PDA

View Full Version : M'sian policy change in teaching Maths & Science

nirosha sen
14th July 2009, 04:41 PM
For Malaysians, July 8th was a rude awakening. We were forced to be confronted with yet another change in teaching Maths & Science from English back to vernacular languages - Malay, Tamil & Mandarin.

Put in your 2 cent's worth here and share your experiences abt schooling in general. Particularly, usurping vernacular languages in favour of English as medium of instruction.

Let's hear it!!

app_engine
14th July 2009, 07:24 PM
Well, I studied Maths / Science (Physics, Chemistry, Biology) in Thamizh till 12th, from the TN state board syllabus & finished school in 81.

It was awesome & fun to have these in the mother tongue. No doubt, we had to use a number of English terms / characters in equations etc, but the medium of instruction was Thamizh and the concepts were better understood.

Never felt any disadvantage at all in college (did much better than my classmates who came from 1-12 English medium, 11-12 English medium, 1-12 CBSE etc).

To this day, when it comes to simple number calc's, automatically the Thamizh "வாய்ப்பாடு" only jumps on the mind:-)

I think it's best for children to learn their mother tongue as well as to learn IN THEIR mother tongue other subjects for at least some years.

English should be learnt as a second language, which will help in college and career later. I don't think learning every subject in English during basic schooling gives any kind of great advantage in the later years.

Thalafanz
14th July 2009, 08:53 PM
What a stupid government... How about those students who studied Math & Science in English all these years... It will be uneasy for them to adapt to Malay language I would say...
A big flaw in Malaysian Education System... :twisted:

nirosha sen
15th July 2009, 06:18 AM
I am curious App. did you find Tamil lacking in its vocabulary in any way while studying subjects in Science/Maths?