onli Thalaivar Vadivelu was hero, not surya. singam pathi ooruke theriyum, athai appadadyie vittudalam. illatti Ahsingam aagidum. RC-le mokkai aagittaaru surya. ithule nee vanthu kamal kooda surya-vai compare pannure. and like you said surya MAY replace kamal in the FUTURE, but in the present, kamal still rules the roost when it comes to acting and quality. so unga surya puranathai poi surya threads-le padunga.
vadivelu_varar
7th February 2011, 03:51 AM
ignoring one particuler hubber, back to track! enakku kamal hassan nadichathule Panchatantiram ROMBA pudikkum. athule particular-ah antha hotel scene where all 5 of them start panicking, LOL! enna timing, enna comedy! super! ore varutham, yaen vadivelu singaravelan-ku appuram kamal kooda nadikkalai?? :(
7th February 2011, 04:07 AM
leave movies box office status aloine[/B], he has been giving quality films all the time. VV, Dasa, UPO, MMA all were different genres and brought out a different aspect of Kamal.
talking about box office status alone, he has untouchable blockbuster like dasavatharam.
I mean making a film blockbuster when there is nobody as big as the lead character and no others the No.1 in respective fields.
vadivelu_varar
7th February 2011, 04:12 AM
talking about box office status alone, he has untouchable blockbuster like dasavatharam.
I mean making a film blockbuster when there is nobody as big as the lead character and no others the No.1 in respective fields.
exactly! en inam allava nee, appadi thaan iruppai! in Dasa, it was really only Kamal. Even though Ks Ravi is good, he is not the best. Dsp and Himesh for music?! It was basically down to Kamal to make it work, and he made it a history-rewriting blockbuster! namma surya, yaaroda thayvum illama hit kodukka mudiyuma? its always due to excellent directors, musi directors, screenplay writers, co stars and all. no one can name a movie that worked soley because of him. intha singam-surya kadupethurar my lord!
7th February 2011, 05:30 AM
kid!!!
is that jus for fun or? :evil:
22nd February 2011, 12:41 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9K8VtKJRhuo&feature=related
From 4:27
A couple of years ago me and my other friend were discussing on how Kamal uses his body language. He was particularly referring to Kuruthi punal and especially the scene before the Minister's assasination. In This particular scene in Kamal for a minute or so instructs Kamal instructs his subordinates just by hand gestures. Very subtle.
Thank God Tamil Cinema had Kamal Haasan. I don't know about others but I am very glad that he is working in Tamil Films. Hope he gives us more of his direct films.
22nd February 2011, 12:29 PM
A couple of years ago me and my other friend were discussing on how Kamal uses his body language. He was particularly referring to Kuruthi punal and especially the scene before the Minister's assasination. In This particular scene in Kamal for a minute or so instructs Kamal instructs his subordinates just by hand gestures. Very subtle.
Thank God Tamil Cinema had Kamal Haasan. I don't know about others but I am very glad that he is working in Tamil Films. Hope he gives us more of his direct films.
Thanks for the link AF... Excellent sequence.. very gripping film. While watching this movie in theatre, I was feeling some kind of nervousness throughout.. Unique, great experience...
22nd February 2011, 12:58 PM
"We hear that Sonakshi is in Chandi-garh currently shooting for Shirish Kunder's Joker with Akshay Kumar and will shortly receive a story narration from director Selvaraghavan. Our source says, "Kamal Sir is doing a film that is reportedly inspired by Sir Anthony Hopkins' Hannibal. Since Sonakshi's acting talents in Dabangg have been applauded, Kamal is keen to have her in the role essayed by Julianne Moore."
Our source also specifies, "The film is being adapted to suit the Indian palette and though the film is being made in Tamil, it will in all likelihood be dubbed in Telugu and Hindi also."
-http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/
22nd February 2011, 03:48 PM
Oh idhu dhAn yeng thillAlangadi directorOda colloborationA? Please, please, we know Kamal the actor is great. No further proof is required. Please give us more of the scriptwriter
(NOV, how did a post replied here end up in Vijay thread?:roll:)
23rd February 2011, 06:38 AM
grouch, i'd be interested in that first published work of yours(scathing review of Indian)!Unfortunately, I lost the mag in my move back to Malaysia. Plum. Here's what I can recall:
1. I equated Indian Tata's makeup to those creatures in Star Trek, and in particular Suganya's to Star Trek: Babylon. This was before I knew that Westmore was involved.
2. The movie is like glossy current potato chips packages, 30% chips, 70% air.
3. Kamal Jr is the only realistic, believable character. The girls can go to hell.
4. Koundamani/Senthil combo is like the cars during traffic jam (really, I said something to that effect, as there were too many of them in films those days. I regret that. I shall be condemned forever).
5. Criticised the p!ss poor computer graphics.
6. Fantastic songs.
7. As senior, Kamal was acting his pants off, only it was blocked forever by the thick makeup. You can see only his eyes performing, which is not bad, but he's not Sivaji Ganesan.
8. Ending hinted sequel, I dreaded hoping that day will never come. Of course, I was an idiot, Shankar gave us Anniyan.
24th February 2011, 12:49 PM
Selva Raghavan will finish his new film with Kamal Haasan(!)( will they fin in <10months?)
Allu Arjun and Selva Raghavan will join hands to make a fantasy flick with a staggering budget of Rs 50 Crores Probably by the end of this year.
-a telgu website
cinema
25th February 2011, 03:46 AM
I just watched Salangai Oli. what a movie. There is no wonder that kamal lists this one as one of his favorites even almost after 30 years. Truly evergreen and I can't imagine anyone else in this movie other than kamal(Dancing and acting abilities at their best).
26th February 2011, 03:11 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=poS9ZgoC3wA&playnext=1&list=PLC5787EF0E489683A
After the crazy baloon jump scene there is a fantastic fight scene choreographed on the top of the terrace between Nandhu and Vijay. Some excellent shots, kicks and punches. I like the scene when Nandhu comes and sits in and then his mirror image comes a bit later :thumbsup:.
From 53:06.
11th March 2011, 11:54 AM
Sonakshi Sinha does not believe her 33-year age difference with Kamal Haasan will deter her from playing his wife in Tamil and Telugu director Selvaraghavan's film
I will be respectful but an equal on the sets with Kamal Haasan," says Sonakshi Sinha, who is gearing up to star as Haasan's wife, in the Tamil-Telugu director Selvaraghavan's film.
When asked if the 33-year age difference between Haasan and her will be an obstacle, Sinha tells us, "Why should that be a problem? Once you are on the sets in front of the camera, your age should not matter.
I never felt like a child while working with Salman in Dabangg (2010) and now with Akshay in Joker. In real life, age makes no difference in a marriage.
On screen too, your biological age is of no consequence. Salman and Akshay are a lot older than me so it's not as if I am suddenly going from teenybopper co-stars to a co-star of another generation."
Apart from the co-stars age difference, the movie has also reportedly garnered attention for being a remake of Hollywood director Ridley Scott's Hannibal (2001).
However, the actress quickly squashes all the rumours saying, "I don't know where these speculations started from. No this film is a complete original. When I heard the script, I was blown away."
Currently, Sinha is busy making all the efforts to get into character. She plans to watch Haasan's film, Hey Ram(2000), where the actor is married to Vasundhara Das, who is at least 25 years his junior, so as to see how they enacted a convincing on-screen chemistry.
In order to effectively portray Haasan's on-screen wife, Sinha wants to establish an off-screen rapport with him first, as she tells us, "I need to establish a comfort level with him. I certainly feel an initial nervousness, since Kamalji is legendary.
Acting with him is difficult enough. Playing his wife will require me to have a lot more guts."
To eliminate the language barrier, Sinha is taking cues from her father, Shatrughan, to learn how to read Tamil and Telugu, without making it obvious.
She adds, "It is impossible for me to get a grip on Tamil and Telugu in such a short time.
My father couldn't speak either language when he did Rakht Charitra (2010). He read out the lines from cue cards but no one could make it out and so now he is teaching me this trick of the trade."
prashanth12
11th March 2011, 12:07 PM
Reading lines from cue cards while acting a scene.
What next?
11th March 2011, 04:05 PM
vala vala'nu thevai illama pesikittu...
'vayasenna vayasu... nadikka chance kedachadhe periya visayam'nu sollitu poga vendiyadhu dhane...
11th March 2011, 04:59 PM
Reading lines from cue cards while acting a scene.
What next?
Kamal's own non-Indian mentor/guru, Brando, read off these cue cards/screen. Nothing wrong in that, let's hope she's able to carry it well. Able to express/articulate/stress the words better. This needs proper coaching from the AD.
11th March 2011, 05:03 PM
21) Explain cue cards. (2 Marks)
11th March 2011, 05:04 PM
Google it my lazy friend. ;)
11th March 2011, 05:05 PM
http://www.freakingnews.com/pictures/59500/Cue-Card-59770.jpg
11th March 2011, 05:30 PM
Google it my lazy friend. ;)pongaya yov...
google panna oru padatthukku aayiram reviews kedaikkum... adhu theriyamaya unga review post ellaam padichuttu irukkom...
11th March 2011, 05:34 PM
pongaya yov...
:confused2:
GM's Magudam dialOk..naan oruthan unakku koottamA theriyurEnA. :lol2:
11th March 2011, 05:49 PM
:confused2:
GM's Magudam dialOk..naan oruthan unakku koottamA theriyurEnA. :lol2:
naan visayam therinja ellaarayum podhuvaa kaetaen...
neenga avanga saarba, 'busy, mudiyadhu'nu' solliteenga... adhan.
11th March 2011, 05:52 PM
naan visayam therinja ellaarayum podhuvaa kaetaen...
neenga avanga saarba, 'busy, mudiyadhu'nu' solliteenga... adhan.
But I did put up the image in my very next post. :)
I'm surprised that you didn't know about 'cue cards' in first place. Or, did you see it as a chance to throw that iconic 'pliss explain'! :lol:
11th March 2011, 06:22 PM
illa kid, naan andha linka ippo dhan pakkuraen.... i chose to avoid clicking the links when hubbing from office...
i had an idea of wat it is... jus wanted to double check to be on the right page...
and... ya... iconic p.e. was also there. :)
26th March 2011, 01:00 AM
Thanks to Suka's solvanam article and I think he himself put this video out in youtube.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QLxMTnJxPGk&feature=player_embedded
What a lovely scene. Eyes would well up even when you are in the happiest of moods. So many things packed within these two minutes. Equal credits to Raja sir's rerecording. I am very glad I voted for Mahanadhi in this poll.
26th March 2011, 01:22 AM
Mahanadhi :bow: madhiri innoru padam Kamal'aalaye mudiyadhu
26th March 2011, 01:25 AM
Thanks to Suka's solvanam article and I think he himself put this video out in youtube.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QLxMTnJxPGk&feature=player_embedded
What a lovely scene. Eyes would well up even when you are in the happiest of moods. So many things packed within these two minutes. Equal credits to Raja sir's rerecording. I am very glad I voted for Mahanadhi in this poll.
You beat me to it...
Awesome scene.. Any one who is not aware of the "culture" of "ponnu periyaval aaitta" would not understand that bit, however Raaja puts an underline with shehnoy and the coy expression of shobana plus the "aasirwaadham" - only with such things are great scenes made of.
Krishnaswamy is broken down, but he manages to hold on and listen to his mother in law and kids - for Life has beaten him down severely, yet does not give him the luxury of immersing himself in his grief, for he has to talk to and listen from this world. A writer can write this in a sentence, but how to conceive this as a scene - Kamal does this part with aplomb. Divorcing myself from the grief of a father, I marvel at the carefully constructed scene. In such a scene, Kamal the actor, brings to the stage a pair of magnificient eyes and a voice that changes its tenor at the slightest provocation. Having understood the travesty that was handed out to another great actor(Sivaji) in the previous generation, A great actor constructs his stages by his own hands and puts up a drama that is worth his immense acting capabilities. Awesome, awesome scene..
V_S
26th March 2011, 01:39 AM
You made me cry like child by posting that video. Jai, as usual, very nice thoughts.
Indha madhiri padamellam inime varaathu. This one and Salangai Oli is my all time best tamizh movie. Kamal madhiri innoru actor pirappadhillai. Raja sir andha kootathile endha oru moolayile irudhaalum easiya kandupidicidalam. :notworthy:
29th March 2011, 01:20 PM
Versatile actor Kamal Hassan is teaming up with director Selva Raghavan for a new film, now the latest news is that the film title ‘Vishwaroopam’ is under consideration by the movie makers. The film is going to be the remake of the Hollywood movie Hannibal, and few changes will be made to suit the Indian audience. This film will be made in both the Tamil and Telugu languages simultaneously.
As per the sources this title is apt for the psychological thriller that Selva is making. Now the problem is the with the same title a film was released in the 80s with Sivaji Ganesan, Sujatha and Sri Devi in the lead roles and was directed by AC Trilogachandar. The talks are going on with the producers of the earlier film, if everything goes well, Viswaroopam is going to be the Kamal’s new film.
Bollywood beauty Sonakshi Sinha has been roped in to play the lead role in opposite Kamal Hassan, She will be playing Kamal’s wife in the movie. Not considering the age factor (33 year old difference), in mind, Sonakshi says she feels privileged to work with Kamal Hassan. A report also has it that she has been paid a huge amount to make her South Tamil debut and the lady has also laid conditions prior to signing the movie.
As per the sources the movie shooting will starts in April at London
31st March 2011, 01:40 PM
Kamal's own non-Indian mentor/guru, Brando, read off these cue cards/screen. Nothing wrong in that, let's hope she's able to carry it well. Able to express/articulate/stress the words better. This needs proper coaching from the AD.It was sheer laziness on Brando's part. But forgivable for his immense (no pun bro) talent. Mediocre case ellam research, acting/language coach use pannurathu nallathu.
14th July 2011, 07:58 AM
By the way, watched Indhiran Chandiran over the weekend, and found an anomaly (is that the right word?).
Last time when I watched it, it was College-u Degree-yum song that was featured in flashback, with that lazy dancing.
However, the one I watched this time, had some sort of classical dance. Only dance, no song. It's not the original telugu version mind you, it's the Tamizh one. But where the heck is College-u song? Anyone?
Movie Cop
9th August 2011, 01:01 AM
Kamal Haasan playing a cameo as a "fake lawyer" in "Thillu Mullu" climax... Effortlessly superb acting, I say. He is a natural in timing his comedy. :thumbsup:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=99TzsCC6BFQ
27th March 2012, 07:54 AM
alone at home yesterday, so took the opportunity to revisit Jappanil KalyanarAman for the purpose of writing RetroReview.....but I....just....can't....do....it.....
Plus Points:
Kamal/Kalyanam, very funny (allegation that Kamal excelled in comedy only after Apoorva Sahotharargal be damned. He was already funny in the original Kalyanaraman). Raman was just as a bore as the original.
Music. Lovely, lovely. Especially AppappA, a Jazz masterpiece
The fights. No, really. There's something special about the 80s faux martial arts fights, especially Kamal's Jackie Chan inspired one. Always be special to me.
VKR. He's becoming more and more awesome...
Negative.
The entire bloody movie. Shouldn't have existed. And the boy, I wish they had changed the story, have him die horrible death and the brothers team up to revenge, as if jr deserves it.
The fish outta water comedy, ewww.....it was cringeworthy then, and worst now.
Nasc
2nd April 2012, 11:57 AM
revisited Kalaignan today..
looks like kamal obviously had agreed to do this for sivaji blims....imo the begining of the movie clearly shows his non-commital...but as the movie progresses he starts improvising and remains sincere to the role - but the damage has already been done by then...
not that teh movie had a great screenplay or a story and to blame kamal for letting it down..but for me this movie makes it to the list of his umt,vv,singaravelan-ss
raja wasnt that great either -karthikraja had joined hands with him for a few tracks n bgm swell.
btw - production managers job shud have been a lot easier those days...watta template for allocating budget -
2nd April 2012, 01:29 PM
the movie's plot was simple. konjam comedy and popular heroines potrunthaa, padam hit aagi irukkum. I liked it to some extent.
Enthan nenjil was too good, but 2 songs, un repairable damage! Eadakku madakkaana sarakku & another song. the other 2 songs good.
VV, Singaravelan et all cannot be compared with this. They were bang on target audience.
2nd April 2012, 01:39 PM
I like Kalaignan songs :roll:
edakku madkkana - guitar opening, interlude ellAm nallAvE irukkum. naan thodaadha sigarangaL yEdhadi/ kaal padaadha arangedhu kooradi/ kai varaadha kalaigaLum yEdhadi...idhellAm kEttu pullarikkAdhavanga ellAm fans-A? Kamaan Sakala, recalibrate.
irreparable damage-!! :evil: I guess you are referring to ennadi azhagiya iLangiLi segment. enakku therinja aLavu adhu funky enRE solvEn :oops:
kalaignan kattu kaaval. Instrumentation sumaaraa dhaan irukkum, but SPB kaagavE kEkkalaam (paadum pAttEndrum nOi theerpadhu... - trumps same theme/idea based O O Sanam)
kokkarakkO kOzhi - Kamal paadiya vidhyAsamAna pAdalgaLil onRu. Lilting ellAm (kollAmal kolvEn) nallAvE varum.
Back then I hated how Dil bar JaanE became more popular than these songs. Overall it is good only, but Mano sir is there.
Kamal's acting is pretty ordinary in many parts in Kalaignan :oops: appo therila...sameebaththula pArthappO therinch.
2nd April 2012, 01:44 PM
Prabhu,
Best song of the album "enthan nenjil neengaatha thendral neethaana'-va vittuteengaLae ..
Agree on the acting part.
2nd April 2012, 02:03 PM
ஃபீயார், ஒரு 'கொம்பிலும் நான் கொஞ்சம் கறப்பேன், அதுதான் சாதனை", மாதிரி எஃபெக்ட் அதுல இல்லை! "கால்படாத அரங்கெது கூறடி" எல்லாம் ஏதோ பழைய ஸ்டைல் தமிழ் மாதிரி இருக்கு! ஒரு நவீனம் இல்லை.
அதே சமயம், தலைவர் ரசிகன் ந்னா, ரசிக்கணும்னா எதையும் ரசிப்பேன். அந்த வகையில் பாட்டு ரொம்ப மோசம்னெல்லாம் சொல்லமாட்டேன். ஆனா ஹிட்-மெட்டீரியல் இல்லை. இந்த படத்தில், கடைசியில் இந்திரஜித் வசனம், தூணை சுத்தி சுத்தி பேசுவாரே, அப்புறம் அந்த மார்கெட் சண்டை அதெல்லாம் goosebumps தான்!
எடக்குமடக்கு, கலைஞன் கட்டுக்காவல், இதெல்லாம் மும்பை எக்ஸ்ப்ரெஸ் மாதிரி. ரசிகர்களுக்கு மட்டுமே பிடிக்கும். அது கூட ஒரு சிலருக்குத்தான். I was voicing for a common audience in previous post.
எந்தன் நெஞ்சில் சூப்பர் ஹிட், தனியே எடுத்து வெச்சிடலாம். மத்த பாடல்கள் கொக்கரக்கோ & தில் பரி ஜானே எல்லாம் கேக்க மட்டுமில்லை, பார்க்கவும் நைஸ் தான்!
ஏற்கனவே சொன்னதுபோல் காமெடி, ஹீரோயின் எல்லாம் கொஞ்சம், பட்டி டிங்கரிங் பார்த்திருந்தால் படம் ஓடியிருக்கும். கலைஞன் - கொலைஞன் என விகடனில் விமர்சனம் போட்டானுவ :evil: நானெல்லாம் தினத்தந்தி விளம்பரத்தில் "கலைஞன்" என்ற பேரை மட்டும் வெட்டி அலமாரிக்குள் ஒட்டியவன். இப்பவும் இருக்கும் :D
2nd April 2012, 02:09 PM
I like Kalaignan songs :roll:
edakku madkkana - guitar opening, interlude ellAm nallAvE irukkum. naan thodaadha sigarangaL yEdhadi/ kaal padaadha arangedhu kooradi/ kai varaadha kalaigaLum yEdhadi...idhellAm kEttu pullarikkAdhavanga ellAm fans-A? Kamaan Sakala, recalibrate.
irreparable damage-!! :evil: I guess you are referring to ennadi azhagiya iLangiLi segment. enakku therinja aLavu adhu funky enRE solvEn :oops:
kalaignan kattu kaaval. Instrumentation sumaaraa dhaan irukkum, but SPB kaagavE kEkkalaam (paadum pAttEndrum nOi theerpadhu... - trumps same theme/idea based O O Sanam)
kokkarakkO kOzhi - Kamal paadiya vidhyAsamAna pAdalgaLil onRu. Lilting ellAm (kollAmal kolvEn) nallAvE varum.
Back then I hated how Dil bar JaanE became more popular than these songs. Overall it is good only, but Mano sir is there.
Kamal's acting is pretty ordinary in many parts in Kalaignan :oops: appo therila...sameebaththula pArthappO therinch.This. The bummer was Kokkorokko Kozhi, gosh if you want to embarass Kamal in a function, please mention this :evil: SPB takes the centrestage here. Pala tadava solli irukkEn, if Kamal was found to be the murderer at the end and gets away, wow....
2nd April 2012, 02:10 PM
ஒரு காட்சியில், ஹீரோயினை ஹோட்டல் மொட்டைமாடிக்கு அழைத்து செல்வார் கமல். அதுக்கும் முன்பு வரும் பின்னணி இசை, தண்ணீர் சொட்டும் சத்தத்தை வைத்து பண்ணிருப்பார். மொட்டை வெறிகொண்டி ஆடியிருப்பாப்ல. கார்த்திக்ராஜா செய்திருக்க வாய்ப்பே இல்லை.
ஆனால், இந்த படம் ஊத்திகிட்டதால் தேவர் மகனில் ஏறிய க்ராஃப் சற்று இரங்கிட்டு! அப்புறம் தான் பாலுமகேந்திரா ஸ்டேட்மென்ட் விட்டார் "கமல் ஒரு நல்ல படம் தந்தால் அடுத்து பத்து குப்பைப்படம் செய்கிறார்"
2nd April 2012, 02:12 PM
This. The bummer was Kokkorokko Kozhi, gosh if you want to embarass Kamal in a function, please mention this :evil: SPB takes the centrestage here. Pala tadava solli irukkEn, if Kamal was found to be the murderer at the end and gets away, wow....
அதான் சிகப்பு ரோஜாக்கள் செஞ்சாச்சே! ஆனா அந்த ஃபீலிங் ஏற்படுத்தி ரசிகர்களை ஏமாத்த தான் "முன்னம் ஒரு நாளில் அன்னை மடியில்" சோகப்பாட்டு எல்லாம் பாடுவார்!
Anybody remembers that chair which takes him to that stage, niceee :)
2nd April 2012, 02:17 PM
The funny/stupid part was the Nassar and cops in trenchcoat and hat, under the street lamp/rain. Noir effect-Am :lol2:
2nd April 2012, 02:25 PM
kalakka pOvadhu was :roll: for me.
It is a very thudhipaadal song.
As I said during Dasa discussion- hate ulaganAyaganE. It is not an enjoyable collar-lifting song.
naan aaNai ittAl is a fun song
neenga nallA irukkaNum naadu munnArE is an urgh song.
edakku madakkaana - lyrics eppadi vandhu ukkArudhu paarunga.
adhuvaaaaa sadhanai ellAm :x
2nd April 2012, 02:31 PM
Intha singGars tannai thAnE pugazhurathu rap/hip hop culture ippO. NammAlungga appavE pannikinanggabA...
2nd April 2012, 02:34 PM
Though the whole song is not much of goosebumps, "கொம்பினில் நான் கொஞ்சம் கறப்பேன், அதுதான் சாதனை" is useful to quote in many situations. Ualaganaayagane, as a song superb. Lyrics, ok not bad thaan sollaNum. the actual buildup is more in the visauls(ultafast makeup) than the song alone.
What is the best buildup song you cant control?!?
ILamai itho itho(miles ahead, eternal)
Devar magan, intial 2 songs
VV
2nd April 2012, 02:37 PM
Varuthu Varuthu ada vilagu vilagu...dammit if people don't make way for him :smokesmile:
2nd April 2012, 02:46 PM
Yes, but Ilamai itho itho survives for generations, other songs take slightly a back seat.
2nd April 2012, 02:51 PM
Vikram
thEr sellattum en pEr vellattum
radha gaja padai engum sellum viNNai vellum
vaanum maNNum en pEr sollum
2nd April 2012, 02:56 PM
radha gaja padai Godddammittt....finally found out the words after tonty six yearsss....thanks PR. Vairamuthu?
2nd April 2012, 02:56 PM
Viktam am.. am... am... Vikram trrrr trrr
Whatte modern song, even now its not getting old! பாட்டின் நடுவே பேசுவது, like rap bit, இந்தப்படத்தில் தானா ஆரம்பம்?!? சாந்து பொட்டு வில் கூட செய்திருப்பாரே...
2nd April 2012, 03:35 PM
edakku madkkana - guitar opening, interlude ellAm nallAvE irukkum. naan thodaadha sigarangaL yEdhadi/ kaal padaadha arangedhu kooradi/ kai varaadha kalaigaLum yEdhadi...idhellAm kEttu pullarikkAdhavanga ellAm fans-A? Kamaan Sakala, recalibrate
mukkiyamaana line'a amukkitteengalae...
mayangidaadha azhagigal kooradi...
i love this song, dillu baru jaane ellaam naama modhallo pesiya indhi vaarthaigal...
dhillu dheevaane... thitthikkira thaenae - ipdi ippo yarachum oru lyric writer eludhinaa standards, sections'nu pinni edutthura maattom???
2nd April 2012, 03:49 PM
kiravuso, not sure who the lyricist is.
SS, isn't it மயங்கிடாத மதிகளும் யாரடி?
btw Kalaignan kattu kaaval lightA paadi paarunga, appo dhaan andha dharmam puriyum.
SPB keezhEndhu mEla, mElErndhu keezha paainju paainju, pala pitchgaLla paaduvaar
2nd April 2012, 03:53 PM
kiravuso, not sure who the lyricist is.
SS, isn't it மயங்கிடாத மதிகளும் யாரடி?
btw Kalaignan kattu kaaval lightA paadi paarunga, appo dhaan andha dharmam puriyum.
SPB keezhEndhu mEla, mElErndhu keezha paainju paainju, pala pitchgaLla paaduvaar
:oops: apdi oru line'um irundhucha...
namakku thevayana maadhiri edutthukitten pola...
and the song which u say, its been a decayed i hav listened to it and could not recall much... but sure if i listen it again i could easily sing it along with 95% words right... andha kaalatthula ellaam en memory nallaa dhaan irundhadhu..
2nd April 2012, 04:17 PM
பலமான மக்கள் ஆதரவு இருக்கா!! அப்புறம் என்ன! கட்ரா தோரணத்த!, அட்ரா மேளத்த!! :D :redjump:
rylics davut clear pannikkonga -> http://www.raaga.com/channels/tamil/moviedetail.asp?mid=t0000076
all songs by youth poet
21st April 2012, 12:31 PM
Sigappu Rojakkal - Caught the last few minutes. Another overrated Bharadhiraasa film. Aana onnu, andha climax scene, especially the last frame podhum :notworthy:
21st April 2012, 02:04 PM
Sigappu Rojakkal - Caught the last few minutes. Another overrated Bharadhiraasa film. Aana onnu, andha climax scene, especially the last frame podhum :notworthy:
Bala, Yenga? Yen? Sariyaana Rate dhaangradhu IMO. Adhigam pesaadha oru characterla Kamal impact create pannirukkaarna indha padhatha udhaaranama sollalaam. Andha Saree/Kerchief selection scene onne podhume. The bargains with Bhagyaraj inside the bar and the way his face expressions change when he gradually loses his cool :clap:
The movie might have been inspired by Boston Strangler or any other Hollywood classic but BR did come up with a memorable thriller, very different from the other movies of this genre in TFI. Andha "voyeur" scenes ellaame kooda romba realistic'a irukkum. I would say SR was the best among all thrillers made in late 70's & early 80's.
21st April 2012, 08:26 PM
sigappu Rojakkalum over rated'ah.. right'u...
pammal, 5tricks, kadhala kadhala etc. gains more support than old classics in hub.. hmm.. onnum solradhukkillai..
21st April 2012, 09:57 PM
Sila padangkaL antha kaala kattathil thaan porunthi varum. Sigappu RojaakkaL is one such. But if we fit into that mentality we will like it. Horror, Terror movies list la athukku oru pesal please irukku
21st April 2012, 10:09 PM
Ungalukku kadasiya pudicha padam Sholay-va? :lol:
21st April 2012, 10:32 PM
Sila padangkaL antha kaala kattathil thaan porunthi varum. Sigappu RojaakkaL is one such
Yes
Feddy :lol: Thamizh la kadaisiya Mounaguru thevala...
21st April 2012, 11:53 PM
overrated-aaa??? sollave illa..
its nothing less than a classic..
super super slick movie... damn stylish .. naaasthi editing, chanceless music.. superb acting ... ungalukku itha vida enna saami venum ??
hero- heroine duet song-la slow motion-la odi vanthaa tension aayidalaamaa :P
22nd April 2012, 12:00 AM
starting at 4.06
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eOuUFaT3siQ
Thalaivan :clap: Refer bala's avatar!
22nd April 2012, 12:04 AM
Well, some BR movies haven't aged well. Mundhi maadhiri eerkalai
Thala, when he "explodes" - avvalavu convincing-a irundhucha? Last night, a couple of examples bhakiaraj murder scene and when he screams at his servant when the game is up. Thala standards ku not so convincing, ennaya poruthavaraikkum
tamizharasan
22nd April 2012, 02:23 AM
sigappu Rojakkalum over rated'ah.. right'u...
pammal, 5tricks, kadhala kadhala etc. gains more support than old classics in hub.. hmm.. onnum solradhukkillai..
Yes I do see some kind of bias towards Kamal created later ones when compared with Kamal acted earlier ones or at least where the kamal's involvement is high. I do agree with the fact that Kamal created ones did raise the bar in Tamil Cinema but finding fault with his earlier films where he just acted is not fair.
tamizharasan
22nd April 2012, 02:27 AM
Well, some BR movies haven't aged well. Mundhi maadhiri eerkalai
Thala, when he "explodes" - avvalavu convincing-a irundhucha? Last night, a couple of examples bhakiaraj murder scene and when he screams at his servant when the game is up. Thala standards ku not so convincing, ennaya poruthavaraikkum
Yes Kamal as an actor was still maturing during that stage and I don't think he became complete actor until later.
22nd April 2012, 06:31 AM
but finding fault with his earlier films where he just acted is not fair.
enna unfair?
It's not like pathinaaru vayadhinilE is being shot down. That is all kinds of excellent.
I don't think sigappi is that good.
oru idhiya kudimagan, idhai solradhukku kooda urimai illaiyA?
22nd April 2012, 08:01 AM
சில படங்களுக்கு படம் வெளியான காலகட்டத்தை பொருத்திப்பார்ப்பதே சரி. அப்படிப்பார்த்தால் இந்தப்படத்தில் எந்த குறையும் இல்லையே! வெளியான காலத்தில் நன்கு ரிசீவ் ஆனது. இப்போதும் இந்தப்படத்தின் தாக்கம், இதிலுள்ள சில காட்சிகள், நடிப்பு இசை இதெல்லாம் ரசிக்கும்படி இருக்கிறது. 16 வயதினிலே போல் இல்லையென்றாலும் ரொம்ப மோசம் எல்லாம் இல்லையே! கலைஞன் படத்திற்கு இதன் பாதிப்பு தேவைப்பட்டது! அதாவது, 'ஏதாவது சிகப்பு ரோஜாக்கள் போல இருக்கும்' என எண்ண வைத்து ரசிகர்களை ஏமாற்றினார்கள்!
tamizharasan
22nd April 2012, 08:01 AM
I am not great admirer of BR but my point was Kamal as a creator could not drag the audience along with him even though he could make movies to perfection if given a chance. (nooru, iranooru varusham pin thangiyirukkuRa indha tamizh cinemala vera enna panna mudiyumngreengala) Like Marudhanayagam would have been perfect movie from what I heard about his depth of research and depth of work was done before the movie could hit the floors. But it was very unfortunate that Movie has not been materialized yet because of the fear of its commercial viability. But the likes of BR struck the chord with audience by making decent movies for our audience even though all had their own share of flaws. Sivappu Rojakkal was definitely a good movie considering the development of Tamil Cinema at that point in time. ambuttuthEn, inna neenga pesunga.
22nd April 2012, 08:23 AM
16V does not need a time handicap. I like it as is even today: 'seeppu kuduththu vittaaLE...sillaRai kuduththu vittALA?...idhu eppadi irukku?' :lol:
Sigappi is not like that.
And moreover, it is quoted as en example of BR's stamping authority outside comfort zone etc. adhunaala edhirkka vENdi irukku.
btw..even back then, bayamE varaliyE.... oru maadhiri forced-A irunchch.
22nd April 2012, 08:25 AM
I am not great admirer of BR but my point was Kamal as a creator could not drag the audience along with him even though he could make movies to perfection if given a chance.
But the likes of BR struck the chord with audience by making decent movies for our audience even though all had their own share of flaws.
TA, looks like you are un settling in this issue! Anyways good, becos it brings in good discussion! Whatever amount of audience kamal has dragged till now itself is a great feat. Leave the kamal fans, even leave the new crop of directors who are heavily inspired by kamal. Rajni himself, i guess is inspired by kamal!
While many keeps saying that Kamal is trying to become a Rajini, with movies like Dasavatharam adn (probably) Viswaroopam, Rajini is silently adopting many things (possible by his limited talent) which are so kamal. Enthiran itself has indirect, i would say, long-distant, impacts of kamalism. Prosthetics, hardworking/taking risk for the role, movie having multilple ends(kind of), logical reasoning(having proper link bw scenes) the scientist character trying to be realistic etc. Did ppl notice, after baba, Rajini is no more making simple movies like baadshah, annamalai etc.
wondering what reaction this post is going to bring :lol:
22nd April 2012, 08:26 AM
enna unfair?
It's not like pathinaaru vayadhinilE is being shot down. That is all kinds of excellent.
I don't think sigappi is that good.
oru idhiya kudimagan, idhai solradhukku kooda urimai illaiyA?
tamizharasan
22nd April 2012, 09:38 AM
TA, looks like you are un settling in this issue! Anyways good, becos it brings in good discussion! Whatever amount of audience kamal has dragged till now itself is a great feat. Leave the kamal fans, even leave the new crop of directors who are heavily inspired by kamal. Rajni himself, i guess is inspired by kamal!
While many keeps saying that Kamal is trying to become a Rajini, with movies like Dasavatharam adn (probably) Viswaroopam, Rajini is silently adopting many things (possible by his limited talent) which are so kamal. Enthiran itself has indirect, i would say, long-distant, impacts of kamalism. Prosthetics, hardworking/taking risk for the role, movie having multilple ends(kind of), logical reasoning(having proper link bw scenes) the scientist character trying to be realistic etc. Did ppl notice, after baba, Rajini is no more making simple movies like baadshah, annamalai etc.
wondering what reaction this post is going to bring :lol:
It is not going to bring any reaction as one would expect and our hub RK and KH fans grown beyond that. We are going to analyze the statements on its merit rather than making it personal. I totally understand the fact Kamal did drag his fans who were also front benchers (like me) during sakalakala vallavan and made them more matured over the period of time by selecting the right movies and right characters. But Kamal actually deviated too much himself during Hey Ram which even his fans were not ready. Nothing wrong with Hey Ram and on my book it is one of the most perfect movies ever made in Tamil with arguably the least no. of flaws. As far as the Kamal's impact on Rajini I have not seen it. Your argument regarding endhiran, I reject it because endhiran was initially scripted for Kamal. I don't have any problem if Kamal did actually make any impact on Rajini's career.
22nd April 2012, 10:31 AM
even by going by your terms, rajini accepting a script written for kamal itself shows that rajini was kamalified atleast to some extent. If not his health problems, rajini would be doing a film which demands effort as much as enthiran.
tamizharasan
22nd April 2012, 10:42 AM
If A and B are Rajini and Kamal movies then A intersection B would be Indian, Endhiran etc. For most of the kamal fans here Indian does not stand high on Kamal's resume and Endhiran would have been the same if Kamal had acted on it. Sakala till now I don't see any strong argument for Kamal's impact on Rajini because consciously Rajini took a different path than Kamal I believe.
22nd April 2012, 10:49 AM
When films like Manmadhan, Kadhal Kondein, Nan Avan illai, Nadunisi Nai and stuff releases, we'd harp on how much of a classic is SR.
In process of being rated quite highly for some time, it has become overrated.
Soon I'd expect people to say that in process of being regarded as overtly overrated, how uber underrated it has become..
But I agree that certain scenes in the film are so kappi. Handkerchief sequence for example isn't quite your idea of dating, is it? But then I've known people from 80's who got into 'love marriage' for 5 minute 'stare contest'. As a cautionary thriller, SR works. Don't let underage boys mingle with horny teenage girls. Rose plants grows faster on dead carcass. Black cats drinks blood. And so on.
Actually when you come to think of it, BR's imagery quite effective in unsettling the viewer. That freeze frame with IR's BGM (masterful or what! That piano bit plus choral :bow: ) and all worked nicely, no?
So come to think of it, If I am being honest, at the end of the day, to put it mildly, if I remember correctly, it is okay to grant it with importance.
22nd April 2012, 11:10 AM
16V does not need a time handicap. I like it as is even today: 'seeppu kuduththu vittaaLE...sillaRai kuduththu vittALA?...idhu eppadi irukku?' :lol:
Sigappi is not like that.
And moreover, it is quoted as en example of BR's stamping authority outside comfort zone etc. adhunaala edhirkka vENdi irukku.
btw..even back then, bayamE varaliyE.... oru maadhiri forced-A irunchch.ஆமாம் ஆமாம். சிகப்பியில் வரும் திகில் காட்சிகள் பல பயத்தை வரவழைக்காமல் காமெடிக் காட்சிகளாகத் தெரியும். பாராதிராஜாவின் நகர்ப்புறக் கதைகளில் (ஒரு கைதியின் டைரி விதிவிலக்கு! - நன்றி பாக்யராஜின் திரைக்கதை) நாடகத்தன்மை மிகவும் அதிகம்! பாலா சொல்வது போல.. சிகப்பி ரொம்பவும் புகழப்பட்டு வரும் படம்!
tamizharasan
22nd April 2012, 11:35 AM
Now let us alasify and kalachify oru kaidhiyin diary. Apart from Kamal's acting the movie had lot of flaws. First of all old Kamal make-up looked so artificial and looked differen in each scenes he acted. It is definitely one of the most overrated movies of BR.
hamid
22nd April 2012, 11:41 AM
Now let us alasify and kalachify oru kaidhiyin diary. Apart from Kamal's acting the movie had lot of flaws. First of all old Kamal make-up looked so artificial and looked differen in each scenes he acted. It is definitely one of the most overrated movies of BR.
TA, Old Kamal getup and voice were good in my opinion...
22nd April 2012, 11:49 AM
sigappi'ku edhirpu enraal.. sirippe varraadha.. sirippu padangal ennum muthirai ulla padangalukku ingu varaverppu adhigam ulladhu enbadhai mattum azhuthamaga aanitharamaga koorikolgiren... sameebathiya eduthukaattu.. manmadhan ambu...
oru kaalathil bharathiraja'vin padangalai rasithen.. pala padangal ippozhudhu sirippaga irukkiradhu.. aanal sigappi innamum rasikkumpadiyaga enakku irukkiradhu...
ambuttudhen..
tamizharasan
22nd April 2012, 11:50 AM
Hamid
I don't think anyone can beat Kamal in voice modulation. (Greatest example was Nayakan and recently it was dasavathaaram). Make up was not upto the mark when compared with other movies. But my criticism was just for fun though as people are going to take a ride at oru kaidhiyin diary.
Saai
22nd April 2012, 11:56 AM
Sigappu Rojakkal is a classic!
A very disturbing movie. Both the content and the images are very disturbing. The frozen images of teenage girls and young kamal with the background score tikudu tikudu - tikudu tigudu :notworthy: Quite thrilling too - the scene where sridevi rams into a door and finds kamal's foster father :clap: ... . ... Only downside is the romantic scenes between kamal and sridevi before their marriage.
Even now the film looks slick and stylish...
22nd April 2012, 12:45 PM
ஆமாம் ஆமாம். சிகப்பியில் வரும் திகில் காட்சிகள் பல பயத்தை வரவழைக்காமல் காமெடிக் காட்சிகளாகத் தெரியும்.!
Innikku paakkumbodhu silarukku sirippu varalaam, as we are now exposed to Ulaga Cinema. But the impact this movie created when it released was phenomenal. I was lucky to watch this movie when I was in school (re-release). But many of my friends weren't. Reason: Their parents didn't allow them to watch it because of its violent/adult theme. Neenga solra maadhiri 'funny scenes' ellaa dhigil padangalilum undu. I was least impressed by the celebrated 'Psycho' when I watched it 2 years back. Especially the shower scene and the climax in which his 'mother' is revealed(:rotfl:), IMO was not scary enough. Adhukkaaga adhellaam classic illainnu solla mudiyuma?
Horror/Thriller movies ellaam andhandha kaalathula Big Screenla paathaal mattume muzhusa appreciate panna mudiyum.
22nd April 2012, 12:54 PM
Psycho IS scary IMO. Certainly not :rotfl: Mother sequence was brilliant. Hitch/Perkins :clap: However the same scene directed by Gus Van Saant and acted by Vince Vaughn remake was very funny.
Didn't find that many scenes in SR scary but an argument could be made for 'unsettling'. Certainly not funny. KH's haircut/bell bottom pants might be funny today. Vadivu in 'modern dress', the pink color sofa set, Sridevi in shower, etc might be funny. But the scenes, dialogues and acting didn't come across as funny.
And yeah, 'scary' isn't the only criteria to judge, is it.
22nd April 2012, 12:58 PM
Old Kamal make-up was not natural but somehow I liked it. Happened to watch parts of '24 Mani Neram', made by BR's assistant Manivannan last night on Sun TV. Inspired by OKD but made the latter look like a classic. But tell me, how is OKD rated high? It was a big hit but I've seen more people talk about its inferior remake 'Aakhri Raasta' than the original.
22nd April 2012, 01:12 PM
Psycho IS scary IMO. Certainly not :rotfl: Mother sequence was brilliant. Hitch/Perkins :clap: However the same scene directed by Gus Van Saant and acted by Vince Vaughn remake was very funny.
It depends on when and how you watch a movie. After repeatedly watching the numerous adaptations, inspired versions, scenes with scarier BGMs and visual effects, even the original wouldn't create an impact which it deserves to make. Today a 'Grudge' would scare me more than an Exorcist or Poltergeist. Adhukku enna seyya? Oh, Aananappatta Exhorcist ivvalavu dhaanannu oru feeling varum. The same feeling crept in when I watched Hitch's 'The Birds'. Psycho paakkumbodhe the mother character imaginarynnu therinjidum. Having seen our Desi Psychos in Moodupani and Darr, I had great expectations on how this fictitious character in the 'mother of all thrillers' is revealed, and when I saw that it wasn't scary for me.
22nd April 2012, 01:28 PM
Sigappu Rojakkal is a classic!
A very disturbing movie. Both the content and the images are very disturbing. The frozen images of teenage girls and young kamal with the background score tikudu tikudu - tikudu tigudu :notworthy: Quite thrilling too - the scene where sridevi rams into a door and finds kamal's foster father :clap: ... . ... Only downside is the romantic scenes between kamal and sridevi before their marriage.
Even now the film looks slick and stylish...
tikudu tikudu - tikudu tigudu Saai, :-)
Yes, 'Disturbing', and not 'Scary' is the right word. BR could have cast well known actors as Kamal's foster dad/yejamaaniyamma(1 and 2). I never saw them in any other movie other than SR. But the new faces, though were not good in acting, made it look somewhat real.
And whats so bad in those romantic scenes? There weren't many such scenes, were they? Inge adhigam pugazhappadum 16V-ilayum Sridevi-Daaktar romance amateurisha thaan irukkum.
22nd April 2012, 02:41 PM
//Crime rate increase alert
Psycho - never understood the big deal about this film.
22nd April 2012, 02:42 PM
22nd April 2012, 02:51 PM
East Aprica thangadhu.
22nd April 2012, 06:01 PM
black & white
shadows
music
22nd April 2012, 06:02 PM
So looks like, majority ppl actually LIKE Red Rose! This is what one can see from the recent posts. No of liking hubbers high than dis-likers...
22nd April 2012, 06:03 PM
why Red Rose? thats in hindi no?
22nd April 2012, 07:17 PM
In process of being rated quite highly for some time, it has become overrated.
Soon I'd expect people to say that in process of being regarded as overtly overrated, how uber underrated it has become..
wow, k-g :clap:
tamizharasan
22nd April 2012, 08:17 PM
Old Kamal make-up was not natural but somehow I liked it. Happened to watch parts of '24 Mani Neram', made by BR's assistant Manivannan last night on Sun TV. Inspired by OKD but made the latter look like a classic. But tell me, how is OKD rated high? It was a big hit but I've seen more people talk about its inferior remake 'Aakhri Raasta' than the original.
Ungalukku naan endha contextla sonnEnnu puriyala. Anyway I did like OKD a lot when I watched it. But it has been a while since I revisited it. I normally don't try to find faults with old movies if I liked them on first visit because time and taste change over the period of time. Very very few movies overcome the test of time IMO. In the category of acting OKD is much superior to Aakhri Raasta. The only improvisation in Aakhri Raasta was the climax where they made the last murder as more believable one.
23rd April 2012, 01:06 AM
I have never seen it.
Hitchcock oru thiRamaiyaana director-nu%2
23rd April 2012, 07:38 AM
There is certain disdain for fans pre-Nayagan Kamal movies going on here, I am very much affected in that case.
Anyway, in my offence against Barathiraja (http://grouchydays.blogspot.com/2011/01/back-off-bharathiraja.html), I did write, "He took a break from village, came up with excellent Sigappu Rojakkal, one of the very few film of his that didn’t age, thanks to well preserved Kamal Haasan and awesome soundtrack. Not that it was original, but nobody has seen a suspense thriller ala Psycho before in the industry."
23rd April 2012, 08:12 AM
Avvai Shanmugi revisit on wife's request (after we saw a comedy clip on TV).
- Still is as lovely. Only thing, they could have avoided the running "ippo nenggathAne sonningga" gag. One too many.
- Best prosthetic job ever, almost perfect.
- best performance by a kid, wish it was her not Shalini back in 80s
- Kamal acting as Pandian, acting as avvai faking emotional moments....first class! first class!
- Better and more clever than Mrs. Doubtfire (Kamal's authentic mAmi vs William's pedophile in drag).
- the laughs...I'd giggle anticipating a comedic scene, wife'd be curious, then the scene comes and I continue laughing. This is comedy, man!
- it hadn't aged, and it won't.
23rd April 2012, 10:34 AM
William's pedophile in drag. :roll: ?
23rd April 2012, 10:36 AM
Paappaa, sirikkiriyaa aluvuriyaa??
Aluvurenyaa! :lol:
23rd April 2012, 10:42 AM
Well, She's a real estate honcho now.
http://www.deccanchronicle.com/channels/showbiz/kollywood/%E2%80%98plot%E2%80%99ting-her-destiny-544
23rd April 2012, 11:20 AM
Holy canoli, nalla valarchi, good for her.
P_R, I really like Williams when he is not in the movie, hillarious, check out his interviews in youtube (especially Inside Actor's Studio one, guaranteed tears in eyes). But not in movies, and not this one, ewwww.....
23rd April 2012, 11:22 AM
Paappaa, sirikkiriyaa aluvuriyaa??
Aluvurenyaa! :lol:
And Delhi Ganesh, one of his finest and funniest :lol: Every scene in danger of overshadowing others! Totally in command.
23rd April 2012, 11:25 AM
Holy canoli, nalla valarchi, good for her.
P_R, I really like Williams when he is not in the movie, hillarious, check out his interviews in youtube (especially Inside Actor's Studio one, guaranteed tears in eyes). But not in movies, and not this one, ewwww.....
Yeah. I don't remember the peadophile bit. Hence confused.
23rd April 2012, 12:27 PM
Vikram
thEr sellattum en pEr vellattum
radha gaja padai engum sellum viNNai vellum
vaanum maNNum en pEr sollum
இடையில வர்ற கர் ..புர் சவுண்டெல்லாம் மூக்கால உண்டாக்கிட்டு பாடித் திரிஞ்சது ஒரு காலம் :)
Movie Cop
23rd April 2012, 12:45 PM
- Still is as lovely. Only thing, they could have avoided the running "ippo nenggathAne sonningga" gag. One too many.
- Best prosthetic job ever, almost perfect.
- Kamal acting as Pandian, acting as avvai faking emotional moments....first class! first class!
- Better and more clever than Mrs. Doubtfire (Kamal's authentic mAmi vs William's pedophile in drag).
- the laughs...I'd giggle anticipating a comedic scene, wife'd be curious, then the scene comes and I continue laughing. This is comedy, man!
- it hadn't aged, and it won't.
The biggest plus for AS is that Kamal's brilliant acting was well backed up by a equally competent supporting cast of Delhi Ganesh, Manivannan, Nasser and (of course) Nagesh! :)
Although tamil film lovers are all indebted to Mrs. Doubtfire (:lol:), I've to (mildly) put that Mrs. Doubtfire was quite a blade. :)
23rd April 2012, 01:19 PM
இடையில வர்ற கர் ..புர் சவுண்டெல்லாம் மூக்கால உண்டாக்கிட்டு பாடித் திரிஞ்சது ஒரு காலம் :):lol2: This is universal, my younger brother does near perfect imitation of the sound effect.
tamizharasan
23rd April 2012, 09:13 PM
Delhi Ganesh in Avvai Shanmughi
madham mAruna peru thAn mARum uruvam koodava mARum. Delhi Ganesh is truly world class and it is very unforunate that he did not get recognistion he deserved all along.
One of my friend was telling if you want to know, what kind of actor is Kamal then watch AS then you will know. Very true indeed. How convincingly he pulled off a lady role with voice modulation and body language.
23rd April 2012, 09:33 PM
complying the mood :) And one question, does anybody find any 'paaNdi' in this song?!?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0sREuI0Mfu0
23rd April 2012, 09:42 PM
இடையில வர்ற கர் ..புர் சவுண்டெல்லாம் மூக்கால உண்டாக்கிட்டு பாடித் திரிஞ்சது ஒரு காலம் :) :rotfl2:
How convincingly he pulled off a lady role with voice modulation and body language. There is one poster where Shanmugi is behind a door and 'her' hand is resting on the door. The way his hand/fingers rest will have a naLiNam. Brilliant.
If he were to get an acting NA that year, this one ahead of Senapathi I say.
23rd April 2012, 09:47 PM
Though I'm not qualified enough to comment on this thread, as the (possibly) only fellow left in the hub to defend BR (i.e. BR in association with IR of the pre-vEdham pudhidhu era), want to add a few lines :-)
-Those who try to give "extra-credit" to KBR for OKD and claim that it was better than SR because of him, please recognize that KBR did the same job for SR also :lol: (And in his own attempt to do a similar movie in VVK, he didn't do very well)
-OKD is a polished / sophisticated masAlA (pazhi vAngal killing 3, rapist & accomplices) which worked mainly because of a) KH-Radha scenes + KH doing a great job in the scenes after the suicide & b) Some interesting interchange between appA KH & Revathy. Otherwise, it was very average, had even a 'lEsA neevu' insert by distributor compulsion etc
-Comparing SR with OKD is ridiculous IMO (even if it is done on a Kamal-Kamal basis), classic v/s masAlA
-"thrillers", by nature, lose their shock levels on repeated viewings even within the same time period. The shock-thrill part may even become irrelevant beyond a time period (like someone mentioned, even exorcist / the omen / psycho may put one to sleep nowadays. Actually, I do remember dozing off in a Bangalore MG road theater in late 80's when watching psycho, that too first time viewing! OTOH, good-bad-ugly first time viewing in some MG Road theater around the same time period was such a thrilling experience)
-impact of big theater ambience for thrillers should be recognized - never the same on TV (even with all home theater setup)
-the whole KH-SD romance was unusual & novel, extremely advanced not just for the SR time period, it was refreshingly different even when I viewed 5 years later than release, which was my first time! And the song sequences were phenomenal as well (with special mention to Niwas's camera work, awesome)!
-Imagine just two songs in a KH-SD-BR-IR movie in 70's! That itself was something! And the whole second half was edge of the seat material - i.e. for first-timer! (I believe it depicted things happening in one night).
-My only complain with SR was loud music by IR for the flash-backs (he was still immature in BGM IMHO... like the "Natraj" sequences in moonRam piRai that had some loud sounds that irritated me). The BGM was awesome otherwise, IMHO.
-16V is "ever-re-watchable" because of the genre. Also, such genre doesn't need a big theater (can enjoy even just the olichchiththiram on a kOlAmbi). So, unfair comparison! SR may still be a great first-time watch (keeping in mind the time period), especially in a big theater with mixed audience!
23rd April 2012, 09:52 PM
Also, one should watch SR without having a load of expectations for KH (ulaga nAyakan, sakalakalA vallavan etc). He did what was needed for that role - very aptly! I think it was brilliant!
24th April 2012, 06:35 PM
Another (digressive) small point on SR:
At the time of its arrival, Sridevi had reasonable amount of fans in TN. (It won't be an exaggeration to put that number at par with Kamal & Rajini at that point of time).
So, SR was also viewed from a perspective of "will my fav SD escape the psycho" :-)
That's an 180 deg shift from watching with "how my fav Kamal acts in this movie" :-)
24th April 2012, 06:58 PM
There is one poster where Shanmugi is behind a door and 'her' hand is resting on the door. The way his hand/fingers rest will have a naLiNam. Brilliant.
If he were to get an acting NA that year, this one ahead of Senapathi I say. தேசிய விருது கிடைத்திருக்கிறது என்ற செய்தியை கேள்விப்பட்டவுடன் கமலும் அதையேத்தான் எண்ணிவிட்டாராம். பத்திரிகையில் படித்தது.
அவ்வை சண்முகி காவியம் தான். எனக்கு தனிப்பட்ட முறையில் மை.ம.கா.ராஜனைவிட பல மடங்கு அவ்வை சண்முகி நல்ல அனுபவத்தை தந்திருக்கிறது.
மணிவண்ணன், நாகேஷ், டெல்லி கணேஷ், நாசர், ஜெமினி என உதவும் கரங்கள் நிறைய.
24th April 2012, 07:16 PM
No discussions on that controversial post (http://www.tamilpaper.net/?p=5812/) on Virumandi that is making rounds on twitter? Mm.
24th April 2012, 07:20 PM
Venki, I am commenting there! I even posted the link in kalaignaani thread. what dikassen in tuitter? who is discussing?
24th April 2012, 07:48 PM
No discussions on that controversial post (http://www.tamilpaper.net/?p=5812/) on Virumandi that is making rounds on twitter? Mm.
Avaru niraiya padatthai indha maadhiri dissect(?!!) panni irukkarunga. Konjam too much-a dhaan pesuvaapla.
24th April 2012, 07:51 PM
Soodaana Aaruna coffee
24th April 2012, 07:52 PM
dissect panravaru hospital layo illa bhai kadailayo poi pannavendiyathuthaane? Vimarsanam panrennu sollittu padatha kooda ozhungaa paakkaama thappum thavarumaa solraaru :lol:
24th April 2012, 08:40 PM
-Wrong digression in wrong thread, moved digression to the right thread :) -