View Full Version : A R Rahman - Live in Concert - 29 Dec 2012

Pages : [1] 2 3

19th September 2009, 11:47 AM
Jai Ho

[html:f070de882f]http://img186.yfrog.com/img186/4232/poster12x18.jpg[/html:f070de882f]

The binding force that has brought these three entities from various disparate backgrounds is their passion to usher in a change and make a difference in the lives of the less fortunate.

MARG in aid with the The Shakti Foundation brings A.R Rahman in a live concert at MARG swarnabhoomi. A concert that is not just aimed at sharing scintilating music but also a concert that is aimed at raising funds to help The Shakti Foundation its noble quest for providing the The Adhiparasakthi Medical and Research Hospital with medical equipment.

Donor passes available at:

http://www.margproperties.com/tickets.php

Location Details:

http://www.margswarnabhoomi.com/strategic-location.html

19th September 2009, 09:59 PM
Ajay, MAddy, LM and others? What plans?

20th September 2009, 09:24 AM
Already have 2 300 rs tickets in my hand. A friend of mine got from Marg office, Perungudi. But now plan has changed. We r gonna book 500 rs tickets. Tickets still not available in counters though..

20th September 2009, 04:01 PM
[tscii:edfd402e46]Jai Ho ! Chennai
Saturday, September 19, 2009, 17:17

Its been some time since AR.Rahman started his flagship world tour Jai ho and it finally is coming to the home town of the wizard.The concert will be held on the 11th of October in chennai. Marg a leading construction group has tied up with AR.Rahman for this concert which is being held in aid of SHAKTI foundation.

The concert is expected to be one of the biggest musical event ever held in the city. JAI HO chennai will be held in Marg’s upcoming city MARG Swarnabhoomi.The musical extravaganza is to start at 6:00Pm and expected to go on for 4 hours with Rahman and team belting out some hits from Roja to Blue.

Booking for this concert is in full swing and it is reported that there is a huge demand for tickets, especially as this is Rahman’s first concert in home town after the Oscars…All we have to say is grab your tickets before its gone….

Time :6:00pm
Date:11th oct 09

http://portal.arrfansclub.com/2009/09/19/jai-ho-chennai/[/tscii:edfd402e46]

21st September 2009, 11:08 AM
DONOR PASS COUNTERS
(Passes will be available 23rd September onwards)

MARG, Kottivakkam, OMR
The Sakthi foundation Office
Odyssey
Landmark
Spencer’s Daily
Maverick
Mega Mart
Gangothri
Airtel Retail
Poorvika Agencies
Adyar Ananda Bhavan
Music World
Health & Glow
Nuts ‘n’ Spices
Hot Breads
Mobile Store
Fruit Shop

21st September 2009, 11:31 AM
Ajay,
LM,
MADDY,

Anybody else joining the pilgrimage?

21st September 2009, 11:33 AM
[tscii:e3c4ed838f]
DONOR PASS COUNTERS
(Passes will be available 23rd September onwards)
MARG, Kottivakkam, OMR
The Sakthi foundation Office
Odyssey
Landmark
Spencer’s Daily
Maverick
Mega Mart
Gangothri
Airtel Retail
Poorvika Agencies
Adyar Ananda Bhavan
Music World
Health & Glow
Nuts ‘n’ Spices
Hot Breads
Mobile Store
Fruit Shop

22nd as per today's hindu[/tscii:e3c4ed838f]

21st September 2009, 12:06 PM
I took this from Marg website. Unga office pakkathuladhaane Marg irukku. Kettu vaiyunga :)

21st September 2009, 12:13 PM
Sure. Vera enna velai..?

23rd September 2009, 05:18 PM
Ajay,
LM,
MADDY,

me in with a couple of my friends...
please help me with the tickets

24th September 2009, 02:33 PM
ellaarum enjoy pannunga :evil:

thalaivar looks damn cool in the pic

24th September 2009, 02:35 PM
DH, Neenga endha ooru?

24th September 2009, 03:08 PM
// singapore :( - malaysia might happen nu engayo padichen, appo shud plan a trip 8-) //

24th September 2009, 03:11 PM
// singapore :( - malaysia might happen nu engayo padichen, appo shud plan a trip 8-) //

yeap... please dun 4get to vote for it , check out my signature... :D

24th September 2009, 03:28 PM
Chennaiites are lucky for that matter. His 3rd concert in 20 months in the city...

25th September 2009, 10:10 PM
[tscii:3f9c6afd34]A.R. Rahman’s sensational show in Chennai

For those who yearned to catch the sensational moment of live concert of “Madras Mozart’, here comes the grand fiesta. MARG in association with Shakthi Foundation brings A.R. Rahman in a live concert on October 11, MARG Swarna Bhoomi, East Coast Road, Chennai.

Previously, A.R. Rahman had performed live in 2002 for raising charity funds in association with Mahesh Memorial Cancer Institute.
According to the officials of MARG and Shakthi Foundation, they’ve stated that it’s not just a concert that is not just aimed at sharing scintillating music, but also an important occasion aimed at raising funds to help The Shakti Foundation its noble quest for providing the Adhiparasakthi Medical and Research Hospital with medical equipment.

Tickets are available from the range of Rs.300–Rs.5,000 at various centers in Chennai.

http://www.thaindian.com/newsportal/entertainment/ar-rahmans-sensational-show-in-chennai_100252217.html
[/tscii:3f9c6afd34]

28th September 2009, 11:13 AM
Chennai Concert Seating Arrangement

http://lh5.ggpht.com/_kJzFXMZBLQo/Sr91cP9d43I/AAAAAAAAABY/loCpHk4W3eg/s400/seat.JPG

Rocky89
28th September 2009, 02:18 PM

yeap... please dun 4get to vote for it , check out my signature... :D

:redjump: :bluejump: VOTED!! :D

29th September 2009, 12:02 PM
FEATURES OF THE CONCERT

* PART OF THE GLOBAL JAI HO WORLD TOUR
* STAR CAST INCLUDES HARIHARAN, SIVAMANI, SADHNA SARGAM, BLAAZE, BENNY DAYAL, ALONG WITH OTHER CELEBRATED INDIAN SINGERS.
* MIND BOGGLING PYROTECHNICS
* 10,000 SQ.FT MULTI-LEVEL SPECTACULAR STAGE
* WORLD CASS LED WALLS. CUTTING EDGE LIGHT AND SOUND
* FREE BUS TRANSPORTATION FROM SELECT POINTS IN THE CITY.

29th September 2009, 01:57 PM
Chennai vaasigal koduthu vaithavargal. Check out the ticket rates for Hyd'bad concert.

http://www.bookmyshow.com/Concerts/Jai-Ho-A-R-RahmanConcert.aspx

29th September 2009, 02:31 PM
Chennai vaasigal koduthu vaithavargal. Check out the ticket rates for Hyd'bad concert.

http://www.bookmyshow.com/Concerts/Jai-Ho-A-R-RahmanConcert.aspx

neenggathan'yya kodutu vachavangga! :lol:

30th September 2009, 01:09 PM
are the tickets still available?

30th September 2009, 01:11 PM
Yes.

30th September 2009, 01:11 PM
Yes. It is..

www.margproperties.com la online booking pannunga...

1st October 2009, 12:36 PM
[tscii:edbb417492]Jai Ho to Shakti

A. R. Rahman returns to the Chennai stage with ‘Jai Ho’, a fund-raiser concert for The Shakti Foundation on October 11. Divya Kumar reports

It’s taken close to eight months, but it’s finally here. On October 11, double Academy Award winner A.R. Rahman returns to his hometown stage for the first time since his incredible run at the Oscars this year with — fittingly enough — the Chennai edition of his Jai Ho World Series concert.

The concert, to be conducted at the immense Marg Swarnabhoomi grounds on the ECR, will be in aid of The Shakti Foundation, which champions the cause of the physically challenged, a cause Rahman has been closely involved with in the past.

All for a cause

“It’s a great cause, and what they’re doing is great work,” said Rahman, who previously did the music for the foundation’s public awareness documentary on the need for ramps directed by Mani Ratnam and featuring Sachin Tendulkar. “They’ve been asking me to do a concert for them for a couple of years, and I found this was the right time to do it.”

That sentiment does Rahman’s dedication to charity a great deal of credit, considering that time is the one thing he hasn’t had a lot of these past few months.

“This has been a very busy year for me,” he admits, sounding rather careworn at the end of another long day of events and recordings. “If I don’t do this now, I don’t think I will be able to do it next year. We evolve every year... next year will be different from this year, just like the previous year was different from this one.”

For the chairman of The Shakti Foundation, Vasanth Raghuvir, Rahman’s decision is, quite simply, an incredible boost. “That he’s chosen to give his first performance in Chennai for The Shakti Foundation — in spite of several other offers — empowers the children of Shakti and lends tremendous dignity to the cause,” she said.

Part of the Jai Ho concert series that has been travelling around India and will soon be going abroad, this show promises to be something out-of-the-ordinary . “Apart from vintage numbers such as ‘Roja’, this concert will definitely be different from the ones I did here earlier,” said Rahman.

Held on 60 acres at the heart of Swarnabhoomi, the concert will feature a massive 80 by 120 foot stage, with pyrotechnics during the show and huge fireworks afterwards, according to G.R.K. Reddy, chairman and MD of the Marg Group, the sole presenting sponsor of the concert.

“The concert has a special meaning for us, because it raises funds to provide equipment for The Adhiparasakthi Medical and Research Hospital in Melmaruvathur,” he said. “That is where people living in the 200 villages around Swarnabhoomi go for healthcare.”

For Rahman, this concert comes at the end of what was one of the more challenging periods of his career. “The first three months post-Oscar were difficult — there was so much socialising and so many things pulling me out of focus that it took away a lot of my creative time,” he said. “And if I didn’t go and do music, there wouldn’t be any new music next year!”

He added ruefully, “Everywhere I went, 500 people wanted to take photographs, and sometimes I just wanted to be alone and be left alone!”

Back in focus

But now, returning after a four-month stint in Hollywood where he’s wrapped up work on the movie “Couples Retreat”, he’s back in focus. “That was definitely a great change — working with a totally different set of people and a great orchestra,” he said. “Now, for the rest of this year and the next, I’m going to limit myself.”

‘Limiting himself’, in the overworked Rahman’s book, means completing an English album he was signed for post the success of the music of “Slumdog Millionaire”, and finishing the movies he’s already taken on. “I’ll resume work on new films probably next Diwali,” he said.

Meanwhile, there’s the concert on October 11 to look forward to, both a gift of music and an ardent appeal by the Shakti Foundation for the inclusion and integration of the physically challenged into mainstream society. “It’s a great homecoming,” said Rahman.

http://beta.thehindu.com/arts/music/article27030.ece[/tscii:edbb417492]

1st October 2009, 03:38 PM
http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-news-1/sep-09-04/rahman-30-09-09.html

2nd October 2009, 06:02 AM
Rahman's brief on Jai Ho - images

http://www.images.behindwoods.com/photo-galleries-q1-09/tamil-photo-gallery/rahman-03/index.html

2nd October 2009, 07:44 AM
Thanx, Anand..

10 more days to go... :bluejump: :redjump: :bluejump: :redjump:

2nd October 2009, 01:01 PM
"I am a huge fan of A.R Rahman. It'll be a great experience for all those who watch Rahman live in concert in Chennai. Unfortunately, I will not be there. I wish The Shakti Foundation and the concert all the very best, and my support will always be with them"

- Sachin Tendulkar

2nd October 2009, 01:03 PM
"I am a huge fan of A.R Rahman.

- Sachin Tendulkar

Thalaivar itthanai naala idhai sollave illa :twisted:

2nd October 2009, 01:03 PM
http://celluloidtamil.com/a-r-rahman-jai-ho-live-in-concert-in-chennai-unseen-photo-gallery.html

2nd October 2009, 07:00 PM
Chennai Concert Seating Arrangement

http://lh5.ggpht.com/_kJzFXMZBLQo/Sr91cP9d43I/AAAAAAAAABY/loCpHk4W3eg/s400/seat.JPG

rombo pinnaadiyo

2nd October 2009, 09:57 PM
We will be near the centre. Dont worry...

3rd October 2009, 08:28 AM
Rahman's 'Jai Ho' concert start from Oct 11

Chennai, Oct 1 (PTI) Double Oscar-winning music composer A R Rahman is set to embark on his much awaited 'Jai Ho' concert from October 11 here.

This is the first time that Rahman will be performing in Chennai after bagging the Academy Awards for his musical score in Danny Boyle's 'Slumdog Millionaire'.

"After winning the Oscars, this is the first time I will be performing in Chennai and am really looking forward to the concert," Rahman told reporters here today.

"This year there is more focus on conducting Indian concerts and starting from Chennai, it will go on," Rahman added.

The composer said the concert would have a mix of songs including tracks from his upcoming Bollywood film, 'Blue'.

Though he has been promoting his son Alim, who wants to become a playback singer, the six-year-old would not participate in the concert.

http://www.ptinews.com/news/310088_Rahman-s--Jai-Ho--concert-start-from-Oct-11#

Appu s
3rd October 2009, 10:24 AM
[tscii:d1fd6ebd05]http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-news-1/oct-09-01/rahman-02-10-09.html

In the Jai Ho concert briefing held yesterday October 1, 2009 Rahman requested with the fans to take sufficient care while driving to the concert venue. The concert will be held near Mahabalipuram on ECR. “The concert venue is quite far from Chennai and I request fans to drive safely to the venue. Most importantly, I urge fans not to drink and drive,” he said. This will be Rahman’s first concert in India after the Oscars.

Rahman also expressed his pleasure in being a part of a charity concert of this tune, the proceeds of which will go to the underprivileged children. “There are less and less live concerts happening in India these days. It’s heartening to see this concert being organized and I’m happy to be a part of it,” he added[/tscii:d1fd6ebd05]

3rd October 2009, 10:35 AM

3rd October 2009, 10:37 AM
Thalaivarukku nammalai pathi therinjurukku... :wink:

3rd October 2009, 05:09 PM
ticket ellam sold out acha?

3rd October 2009, 05:17 PM
No Anand. They havent started publicity in full swing. Only paper ads.

3rd October 2009, 05:27 PM
mudinja konjam update pannunnga! :D

3rd October 2009, 05:39 PM
Sure. But I would go to Chennai only on 9th. Namma Ajay update pannuvaaru :)

3rd October 2009, 07:44 PM
LM, Kutty kutty hoardings have come up throughout the city. Namma veettu pakkathulayae 2 vachirukkaanga. Paper ads vazhakkampol daily poduraanga. BIG FMla frequent ah ads vandhuttu irukku..

3rd October 2009, 07:53 PM
Video: A R Rahman Jai Ho Live in Concert Press Meet in Chennai

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3zE3TH04to4
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3yA8FaLXb98

3rd October 2009, 08:19 PM
JAI HO THEME FOR NOKIA E SERIES

http://www.mediafire.com/file/wmmya2mnkqi/0293h26n50kC.sis

3rd October 2009, 08:54 PM
LM, Kutty kutty hoardings have come up throughout the city. Namma veettu pakkathulayae 2 vachirukkaanga. Paper ads vazhakkampol daily poduraanga. BIG FMla frequent ah ads vandhuttu irukku..

Oh, good good :)

4th October 2009, 02:59 PM
Jai Ho Hoardings in Chennai City

http://www.mediafire.com/file/nh2zlnwwtiy/

5th October 2009, 10:10 PM
[tscii:c5fc39d664]A. R. Rahman concert at MARG SEZ

MARG Ltd, the Chennai-based integrated infrastructure company, will host a music event by Mr A. R. Rahman at MARG Swarnabhoomi, a SEZ and township complex, coming up about 70 km to the south of Chennai on the East Coast Road (ECR) on October 11.

The concert is a fund raiser for The Shakti Foundation that works for the physically challenged, and the A. R. Rahman Foundation which sets up quality educational institutions for underprivileged children.

The Live In Concert, is a part of A. R. Rahman’s ‘Jai Ho World Tour’ and is the first in Chennai.

The 1000-acre MARG Swarnabhoomi, a township with developed space for business, residence and learning will host the mega event which is expected to attract over 30,000 music lovers of Chennai, Puducherry and surrounding areas. The concert will feature 80 performers, the music maestro’s latest super hits, and include India’s top singers and performers such as Hariharan, Sivamani, Sadhana Sargam, Blaaze, Benny Dayal, amongst other celebrated artistes.

MARG Swarnabhoomi is promoted by New Chennai Township Pvt Ltd, a wholly-owned subsidiary of MARG Ltd. The project has two Special Economic Zones (SEZs) for engineering and multi-services sectors along with R&D facilities and an integrated township. Since the launch in 2008, Swarnabhoomi has in place the basic infrastructure — BVM Global Residential School is operational, and over 600 residential apartments, of the 15,000 planned, are scheduled to be completed and handed over shortly.

[/tscii:c5fc39d664]

5th October 2009, 10:24 PM
Oct 11 is the day for Rahman fans. To mark it as a great day, Rahman fans and Marg have organised for a Bike Rally on Oct 10th Saturday.

More details awaited.

5th October 2009, 10:25 PM
Oct 11 is the day for Rahman fans. To mark it as a great day, Rahman fans and Marg have organised for a Bike Rally on Oct 10th Saturday.

More details awaited.

ithu enna puthu kathai

5th October 2009, 10:29 PM
From Marina to ECR toll gate, they have planned a bike rally. Got this news from Orkut. Will keep u posted...

6th October 2009, 09:18 AM
Stephen Devassy added to the list of performers..

6th October 2009, 10:20 PM
CONCERT VENUE SNAPS

http://www.mediafire.com/?lmztdji4f0y

Source: Orkut community

7th October 2009, 12:03 AM
Ajay,
LM,
MADDY,

I yaam!

7th October 2009, 10:00 PM
Chartered buses to Concert - Pickup points and timings (http://www.margproperties.com/Bus_points.pdf)

music man
8th October 2009, 12:36 PM
I am too coming...

music man
8th October 2009, 12:50 PM
I am very eager to see our fellow hubbers...We should meet somehow..:)

8th October 2009, 01:19 PM
500 Rs ticket?

8th October 2009, 02:12 PM
I am also coming...

booked in General seating (300 Rs)

8th October 2009, 02:17 PM

8th October 2009, 10:38 PM
RR, Music Man, welcome...

11th October 2009, 12:32 AM
Expecting reviews/pics from Ajay/Maddy/LM & Co....

Appu s
11th October 2009, 10:32 PM
received a SMS from my friend, the concert is rocking, and Mass attendance :smokesmirk: :smokesmirk: he is almost arai kilometer far from stage 8-) Kalakkunga Thalaivare ! :victory:

expecting a detail review from Lm,ajay,and other devotees :P

Sid_316
12th October 2009, 12:42 AM
just an ok concert.. worst organization .. it was total chaos for people who were seated from 200-1000.. it had its moments.. but too many hindi songs.. i kinda didnt like it :-(

Sid_316
12th October 2009, 12:54 AM
AND CRAPPY SPEAKERS ALL AROUND :banghead:

12th October 2009, 01:25 AM
Same feelings here :(

12th October 2009, 08:14 AM
i would've better driven to hyd on 24th instead of attending this one. They had mentioned that the venue was near mahabalipuram but maha'ram was just a half way mark. The organisers are to be slammed.

The sound system was disappointing. People who had attended the earlier concerts would know this.

I was very much annoyed after reaching the venue bcoz even after paying 500 bucks, we were unable to sit for sometime. After half an hour's wait, we got our seats.

But all this was made to forget when Thalaivar & co played Mausam & escape. Wow!! That was class.

Yes. There were too many hindi songs. But i dont complain. Kozhi kurudaa irundhaalum kuzhambu rusiya irundha podhadha????

12th October 2009, 08:27 AM
all those who should have travelled to-fro pondy-chennai on ECR road yesterday must have become IR fans by now :lol: ........ECR got f**** royally with this concert and it took us almost 4 hrs from chennai to reach the place........and they didnt have the logistics for 70k crowd and 15k cars.......they didnt have the speakers or repeaters(or watever u call it) for such a huge gathering.......

i think the oscar win has multiplied his fame, i saw many many families attending this show.....for many of them it must have been their first rahman concert, hope they come back :) ........as usual, north indian families, guys, girls reaction were over the top - some very good looking girls were dancing standing on top of the "savukku" barricades :lol: ........rahman andha ore mana dhidathha paaratti neraya hindhi songs-a pottu tamil makkala kaduppaakkittaaru.......people were desparately shouting to get a tamil song played :( ..............speakers were rank bad - the speakers through which the rythm had to come - didnt come.....,,,worst affected were almost all the songs with glaring inclusion of adhiradeekaaran........rythm illama andha paattu onnume illaye :) ...........for "frequent concerters" like LM and to a extent me,ram,ajay - the list of songs were pretty much same as last time.........for many, concerts for a particular artiste are just once in lifetime affairs, hopefully rahman sir takes note of these things and takes event management under his own supervision........

having said all these, the energy levels associated with rahman concert was still there.......its a great feeling to be with 69999 people who also think rahman and get turned on by a song which actually turned you on..........yesterday's concert broke my assumptions on female following of rahman - they just freaked out :lol: ........45 yr old tamil aunty trying to dance to a hindi song, 70 yr old bengali old man trying desparately to catch glimpse of rahman, hysterical north indies families, fanatical display of emotions to thalaivar's songs are some of the things i would like to remember from this concert :D

12th October 2009, 08:48 AM
most of his concert-la tamil songs kammi aaki ,hindi songs than thalaivar athigam podararu! :oops:

oru 30,000 makkal attend panni irupangala??

12th October 2009, 08:52 AM
it was 70,000, Anand :D ......very huge gathering -- unbelievable.... :D

rahman was put in a crane and he came upto 10k stands i believe.......he also started with traces of "hello" song from VTV(the one that got leaked in net with simbhu dancing with trisha) 8-) ....it was heavenly :D

12th October 2009, 08:52 AM
Anand,

Official figure is 70,000 people. Not less than 50,000, in my estimate.

12th October 2009, 09:01 AM
Rahman charms crowd with melodies (http://beta.thehindu.com/news/cities/Chennai/article32549.ece?homepage=true)

[html:625d21fba7]http://i38.tinypic.com/a2auc3.jpg[/html:625d21fba7]

Bottles, chairs, palms and even shoes... everything carried a musical connotation on Sunday evening when all roads led to Mahabalipuram for one of its largest and passion-driven music performances, A.R. Rahman’s first-ever in Chennai after his Oscar win, at Marg Swarnabhoomi near Kalpakkam on Sunday and for a cause.

The event, billed as a crowd-puller, drew thousands of Rahman’s fans and pulsated to the Oscar-winner’s music.

Before Rahman hit the stage on the overfed grounds, the crowd rehearsed their jig to gyrate to his music.

As the performer made a dramatic entry by appearing from a glittery box, the audience pumped their fists into the air and the excitement was more than palpable.

‘Kalpali,’ a song from Rang De Basanti served as a laidback starter. He went on with a a couple of hits from Shivaji and clearly it seemed to be the wisest choice.

Bollywood buffs were treated lavishly by singers Hariharan, Sadhana Sargam and Benny Dayal.

After rocking fast numbers, a series of melody, rock and crossover hits followed. As the evening grew thicker, raucousness was clearly in the air. When Rahman sung the ‘Adhiradhi dhan’ from Shivaji, the crowd’s cheers nearly drowned his voice out.

Tamil songs were clearly the winners of the evening. Yet, it was Hindi melodies that carried the emotional resonance. With an apparent relish, Rahman led the way for many others singers who belted his all-time hits.

The troupes swayed the crowd with melodies but later switched gears to alternate between racy numbers and evergreen hits. Both had equal takers. Guys and girls tapped their foot in sync for the music on stage.

Rahman’s characteristic way of acknowledging the frenzied crowd with an unruffled nod was enough to crank up the volume of his fans’ vocal chords. He strutted around the stage very little.

An intense performer, Rahman showed no signs of weariness and his smile stuck to him till he rounded off the show.

12th October 2009, 09:05 AM
woooooooooooow!70,000 :omg: superstar-rukku kuda evvalo kootam varathu pola iruke!unblievable!naan kuda oru 20,000 or 25,000 than varuvangga innu nenachen,but 70,000 :shock: really surprised!

ennaku therinji entha oru cinema star-rukkum kuda evalo kootam vanthathila!

thalaiva u r real superstar :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy:

12th October 2009, 09:10 AM
thlaivar intro eppadi irunthathu??? :D

12th October 2009, 09:12 AM
thlaivar intro eppadi irunthathu??? :D

We missed the first three songs :( Thalaivar came to stage with "Jaage Hain" (Guru).

12th October 2009, 09:23 AM
[html:5dd3295ee5]http://i34.tinypic.com/1430ynd.jpg[/html:5dd3295ee5]

[html:5dd3295ee5]http://i33.tinypic.com/2nrlfnl.jpg[/html:5dd3295ee5]

[html:5dd3295ee5]http://i37.tinypic.com/2v9ylhu.jpg[/html:5dd3295ee5]

[html:5dd3295ee5]http://i38.tinypic.com/24llu6x.jpg[/html:5dd3295ee5]

[html:5dd3295ee5]http://i37.tinypic.com/23u7uh3.jpg[/html:5dd3295ee5]

[html:5dd3295ee5]http://i38.tinypic.com/hv43yd.jpg[/html:5dd3295ee5]

[html:5dd3295ee5]http://i34.tinypic.com/30uzlns.jpg[/html:5dd3295ee5]

12th October 2009, 09:38 AM
superb photos, LM. Where did u get this?

12th October 2009, 09:40 AM
From Hindu - Rahmania grips Chennai (http://beta.thehindu.com/news/cities/Chennai/article32596.ece).

Jyothsna
12th October 2009, 09:42 AM
Ayyo miss pannitane :banghead: :cry3:

12th October 2009, 09:43 AM
thalaivar is growing fat. Did anybody notice. Esp in the full sleeve Tee.

12th October 2009, 10:24 AM
Almost my opinions. Was with my school friends there...
Waiting for the hubbers :mad: but never even saw 'em. Complaints aside, had a great time!

Songs I can remember:
Khalbali
Athiradi
Kadhal rojave
Mausam
Jashn e bahara
Chandralekha
Thamizha Thamizha
ATM BGM
Uyire Uyire
Dil Se re
Style
Snehidhane
Aye Bachu
Ay Hairathe Aashqui
Kannalane
Nenjinile
Shahenshah faded with Rukumani's Oooo Ooo and then followed by Veerabaandi kottaiyile!
Kabhi Kabhi Aditi
Taxi Taxi
Mustafa Mustafa
Maiya Maiya
Chaiyya Chaiyya
Khwaja meri khwaja
Jai Ho
Vande Mataram

Guys, please add the ones I've missed

12th October 2009, 10:49 AM
most of his concert-la tamil songs kammi aaki ,hindi songs than thalaivar athigam podararu! :oops:

oru 30,000 makkal attend panni irupangala??

Even in the Malaysian show he did in 2003 was mostly Hindi songs rite?? :?

Intha vaathi Malaysian concert'le ippadi pannangele'na... namma makkal pongi ezhundhidhevange... namma makkalangelekke konjum overa unarchi vase paduvange, illaiya Anand :lol:

Hope the next Malaysian show (hope it happens) will not be like that... many fans here r furious about this matter.... :oops:

i do hope some of the clips will be available in utube....

btw, did Madhushree attend this show?? :ashamed:

12th October 2009, 10:51 AM
No Dinesh.

12th October 2009, 10:55 AM
Waiting for the hubbers :mad: but never even saw 'em. Complaints aside, had a great time!

Songs I can remember:
Khalbali
Athiradi
Kadhal rojave
Mausam
Jashn e bahara
Chandralekha
Thamizha Thamizha
ATM BGM
Uyire Uyire
Dil Se re
Style
Snehidhane
Aye Bachu
Ay Hairathe Aashqui
Kannalane
Nenjinile
Shahenshah faded with Rukumani's Oooo Ooo and then followed by Veerabaandi kottaiyile!
Kabhi Kabhi Aditi
Taxi Taxi
Mustafa Mustafa
Maiya Maiya
Chaiyya Chaiyya
Khwaja meri khwaja
Jai Ho
Vande Mataram

Fiqraana sung by ARR
Maula Maula
Dilli hai mere yaar

12th October 2009, 10:57 AM
dinesh, ulagamae idinju vizhundhalum unga velaila correct ah irukkeenga. I was telling maddy that MS wouldve gone to visit Dinesh...

12th October 2009, 11:04 AM
intha MS tholla thanga mudilada sami![gaunder style]appadi ennatha irukko! :lol:

dinesh :evil: at me! :lol:

12th October 2009, 11:12 AM
dinesh, ulagamae idinju vizhundhalum unga velaila correct ah irukkeenga. I was telling maddy that MS wouldve gone to visit Dinesh...

Missed Shankar Mahadevan very much. Karthik, Naresh Iyer, ShreyaG innum neRayA pEr missing. Who all attended the previous concerts?

12th October 2009, 11:14 AM
maddy, neenga edutha videos theliva irundha upload pannunga. Let the other bhakthars witness the enthu of the crowd.

12th October 2009, 11:18 AM
lm has attended all the concerts except pune. Maddy has attended the previous MARG concert and TOI. Same with Ram i guess. I attended TOI.

TOI was the best in terms of sound and light. I expected something similar.

If u had asked for singers, Shankar Mahadevan (he is a crowd pleaser), Naresh attended TOI.

12th October 2009, 11:21 AM
lm has attended all the concerts except pune. Maddy has attended the previous MARG concert and TOI. Same with Ram i guess. I attended TOI.

baas.. nAn pOna concerts-la iruntha Artists pathi kEttEn. Anyway, varungAlathula ticket book paNRappa oru SMS anupunga.. please!

12th October 2009, 11:22 AM
maddy, neenga edutha videos theliva irundha upload pannunga. Let the other bhakthars witness the enthu of the crowd.

waiting! :D

12th October 2009, 11:23 AM
If u had asked for singers, Shankar Mahadevan (he is a crowd pleaser), Naresh attended TOI.

adutha concert vara 2 varusham AgumA? :|

12th October 2009, 11:27 AM
chennaila 2 varusham aagum. Hyd poga thayaarna 24th oru concert irukku. Muscatla 22nd concert irukkunnu kelvipatten.

12th October 2009, 11:39 AM
Muscatla 22nd concert irukkunnu kelvipatten.
:lol2: but unga nErmai enakku pidichirukku

12th October 2009, 12:07 PM
[tscii:b4e047b6e9]AR Rahman has the audience enthralled

October 12, 2009

AR Rahman¡¯s first concert in Chennai, after winning the coveted Oscar award, took place yesterday (October 11th, 2009) at the Marg Swarnabhoomi on the East Coast Road, south of Chennai. This is one of the concerts that are a part of Rahman¡¯s Jai Ho World Concert Tour.

The proceeds from this event will be used by Shakthi Foundation and Rahman Trust for the benefit of handicapped persons. The event witnessed a mega turn out, estimated to be 30,000. But the unofficial figure is said to be astronomical.

Hariharan's rendition of 'Thamizha Thamizha' brought out the patriotic flavor from the crowd who were seen waving the Indian triclor all over. Several singers including Benny Dayal, Blaze and Sadana Sargam enthralled the audience with their singing. Rahman also took the mike to render his favorite songs, 'Rehna Tu' being one of them. 'Adhiradhi' from Sivaji augmented the frenzy of the crowd. Speaking at the event, the Oscar winner said that though Shakthi Foundation requested him to conduct a show in Chennai a long time ago, this seemed to be an opportune moment, especially after winning the Oscars.

http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-news-1/oct-09-03/ar-rahman-12-10-09.html
[/tscii:b4e047b6e9]

12th October 2009, 12:11 PM
[tscii:d7e7a1eb13]AR Rahman has the audience enthralled

October 12, 2009

AR Rahman¡¯s first concert in Chennai, after winning the coveted Oscar award, took place yesterday (October 11th, 2009) at the Marg Swarnabhoomi on the East Coast Road, south of Chennai. This is one of the concerts that are a part of Rahman¡¯s Jai Ho World Concert Tour.

The proceeds from this event will be used by Shakthi Foundation and Rahman Trust for the benefit of handicapped persons. The event witnessed a mega turn out, estimated to be 30,000. But the unofficial figure is said to be astronomical.

Hariharan's rendition of 'Thamizha Thamizha' brought out the patriotic flavor from the crowd who were seen waving the Indian triclor all over. Several singers including Benny Dayal, Blaze and Sadana Sargam enthralled the audience with their singing. Rahman also took the mike to render his favorite songs, 'Rehna Tu' being one of them. 'Adhiradhi' from Sivaji augmented the frenzy of the crowd. Speaking at the event, the Oscar winner said that though Shakthi Foundation requested him to conduct a show in Chennai a long time ago, this seemed to be an opportune moment, especially after winning the Oscars.

http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-news-1/oct-09-03/ar-rahman-12-10-09.html
[/tscii:d7e7a1eb13]

Mustafa and Taxi were the most welcomed songs I believe!

Rocky89
12th October 2009, 12:33 PM
Woahh hope you guys had a great time. Thanks for the updates :)

:rotfl: Hopefully MS will attend the Malaysian concert!

Sorry Ajay, but whats TOI? :oops:

waiting! :D

YES! Waiting! :D

12th October 2009, 01:09 PM
My views on yesterday's concert:

Let me first tell you that I was attending first ever concert in my life time.... also, I was NOT there for the complete session just to beat the traffic... I was there till Taxi Taxi...

+:

1. Of course, ARR.. his presence & energy kept the audience mesmerizing...

2. Crowd atmosphere... huge crowd.. atleast 50000... thriumbina pakkam ellam makkal makkal makkal than..

3. Sound quality.. not so bad as other hubbers complained.. may be this is my first concert as I said earlier.. that could be the reason..

4. Liked all the tamil songs.. esp Athiradee, Kadal rojave,.. Chandralekha and also jiya si jiya..

-:

1. Organized very poorly.. I was NOT at all asked for the Donor pass any time.. any one could have attended.. I remember one guy was asking me for extra donor pass...in fact, I had Rs.300 donor pass.. but I was sitting in Rs.1000 arena.. I did NOT realize this when I entered..

2. Singers.. as you can see only two singers are prominent tamil singers (ARR & Hariharan)... this is the main reason for domination of hindi songs.. I was expecting more tamil numbers... The concert is in Chennai.. so they could have added more tamil songs..

3. Hariharan -- This fellow will NOT sing any song as it is in any concert... athavathu konjam athiga prasangithanama izhuthu neetti muzhakki thaan paaduvar.. naethum appadi than paadinar..
kadal rojave than konjam thappichidu..

Tidbits:

Sadhana sargam's snegithuda... She started this song as a telugu version.. but during first charanam itself, she forgot the lyrics.. she was expressing that in the stage itself by having her hand in head with a bit of frustration.. orchaestra was already there and extended.. then she started singing the first charanam in Hindi.. then the second pallavi in tamil.. again the second charanam in hindi followed by tamil pallavi....

12th October 2009, 01:24 PM
2. Crowd atmosphere... huge crowd.. atleast 50000... thriumbina pakkam ellam makkal makkal makkal than..

figures figures figures thaan... :slurp:

3. Sound quality.. not so bad as other hubbers complained.. may be this is my first concert as I said earlier.. that could be the reason..

Because you were near the 1000 rupees section too!

1. Organized very poorly.. I was NOT at all asked for the Donor pass any time.. any one could have attended.. I remember one guy was asking me for extra donor pass...in fact, I had Rs.300 donor pass.. but I was sitting in Rs.1000 arena.. I did NOT realize this when I entered..

adapaavgalaa! anga 500 ticket vaangittu 300 roova edathula ukkaandhu pAthirukaainga!

2. Singers.. as you can see only two singers are prominent tamil singers (ARR & Hariharan)... this is the main reason for domination of hindi songs.. I was expecting more tamil numbers... The concert is in Chennai.. so they could have added more tamil songs..

The distribution of the songs was disappointing too. 3 songs from Bombay, 2 songs from Sivaji, 3 songs from Dil Se and 3 songs from JA!
Above all, 2 songs from Dilli-6 @ Chennai WTF!!
I guess it is a direct consequence of change of schedule and sigers' dates! Disappointing crew member list!

3. Hariharan -- This fellow will NOT sing any song as it is in any concert... athavathu konjam athiga prasangithanama izhuthu neetti muzhakki thaan paaduvar.. naethum appadi than paadinar..

AmA. nAnum sollaNumnu pArthEn.

sha
12th October 2009, 01:51 PM

hes the master of lip-sync , watch this,,, making all those arr fans fools in front of him!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oHE_aJMVSTA

hope he really sung(sang*?) there at Chennai!

12th October 2009, 02:12 PM
[tscii:e9dc5413d1]An evening of euphony and ecstasy
IndiaGlitz [Monday, October 12, 2009]

It was a fund raising event. It equally raised the expectations of music lovers for just one reason- A R Rahman. And it would be no exaggeration to say that the Oscar winner surpassed the anticipations, at the Jai Ho concert near Mahabalipuram Sunday.

“If music makes you think, moves you to action; then I think the music is working,” said the Mozart of Madras before starting his magic. His words came true when he was at work, as his music made the audience think and act.

‘Kalpali,’ a song from Rang De Basanti was the starter. Then Rahman went on with a couple of hits from Sivaji. Bollywood buffs were royally treated by Hariharan, Sadhana Sargam and Benny Dayal.

The concert was a perfect mix of various musical forms- rap, fusion, Carnatic and Sufi. There were songs in almost every language that Rahman has composed in. However, Tamil songs were clearly the winners of the evening.

“Rahman has clearly proved once again that he is a genius. The away he controlled the crowd with his mesmerizing music was really amazing. Jai Ho Rahman,” said one of the fans of the music composer, while coming out of the venue.

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/50709.html

[/tscii:e9dc5413d1]

sha
12th October 2009, 03:07 PM
klapali ? :banghead: :banghead: :banghead:

12th October 2009, 03:11 PM

adapaavgalaa! anga 500 ticket vaangittu 300 roova edathula ukkaandhu pAthirukaainga!

One of my friend who had 200 Rs student pass was sitting in Rs. 5000 section :shock:

Should have gone early :sigh2: Ram :evil: :hammer:

12th October 2009, 03:37 PM
[tscii:fedbf6eb6f]

‘Kalpali,’ a song from Rang De Basanti was the starter.
Master? enakkum Khalbali thAn modhal pAttu mAdhiri nyAbgam..
Maddy aNNan kitta irundhu neRAyA edhirpArthEn.. engE? RK enga tholanju pOyitAru?[/tscii:fedbf6eb6f]

12th October 2009, 04:16 PM
hi guys....

i was there as well...
was planning give lm and co a surprise.... but sodhappufied...

master, when u spoke i could not hear anything... after that no network coverage... only my friends airtel had coverage... but from his mobile i kept on callling u till 11 30.. but now luck.... :(
sorry for being there and not able to meed out fellow Rahmaniacs....

and about the show... MASS.

never expected it will be so crowded when the spot is 80 km away from chennai city... being a nite before monday, still so many people travelled was unbelievable...

police protection was there from velacherry itself, the place from where i started in bike around 4 15... when we went to one of the police to ask the route to ECR, he readily asked, to ARR show? take this road...
and when i was near muttukadu where we stopped for a fag, we started realizing its not gonna be a 10 or 20k crowd show... our dreams of getting chance to see ARR in a relatively near distance started fading away... so many cars, VIP vagons, bikes, girls, above all police vehicles... ufff

after a couple of traffic jams we reached the place around 6 30... and the no of vehicles which entered the parking lot... oh man... we were jus dumbstruck...
and was well before on time as the show started around 7... as lm said, for 500rs, we were laughing at ourself to see how far we were sitting from the stage... atleast 500m i guess...
the stage arrangement was too good... and the stage was huge... when ARR entered... the everyone in the front rows were standing on their chairs.... could not see the stage... managed to watch in the huge screen...
after those couple of patriotic kinda songs, ARR started with the right one, Athiradee... wow... was able to watch how he pulled out that... na... na... na.. super man dhaan... midnightla spiderman dhaan....

and when kadhal rojave started, my first disappointment arose, there was no SPB and hariharan was singing that... was thinking, gonna miss some great thamil songs cos of no SPB :(

and as everyone said, those huge speakers were not sufficient for such a huge open space with so much of crowd... we were shouting sound please, and thats when we realized that our loud screams which were able to bring any auditorium down during college days was not even audible as a whisper... so much roaring were the audience... :)

and when ARR came in that crane, it was MASS... thanks thalaiva...

as the stage was not visible due to the front seated so called posh crowd which was in their barbaric best act when there were all standing on decks of chairs and dancing... we only had an option to catch it all in big screen... but that cameraman... :hammer: kaila kedachirundha kandippa kolai dhaan... he was not even covering the stage and other singers, instrumentalists... only covering the close up shot of ARR, wont they even realize that they need to cover everyone there :evil:... thats @#$# was showing shivamanis close up face all the time when he was doing magic with his instruments :( and the worst was when Rehana singing chaiya chaiya with another singer, for most part of the song we were thinking that Rehana is singing the song in male voice... i was telling my friend that she is attempting male voice, but later when my friends realized that there was one another male singer singing that, the look they gave :ashamed:... why din hariharan sing that song when he has sing in original version...

after a point of time everyone were so restless to hear all hindi songs... more than 6 songs in a row... without a tamil song... :( some people started walking away... this is not at all acceptable eventhough lm justified that this is how all his concerts are... this is happening in chennai, his home ground, his home fans... and more than 25% of them would not have heard those hindi songs much before this concert... i heard the tamil crowd getting frustrated for the array of hindi songs which were like first time hear for them... when they came expecting his tamil hits... :(
eventhough the frontline singers were missing, i thought they would manage to sing those songs with hariharan and benny as benny use to sing other people songs also in some of his shows... but :(

the crowd came alive when chitra was shown after two hrs time... and she sang only two songs continuosly and disappeared...
and after that it was saravedi.... when ARR realized that its hightime to bring tamil wonders...
taxi taxi, mustafa, arabikkadal, finished with Jai ho and Vande maataram... for us it looked like the show ended when it was jus shifted to 10th gear :( when it was jus a couple of min to 11pm...

and the fireworks were awesome...

ARR himself accepted for there were some faults and issues and seeked sorry for that, and he would give a better show the next time...

and the things i most enjoyed was, most of the songs, the preludes were kinda different, mixed up with some new sound./music from other songs and even some unknowns... and they was he did medey when one song seamlessly tranforming into another... and as ARR occupied the stage by singing more than 60% songs i guess...

sorry for such a short write up for such a historical event... will write more :)

12th October 2009, 04:18 PM
[tscii]

‘Kalpali,’ a song from Rang De Basanti was the starter.
Master? enakkum Khalbali thAn modhal pAttu mAdhiri nyAbgam..

Oh :oops: It's always been Jagge Hain for the past few years.

Ram doesn't have access to hub in office.

12th October 2009, 04:33 PM
after a point of time everyone were so restless to hear all hindi songs... more than 6 songs in a row... without a tamil song... :( some people started walking away... this is not at all acceptable eventhough lm justified that this is how all his concerts are... this is happening in chennai, his home ground, his home fans... and more than 25% of them would not have heard those hindi songs much before this concert... i heard the tamil crowd getting frustrated for the array of hindi songs which were like first time hear for them... when they came expecting his tamil hits... :(

you have written my feelings here... I was one among the crowd walking away by that time.... also one of those 25%...

the crowd came alive when chitra was shown after two hrs time... and she sang only two songs continuosly and disappeared... (
this is news to me... was NOT aware that she was also part of the crew... which songs she sang?? Kannalane ???

12th October 2009, 04:41 PM

Songs I can remember:
Khalbali
Athiradi
Kadhal rojave
Mausam
Jashn e bahara
Chandralekha
Thamizha Thamizha
ATM BGM
Uyire Uyire
Dil Se re
Style
Snehidhane
Aye Bachu
Ay Hairathe Aashqui
Kannalane
Nenjinile
Kabhi Kabhi Aditi
Taxi Taxi
Mustafa Mustafa
Maiya Maiya
Chaiyya Chaiyya
Khwaja meri khwaja
Jai Ho
Vande Mataram

u missed arabikkadal, moula moula

12th October 2009, 04:43 PM

you have written my feelings here... I was one among the crowd walking away by that time.... also one of those 25%...

the crowd came alive when chitra was shown after two hrs time... and she sang only two songs continuosly and disappeared... (
this is news to me... was NOT aware that she was also part of the crew... which songs she sang?? Kannalane ???

kannalanae and nenjinilae in telugu i guess

12th October 2009, 04:43 PM
forgot to add one thing... there was a group of youngsters in my section who were standing all the time (did NOT get any seat) started shouting for tamizh songs.... "we want tamil song, we want tamil song"...

another guy was literally shouting for "thala tamizh paattu thala"...

12th October 2009, 04:44 PM
Thanks everyone!

The powers that be, vada indhiya aadhikkatha kattuppaduthanum, hopefully in the future :(

some very good looking girls were dancing standing on top of the "savukku" barricades ........rahman andha ore mana dhidathha paaratti neraya hindhi songs-a pottu tamil makkala kaduppaakkittaaru
:rotfl3:

70K :shock: :notworthy:

12th October 2009, 04:46 PM
forgot to add one thing... there was a group of youngsters in my section who were standing all the time (did NOT get any seat) started shouting for tamizh songs.... "we want tamil song, we want tamil song"...

another guy was literally shouting for "thala tamizh paattu thala"...

my friend were screaming....
"foreign stages'la poi 'ellaa pugazhum iraivanukkae'nu thamizhla pesararu.... thamizh stage'la ninnu englishla dhaan pesararu... hindi mattum dhaan padararu... "

12th October 2009, 04:50 PM
Earlier Marg concert had equal no of Tamil and Hindi songs. Don't know what happened this time :?

12th October 2009, 05:19 PM
Earlier Marg concert had equal no of Tamil and Hindi songs. Don't know what happened this time :?

TOI concert had more tamil songs IIRC. So, i think it would have definitely not been intentional.

12th October 2009, 05:27 PM

TOI concert had more tamil songs IIRC. So, i think it would have definitely not been intentional.

there is definitely some reason for avoiding many tamil super hits or for having more hindi songs.. cos they could hav managed with hariharan and benny to sing SPB, Srinivas, Unni, Shankar mahadevan songs, if singers were the only reason...

12th October 2009, 06:03 PM
@Rocky89,

There was a concert called 'Changing notes' organised by Times Of India marking their launch in Chennai on April 20, 2008.

@softy,

Thought I would meet u this time. But as u said everything 'sodhappufied'. hope to see u soon.

@Others,

Even ARR was not in his usual best yesterday. Voicela anganga pisiru thattichu. I think his previous day performance in trade centre would be the reason.

Thanks to ARR and MARG, my legs have swollen. Idhukku munnaadi sabarimalai pilgrimage ponapodhu ippadi aachu. Ippo indha pilgrimagekum continue aagudhu...

12th October 2009, 06:13 PM
Anand and Ajay :shock: Yen Ippadi??

hmmmmm... people walking out?? :? :shock: that is bad... i doubt these kinda news will reach ARR, because he still plays allot of Hindi songs in a place where Tamil people live. Didnt expect it to still happen.

not a good sign especially at a time when Vinnaithaandi Varuvaiya audio is slated to release anytime soon...

Rocky89
12th October 2009, 06:16 PM
Thanks Ajay.

Rocky89
12th October 2009, 06:18 PM
not a good sign especially at a time when Vinnaithaandi Varuvaiya audio is slated to release anytime soon...

It wont be a problem Dinesh, believe me. Infact, I think it will be a record-breaking album! 8-)

12th October 2009, 06:26 PM

there is definitely some reason for avoiding many tamil super hits or for having more hindi songs.. cos they could hav managed with hariharan and benny to sing SPB, Srinivas, Unni, Shankar mahadevan songs, if singers were the only reason...

I don't think so... it must be only with the singers crew... I think they should have had SPB / Unni menon / Harini.... They could NOT manage with Benny / Hariharan as lyrics might be a problem for them...

Apart from his singing, SPB will always give interesting info happened during recording sessions OR info related to the song composition...

12th October 2009, 06:33 PM
its a long time since we had SPB, being a part of the concert.

12th October 2009, 06:46 PM
i hav taken another promise, next time onwards i would attend a concert only if its in a closed auditorium when the sound systems can be at their best...

did u notice lm, this time, in kannalanae pallavi, chitras singing and the music did not sync properly.... she was kinda running fast against the music... but thankfully after the first interlude it was made up...

12th October 2009, 06:47 PM

hmmmmm... people walking out?? :? :shock: that is bad... i doubt these kinda news will reach ARR, because he still plays allot of Hindi songs in a place where Tamil people live. Didnt expect it to still happen.

wat connection dinesh? :confused:

12th October 2009, 06:51 PM

he sang the "hello" song in VTV for some 20 seconds :wink:

12th October 2009, 06:52 PM

but when guys?
i din notice :oops:

12th October 2009, 06:54 PM

but when guys?
i din notice :oops:

just a fleeting sample - just before they started fiqraana song..... :D

12th October 2009, 06:56 PM
right before fiqraana. It was something like 'chennai, r u alright... Chennai'.

12th October 2009, 06:58 PM
ya... in a synthesised tone rite..?
i felt that they are jus doin it for the concert... other than that "are u fine" "are u alrite" anyother musical piece was there?

12th October 2009, 07:02 PM
ya... in a synthesised tone rite..?
i felt that they are jus doin it for the concert... other than that "are u fine" "are u alrite" anyother musical piece was there?

he also said "hello" in the digital tone which was unmistakably VTV tune......

12th October 2009, 07:27 PM
i hav taken another promise, next time onwards i would attend a concert only if its in a closed auditorium when the sound systems can be at their best...

did u notice lm, this time, in kannalanae pallavi, chitras singing and the music did not sync properly.... she was kinda running fast against the music... but thankfully after the first interlude it was made up...

Yes, she was ahead of BGM. It's one of those minor issues.

12th October 2009, 07:48 PM
so tell me guys... which are ur fav moments in the show

12th October 2009, 07:59 PM
Mausam and Escape. It was awesome :notworthy:

Next is Taxi 8-) The crowd went berserk with this :clap:

12th October 2009, 08:30 PM

hindi thalavaru-ikku thani 'paasam' pola! :roll: radharavi pola aalunnga concert-ta paata pothum :shock: verum vaayi-ikku avalu kedacha mathiri aagidum!chumma mennu thuppiruvangga :lol:

don't know what happen to thalaivar! :( tamil audiance athigama irukira concert-la ethukku meendum mendum hindi songs paadanum!

12th October 2009, 08:34 PM
http://beta.thehindu.com/arts/article32786.ece

12th October 2009, 08:35 PM
Rahmaniacs rock the night

http://beta.thehindu.com/arts/music/article32863.ece?homepage=true

12th October 2009, 08:38 PM
Anand,

Munnadiye post panniyaachu :twisted:

12th October 2009, 08:43 PM
Rap to sufi music - Rahman charms Chennai

http://www.thaindian.com/newsportal/entertainment/rap-to-sufi-music-rahman-charms-chennai_100259596.html

12th October 2009, 09:19 PM

hindi thalavaru-ikku thani 'paasam' pola! :roll: radharavi pola aalunnga concert-ta paata pothum :shock: verum vaayi-ikku avalu kedacha mathiri aagidum!chumma mennu thuppiruvangga :lol:

don't know what happen to thalaivar! :( tamil audiance athigama irukira concert-la ethukku meendum mendum hindi songs paadanum!

videnge anand, im sure next time ARR wont do this, surely this news will reach ARR.

Yepedi parthalum, ARR doesnt have much latest Tamil songs to be played, 2008 - 1 album, 2007 - 2 albums, 2006 - 2 album. i guess thats y he plays more Hindi songs......

12th October 2009, 09:21 PM

wat connection dinesh? :confused:

playing more Hindi songs in a Chennai concert = frustration of Tamil makkals = ignore VTV audio. :ashamed:

12th October 2009, 09:24 PM
Rocky, apadi iruntha ok thaan, but im afraid they might boycott ARR in a small manner that it will effect later on. :(

Maddy, thats terrific!! anyone recorded it??

12th October 2009, 10:18 PM
i guess nobody would've recorded that coz no one was anticipating that.

There were a few moments in the concert. Mausam and escape was the best of the lot. Music at its best!!! 100 kms travel panna aluppu enga pochunnae theriyalai... Who was the guitarist? Keith?

Then, the crowd enjoyed Musthafa and Taxi. The whole crowd was on its feet for those two songs. Jai Ho was gorgeous and it was the climax of the concert with Vande Mataram following as usual.

We had some irritating moments too. Watching Hariharan perform on stage itself requires a lot of patience and self control. Saavadikkuraaru manushan!!

Its impossible to accomodate 50k ppl in a closed room. So i dont think Softy's dream of watching the concert in a closed hall will come to reality. As someone said, more speakers would've done a lot good.

music man
12th October 2009, 10:44 PM
Hi all!!

Due to unavoidable circumstances, I was not able to attend the concert... But seeing all your feedback, i feel a little bit disappointed..But this was expected...Providing proper acoustics is not possible for such a huge crowd...I sincerely feel, inspite of fewer ARR albums in recent years, he still has a lot of unexplored tamil numbers to showcase in stage..I don't know why he limits himself..There can be hindi numbers but that should be like a pickle..not the meal.. :banghead:

music man
12th October 2009, 10:48 PM
Also if the moderator approves, we can start a separate thread to list the songs(unexplored ones too) that can be played in his forthcoming concerts...Ethothuko thread aarambikurom...Ithukku kandippaa open pannalaam...

Moreover next time, ARR should prefer indoor stadiums and closed acoustics as he will be able to give the perfect sound..We cannot expect the same in open auditoriums...

12th October 2009, 11:12 PM
so tell me guys... which are ur fav moments in the show

Mustafa.. without a doubt. Ultimate pleaser.. when an array of Hindi songs were making me yawn.. especially that Hariharan! (innaiku TVla kamal function-layum same blood)
Not to leave Khalballi.. Since everyone expected thalaivar to open with a Rajni song or something.. they were disapponted.. plus half the crowd came in only during this. Nevertheless, awesome intonation!
Loved Maiya Maiya and that female's hips!

12th October 2009, 11:25 PM
Also if the moderator approves, we can start a separate thread to list the songs(unexplored ones too) that can be played in his forthcoming concerts...Ethothuko thread aarambikurom...Ithukku kandippaa open pannalaam...

Moreover next time, ARR should prefer indoor stadiums and closed acoustics as he will be able to give the perfect sound..We cannot expect the same in open auditoriums...

Let's discuss about this in the same thread. What say? :D

13th October 2009, 07:40 AM
anybody planning to go to the hyderabad concert???

13th October 2009, 08:06 AM
Rahmaniacs rock the night (http://www.hindu.com/mp/2009/10/13/stories/2009101350050100.htm)

How long would you be gone if you were to step out of home for a concert? Twelve hours, if you had set out for the MARG's `Jai Ho' concert in aid of Shakti Foundation and A.R. Rahman Foundation on Sunday. Because, about 70,000 Rahmaniacs had decided to brave the journey that took them about 100 km out of the city - to MARG Swarnabhoomi - from where Rahman took them for an out-of-the-world experience over a span of three-and-ahalf hours.

A sea of people extended to over a kilometre from the stage to get a glimpse of the man who picked up a couple of Oscars earlier this year. Even from the 5,000 rupeeticket section, about 300 metres away from the stage, it was difficult to tell one singer from the other.

Rahman surfaced, perched on a lift, around 7.25 p.m. with the haunting `Jaage Hai', much to the relief of those waiting, getting increasingly restless and gave them something to dance with `Khalbali,' without any histrionics himself, dressed quite simply in a full-sleeve black T-shirt, jeans and a blue shawl around his neck.

Great start

With `Athiradi', the concert got just the start it needed. Hariharan began `Kadhal Rojave' in Tamil with Sadhna Sargam and switched to Hindi half-way before a svelte Tanvi came in brandishing a megaphone to croon the velvety `Yeh Dilli Hai Mere Yaar', with BlaaZe at his stylish best and rapper Vivienne Pocha.

"Chennai, I can see you all," said Rahman, standing on top of a crane as he launched into `Jiya Se Jiya' and tossed a few caps around for fans before returning to the stage. BlaaZe returned with more `Style', this time with a rap in English: "Everybody in the front, you got style. Everybody in the back, you got style..." Choreographer of the show, Harshal, and rapper Lush rocked the show with their `Liquid Dance' before Lush joined Shweta Pandit for `Chandralekha'. Shweta continued with `Ringa Ringa Ringa' as the crowd chanted, "We want Tamil". The chanting was suspended with Rahman's energetic `Dil Se', the world-class visual graphics in the background working magic.

"Now, for love songs," said Rahman, as he settled to play the piano, starting with part of the score from "Slumdog Millionaire" and `Kahin To' before Hariharan joined him for `Tamizha Tamizha'. The crowd rose on its feet and hundreds of flags fluttered as the duo continued to do `Uyire'. Rashid Ali came on stage with a guitar, wondering how many Aditis there were in the crowd, and launched into `Kabhi Kabhi Aditi'. Rahman dedicated `Rehna Tu' to "a state of mind, of accepting people as they are, unconditionally", and the sheer sincerity in his voice had the audience spellbound.

The crowd was rewarded for good behaviour with `Chaiyya Chaiyya' as Raihana and Aslam came up with the electrifying crowdpleaser. There was more excuse to dance when BlaaZe returned with Benny Dayal for `Taxi Taxi'.

Neeti Mohan came up with a graceful `Maiyya Maiyya' before religious heads were called upon to give A.R. Rahman holy water from Jerusalem, Mecca and the Ganges to signify oneness. After the break, Rahman launched into a percussion-intensive segment - a medley of `Azeemo Shaan Shahenshah', `Rukmani Rukmani' and `Veerapaandi Kottaiyile', followed by a rocking solo by Sivamani. Rahman changed his attire for the Sufi segment as the stage bathed in green light provided the perfect setting for `Khwaja Mere Khwaja' and `Arziyaan'. This was one of the finest parts of the show. Chitra entertained the crowd with `Kannalane' and `Jiya Jale', accompanied by fire dancers.

And soon, Hariharan came back to sing `Ai Hairathe Aashiqui', and Suzanne gave them `Ai Bachchu'. But, it was the last 20 minutes that sent the audience into a state of euphoria - `Mustafa Mustafa' followed by BlaaZe's rap for `Humma Humma', the highoctane `Jai Ho' and `Vande Mataram' for a finale.

There's nothing more beautiful than hot air lamps taking off from the audience, a swaying crowd on its feet and fireworks in the sky. And, all those hours spent in travelling and waiting just didn't seem to matter.

13th October 2009, 08:18 AM
[html:590bf3009e]http://beta.thehindu.com/multimedia/dynamic/00007/RAHMAN_11_7694g.jpg[/html:590bf3009e]

[html:590bf3009e]http://beta.thehindu.com/multimedia/dynamic/00007/RAHMAN_15_7695g.jpg[/html:590bf3009e]

[html:590bf3009e]http://beta.thehindu.com/multimedia/dynamic/00007/RAHMAN_3__7696g.jpg[/html:590bf3009e]

[html:590bf3009e]http://beta.thehindu.com/multimedia/dynamic/00007/RAHMAN_4_7697g.jpg[/html:590bf3009e]

[html:590bf3009e]http://beta.thehindu.com/multimedia/dynamic/00007/RAHMAN_5_7698g.jpg[/html:590bf3009e]

[html:590bf3009e]http://beta.thehindu.com/multimedia/dynamic/00007/RAHMAN_10_7700g.jpg[/html:590bf3009e]

[html:590bf3009e]http://beta.thehindu.com/multimedia/dynamic/00007/RAHMAN_13_7701g.jpg[/html:590bf3009e]

[html:590bf3009e]http://beta.thehindu.com/multimedia/dynamic/00007/RAHMAN_14_7702g.jpg[/html:590bf3009e]

[html:590bf3009e]http://beta.thehindu.com/multimedia/dynamic/00007/RAHMAN_17_7703g.jpg[/html:590bf3009e]

[html:590bf3009e]http://beta.thehindu.com/multimedia/dynamic/00007/RAHMAN_9__7704g.jpg[/html:590bf3009e]

[html:590bf3009e]http://beta.thehindu.com/multimedia/dynamic/00007/RAHMAN_9_7706g.jpg[/html:590bf3009e]

[html:590bf3009e]http://beta.thehindu.com/multimedia/dynamic/00007/RAHMAN_8_7707g.jpg[/html:590bf3009e]

[html:590bf3009e]http://beta.thehindu.com/multimedia/dynamic/00007/RAHMAN_7_7708g.jpg[/html:590bf3009e]

[html:590bf3009e]http://beta.thehindu.com/multimedia/dynamic/00007/RAHMAN_19_7710g.jpg[/html:590bf3009e]

[html:590bf3009e]http://beta.thehindu.com/multimedia/dynamic/00007/RAHMAN_14_1_7711g.jpg[/html:590bf3009e]

[html:590bf3009e]http://beta.thehindu.com/multimedia/dynamic/00007/RAHMAN_12_7712g.jpg[/html:590bf3009e]

[html:590bf3009e]http://beta.thehindu.com/multimedia/dynamic/00007/KWAJA_7713g.jpg[/html:590bf3009e]

13th October 2009, 09:31 AM
dinakaran reports that there were 1 lakh ppl in the ground watching the concert.

13th October 2009, 09:32 AM
dinakaran reports that there were 1 lakh ppl in the ground watching the concert.

13th October 2009, 12:46 PM

irukkum, if you include the support personnel as well...

13th October 2009, 02:28 PM
I sincerely feel, inspite of fewer ARR albums in recent years, he still has a lot of unexplored tamil numbers to showcase in stage..I don't know why he limits himself..There can be hindi numbers but that should be like a pickle..not the meal.. :banghead:

Agree... I think they did NOT judge what kind of audience the concert will have... they might have thought it could be more of youngsters who listen all songs irrespective of the language.... but still the concert had family audience who would have expected more tamil melodies...

13th October 2009, 03:43 PM
I sincerely feel, inspite of fewer ARR albums in recent years, he still has a lot of unexplored tamil numbers to showcase in stage..I don't know why he limits himself..There can be hindi numbers but that should be like a pickle..not the meal.. :banghead:

Agree... I think they did NOT judge what kind of audience the concert will have... they might have thought it could be more of youngsters who listen all songs irrespective of the language.... but still the concert had family audience who would have expected more tamil melodies...

i find it more irritating that Sadhana always sings Chupke Se instead of Sneghidene. so many years in Tamil music industry and she cant sing her song that lifted her career. :evil:

13th October 2009, 04:02 PM
[html:a6d5615d2d]<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/VtpFXSV3Vnw&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xcfcfcf&feature=player_embedded&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/VtpFXSV3Vnw&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xcfcfcf&feature=player_embedded&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>[/html:a6d5615d2d]

Thalaivar singing Jiya Se Jiya (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VtpFXSV3Vnw)

Appu s
13th October 2009, 04:39 PM
Thanks for all the reviews guys :bow: :bow:

more hindi songs than tamil... namakku ellam onnu than.. but other than fans there r people from Tn who have not listen JTYJN and JA songs.. and ofcourse kalabali :bow: would have been a real treat.. but when u talking abt bad sound system.. i m sure it would not have a great impact.. :oops: :(

thalaivar have any idea to sing Tamil songs in kolkatta concert :mrgreen:

can understand some of the guys feelings who traveled from bangalore coimbatore and other parts of TN could not listen more tamil songs...

1 lakh people :shock: :bow: :bow: :bow:

13th October 2009, 06:20 PM
Appu,

unga profile paartha neenga 7th July,2009 join panni irukkeenga.. aana athukkulla 669 Post pannitteenga.. :shock: :shock:

ungalukku namma TFM Hubla velai kedaichiducha...

Appu s
13th October 2009, 06:41 PM
Appu,

unga profile paartha neenga 7th July,2009 join panni irukkeenga.. aana athukkulla 669 Post pannitteenga.. :shock: :shock:

ungalukku namma TFM Hubla velai kedaichiducha...

:shock: :shock: :lol: vaarathukku 200 post poduravangala laam vittudunga .... naan chumma vanthuttu poikittu irukkenga :P

BTW rajarasigan enakkum intha hub kkum oru 5varuda pazhakkam irukku boss :wink: etti paathuttu poven :P

Appu s
13th October 2009, 06:58 PM
<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/VtpFXSV3Vnw&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xcfcfcf&feature=player_embedded&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/VtpFXSV3Vnw&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xcfcfcf&feature=player_embedded&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

just noticed... youtube in hub pages :P :clap:

13th October 2009, 08:23 PM
http://picasaweb.google.com/mykhel.ja/JaiHoChennai?fgl=true&fgl=true&pli=1#5391557539107002050

Sorry if it is posted before.

13th October 2009, 08:27 PM
:ty: AF

13th October 2009, 09:12 PM

i find it more irritating that Sadhana always sings Chupke Se instead of Sneghidene. so many years in Tamil music industry and she cant sing her song that lifted her career. :evil:

she sang snehidhdu....

13th October 2009, 10:37 PM

she sang snehidhdu....

she did switch to Chupke Se later on no? not only in this concert, but in all the concerts she does with ARR, she sings Chupke Se... i think she should try to memorize Sneghidene, the original version! :evil:

music man
13th October 2009, 11:40 PM
Hi all!!
In continuation to my previous post, I would like to list some of the songs that ARR can use in his concerts(chennai concerts) rather than the usual hindi numbers..I have repeated his usual songs also...

The songs are not in order...I have chosen the songs so that they can be performed live on stage(only a few exceptions are there)

1) Oruvan Oruvan Muthalali/Baba Cinema Cinema(opening song)
2) Chinna Chinna Aasai
3) Kadhal Rojave
4) Kannuku Mai Azhagu
5) Aathangara Marame
6) Kaathu kaathu thinam/Pennala Pennala Oothaapoo
7) Chandralekha
8) Veerapandiya Kotaiyile(with live strings section)
9) Kannum Kannum Kollaiadithaal
10) En Kaathale/Naan Paadum Santham
11) En Mel Vizhundha Mazhai thuliye
12) Oorvasi Oorvasi
13) Azhagu Nilavu
14) Bombay Theme Music
15) Thoda Thoda Malarnthathenna
16) Rangeela- Hai Raam/Tanha Tanha
17) Thendrale with ARR on Grand Piano
18) Iruvar-Kannai Katti Kollathey
19) Ratchagan Theme Music(with full strings)
20) Dil Se End Credits
21) Kadhalennum Thervezhuthi
22) Vaaraga Nathi/Sowgiyamaa
23) Taj Mahal-Sotta Sotta Naniyuthu Taj Mahal
24) Endrendrum Punnagai
25) Radha Se-Lagaan
26) Kadhal Virus-Vaa Nilaa Tharum
27) Ennakoru Girl Friend vendum-Boys
28) Warriors of Heaven and Earth-Theme
29) En Uyir Thoziye
30) Dil Ne Jise Apna Kahaa
31) Saavariya/Yejo Desh-Swades
32) Munbe Vaa
33) Innisai
34) Ella Pughazhum Oruvan Oruvannuke
35) Taxi Taxi
36) Liquid Dance/Lathika Theme
37) Rehna Tu and Massakali

I have left many popular numbers...I have tried to avoid many hindi numbers...My original list had close to 50 songs...Then i have shortlisted to 37 songs...I have not touched upon his recent international works and Blue...

Ithula ethaavathu 25 songs(mainly tamil) choose pannale pothume....

14th October 2009, 06:30 AM
musicman,ungga effort-tu oru salute :notworthy:

we want more tamil song!

14th October 2009, 06:34 AM
Hi all!!
In continuation to my previous post, I would like to list some of the songs that ARR can use in his concerts(chennai concerts) rather than the usual hindi numbers..I have repeated his usual songs also...

The songs are not in order...I have chosen the songs so that they can be performed live on stage(only a few exceptions are there)

1) Oruvan Oruvan Muthalali/Baba Cinema Cinema(opening song)
2) Chinna Chinna Aasai
3) Kadhal Rojave
4) Kannuku Mai Azhagu
5) Aathangara Marame
6) Kaathu kaathu thinam/Pennala Pennala Oothaapoo
7) Chandralekha
8) Veerapandiya Kotaiyile(with live strings section)
9) Kannum Kannum Kollaiadithaal
10) En Kaathale/Naan Paadum Santham
11) En Mel Vizhundha Mazhai thuliye
12) Oorvasi Oorvasi
13) Azhagu Nilavu
14) Bombay Theme Music
15) Thoda Thoda Malarnthathenna
16) Rangeela- Hai Raam/Tanha Tanha
17) Thendrale with ARR on Grand Piano
18) Iruvar-Kannai Katti Kollathey
19) Ratchagan Theme Music(with full strings)
20) Dil Se End Credits
21) Kadhalennum Thervezhuthi
22) Vaaraga Nathi/Sowgiyamaa
23) Taj Mahal-Sotta Sotta Naniyuthu Taj Mahal
24) Endrendrum Punnagai
25) Radha Se-Lagaan
26) Kadhal Virus-Vaa Nilaa Tharum
27) Ennakoru Girl Friend vendum-Boys
28) Warriors of Heaven and Earth-Theme
29) En Uyir Thoziye
30) Dil Ne Jise Apna Kahaa
31) Saavariya/Yejo Desh-Swades
32) Munbe Vaa
33) Innisai
34) Ella Pughazhum Oruvan Oruvannuke
35) Taxi Taxi
36) Liquid Dance/Lathika Theme
37) Rehna Tu and Massakali

I have left many popular numbers...I have tried to avoid many hindi numbers...My original list had close to 50 songs...Then i have shortlisted to 37 songs...I have not touched upon his recent international works and Blue...

Ithula ethaavathu 25 songs(mainly tamil) choose pannale pothume....

a splendid list... but i think a few songs u can add in as well...

1. Karisal Tharisal - Taj Mahal (since this song is like a medley, ARR can improvise the music allot and it will be a real treat)
2. Marudhani
3. Thee Kuruvi (the most complicated tune and beautiful rendition by Harini)
4. Thee Thee Thithikum Thee (the energy and melody at the same time in the song is amazing)
5. Kannake Mai Azhagu (ARR can bring in P.Suseela to sing on stage, it will be a great treat for the veteran music followers)
6. Madhuraike Pogathedi - Azhagiya Tamizh Magan (a big treat for Vijay fans)

If the managers of ARR could have just took 30 mins to plan like this on what songs to be played in the concert, all this problems wouldnt arise.

They should aim on playing Tamil songs in ARR's Delhi, Bombay, and all those north areas and in International as well instead of playing Hindi songs in Chennai. Tamil songs r def the strong, concrete ground of ARR, and they should be proud of it and play it in his north indian concerts.

Guess they forgotten the tag they used to use for ARR " A.R.Rahman made the north Indians listen to Tamil songs". its vice versa now.

14th October 2009, 11:50 AM
do we have any way to speak to ARR thru mail or something? so that we can let him know the pulse of people and the feedback for whatever he does... this will help him to get rid of his minor mistakes...

if we dont have, we shall try to find someway to intereact with him!!

14th October 2009, 12:19 PM
do we have any way to speak to ARR thru mail or something? so that we can let him know the pulse of people and the feedback for whatever he does... this will help him to get rid of his minor mistakes...

if we dont have, we shall try to find someway to intereact with him!!
Dhayavu senju idhukku muyarchi edungappa. Prabhukrish (Maddy knows) madhiri aatkal Rahmanaye veetukku poi meet pannirukkaanga, through a friend who works for Rahman or something...

music man
14th October 2009, 12:21 PM
I don't know whether he will check his mail...I think we can resort to older methods like sending him a letter expressing our views...Atleast someone in his home will check it...

14th October 2009, 12:28 PM
wonder y thalaivar is avoiding swades in the concerts...

14th October 2009, 01:11 PM
I don't know whether he will check his mail...I think we can resort to older methods like sending him a letter expressing our views...Atleast someone in his home will check it...

shall we do like sending him 100 postcards everyday?
edhachum seivom

music man
14th October 2009, 01:40 PM
Someone please post his address here.

We will all send letters to him.

14th October 2009, 02:30 PM
ARR is a frequent visitor to yahoogroups. He has mentioned that in a few interviews. Not sure whether this issue is being discussed there. If it is, then thailaivar would've already known that.

14th October 2009, 09:38 PM
ARR's response to the Chennai concert complain on less Tamil songs :

---------- Forwarded message ----------
Date: Wed, Oct 14, 2009 at 13:40
Subject: Re: Chennai concert
To: Gopal Srinivasan <gopal@...>

very difficult to do different concerts in each city ...it takes ages for learning ....and coordination ......to have a seamless tour ...we need to do the same thing and perfect it ....

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/arrahmanfans/message/126612

My reply to him would be :

I think that rather then having concerts too often, ARR could probably do QUALITY concerts, say just a few, 1 or 2 a year and not every month or what. Since it takes ages to get a concert done, the coordination, etc etc, Its best to give THE BEST concert than just to give many concerts that have similar theme/songs and having fans complain. Isnt it?

just a thought...

14th October 2009, 10:03 PM

very difficult to do different concerts in each city ...it takes ages for learning ....and coordination ......to have a seamless tour ...we need to do the same thing and perfect it ....

I think that rather then having concerts too often, ARR could probably do QUALITY concerts, say just a few, 1 or 2 a year and not every month or what. Since it takes ages to get a concert done, the coordination, etc etc, Its best to give THE BEST concert than just to give many concerts that have similar theme/songs and having fans complain. Isnt it?

just a thought...
that applies for his concerts in other cities....
any concert is not equal to a concert in homeground for his mainstream tamil fans and audience...

14th October 2009, 10:17 PM

just a thought...
any concert is not equal to a concert in homeground for his mainstream tamil fans and audience...

Couldnt agree more. its seriously saddening to see these things happen in his own ground.

music man
14th October 2009, 10:20 PM

just a thought...

And now this is a most shocking reply from A.R.Rahman... Who told him to do more concerts...A.R.Rahman knows what is best...we are just ordinary fans expecting something out of him...

Being a person from Chennai, he must give preference only to Tamil songs and let him play tamil songs in other states...Why such a rush...???????? At one end, he is cramped for time and he has so many projects...And at the same time, he is doing concerts which is energy sapping and very tiresome job...

That he did for a noble cause was great...But is someone forcing him to conduct more live shows?????I mean the organisers....

Anyway let him exercise more caution in the future while catering to the specific audiences....

14th October 2009, 10:29 PM
By saying that its a logistics issue and the set list cannot be tampered with too much between concerts, does he mean that all these Tamil songs performed in Chennai will be performed in other cities too? If so, fair enough, otherwise, it does not hold good illeengala?

14th October 2009, 11:29 PM
By saying that its a logistics issue and the set list cannot be tampered with too much between concerts, does he mean that all these Tamil songs performed in Chennai will be performed in other cities too? If so, fair enough, otherwise, it does not hold good illeengala?
Guys,

In Today's Hindu (Oct 14th, Chennai edition) Metro Plus, there was a small article about the concert... concentrating mainly on the mixed feelings of the fans about the concert..

Of coourse, one of them was the topic we are discussing here...
Let me type what exactly there about this

"Most of them had no clue that the Jai Ho series of concerts were part of a world tour, and hence the play list would have a mix of his music - International, Hindi and Tamil. So some Hindi songs were greeted with screams of "Tamil, Tamil. We want Tamil".

When Keith Peters and Sanjeev Thomas launched into a rocking guitar introduction, the crowd - which noticed the sound was vaguely familiar - waited in anticipation. On identifying the song as "Mustafa Mustafa", the restlessness disappeared and 70000 people rose on their feet to sway to Rahman's tunes".

15th October 2009, 06:26 AM
thalaivaru kaduppaana,' free concert in chennai only tamil songs'innu solla poraru!ithan nadakka pothu!

15th October 2009, 11:04 AM

Bala,

I attended the concert in Calicut in May (That's where 'Jai Ho' tour started), and it had almost same set of songs. I think his reasoning is well justified. But there's another problem, the concerts are getting predictable, because of this.

15th October 2009, 12:19 PM
Fair enough (both Rahman's explanation and your concern)

15th October 2009, 02:47 PM
thalaivaru kaduppaana,' free concert in chennai only tamil songs'innu solla poraru!ithan nadakka pothu!

Anand, irukalam, after he finishes his current concerts all over India.

I think he should, a way to show respect and appreciate his fans in Chennai/Tamil Nadu.

15th October 2009, 03:35 PM
one thing i noticed in this concert was the increase in the number of foriegners. I saw them dancing to dilli hai mere song and pointed it out to maddy and lm.

16th October 2009, 11:19 AM
Heard that the DVD is out! :bluejump: Friends in Sathyabama enjoyed the version it seems! :yes: Anyone has the disk?

16th October 2009, 11:21 AM
:shock: When, where?

16th October 2009, 01:23 PM
no chance, dear. Previous MARG, Jai Ho concertskae innum dvd varalai...

16th October 2009, 02:56 PM
no chance, dear. Previous MARG, Jai Ho concertskae innum dvd varalai...

veLiyulaga vAsanaiyE illAdha sathyabama hostel figures Jiya se Jiya crane ellAm perfect-A solrAnga. Clear-A vERa irundhuchAm. They aren't allowed minimum hostellers' freedom like private interent et al. No browsing cafe or any sorta that inside the campus too. They told me they got some Disk having it. Diwali holidays-ku ooruku pOitAnunga. Will try to get it this week and uplaod it!!

16th October 2009, 06:06 PM
probably Pakkathula irundha evanchum camerala shoot panninadha irukkum..

singgakutty
26th November 2009, 08:23 AM
[html:67f06ac3dc]<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/VtpFXSV3Vnw&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xcfcfcf&feature=player_embedded&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/VtpFXSV3Vnw&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xcfcfcf&feature=player_embedded&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>[/html:67f06ac3dc]

nice video there

Appu s
18th January 2010, 10:55 AM
Sydney concert HQ "kwaja mere kwaja"

[html:732772b461]<object width="560" height="340"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/ioEhs5Pd1jY&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/ioEhs5Pd1jY&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="340"></embed></object>[/html:732772b461]

Appu s
18th January 2010, 11:17 AM
http://www.viddler.com/explore/What2Nameit/videos/1/

See Thalaivar's entry from 06.00..

muzammil_fr
19th January 2010, 10:12 PM
sydney concert available here http://www.uyirvani.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=26234

19th January 2010, 10:14 PM
Mausam & Escape in Sydney concert.

[html:bb68724283]<object width="560" height="340"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/-PL00SCVBZE&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/-PL00SCVBZE&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="340"></embed></object>[/html:bb68724283]

Appu s
19th January 2010, 10:22 PM
Let's use this thread for all ARR concerts :D

20th January 2010, 12:36 AM
:evil:

20th January 2010, 10:38 AM
Mausam and escape......I am speechless...

Appu s
20th January 2010, 11:12 AM
:evil:

why yaaa? wat happened? :roll:

20th January 2010, 12:11 PM
mausam escape...
what a coordination ina live performance...
feel like a dwarf in front of these performers... :(

Babu606
20th January 2010, 01:14 PM
OMG, i got stucked when i see this fusion perfomance with mausam & escape. it was terrible. they have done a musical storm. wish, if i was there. :(

mahen01
20th January 2010, 02:09 PM
Syd concert was a big dissappointment... only 3 tamil songs.. and the rest are Hindi hindi hindi... Valka veruthu Pochu... Expected atleast 50% Tamil songs.. Ponathukaka chumma kaiya thatitu vanthatu than micham.. didnt enjoy hindi songs at all.. Will never go to a Hindi concert (ARR) again..

20th January 2010, 03:12 PM
Syd concert was a big dissappointment... only 3 tamil songs.. and the rest are Hindi hindi hindi... Valka veruthu Pochu... Expected atleast 50% Tamil songs.. Ponathukaka chumma kaiya thatitu vanthatu than micham.. didnt enjoy hindi songs at all.. Will never go to a Hindi concert (ARR) again..

hello...
engalukku chennai concertlayae indha nelama dhaan...
ivaru sydney patthi pesaraaru...

"sultanae soda kudikkiraan... kudhiraikku goldspot kaekkudhaam"

Appu s
20th January 2010, 03:59 PM
"sultanae soda kudikkiraan... kudhiraikku goldspot kaekkudhaam"

Mahen01 if you are not aware,They performed same set of songs in all the concerts.

20th January 2010, 08:01 PM
http://tamil.techsatish.net/file/ar-rahman-concert-in-sydney/

complete coverage...

thalaivar sodhappified in most parts of adhiradikkaaran... :(

but there are more surprise inclusions in this... :redjump:

21st January 2010, 06:49 PM
muscat concert was scheduled for today, right?

chevy
22nd January 2010, 02:32 AM
muscat concert was scheduled for today, right?

YUP.. Just got back from it.

PS- I m glad people know a country like oman exists and there is tiny cosy place called muscat. Unlike my college girls in chennai who asked if muscat is a village in north india? :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

:) :) :)

Was good. Would have howled more if it were in Chennai or any other place but home. I m sure A R Rahman thought," Muscat is such a disciplined audience but hey, I m rocking, clap, scream and howl for me. "

Apart from standing up for Vande Mantaram, Cheering for some hits from jodha akbar, one from ghajini, Kabhi Kabhi Aditi, Chandralekha, jai ho, mustafa- mustafa (in tamil), antha arabic kadal oram , we were a comparatively quieter audience.

Apart from ARR, there was Benny,Hariharan, Swetha Pandit, sivamani, Suzzane, Neeti muhan, Rapper Lush, sadna sargam,rashid ali, a french singer etc etc.....Cameras were not allowed but managed to get some mobile pics and videos, will upload later.

First began with Sivamani's awesome -awesome playing..he started with some vessel, slowly switched to some kuthu , then some gujju style music and then some bhangra style, etc..and then ARR came. Sivamani was onstage for all most the whole show. ARR was onstage lesser comparatively. He was first there dressed in the suit and t shirt. with Sivamani for a few songs. In breaks, they played vellai pookal , pray for me brother, etc.

I didn't count how many hindi and how many tamil songs. I think they evened number of hindi and tamil songs pretty well, or maybe I think there were more of tamil songs.. coz I wasn't sitting there feeling like- oh hindi.....

Maybe some people felt- oh, tamil..(coz just earlier today someone told me how the classical indian performing arts scene in oman is so tamil dominated and there is an overdose of tamil already that it is most likely that today's show is likely to have more of tamil, also considering the sponsor is also a south Indian , Dr. Satish Nambiar, Head of the Indian Social club that comprises of Tamil sangam, and all other language's ka sangam).

But irrespective of whether it was hindi or tamil, they were all hits and i guess every1 enjoyed it all). For most of the show, it was like one tamil, then one hindi and then one tamil, and so on. Some good instrumental music as well.

In between he changed into white kurta and wore a turban, sat down played the harmonium, sang some Ghazal-ish songs with two other singers, can't remember the names. Later he was in t-shirt to collect mementos and then again he came with a orange long overcoat for the dramatic ending.

There was a boyish looking rapper Lush, who i just google-discovered is a girl, and she/he was really good.

Sadna Sargam took the stage for a while. She and hariharan sang some Chitra-Hariharan- ARR songs. She also sang Jiya Chaley (dilse).

Benny sang omana penne from VTS, taxi-taxi. He was the most recognizable figure on stage. His roundness, beard, bald hairstyle, hop-jumping style of walking, standard large-checked sweatshirts with the hood over his head.

ARR wasn't on stage as much as Sivamani, the girls(pandit, neeti), benny, rashid ali. He appeared in between songs and his longest continuous stay onstage was towards the end when he sang in tamil mostly- early hits like mustafa mustafe, antha arabic kadaloram, dilse re.... Ending with vande mataram and jai ho.

Overall, I suppose the entire show was more or less like the Jai-Ho shows in other cities.

22nd January 2010, 09:57 AM
:ty: Chevy for the detailed report :)

22nd January 2010, 05:02 PM
cool chevy :thumbsup: very nice write up - u gave us a feel of the concert with ur description :D

But irrespective of whether it was hindi or tamil, they were all hits and i guess every1 enjoyed it all).

22nd January 2010, 05:04 PM
Maddy, mausam and escape- sydney version kaetteengala?

22nd January 2010, 05:05 PM
cool chevy :thumbsup: very nice write up - u gave us a feel of the concert with ur description :D

But irrespective of whether it was hindi or tamil, they were all hits and i guess every1 enjoyed it all).

and chevy is lucky for hearing alternate tamil songs there...
happy/envy

Appu s
22nd January 2010, 05:31 PM
Good write up Chevy :thumbsup:

Koduthu vachavanga sonna date la mscut la pannittanga, Inga Doha la sothappittanuga padu paavi payaluga :(

22nd January 2010, 05:37 PM
adhukkellam alava paavam pannirukkanum....

chevy
22nd January 2010, 08:30 PM

and chevy is lucky for hearing alternate tamil songs there...
happy/envy
Some reviews of ydays' show on my friends' facebook status updates and over sms.

1) ARR show - was awesome.............

2)Could have been way more better considering the price of tickets were - RO 10, RO 20, RO 50, RO 100, and RO. 200 for thematic dinner with ARR and also attending the show to sit right in the front. (RO. 1 = Rs. 100 approx)

3) there was lesser of ARR.
Infact, we got to see ARR solli manasa thethika vendi than

4) Too much of pre recorded music. Some of it was like Karoke. Hardly any instruments on stage and didn't feel like live orchestra at all.

5) Hoped for the full of vande mataram, but they started off with Jai ho and ended with VM.

----

This kinda dinner with celebs- u know how they work. u sit at tables and they come around, u get to shake hands and talk for a minute with them for which you pay. haha..not like you sit with your plate next to theirs. You just get a feel of- okay we are in the same room.

Someone I know had attended the dinner and he said he shook hands, asked where he was from and on asked about how to live like him (what a stupid thing to ask? btw)- ARR said- I just to my job.

The show, I get a lot of mixed reviews. I liked the latter part of the show. I was getting bored in the middle through the slow desi music. I loved the instrumental music considering I always listen to instrumental stuff off late. Mygrandad slept through in the end (was too late for him and ARR isn't his type of music i think. My sis was there just for Jai ho. She listened to Kabhi Kabhi aditi , then she got bored of ghazal and instrumental and early 90's romantic ARR songs ...she slept. We woke her up for Jai ho.)

My mom said Hariharan could have been utilized more. Sivamani was there on stage almost through out, he was sorta underplayed unless you know how great sivamani is and you did actually notice his presence.

Rashid Ali was there for a long time. And so was vijay prakash. Kabhi Kabhi aditi's choreography was darn sweet. So cute.

ARR's mometo thing was funny. The organizer called up the ambassador and other honoraries and after giving ARR's momento he was standing paavama on stage while the local dignitaries like ambassadors and royalties were felicitated. He was casual in tees.

chevy
22nd January 2010, 08:34 PM
Good write up Chevy :thumbsup:

Koduthu vachavanga sonna date la mscut la pannittanga, Inga Doha la sothappittanuga padu paavi payaluga :(

Ninga sponsor panni pannu vendithane..lol :)

22nd January 2010, 11:42 PM
Maddy, mausam and escape- sydney version kaetteengala?

saary late reponse - mannippaya?? :lol:

chancelessness :bow: ....yaaruppa andha asad khan?? instruments foreplay illa adhu 8-)

mahen01
23rd January 2010, 03:07 PM
I am happy to hear equal number of Tamil songs played in Oman. Wish thats the case in Syd too... I dont know why ARR prefer to play more hindi songs in live concerts..

23rd January 2010, 06:14 PM
the very purpose of rahman's concerts to break away barriers is not working, i guess - he should go in for a complete instrumental concert - no language :)

25th January 2010, 01:29 AM
Thalaivar has updated in the facebook that the sydney concert will be out in DVD very soon with 5.1 audio mix and other goodies...

20th March 2010, 08:46 AM
[html:1b49fa59f5]
http://photos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs107.snc1/4613_88074494141_526454141_1954606_6376443_n.jpg
[/html:1b49fa59f5]

3rd April 2010, 04:54 AM
I have just been looking at ticket prices for ARR US concerts and am I the only one that thinks the good seats are priced ridiculously highly?

I mean will they be able to fill all those seats at such prices? Especially in the London where he's doing two dates (24th and 25th) at two venues which are pretty close to each other. Hmmm.
I want good seats but I don't think I'll be able to afford them at those prices! :(

Just a little worry I had.

8th April 2010, 05:49 AM
Just got back from the ARR and The London Philharmanic Orchestra Concert.

I MET ARR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

I'll update you guys with the other details soon!

Still sooooooo excited!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

8th April 2010, 06:41 AM
Woww Yathu :clap: :clap: I'm jealous :twisted:

8th April 2010, 10:56 AM
i think news like this has to be kept to one self Yathu, you are making fellow Hubbers jealous and sad :(

happy for you though :)

8th April 2010, 12:37 PM
Yathu,

Kadavulai meet pannenu romba saadharanama solreenga?

8th April 2010, 12:51 PM
Detail-la seekiram podunggo samiyow! :D

shocker
8th April 2010, 03:27 PM
Wow lucky guy. What did he say to you?

8th April 2010, 05:13 PM
It all happened really fast. After the concert me and my friend decided to wait outside the exit to see if we could get an autograph. It was a bit of a gamble as there were 3/4 possible exits from the building. There were other guys waiting there too, but lots dropped out 'cos we were waiting for nearly an hour and some people had to catch their last trains back home! Good for us, as only six people remained after people starting dropping out. They'd probably be kicking themselves if they ever find out that we got to meet ARR!

ARR finally came out around 11.45pm, after having dinner within the Southbank Centre. He was coming down the stairs and we all mobbed him. :lol: I got the first autograph and I said "Great show sir" and *patted him on the back* :lol: he said "thank you". After that its a bit of a blur. It was a mad dash trying to get a picture with him. My pics didn't come out so good cos of my friends bad photography skills! :curse: He got two good photos with AR thanks to me. :lol:

It all happened really fast. I really wanted to get a good photo with him, but i got a mediocre one! :lol: Well I can proudly say I've met him. :)

I was really surpirsed that ARR stopped and allowed us to take photos with him. I thought he'd be in a hurry to get in his Taxi and go. :D

BEST. DAY. EVER. :D :D :D

About the concert: BRILLIANT.

Post more about it in a little while. I took three videos (secretly). I'll upload them aswel. :D

8th April 2010, 05:14 PM
Shocker, were you there?

Appu s
8th April 2010, 05:16 PM
Yathu :clap: lucky guy :D

9th April 2010, 12:59 AM
[tscii:cea5c91109]Thanks everyone!

So here's what was played during the show:

Elizabeth: The Golden Age
Divinity theme; Battle; Mary's beheading

Warriors of Heaven & Earth
End titles; Desert storm; Horses; Goodbye

Couples Retreat
Jason and Cynthia's theme; Itinerary; Intervention

Roja
The Cry of a Rose

Mangal Pandey: The Rising
Killing innocents; Ring of Fire; Palace sequence; Uprising; End titles

Slumdog Millionaire
Latika's theme; Mausam and Escape

Bombay
Bombay theme

Passage
Nager dans l'espoir; Lux aeterna

Subhash Bose: The Last Hero
End titles; Tanha; Struggle; Love theme

Meenaxi: Tale of 3 Cities
We will fly; One way; Who are you?

Lagaan
Lagaan theme

Swades
Swades theme

Lord of the Rings Stage Show
Lothlóren; The Final Battle

Taal
Nahin Saamne
(This wasn't mentioned in the programme list, so it was a sweet surprise when they started playing it!)[/tscii:cea5c91109]

Kadhal Rojave was just beautiful. Naveen was spectacular, as he is in all of the videos I've posted! I got goosebumps as he started to playing the opening notes. :D

Slumdog Millionaires Mausam & Escape was quite a performance too. I mean Asad Khan, what a Talent! The speed with which his fingers travelled over the sitar :o I wish I'd recorded this performance!

Bombay theme. No need to mention. This is ARRs signature theme tune. Played beautifully by Naveen. The conductor, Matt Dunkley, gave Naveen an enthusiastic hand shake once he finished playing!

Same goes for the Lagaan and Swades theme.

They had two vocalists from the LOTR stage show to sing along with the orchestra for Lothloren and The Final Battle. A magnificent end to the show...or so we thought! Naveen and Asad Khan then came back on stage to play Nahin Saamne from Taal. I was humming that tune all the way home (along with mausam and escape).

The videos I took:

Roja:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=564s-hAi-Gw

Bombay Theme:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gxQfJU9mFl4

Taal:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WuJp_8XBeTE

I hope you guys enjoy the vids. Sorry about the funky angle. We weren't allowed to use cameras, so I had to resort to holding my digital camera as low as I could. I was in the front row so going even lower means that you can't see most of the orchestra! :lol: But you get a good view of Naveen. :D

Someone else who was there has also posted parts of the interview that followed the show:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eFXVz_hgkeQ

A great night, that'll I'll cherish forvever. :D

9th April 2010, 01:05 AM
Thanks a lot for the detailed account, Yathu :ty: :ty: You missed the important part :twisted:

9th April 2010, 01:11 AM
What part is that LM? :lol:

I've made a post on the previous page about meeting ARR, if that's what you're talking about. :D

9th April 2010, 01:17 AM
Yeah, that's what I was looking for. Missed to see that post :oops: That's an experience of lifetime :thumbsup:

Thanks for the vids as well :D

9th April 2010, 02:42 AM
I have just been looking at ticket prices for ARR US concerts and am I the only one that thinks the good seats are priced ridiculously highly?

I mean will they be able to fill all those seats at such prices? Especially in the London where he's doing two dates (24th and 25th) at two venues which are pretty close to each other. Hmmm.
I want good seats but I don't think I'll be able to afford them at those prices! :(

I htought the prices were reasonable..THE one in LA surely is..

the good seats are around 400 dollars, which is really cheap when compared to other places.

aah I'm jealous :twisted:

9th April 2010, 03:43 AM

I htought the prices were reasonable..THE one in LA surely is..

the good seats are around 400 dollars, which is really cheap when compared to other places.

aah I'm jealous :twisted:

Oww $400 is still a bit steep! I hope the ticket prices aren't so high here (when they go on sale)!

9th April 2010, 05:31 AM
Good pictures and an article of the event here:

http://www.thamarai.com/news-details.php?id=112

9th April 2010, 11:30 AM
:ty: yathu for sharing.

9th April 2010, 11:57 AM
thanks a lot yathu sir! :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :clap: :clap:

10th April 2010, 12:14 AM
You're all welcome guys! :D

10th April 2010, 12:21 AM
Great pics here (also has some rehearsal pics):

http://aworan.wordpress.com/2010/04/08/the-london-philharmonic-orchestra-celebrating-the-music-of-ar-rahman/

shocker
10th April 2010, 01:06 AM
Hey Yathu, unfortunately I couldn't be there, however I am glad you got to meet A.R, you will never forget that experience I am sure.
Many thanks for sharing your wonderful account!

shocker
10th April 2010, 01:15 AM
Just watched the videos, the flute is absolutely stunning and the orchestra complements it beautifully. Wow it is like the flute is his voice and he is singing!

10th April 2010, 01:43 AM
Just watched the videos, the flute is absolutely stunning and the orchestra complements it beautifully. Wow it is like the flute is his voice and he is singing!

Yup Naveen was just SPECTACULAR. So much life in his playing. *Goosebumps*

shocker
10th April 2010, 02:48 AM
Yes I got goosebumps just watching the video!

music man
10th April 2010, 02:27 PM
[tscii:eb11664030]Thanks everyone!

So here's what was played during the show:

Elizabeth: The Golden Age
Divinity theme; Battle; Mary's beheading

Warriors of Heaven & Earth
End titles; Desert storm; Horses; Goodbye

Couples Retreat
Jason and Cynthia's theme; Itinerary; Intervention

Roja
The Cry of a Rose

Mangal Pandey: The Rising
Killing innocents; Ring of Fire; Palace sequence; Uprising; End titles

Slumdog Millionaire
Latika's theme; Mausam and Escape

Bombay
Bombay theme

Passage
Nager dans l'espoir; Lux aeterna

Subhash Bose: The Last Hero
End titles; Tanha; Struggle; Love theme

Meenaxi: Tale of 3 Cities
We will fly; One way; Who are you?

Lagaan
Lagaan theme

Swades
Swades theme

Lord of the Rings Stage Show
Lothlóren; The Final Battle

Taal
Nahin Saamne
(This wasn't mentioned in the programme list, so it was a sweet surprise when they started playing it!)[/tscii:eb11664030]

Kadhal Rojave was just beautiful. Naveen was spectacular, as he is in all of the videos I've posted! I got goosebumps as he started to playing the opening notes. :D

Slumdog Millionaires Mausam & Escape was quite a performance too. I mean Asad Khan, what a Talent! The speed with which his fingers travelled over the sitar :o I wish I'd recorded this performance!

Bombay theme. No need to mention. This is ARRs signature theme tune. Played beautifully by Naveen. The conductor, Matt Dunkley, gave Naveen an enthusiastic hand shake once he finished playing!

Same goes for the Lagaan and Swades theme.

They had two vocalists from the LOTR stage show to sing along with the orchestra for Lothloren and The Final Battle. A magnificent end to the show...or so we thought! Naveen and Asad Khan then came back on stage to play Nahin Saamne from Taal. I was humming that tune all the way home (along with mausam and escape).

The videos I took:

Roja:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=564s-hAi-Gw

Bombay Theme:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gxQfJU9mFl4

Taal:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WuJp_8XBeTE

I hope you guys enjoy the vids. Sorry about the funky angle. We weren't allowed to use cameras, so I had to resort to holding my digital camera as low as I could. I was in the front row so going even lower means that you can't see most of the orchestra! :lol: But you get a good view of Naveen. :D

Someone else who was there has also posted parts of the interview that followed the show:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eFXVz_hgkeQ

A great night, that'll I'll cherish forvever. :D

Sir!!!!!!!!!! Romba thanks......

Appu s
10th April 2010, 03:12 PM
Totally new set of songs !!

:ty: Yathu for the videos!

Appu s
10th April 2010, 03:26 PM
[tscii:d3f60ace45]
Good pictures and an article of the event here:

http://www.thamarai.com/news-details.php?id=112

AR Rahman's Alchemy

The Alchemy festival opened to a full house of AR Rahman fans at the prestigious Royal Festival Hall, at London’s Southbank Centre. The artistic director of Southbank, Jude Kelly, alongside longtime AR Rahman collaborator, the orchestrator/conductor Matt Dunkley (famous for his work in movies like Iron Man, Couples retreat & The Dark Knight) came together, for this highly anticipated concert which proved to be a rousing success.

The evening was a combination of one of the world’s finest orchestras, the London Philharmonic, the excellent Metro voices choir, flute player Naveen Kumar, who worked with AR Rahman from his Roja days, Asad Khan, the scion of the Hindustani Mewati Gharana, on the sitar, Alma Ferovic, the Bosnian-born singer whose voice simply takes one’s breath away, Eddie Hession on the accordion, Michael Rouse with his soaring vocals and the beautiful Kathak exponent, Gauri Sharma Tripathi, who not only performed to the haunting Bombay theme, but her many students also adorned the Royal Festival Hall like sparkling jewels.

The concert featured specially chosen music from AR Rahman's 600 odd film scores, which have transcended Indian and Far Eastern cinema as well as Hollywood. Rahman sat amongst the audience, watching his scores (some quite rare) coming alive on stage. After the music did the talking, AR Rahman was presented with a Gold disk from Universal records, for Slumdog Millionaire, to add to his treasure trove of trophies, while he was indeed in high spirits, as BBC Radio One DJ Nihal took audience questions during a short Q&A, which garnered some witty and interesting answers.

The UK’s Telegraph said of the show: “I was touched by Rahman’s ability to conjure a wonderful radiant melody. There’s a special quality in those sinuous tunes, a kind of primal innocence, that would melt even the sternest sceptic.”

The UK’s Times describes: “The guest sitar player Asad Khan injecting passion into the fusion of classical Indian textures and brasher Western pop figures. The flautist Naveen Kumar added another layer of much-needed local colour during his cameo appearances.”

AR Rahman also spoke to the widely read morning paper, Metro: “It’s such a joy to do this because we don’t have a fully fledged symphony orchestra in India. That’s actually what we’re trying to create – I’ve started a school of classical music in Chennai [Rahman’s birthplace]. I bring all the worldwide experience that I’ve learned back to India because that’s where all the love and support for my music started.”

Chennai-born composer AR Rahman has won at the Baftas, Academy Awards and Grammys; his sublime music has captivated millions of fans around the world; and those who know him say that even more than the music is the man himself – his benevolence and magnanimity, which seems to be part of the magical musical equation he has created.

AR Rahman started out as a session musician and then made his name composing for Bollywood films, but his music transcends time and place. Tonight’s concert, featuring the London Philharmonic, takes in works composed for the silver-screen in Hollywood, India and even China, transporting the audience from Elizabethan England to modern-day Mumbai.

AR Rahman’s first work writing for cinema was for stalwart director Mani Ratnam’s film Roja (The Rose) back in 1992. The quality of soundscapes created by AR Rahman and his late sound engineer, H Sridhar, saw Time magazine name Roja’s soundtrack as one of the ten best of all time in 2005. ‘The Cry of the Rose’ is a resplendent combination of the fiery and patriotic ‘Thamizha Thamizha’, which was sung by Hariharan in the film, seguing into the soothing waves of ‘Kadhal Rojave/Roja Jaaneman’.

Mani Ratnam created Roja as part of a trilogy and the other two films, Bombay and Dil Se/Uyire, were equally lauded, especially for their music. One of AR Rahman’s most important and biggest selling pieces of music was indeed the ‘Bombay theme’, which is performed this evening by Naveen Kumar, the Mumbai-based flautist who has played for AR Rahman since Roja. The flute here is key, in this piece and it lingers gracefully over the piece when the strings come in a laminiferous esoteric fashion.

AR Rahman joined forces with Craig Armstrong to compose the score for Shekar Kapur’s 2007 film Elizabeth: The Golden Age, after which its star, Cate Blanchett, had become a fan of AR Rahman’s music. The score takes the audience into the world of yesteryear with its captivating music, which blends sounds of the West with those from the East.

The ‘Divinity theme’ strikes a chord in the music lover’s heart, for its subtle evocative use Indian instruments, which intertwine beautifully with lush strings. Tonight’s performance is accompanied by Gauri Sharma Tripathi and dancers, a project that came about after Tripathi was introduced to AR Rahman by the acclaimed singer Reena Bharadwaj. Two other excerpts from the film, ‘The dark depths of Battle’ and ‘Mary’s beheading’ take the audience to another dimension with their haunting strains.

Another collaboration with Shekar Kapur was Swarovski’s Passage, a short film featuring Julia Stiles, Lily Cole and Haley Bennet as three sisters. Rahman’s score for the film echoes the romantic nature of the story, taking the audience on a journey ending in epiphany for listeners that mirrors that of the film’s characters.

Warriors of Heaven & Earth, the Chinese movie that AR Rahman scored, brings an interesting mix of music that showcases his versatility as a composer. While appealing to the sensibilities of the Chinese audience, he brings in layers of stunning sounds and thus, the emotions that go with them. ‘Desert Storm’ and are technically complex, while Horses is bright and spectacular, with a touch of the Indian Raags (modes) AR Rahman is so good at entwining with melodies.

MF Hussain's 2004 film Meenaxi: A Tale of Three Cities, was not just a vision in cinema, but its tapestry was woven with the rainbow colours of AR Rahman's music bringing to life the three cities mentioned in the title: Hyderabad, Jaisalmer and Prague. The soundtrack is recognised as one of AR Rahman’s best and tonight three dazzling musical pieces from the film, 'We will fly', 'One way' and 'Who are you?' are presented in full fervor.

Ashutosh Gowariker, is yet another Indian director who has turned to AR Rahman to create background depth with his music and his the familiar sounds of the theme of the Oscar-nominated Lagaan will linger in the hearts of music lovers forever. Presented in its full glory this evening, this piece leaves the listener mesmerised. Similarly evocative is the theme music of Swades, the Shahrukh Khan film that brought a sense of patriotism to India and those of the diaspora.

For The Rising: Ballad of Mangal Pandey, AR Rahman had to compose a score that reached back into India’s past. The depiction of The Sepoy Mutiny, the rebellion of 1857, is brought to life in music that juxtaposes Indian instruments with the occidental.

Another period film, which had a fine musical basis, is Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose: The Forgotten Hero – whose story was made into film by one of India's decorated film-makers, Shyam Benegal. Its première at the London film festival had people talking about the complexity of the music and the somewhat baroque nature of certain parts of the score -- how befitting for a subject that was, for the most part, hidden from history.

Works from two of AR Rahman’s forays into musical theatre features tonight. The first was the immensely successful Bombay Dreams, which was produced by Andrew Lloyd Webber.

AR Rahman’s music for Bombay Derams stemmed from a selection of his Indian cinematic scores, popular numbers which came to life when sung by a London cast to great appreciation, making history as the first Indian-themed stage musical.

Songs like 'Only love', which translate the Indian Raag Sivaranjani into a fully fledged theatre ensemble piece and the blissful 'Closer than ever' ('Nahi Saamne/Kalaimaane' from Taal).

The second musical was The Lord of the Rings, which premièred at Toronto's Broadway and then had a run at London's Theatre Royal, in Drury Lane. Working in conjunction with the Finnish group, Värttinä, the exposition of tracks like ‘Lothlóren’ and ‘The final battle’ bring about powerful feelings of elation.

It was in 2009 that AR Rahman, a man who has risen from being a session pianist, arranger and producer for many of India's finest, became a global musical icon.

Danny Boyle's Slumdog Millionaire, a film that was made in 2008 and almost ended up being released straight to DVD but ended up capturing the hearts of cinema goers the world over, winning nearly every major award and earning its place in musical history, as well as Oscars for AR Rahman, sound designer Resul Pookutty and director Danny Boyle, among others.

The success of Slumdog Millionaire and its music went far and wide, with the song 'Jai Ho' being re-mixed by the popular girl group, Pussycat Dolls and the song being featured in many different platforms. Indeed, the runaway success also meant that young Sitarist Asad, who performed on the track 'Mausam & Escape', has toured the world, playing as far as Australia.

Latika, the name of the film’s heroine, had a sweet theme dedicated to her – this simple yet memorable melody reigns in the hearts of AR Rahman fans perpetually.

Demonstrating the breadth of his talent, AR Rahman then took on composing duties for Couples Retreat, a Hollywood romantic comedy. This saw AR Rahman making his home in Los Angeles and bringing out music that was quite different from his previous ventures.

The film became a worldwide box office success and a number 1 hit in the US. While the music ranged from the popular number 'Nana', which featured AR Rahman's young son, Ameen, and the mellifluous song 'Sajna', today's selection come in the form of the 'Jason & Cynthia' theme (in which a touch of Sajna floats), 'Itinerary and Intervention'. Again, Rahman mixes instruments, gelling eclectic sounds together creating a memorable soundtrack

Ever humble, if one asks AR Rahman about the pinnacle of his career, he always points out that the important thing for him is the journey, not the destination. His ability to compose, produce, sing and most of all, pull in talents far and wide make him one of the most interesting musical talents in the world today. Like in the story of Slumdog Millionaire, for AR Rahman, music is written.

[/tscii:d3f60ace45]

Benny Lava
11th April 2010, 08:20 AM
Terrific Yathu! Congrats :2thumbsup:

Benny Lava
11th April 2010, 08:35 AM
I would have preferred to see "Minnale nee" instead of "Nahin samne".. It has some brilliant orchestral sections especially in the second interlude. Having said that, the charm of both the songs are lost in the absence of the pathos of the lead vocals.

music man
12th April 2010, 09:18 PM
Perhaps a separate thread can be opened to discuss ARR songs that can be converted into symphonies like "Veerapaandi kotaiyile, Ore chore(Lagaan), Kaathu Kaathu, Putham puthu Bhoomi etc etc...

A new thread may be started pls..:-)

25th May 2010, 03:08 PM
Anyone here from London booked their tickets for either the O2 or Wembley Arena concert?

I've booked my tickets for the Wembley Arena one! I hope they're decent seats. I really can't tell from the seating plan! My seats are pretty far from the stage. :S The good seats are really expensive!

I wanted to go to the O2 one but I have a wedding to go to on that day. :(

30th May 2010, 01:43 PM
Looks like Neeti Mohan will be singing "Hello Mr. Edhirkatchi" from Iruvar at the concert:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/50596752@N05/4648343121/sizes/m/

She's written the lyrics in English!