View Full Version : Kugan's Kitchen Part 4

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7

sudha india
1st April 2010, 05:51 PM
Hi everybody,

Just peeped in and very very happy to note that Dev has passed on my msg so fast.... in 26 hours. :lol:

Anyway thanks dev.

Naan inga vandhadhaale naane visarikkarenn...

Ellorum nalama ? Nalla samayal pannunga..nalla sappidunga.

Naan ketta diet tips mattum innum varale :evil:

dev
1st April 2010, 06:18 PM
Sudhaka, tips will also come fast...maybe in 260 hrs...:lol2:

1st April 2010, 06:26 PM
Had a short telephonic conv. with Sudhaka yday... avanga elloraiyum rombe visarichadha solla sonnanga... nalla samachu saapida sonnanga...:noteeth: ;) aanal avangalukku mattum diet tips ellam kaetanga en kitta...:lol:

nallaa samaikirathu pengalaala mudiyira kaariyamaa enna :sigh2:

nallaa saapidarathu mudiyum for sure :evil:

kugan98
1st April 2010, 07:03 PM
Dev, the uppu lime can be kept for a year in the fridge.
for the juice will become thick like honey and will be reduced to very little.

Dev, you can chop the soaked lime into small pieces,
then add little chopped onion, green chillies.
little chopped curry leaves, mix every thing nicely.
add very little thick coconut milk.
You have very nice pickle patchadi.

The mangoes you keep everyday in the sun,
the mangoes will get soaked well and also the liquid will
dry up. If there are lot of liquid the mango will become
very soft. you can keep in the fridge for about 6 months.

Dev, there is another dry mango pickle where it will be sweet and hot. you can eat it like a snack.

Thanks. Kugan98

kugan98
1st April 2010, 07:09 PM
Vaangga Sudha, how are you?
We all miss you Sudha, nalla thaan samaikirom.
Saapidaa thaaan konjam yosanai :lol:

I am sure Dev will send you all the tips for Diet.
She is an expert in that.

Take care Sudha, apaapa ippadi vaangga.
Thanks. Kugan98

suvai
2nd April 2010, 07:57 AM
hello nga kugan...:-)

super recipes pottu irukeenga on pickles....i love verum uppu elumichai...thank u for all the good recipes...;-)

selvi....got yr plate of diamond cuts...suvai says suvai o suvai :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

soji appam try pannitu athuvum anupunga selvi;-)

vaanga sudha.....i was thinking just the other day...engey kaanom ongala nu...;-) ongalukum serthu thaan nallaa samaichi saapidarom inga.

kugan nga....do u or anyone else know what "Aravana Payasam" is all about? recipe kidaikuma? it is a kerala dessert...but superrrrrr taste!

dev...amma kita enakaaga ellu urundai recipe kettu sollunga plz .....would love kugan/selvi/aarthis moms version too ;-)

dev ...

dev
2nd April 2010, 01:04 PM
Suvai, my perima used to make yummy ellu urundais... She's no more... I'll chk with her maid & my sister if they have her recipe...:)

Aarthii
2nd April 2010, 03:42 PM
kuganka,thanks for the nellikkkai pickle.will try it out soon.
As well as thanks for the link for poriyal too kuganka.

Aarthii
2nd April 2010, 03:42 PM
Selvika,tried ur idiyappa briyani for yesterday's dinner.It came out well.Nice taste.Thanks selvika.

Aarthii
2nd April 2010, 03:45 PM
Suvaika,amma used to make nice ellu urundaies as a prasadham for goddess during navaratri days .Will ask her over phone and will try to post it soon suvaika.

kugan98
2nd April 2010, 05:28 PM
Suvai nga, thanks, thanks for all the nice word.
Very, very encouraging.

Suvai nga let me look at my m.i.law's old files.
I remember her having the payasam.
She will do it for prayers. Very rich.

Suvai in olden days the ellu urundai was made in a different way.
They used to fry the ellu, and the vellam will be sand free.
cardamom powder ellu and vellam all will be put into
a ural and pounded. Then they are made into balls.

Nowadays you have to cook and strain the vellam to remove all the
impurites. So the new ellu urundai is made with paagu, and
dry roasted ellu.
I will post the recipe soon.

Dev and aarthii, please post your versions of the ellu urundai
too. Thanks. Kugan 98

kugan98
2nd April 2010, 05:57 PM
This is a fast disappearing sweet.

ELLU URUNDAI

Ingredients:
2 cups ellu ( I used the white ones)
1 1/4 cups vellam (more if you like )
1/2 tsp cardamom powder
little water
little rice flour or ghee

Method:

Clean and wash the ellu, dry it well.
Lightly dry roast the ellu.
Heat a wok with little water, add in the grated vellam.
cook till it becomes thick. It should form a stiff ball
when dropped in water.
add the roasted ellu and the cardamom powder at once.
mix well and remove from the stove.
make balls from it while it is still warm.
use a little ghee or rice flour so that it does not
stick to your hands.
This is a very healthy sweet.

[html:34ff2dfd53]
http://img100.imageshack.us/img100/6648/elluurundai.jpg
[/html:34ff2dfd53]

selvieam
2nd April 2010, 06:05 PM
nice ellu urundai kugan. i will go through for the receipe. in shops they are adding little pottukadal.ai in that. it is very tasty

selvieam
2nd April 2010, 06:06 PM
aarthi,
thanks for the compliments.

kugan98
2nd April 2010, 06:37 PM
Thanks Selviem, not only potukadai, they even add coconut scrappings, or peanuts instead of potukadalai.
I just make it like the olden days.
Very good source of iron.
Thanks. Kugan98

suvai
2nd April 2010, 08:53 PM
kungannnnnnn ngaaaaaa!! awesomeeeee that u have posted the authentic ellu urundai recipe....i commend yr energy & eagerness.... :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

selvi & kugan...i didnt know that they use pottukadalai/verkadalai/coconut scrappings for ellurundais..

dev...thank u for asking yr contacts for yr perimas recipe...;-)..

kugan nga....antha aravana paayasam is veryyyyy rich....plz do post the recipe from yr mil's file...:-) i least expected anyone to even recognize the name of the payasam...leave alone the recipe.... :mrgreen: thank u!

aarthi....sure all ellurundai's recipes are welcome....thank amma too plz.

okay oru doubt.....kugan did u post regular pongal's recipe? i see paal pongal & sweet pongal....could u kindly post that recipe too...or the page link if anyone could help...wld appreciate....tanks tanks & tanks a lot!
:mrgreen:

suvai
2nd April 2010, 09:52 PM
infact i had that payasam in a Perumaal temple in kerala..... :mrgreen:

dev
2nd April 2010, 09:56 PM
Super ellu urundai.. perima used to make it using black ellu...

Suvai, chk this link for the payasam recipe... http://forumhub.com/southfood/29076.05.23.38.html

dev
2nd April 2010, 09:58 PM
Suvai, if u r looing for moong dhal+ raw rice +pepper,jeera pongal, u can try Mrs.mano's recipe... very tasty...:thumbsup:

suvai
2nd April 2010, 10:04 PM
omg dev.............thank uuuu so very much for this link....it sounds similar to the ingris that were in that payasam.....i was under the impression they also add coconut milk...(maybe i am wrong).....the rice is not cooked too well...it has to be kadak mudak...kandipaaa try panni...neivedhiyam pannitu.....saaapitu solaren ;-)
thanks once again dev....u r :thumbsup:

suvai
2nd April 2010, 10:07 PM
Suvai, if u r looing for moong dhal+ raw rice +pepper,jeera pongal, u can try Mrs.mano's recipe... very tasty...:thumbsup:

ya ya i made her's only dev... :mrgreen: it is a super recipe i must agree......avanga threadleyum oru post podaren

suvai
2nd April 2010, 10:21 PM
dev...epadi kanndu pidicheenga antha linka...omg u r super !! :thumbsup:

selvieam
3rd April 2010, 12:02 AM
suvai, thanks for asking aravana payasam. my mom loves it, i can give this link to her.

selvieam
3rd April 2010, 12:03 AM
dev,

big :ty: for giving the link.

suvai
3rd April 2010, 01:36 AM
ahaa...selvi....i am glad that this payasam has stirred a few taste buds ;-)

kugan nga...iniki lunch onga super duper village sambar thaan namma veetila....O M G.....the taste is exquisite.....i reduced the chillies & black pepper & i tell u...avolo arumaiyaa vanthidichi...(intha thadavaiyum - i made it previously once i remember that was when u posted it nu neenaikaren)
aaga motham....aaahaaa ohhh hoooo besh besh thaan nga kugan.... :mrgreen: :mrgreen: thank u!

dev
3rd April 2010, 09:36 AM
omg dev.............thank uuuu so very much for this link....it sounds similar to the ingris that were in that payasam.....i was under the impression they also add coconut milk...(maybe i am wrong).....the rice is not cooked too well...it has to be kadak mudak...kandipaaa try panni...neivedhiyam pannitu.....saaapitu solaren ;-)
thanks once again dev....u r :thumbsup:

coconut milk illainu ninaikren Suvai... & yes, u have to add less water so tht the rice is not fully cooked... very tasty prasad but can't have more than 2 spoonfuls... :D

dev
3rd April 2010, 09:37 AM

ya ya i made her's only dev... :mrgreen: it is a super recipe i must agree......avanga threadleyum oru post podaren

dev
3rd April 2010, 09:38 AM
dev,

big :ty: for giving the link.

Ammava try panna sollunga selvi... :)

selvieam
3rd April 2010, 10:49 AM
sure dev, i will ask her to try. first i have to explain in tamil, then she will try.
when she came here, my friend made that, but she didnot like that taste. now let her try this .

dev
3rd April 2010, 12:16 PM
Ok Selvi...:)

dev
3rd April 2010, 12:18 PM
I received almost 2 litres of milk cream(fresh cream) from a friend who owns a milk dairy... I used more than 1/2 of it to make ghee... looking for some recipe where I can use the rest... if u ppl have any good recipes, pls post it...:)

selvieam
3rd April 2010, 05:17 PM
dev, suvai
can u please tell me where is mano's pongal receipe.

dev
3rd April 2010, 06:13 PM
I made malai burfi from http://www.sumanasa.com/indian-recipes/desserts-sweets/fresh-cream-burfi-malai-burfi.html

Super recipe... mom says the burfi is tasty... looks like I took the malai off flame bit early...sariyay set aagalai...so I put it in the fridge... apromm nalla slice panna vanthichu...:D

Rest of the cream will be made into ice-cream tomorrow...:D

dev
3rd April 2010, 06:15 PM
selvi, indexla paarunga... I think it's there on the index...kandupidikka mmudiyalaina sollunga...aprom paarthu solren...ippo konjm busy...sry...

selvieam
3rd April 2010, 06:38 PM
dev,
awesome burfi, very easy to make. thanks for the link. will try next time

selvieam
3rd April 2010, 06:39 PM
dev,
i searched in the index, i can't find it. let me try again.
thanks dev.

selvieam
3rd April 2010, 06:46 PM
dev, got it . coz i have guest for dinner tomorrow. i am planning to prepare pongal. let me try it out.

suvai
3rd April 2010, 07:08 PM
dev, suvai
can u please tell me where is mano's pongal receipe.

kandu pidichiteengalaa....well i am sure yr guests will enjoy it ;-)

selvieam
3rd April 2010, 11:32 PM
kugan,
soji appam panniyachu, super hit ponga. i made like boli only (shallow frying) with mild sweet. awesome kugan. nalla ruchi. kids liked it very much.

tomorrow for dinner i have guests. i made this for dessert. i think guests will enjoy. already got certificate from my kids and friend.

suvai and dev i sent a parcel of soji appam to both of u.

thanks alot kugan.

:ty:

suvai
4th April 2010, 05:41 AM
enaku vanthidichi sojji appam.... :mrgreen: :thumbsup: i am positive that yr guests are going to love it selvi....:-)

calling kugan once....twice....thriceee...... :mrgreen:

kugan98
4th April 2010, 01:49 PM
My dear friends, I was a bit busy the past two days.
Thanks to every one for the contributions, links,
compliments and all the nice words.

Selviem has posted to me beautiful photos of her
fine cooking. I will upload them with the help of
our anneh NOV.

I too was a bit busy baking and cooking in the house.
I will post the pictures soon.

A hubber plumrose pmed me for the kadappa recipe.
I have asked her to become active in our thread, so
that she can request for any number of recipes.
Well I have cooked the kadappa, I will post the recipe for her.

I will come back with the recipes. Thanks. Kugan98

kugan98
4th April 2010, 02:27 PM
[tscii]Dear Plum rose, here is your recipe.
I hope you will give us the feed back after trying.
Thanks. Kugan98

KADAPPA

Ingredients:
1 cup green gram dal soaked and boiled well
1 big potato boiled and mashed roughly
1 big onion chopped
4 pips garlic
2 one inch cinnamon sticks
3 cloves
½ tsp aniseeds
2 tsp oil
Little turmeric powder
Coriander leaves chopped
Lime juice to taste
Salt for taste

To grind to a fine paste:
1 tbs fried gram dal
1 tsp poppy seeds
8 green chillies
2 tbs scrapped coconut
4 pips garlic

Method:
Heat a wok with the oil, add in the cinnamon sticks, cloves and aniseeds.
When they splutter, add in the chopped onions, garlic and sauté.
When the onion turns golden, add in the cooked gram dal, and salt.
Add in about 2 cups of water, turmeric powder and let it come to boil.
When it boils, add in the potatoes, and the ground paste.
Let it boil well. Mix well, remove from the stove.
Add the lime juice, and garnish with the coriander leaves.
Goes well with rice, chappathi and bread.

[html:6b45f9b958]
http://img691.imageshack.us/img691/3867/kadappa.jpg
[/html:6b45f9b958]

selvieam
4th April 2010, 02:55 PM
kugan,
thanks a lot. thanks for kadappa receipe too. i never tried kadappa, will try .

kugan98
4th April 2010, 03:00 PM
[tscii]

Crispy Spicy Sesame Okra

Ingredients:
500 grms vendi or okra cut into rounds
1 big onion chopped fine
1 tsp urad dal
½ tsp mustards seeds
¼ tsp turmeric powder
1 tsp dry red chillie powder
1 sprig curry leaves
2 tsp oil
Salt to taste

To dry roast and grind into powder:
1 tsp peanuts
1 tsp channa dal
1 tsp sesame seeds
¼ tsp fenugreek seeds.

Method:
Fry the vendi in oil, remove and keep.
Heat a wok with 2 tsp of oil.
Add in the mustard seeds and urad dal.
When it splutters, add in the onions and curry leaves.
Sauté the onions, till they are golden in colour.

Add in the fried vendi, salt, chillie powder and turmeric powder.
Stir fry in low heat till all the spices are mixed nicely.
Lastly add in the powdered ingredients and stir fry
in high heat and remove.
This is a very tasty side dish.

[html:157ba32ffa]
http://img24.imageshack.us/img24/3735/sesameokras.jpg
[/html:157ba32ffa]

kugan98
4th April 2010, 06:46 PM
Dear friends Selviem has send me beautiful pictures of her dishes.
Please ask her for the recipes.

Here I am posting them.

The first is Dhokla:

[html:e023714230]
http://img42.imageshack.us/img42/8894/dokla.jpg
[/html:e023714230]

This is the salad:

http://img688.imageshack.us/img688/3069/redchillie.jpg

This is the chocolate cake:

http://img532.imageshack.us/img532/7247/chockcake.jpg

kugan98
4th April 2010, 06:54 PM
This is her Palak Chicken:

[html:f2ab3ba33f]
http://img23.imageshack.us/img23/6537/curryd.jpg
[/html:f2ab3ba33f]

This is Mutter Panner:

http://img2.imageshack.us/img2/7158/redchutney.jpg

This is Aloo Gobi:

http://img18.imageshack.us/img18/5544/potatoes.jpg

kugan98
4th April 2010, 07:01 PM
This is Mutter Mushroom Pepper Gravy:

[html:67a09d2b43]
http://img43.imageshack.us/img43/1391/prettal.jpg
[/html:67a09d2b43]

This IS Aloo Carrot Kheer:

http://img38.imageshack.us/img38/2046/keer.jpg

This is Mince Meat Curry:

http://img51.imageshack.us/img51/3764/lastpicture.jpg

These are her Cutlets:

http://img33.imageshack.us/img33/4747/cutlets.jpg

suvai
4th April 2010, 07:07 PM
hello nga kugan.....:-) :-)

To be honest didnt know that there was a recipe in the name of "kadappa"...kadappa place & stone kelvi pattu iruken......this sounds simple to make too.....thanks nga kugan.....:-) & thanks to plumrose for asking about this recipe.
Welcome nga plumrose!

ahaaaaa arumaiyaanaa recipe of vendakai with sesame.....intha oru ingri pothumey...naan try panna... :mrgreen: :mrgreen: pannitu solaren...i have no doubts about its yummiluness.. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

selvi....asathiteenga with pictures...they all look delicious......plz post yr dokla recipe.
i am sure yr guests must have asked for packing some of the spread u put out :mrgreen:

suvai
4th April 2010, 07:08 PM
plz selvi post mushroom pepper fry also :mrgreen:

suvai
4th April 2010, 07:11 PM
i am sure guests keep inviting themselves to both kugan & selvi's place....... :mrgreen: ipadi vitha vithamaa suvaiyaaa samaikarthunaala....dev/sudha/madhu/aarthi/naanga...ellaaarum onga veetu pakathila irunthom naaaa...............enga veetila samaikavey maatomey :noteeth: :noteeth: :noteeth:

suvai
4th April 2010, 07:13 PM
including nov ngov & thalafanzzz too :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

kugan98
4th April 2010, 07:21 PM
Thanks Selviem, its a very simple dish.
Good with chappathi.
Thanks. Kugan 98

kugan98
4th April 2010, 07:24 PM
Oh Suvai nga you have reminded me about Thalafanz.
How could I forget him.
He was the FIRST to comment about my post in the thread.
Enngirunthaalum vaalga.
Thanks. Kugan98

suvai
4th April 2010, 07:27 PM
Oh Suvai nga you have reminded me about Thalafanz.
How could I forget him.
He was the FIRST to comment about my post in the thread.
Enngirunthaalum vaalga.
Thanks. Kugan98

ya ya kandipa engirunthaalum vaazhga thaan !!

i think i came in here soon after him...:-)

kugan98
4th April 2010, 07:28 PM
Thanks Suvai nga for all your nice words.
I too like the Spicy sesame okra.
It will be like very dry and moru moru.
Also the urad dal will be nicely roasted.
When you eat it will be crunchy . As you say naduku muduku :lol:
Thanks Kugan 98.

suvai
4th April 2010, 07:32 PM
Thanks Suvai nga for all your nice words.
I too like the Spicy sesame okra.
It will be like very dry and moru moru.
Also the urad dal will be nicely roasted.
When you eat it will be crunchy . As you say naduku muduku :lol:
Thanks Kugan 98.

:rotfl: :rotfl: amaaam inga expressions ellaam ipadi thaan...karaku muruku/kadaku muduku/damaal dimeel :rotfl3: :rotfl3:

dev
4th April 2010, 08:55 PM
Selvi, parcel vanthidichu...yummy!!!...;)

& tht's a wonderful spread... i'm drooling over the pics... Pls post the mushroomm pepper fry,mutter paneer & palak chicken recipe...

dev
4th April 2010, 08:56 PM
i am sure guests keep inviting themselves to both kugan & selvi's place....... :mrgreen: ipadi vitha vithamaa suvaiyaaa samaikarthunaala....dev/sudha/madhu/aarthi/naanga...ellaaarum onga veetu pakathila irunthom naaaa...............enga veetila samaikavey maatomey :noteeth: :noteeth: :noteeth:

:yes: :lol:

4th April 2010, 09:52 PM

suvai: We are moving to Toronto. Then aunty does not have to cook at home ! :lol:

suvai
5th April 2010, 01:58 AM

suvai: We are moving to Toronto. Then aunty does not have to cook at home ! :lol:

u mean malaysia !!??

5th April 2010, 02:33 AM
No suvai! You cook all the recipes posted. That is why Toronto ! :)

kugan98
5th April 2010, 12:07 PM
Dev, I tried your valathandu soup.
It was really super.
I put in the pattai and took out within 5 minutes.
The three pieces of valathandu I chopped and added while drinking the soup. I will make this soup when ever I get hold of valathandu. Thanks Dev, for the nice recipe. Kugan98

Banana stem soup:

1 cup banana stem cut into 1/2 circles
1 small tomato
1/2 " gin
1 garlic
1/2 tsp peppercorns
1" pattai
salt
500 ml water

Cook all the above for 1 whistle. fish out the pattai.throw it away.
reserve 5 pieces of thandu-chop it. Grind the rest of solids to a paste. mix with the water & pass thru a sieve.

To the strained liquid add the following:
1 tsp soy sauce
1/2 tsp green chilly sauce
pepper pwd.
chopped thandu.

Let it boil for 2-3 mins. take off the froth tht forms on top of the soup.
Add in 1 tsp corn flour mixed in water. The soup shouldn't be too thick. it should still be watery after adding the corn flour mix.
Let boil for a min.
Add in chopped spring onions.
Imme take off flame.
Serve hot.

Note:
Next time I might leave out ginger & pattai. Those r not the best spices to go with thandu soup. But they were not bad either. LOL

VALATHANDU SOUP:

[html:fabdaafbce]
http://img218.imageshack.us/img218/1854/tsoup.jpg
[/html:fabdaafbce]

selvieam
5th April 2010, 02:27 PM
kugan,
thanks for spreading out the pictures. i am very happy and showed my husband and kids.

thanks a lot kugan

selvieam
5th April 2010, 02:29 PM
kugan,

spicy sesame okra is quiet interesting, i will try. ingredients of dry powder combination is too good. definitely it will be a super hit in our house. i gonna try at the earliest.

selvieam
5th April 2010, 02:30 PM
kugan,
let me try out valathandu soup also, i have told in the near by supermarket, there is a chance of getting on wednesday.

tempting to make very soon

selvieam
5th April 2010, 02:32 PM
suvai,
i tried dhokla from archana's kitchen.
it is really too good. i made dhokla sandwich. green chutney is my receipe for the sandwich. u can check out dhokla from her link.

my kids never touch dhokla, that day they tasted and they said, awesome amma. simply superb.

credit goes to archana

selvieam
5th April 2010, 02:33 PM
suvai,
i will post peas and mushroom gravy at the earliest. it is very easy to make but very tasty.

selvieam
5th April 2010, 02:36 PM
dev,

sure i will post mushroom, palak chicken, mutar paneer at the earliest.

palak chicken - receipe of Dr. Damodharan, with slight variation.

mutar paneer from MDH kitchen king pack with variation.

mushroom using Aachi chicken and mutton masala with variations.

All the dishes turned out very nicely.

i will post them at the earliest.

selvieam
5th April 2010, 02:40 PM
friends,

yesterday i had guests for dinner. specially for the elderly people.

menu
====
urappu adai

idli , idiyappa bryani, pongal, kothumai rawa uppuma, chapathi

coconut chutney, kara chutney, tiffon sambar, plain tomato kuruma

soji appam

they all enjoyed the food.

selvieam
5th April 2010, 02:44 PM
kugan,

thanks for soji appam, as suvai told they enjoyed soji appam.

i did shallow fry like boli. it was very soft.
that aunty took the receipe from me, she wants to try.

she told me, soji appam means we will do deep fry. how come u made this much soft that too in shallow fry.

i told i took the receipe from forumhub.

she was so surprised.

credit goes to kugan.

thanks kugam

selvieam
5th April 2010, 02:45 PM
suvai, dev.

try soji appam, very tasty. u can make with less ghee, less sugar. i made like that only.

very yummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmy.

sudha india
5th April 2010, 03:42 PM
Hello experts,

Long time no talk.. Kugan, Suvai (nga), Selvieam, Dev, SS, PS, Arthi, NOV, matrum arattai adikka mattume inge varum TM - ellarukkum en vanakkam.

So happy to see the thread moving so fast with varieties of food. I have lots to read and catch up.

Indha rate la pona, I think its better to wish K and Co all the best for KK part 5. (Viraivil edhirparungal)

I also miss all of you. Veetla system illadhadhaal week endla kooda pakka mudiyaradhillai :cry2:
But I will catch up soon.

(I remember Vazhaithandu soup - pending from my side. idhukagave Race course poganum. Pl bear with me)

Aarthii
5th April 2010, 03:58 PM
Kuganka,thanks for the kadappa as well as okra recipes.Photos looks too good.will definitely give a try soon.Thanks kuganka.

Aarthii
5th April 2010, 04:01 PM
Selvika,all the photos looks too good.Pranay kutti photos ellam ennodu serthnu parthuttu,amma idhu panni thanga,idhu panni thaanganu,sollikitte irunthan.He wants ur choclate cake as well as dhokla recipe immediately.
Patties are too good selvika.
Thanks for sharing the photos with us selvika.

Aarthii
5th April 2010, 04:04 PM

correcta sonneenga suvaika.exaclty.

Aarthii
5th April 2010, 04:08 PM
Dev tried ur drumstick leaves sambar for yesterday's lunch.It came out well.Nice taste.I have to say that it has a unique taste.

dev,i have one doubt,drumstick leaves kasakuma?I felt lil bitterness in the curry.Could u tell me becoz of what i felt that sourness.?

Aarthii
5th April 2010, 04:12 PM
Selvika,plz post ur verion of plain tomato kuruma in ur free time.

selvieam
5th April 2010, 06:41 PM
sure aarthi, i will definitely post kuruma.

kugan98
5th April 2010, 08:11 PM
Selviem, thanks for your nice post.
I am glad every one liked the sooji aapam.

For me my try in the dhokla was a failure.
I will try this time with her recipe.

Give us the feed back for what ever dish you try.
Thanks Selviem, Kugan98

kugan98
5th April 2010, 08:17 PM
Sudhama thanks for dropping by.
Thanks a million for your wishes for the 5th thread.

Apa apa vaangga, unga yosanaiyai sollungga.
We are all very happy to see you in this thread.

Thanks, take care. kugan98

kugan98
5th April 2010, 08:22 PM
Aarthii, I am very glad that pranay is asking for different dishes.
A very good sign that he is perfectly alright.
Anyway keep an eye on him.
The flu is making its second round again.
The children are wearing masks to school.

Aarthii please give us the feed back if you cook anything.
It will encourage others to try.
Thanks, Kugan98

kugan98
5th April 2010, 09:01 PM
[tscii]
CORN CUSTARD PUDDING

Ingredients:
2 tbs agar agar powder
100 grms sugar
300 ml water
Pinch of salt

1 cup creamed corn
½ cup custard flour mix with 100 ml water

200 ml coconut milk

Method:
Mix the agar agar powder with the sugar.
Bring the 300 ml water to boil, add in the agar agar mixture.
Keep on stirring so that there are no lumps.
Cook until the agar agar and sugar are dissolved.

Slow the flame, add in the cream of corn and mix well.
Add in the mixed custard flour to the 200 ml coconut milk.
Now add the coconut custard mixture to the corn mixture.
Keep stirring until it thickens and cooked.
Pour into rinsed fancy mould. Let it set.
Put it in the fridge , it tastes best when cold.

[html:3bbeb9dcd7]
http://img405.imageshack.us/img405/420/agar2custardpudding.jpg
[/html:3bbeb9dcd7]

selvieam
5th April 2010, 11:02 PM
sure kugan, i will definitely give the feedback. what a wonderful corn custard pudding. going to try in summer.

selvieam
5th April 2010, 11:04 PM
kugan, ur soji appam is spreading like anything here. today i demonstrate to my building friends.

yesterday the guest asked me the receipe. today again she called up and asked step by step instructions.

what a superhit. today i prepared with more sugar. taste is awesome.

thanks kugan

6th April 2010, 05:28 AM
yesterday the guest asked me the receipe. today again she called up and asked step by step instructions.

Selvi: Invite them into your kitchen and prepare the dish while they are watching. That works well. That was what aunty(my wife) did when some of our American friends wanted to know how to prepare Indian dishes. One friend videotaped the steps! :)

kugan98
6th April 2010, 05:34 AM
Thanks Selviem, all the credit should go to you. :notworthy:
If not for your request, I would not have posted the recipe,
thinking that it is an old fashioned palagaram. :lol:
Thanks Selviem. Kugan98

suvai
6th April 2010, 05:40 AM
Hello nga kugan.......sojji appam...super hit...in selvi's area...oh wow......i have plans to make it this weekend....;-)

selvi...its so nice to know that sojji appam recipe has become a super hit amongst yr friends & family...this will only prompt most of us to try it too ;-)

Selvi...will wait for u to post the requested recipes..;-)
Oh ya most of Archana's recipes are bang on selvi....just like kugan's & mrs mano's threads.
But i havent tried her dhokla....will do so soon.

kugan nga...will wait for yr mil's aravana payasam recipe too...;-)

sudha....sorry to hear that u r minus a computer at this point.....hopefully u will be online more often soon. Good to see u on here...u were supposed to post another recipe too besides valai thandu....i forget what it is...anyways...varum gyabagam apothu will let u know.

kugan/selvi/dev/sudha/aarthi onga veetila iniki enna menu? :mrgreen:

kugan98
6th April 2010, 05:49 AM
[tscii]Selviem, this is my grandma's favourite chicken dish.
Its always a hit with parties. We used to love it too.
I do not know why I have not taken any picture of it.
The children too will like it as it is not that hot.
Give it a try and see. Thanks. Kugan98.

PAATI”S AYAM MASAK MERAH

Ingredients:
1.5 kg whole chicken, cut into 8-10 parts, remove skin
1 tsp turmeric powder
1 tbs salt
Oil to fry

2 cups sliced big onions
3 big ripe tomatoes chopped
1 tbs ginger paste
1 tbs garlic paste
5 tbs ground chillie paste
3 tbs tomato sauce
3 tbs chillie sauce
1 tbs vinegar
Sugar to taste
Salt to taste

2 two inch cinnamon sticks
2 star anise
3 cardamoms
½ tsp aniseeds
2 tbs lemon grass sliced finely (only the white part)
Little coriander leaves for garnishing

Method:
Marinate the chicken pieces with the turmeric powder
and salt, let it stand for about an hour.
Heat a wok with the oil, when the oil is hot fry the chicken
pieces till ¾ cooked. Remove on paper towels. Set aside.

Heat the wok, add about 4 tbs of oil.
Add in the sliced onions, sauté well till lightly brown.
Remove and keep aside.
Now add in the cinnamon sticks, cardamom, star anise and aniseeds.
When they splutter, add in the ginger and garlic pastes.
Now add in the tomatoes and cook till mushy.
Add in the chillie paste and stir till oil seperates.
Add in the chillie sauce, tomato sauce, sugar, salt
and vinegar. Stir fry for a minute.

Now add in 2 cups of water and bring to a rapid boil,
then reduce heat to low, stir in the chicken pieces.
Stir well to coat evenly with sauce.
Let it simmer slowly for the chicken to absorb the sauce.
It will take about 15 to 20 minutes.

Add in the sautéed onions, mix well.
The gravy should be very thick by now.
Remove and garnish with the cut coriander leaves.
Goes well with ghee rice or white rice.

kugan98
6th April 2010, 06:03 AM
Thanks Suvai nga, sooji appam try pannitu sollungga.
As I said all credits to Selviem.

Thanks. Kugan98

kugan98
6th April 2010, 08:26 AM
I tried Archana's Hyderbadi Biryani.
Thanks Archana for the recipe.

[html:d6b93de62f]
http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9650/img0004ht.jpg
[/html:d6b93de62f]

dev
6th April 2010, 10:03 AM
Dev tried ur drumstick leaves sambar for yesterday's lunch.It came out well.Nice taste.I have to say that it has a unique taste.

dev,i have one doubt,drumstick leaves kasakuma?I felt lil bitterness in the curry.Could u tell me becoz of what i felt that sourness.?

Aarthii, drumstick leaves lesa kasakkum... u can add less green in case u find it very bitter...

dev
6th April 2010, 10:07 AM
K, glad u liked the thandu soup... adikadi senju saapidunga... good fr this summer...:)

selvieam
6th April 2010, 01:44 PM

Selvi: Invite them into your kitchen and prepare the dish while they are watching. That works well. That was what aunty(my wife) did when some of our American friends wanted to know how to prepare Indian dishes. One friend videotaped the steps! :)

uncle,

thats definitely a good idea, i usually prefer that way. yesterday we met in one of my friends place, there i made it.

i am comfortable with my kitchen and my utensils.

during my trip to Europe, they wanted me to prepare indian dishes, like salad, soup, mutton bryani, chicken curry, raitha and dessert.

i managed with the spices whatever available and prepared for them. They were watching step by step and enjoyed the food very much.

also i prepared a copy of those receipes to everyone.

selvieam
6th April 2010, 01:46 PM
friends,

i am participating in a cooking competition here this month end. i need ideas from u people. condition is i have to use aachi masala (any of aachi masala). dish should be prepared at home, i have to display and explain the procedure to the judge and i have to present the hard copy of the receipe.

selvieam
6th April 2010, 01:47 PM
kugan,
i made hydrebadi veg bryani from archana kitchen for the party. i forget to take the snap, its good u made and post the picture.

selvieam
6th April 2010, 01:49 PM
kugan,
tomorrow i am planning to make mutton bryani, i am going to use the receipe of archana veg bryani. if it comes out well i post the picture.

selvieam
6th April 2010, 01:50 PM
kugan,
thanks for the chicken receipe, definitely i will try it out. instead of deep fry i will try with shallow fry or grill.

Aarthii
6th April 2010, 04:32 PM
Aarthii please give us the feed back if you cook anything.
It will encourage others to try.
Thanks, Kugan98

Feedback kodukamal enge poven kuganka.
Kodukama iruka mansaum varathu dishes try panittu.ellame appadi our taste.Selvika,suvaika,Dev ,ellaroda recipesum appadi thaan.Infact en veetla samaiyal aarmbika munnadi,nan huboda index thaan search pannuven ennoda vegesku erta mathiri.

Tried ur tofu scrambled sandwich for todays BF with paneer.U know what my husband said ,arumaiyana BF today i hadnu sonnaru. :slurp:

Selvika,kandipa unga kidsku panni kodunga.Believe me appadi oru taste.Dev u can try for kutti too.Pranay liked it very much.

Then for lunch i made ur Paruppu urundai kulambu and Crispy sesame okra.Both came out very well.Such a nice taste as well as we had a nice lunch today.

Thanks kuganka.
Thanks for the custard as well as chicken recipes too.

Aarthii
6th April 2010, 04:36 PM
kugan/selvi/dev/sudha/aarthi onga veetila iniki enna menu? :mrgreen:

suvaika,i made paruppu urundai kulambu,crispy sesame okra.Both came out very well suvaika.
Neengalum try pannunga.

Aarthii
6th April 2010, 04:40 PM
Aarthii, drumstick leaves lesa kasakkum... u can add less green in case u find it very bitter...

oh,okie.,now i got it dev.actually what i did was i added too much of greens.If u had seen my curry it was full of leaves only.That's the resaon behind.

will try with less greens while making next time dev.Thanks for the tip dev.

Aarthii
6th April 2010, 04:44 PM
friends,

i am participating in a cooking competition here this month end. i need ideas from u people. condition is i have to use aachi masala (any of aachi masala). dish should be prepared at home, i have to display and explain the procedure to the judge and i have to present the hard copy of the receipe.

Great selvika.All the best.Kalakunga selvika.

kugan98
6th April 2010, 06:55 PM
Selviem I am so happy for you.
The Kugan Kitchen friends all wish you the best in the competion.
Come on friens give her some suggestions.
Is it healthy dish, or any tasty dish.
Do not worry Selviem, you are a super cook.
Lets see the recipes, biryani?
Thanks. Kugan98

kugan98
6th April 2010, 07:00 PM
Aarthii, you are a gem, I know.
Thanks for the nice feed backs and compliments.
Please do not feel bad to say, if you find any recipe
that is not to your expectation.
At least we will have a chance to correct.

Aarthii, try the chicken, it will be very tasty.
The chillie, sugar, sauce and vinegar is up to your taste.
Lots of onions make the dish very tasty.
Thanks. Kugan98

selvieam
6th April 2010, 07:51 PM
thanks kugan and aarthi. kugan i dont want to make bryani, any other suggestions please. either healthy or tasty dish.

kugan98
6th April 2010, 07:53 PM
[tscii]

QUESADILLA

Ingredients:
10 chapathis
1 cup chopped button mushrooms
1 cup onions chopped
½ cup chopped capsicum
2 green chillies chopped
½ cup chopped cabbage
1 cup chopped tomatoes (remove seeds)
1 cup of grated cheese
Butter
Salt to taste
Pepper to taste
Little coriander leaves chopped
½ tsp cumin seeds

Method:
Heat 1 tsp of oil in a wok, add in the cumin seeds.
Add in the onions, mushrooms, capsicum and green chillies.
Sauté for a minute, turn off the stove, add in the cabbage,
salt and pepper. Mix well and keep aside.

Heat a dosai kal on medium heat.
Take one chapathi and place it on the kal.
Spread some butter on the chapathi.
Toast the chapathi on both sides for about 10 seconds.
Air pockets will begin to form within the chapathi.

Spread about 2 tbs of the vegetable mixture on the chapathi.
Then sprinkle with the cut tomatoes , coriander leaves and cheese.
Fold the chapathi into half .
Press down the chapathi all over for few seconds.
Flip the chapathi the other side to get brown also.
The chapathis will be lightly crisp.
Remove and slice into halves.
Serve with salad leaves , sour cream or salsa.

The Chapathi:

[html:c209796102]
http://img59.imageshack.us/img59/5851/chapathi2.jpg
[/html:c209796102]

The Folded Chapathi:

http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/281/chapathi3.jpg

The Sliced Chapathi:

http://img26.imageshack.us/img26/2732/chapathi1.jpg

selvieam
6th April 2010, 07:54 PM
aarthi,
i will surely try paneer sandwich. after ur words i cannot stop. definitely kids will enjoy.

kugan98
6th April 2010, 08:31 PM
[tscii]I have not experienced such heat for the past 13 years of my stay in Malaysia.
Must start making cooling drinks and so on.
This is very nice for the heat.

BROWN WHITE AGAR AGAR

Ingredients:

The White Layer:
1 tbs agar agar powder
400 ml water
¼ cup condensed milk

The Brown Layer:
3 tbs agar agar powder
1200 ml water
230 grms palm sugar or light brown sugar

Method:
Cook the white layer, pour the water in a pan.
Add in the agar agar powder, stir till it dissolves.
Add in the condensed milk, mix well.
Pour it into a small tray and let it cool.
When set, remove and cut into rectangles.

Heat the water for the brown layer, add all the ingredients.
Boil till all the ingredients are dissolved well.
Pass through a sieve.

Now arrange the white agar agar in a tray.
Wait till the brown layer cools a bit.
Pour it over the white layer. Let it cool.
Put it in a fridge, cut the slices as you like.

Note: the white layer can be cut into any shapes as you please.

[html:59679e2342]
http://img231.imageshack.us/img231/7554/batikslices.jpg
[/html:59679e2342]

suvai
7th April 2010, 06:27 AM
Hello kugan nga....thanks for the "K"sadia recipe :mrgreen: ....looks very simple & filling too.....try pannitu solaren.

Intha weekend ofcourse sojji for sure ;-)

selvi/aarthi......it is amazing when friends & family say....."oh my that was a superb meal"....that is worth all the trouble u go thru putting it all together....;-) ofcourse...namma kugan confirm pannitu podara recipes ellaamey 100% worth a try thaan....;-)

aarthi.....murungai keeraiya konjam ennaila vathakitu kuzhambo saambaro kootilo pottaal avolova bitterness theriyathu but tastyaa irukum...next time give it a try. If you can get hold of tender murungai keerai it will taste super ;-)

dev....seekiram vaanga missing yr active participation here ;-) Hope all is well :-)

selvi....sorry i have not tried the aachi masala powder...but I take this to wish you the very best for the upcoming cooking event!!! good luck :thumbsup:

calling all absentees to come forward to give attendance. :mrgreen:

selvieam
7th April 2010, 10:01 AM
thanks a lot suvai.

dev
7th April 2010, 10:58 AM
Aarthii, try out Suvai tip too...:) I'll def try the sandwich recipe soon...:)

Selvi, All the very best... oru kalakku kalakkunga... I've used aachu kulambu milagai thool to make sprouts curry...base recipe is mrs.Mano's... to that I added aachi masala... it's very tasty... konjama veetila senju paarunga... U can fnd the moong dhal sprouts kulambu recipe from the index... other than that, I've not used aachi masala...

dev
7th April 2010, 10:59 AM
K, super recipes post pannureenga... enakku thaan time kidaikka maatnguthu ellamm read panni paarka... will be back soon...:)

Suvai, indha week konjam busy... next week free aagiduven...:)

suvai
8th April 2010, 05:16 AM
Suvai, indha week konjam busy... next week free aagiduven...:)[/quote]

okee dokes....ongalukum madhukum thaan poten main ah kaanavillai ad.... :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

take yr time.....dev.....:-)

selvi...plz do keep us in the loop as to what is the item u r going to prepare for the competition....sareeya? ;-)

suvai
8th April 2010, 05:35 AM
kugan nga.....i tried yr cluster beans with ellu....what a slurping recipe this is....it went very well with regular morekuzhambu......i also made it with regular beans...;-) superoo tasteooo :mrgreen:

selvieam
8th April 2010, 08:05 AM
sure suvai, i will keep u updated.

NM
8th April 2010, 08:28 AM
selvi-nga - i've tried cooking mutton curry with aachi masala - it was very tasty.
i marinated the meat with half portion of the masala for at least 2 hrs, together with blended garlic & ginger. I then did the usual thaalichi with more masala and pressure cooked the meat and dumped some cut potatoes and pressure cooked them till they were soft... it tasted yummy. I do not use coconut milk or any otehr milk in my cooking, somaybe it will taste better with the coco milk :).

i am also a fan of Aachi pappadam - is thin and tasty too.

we had these with Basmati rice, cooked and drained and then layered with fried onions and fried peas both fried in ghee ... yum!

are you allowed to have non-aachi'ed side dish like cucumber & pineapple pachchadi? they go very well with meat. but them, all of these is assuming you do take meat tho.. :oops: its just a mixture of pineapple and cucumber cut into nice cubes/slices, mixed well with chopped onions and green/red chillies with a bit of salt.

all the very best to you..!

yEtho enakku therinjatha solrEnunggOv :) ..you may have tried all of these before and it sounds so simple ... :oops:

8th April 2010, 08:33 AM
idhukke Australia varalaamnu irukken ! :lol:

selvi-nga - i've tried cooking mutton curry with aachi masala - it was very tasty.
i marinated the meat with half portion of the masala for at least 2 hrs, together with blended garlic & ginger. I then did the usual thaalichi with more masala and pressure cooked the meat and dumped some cut potatoes and pressure cooked them till they were soft... it tasted yummy. I do not use coconut milk or any otehr milk in my cooking, somaybe it will taste better with the coco milk :).

i am also a fan of Aachi pappadam - is thin and tasty too.

we had these with Basmati rice, cooked and drained and then layered with fried onions and fried peas both fried in ghee ... yum!

are you allowed to have non-aachi'ed side dish like cucumber & pineapple pachchadi? they go very well with meat. but them, all of these is assuming you do take meat tho.. :oops: its just a mixture of pineapple and cucumber cut into nice cubes/slices, mixed well with chopped onions and green/red chillies with a bit of salt.

all the very best to you..!

yEtho enakku therinjatha solrEnunggOv :) ..you may have tried all of these before and it sounds so simple ... :oops:

NM
8th April 2010, 09:12 AM
vaangO! VaanggO! vaasal thiranthE irukkum :!:

i try to cook very fast since by the time i get home its time to feed Ananthiy and then cook dinner for Kan1000 and myself :).. so i literraly cut n cook at the same time and of course dump the veges in :) :lol:

neenga vanthaal pEthikku feed pannalaam :wink: while i do the thada-booda samaiyal :lol:

selvieam
8th April 2010, 02:37 PM
thanks alot NM. after tamil new year i will try out ur meat dish and let u know. ur procedure is something new to me. i will try it out and give u the feed back.

i have aachi chicken masala, meat masala and kulambu milagai powder with me .

Aarthii
8th April 2010, 04:32 PM
selvika,i have ur recipe for suarikka porima,is it a dry one or a gravy one.Does it suits with sambar rice.

Aarthii
8th April 2010, 04:33 PM
kuganka,what happened ?y no posts frm u

kugan98
8th April 2010, 07:04 PM
Suvai nga thanks for your compliments.

NM thanks for your recipe of the mutton curry.
Let Selviem try it.

Aarthii, I am here, p.c konjam problem.
That's it. Take care, Kugan98.

kugan98
8th April 2010, 07:07 PM
[tscii]My sister rang to tell me that the heat in Trichy is about 104Degrees. It's no better in Malaysia.
I called my aunty and asked her for few cooling summer drinks
that they serve in their hotel. She posted few for me.
Here is the first one.

SWEET CORN COOL

Ingredients:
4 cups of curds that are not sour
2 cups chilled water
1 cup cooked corn kernels
2 green chillies
1 tbs thick coconut milk
½ tsp of sugar
A pinch of asafetida powder
Little cumin seeds
Little ghee to season
Little finely chopped coriander leaves
Salt to taste
Little black salt

Method:
Add the cooked corn, green chillies, coconut milk,
asafetida powder, and salt.
Grind to a fine paste, now add the ground paste
with the curds, water, and sugar.
Mix well, now season the cumin seeds with the little ghee.
Pour it on the mixture. Leave it in the fridge to chill.
Pour it in a glass, garnish with the coriander leaves and black salt.
Serve cold.

[html:3a38f3b5fc]
http://img384.imageshack.us/img384/1552/sweetcorndrink.jpg
[/html:3a38f3b5fc]

kugan98
8th April 2010, 07:28 PM
[tscii] WATER MELON PINEAPPLE COOL

Ingredients
4 cups of water melon pieces
1 cup ripe pineapple pieces
1 cup water
2 cups of crushed ice
¼ cup of caster sugar
¼ cup of honey
A pinch of salt

Method:
Add all the above ingredients into a blender.
Blend well and serve in tall glass.

[html:18febdf352]
http://img245.imageshack.us/img245/6523/watermelonpineapple.jpg
[/html:18febdf352]

kugan98
8th April 2010, 07:40 PM
ELLANEER COOL

Ingredients:
4 cups of tender coconut water
2 cups of tender coconut flesh
2 cups of caster sugar more or less to taste
1 tsp lime juice
2 tsp of honey
A pinch of salt
2 cups of crushed ice
Few tender coconut flesh chopped for garnishing

Method:
Add all the ingredients in a blender,
except the flesh for garnishing.

Blend all the ingredients, pour it into glasses.
Garnish with the chopped flesh and some ice cubes.

[html:c8e2d27b0a]
http://img535.imageshack.us/img535/84/ellaneercool.jpg
[/html:c8e2d27b0a]

kugan98
8th April 2010, 07:56 PM
NEERAAGARAM

Ingredients:
1 cup of cooked rice
4 cups of filter water
1 tbs grated carrot
1 tbs chopped onions
1 tsp lime pickle
Salt to taste

Method:
Soak the cooked rice with the water in a mud pot.
The next day, squeeze the rice in the water.
Pour the cool rice water into a glass.
Add in the chopped onions, salt and carrots.
Serve with the lime pickle.
You will feel like in an air conditioned room.
Appadi oru cooling intha neeraagaram.

[html:e072726405]
http://img180.imageshack.us/img180/1194/neeraagaram.jpg
[/html:e072726405]

kugan98
8th April 2010, 08:11 PM
Dear friends, its going to be a very long and busy weekend for me.
F.L.W's first year thevasam, followed by Ammavaasai, and our
New year. Getting jitters as to how to cope.
Any way God is there to guide me.

Well my aunty has sent few more of the cooling recipes .
I think this will do to cool us :lol:

Eat a lot of onions, they are very cooling too.
Kambu khool too is very cooling
Fenugreek rice kanjii too is very cooling.

Thanks friends, take care.
Kugan98

selvieam
8th April 2010, 11:05 PM
kugan,
thanks for all cool drinks. pictures are so tempting.
me also, busy till new year. kids will be back to school from 11th of this month.

selvieam
8th April 2010, 11:06 PM
Aarthi

sorakai porima , u have it with steamed rice. this is a gravy type. u can have it with chapathi too.

NM
9th April 2010, 04:21 AM
Dear Mrs Kugan - your cooling drinks are so tempting - i'll be sharing them with my mum who's back in Malaysia. I have not tried the 'other' ingredients in the coconut milk and others... will keep them for next summer.

Advanced Puththaandu Vazhtukkal to all in case every one gets bz.

Selviem - try pannunga... aanaal, i forgot to add salt in the recipe above :(... so pls do so :)...

This weekend I am going to try some of the latest recipes posted on this thread ... :) :)

kugan98
9th April 2010, 08:44 AM
Thanks NM for your nice post.
Are you a Malaysian?

Ada paavathey, Selviem uppu poda marakathirkal :lol:
Joku thaan NM.

Please try out the recipes and give us the feed back.
Thanks NM, wishing you also a very Happy New Year.

Take care. Kugan98

NM
9th April 2010, 09:13 AM
:lol: illa, sila pEr recipe's la uppu pOda maattEn athaan :oops: :lol:

Thanks Mrs Kugan - for your wishes and yes, I am a Malaysian, refusign to give up my citizenship :).

Saringa, i'll be back probably later today as I don't work Fridays so have lots of cleaning and cookign to do before prayers :).

Take care and thinking of you this weekend. Anniversary prayers are the hardest to bear as i've been going through the last 3 years, so i wish you and your family the strength to get through this period.

9th April 2010, 02:21 PM
Thanks NM for your nice post.
Are you a Malaysian?

Ada paavathey, Selviem uppu poda marakathirkal :lol:
Joku thaan NM.

Please try out the recipes and give us the feed back.
Thanks NM, wishing you also a very Happy New Year.

Take care. Kugan98

Dis is Srilankan istyle damil :lol2: :rotfl:

Kugan ka were you born in Malaysia or you have migrated to malaysia from India.....

vaanga NM ka :)

selvieam
9th April 2010, 02:36 PM
kugan,
i make seasame okra for pumpkin morekulambu. it was very tasty. good combo for morekulambu. kids liked the taste very much

selvieam
9th April 2010, 02:50 PM
ennai kathirikai:
-----------------

small brinjal - 15 pcs remove the umbrella, slit in 4 down and in the upper side.
onion - 2 medium size chopped
tomato - 2 small chopped
green chilly - 2
Aachi kulambu milagai powder - 3 tblsp
salt - reqd
turmeric powder - 1/2 tsp
tamarind extract - big size lemon
seasame - 2 tblsp dry roast and make a powder
garlic - 15 cloves

grind:
-------

onion - 2 medium size
tomato - 2 small size
garlic - 4 pcs

grind the above to a fine paste

seasoning:
---------

kadukku - 1 tsp
urad dhal - 1/2 tsp
karu vadagam - 1/2 tsp
fenugreek - 1/4 tsp
pepper corns - 1/4 tsp
jeera - 1/4 tsp
curry leaves - few

in a kadai add 2 tsp of oil, add brinjals and fry for few minutes in a slow fire. once it is almost done, remove and keep aside.

in the same kadai, add 2 tblsp of gingelly oil, add the seasoning items. then add the chopped onions,garlic and stir for few minutes.

then add tomato chopped fry for few minutes till it comes like a gravy, then masla powder, salt, turmeric powder stir for 2 mins.

now add the ground paste and mix nicely, then add the tamarind extract once it comes to boil add brinjals, green chilly cover and cook till oil comes out of it.

then finally add 1 tsp of jaggery and powdered seasame just cook for 2 mins.

garnish with coriander leaves.

this goes well with steamed rice and bryani.

selvieam
9th April 2010, 02:51 PM
i will send the picture to kugan, she will post in the hub.

kugan98
9th April 2010, 08:54 PM
Selviem, I am glad that you all liked the sesame okra.
Thanks for the feed back.
Thanks, Kugan98

kugan98
9th April 2010, 08:56 PM
Friends this is our Selviem's ennai Kathirikka picture.
Nice with rice bread and things.
The gravy is very inviting. Thanks Selviem. Kugan98

SELVIEM'S ENNAI KATHIRIKKAI:

[html:6fbe72ce1c]
http://img411.imageshack.us/img411/8585/srecipie003.jpg
[/html:6fbe72ce1c]

kugan98
9th April 2010, 09:00 PM
Suvai nga engga pooitingga?
Registerla kai elluthu podungga :lol:
Missing you, Aarthii Suja and our beloved Dev.
Also namma Sudha and Madhu.
Take care, Love Kugan98

kugan98
9th April 2010, 09:05 PM
Thanks Nm, I can understand your feelings.
Prayer is the only solution.
Kugan98

Tamby, I have pmed you the answer.
Thanks. Kugan98

suvai
10th April 2010, 04:43 AM
hello nga kugan.....vanthiten....odi register la kaiezhuthu poda......dev....sudha....aarthi..madhu.....inthaa nga varisaiyaa peNaava......pidinga.. personal stamp poda.... :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

oh wow selvi & kugan nga...the ennai kathirikai kuzhambu pic looks absolutely delcious.....Tasteavison & Smellavision irunthaaa innum super ah irukum.... :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

selvi...did u enter the competition with this recipe?

kugan nga will save all the cool drinks recipe for our summer here ;-) thank u !! They all look veryyyyy quenching!....never heard of the corn drink nga....thanks to yr aunt too!

suvai
10th April 2010, 04:46 AM
vaanga NM....:-) onga vegetarian kai vanathaiyum kaatunga inga....;-)

selvieam
10th April 2010, 10:29 AM
suvai,

thats good, with a full spirit, u did ur signature.

aarthi will be busy during weekends.

suvai u r absolutely right, if there is smellvision and tastevision then it will toooooooo good.

yesterday, i tried ennaikathirikai curry with aachi masala.

got certificate from hubby and kids.

so planning this for competition.

dev
10th April 2010, 04:34 PM
naanum 'ullen ayya/akka' solliduren mudhalla...;)

Ennai kathirikkai kulambu looks very temptng...:slurp:

suvai
11th April 2010, 04:42 AM
selvi....good luck with the entrance recipe..;-)

aachi maNaka
kuzhambu suvaika
vetri muzhanga
selvi parisu pera
athai padika
kugan's kitchen vaazhtha

naam ellorum magizhvom :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

signature ellaam sila samayam thaan velai seiyum selvi... :noteeth:

kugan nga........weekend neenga romba busyaa irupeenganu theriyum....we are all with u for the 1 year prayer function.....

dev.....penaava kaila pidicikitu irukeengalaa? unga pinaadi yaarum varalaiyaaa.... :mrgreen:
sari apo loud speaker thaan naan kondu varanum pola iruku :mrgreen:

Ok here is a simple katharikaai poriyal:

This is like a roast but with less oil if u do it on very low fire...enna onnu....time edukum...but worth it! ;-)

katharikaai small round ones....about 10 or 12 wash & slice them into 4 & put them in water.
(Drain just before putting them in a flat frying pan)

In a flat frying pan add about 1 tblspn or more oil.
Add in the drained / cut katharikai
stir to coat with oil & spread it out....now dont be touching it....low fire la...let it cook & brown well on one side & only then to turn them to brown on the other.......again no touching....only seeing... :mrgreen: ....after browning on both sides...add...idly milagaai podi to it....;-) & give it a stir or two...thats it.....:-)
soooper o soooper taste......trust me u all will surely love it....romba velaiyum kidaiyaathu.

variation...u can do the same for urulai but u have to thalichi kottufy with Kadugu/ulutham paruupu (lots)/karuvepilai.....then add boiled cut potatoes..nalla roast aaganum..l & then in the end add idly milagaai podi....yummy taste...this is a cross between kalyana urulai kizhangu & verum fry with plain chilly powder.....enjoy! with all 3 course meals...;-)

11th April 2010, 05:41 AM
Mutton curry dosa at MUdaliar Idli shop in Madurai:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KzZ_9DYT_5s

It is about time Kugan and others went on youtube ! :)

The dosa reminded me of my hostel days when they served dosai with mutton kurma (kuzhambu). There was no mutton in it, only bones ! :lol:

suvai
11th April 2010, 08:46 AM

The dosa reminded me of my hostel days when they served dosai with mutton kurma (kuzhambu). There was no mutton in it, only bones ! :lol:

of course we do go on youtube nga raj...:-)

ipo ellaam verum bones koduthaaa....avanoda bones ah norikiduvaanga .....raj nga...... :rotfl: :rotfl:

dev
11th April 2010, 08:30 PM

of course we do go on youtube nga raj...:-)

ipo ellaam verum bones koduthaaa....avanoda bones ah norikiduvaanga .....raj nga...... :rotfl: :rotfl:

Suja Rajkumar
12th April 2010, 02:26 AM
Hello Makkalae,
How are you all doing. Missed you all a lot. Selviem the Ennai Kathrikai looks super. We don't get Aachi masala here. But Ennai Kathrikai is my favorite. Selviem pottiyil vetri perra vazhuthukal.

Kugan a lot of recipes. Thanks for posting all these recipes. Hello to Dev, Aarthi, Suvai and other friends.

Suja

suvai
12th April 2010, 02:50 AM
welcome suja....:-)

thanks for holding the pen after dev...now waiting for the next one to take the pen from yr hand...to sign on the register... :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

NM
12th April 2010, 09:05 AM
I LOVE ennai kathirikkai - will try selviem's recipe with aachi masala.

Suvai - ungalukkaga ...

pound together 5 dried chillies (more if you like kaaram), 1 big chopped onion or a few shallots which tastes better :)

Chop some curry leaves (about 2 sprigs)

Cube 4 potatoes and fry them

Now, in a pan, put some oil and add mustard seeds and fry the pounded ingredients and the chopped curry leaves until you have a nice fragrant. Add the cubed potatoes and mix together. Sprinkle some salt and some chili powder if you want. Mix well. You can add a touch of sugar if needed.

The dish is now ready to be served with rice and dhall :) or with chapati

NM
12th April 2010, 09:17 AM
have you tried capsicum with chapati?

a fijian friend introduced me to this recipe - from her Indian Mom-in-law:)

I tried it :

5 capsicums, cubed into not more than 2cms in size (you can mix red and green)

sliced or chop 2 onions

masala powder (meat masal if preferred)
mustard seeds, cinnamon, nutmeg, dried chillies, star anise

frozen peas (2 table spoons, if desired)

In a pan, add oil and thalichi the usual - mustard seeds, nutmeg, star anise, cinnamon, 2 dried chilled and onions - fry till its fragrant.

Add masala powder (3 tablespoons) - i used meat masala although this is a vege dish :twisted:

mix altogether, add the capsicums, mix and add a bit of water.

Let it cook, stirring now and then, adding hot water if it dries up until the capsicum is soft. Add salt to taste. When you're stirring and checking, is the masala looks mild or gravy looks thin, you can add more masala if you like. I like it thick with rice but thinner with chapati. When its all cooked, you can add the peas and cook till it is just cooked.

The capsicum is now ready to be served with pita or chapati :).

12th April 2010, 05:32 PM

Siva siva nu solikitu kaasi ku pora vayasula ungaluku 'mutton' curry theivaiyO :twisted: :lol:

selvieam
12th April 2010, 08:46 PM
hi suja,

nice to see u in the thread. try ennaikathirirkai with normal sambar powder, it will be tasty.

thanks a lot.

selvieam
12th April 2010, 08:46 PM
nm,
nice short and sweet receipes, i will try it and let u know. thanks nm.

Suja Rajkumar
13th April 2010, 01:28 AM
Selvieam,
I will try using sambar powder. Thanks for the tip.

Suja

NM
13th April 2010, 04:04 AM
:) selviem :)

Forgot to add some tips which is what i do on the go... :
Note : for the potato varuval, cube them small in 1-2cm cubes. It will be easier to pound/grind dried chillies if you add a bit of oil or soak them in hot water for 5 mins. If its too dry, add warm water to the pan after mixing with potatoes to give it a soft 'finish' :).

suvai
13th April 2010, 04:06 AM
hi selvi....epo competition? naanga ellaam readya irukom to wave flags for u ;-)

nm nga...thank u very much for both the recipes....first recipe...will surely try it....& let u know....its simple & seems fast too :-) thank you nga...:-)

selvi/nm/suja.....i make ennaikathirikai with sambar powder only.....but now that I have kongu podi...I use that too..a little bit...it gives a different taste...;-)

NM
13th April 2010, 04:08 AM
p/s ella recipes-leiyum uppu pOda maranthu vidaatheengga :oops: :lol:

suvai-nga : thanks. i only use chilli powder or chopped red/green chillies for my ennai kathirikkai, have not tried with sambar powder or other masala powder... time to try it out this friday using my 'kollai kaththirikkai' :)

suvai
13th April 2010, 04:09 AM
p/s ella recipes-leiyum uppu pOda maranthu vidaatheengga :oops: :lol:

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: marakamatom nga nm...

that is a good tip nga nm...to add oil or warm water while grinding milagai....interesting tip for sure....thx

NM
13th April 2010, 04:14 AM
suvai :)

Selviem : epponnu sollunga, naanga ellorum vanthu viduvOm ungala support panna ... ippadi ..... :cheer: (suvai-nga); :happydance: (naan); :swinghead: (mrs Kugan); :victory: (dev) :2thumbsup: (ellOrum); :shoot: (raj-anna will shoot your opponents)

suvai
13th April 2010, 04:16 AM
suvai :)

Selviem : epponnu sollunga, naanga ellorum vanthu viduvOm ungala support panna ... ippadi ..... :cheer: (suvai-nga); :happydance: (naan); :swinghead: (mrs Kugan); :victory: (dev) :2thumbsup: (ellOrum); :shoot: (raj-anna will shoot your opponents)

aahaaaa pattaya kilapareenga nm.... :lol:

NM
13th April 2010, 04:18 AM
suvai-nga - appothan selviem 'nervous'-a illaamal oru punnagai Oda pOvaangga... :rotfl:

Ok... gals ... i will be very busy today and tomorrow due to audit.

Puthaandu Vaazhtukkal to everyone.

See you again Thursday or tomorrow evening :)

Have a blast! :cheer:

suvai
13th April 2010, 05:35 AM
:cheer: Iniya Puthaandu Vaazhthukal to kunga nga/selvi/dev/aarthi/sudha/madhu/suja/nm/nov ngov & everyone else that I have missed. :cheer:
Let joy spread from one home to another.....;-)

baskaran.ramamurthy
13th April 2010, 06:56 AM

Canu repost your recipe for Vegetable Biriyani
Baskaran

Aarthii
13th April 2010, 03:36 PM
thanks for holding the pen after dev...now waiting for the next one to take the pen from yr hand...to sign on the register... :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

idho pena pidichutten suvaika.

actually i got cold and slight fever.So i was not able to come infornt of the system.Now am ok.

Aarthii
13th April 2010, 03:38 PM
Selvika,tired ur ennai kathrikka kulambu for today's lunch.It came out well.Nice taste selvika.

U have selected a nice recipe for the contest.
definitely u r going to rock selvika.

selvieam
13th April 2010, 03:40 PM
nm,

thanks a lot . competition is on 16th(friday).

i laughed very much after i saw ur message.

neenga ellarum vaanga then i will be very happy.

thanks a lot friends for ur support.

selvieam
13th April 2010, 03:41 PM
suvai,

thanksnga. thats a good idea, to try ennaikathirikai with KMP. next time let me try with that too.

thanks a lot suvai, come with me. i will be very happy.

selvieam
13th April 2010, 03:46 PM
எல்லாருக்கும் இனிய புத்தாண்டு வாழ்த்துக்கள்.

selvieam
13th April 2010, 03:48 PM
thanks aarthi. sorry to hear about ur illness. take care.

selvieam
13th April 2010, 03:50 PM

Canu repost your recipe for Vegetable Biriyani
Baskaran

link for the bryani www.archanaskitchen.com
there u can see hydrebadi veg bryani

sudha india
13th April 2010, 04:52 PM
Hello friends,

Ellarukkum en iniya puthaandu vazhthukkal.
Happy cooking and happy eating :D

I have to work tomoro also. no holiday for me :cry2:

BTW, all the best to our Selvi. Mudhal parisu vaangittu vandhu engalukku ellam oru virtual party kuduthudungo !!!!

Have to go :wave:

13th April 2010, 05:32 PM
Dear all

Those who are vegetarians, if you ever go to a Chinese or oriental restaurant, please avoid chilli sauce as they contains the skin of 'shrimps'.

Suja Rajkumar
13th April 2010, 06:17 PM
Ellorukum Iniya Puthaandu Vazhthukal.

Suja

kugan98
13th April 2010, 07:06 PM
Wishing all our Kugan's Kitchen friends A VERY HAPPY NEW YEAR.

http://img228.imageshack.us/img228/2295/pilliar.jpg

http://img683.imageshack.us/img683/4895/valthukal.gif

13th April 2010, 07:15 PM
_/|\_

Barthi Raaja :lol2: : yEn Iniya ThamIzh makKaluku, En Ullanganitha Pothuandu vAzhthukal

Note the sign above is Barathi Raajas hands doing the vanakam :lol2:

Aarthii
14th April 2010, 07:50 AM
Dear all,

tamil puthaandu vazhthukkal.

dev
14th April 2010, 09:19 AM
எல்லாருக்கும் இனிய புத்தாண்டு வாழ்த்துக்கள்...:)

kugan98
15th April 2010, 09:36 AM
[tscii]

En soga kathai kelu thaikulameh amah thaikulameh
Athai ketta than thaanggathu ungga manameh.

I feel like taking a thappu and start singing.

My friends, Monday was the thithi day.
So for Sunday I planned to have a simple brunch of fried rice.
Evening dinner idli, upma with sambar and two chutneys.
As older relatives from outstation will be home for dinner.

Sunday morning, my classmate who has been living in US called me.
She has come to Malaysia to meet her relatives and friends.
Sunday is her last day and that her flight is at 1.00 a.m
She wants to come to my house for tea at 4.00 p.m
She also requested me to make her favourite local kuihs.

I was stunned for a moment. I love to entertain if ample notice is given.
I cannot buy ready made kuihs, as vege and non-vege stuffs
are all fried in the same oil. Also their pots and pans will be mixed.
(What a punishment for becoming a vegetarian)
My better half looked at me and smiled and said YOU CAN.

I made 11 varieties and tea was ready by 4.00 p.m
She left my house about 6.00 p.m
I am posting the pictures of the simple kuihs

Finished dinner for the house people by 9.00 p.m
Started cutting, slicing , peeling and all the work at 12.00 midnight
With the help of my two close relatives.
Lunch for 100 people on Monday. Menu 16 varieties.
We started cooking at 3.a.m, finished at about 7.30 a.m
Ayer came at 8.30. a.m prayers till 11.30. a.m

Lunch started at 12.00 noon, went on till 3.00 p.m
Very close relatives left about 5.00 p.m after tea.
By 8.00 p.m my whole body was shaking.
Went to the clinic and had an injection, came home,
Flat on bed till the next morning.
Wednesday simple prayer and ammavaasai cooking.
Resting today, tomorrow leaving for Singapore.
AMMA’s darshan, will be back on Sunday.

Back to normal Kugan’s kitchen by Monday.
Take care friends. Love Kugan98

The Palagarams:

[html:4a9a9fa794]
http://img543.imageshack.us/img543/3517/palagarams.jpg
[/html:4a9a9fa794]

dev
15th April 2010, 09:53 AM
K, take good rest today... & have a great darshan of amma & come back when u feel completely alright...:)

Palagaram spread looks great... I'm sure u friend wouldve had a great time... :) & I feel it's time u buy a commercial food processor for the slicing,chopping,grating jobs and an additional maid to help u out in cooking as u cook for a crowd too often...;)

15th April 2010, 03:11 PM
K, take good rest today... & have a great darshan of amma & come back when u feel completely alright...:)

etho avanga Marthon odina mathiri , rest eduka solreenga :rotfl:

Kugan ka

Just joking :oops: :lol:

dev
15th April 2010, 03:43 PM

Kugan ka

yes, she was on a cooking marathon...:P

15th April 2010, 04:16 PM

Kugan ka

yes, she was on a cooking marathon...:P

:lol2: :rotfl:

selvieam
15th April 2010, 04:30 PM
kugan,
take rest and come back. palagaram spread looks so yummy.

dev
16th April 2010, 04:26 PM
Here is a quick & easy recipe...it's our family fav...:)

Brinjal milagu kuzhambu:

Grind together the followng to a paste:
3 tbsp pottu kadalai(chutney kadalai/roasted bengal gram)
4-5 tbsp coconut
4 dry chillies
tamarind-small gooseberry sized or to taste
a sprig of curry leaves

heat a tbsp gingelly oil. Add in 1/4 tsp mustard seeds, 1 tsp peppercorn. Let it start to splutter.

Add 10-12 brinjals(violet variety-choose the tiniest available) slit into 4 as u do for ennai kathirikkai kuzhambu. Keep mixing gently until the brinjal is 3/4th cooked.

Now add in the paste, req water, salt and let boil for 5 mins or until the brinjals are cooked through. this curry should be medium thick.

Serve with rice.

16th April 2010, 07:23 PM
All akkas

Does any one know how to make

1) Cheese and onion pastries

2) Pizza base

rendume ammaku theriyaatham :sigh2: :twisted: :banghead: :ashamed:

suvai
17th April 2010, 04:02 AM
ahaa dev...thanks for the milagu kuzhambu recipe...seems very very simple....try pannitu solaren..;-)

Here is a suvaiyaana Potato Pudhina Recipe:
Baby potatoes about 1/2 kg ( boiled till 3/4 is cooked)
Puthina leaves one handful
chilli powder 1 tsp or more to yr taste
jeeragam 1 tsp
dry fry 1/2 or 1 tsp jeeragam & poweder it. ( this is seperate from the above jeeragam.;-)
oil 2 to 3 tblspn
salt

In a pan pour oil & add the 1tsp jeeragam & then potatoes fry this for about 3 to 4 mins. Then add chilli powd/salt & cover it with a lid & let it simmer on low fire for some more mins. Now add in the chopped pudhina leaves & cook them some more.
when potatoes are fully done add the freshly made jeeragam powder.

& then eat 'em hot with rice / rasam or any sambar or thaalicha thayir saadam.
absolutely yummy.....enjoy ;-)

suvai
17th April 2010, 04:11 AM
kugan nga.....nallabadi poitu vaanga!

selvi....competition mudinjicha?

aarthi/dev...hope u both r fully recovered...& ready to put on yr dancing shoes
:mrgreen: :mrgreen:

sudha romba busy nu solli irukaanga....its okay we will wait for her & then put her on the dance floor too...... :mrgreen: now NM is looking at me & saying enai yen serthukala nu??? correct ngalaa?...neenga illaatha floor ah??? :mrgreen:

okay all the ladies on the floor then...kugan/selvi/suja/madhu/......but suvai will be on the sidelines making sure they play good music.... :noteeth: :noteeth: & make sure they serve some good food too ;-)

dev
17th April 2010, 01:56 PM
PS, I've a pizza base recipe...I'll post it soon... but I've not tried it yet... so...;) :lol:

dev
17th April 2010, 01:57 PM
Suvai, super easy potato recipe... will try it soon... :)

dev
17th April 2010, 02:00 PM
suvai, :happydance:

dance okva...;)

selvieam
17th April 2010, 02:05 PM
suvai,

yesterday was the competition. result will be announced on 23rd. so we will wait.............

all made non-ved. only myself and the another lady made veg.

non-veg i didnot see any interesting receipe.

suvai i am ready with the shoes. :cheer: :happydance:

this is enough???????????

suvai
17th April 2010, 06:41 PM
:clap: :clap: dev & selvi....nallaavey dance pannareenga rendu perum..... :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

dev good to c u on the floor ;-) apadi podu!! podu podu.......:mrgreen:

selvi........avanga sonnaaalum solalainaalum....neenga kandipaaa winner thaaan...;-)

selvi onga dance super...onga ...shoes athuku mela super :mrgreen:

okay here is a another simple recipe from my kitchen:
maadan kuzhambu :

Thuvaram parupu about 2 tblspn
perungayam oru chinna piece
fry the above till golden brown

coconut about 1 handful (no need to fry this)
now add it to the above & grind them all together & keep aside.

any veg like : murungai/pooshani/red pooshani/ ethaavathu oru kaai

tamarind about a small lemon size karaichi vaikavum

so to this tamarind water add the cut veg/turmeric/ sambar powder/ salt pottu nalla kothika vidunga...pachai vaasanai pogum varai.

now add araithu vaitha thengaai ...ithai pottu let it boil for another 2 to 3 mins...kuzhambu sernthu varum...apo turn off the heat & in a little oil add kadugu/vendhayam/lots of karuvepilai...ithai kuzhambil serthu...add chopped kothamalli too.....

This will go well with rice...& sepangkizhangu or potato or vazhakaai roast.....slurpy slurp!!;-)

oh dont forget to eat it with appalam... :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

selvieam
17th April 2010, 10:33 PM
oho suvai thanks for the receipes. we will try one by one. all r very simple and very easy to make.

potato receipe padikum pothe mouth is watering. definitely gonna try that.

suvai
18th April 2010, 07:24 AM
sure selvi...give them a try..;-)

kugan nga....today i made yr potato pulao...i replaced it with cauliflr...& omg....that was super duper & i also made....tender coconut curry....but with peas & tofu.....it came out sooooo well....& it went well with the pulao..... :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

one thumbsup for u & the two for the recipes.. :mrgreen:

selvi...tomorrow...going to make yr recipe...adai..;-) will let u know.

suvai
19th April 2010, 04:41 AM
selvi..............thanks for the super adai recipe it came out very well..... :thumbsup:

nithishri
19th April 2010, 06:17 AM
Belated puthandu wishes to all of u :)

Can any pls tell me how to make stuffed brinjal curry pls :)
Thanks a lot

Nithi

suvai
19th April 2010, 07:20 AM
welcome back nithi....:-) belated wishes to u too!

selvieam
19th April 2010, 09:30 AM
selvi..............thanks for the super adai recipe it came out very well..... :thumbsup:

thanks a lot suvai

selvieam
19th April 2010, 09:31 AM
welcome back nithi, belated wishes to u.

check for the curry in kugan thread 2, i think aarthi posted the receipe for it.

NM
19th April 2010, 11:31 AM
:rotfl2: suvai-nga - naan nenechchen neenga sollittengga ! since ellorum dance 'floor'-la irukkurathaala, naan 'air'la dance panna pOrene :) :boo: .. nalla irukka??

i'll try the second recipe suvainga - haven't had that combo before ..

Selviem : :clap: ungalukku oru 'O' pOdanum ! that kathirikkai ennai kulambu was so YUMMY!! - i cooked with my kollai kathirikkaai plus baba's masala since i do not have Aachi's. I also added my home-grown green chillies since i have too much of them :). Had it with rasam and rice. :thumbsup: :slurp:

NM
19th April 2010, 11:33 AM
Dear Mrs Kugan - kuih muih-laam sedap-a iruku paarkavE! have a good rest and post the recipes one by one pleaaaaaase...... ! Do you have kuih lapis recipe??

dev
19th April 2010, 12:12 PM
super recipe Suvai... healthy too... :thumbsup:

dev
19th April 2010, 12:14 PM
NM, http://forumhub.mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?p=1982695 for Kuih lapis

selvieam
19th April 2010, 12:46 PM
thanks a lot for ur words NM.

dev
19th April 2010, 01:39 PM
Selvi, appo oru kalakku kalakiteenganu sollunga!!!... we r looking fwd to the results...

19th April 2010, 02:21 PM
PS, I've a pizza base recipe...I'll post it soon... but I've not tried it yet... so...;) :lol:.

so I yaam da scape goat for you to try your recipeeeee :twisted: :lol:

kugan98
19th April 2010, 04:23 PM
Friends, I am back. I had the most enjoyable moments with AMMA. 90 of us left by 2 buses.
We reached Singapore at about 12.00 noon.
We were in the venue by 1.00 p.m.
Morning session Darshan was going on.
The session finished at 3.00 p.m.
We all rushed back to our rooms and we were back by 5.00 p.m
We had our hugs at about 12.00 midnight.
By the time we slept it was 2. a.m

The next day we were at the venue by 8.30 a.m
The programe was on till 3.00 p.m
We all stayed back in the venue to get our tokens for the night
Darshan. The session started at 7.p.m, but the crowd was so huge. After meditation and AMMA'S talk the Darshan began.
Beautiful bajans were going on.
Would you all believe, the Darshan lasted till 9.30 a.m the next morning. AMMA sat through the whole programe hugging each and every one. Malaysians had their Darshan at 11. p.m We all had tears rolling down our cheeks to see AMMA sacrificing her sleep and rest for us.
We all did not feel tired sitting in the hall with AMMA.
We were all very happy singing bajans through out the night, till 9.30 a.m in the morning.

We left Singapore at about 11. a.m stopped at few places ,
reached Malaysia by 4. p.m.
I felt myself really recharged with AMMA'S Love.
Did not forget to pray for each and every member of the Kugan's Kitchen while sitting in the front row and looking at AMMA. Thanks friends. Take care Kugan98

19th April 2010, 05:04 PM
குகன் அக்கா யார் இந்த அம்மா?

:confused2:

sudha india
19th April 2010, 05:05 PM
Hi K,

Just peeped in after a long time, just to see your lovely message after your darshan.

Your last line, touched me which is so much worth like the divine touch itself.

You are really a darling. Thanks for remembering all of us while you were there. :bow:

kugan98
19th April 2010, 07:18 PM
Let me start from where I left last.

Dev, thanks for all your wishes.
Dev, thanks for the nice milagu kulambu.
I will try and post the picture.
Thanks Dev, take care. Kugan98

kugan98
19th April 2010, 07:20 PM
Tamby, I will post the pizza base , cheese and onion
pastries recipe soon for you.
Thanks, Kugan98

kugan98
19th April 2010, 07:24 PM
Suvai nga thanks for all your wishes and compliments.
I feel very happy, when some one benefits from my recipe.

Suvai nga thanks for nice potato puthina,
and maadan kuzhambu.
I will try both and post the pictures.

Thanks Suvai nga. Take care kugan98

19th April 2010, 07:25 PM
Tamby, I will post the pizza base , cheese and onion
pastries recipe soon for you.
Thanks, Kugan98

மிக்க நன்ரி குகன் அக்கா :redjump: :bluejump: :cheer: :happydance:

kugan98
19th April 2010, 07:28 PM
Selviem, NM has given certificate for your recipe.
So do not worry, I too have tried similar recipe
your picture itself is a proof of your delicious recipe.
We all wish you the best. Take care, kugan98

kugan98
19th April 2010, 07:33 PM
Nithi ma welcome.
Apa apa etti paarungga.

Check the index, if the recipe is not there
i will post it for you.
I too remember Aarthii posting it.
Thanks Nithi, take care Kugan98

kugan98
19th April 2010, 07:36 PM
NM vangga vangga.
NM you just name any Malay kuih.
I will post the recipe for you.
Do not hesitate to ask, I am here to help.
Thanks, take care kugan98

kugan98
19th April 2010, 07:38 PM
Tamby, I have pmed you.
Thanks, Kugan98

kugan98
19th April 2010, 07:44 PM
Sudha ma thanks for your beautiful post.

Sudha ma, you all are like part of my family.
How can I forget you all.
I had all your names written in a paper, along with my
family members. While sitting and praying, I read all
the names and prayed to AMMA to BLESS each and everyone.

Thanks Sudhama, neenggalum apa apa etti parungga.
Thanks, take care. Kugan98

19th April 2010, 07:54 PM
Sudha ma thanks for your beautiful post.

Sudha ma, you all are like part of my family.
How can I forget you all.
I had all your names written in a paper, along with my
family members. While sitting and praying, I read all
the names and prayed to AMMA to BLESS each and everyone.

Thanks Sudhama, neenggalum apa apa etti parungga.
Thanks, take care. Kugan98

உஙகழ் நல்ல மனதிர்கு :notworthy:

ஓம் நமசிவாய :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy:

selvieam
19th April 2010, 08:33 PM
welcome back kugan. thanks a lot for keeping us in mind and prayed on behalf of us.

now we all r recharged and with a full swing we will start again.

kugan98
19th April 2010, 09:44 PM
Thanks Tamby and Selviem for your kind words.
Take care. Kugan98

kugan98
19th April 2010, 09:46 PM
[tscii]What do you do, when you have a little bit of this and that.?
Make it into a mixed vege stew :lol:

MIXED VEGE STEW

Ingredients:
½ cup boiled , cubed potatoes
¼ cup cubed carrots
¼ cup boiled chick peas
¼ cup pumpkin cubes
2 big onions chopped
3 pips garlic chopped
2 cups of vege stock
½ cup low fat milk or coconut milk
1 tsp cumin powder
2 tsp red chillie powder
3 tbs lime juice
2 tbs chopped coriander leaves
2 tbs oil
2 one inch cinnamon sticks
3 cardamom pods
4 cloves
Salt to taste.

Method:
Heat oil in a wok, add in the cinnamon, cardamom and cloves.
When they splutter, add in the chopped garlic, sauté for a moment
Add in the onions, and sauté till they turn golden brown.

Add in the chillie powder,and cumin powders.
Stir once well, add in the vegetable stock and salt.
Allow it to boil for few minutes.
Add in the potatoes, pumpkin, carrots and chick peas.
Simmer covered for about 10 minutes, until the veges are tender.

Add in the milk, and let it boil once.
Remove from the stove, add in the lime juice.
Garnish with the coriander leaves.
Serve hot with rice or chapathi.

[html:d693755892]
http://img405.imageshack.us/img405/2434/chickpeasstew.jpg
[/html:d693755892]

suvai
20th April 2010, 06:13 AM
welcome back nga kugannnnnnnn......very happy that you had a good dharshan. Thank u nga for remembering to pray for all of us....u r awesome!!!!

dev....potato pudhina try panitaaa soneenga good nu tu? i like that recipe too ;-)

sudha....nallaa irukeengala?

nm nga...nalllaa vey dance aadareenga neengalum...kaaal tharaila padaamaley
:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

suvai
20th April 2010, 06:24 AM
vaanga thirumaran......thanks for posting the picture :-)

Aarthii
20th April 2010, 07:53 AM
kuganka,happy to see u back.
Thanks for keeping all of us in ur prayers kuganka.U r great.

Thanks for the stew recipe also.

Aarthii
20th April 2010, 07:55 AM
Here is a suvaiyaana Potato Pudhina Recipe:
Baby potatoes about 1/2 kg ( boiled till 3/4 is cooked)
Puthina leaves one handful
;-)

Suvaika,thanks for ur potato pudhina recipe.Seems very yummy.will try it out soon suvaika.

Aarthii
20th April 2010, 07:57 AM
dev thanks for ur milagu kulambu recipe .

NM
20th April 2010, 10:23 AM
Dear Mrs Kugan - Thank you very much for praying for us. Ungalukku periya manasu. Mom would have loved to go.... maybe next time.

Suvai-nga : :D dance floor packed-a irunthaa, ippadi thaan :lol:

NM
20th April 2010, 10:27 AM
NM, http://forumhub.mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?p=1982695 for Kuih lapisthanks dev. I was looking for it in the index but couldn't find it :oops:

Mrs Kugan - that kuih lapis looks yummy! I'll try that this weekend for my daughter who likes anything pink. :lol:

kugan98
20th April 2010, 01:02 PM
Thanks Suvai nga for your wishes.
I will soon try your potato puthina recipe.
Thanks Kugan98

kugan98
20th April 2010, 01:04 PM
Thanks Aarthii, you all are always close to my heart.
I am very grateful to get such sweet friends.
Thanks again. Kugan98

kugan98
20th April 2010, 01:07 PM
NM thanks for your post.
I will keep you informed of AMMA'S next visit.

Try the kuih lapis and let me know how it turned out.
Thanks. Kugan98

kugan98
20th April 2010, 01:09 PM
Tamby, the recipe for vegetarian pizza is in Kugan's Kitchen 1.
page 88. anyway I have posted the recipe to your mail.
Happy trying. Thanks. Kugan98

kugan98
20th April 2010, 01:11 PM
Where is our lovely DEV?
Are you alright?
Or is it too many weddings?
Take care Dev, Thanks, Kugan98

kugan98
20th April 2010, 01:29 PM
Here is the onion cheese pastries recipe

ONION CHEESE PASTRIES

Ingredients

900g shortcrust, or puff pastry
2 tbsp vegetable oil
450g onions, peeled and sliced
450g mature cheddar, cut into 1cm cubes
1 tsp paprika or chillie flakes
salt and pepper
melted butter for glazing

Method

1. Preheat the oven to 200C
2. Roll out the pastry and cut out 6 circles 20cm in diameter.
3. Heat the oil and cook the onions in it until starting to soften. Take off the heat and cool.
4. Stir in the cheese cubes , paprika , or chillie flakes and season well. Divide the mixture between the six circles and crimp the edges together.
5. Brush with a little of the melted butter. Put on a baking sheet and bake in the oven for 20-30 minutes until the pastry is golden. Serve hot or cold.

Note: You can buy the pastry from supermarkets.

[html:80c43cfcf9]
http://img138.imageshack.us/img138/1306/onioncheesepasties.jpg
[/html:80c43cfcf9]

20th April 2010, 02:30 PM

மிக்க நன்ரி அக்க, சாப்பிடு பின் சொலுகிரென் :notworthy:

20th April 2010, 02:32 PM

avanga thanoda 60 vatham kalaiyanthuku poitanga :lol2:

20th April 2010, 02:34 PM
Here is the onion cheese pastries recipe

ONION CHEESE PASTRIES

Ingredients

900g shortcrust, or puff pastry
2 tbsp vegetable oil
450g onions, peeled and sliced
450g mature cheddar, cut into 1cm cubes
1 tsp paprika or chillie flakes
salt and pepper
melted butter for glazing

Method

1. Preheat the oven to 200C
2. Roll out the pastry and cut out 6 circles 20cm in diameter.
3. Heat the oil and cook the onions in it until starting to soften. Take off the heat and cool.
4. Stir in the cheese cubes , paprika , or chillie flakes and season well. Divide the mixture between the six circles and crimp the edges together.
5. Brush with a little of the melted butter. Put on a baking sheet and bake in the oven for 20-30 minutes until the pastry is golden. Serve hot or cold.

Note: You can buy the pastry from supermarkets.

URL=http://img138.imageshack.us/i/onioncheesepasties.jpg/]http://img138.imageshack.us/img138/1306/onioncheesepasties.jpg[/URL]

thanks akka, I will show to mum and ask her to make it yummy :)

superspiczy
20th April 2010, 06:31 PM
Hello Kugan,

How are u and our fellow frens? Its been ages since i logged in. Have been very busy at work. Once again congrats to the season 4 of Kugan's!!!! I miss all of you!!!!! Oru Nalla Fish Kurma or Fish Masala Recipe post seiyavum!!!!

Superspiczy

20th April 2010, 06:57 PM
Hello Kugan,

How are u and our fellow frens? Its been ages since i logged in. Have been very busy at work. Once again congrats to the season 4 of Kugan's!!!! I miss all of you!!!!! Oru Nalla Fish Kurma or Fish Masala Recipe post seiyavum!!!!

Superspiczy

sorry no non veg is allowed in kugan akka's kitchen ! :lol2:

we are all vegies :P

suvai
21st April 2010, 04:58 AM
hello SS...............good to c u once again on Kugan's thread.....:-) Hope all is well!!

suvai
21st April 2010, 05:04 AM
Recipes time kidaikum bothu try pannunga kugan...;-)

Aarthii
21st April 2010, 08:10 AM
kuganka,onion chesse patties looks great.Thanks for the recipe.

superspiczy
21st April 2010, 08:56 AM
Hi Mr Paramashivan,

Just to highlight to u that when kugan started she was also posting non veg dishes. If u browse thru her Season 1 and all. After that she became a veg. Nevertheless, even if she is veg, she never fails to post non veg dishes to us from her past recipes.

Sharing is caring!!!

Superspiczy

superspiczy
21st April 2010, 11:51 AM
Suvai,

How are u ? I miss all of you

Superspiczy

selvieam
21st April 2010, 01:14 PM
welcome back superspicy. how r u? drop whenever u can.

superspiczy
21st April 2010, 01:16 PM
im good selviem! hugs

Superspiczy

21st April 2010, 02:31 PM
Hi Mr Paramashivan,

Just to highlight to u that when kugan started she was also posting non veg dishes. If u browse thru her Season 1 and all. After that she became a veg. Nevertheless, even if she is veg, she never fails to post non veg dishes to us from her past recipes.

Sharing is caring!!!

Superspiczy

haiyo

I was joking pa :D

kugan98
21st April 2010, 06:22 PM
[tscii]Dear Superspicy, A Spicy Fish Masala is posted in Kugan's Kitchen 1, page 57

A fish Kulambu is posted in Kugan's Kitchen 2 page 59

Now I post to you a Fish Kurma Recipe.
Try and enjoy. Thanks, Kugan98

FISH KURMA

Ingredients:
1 kg fish fillets cut it into chunks or slices
1 big onion chopped
1 big tomato chopped
2 fresh red chillies slit into 4 with the stem intact
1 tbs ginger paste
1 tbs garlic paste

To roast and grind:
1 tsp aniseed
1 tsp kas – kas
5 cashew nuts
¼ cup grated coconut
2 tbs coriander powder
½ tsp turmeric powder
5 green chillies sliced
1/2 tsp pepper powder

1 tbs lime juice
¼ cup well beaten curds

4 tbs ghee
2 one inch cinnamon stick
3 cloves
3 cardamom pods
½ tsp aniseeds
1 sprig curry leaves
Salt to taste
¼ cup chopped coriander leaves for garnishing

Method:
Clean the fish, rub with little salt, turmeric powder and little lime juice.
Marinate for about ½ an hour. Shallow fry in little oil ( This is optional)

Heat a wok with 1 tsp of oil, roast the aniseeds , kas – kas and cashewnuts.
Remove, now dry roast the grated coconut a little, add in the green chillies.
Roast a little and remove. Cool and grind to a smooth paste.
Add in the coriander powder and tumeric powder. Mix well.

Heat a wok with the ghee, add in the cinnamon sticks, cloves, cardamom pods and the aniseeds. Let them splutter. Add in the curry leaves.
Now add in the chopped onions and sauté well till lightly brown.
Add in the ginger paste and garlic paste, stir well.
Now add in the chopped tomato and cook till mushy.

Now add in the ground paste and add little water if necessary.
Stir and cook till the raw smell goes and the oil seperates.
Now add salt and enough water to make a thick gravy.
Add in the slit red chillies and let it simmer on a low flame.
Stir occasionally so that it does not stick to the pot.

Now add in the fish, the curds and lime juice to taste.
Let it simmer again, the fish will be cooked very fast.
Stir slowly so that the fish does not break.
Taste for salt and remove, garnish with the chopped coriander leaves.
Serve with plain ghee rice and raitha.