View Full Version : Extraordinary Tamil, other India film songs & World Musi

natha1729
18th March 2010, 06:45 AM
I want to place another platform like the thread for Perfect Melodies to present superb Indian film songs and unknown composers most of us may have missed. If we open our minds we can find many unconventional yet extraordinary musical approaches. The magic of Indian film songs is not really in the pallavi or the rhythm or orchestration but it is all in the way the stanzas come out. That is where the "beauty of the genius" of the composer really is. (Let me tell you now, no one like Sam Joseph or Shyam in the stanzas!!)

I like two young composers who are way ahead for their age and the current musical scene, I think. You can get a sense of the benchmark I am employing:

Joshua Sridhar - "June July" Kalloori

http://www.raaga.com/channels/tamil/moviedetail.asp?mid=T0001232

Bennett Veeratag - "Puthu Manjupol" Dr. Patient

http://devaragam.com/vbscript/MusicNew.aspx?MovieId=2121

and, also an old Hindi song

R D Burman "Liyo Na Babu Tani" - Kahte Hein Mujko Raja
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yq36BVwkSJA

& world music,

The Shins - "Sea Legs"

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vI8nLLDEc68

Just wait, I found some amazing ones and will look for more.

natha1729
18th March 2010, 10:28 PM
http://devaragam.com/vbscript/MusicNew.aspx?ArtistID=393

Puthu Manjupol is the song by Bennett Veeratag that made me think of this topic and see if it can help us all get to know of some out of the box and visionary compositions. Check this song out and you can understand the meaning of this topic and the benchmark I am using to place compositions to your delight.

Actually the title I was going for was - "Astounding songs/composers in Indian films, and musical progress abroad" Note to Admin: Is it possible to change the topic title? Thanks.

natha1729
23rd March 2010, 08:11 AM
http://thiraipaadal.com/albums/ALBIRR00297.html

Dhagame Undaanathey

Unusual, perfect perfect start not seen often a sharp one like that from IR, stanza could've been better.

23rd March 2010, 12:30 PM
natha,

Since you are the author, you can edit by yourself. Login, go to your Ist post click edit and change the title.

I dont understand properly do you mean to say JS - Kaloori & RDB "Liyo Na" are unknown melodies and unknown composers. I am also looking for a common thread to expand the knowledge of Global music and discuss how our Indian composers fared, CT would be a better place. Let see what others say!

natha1729
25th March 2010, 07:20 AM
Scale, thanks a lot. I meant extraordinary/unconventional songs and also discovery of less popular/unknown/came and left the scene composers in that process.

I will give you another example - the L Vaidyanathan in Malayalam, you got to listen to this song and stanza and rhythm!

http://devaragam.com/vbscript/MusicNew.aspx?ArtistID=438

Aakasha Medaikku in Venal kinavukal - KJY (super singing) Excellent example for superb stanza also, check out

Poru Oru Vijayanathil

tvsankar
25th March 2010, 01:53 PM
natha,
Nice listings....... Thank you......

26th March 2010, 02:24 AM
Puthu Manjupol is terrific! Gutsiest choice to open this topic.

The magic of Indian film songs is not really in the pallavi or the rhythm or orchestration but it is all in the way the stanzas come out. That is where the "beauty of the genius" of the composer really is. (Let me tell you now, no one like Sam Joseph or Shyam in the stanzas!!)

:kicking back:

26th March 2010, 02:35 AM
After listening to Pudhu Manjupol & Aaromale, brings back some haunting memories of 60's & 70's music from the giants Jimmy Mcgriff (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0aKs9aUIpUw) & Junior Parker (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8oLzNEg6sEk&feature=channel)

We may hear similar songs in Tamil very soon.

26th March 2010, 02:45 AM
Natha,

Apart, any extraordinary picks on recent Indian Classical, Folk music, Sufi Music like this what I look for.

Ranjit Barots Urchagam - Naram Pookal
Wake up Sid - Iktara (Kavitha Seth)
Delhi 6 - Genda Phool - Rekha Bharadwaj

natha1729
26th March 2010, 05:26 AM
Scale, thank you so much. I am impressed you identified with Puthu Manjupol. There were many I found along with this song and I said I got to share this amazing amazing bold bold and outstanding melodies with you all. And, not to say less of June July song of Joshua Sridhar - fantastic stanza, powerful!

Found one old style, soft stanzas but appropriate

http://www.raaga.com/channels/telugu/moviedetail.asp?mid=A0000008 Edalolaya - Anveshana Telugu (the full version, not found anywhere else, i guess)

Thanks for the Jimmy Parker, checked it out. I will check out the others.

26th March 2010, 10:46 AM
Natha,

You truly have a diverse taste and a great collection. Thanks for Edalolaya, I would never have heard all these gems. Outstanding, Brilliant! I liked JS both K's thats' because of BS (the director) the stanza exploration I believe is oriented more towards script and on situational pov.

Keep them coming.

26th March 2010, 11:40 AM
Ranjit Barot's VIP is one bold, bold out of the box compositions. has thrown some brilliant, vibrating, artistic world sounds but still the feel, melody, fusion, use of ethnic instruments is youthful & mind-bending! Few years back I have heard a song in a hotel lobby a song like "eechangaatulae muyalonnu" (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i4VuZzRFGto&feature=related) which Ranjit barot had sampled it, not a copy though. Does anyone know that band/song? Ist & IInd Interlude - Flute :notworthy:

natha1729
27th March 2010, 06:43 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mza1K8_D-Dk short version

Shadajne in Tansen - Ravindra Jain

http://www.esnips.com/doc/2db1d12d-2d7a-4993-8df3-a01eb8717f72/Shadajne_Payal---Yesudas-Unreleased-Song

complete song

raagadevan
28th March 2010, 08:29 AM
Natha1729:

Thank you for posting this amazing composition by Ravindra Jain, sung fabulously by K.J. Yesudas. I was under the impression that the original recording of "shadajnE...", like the movie TANSEN, was never released. There were a few on-line versions of KJY singing the song during his stage shows. Needless to say, the recording quality of a stage show would be very poor when compared to the original studio recording. As described by KJY, the whole process of recording the original version was very painstaking and took several days. Will you please clarify whether the version that you have posted is one of the stage show versions or the original?
Thank you.

29th March 2010, 12:46 AM
Considering the accompaniments in the version that you have posted are all typical Carnatic instruments (Mridangam, Ghatam, Violin), it appears to be from a concert and not from the OST of the film. A fabulous composition indeed and only the likes of Yesudas can do justice. I look forward to hearing the original film version.

Last I heard, Rajshri are planning to commence shooting of the film, which is great. The bad news is that the director they have roped in is none other than the copy-cat Satish Kaushik (I wonder what credentials he has to make a movie on such subjects)!!! I hope they at least have the sensibility to retain Ravindra Jain's original music score and not go and get a new score done by the likes of Anu Malik! (yikes!)

natha1729
8th May 2010, 07:37 AM
Finally found the next Ilaiyaraja (for orchestration, style) + impeccable precision and fantastic rhythm is TEJ MANOJ - BUT one time wonder though.

http://devaragam.com/vbscript/MusicNew.aspx?MovieId=317 pRAJAPATHI song is mADHURAM (1)

possibly MSV, Ilaiyaraja, Rahman and others combined in style and content, but not at all prolific SHARATH - carnatic genius

http://devaragam.com/vbscript/MusicNew.aspx?MovieId=1556

Ente Sindhoorekhayil (1) can be called very very extraordinary and unique composition

http://devaragam.com/vbscript/MusicNew.aspx?MovieId=542

Koodozhinju Kudiyeri Varunnu... [Chithra], [S Ramesan Nair], [Sarath] -Film:Sparsam.

http://devaragam.com/vbscript/MusicNew.aspx?MovieId=220

Diva Swapnam... [Unnikrishnan], [S Ramesan Nair], [Sarath] -Film:Devadasi. like Jain's SHADAJNE

A genius of a song from the relatively low profile VIDHYASAGAR, he has some superb songs in Malayalam, in Tamil I did find some great ones, but not extraordinary

http://devaragam.com/vbscript/MusicNew.aspx?MovieId=55

Sumangali Kuruvi... [Yesudas], [Kaithapram], [Vidya Sagar] -Film:Azhakiya Ravanan. Stanza is one of the finest i have heard, however interlude inspired from strauss's waltz music

natha1729
21st June 2010, 10:30 AM
One of the most brilliant song choreography and screenplay in a very very funny film, Kishen Kannaiyya 1989 with 5, all of them amazing songs. Like to say it is as brilliantly written and made as Kalyanraman and Apoorva Sagotharargal. You can see this song start seems like Ilayaraja's inspiration for Mastana Mastana song. Rajesh Roshan, a rare Bollywood composer who incorporate carnatic sounds.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t2tVnz6V4vg Suit Boot mey aaya Kannaiya.

can we get to see brilliance like this again.

Sureshs65
22nd June 2010, 11:28 AM
natha,

Thanks for the links. Especially the Malayalam ones.

I have been impressed by Sharath's tuning. I loved 'raavil sandhya raagam' and was looking for his other work. (I had bought 'Tirakadha' earlier and his Telugu film) He is definitely an original thinker. Can't pin down his style yet. Do keep posting such unknown gems.

In case you are interested in old songs from various languages, you can check out the series I am running at my blog, http://sureshs65music.blogspot.com

Sureshs65
22nd June 2010, 11:31 AM
"Koodozhinju Kudiyeri Varunnu" incorporates the raga 'Kathanakuthukalam' very well. Wonderfully composed piece.

Sureshs65
22nd June 2010, 11:38 AM
'Diva Swapnam' is the experimental Sarath at his best. Something he must have inherited from his guru, Dr.Balamuralikrishna. (This is the same as 'Sudha Mantram' isn't it?) The scale keeps shifting in this song and is not an easy song to sing. This was one of the first song of Sarath that I heard and was very impressed.

Sureshs65
22nd June 2010, 11:48 AM
The 'madhuram' song of 'Prajapathi' is quite nice. It is the usual fusion experiment but the overall arrangement is very good. As natha says, very precise. The 'kambhoji' based pallavi is very nice as well. Chitra, as usual, does a lovely job. The ragam changes during the interludes and the charanam.

Overall, lovely selection natha. Do keep it up.

natha1729
24th June 2010, 09:07 AM
Suresh, thank you for your comments, just noticed. I am looking for the extraordinary diamonds among the millions of gold song bullions. Did visit the website, very good one!

natha1729
18th July 2010, 01:52 AM
Everything about this song is extraordinary. MSV composition, the flute intro unparalleled (and as immaculate as V Kumar's flute second interlude passage in a song Inangalile Enna Inam Penn Inam)

a most beautiful picturisation of Neelagiri hills, the one and only Prem Nazeer's incomparable presence elevating the superbly captured Nilgiri scenery, direction of Sethumadhavan of that movie, screenplay and story (must watch film) and Jayachandran with one of the top 3 songs, I would say.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x_ElFhQmwZ0 - Suprabatham Neelagiriyude from Pani Theeratha Veedu (Mal 1970s)

also, for scenery, picturisation, graceful dance choreography, acting talent and extraordinary first interlude and perhaps a perfect pallavi from IR - Manchu Kurise Vellalo from Abhinandana (Telugu 1980s)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8XoIUKG-8QM

natha1729
23rd July 2010, 08:40 AM
I am not sure the audience for this topic is discovering a perspective the topic is wanting you to have. A type of awareness of the musical depth films in India brought out, plus people stuck in a mire of the same music that they cannot get out of, here is a topic that will show them the way out to the diamonds difficult to distinguish in the sands, and also open the minds of music lovers to very different idioms in India itself.

Going back to the classical, two timeless Tamil compositions, classics and two songs still standing by themselves, not another most special and supreme like these two:

Eriyile Kashmir Roja -

http://www.thiraipaadal.com/album.php?ALBID=ALBOLD000567

KJY and PS - MB Sreenivasan, a Tamilian whose fame was in Mallu films and AIR.

Kanchi Pattuduthi - http://www.dhool.com/sotd2/603.html

KJY and Savithir by MSV, the emotions we can get in this song is like the delight watchng the Rainbow

I am looking for new songs that are masterpieces, will take time, until then hope I contributed to the learning and also am accepted in the league of enlightened musicologists :---)

Sureshs65
24th July 2010, 03:08 PM
Natha,

Thanks for 'Eriyile Kashmir Roja'. It is funny reading the credits for this song in Thiraipaadal. Against Music it says 'Old' :lol: M B Srinivasan has tuned it as a ragamalikai. It starts off very similar to 'thanga radham vandhadhu' The Abhogi / Malayamarutham feeling and gets to Saranga when Susheela starts. BTW, I heard S Janaki talk about one of her early hit songs being tuned by M B Srinivasan (duet with PBS I think.) Do you know which song is this? Any links will be appreciated.

'Kanchi Pattuduthi' got lot of air time when it was released. The song that comes to everyone's mind when discussing 'Kalyanavasantham' raga.

Well, I am not certain if there is any standard body which qualifies the 'league of enlightened musicologist' :) Given what you have been doing in this thread, I readily induce you into the hall of fame :D Good work done and please do keep posting more gems.

natha1729
2nd August 2010, 12:18 AM
THANKS, Suresh!

See you all later.

natha1729
19th August 2010, 09:28 AM
Two super thrilling songs:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VWOBv6CkhDk Poo Medaiyo VSN

http://devaragam.com/vbscript/MusicNew.aspx?MovieId=377 Neelambari Puthu Bhairavi by Raghu Kumar

19th August 2010, 02:51 PM
Natha,

Thanks for 'Eriyile Kashmir Roja'. It is funny reading the credits for this song in Thiraipaadal. Against Music it says 'Old' :lol: M B Srinivasan has tuned it as a ragamalikai. It starts off very similar to 'thanga radham vandhadhu' The Abhogi / Malayamarutham feeling and gets to Saranga when Susheela starts. BTW, I heard S Janaki talk about one of her early hit songs being tuned by M B Srinivasan (duet with PBS I think.) Do you know which song is this? Any links will be appreciated.

'Kanchi Pattuduthi' got lot of air time when it was released. The song that comes to everyone's mind when discussing 'Kalyanavasantham' raga.

hi Suresh, I feel "eriyile oru kashmir roja" is a good "hamirkalyani". Lovely melody with honey soaked voice by Susheela and KJY. When MDs have singers like them in their prime form, they can rest assured that their effort would never go invain

Irene Hastings
19th August 2010, 03:23 PM
The anupallavi part resembles Hamirkalyani !

natha1729
28th August 2010, 08:00 PM
The previous 2 songs are worth listening over and over to find the depth, perfection and the moods the songs bring out. Like those 2 i have couple here that might be just another numbers, but you will be hooked and beyond,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a-9tKVYD4o4

Dil Ki Baatein i Believe music by LP from Roop Tere Mastana superb song sequence, another dimension mood and superb superb melody!!!!

Without a doubt total inspiration for IR for another magical number in a Kannada movie - Ee Daaha Ee Mouna ( not as touching a chord as the Dil Ki Baatein song, but really a wonderful decision by IR to be inspired by this Hindi number, just for you to know what I mean - here is the Kannada song in Shikari movie

http://www.raaga.com/channels/kannada/moviedetail.asp?mid=K0000623 (Ee Daaha) )

raagadevan
28th August 2010, 09:40 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mza1K8_D-Dk short version

Shadajne in Tansen - Ravindra Jain

http://www.esnips.com/doc/2db1d12d-2d7a-4993-8df3-a01eb8717f72/Shadajne_Payal---Yesudas-Unreleased-Song

complete song

Here is an incomplete and unclear copy of what is called the "original track" of "shadajne paaya...":

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vl1OzCEw-Gw&feature=related

natha1729
5th September 2010, 08:36 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QNda525RkN4

En Jannalil by Vidyasagar in Mozhi. smart, short and stunning. might as well be an unbeatable tune for an ad.

reminds of a spectacular ad tune (for Coke) in the 60s that became an incomparable hollywood song

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rBb5y8IHAtE

Music to watch girls by - sung by Andy Williams music by Sid Ramin

couldn't En Jannalil have been a little more longer?

Enjoy both!

natha1729
11th September 2010, 08:50 AM
If you want to know about mind-boggling genius in a composer, this is the song which clears all doubts the unmatched genius of the Ilayaraja! In fact, would've been the number one pick for this topic.

http://vodpod.com/watch/4323143-ilankiliye-innum-villankaliye

Sankarlal - SPB/SJ - Ilankilliye Innum Villankiliye

so, i let it stand alone and will return with two simple melodies the powers of which burst the seams of extraordinary.

tvsankar
11th September 2010, 11:20 AM
natha1729,

Thanks for your nice listings............

natha1729
22nd September 2010, 07:44 AM
My pick among the great oldies, great lyrics, and a simple yet complete melody. has a great urgency in the rhythm yet it is very deliberately sung:

http://www.oosai.com/tamilsongs/uyarntha_manithan_songs.cfm

Vellikkinnam Thaan TMS / PS Uyarntha Manithan

tvsankar
5th October 2010, 11:18 PM
MUdhan mudhalil parthen - Aaha

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OqC-Y9YGNxE&feature=related

natha1729
6th October 2010, 05:37 AM
Ab Mujhe Raat Din from an album called Deewana (1996) of Sonu Nigam - Sajid Wajid composer

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lTFPnibmBS8

fantastic - simple yet extraordinary melody and superb interludes, and an extraordianry refrain - not heard a song of this pace and softness.

tvsankar
6th October 2010, 12:57 PM
Thanks for the song..

But - Jeevan is missing ......

natha1729
9th October 2010, 04:17 AM
You are welcome, thanks for the feedback. My objective is to find songs that are flawless. Then, they need to have the personality in the tune , a character of the composer in that song that makes that an ordinary melody to the extrao. all the songs I have presented are unique in the tens of thousands great compositions I have listened. There are similar compositions that make the other one extraordinary than the popular one which may have something that dims the personality, a flaw or too much of something. I will give you two examples:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MOWsdb_uFSU Sandhye in Madhanovatsam by SJ - Salil Choudhury

look at its inpiration for IR and also the one from another genius Johnson, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E5OzwsdftvM

Swarna mukhile in Ithu Avalude Katha

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f0lqtNsHWeU Kaatril Enthan Geetham in Johny

(there is one in Hindi by Lata and RDB, but i can't find it anywhere>)

For the emotions, the flow, the impact, the supreme melody, the orchestration and the flawless composition, Sandhye has no comparison.

A close second for the marvel of a composition is the SwarnaMukhile song sung superbly by SJ (who sounds superb in any song in Malayalam) This song is beyond genius, but some elements are missing.

And, I cannot have choose every great song here and claim it the most extraordinary, so I need to take into account many more latent elements that comes with a critical look at each and every song I listen to and subduing the feelings I get on a song and being incapacitated from seeing the inner beauty of wholesomeness of a composition. Sandhye is the one.

About IR"s Kaatril Enthan Geetham, it has got sounds and orchestration that is extremely mesmerizing than those of the other songs, but IR did it to give the structure of the song a boost (excellent opening melody line but development of the song is unsatisfying in the charanam, thought the overall impact is stunning.)

So, here it goes to Sandhye of Salil Choudhry (salilda has got many pleasing compositions, however, for me this song is the most powerful of songs from him and one of the most touching songs by any composer.)

tvsankar
9th October 2010, 11:17 AM
natha1729,

perai short a kupida nenachen..

sari ilai... hahhahaha

so each and every time ur no is added......

sad songs of female........

got ur views....

coming to IR songs - SJ - IR -- Sogam - idhu onnu dhana iruku?

indha paatai yen eduthindeenga?

natha1729
25th October 2010, 09:19 AM
There are quite a number of exciting short classical works, for which there is limitless parallels in Indian film music. However, I cannot find equivalent of longer Western classical works in a popular format in India and I not learned in Carnatic of Hindustani to look for something extraordinary to feature here of Indian classical works. So, I will feature 3 of my favorite longer Western Classical works, which I find are extremely stimulating and intellectual. This one by CHOPIN has something of a morning raaga feel.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nL1PiEEwQ6w CHOPIN: Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 1 in E Minor, Op. 11 - Allegro maestoso

(tvshankar, sorry I've no answer. I am trying to share my findings of extraordinary music, it is upto to you see into the depth and beauty of the selections and find out if they simply stand apart. i do not know the technicals but my selections will find resonance with those who have seen and heard it all.)

tvsankar
25th October 2010, 04:22 PM
natha1729,
Thanks for the pick.

Two days before - channel - Z stdio - think so...

one film - piano is the hero of the BGM...

really very nice.

baroque
28th October 2010, 01:19 AM
I woke up to two
GORGEOUS :musicsmile: compositions.

(1) soft piano strokes orchestration of
khaiyyam saab's jeet hi lenge....rafi & Lata's emotional masterpiece.

mmm...lalalalaaa... :musicsmile:

remember good old chithrahar's favorite.

milta hai jahan darti se gagan
aao wahi hum jaaye...
tu mere liye, main tere liye
is duniya ko thhukraayein
door basaa le dil ki jannt
jis ko zamaana loote na
pyaar ka bandhan, janam ka bandhan

mmm...lalalalaalaalalaa...

milne ki khushi na milne ka ghum
khatm ye jhagde ho jaaye
emotional lines. :musicsmile:

(2) Prema kaumudi malar mazha ...ஜானு & யேசுதாஸ் beautiful composition in valachi raagam .
enchanting composition , I have been craving my favorite krithi ஸ்ரீவத்சா 's கார்த்திகேய கமலேக்சன சிவ....ராகம் valachi :musicsmile:

vinatha.

baroque
4th November 2010, 12:56 AM
Seductive, lovely - mujhe jaan na kahi meri jaan....ANUBHAV....GEETA DUTT.
cuddly Sanjeev and beautiful Tanuja.
Tender & intimate moment.
Glamour drips from the visual .
vinatha.

natha1729
4th November 2010, 07:00 AM
tv shankar and baroque, thanks for the input. Here is one of the immaculate composers, V Kumar's many many sweet songs, i consider this a complete composition and easily qualifies for this topic

http://www.dhool.com/sotd2/725.html

vaazhvil sowbhagiyam vandhadhu from thooNdil meen SPS and PS

tvsankar
4th November 2010, 10:03 AM
natha1729

thanks for the pick.

Think of your songs selections. hmm...

baroque
6th November 2010, 01:26 AM
Hindi......naa jaane kya huaa......khaiyyam..... yearning Lata mangeshkar.
beautiful music.

I don't know what happened when you touched me, my body blossomed like rose....

naa jaane kya huaa... jo tune chhoo liyaa....
khilaa gulaab ki tarhaa meraa badhan...

my favorite stanza after the celebratory shenoy, flute bgm...

kaliyon ki yeh sej meheke, raat jaage milan ki
ko jaaye dhadkhan mein teri dhadkanein mere mann ki

my soul's heartbeat lost in your heartbeat

aa paas aa teri har saans mein main jaanoon samaa

come close, I mix with your every breath...

I don't know what happened when you touched me, my body blossomed like rose....
na jaane kya huaa....jo tune chhoo liyaa....

aahaa... what a gorgeous piece of poetry.

bikhraa hai kaajaal fizaaon mein
beehi beegi hai shaame
boondo ki rim jhim se jaagi aag thandi hawaan mein....
from dripping of rain...fire has erupted...

The power of seduction in language arts..... tamil & hindi ....Two tranquilizing compositions.

Joys that tranquilize our மனசு ....
கவர்ச்சி கவிஞர் வைரமுத்து borrows from சங்கம் poetry to emphasis லவ் sickness
தீண்டாய் மெய் தீண்டாய் தாண்டாய்....... ஸ்ரீ.பாலா & சித்ரா.

கவிஞர் கவர்ச்சி இங்கே இங்கே....
கவிஞர் ஒரு படி மேலே போய் துல்லியமா சொன்னாரு

eye 's touch pluck your soul , finger 's touch pinch your heart

அழகான bgm ரஹ்மான் in ஸ்ரீ ராகம்.
பனியோ பனியின் துளியோ உன் இதழ்மேல் என்ன
பனியோ தேனோ நீ சுவைத்தால் என்ன ...
beautiful ,
வினதா.

baroque
11th November 2010, 12:42 PM
O mridule
hridhaya muraliyilozhugi vaa
O...mridule...
hridhaya muraliyilozhugi vaa
yaamini than
madiyil mayangumee chandrikayilaaliyaam
manasum manasumaai chernnidaam

What a magician Shri.Yesudas. :musicsmile:

evideyaanengilum ponne
nin swaram
madhu gaanamaai ennil nirayum ...
O mridule......

My favorite Late M.G.Radhakrishnan's charming guitar, flute orchestration . :musicsmile:

vinatha.

natha1729
13th November 2010, 11:34 AM
I think among the hundreds of genius semi-classical, I have picked two I think get me transfixed and need to be mentioned in this topic.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xg_hBWlR3h0

Paattum Naane Bhavamum Naane - Thiruvilayadal - Sivaji Ganesan & T.S. Baliah KV Mahadevan

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_S5mJjxtdDM

V Dakshinamoorthy KJY for Devavahini Theera Bhoomiyil - Nrithasaala ( 1972 )
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
( By the way, one of the top 3 classical songs in Malayalam is similar to Paattum Naane in the Pallavi, read the comments, just a trivia

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5gyynBxEcEo
Nakshatra Deepangal KJY )

baroque
13th November 2010, 12:14 PM
Devavahini theerabhoomiyil...ராகம் கரஹரப்ரிய like பனி விழும் பருவ நிலா பரதமும் ...ஸ்ரீ.யேசுதாஸ்,
மாப்பிளைக்கு மாமன் மனசு மாமனுக்கோ காமன் மனசு :musicsmile:.....நெற்றிக்கண்......some of us celebrate ARTIST ரஜினிகாந்த்..not one , two ..ரெண்டு contrasting faces of the same actor in ever glorious ஸ்ரீ.இளையராஜா's சங்கீதம். :clap:

vinatha.

baroque
13th November 2010, 12:18 PM
I just treated myself while clearing up my kitchen work tonight.

Enchanting composition. :musicsmile:

Udhyaana dhevi than ulasavamaai
Nayanolsavamaai vanna poomagale
Sukhamo sukhamo kushalam
Chodhippu sakhigal nin pushpa sakhigal.....

Shri.Yesudas solo with veena, flute, violin, tabala. :musicsmile:

vinatha.

baroque
30th November 2010, 06:40 AM
Everybody is gloating about Nandhalala now.
nice, people are watching world cinema.

If you have missed or never know of Aakhri Khat & the filming of this toddler & the lori composition...please watch & sob..you will, you can relate to it.

Aakhri Khat...old Hindi movie...ENDEARING FILM MAKING.

THAT CHUBBY TODDLER WILL STEAL YOUR HEART.
LUMINOUS BLACK & WHITE CAMERA.
SOULFUL COMPOSITIONS OF KHAIYYAM SAAB.

toddler without realizing his mother's fate, searching for her - playing the game of hide & seek, running around on the street, reacting naturally, eating pills that was thrown , whatever he can find off the ground, takes laddu from temple, plays with a street kitten,....making 'mamma' calls, some notice him, some don't ... we relate to the happenings easily, very true & touching, we feel helpless. such a heart break.
there is a lori by LATA... mother's unbridgeable separation from her child, impossible for her to hold him physically anymore, her helplessness.. oh this world can be such a heartless place..... the end of the masterpiece, - the toddler's 'mamma' call...
mere chanda, mere nanhe...
how do I embrace you!
the poetry, the tune, singing, camera, chubby toddler, story script.
Indeed an endearing composition for a top class situation & film-making.
vinatha.