View Full Version : Raga of Songs - 2 !

Pages : [1] 2

vel
31st December 2009, 03:34 PM
:D for the sake of those who miss this good old thread, this thread has been revived (thanks to RR's help of linking the archives as well!) Discuss ragas of TFM songs here.

The Keyboard & Swara notation used in this thread:

http://www.mayyam.com/talk/attachment.php?attachmentid=927&d=1325845252

"Raga based film songs" Database (http://mayyam.com/wiki/index.php/Category:Ragas_of_Film_Songs) | Old Database (http://tfmpage.com/forum/classical.html) | Indian Classical Music Forum (http://forumhub.com/indcmusic/) | Hindi Raaga of Songs Thread (http://forumhub.com/indfilms/10256.14.48.31.html)

Original thread: http://mayyam.com/archives/showthread.php?1-Raga-of-songs

1st January 2010, 08:58 AM
All the best Vel :2thumbsup:

aruLaracan
1st January 2010, 10:51 AM
So 2010 is starting with a bang!

Wish you all a very happy and joyful new year.

1st January 2010, 07:35 PM
Hi arul, nice to see you here...
How are you doing? Still in US?

vel
2nd January 2010, 08:48 PM
thanks NOV - were there many raga numbers in 2009? dont think so...
some i can remember

om sivoham - pantuvarali,

rekka katti parakkudhu (valmeeki) - nice thodi with the Ga3 touch !
[IR did a folk thodi in nethu kodutha vaartha onnu from the movie kadhal saadhi]

a very sensuous keeravani in hichki hichki (paa)....

tvsankar
3rd January 2010, 01:33 AM
Nilavu varum neram from Jaganmohini - ragam pl...

Sureshs65
3rd January 2010, 02:36 PM
Vel,

'Maa Ganga' - Yamuna Kalyani
'Kooda Varuviya' (Valmiki)- Kalyani
'Enge Nee Sendralum' (Kannukulle) - Madhyamavathi
'Kannil Parvai' (Naan Kadavul) - Rasikapriya

In MFM by Raja,

'Thirathanil Ponalum' (Bhagyadevatha) - Kalyani
'Kunnathe' (Pazhassiraja) - Bhimplas
'Swapnangal Kannezhudiya' (Bhagyadevatha) - Pahadi (?)

'Mudi Mudi' seems to be based on Mohanam.

vel
5th January 2010, 11:28 AM
usha - may be a casual tune - dont get a raga flavour straightaway - what is your mom's opinion :)

suresh - good list - some good efforts in 2009 need appreciation - heard than D.Iman scored a 4 notes song in masilamani...wondering which one it is...the poor MD was telling this on a radio show - i am reminded of raaja saying in a old TV interview - idhai naan sollalainna ungalukku theriyaama pogum...

Sureshs65
6th January 2010, 12:32 AM
Vel,

I forgot the wonderful Hamsadhwani in Azhagar Malai, 'Unnai Enakku'. The other song from the same movie, 'Enna Senjalum' is based on one of Raja's favorite ragam, Mayamalavagowla.

vel
7th January 2010, 12:26 PM
suresh, enna senjalum is MMG alright, but sounds so very unique and different ...

in ramana saranam saranam - the last song 'eppadi paaduveno' by IR is a fantastic vintage abheri - right up the quality of "singara velanae theva" sung by s.janaki...Raaja has done the gamakkams so beautifully ...just loved it....

Sureshs65
7th January 2010, 07:35 PM
vel,

Yes. The Abheri is sung very well by Raja but the basic tune is that of Papanasam Sivan. Based on 'eppadi padinaro'. The CD also credits it to Papanasam Sivan. The orchestration and singing of Raja is top class.

Maybe we should also list the ragas in 'Ramana Saranam Saranam' album. It starts with Bageshree and the second song seems to be based on Mohanam, when it starts atleast. Then there is a Karaharapriya based song. The Dakshinamurthy tuned song is in Vasantha and the 'Maa Ganga' remake is ofcourse Yamuna Kalyani. Lovely and soothing album.

tvsankar
7th January 2010, 07:56 PM
Vel,
One song from Nandhavana theru

song - Ramana venkat ramana

enna ragam?

baroque
8th January 2010, 04:39 AM
WISH YOU ALL A VERY HAPPY & PROSPEROUS 2010!

ரமணா ஸ்ரீ வேங்கட ரமணா ... is the same tune as கலைவாணியே உனைத்தானே அழைத்தேன்...., வந்தால் மகாலக்ஷ்மியே என் வீட்டில் அவள் ஆட்சியே.....-ராகா கல்யாணி .

நான் போயி

விழிகள் மீனோ மொழிகள் தேனோ நிலவின் மகளே நீதானோ
பூக்களின் மேலே தேவதை போலே நீந்திவரும் முகிலோ....
கொஞ்சி கொஞ்சி WITH S .P .பாலா THIS COOL AFTERNOON ! :swinghead:

Great , Vel & his pals are here to share their knowledge
vinatha. :)

vel
8th January 2010, 11:16 AM
USHA, not hear the song - will listen and let know

baroque - vizhigal meeno with spb is melting stuff..It has its share of hamsadhwani as well apart from kalyani?

suresh,

regarding ramana saranam saranam, apart from those listed already, there is a vakulabharanam number, a nadhanamkriya (MMG) number and a natabhairavi/anandabhairavi number and a harikambodhi number...i may not know the exact lyrics as of now so you can do the "match the following" :)

vel
8th January 2010, 11:18 AM
baroque, why u look so pavam pavam in ur pic? :lol: Oh how i miss the sweet innocense of yesteryears, which i always notice in all black and white photos that i see :thumbsup:

tvsankar
8th January 2010, 11:34 AM
barogue,
Happy New Year.....

Kalyani nu than nanum nenachen.
ana Stanza la doubt vandhuduthu.

tvsankar
8th January 2010, 11:35 AM
Vel,
amma solla sonnga - Vel sonna correct aga than irukum..

baroque
8th January 2010, 11:56 AM
Vel! :)

Great, Usha!
தேனிலவு நான் வாட ஏனிந்த சோதனை
வான் நிலவை நீ கேளு கூறும் என் வேதனை
எனைத் தான் அன்பே மறந்தாயோ
மறப்பேன் என்றே நினைத்தாயோ
Vinatha. :D

tvsankar
8th January 2010, 12:03 PM
Vinu,
:P :D

Now am listening,

rithu bedha Kalpana

Enna ragam?

Sureshs65
8th January 2010, 10:57 PM
Usha,

'ritu bedha' Not sure if it is just one raga. The first two lines of the charanam indicate Kafi but the first interlude indicates something like Pahadi. In short, I am confused :)

tvsankar
8th January 2010, 11:16 PM
suresh,
IR song in one raaga irundhal dhan acharyam.

kalaidascope madhiri (color and design neraiya theriyumae apadi)

- ragam ragama theiryum.

andha andha portion indha indha ragam nu solla vendiyadhu dhan....

Vel style il - endha ragathin flavour adhigam iruko
andha ragam flavour nu sollika vendiyadhu dhan.....

Near Future , idharku ellam peyar kandu pidipargal ena ninaikiren.

Ridhu - swaram ellam varudhae - apram enna doubt?

Enaku swaram elalm theiryadhu pa.
Swaram ellam vandhal - naan ambel...
hehhehehhe...
adhan ragam enna nu kaetutuen...

12th January 2010, 12:51 PM
Good revival. Was heart broken to see this hoary thread fading away. Usha, "Nilavu varum neram" - Your favourite Madhyamavathi scale . Notice how the Raaga flavour is not so apparent as in "enge nee sendraalum" .Raja likes whip this scale to kindle erotic emotions . Examples are plenty like "Nila kayudhu", "ponmeni urugudhey", "vennilavu kodhipadhenna"

vel
12th January 2010, 03:33 PM
suresh,
IR song in one raaga irundhal dhan acharyam.

objection my lord - IR sticks to one raga only most of the time. :D

tvsankar
12th January 2010, 04:37 PM
thumburu,

Nialvu varum neram - Madhyamavathi ya...
Thanks thumburu.

yes. IR oda Madhyamavathi ku naan romba romba kiruku.....

Venninalvu - gavanichadhu ilai. kaetu pakaren...

tvsankar
12th January 2010, 04:38 PM
vel,
naan sonnadhu - IR oda paatai..
Neenga sorladhu - IR ai....
hehhehe...

tvsankar
12th January 2010, 04:41 PM
Ponmani therin - Jegan mohini

enna ragam?

Beautiful humming.

baroque
18th January 2010, 12:28 PM
பொன்மணி தேரில்.....ஜகன்மோகினி....

உஷா,
this song runs in higher octave with the rapid jadhi.
it is the same tune as several of இளையராஜா's கீரவாணி melodies .
நீதானா நீதானா.... தாலாட்டு பாடவா
காதுல விழலையா :)

even பூத்தது பூவு .....here & there கேட்டாமாதிரியே இருக்கும் .. I think it has a சாயல் of வனிதாமணி .....விக்ரம்...a high speed song .
Vinatha.

vel
18th January 2010, 04:25 PM
vinatha, i too think ponmani could be a low voltage keeravani...but vana kuyilae is lalitha/vasantha vagaiyara and not keeravani

baroque
18th January 2010, 11:14 PM
vasanta, lalita vagaiyaraavaa??
mmm....
I edited the song with unsure label.
Priyanka is a good movie from Revathy during 90s.

Yesterday my hubby & his friend were watching THIRU THIRU THURU THRU..New movie.
jillena veesum ....Harichandran, Saindavi...has mohanam ambeince little.
Movie was funny. :)

19th January 2010, 12:44 AM
"Unakkum Enakkum" - Sri Raghavendra ena Raagam?

Sureshs65
19th January 2010, 07:43 PM
Bala,

I think it is Vakulabaranam. I use my logic of the raga sounding like Mayamalavagowla but not Mayamalavagowla hence Vakulabaranam :) Not great logic I know. The feel is that of Mayamalavagowla, which is also used in Islamic music. So whenever there is an Islamic song in films you get to hear Mayamalavagowla or Panthuvarali, both of which are popular in music of middle east.

19th January 2010, 08:24 PM
Bala,

I think it is Vakulabaranam. I use my logic of the raga sounding like Mayamalavagowla but not Mayamalavagowla hence Vakulabaranam :) Not great logic I know. The feel is that of Mayamalavagowla, which is also used in Islamic music. So whenever there is an Islamic song in films you get to hear Mayamalavagowla or Panthuvarali, both of which are popular in music of middle east.
I was confused whether this song was in Vakulabharanam or Sindhu Bhairavi (renduthukkum sammandhame illai-ngareengala :lol: ) but couldn't say for sure (even for a lay listener like me, Sindhu Bhairavi is easy to spot but indha paatula correct a solla mudiyala)

vel
20th January 2010, 10:35 AM
Bala, sindhubahiravi, thodi, vakulabharanam notes are close - that might explain your confusion. But you will see the difference as you hear more songs in each of these scales. You will then see they are worlds apart when it comes to feel...

Sindhu Bhairavi | S R2 G2 M1 P D1 N2 S | S N2 D1 P M1 G2 R1 S

Thodi | S R1 G2 M1 P D1 N2 S | S N2 D1 P M1 G2 R1 S

Vakulabharanam | S R1 G3 M1 P D1 N2 S | S N2 D1 P M1 G3 R1 S

baroque
20th January 2010, 01:17 PM
இரும்புகோட்டை முரட்டுசிங்கம்
http://www.raaga.com/player4/?id=180697&mode=100&rand=0.9864196355340097
கண்ணா நீ ....பாம்பே ஜெயஸ்ரீ & ஸ்ரீநிவாஸ் ...G.V.P .....
ராகம் மதுகௌன்ஸ்.

listen to the keerthanai & aalapana.
pantala raajakumaara ....

http://www.musicindiaonline.com/p/x/E4p292bMx9.As1NMvHdW/

:ty: MIO for the reference keerthanai.

baroque
20th January 2010, 11:24 PM
Very nice pathos from Yuvan in Raga Ahir bhairavi (Carnatic - chakravagam)

ஊரு நல்ல ஊரு.....இளையராஜா ......கோவா ...யுவன் ஷங்கர் ராஜா
loving the rag, :musicsmile:
please check out some of the finest Indian cinema treats in this rag.

sola baras ki....L.P
Zindagi ko sanvarana ....jaidev
nee paadhi naan.....IR
Chalo Man Jayen Ghar Aapne ... salil

tvsankar
21st January 2010, 02:24 AM
kanyakumari - song
which raaga is this??

http://www.chitramala.com/audio-songs/ilayaraja-hits-726.html

21st January 2010, 11:34 AM
Thanks Vel!

vel
25th January 2010, 11:31 AM
listened to unnai vittal from jaganmohini - seems to be natabhairavi - since we have not heard many classical natabhairavis in film music, i think it is not easily visible or noticeable to our ears....

in the same film, poothadhu poovu is keeravani without the rishabham, which is called bhargavi ...hey raasathi rossappu from en uyir thozhan is the same scale...Bhargavi, S G2 M1 P D1 N3 S I S N3 D1 P M1 G2 S, (Keeravani Sans Ri2 !)

kattikitta seems shankarabharanam with some scale changes here and there...

nilavu varum neram is basically karaharapriya..though the fleeting use of some notes make one think it is madhyamavathi, a janya raga of Karaharapriya...

tvsankar
25th January 2010, 11:49 AM
Vel,
thanks for the clarification.

as per ur words,
adhanala dhan - thumburu - Nilavu varum Neram - Madhyamavathi madhiri iruku nu sonnaga nu nenaikaren....

i love IR's Madhyamavathi tooooooooooooo much.........

tvsankar
25th January 2010, 06:28 PM
Kadhalil maatamal - MVD - paarvathi ennai paradi

enna ragam?

starting ludes - Hameer kalyan madhiri iruku
ana

stanza - Dhujavandhi madhiri irukae....

vel
27th January 2010, 10:05 AM
usha, it is saranga

tvsankar
27th January 2010, 01:36 PM
Vel,
Saranga -adhigam kaetadhu ilai. indha raagam enaku theiryadhu...

oru old song la kaetu iruken.. kathukanam....
thanks vel.

baroque
29th January 2010, 07:41 AM
ishq ishq காதல் காதல் ..காதலுக்கு மரணமில்லை(2010).... full throat ஷங்கர் மகாதேவன்....
with vibrant, energetic
rhythm with a classical Raga PILU ambience.
http://www.dishant.com/jukebox.php?songid=81147
enjoy more Rag PILU
Check out the finest!
1.jhula bahon ka......A.R.Rahman
2.mainu ishq lag....Nadeem shravan
3.deivam thanda veedu...M.S.V
4.tu jo mere sur ...Chitchor
5.vaanam konda...S.P.B
6.bajarey yedhu naadham.....sadasiva brahmendra keerthanai.

http://www.musicindiaonline.com/p/x/7J22n18uGd.As1NMvHdW/
Vinatha. :)

vel
29th January 2010, 01:31 PM
vinatha, talking of peelu - i was viewing 'velli nilavae' from nandhavana theru - the charanams have kapi/peelu towards the end...listen and share your views

baroque
29th January 2010, 11:38 PM
Oh..
Lullabies in Raga PILU is plenty. :swinghead:
I was playing two soulful compositions back to back yesterday night.. it was cold, calm and the sad song of a broken, loving heart! :musicsmile:
chinna thaayaval...Ilayaraaja
dhire se aaja...C.Ramachandra.
vinatha.

baroque
1st February 2010, 01:07 AM
couple of songs from new albums...

manadhin adiyil....Mundhinam paartheney.. harikambhodhi touches.

http://www.raaga.com/player4/?id=167802&mode=100&rand=0.2934075967454749

vizhiyil vizhundhaval-siragindri paravai......light kirvani ambience.
Yearning mood .
:musicsmile: LOVING IT, Pollack has done a nice job in orchestration to preserve the mood.

Sureshs65
4th February 2010, 02:35 PM
vel,

What do you think is the ragam of 'pon vaanam mannil vandhu' from 'Naan Sikappu Manidhan'? The line 'vidikaalai' clearly indicated Neelambari but the rest of the song I am not sure about. What are your thoughts?

tvsankar
5th February 2010, 02:52 PM
Engu Naan - Dwijavanthi by Bombay Jayashree..

Excellent Bhavam by her.......

http://ww.smashits.com/music/carnatic/songs/7130/collections-of-bombay-s-jayashree-vol-1-2.html

tvsankar
5th February 2010, 03:12 PM
paarvai ondrae podhumae - suruti ya?

suruti - enaku kandu pidika theiryahdu..
kathukanam....

Srini
8th February 2010, 11:32 PM
Great to see ROS back!! The sense of happiness seeing this thread only goes to prove how important it has been to me!! Though I dont post regularly (owing to my highly limited knowledge:) ) I did use to browse through everyday. Thanks Vel & RR for the revival!

Just saw the discussion about 'vanakuyile kuyil tharum' in page 2.

Vel, isn't clearly Lalita, for sure? I hear D1 which differentiates it from vasanta. Just curious to know why you chose to classify it as 'Lalita/Vasanta vageyara'.

vel
10th February 2010, 03:54 PM
srini, i wanted to classify into a "mostly similar" group and thats why i said 'lalita/vasantha' vagaiyara...

suresh, i have not listened to that one !

baroque
16th February 2010, 04:12 AM
Please check out ishqiya...vishal bharathwaj classic (if you haven't)
http://www.raaga.com/player4/?id=181162&mode=100&rand=0.889142345413101
Very mystical badi dheere jali.... rekha baradwaj set in Hindustani TODI(miyan ki todi) is SOULFUL.
The improvisations drags raina beeti jaye...Lata's haunting pathos AMAR PREM.. R.d.Burman too back of my mind :)
http://www.raaga.com/player4/?id=2604&mode=100&rand=0.5743395634685005
Whatever I recalled I posted it.
:ty: Check out Legendary violinist N. Rajam..miyan ki todi.
What a treat! :musicsmile:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ajtglYDxIxs
miyan ki todi is shubapanthuvarali.
(vaikaraiyil....payanangal mudivadhillai)

17th February 2010, 02:36 PM
vel,

What do you think is the ragam of 'pon vaanam mannil vandhu' from 'Naan Sikappu Manidhan'? The line 'vidikaalai' clearly indicated Neelambari but the rest of the song I am not sure about. What are your thoughts?

I think this song is set to "Kurinji" raaga

naarayanan
18th February 2010, 10:20 PM
i recently heard a new song in ataana. from the movie 'yaadhumagi'. music by james vasanthan.

http://ragasinfilmmusic.blogspot.com/2009/11/yaaradhu-yaaro-yaaro-yadhumagi.html

tvsankar
19th February 2010, 12:38 PM
Mudduto sringara - Dharmakshetram

enna ragam... Mayamalava Gowla madhiri iruku.. Ana illai.

tvsankar
19th February 2010, 12:42 PM
http://www.raaga.com/channels/telugu/moviedetail.asp?mid=A0000374

link for Mudduto

baroque
19th February 2010, 11:17 PM
Shri.Ilayaraaja rehashes the tunes.

Remember konaatha sengkarumbu.... deepan chakravarthi & shaila in Padikkaadha pannaiyaar.(1985)

this song is yet another variant in 1992 in telugu film.

another rehash - GRAND madhura marikozhundhu.....enga ooru paattukkaran(1987)

Remember vaanam idi idikka....unna ninaichchen paattu padichcen(1992)

எனக்குள்ளே ஒரு வித பரவசம்....கார்த்திக்....அழகான பொண்ணுதான்....has மாயாமாளவகௌளை touches

http://www.musicplug.in/songs.php?movieid=32104

vinatha.

1st March 2010, 09:36 PM
Few shanmugapriya songs listed here :
http://musicbuff-murali.blogspot.com/2010/03/shanmukhapriya.html

Sureshs65
2nd March 2010, 10:06 PM
Thanks for the link app_eng.

One important Shanmukhapriya which got out was 'than thananam than thanam varum' from 'Pudhiya Vaarpugal'. I have heard a few more in Malayalam but can't remember them.

One bit of Shanmukhapriya does come in that V.Dakshinamurthy classic from 'Kavyamela', "Swapnangal Swapnangale", where he starts in Sahana, traverses through Shanmukhapriya into Kalyani and landing wonderfully back in Sahana. No wonder Raja has such high regards from Dakshinamurthy Swamigal.

tvsankar
2nd March 2010, 11:17 PM
suresh,
neenga sonna paatuku link thara mudiyuma?
want to hear...

Sureshs65
3rd March 2010, 12:50 AM
One link here:

http://www.raaga.com/play/?id=98794

Unfortunately this song seems to be taken off youtube. The picturisation is nice as well.

tvsankar
3rd March 2010, 08:24 PM
Thanks for the link suresh.

tvsankar
3rd March 2010, 08:24 PM
IPodhenna - Makkal Aachi

enna ragam indha paatu?

As usual IR's Beats.. mesmerising.....

Sureshs65
14th March 2010, 03:56 PM
Which ragam is this song, 'viralil sruthi meetavaa' from 'Nandavana Theru'?

http://www.thiraipaadal.com/albums/ALBIRR00412.html

Seems to start off like Todi and later morphs into Dhenuka / Sindhu Bhairavi. So what is being done here?

vel
15th March 2010, 04:18 PM
usha, ippodhenna is amruthavarshini

15th March 2010, 05:54 PM
Whats the raaga "Konja Neram" (Chandramukhi) is based on?

Sureshs65
15th March 2010, 10:12 PM
Bala(K),

'konja neram' starts like Malayamarutham but in the pallavi itself it seems to change. Not sure if you can classify the complete song as 'Malayamarutham'. The start reminds me of 'thenral vandhu ennai thodu'.

Nice melody but wonder why VS chose Asha Paati for this. She struggles a lot and consequently we do too.

15th March 2010, 11:59 PM
Bala(K),

'konja neram' starts like Malayamarutham but in the pallavi itself it seems to change. Not sure if you can classify the complete song as 'Malayamarutham'. The start reminds me of 'thenral vandhu ennai thodu'.

Nice melody but wonder why VS chose Asha Paati for this. She struggles a lot and consequently we do too.
Thanks. I was referring primarily to the starting
"Thendral vandhu ennai thodu" is Hamsanadham right?

Was watching a Mohan Vaidhya veena concert in Jaya TV. Adhula adhe pattern la ("Konja neram") irundhudhu raagam, identify panna mudiyala...

Sureshs65
16th March 2010, 12:20 AM
Bala,

Maybe I am confused here. You are right about 'tendral vandhu ennai todu' being Hamsanadham. I was probably thinking of 'kanmani nee vara katirunden' from the same film, which I think is Malayamarutham. Maybe I should listen to these carefully again before I comment :)

naarayanan
16th March 2010, 05:20 PM
a good pahadi.

http://ragasinfilmmusic.blogspot.com/2010/03/devanin-kovilile-vellai-roja.html

vel
17th March 2010, 04:00 PM
konja neram is abhogi. Abhogi, when it is scale shifted, as is done in some portions of this song, is valaji.

Sureshs65
18th March 2010, 09:19 AM
vel,

I was confused between Abhogi and Malayamarutham in the pallavi. Initially thought it was Abhogi, then thought it was probably Malayamarutham. The confusion becomes more acute with Malayamarutham and Valaji being 'close' to each other.

vel
18th March 2010, 10:50 AM
suresh, while malayamarutham has some more serious tone to it, valaji is more of playful white energy :)

This shift of abhogi to valaji is also employed in yesteryear classic 'naan andri yaar varuvaar' ..i just love this song in TR Mahalingam's sort-of-feminine-nasal-yet-majestic voice. Film is maalai itta mangai. SOTD discussed it here http://www.dhool.com/sotd2/924.html :)

Sureshs65
18th March 2010, 02:53 PM
vel,

I guess the raga interpretation to mood is very subjective. I always feel that Valaji is a serious mood raga where Malayamarutham is more colorful. Same with Bairavi. I always associate it with some sort of 'gambheeram' whereas lot of people associate it with 'sogam'.

18th March 2010, 10:25 PM
a blog on hindhOLam...
http://domesticatedonion.net/tamil/2010/03/18/hindholam/

vel
19th March 2010, 12:20 PM
vel,

I guess the raga interpretation to mood is very subjective. I always feel that Valaji is a serious mood raga where Malayamarutham is more colorful. Same with Bairavi. I always associate it with some sort of 'gambheeram' whereas lot of people associate it with 'sogam'.

malayamarudham has an additional note Ri to play more flexibly than valaji. But that Ri1 coming just after the Sa is what gives a more serious tone to malayamarutham i think. Even if you take the parent scale chakravagam, knocking away that Ri1 and changing it to Ri2 makes it a totally light music-ish harikambhodhi. Another example is to look at kanakangi, the first melam. Every note being close to each other - thats a pretty stiff scale. The genius of raaja used it in mogam enum theeyil in sindhu bhairavi movie.

all said and done, if you think valaji is serious and malayamarutham is more colorful, then that is ample proof that this could be a subjective thingy :)

tvsankar
19th March 2010, 02:28 PM
vel,
wat about Kalavathy.......

vel
19th March 2010, 03:56 PM
usha, whats your question on kalavathy?

tvsankar
19th March 2010, 05:14 PM
vel,
laywoman's feelings - valaji and Harikambhoji - kaekum podhu,
kalavathy um nyabagam varudhae....

kalavathy - 2 paatu dhan enaku theriyum.

1. Vasantha kalam varumo

2. Devi sridevi

adhanala dhan indha kelvi......

naarayanan
20th March 2010, 03:12 PM
kalavathi is the hindustani equivalent of valaji. thats all. both are same notes wise.

naarayanan
20th March 2010, 03:19 PM
and somebody posted hindolam link. there is a flaw in the write up.

//
இந்தப் பாடலின் துவக்கத்தில் வரும் புல்லாங்குழலிசை கௌஸல்யா சுப்ரஜா ராம பூர்வா எனத் துவங்கும் திருப்பதி வேங்கடேஸ சுப்ரபாதத்தின் துவக்கத்தை ஒத்திருப்பது பலருக்கு பரவசத்தையும் சிலருக்கு எரிச்சலையும் ஊட்டியது. உண்மையில் சுப்ரபாதத்தின் அந்த வரிகள் சுத்த ஸாவேரி என்ற இராகத்தில் அமைந்தவை. அந்த இடத்தைத் தவிர மற்றபடி இந்தப் பாடல் முற்று முழுதாக ஹிந்தோள இராக்த்தில் அமைந்தது.//

the initial flute is also in hindolam. he has just transposed the scale.

sruthi bedham. play hindolam from ga to ga. you get suddha saveri.

kausalya supraja is s.r.r.s..r.r.

in margazhi poove it is played like g.m.m.g..m.m.

25th March 2010, 08:42 PM
and somebody posted hindolam link. there is a flaw in the write up.

Looks like the blogger is also a regular contributor at dhool.com (same hindhOLam material now seen in a new thread at dhool).
http://www.dhool.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=9217

BTW, there's a blog by Baradwaj Rangan on senchurutti here :

http://www.desipundit.com/baradwajrangan/2010/03/25/bitty-ruminations-1/

29th March 2010, 10:02 PM
madhyamAvathi by the same blogger :

http://domesticatedonion.net/tamil/2010/03/29/madhyamavathi/

vel
9th April 2010, 10:31 AM
Talking of sensible usage of ragas for film music, Deva has some good casual carnatic hits to his credit. One such song is 'aathu mettu thopukkullae' from manasukkaetha maharaasa, which looked like a typical IR melody to me...recently only i learnt it is by deva..it is in senchuruti ! (therinjo theriyamalo?)...i am always left in surprise by his deft handling of anandabhairavi in 'konja naal poru thalaiva' in aasai and his casual take on sahana in 'rukku rukku rukku' (aavai shanmugi) and not to forget all his gaana classics, most of them set in sindhu bhairavi (naan autokaaran from baasha). He is also good at mohanam / pahadi...His priya priya oh priya is a lovely pahadi (BTW...fantastic singing by SPB)...and the vellarikka pinju vellarikka is a fantastic funky use of mohanam sung very nicely by krishnaraj! My all time favourite Deva song is 'golulathu kanna kanna'; from gokulathil seethai...(surprising all songs on lord krishna are runaway hits)... coming back to 'golulathu kanna kanna'; from gokulathil seethai...thats the way carnatic melodies have to be...simple, free flowing and melodic and not "heavy and drearily slow"

vibinrajmani
9th April 2010, 01:08 PM
A query:

The raagam of "Suppose Unnai" from Sukran?

Thank you.

vel
9th April 2010, 04:51 PM
vibin, hamsadhwani

baroque
13th April 2010, 10:07 PM
:swinghead:
o maha zeeya.....Hariharan with Swetha...misra hamsadhwani...thamizh padam.
totally enjoyed it.
காலம் மாறலாம் நம் காதல் மாறுமா.... :swinghead:
vinatha.

baroque
13th April 2010, 10:49 PM
http://www.musicindiaonline.com/#/album/29-Tamil_Soundtracks/33286-Madrasapattinam__2010_/

பூக்கள் பூக்கும் தருணம் ...ஹம்மிங், தபலா, ப்ளுட் ..in ராகா தர்பாரி கானடா.... :musicsmile: ....G.V.P

கனவு வந்து எந்தன் கண்கள் மூடி கிடந்தேன்...காற்றை போல வந்து கண்கள் மெல்ல திறந்தேன்.... :swinghead:
vinatha.

baroque
15th April 2010, 01:15 AM
ஆருயிரே ஆருயிரே ....சோனு நிகம் , சைந்தவி...மதராஸ்பட்டினம்....G .V .பிரகாஷ்குமார் ...சாருகேசி pathos aalapana...
very heart touching always!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H32ha10y7LE&feature=related
the prelude pathos humming by சுஷீலா in
மயங்கினேன் சொல்ல தயங்கினேன் ...alternates with joyous ஜெயச்சந்திரன் , tabala rhythm & flute calls and the strings lude.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PrWEoIh53OI
bedardi balma tujhko mera man....ONE of the finest LATA's pathos for ஷங்கர் ஜெய்கிஷன் .. soulful orchestration, tabla, sax, violin, flute.. for beautiful Sadhana
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HlDApQYOssw

Rahman loves Charukesi, he has done bhajans, lullabies, dance numbers and everything!
vinatha.

baroque
24th April 2010, 02:19 PM
http://www.bollywoodhungama.com/scripts/jukeboxmp3.php?count=1&ID0=7757

Mr.Rahman's semi classical KHILLI RE.....REENA BHARDWAJ....RAAVAN :musicsmile: :swinghead:
I think underlying melody is based on ragam Piloo ambience.

tu jo mere sur mein......chitchor.
dheere se aaja ri akhiyan mein nindiya men....C.Ramchandra
chinna thaayaval.......thalapathi...Shri.Ilayaraaja.

vinatha.

vel
27th May 2010, 06:44 PM
karanam indri kanner varum from ramana maalai - is it simmendramadhyamam without the Rishabam? So another rare scale from Raja?

tvsankar
27th May 2010, 08:06 PM
Vel,
Ragam theriyadhu.
ana oru paatu nyabagam varudhu...

Paaadu Nilavae

Vaa veliyiae - Starting il, SPB portion
nyabagam varudhu....

Karaminri kannir - Lalitha jaadaiyum iruko.....

Olaragavum irukalam. Pardon me....

vel
31st May 2010, 11:23 AM
usha, narayanan also feels lalitha - but i dont think so :)

tvsankar
31st May 2010, 12:11 PM
vel,
ada kadavulae......

dheivathukae doubt vandha yar kite poradhu....... :D

hmmm...

CSR enna solrar parkalam.......

tvsankar
4th June 2010, 01:20 AM
Muthama mutham - Azhagar malai

interludes ellam - Charukesi madhiiri irukae. pl confirm....

tvsankar
14th June 2010, 10:39 AM
Kanya kumari neeyae - Arunmozhi - Thambi Dorai

Enna ragam?

SMI
22nd June 2010, 07:23 PM
Some time back, my friend who is a Raaga expert suggested me to listen to Ranjani Sri Ranjani which would help in identifying Raagas. (Chennai Vividh Bharathi - 8 AM). Since I had problems in identifying Sa Ri Gha itself (I still have) I have put my experiment with music on hold :lol:

// Location: KaRi Kadai
GM to KaRi Kada Bhai: Bhai, adhu andha kaRi illa... GhaRi.. adi vaiyithila irundhu varanum //

After a long break listened to it again. Recent Raagas:

Pilu
1. Minminiyai kaNmaNiyaai kondavaLai (MD MSV)
2. Andha sivgaami maganidam (MD Govardhanam)

Behaak/ Yamuna Kalyaani
1. Sutrum Vizhi chudaraai - (MD Gangai Amaran)
2. IsaikkavO - (MD Gangai Amaran)

Nata Bhairavi on Madhyama Shruthi flavour of karakara priya
1. Pattu vaNNa rOsaavam - (MD Shankar ganesh)
2. Aaazhak kadalil thEdiya muthu - (MD IR)

Idhellam avanga sonnathu. Ayaam :roll:

22nd June 2010, 07:32 PM
digression

இவர் மீசிக்கல் இல்லைன்னு வேற சொல்றாரு. ஆனா விலாவாரியாப்பேசறாரு...காணாமல் போனவர் பற்றிய சந்தேகம் வலுப்படுது :-)

end-digression

SMI
22nd June 2010, 07:38 PM
App :) That was all I took from the program. I listen to that whenever possible.

Srini
9th July 2010, 09:15 PM
What is the raga of 'Malare Kurinji malare' ...the old Sivaji song? (cant remember the film name)

naarayanan
11th July 2010, 05:48 AM
http://ragasinfilmmusic.blogspot.com/2009/12/malare-kurinji-malare-drsiva.html

gowri manohari.

baroque
11th July 2010, 01:25 PM
namakame.....PULI- Rahman reminds 'O palanhare...' when it starts progressed into raga ambience of ANANDHA BHAIRAVI at aalap.

http://www.in.com/videos/watchvideo-06-namakame-komaram-puli-full-song-by-vishnu-8656747.html

vinatha.

naarayanan
14th August 2010, 08:41 PM
stumbled upon a beautiful little 'desh' in this song from 'kan sivandhal man sivakkum', followed by a classic march.

http://thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs=%27SNGIRR1467%27&lang=en

vel
17th August 2010, 10:38 AM
a behag beauty from ilaiyaraaja
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fX6JlQbzqGg

vel
17th August 2010, 03:58 PM
yet another lovely behag raga gem from IR - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8TvN4e05t9w

vel
18th August 2010, 04:12 PM
a shyam kalyan treat - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qxn7dtW5_tU

tvsankar
22nd August 2010, 03:49 PM
Vel,
Thanks for Shyam kalyan.

tvsankar
22nd August 2010, 03:51 PM
Ondra iranda eduthu solla - TMS and PS

- Selvam

http://www.thiraipaadal.com/album.php?ALBID=ALBOLD000246&lang=en

enna ragam?

vel
23rd August 2010, 05:00 PM
usha, it is sounding pretty much a desh to me.

vel
25th August 2010, 12:59 PM
[tscii:e8a8373eb6]kalyani is | S R2 G3 M2 P D2 N3 S | S N3 D2 P M2 G3 R2 S - (Mangalagaramaana ragam !)

kalyani is a mangalagaramaana ragam. Auspicious and positive vibration it has got. It is the esoteric detergent that can wash away our soul's impurities....

Raaja working on raaga kalyani is a great treat and a bumper melody is always guaranteed. Some kalyani songs tuned by the isai eesan are given below. (Next time if someone asked you if you understand raga kalyani, dont hesitate to say you know it as well as the back of your hand...)

•Aaraaro Aararo - Anand
•Adhisaya Nadam Idum Abhinaya Saraswathiyo- Sirayil Pootha Chinna Malar
•Akkuthikkuthaana Vaayo- Kaliyoonjal (Malayalam)
•Amma Endrazhaikkatha - Mannan
•Arul Thavazhum- Guru Ramana Geetham (this is the vocal version of what a mandolin sreenivas piece composed by raja many years ago…)
•Chamber Welcomes Thiyagaraja- How to Name It
•Charanam Bhava Karunamayi - Sedhu (some raga deviations in charanams)
•Dhevan Thandha Veenai - Unnai Naan Sandhithen (few anya swaras in Ist para)
•Ennai Oruvan Paada Sonnan - Kumbakarai Thangaiyya
•ila Vattam Kaetkattum - My Dear Maarthaandan (vintage raja number)
•Janani Janani - Thai Moogambigai
•Kaatril Varum Geedhamae- Oru Naal Oru Kanavu
•Kalaivaaniye - Sindhu Bhairavi
•Konjam Sangeedham Kattru Thaa- Veetula Visheshanga (the charanams are a feast in kalyani)
•Kottaara kettile- Friends (Malayalam)
•Malayoram Mayile - Oruvar Vaazhum Aalayam
•Mandhaara Poo - Vinodhayathra (Malayalam)
•Manjal Veyil - Nandu
•Naan Enbathu Nee Allavo - Soorasamhaaram
•Naan Paada Varuvaai - Udiri Pookal
•Nadhiyil Aadum - Kaadhal Oviyam
•Nirpathuve Nadapathuve - Bharathi
•Om Namo Nama- Surya IPS (Telugu)
•Poonkattinodum - Poomukhappadiyil Ninneyum Kaathu (Malayalam)
•Poovadikalil Alayum- Vyamoham
•Radha Azhaikiral- Therkkathi Kallan
•Siru Kootula Ulla Kuyilukku - Paandi Naatu Thangam
•Sundari Kannal Oru Seidhi- Thalabadhi (Blends raga Kosalam - R3 usage)
•Suramodhamu- Aditya-369 (Telugu)
•Thalaatum Kaatre- Devan
•Unnai Naan Parkaiyil- Kannukoru Vannakili (shows many janya characteristics)
•Va Kathirukka Neramillai - Kathirukka Neramillai
•Vaidhehi Raman - Ilamai Kolangal
•Vaishnava Janatho- Hey Ram
•Vandhal Mahalaxmiye - Uyarndha Ullam
•Vellai Pura Ondru - Pudhu Kavidhai
•Vizhigal Meeno Mozhigal Theno - Raagangal Maaruvadhillai
•Vizhiyae Vilakondru Yaetru- Thazhuvaadha Kaigal
[/tscii:e8a8373eb6]

tvsankar
25th August 2010, 01:24 PM
Vel,
Thanks a lot for IR's Kalyani.

IR's Ragam - Always amazing........

Velai pura ondru paatai kaetal, udanae

mallu song - (m) vizhiyil meen pidamju by KJY

song nyabagam varudhae.

idhuuvm kalyani ya?

vel
25th August 2010, 03:45 PM
have not heard that song usha

Sureshs65
25th August 2010, 04:46 PM
Yes. 'mizhiyil' is Kalyani.

Vel: You _must_ hear 'mizhiyil'. Outstanding melody. Here is the song: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iHWL7Zn1ppo

tvsankar
25th August 2010, 04:58 PM
Vel,
ungaluku theiryadha IR song a.......... sari.

this is the link for Mizhiyil

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bnIB3MbjO1A

tvsankar
31st August 2010, 07:35 PM
Vel,
One more Kalyani from IR

Agni Paarvai - Parthen pon manam - SJ

Soulful Rendition from SJ. Really my Heart Melts.........

http://www.thiraipaadal.com/album.php?ALBID=ALBIRR00027&lang=en

vel
4th September 2010, 11:22 AM
if you are interested in hindustani ragas

http://www.chandrakantha.com/raga_raag/film_song_raga.html

baroque
6th September 2010, 11:30 PM
I saw Indian Cinema's highly respected actor NASEERUDDIN SHAH in the poster... saw the movie....was disappointed...he just vanished in the beginning of the movie itself.

Darpan dekhun, roop niharun
Hoo darpan dekhun, roop niharun
Aur sola shringaar karun
Pher nazariya baitha bairi
Kaise ankhiyan chaar karoon
Koi jatan ab, hoo koi jatan ab kaam na aave
Usse kacchu sohat naahin
Mora piya mo se bolat naahin

2010 hindi cinema gave a slight touch of rag Dharbari Kanada pathos in Raajneeti.
minimalistic orchestration with emotion of language arts

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sUR1FazDe8o

mora piya maanet nahin....
aadesh Shrivastava.
Get connected with the pathos.

But i am under the magic spell of Shri.வைரமுத்து in Shri.இளையராஜா's சங்கீதம்..... let me post புதுக்கவிதை.........யேசுதாஸ் mourning in இளையராஜா's கல்யாணி மெலடி for ரஜினிகாந்த். :musicsmile:
vinatha. :wave:

Sureshs65
9th September 2010, 05:18 PM
My blogpost about songs based on Raga Bageshree

http://bit.ly/duYLhn

And a followup post

http://bit.ly/bn8Jcr

tvsankar
9th September 2010, 06:25 PM
Suresh,
Thanks for the link.

Bageshee - Enaku romba piidkum.

IR Bageshree - rombavae pidikum.

Blog padikalai. Paatai elalm parthen.

Thanks a lot Suresh.

vel
10th September 2010, 11:07 AM
suresh, nilavae ennidam nerungadhae is not just bageshree aloNE...bageshree+rageshree and portions of malgunji as well....MSV has tons of hidustani flavor songs under his belt...this humble human being needs a temple to be build for him, for his staggering work in albums like karnan ....BTW, karnan...what an album that was...check this link for hindustani delights of MSV - http://musicalhues.blogspot.com/2009/04/msvs-hindustani-tunes-insight.html

vel
13th September 2010, 11:46 AM
RR / Admin

the two links for ROS at the homepage are not linked to this page. Also, i have to use the search box to find this thread? why is this thread and the Gems across various Genres thread not sticky and keep vanishing?

vel
15th September 2010, 01:32 PM
why no reply from the admins?

Shakthiprabha
18th September 2010, 08:19 PM
RR / Admin

the two links for ROS at the homepage are not linked to this page. Also, i have to use the search box to find this thread? why is this thread and the Gems across various Genres thread not sticky and keep vanishing?

I was searching for this thread too (am searching)

//dign

vel
20th September 2010, 10:00 AM
shakthi, lets settle for searching and finding out this thread ! what else to do :)

Shakthiprabha
21st September 2010, 03:54 PM
:| I understand. I actually I wanted to know about the 'genre and raagas' of few of my favourite songs. Can I post here and request u to help me find them?

vel
22nd September 2010, 10:11 AM
shakthi, all your raga queries can be posted here.

Shakthiprabha
25th September 2010, 03:09 PM
eh this is pretty embarassing cause I THINK Ive asked about this earlier and few ppl helped me out with raagas. I did not store it and I forgot all about it now :oops: Also as much as I am in need of raaga, I wanna know the genre of the following songs.

1. சித்திரமே உன் விழிகள் கொத்து மலர்க் கணைகள்

http://www.dhool.com/cgi-bin/stream.pl?url=http://www.dhool.com/sotd/sithiramae.rm

2. நினைத்தால் உனைத் தான் நினைப்பேன்
நெஞ்சில் தமிழாய் இனிப்பேன்

http://www.thenisai.com/tamil/mp3-song-download/unnidathil-naan-tamil-mp3-song.htm

3. எங்கெங்கோ செல்லும் என் எண்ணங்கள்
இங்கே நான் கண்டேன் பொன் வண்ணங்கள்

4. சந்தன புன்னகை சிந்திய கன்னிகை மந்திர மல்லிகை தானோ

5. கண் மலர்களின் அழைப்பிதழ் பொன் இதழ்களின் சிறப்பிதழ்

http://music.cooltoad.com/music/song.php?id=214474

6. ஆனந்த தாகம் என் கூந்தல் பூக்கள் கேட்குமே

and the famous
7. சங்கத்திலே பாடாத கவிதை அங்கத்திலே யார் தந்தது

Also If possible I need list of songs based on "kadhana-kudhookalam / கதனகுதூகலம்"

I am trying to analyse if I am particularly fond of any common genre :oops:

baroque
26th September 2010, 12:06 AM
நினைத்தால் உனைத்தான் ...யேசுதாஸ், வாணி டூயட்
is the same melody as
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XdQirPO46vM&feature=related
கனவு ஒன்று தோன்றுதே..... ஜானு in ராகா ரேவதி , remember
விழிகள் மேடையாம்....T.R ...கிளிஞ்சல்கள்.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LUpfGLdupBE
வினதா.

Shakthiprabha
26th September 2010, 04:50 PM
Thanks vinatha. I really like kanavu ondru thondruthE not to leave behind vizhigaL medaiyaam. I suppose all these may belong to same raaga with variations. thankyou. thankyou. :ty: Revathi is said to please lord shiva. bhakthi bhava is more.

"Revati's notes when shifted using Graha bedham, yields 2 other pentatonic rāgams, namely, Shivaranjani and Sunadavinodini"
(thanks to wikipedia)

No wonder I like it...there it is my fav...SHIVARANJANI! :bow:

sorry vel seriously got carried away. please provide ur information.

//dign

umaramesh
26th September 2010, 06:53 PM
Dear Shakti Prabha

Thanks for சித்திரமே உன் விழிகள் கொத்து மலர்க் கணைகள். Memories of VIVIDA BHARATI /MADRAS "A". Seems to be Shankar Ganesh Music. Resembles some old song but enchanting.

Thanks again

ramesh

baroque
26th September 2010, 10:01 PM
Hey Shakthi, :)
மஹா தேவ சிவ சம்போ.......ராகம் ரேவதி ..rhythmic திருமதி.அருணா சாயிராம் vibrates energy with her passion.
Vinatha.

Shakthiprabha
28th September 2010, 10:20 AM
:) would check it out baroque thanks :) enakku "போ சம்போ சிவ சம்போ ஸ்வயம்போ" - maharajapuram song pidkkum. And who can forget "naanati brathuku" :bow:

vel
28th September 2010, 10:26 AM
shakthi,

kan malargalin sounds keeravani, sangathil paadadha kavidhai is kaapi.

Shakthiprabha
28th September 2010, 09:56 PM
ramesh :) been my favourite from the time hubber madhu posted the song in "emtional song threawd" nice to know the shared taste. Yes shankar ganesh :)

vel,

thanks a lot. Waiting for u to list out others as well, and their genre :oops: (take ur time though hehe)

"கீரவாணி...மனதிலே நினைவிலே பாட வா நீ... " :musicsmile: :bow: thankyou.

tvsankar
29th September 2010, 10:39 AM
Shakthi,

Sivaranjani pidikuma....

apo indha paata kelu...

Dharmavathi yum Sivaranjani yum

kalandhu kalandhu azhaga varum....

Kalaidascope pakka madhiri ..........

2 raagamum maari maari - Chinna Jerk kuda ilama..

pl enjoy.....

Oru aalam poovu - IR and KSC

http://www.thiraipaadal.com/album.php?ALBID=ALBIRR00523&lang=en

Shakthiprabha
29th September 2010, 10:08 PM
Usha,

Shivaranjanikaaga ennnnaa venaalum panven. (konjam exaggeration nnu vechukonga hehe) I am CRAZY abotu that raaga. thankyou sooooooo muich for hosting a song.

romba different aa irunthathu experience :D dharmavathi hmm... like u said...smooth flow, raagamalikai nnu solrathukku perisa therinjirukkanam, normal novice like me cant find out. :bow: athaan IR :bow: awesome. thankyou... I found the song jumping with joy like a happy rabbit... u know bouncing wiht joy and mischief.

thankyou.

tvsankar
30th September 2010, 12:07 AM
Shakthi,
thanks for the response.

Raagam and IR - Periya Research seiyanam..

Particularly, about the mood and the feelings..

Vel irukarae... Avarai thread pottu ezhudha sollanam......

Unaku pidicha Sivaranjani - idhu Sogam mood ku than neraiya irukum.

Sandhoshamana Sivaranjani with different mood from IR

1. Pon maanae kobam yeno - Oru kadhiyin Diary

indha mood ai gavani........

2.Naan pooveduthu vaikanam pinnalae - Naanum oru Thozhilali

indha mood ai gavani

3. Raja Raja than - Oru ooril oru Rajakumari

indha feelings ai gavani

4. Neethanae naal thorum - Paatu vaathiyar

ellam IR's Sivaranjani than..

Mood and feelings ai gavani.

IR kandu pidichu irukar. Tats all

tvsankar
30th September 2010, 12:13 AM
Link for the songs

Pon maanae

1.http://www.thiraipaadal.com/album.php?ALBID=ALBIRR00447&lang=en

2.Naan pooveduthu

http://www.thiraipaadal.com/album.php?ALBID=ALBIRR00411&lang=en

3.Raja Raja than

http://www.thiraipaadal.com/album.php?ALBID=ALBIRR00451&lang=en

4.Neethanae naal thorum

http://www.thiraipaadal.com/album.php?ALBID=ALBIRR00468&lang=en

indha paatai ellam kelu..

Ellam orae Sivaranjaniya iruka .....

Pl share ur thoughts Shakthi......

tvsankar
30th September 2010, 12:43 AM
Vel,
yamma yamma - thaalatu kaekkuthama

http://www.thiraipaadal.com/album.php?ALBID=ALBIRR00620&lang=en

madhyamavathiya?

tvsankar
30th September 2010, 12:59 AM
yamma yamma song kaetadhum

manasil indha paatu nyabagam vandhadhu

Kaathu oodha kaathu - En purushandhan enaku matum dhan

http://www.thiraipaadal.com/album.php?ALBID=ALBIRR00138&lang=en

Nice no. idhu enna ragam?

vel
30th September 2010, 01:11 PM
shakthi, i dont know anything on genres :)

usha, first one is madhyamavathi....second is a mix of madhyamavathi and sree ragam...very good find, i had not listened to this second song so far.

Shakthiprabha
30th September 2010, 10:51 PM
vel no probs :) ungalukke therilainna not sure where to go :oops: thankyou for being there and trying.

Does "azhagaana sandhangaL" from adhu andhak kaalam belong to raaga "malayamarutham" ? :oops: edho website la padichen. Just wanna confirm.

usha,

all u guys are so knowledgeable, enakku thayakkam irukku to share my ignorance here :oops: irunthalaum en thoughts share panren. Today uve given me feast. I shall enjoy the feast and let u know shortly.

1st October 2010, 05:37 AM
ennennavO solreenga ? enakku puriyavE illa. sree raagathula madhyamavathi swarangaL ellaam varum illaiya ? appadinnaa some special swara prasthAram irunthAdhAn adhu madhyamAvathi enRu sollalAm.. isnt it ?

(kOva padaamE sollungO. I am a clean slate in this regard :P)

vel
1st October 2010, 11:10 AM
ennennavO solreenga ? enakku puriyavE illa. sree raagathula madhyamavathi swarangaL ellaam varum illaiya ? appadinnaa some special swara prasthAram irunthAdhAn adhu madhyamAvathi enRu sollalAm.. isnt it ?

(kOva padaamE sollungO. I am a clean slate in this regard :P)

ragas like reethigowlai, anandabhairavi, shree, dwijavanthi etc have some distinct characterics....vakra prayogams (ie they dont travel a linear arohanam or avraohanam) ....so it is actually the other way round...some specific swara prastharam / flavour / typical phrases irundhaadhaan adhu shree raagam...illaena it is just madhyamavathi with some extra swaras :)

i know after reading this, you may again have to repeat "ennamo sollreenga" :lol:

Shree Ragam | S R2 M1 P N2 S | S N2 P D2 N2 P M1 R2 G2 R2 S
madhyamavathi Madhyamavathi | S R2 M1 P N2 S | S N2 P M1 R2 S

vel
1st October 2010, 11:18 AM
appuram innoru vishayam....unga kelviya paartha idhu 'clean slate' kelvi maadhiri theriyalaiyae? :wink:
kavala padaadheenga, naanum kelvi gnaanam dhaan...adha vachi oppaethikittu irukkaen. :2thumbsup:

vel
1st October 2010, 11:31 AM
shakthi - cant find the 'adhu andha kaalam' song....dont worry about any ignorance here....even the so called experts think a song is set in one raga, only later to find it it is infact in another scale, when pointed out by someone else who looks at it from a different perspective. this is atleast true for ilaiyaraaja songs...

vel
1st October 2010, 12:27 PM
[tscii:10afc1d51b]the different colors IR's sivaranjani

Sivaranjani | S R2 G2 P D2 S I S D2 P G2 R2 S

a) Pathos

Kathirundhu - Vaideghi Kaathirundhal

Kudagu Malai Kaatril - Karagatakaran (mishra sivaranjani, so the experts say! )

Kuyil Paatu - En Raasavin Manasilae

Oh Priya Priya - Idhayathai Thirudaathe

Penmanasu Azhamunnu - En Raasavin Manasilae

Solai Pushpangalae - Ingaeyum Oru Gangai

Vanuyarndha Solaiyile - Idhaya Kovil

b) Comedy

Raja Raja Dhaan - Oru Oorula Oru Raajakumari

c) Devotion

Unna Vitta - Manaivi Ready

d) Love / affection

Adi Aathaadi - Kadalora Kavidhaigal

Ennana Paada Padutharan - Aandan Adimai

Adhi Kaalai Nera Kanavil - Naan Sonnadhe Sattam (touches M2 and N2)

Manjal Poosum - Sakkarai Thevan

Needhaane Naal thorum - Paatu Vaathiyar

Paattu Cholli Paada Cholli - Azhaghi

Pon Manae - Oru Kaidhiyin Dairy

Punnai Vanathu Kuyile - Muthu Kalai (Vintage stuff from raja)

Unnai Thaanae - Nallavanukku Nallavan (interludes use anya swaras)

Va Va Anbae - Agni Nakshatiram

Valli Valli Ena - Deiva Vaaku (charanam mostly Mohanam's Ga3 !!)

Melle Melle - Apaaratha (Malayalam)

Velli Mani Thottil Katta - Thalaimurai

Puzhayorathil - Atharvam (Malayalam)

Ponnavanippadam - Rasathanthram (Malayalam)

e) Lust

Naan Pooveduthu Vaikkanum - Naanum Oru Thozhilaali

Abbani Tiyyani - Jagadeka Veerudu Athiloka Sundari (Telugu)

Oru Aalam Poovu Athipoova- Senthooram

Yemma Yemma Thalli Nillu – Thodarum
[/tscii:10afc1d51b]

vel
1st October 2010, 03:20 PM
a nice observation from a friend of mine Sripathy Ramesh, regarding the above list

Kuyil Paatu - Female version can be under love/affection and the male version (IR's) can be under pathos.

You can also include the following under corresponding categories:
Athorathile aalamaram from Kaasi

UNQUOTE

tvsankar
1st October 2010, 10:56 PM
vel,

Oru alam poovu Athi poovae - punniyavathi..

senthooram ilai........

tvsankar
1st October 2010, 10:59 PM
Shakthi,
enaku - nejama onum theiryadhu.

BUt - IR songs kaetu, ragam pazhagikaren. tats all.

adhanala, nee dhairiyama sollalam. kaetukalam...

Swara nyanam - nejama naan clean slate...

madhu madhiri ilai.

clean slate nu sollitu, swaram pathi pesaradhuku............. :D

2nd October 2010, 10:43 AM
Shakthi,
enaku - nejama onum theiryadhu.

BUt - IR songs kaetu, ragam pazhagikaren. tats all.

adhanala, nee dhairiyama sollalam. kaetukalam...

Swara nyanam - nejama naan clean slate...

madhu madhiri ilai.

clean slate nu sollitu, swaram pathi pesaradhuku............. :D

hayyo hayyo

neenga ellaam swaram pathi pesiyadhulathaan naan kuzhambittEn.
anyway madhyamavathi ragam kachEriyil kadaisiyil paaduvaangannu theriyum. mathapadi enakkum swaram ellaam theriyaadhu. but "sippikkuL muthu" padathulE "thuLLi thuLLi" paattukku munnAlE SPB pAdum aalaap madhyamAvathi enRu SJ solluvaanga :P

BTW.. naanthAn original agmArk ISO certified clean slate :oops:

tvsankar
2nd October 2010, 12:22 PM
madhu,

Unga asai padi clean slate nae sollikongo. :D

anal, naan dhan nejamana Clean Slate..........

Madhyamavathi - ku oru ilakanam solreenga.lae...

tvsankar
2nd October 2010, 12:23 PM
IR's Madhyamavathi group ku naan romba romba romba romba KIRUKU...

Thuli thulli - Madhyamavathi.....

thanks madhu

tvsankar
2nd October 2010, 12:24 PM
wat about

Paradi kuyilae - IR - Nangal

enna ragam idhu?

http://www.thiraipaadal.com/album.php?ALBID=ALBIRR00398&lang=en

vel
2nd October 2010, 02:23 PM
Raagas in Gaayam 2

Andaala Lokam - Harikhambhodhi
Masakenakka - Keeravani
Endhukamma Prema Prema - Mohanam
Eluthundru - Vakulabharanam
Rama Rajyam - Vakulabharanam + Ni3

vel
2nd October 2010, 03:36 PM
tvshankar, some madhyamavathi flavour sure'a irukku

tvsankar
2nd October 2010, 04:24 PM
vel,
Thanks for the madhyamavathi.

Gaayam 2 - oh .... raagam soliyacha...... nice.

vel - ennai usha sankar nae sollalam....

Shakthiprabha
5th October 2010, 10:13 PM
hey all, thanks for shivaranjani mazhai :redjump:

I found in most songs IR has used fast beats to pep the otherwise pathos or urugal flavour which SR has. Specifically raja raja thaan comedy flavour which vel had mentioned.

and oh usha...ponnnn mane :bow: .. ingayum drums use panni he has given the peppy boost. "kaithiyaay nirkiren "vaaaa" , oodal enbathu kaathalin gauravan "poo"vaa and po both has kenjchal and konjchal. Athe tune gets compatible enough for both.

IMHO SR suits all moods, well almost all moods. pathos, affection, pining, love, affection not to mention devotion.

aana lust and SR...well...hmm...not my choice. :| hmm well I always disliked the song "naan pooveduthu" for unknown reasons.

possibly

1. ambika
2. stupid steps and choreography which makes me fume
3. something is NOT complete, may be lust and sr dont gel?

theriyala. I shall listen to other songs depicting the same mood and let u know.

I listened to "naan pooveduthu" with lil more concentration probably for the first time now. Towards anupallavi and sharanam...hmm...good...not bad.. or may be u get used to it :lol2:

and how can I not mention MY FAV sr songs

1. avaL oru menakai... from "nakshatram" :bow:
2. vaa vaa anbe anbe (thanks vel)
3. devi...devi...thenill...kulithen (naan adimai illai)

and lot others

2. tere mere beech mein...
3. jane kahan..gaye...woh din
4. mere naina...sawan bandho

anyway thats a diff section altogether.

vibinrajmani
3rd November 2010, 11:45 AM
Are there any good songs composed in Madhuvanti raagam?

Sureshs65
1st December 2010, 02:20 PM
My first article in Tamil. This is about the great K V Mahadevan and his usage of carnatic ragas in films. Please check it out at:

http://solvanam.com/?p=11714

1st December 2010, 08:12 PM
My first article in Tamil. This is about the great K V Mahadevan and his usage of carnatic ragas in films. Please check it out at:

WOW!

What a flow!

Great article and excellent tribute to the mEdhai!
:clap: :clap: :clap:

2nd December 2010, 02:03 AM
Sureshji,
Look at this (http://www.jeyamohan.in/?p=9573)

Sureshs65
2nd December 2010, 07:52 PM
app_eng,

Thanks for the support and your encouraging words. It would not have been possible but for friends here who have tolerated my rather long posts in many threads :) And yes, I was pleasantly surprised to see that JeMo had quoted this post.

V_S
6th December 2010, 11:09 PM
Sureshji,
Just now happend to read your article on solvanam.
Excellent article on India's one of greatest music legend K V Mahadevan sir. My father's and Aththai's favorite music director. I will send it them, they will be very happy to read this article and rewind their (g)olden day memories!!

Thanks for the article.

Sureshs65
8th December 2010, 07:11 PM
V_S,

Thanks for your kind words. Please do forward it to interested people. He was a great music director and has given us so much joy.

tvsankar
15th December 2010, 02:06 AM
SP.
ONe more Sivaranjani for u

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=McP9D114BfU&feature=player_embedded#!

tvsankar
15th December 2010, 09:51 PM
SP,
This Sivaranjani from IR for a Telugu song..........

Jabillamma Uguthunadi.....

http://www.raaga.com/channels/telugu/moviedetail.asp?mid=a0000423

IR's Raagam has - Different mood and different Feelings....

vel
7th January 2011, 06:23 PM
sohini(hindustani)=hamsanandi(carnatic)=tonic shifted (misra)sivaranjani?

read the comments by one mr.kishore_bhakta in this link http://www.india-forums.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=243283&TPN=4

தேசுலாவுதே தென் மலராலே என்ற பாடல் எனக்கு தேரே மேரே பீச்சு மெய்ன் பாடலை நினைவு படுத்தியது... தேசுலாவுதே சோகினி ராகம், தேரே மேரே பீச்சு மெய்ன் சிவரஞ்சனி ராகம் (வித் g3) ...அப்புறம் தான் இந்த க்ரஹபேதம் விஷயம் புரிந்தது...ரொம்ப ஆழமா உணராவிட்டாலும் சும்மா தெரிந்து வைத்து கொள்ளலாமே :)

vel
21st January 2011, 12:02 PM
engirundho azhaikkum...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4KG-ZjHaWXI&feature=related

MOHANAM+KALYANI+?=THIS SONG

vel
27th January 2011, 10:51 AM
All raja fans know lathangi raaga -

1) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K_WUYR9Vrto
2) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZA1NopLB-L8

V_S
31st January 2011, 12:45 AM
All raja fans know lathangi raaga -

1) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K_WUYR9Vrto
2) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZA1NopLB-L8
Just now saw your post. Thanks a lot Vel sir for two beautiful gems in Latangi. Many times heard the songs, but never knew the ragam. Now I can relate them. Totally different themes, but how Maestro brilliantly used the same raaga with perfection. Thanks again! :clap: :clap: :clap:

V_S
31st January 2011, 12:45 AM
-deleted, posted twice-

vel
31st January 2011, 01:26 PM
yes VS....both are genius numbers by raaja...he is a master in hiding the underlying scale and giving a melody that will reach the common man....

Sureshs65
31st January 2011, 04:10 PM
My second article about K V Mahadevan for Solvanam. This time about K V Mahadevan and the unforgettable songs he gave in Telugu movies. Includes many raga based songs. Ragas like Vasantha, Anandha Bhairavi and one ragamalika amongst others.

http://solvanam.com/?p=12604

As usual would like to have your feedback on this.

2nd February 2011, 01:21 AM
(வழக்கம் போல) அருமையாக எழுதி இருக்கிறீர்கள் சுரேஷ்ஜி!

ஜெயமோகன் புகழ்வதையும் பாருங்கள்:
http://www.jeyamohan.in/?p=12039

Sureshs65
2nd February 2011, 07:25 PM
app,

Thank you very much. It is indeed true that this issue of Solvanam has come out very well. Almost as if it is a music special.

V_S
6th February 2011, 01:37 AM
Excellent article Sureshji. Very nice writing and excellent selection of songs. Many songs I am hearing for the first time. The article and the songs gave me a feeling that I was at those places.
Thanks for giving these wonderful moments. I am amazed how KVM sir composed for written lyrics, well explained by you. It is indeed very difficult.
All songs were mindblowing, especially I liked Gowramma Ne Mogudevaramma, raavamma mahalakshmi, vidhaatha thalapuna, natanam aadene and ragam thanam pallavi (how can I forget this one?).
How true and well said "கலாசாரத்தின் ஓர் அங்கமாக மாறும் கலைப்படைப்புகள் சாகாவரம் பெறுகின்றன". :thumbsup: :clap: :clap:

KVM sir, a true legend :notworthy:

PS: Couple of youtube links were not working, but I figured out those songs.

Sureshs65
7th February 2011, 08:07 PM
hanks V_S for your kind words.

All praise must go to KVM whose music inspired me to write this article. I am happy you loved the songs.

23rd February 2011, 04:50 AM
http://www.youtube.com/user/mightymusician10#p/u/28/jRvgsmrSs7g

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KkUlNIGw9a8

I need help

1st clip - From 1:56 to 2:19
2nd clip - From 0:57 to 1:22

I'm not trying to compare or bring trouble here but I find these two bits similar and I needed help in finding out what Raag is is, if it is one?

Sorry

baroque
24th February 2011, 09:21 AM
தாலாட்டும் பூங்காற்று.....ஸ்ரீ.இளையராஜா's சிம்மேந்த்ரமத்யமம் ..please listen சித்ரா's காற்றோடு குழலின் நாதமே...

the second clip from :30 -1 :46 Carnatic part reminds me the keerthanai துளசி தல....த்யாகராஜ கீர்த்தனை, தேவ தேவ கலயாமிதே........SWATITHIRUNAL in ராகம் மாயாமாளவ்கௌளை.
வினதா.

25th February 2011, 09:45 PM
தாலாட்டும் பூங்காற்று.....ஸ்ரீ.இளையராஜா's சிம்மேந்த்ரமத்யமம் ..please listen சித்ரா's காற்றோடு குழலின் நாதமே...

the second clip from :30 -1 :46 Carnatic part reminds me the keerthanai துளசி தல....த்யாகராஜ கீர்த்தனை, தேவ தேவ கலயாமிதே........SWATITHIRUNAL in ராகம் மாயாமாளவ்கௌளை.
வினதா.

Sorry, if your post is for me - I can't read Tamil. Could you please write in English?

baroque
25th February 2011, 10:04 PM
(தாலாட்டும் பூங்காற்று.....ஸ்ரீ.இளையராஜா's சிம்மேந்த்ரமத்யமம் ..please listen சித்ரா's காற்றோடு குழலின் நாதமே...)
The first clip , composition THAALAATTUM POONGKAATRU........ from Shri.Ilayaraja is Ragam Simmendramadhyamam.
Please check out KAATRODU KUZHALIN NAADHAMEY......by Chithra set in the same ragam by Shri.Ilayaraja.

(the second clip from :30 -1 :46 Carnatic part reminds me the keerthanai துளசி தல....த்யாகராஜ கீர்த்தனை, தேவ தேவ கலயாமிதே........SWATITHIRUNAL in ராகம் மாயாமாளவ்கௌளை.)
The second clip from :30- 1:46 Carnatic part reminds me the keerthanai THULASI DHALA......Shri.Thayagaraja & DEVA DEVA KALAYAAMITHE......Swatithirunaal composition in Ragam MAYAMALAWAGOWLAI.

vinatha.

25th February 2011, 10:08 PM
@baroque, thanks

26th February 2011, 09:50 PM
vel & all

The missing original thread is finally resurrected. See the first post.

Indrajith
8th March 2011, 11:22 AM
All, I hope you remember this guy Indrajith. I am back :) Good to meet old friends here.. :)
I have been trying to get in to this topic for a long time. !! You know a nice place to discuss music.

tvsankar
15th March 2011, 12:02 AM
En uyir thozhiyae - Chinmayee and Unni menon - Kangalal kaidhu sei

http://www.thiraipaadal.com/album.php?ALBID=ALBARR00054&lang=en

Arabhi ya.................

vel
15th March 2011, 11:59 AM
vel & all

The missing original thread is finally resurrected. See the first post.

thanks RR, its a treasure trove for any learner....

vel
15th March 2011, 12:02 PM
All, I hope you remember this guy Indrajith. I am back :) Good to meet old friends here.. :)
I have been trying to get in to this topic for a long time. !! You know a nice place to discuss music.

aah, welcome back Indrajith....looong time no see man....missing those good old days when you used to play referee to the flame / war of words exchanged in these threads....regarding what constitues a raga and what constitues a scale.....ha ha haa...welcome back....

19th March 2011, 06:10 AM
Poonmani - En Pattu En Pattu

Raga Abheri

19th March 2011, 06:16 AM
Thenali - Porkalam

Raga Kedar

suvai
19th March 2011, 08:41 AM

Fantastic write up nga suresh!!! that was a lovely read!! thank u...:-):clap::clap::clap:

vibinrajmani
15th April 2011, 03:28 AM
Can anyone guess the raagam of the song "Santhikatha Kangalil" from 180 Rules Kidaiyadhu?

http://www.raaga.com/channels/tamil/album/T0003045.html

baroque
16th April 2011, 07:16 AM
(carnatic)KARAHARAPRIYA = (hindustani) KAFI

Is this SHARATH- malayalam film composer's work?

He has done a composition in PAVITHRAM.
sri raagamo thaedunnu nee veenathan ponthanthiyil......Shri.yesudas for Shri.mohanlal in PAVITHRAM
http://www.raaga.com/player4/?id=19257&mode=100&rand=0.8608356328456038

kali ghodi dwar khadi.....Shri.yesudas's hindi delight
http://www.raaga.com/player4/?id=104020&mode=100&rand=0.43236567836198037

அழகன் what a music feast
சங்கீத ஸ்வரங்கள்
ஏழே கணக்கா ? இன்னும் இருக்கா?
என்னவோ மயக்கம் .... Bala.S.P

remember chithrahar fame
tuu hindu banega.....rafi solo, there is a KAFI in that film.
mala sinha goes to watch a concert with her new hubby in DHOOL KA PHOOL
kaase kahun man ki baat......female solo.

மகாராஜன் உலகை...

பூ மலர்ந்திட பொன்மயிலே......

vinatha.

V_S
16th April 2011, 08:19 AM
Sandhikkatha kangalil Inbangal does not start with Reetigowlai?. I think when Sowmya starts singing it is changing to different raga?. For me, it takes me to 'MaappiLLaikku Maaman Manasu' from Netrikkann when charanam is sung.

baroque
16th April 2011, 08:27 AM
maappilaikku maaman... Netrikkan is karaharapriya from Shri.IR.

reethigowlai is janya of Karaharapriya

Improvisations sure carry KARAHARAPRIYA.
vinatha.

V_S
16th April 2011, 08:41 AM
Thanks Vinatha for the clarification and information about the janya of Karaharapriya.

baroque
16th April 2011, 08:45 AM
mmmm...............
vinatha

vel
16th April 2011, 09:22 PM
Thedi vandha from Ponnar sankar is another shining example of how to reach classical music to the common man....gowrimanohari, like it was never been presented before.....!! Awesome tune by IR...

V_S
17th April 2011, 12:22 AM
Thedi vandha from Ponnar sankar is another shining example of how to reach classical music to the common man....gowrimanohari, like it was never been presented before.....!! Awesome tune by IR...
Very good to hear vel sir about Thedi vantha and gowri manohari. This is an outstanding song and great innovation by Raja and very trendy to suit to today's music lovers. Amazing how still raja is composing a fresh tune (without any hangover from previous 5000 songs). :notworthy: Very gifted we are. I will go back and hum both Paatum Naane and Thedi vantha.:musicsmile:

tvsankar
17th April 2011, 12:47 AM
Vel,
Thanks for the description. nice.....

Malar vilil - Poongathae theendadhae - madhiri irukae.. enna ragam..
en enna padi.. idhu Raja voda - Madhyamavathi Group. expect ur result.

vel
17th April 2011, 03:27 PM
V_S - very innovative and fresh sounding gowrimanohari....a classic in the lines of 'pon vaanam panneer thoovudhu..." The magic to watch for is see how free flowing the raga usage is......It is as if Raja had come up with the melody first and incidentally it falls into the gowrimanohari structure....so much of naturalness and ease in the design of the melody and apt use of the scale...this is where IR is just unbeatable.....Other MDs doing Carnatic melodies should see how IR, MSV etc made it look so free flowing and not forced and artificial melodies...

Usha, madhyamavathi / Brindhavana saranga family.....ask your mom, she will know better :)

V_S
17th April 2011, 10:21 PM
V_S - very innovative and fresh sounding gowrimanohari....a classic in the lines of 'pon vaanam panneer thoovudhu..." The magic to watch for is see how free flowing the raga usage is......It is as if Raja had come up with the melody first and incidentally it falls into the gowrimanohari structure....so much of naturalness and ease in the design of the melody and apt use of the scale...this is where IR is just unbeatable.....Other MDs doing Carnatic melodies should see how IR, MSV etc made it look so free flowing and not forced and artificial melodies...

Well said! :thumbsup: Can't describe any better. My eyes are wet. Genius and beyond!

vel
21st April 2011, 12:19 PM
kannai padithaen vinnai padithaen from ponnar sankar seems a lovely behag tune to me.....awesome melody!

naarayanan
26th April 2011, 05:55 PM
a good gowlai.......
http://ragasinfilmmusic.blogspot.com/2011/04/sandhana-kudam-onru-navagraha-nayagi.html

V_S
30th April 2011, 10:30 PM
a good gowlai.......
http://ragasinfilmmusic.blogspot.com/2011/04/sandhana-kudam-onru-navagraha-nayagi.html
Very good find Narayanan!. I could hear "Vedham Nee" in this song. I believe Vedham Nee is also in this raagam.

vel
21st May 2011, 12:34 PM
all raja fans have hummed the hindsutani raga bilaskani todi through this song - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7qwrKfpKgUM

vel
21st May 2011, 12:45 PM
And all raja fans have hummed raga kalavathi through this song - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fckaYK0kwD4

vel
23rd May 2011, 11:12 AM
Why MSV is called mellisai mannar? This song grammatically is set in Behag....but so much hummable...a philosophy that raaja uses in all his songs http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=muWBARd3oAk

tvsankar
23rd May 2011, 02:02 PM
Vel,
Thanks for Behag. One request... MSV paatuku RAgam chart podareengala.. pl................

MSV - paatil - Ragam kandu pidikaravanga ellam great......... really great..............

vel
24th May 2011, 12:44 PM
Vel,
Thanks for Behag. One request... MSV paatuku RAgam chart podareengala.. pl................

MSV - paatil - Ragam kandu pidikaravanga ellam great......... really great..............

ok whenever i listen info on MSV ragas in any raga based program on tv, radio, i will share it here

recently i heard - happy and sad natabhairavis - chittukuruvi mutham koduthu and ninaikka therindha manamae unakku marakka theriyaadha.....

vel
30th May 2011, 11:18 AM
two behags mentioned in a radio program

1) kannedhirae thondrinaal kanimugathai kaatinaal - in KVM's music
2) thamizhukkum amudhendru paer - in MSV's music

tvsankar
30th May 2011, 07:01 PM
வேல்,
தங்களுடைய பதிலுக்கு நன்றி. Msv இன் பெஹாக் பாடல்களுக்கும் என்னுடைய நன்றி........... பெஹாக் கற்று கொள்கிறேன்.
நடபைரவி - தெரியாது.. தெரிந்து கொள்ள வேண்டும்........ நன்றி வேல்......

R.Latha
3rd June 2011, 11:35 AM
azhagarsamiyin kudhirai songs is very nice.

vel
8th June 2011, 04:26 PM
thathi chellum muthukannan - thanga padhakkam is in kalavathi .....tune by MSV

tvsankar
8th June 2011, 05:34 PM
Thanks vel.. MSV songs il ragam kandu pidikaradhu.. nejama periya vishayam.

MSV's Kalavathi.. list sollunga.. kathukaren.

Srini
13th June 2011, 11:32 PM
What raga is the song 'Malare pesu mouna mozhi' from geetanjali?

Mohanam initially came to my mind, but after listening for a couple times it does n't sound like mohanam.

vel
14th June 2011, 11:34 AM
srini, could be vaasanthi - but touches G2 and N1 as well. Vaasanthi is | S R2 G3 P D1 S | S D1 P G3 R2 S (D1 counterpart of Mohanam!)....Nallavarkellam Satchigal Rendu from Thyagam is the same raaga...

Other such numbers that touch N1 while mostly playing vaasanthi are...

Adho Mega Oorvalam Eeramana Rojave (touches N1)
Paadu Nilave Udhaya Geetham (touches N1)
Paruvamae Pudhiya Paadal Nenjathai Killadhae (touches N1)
Vaa Vaa Vasandhame Pudhu Kavidhai (touches N1)

Srini
14th June 2011, 11:18 PM
Oh ok. The song is 'eerie' in places, which mohanam is not and that's why i thought it may not be mohanam.

Now, the D1 explains why it sounds eerie.

Never heard of Vaasanthi!! Thanks much for the info!

V_S
15th June 2011, 01:47 AM
Thanks a lot vel on sharing a treasure information on vaasanthi raagam and its songs. Me too never heard any krithis in this raagam.

vel
15th June 2011, 04:00 PM
srini and V_S....even Deva has done a vaasanthi....it is mookuthi muthazhagu moonam pira kannazhagu from the film kannu pada pogudhaiyya - http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x5u6lt_y-y-y-y-y-y-y-yyy_music

even rehman has done 'kurukku siruthavalae' in this raga...

vaa vaa vasanthamae by IR is the most haunting one for me, personally! What a singing by Malaysia Vasu

tvsankar
15th June 2011, 04:10 PM
Vel,
thanks for the Vaasanthi.. kathukanam...... indha ragam kandu pidika......

V_S
15th June 2011, 09:08 PM
Thanks again vel ! Need to listen to Deva song. Yesterday listened to one Astapathi called 'Mamiyam chalitha' by Kavalam Srikumar (which is the first one popped up in google on searching any krithis on this raagam). Very nice rendition. Also one purandharadasar krithi 'bandanene' by Nityashree. Now I could relate to the songs you posted.

vel
23rd July 2011, 09:54 PM
Madhuranjani & Some Raaja songs !

A radio program recently showcased the hindustani raga madhuranjani. It is closer to raag patdheep.

Patdheep is hindustani counterpart of carnatic's Gowrimanohari, it goes like | N3 S G2 M1 P N3 P S | S N3 D2 P M1 G2 R2 S 'N3 S . So how is maduranjani different from patdheep?

Maduranjani lacks dhaivatham (dha2) totally and allows rishabham (ri2) is both arohanam and avarohanam. So the scale is S R2 G2 M1 P N3 S | S N3 P M1 G2 R2 S

The host of the program went on to say that mega chaaye aadhi raat from film sharmili is in this raaga madhuranjani link . I think that is right, as this skips dhaivatham mostly and only fleeting reference in the charanams. Patdheep has a well marked Dha2 in the avarohanam.

Ok, going back to madhuranjani, the below Raaja songs all use this scale madhuranjani, which is gowrimanohari without the dhaivatham....

Sumam Prathi Sumam Sumam - Maharishi (Telugu)
Vaaraayo Unakke Saran Naangale - Athma
Kaamakshi Karuna Vilasini - Ilaiyaraajavin Geethanjali
Raja Magal Rojal Magal - Pillai Nila
Ennadhaan Sugamo Nenjile - Maapillai
Ilaiya Nilave Ilaiya Nilave - Ponnu Veetukkaran
Nilavin Amudhu Ozhuga - Ilaiyavan

vel
22nd August 2011, 03:02 PM
does anyone see Revathi flavour in kaattu vazhi from thandavakone? Indeed a revathi raaga song !

21st November 2011, 12:07 PM
Anyone wants to talk about Sri rama rajyam? I know it's telugu, but I'm sure it'll be dubbed -if not already.

My favorite is 'kalaya nijama': http://www.raaga.com/player4/?id=309402&mode=100&rand=0.7005553550893329 .
Other songs are ok but sounded routine raja to me.

21st November 2011, 12:42 PM
srini and V_S....even Deva has done a vaasanthi....it is mookuthi muthazhagu moonam pira kannazhagu from the film kannu pada pogudhaiyya - http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x5u6lt_y-y-y-y-y-y-y-yyy_music

even rehman has done 'kurukku siruthavalae' in this raga...

vaa vaa vasanthamae by IR is the most haunting one for me, personally! What a singing by Malaysia Vasu
vel,
The N1 touches.. I would classify them to be more like mohanam with accidentals. But raja has a vintage vaasandhi during early days: 'nallavarkellaam saatchigal rendu'.

Kurukku is superb vaasandhi too.

SA Rajkumar likes it too I guess: his 'mookuthi' and 'maankuttiye' are both indeed vasandhi's.

R.Latha
10th December 2011, 09:04 PM
In film music suddha dhanyasi has been used extensively, starting with “Vaa Vaa Valarmathiye”( “Vanangamudi” ), where G Ramanathan roped in ML Vasantakumari to sing. The song starts with a viruttam that touches upon the famous Sanskrit works of Kalidasa. Clever sangatis in the pallavi- “Vaa” (GG SS NN) “Vaa” (SS NN PP) “Vaa” (NN PM G) make this a bright piece. ..

http://www.thehindu.com/arts/music/article2701250.ece

R.Latha
9th January 2012, 04:02 PM
Vachaathi

he new music director Jackson has scored all the six songs based on Carnatic ragas. ‘Manidhargale' in Harikambodhi has been rendered well by Prabhakar. ‘Chirumalligai, also in the same raga, sung by Surmugi and Devi, is pleasant. ‘Thodu Thodu Mella,' in Chalanattai, is a romantic number by Hemambika and Krishnamurthy. The lyrics of ‘Machakanni' in Suddha Dhanyasi seem to suggest that the song is sung before the wedding of the lead pair — it is sung by Sampkeerthan. ‘Uyirasai' in Gambhira Nattai is sung by Senthildas — it conveys why the lovers split. The song focussing on the gruesome incident is in raga Panthuvarali with the background music in Poorna Panjamam — it is sung by Sampkeerthan with feeling.

17th January 2012, 10:06 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-WZb8RAqF-I&feature=related

seems nattakurinji

DonaldToise
18th January 2012, 08:37 PM
I am trying to post a test message.

vel
25th January 2012, 10:39 AM
Thaye moogambige from film thai moogambigai (sung by BMK, MSV, Seerkazhi and Janaki) seems to be a ragamalika of maymalawagowlai, vasanthasree, simmendramadhyamam, subhpantuvarali and back to mayamalawagowlai.....phew !

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sVVBuQM4eJU

2nd February 2012, 10:16 PM
What raga is the classical portion..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sufZqiboyZk

Ranjani?

KV
3rd February 2012, 12:22 AM
whattay composition! I had 'Enna kavi paadinalum' ringing in my head... neelamani?

KV
3rd February 2012, 12:41 AM
er.. kuzhappam... tried to roughly play it and it fully comes within S R2 G2 P D2 S and return, which is Sivaranjani. Now, enna kavi's pallavi also operates within this scale fully IMO. Here are the two aro/avaro from wiki.. but there's not much of a similarity in the scales right? :confused2:

Shivaranjani
S R2 G2 P D2 S
S D2 P G2 R2 S

Neelamani
S R2 M1 P D1 N3 S
S N3 D1 P M1 R2 S

3rd February 2012, 10:34 AM
KV, do you see M2 anywhere?

Shivaranjani & Neelamani are almost like sriranjani & karnataka kamas. Scale shift can result in a similar raga. In this song if you take C# as Sa, then the scale is Neelamani.

KV
3rd February 2012, 12:35 PM
RR, I don't think there's M2 in the TMS portions (or for that matter anywhere else in the song, but will check again). While LRE's portions has an anya swaram in Ni2 (IIRC) in the 1st charanam (eg. kaadhali), TMS' portion seems to be fully in Sivaranjani (ofcourse, I'm not considering the last charanam which has lot of syncopation notes where he tries to incorporate rocknroll style). That slide from keezh Sa to mEl Sa and spiral descend through the Sivaranjani avaro (ulaginil aanavar aayiram aayiram)... just love that!

scale shifting (esp placing the shadjam)... orE kashtamappa!

3rd February 2012, 02:20 PM
KV, check and tell pls. Do you see any sivaranjani resemblance in the song? I don't. Just compare with
kurai ondrum illai. What I see are Vijayanagari/Ranjani (or Neelamani) shades.

Yes the song is a lovely one. When TMS starts at the super high pitch (mimic-ing MKT) - wow!

KV
3rd February 2012, 03:30 PM
Just tried looking it up on the net.
Here's an excerpt from a tfmpage discussion (http://tfmpage.com/forum/3784.21622.15:32:47.html):
"has anybody heard a more innovative usage of Sivaranjani as in 'Utharavindri ULLe vaa' (title song)? The pallavi is totally in this raag, the I charanam (sung by an effeminate SPB) is a deviation, II charanam sung by TMS is classical Sivaranjani linked superbly back to the pallavi in all its youthful vigour".

Another from dhool (http://www.dhool.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=1357):
One more area untouched, whenever he used ragas like Sivaranjani, the real face of Sivaranjani (that we wouldnt like to see, thanks for Laxmikanth Pyarelals, SA Rajkumars and Bharadwajs) remained suppressed. If ARR has re-tuned 'uthharavindi uLLE vA', we know what inspired him to use Sivaranjani for 'kaNNum kaNNum koLLai adithhAl'. Apart from 'uthharavindri uLLE vA' (which I thought was a masterful composition), enna vEgam nillu bhAma, poovA thalayA pOttA theriyum are songs which disfigure the true Sivaranjani (as mankind knows it).

And here's an interview (http://dhool.com/msv/index.html#two)with MSV that I got from the Dhool link. Reading it for the first time; some points on ragams there
(and a lot about kannadasan/spb/pbs/tms, etc...
The movie was ‘pOlice kAran magaL’. MSV arrived first for Sridhar to present him with the ‘song situation’. The melody tuned was ‘ponnenbEn siru poovenbEn’. Kannadasan was his usual nonchalant self when asked to do his bit for the song. ‘kAthal duet-a? athAn athhAn pothhAn mayiru mattai ezhuthiyAchhE. innumA ?’. :rotfl2:)

3rd February 2012, 09:24 PM
KV,

I used to think so too. Recently I heard it on tv and felt there's something more than simple sivaranjani. That's why posted it.

athan pothan :D. It's a classic interview by Sriram Lakshman - a old hand @TFM page. Not sure if he's still around.

KV
6th February 2012, 09:27 PM
RR, my guess seems to be right! :) Pallavi and TMS' portions are within the Sivaranjani scale. 2nd charanam has an extra N2. The last charanam has loads of chromatic notes and is good fun to play!
Here's a rough notation of the song.

7th February 2012, 11:40 AM
Thanks KV for the 'theoretical' clarification. MSV is chromatic-la pugundhu vilayaduvaar. 'chandrodhayam' another good example.

Srini
27th October 2012, 02:53 AM
What raga is Isaiyarasi ennalum from Thai Moogambikai (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eeW2okhe9lw). Is it vasantha Bharavi??

Its such a mesmerizing song. Pragathi's rendering of this song on Airtel super singer was equally mesmerizing.

rajabhakthan
28th November 2012, 08:36 PM
Srini,
isaiyarasi is based on ragam "Sallapam".

Srini
17th June 2013, 08:45 AM
Happened to see manathodu mano on jaya tv yesterday. The singer who was the guest sang a song 'yaar yen mel anbu kondar'. He said the song Is from an album by ilayaraja dedicated to ramana maharishi. Does some know the name of the album?

keshavmysore
30th August 2013, 02:25 AM
Can someone please tell me what is the raga of the PBS-PS song 'paal vaNNam paruvam kanDu' from the MGR-BSD film 'Pasam'?

R.Latha
10th January 2014, 08:11 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YGTG9n1tGnk

charulatha mani says it is mukari ragam

8th March 2014, 01:17 PM
anandha dhaagam
Singers: deepan chakravarthy, S Janaki
movie: vaa indha pakkam
MD: shyam

Revati raga (with some filmy liberties)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j4STriKfNrk

Very interesting usage of Revati to bring out a sensuous feeling. Note also the vocal counterpoints in the charanams..

10th March 2014, 10:43 PM
Please,
Raaga for :

Dhesayum Ezhandheney from Jigarthanda
Yamunai Atrilay from Thalapathi

Can I post questions on instruments here or is there any other seperate thread ?

11th March 2014, 01:26 PM
yamunai aatrile is in Kalyani/Yaman.

I think there's a BGM or instrumentals thread (pls search), you can post there.

15th March 2014, 03:29 PM
Apart from the Raga part, I would like to know the mood and atmosphere of this period. Did these 2 compositions break the stereo typed films music of that period (just like the music we currently have and some MDs do try to break it) ? How did the music fans and fans of these 2 artists respond/react to these 2 songs, as having heard most of the compositions of MSV (& Ramamurthy), I always felt that these 2 songs were distinct and unique even now amoung my generation songs.

Aasaiyum En Nesamum from Kulebagavali [I have read that there is a hindi version of this song, can't find it though, a link to hear it is appreciated)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8ewPpIUCLyA

Yaar antha nilavu from Santhi [IMO, this is mother of modern music, absolutely fabulous]

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m6BYr53e9sM