View Full Version : Malayalam Cinema Official Discussion And Updates Thread!

Sudarsh
27th May 2010, 09:04 AM
Hi guys since I never found an official thread here just for Malayalam Cinema discussion i decided to create this one! Personally I think we should a Separate section for Malayalam Films like there is For tamil films but since that is not there I am creating this thread!

Use this thread to discuss anything related to Malayalam Cinema, Actors, Singers and even any updates on them! :D

arjun885
27th May 2010, 10:54 AM
very good thread...so anyone watched any of the new movies..pls post ur opinions..

Sudarsh
14th July 2010, 09:22 PM
I just the malayalam film loudspeaker recently amazing performance from mamooty and the character who playd the old man with the kidney problem.... good screenplay and direction.

raagadevan
5th November 2010, 08:03 PM
"A breath of fresh air" - BOMBAY MITTAYI

http://www.hindu.com/fr/2010/11/05/stories/2010110550930100.htm

"Keen on acting with Mammootty, says Dimple"

http://www.hindu.com/2010/11/05/stories/2010110551080200.htm

9th November 2010, 12:15 PM
Dileep's interview in Asianet for his movie Karyasthan - Mammookka came in as a guest for a few minutes - enjoyed the whole program.. such camaraderie :bow:

6th December 2010, 11:37 PM
Learnt that Mammootty is doing the movie based on Basheer's novel "Shabdangal"

This novel is such an awesome read. But how is it possible to convert to a movie. The content requires some daring visual shots and also the protoganist requires to be a little younger than mammootty in the narrative.

If they are daring enough to be loyal to the novel and mammootty convince the audience in that role - then definite oru national award urudhi!..both for the director and mammootty.

7th December 2010, 11:44 AM
Learnt that Mammootty is doing the movie based on Basheer's novel "Shabdangal"

This novel is such an awesome read. But how is it possible to convert to a movie. The content requires some daring visual shots and also the protoganist requires to be a little younger than mammootty in the narrative.

If they are daring enough to be loyal to the novel and mammootty convince the audience in that role - then definite oru national award urudhi!..both for the director and mammootty.

malayalam novellAm padippIngaLA? And you said you are only 23 right? EnyA ipdi inferiority complex kudukkaRInga? :evil:

7th December 2010, 11:51 AM
Didn't know Vivs could read Malayalam, and in particular, Basheer ! Read a lot about Basheer after being impressed by Mathilukal..

7th December 2010, 03:01 PM
plum, kid,

ada tamil translation-ga..hehe

But the translations that I have read are really good that the malayalam flavour is not subdued at all by the translation.

Read a lot about Basheer after being impressed by Mathilukal..

Have just read 3 of his novels. Started reading him after knowing about Balyakalasakhi . Oru night shiftla velaiye illama thaniya module-la okaandhu padichen..He is just awesome. His novels runs for about 70-80 pages in average(one another thing that I found luring) .... and we can finish it in a single read.

kandippa padinga...Then you will start searching for his other works..

7th December 2010, 03:22 PM
Saw a movie this weekend on Asianet Ayalathe Adheham

Jayaram - Gouthami

Simble, interesting, well told family drama, nice situations, performances. The ending was disappointingly contrived. But it was a good timepass overall.

Jayaram :lol:

7th December 2010, 03:24 PM

Jayaram - Gouthamani

Simble, interesting, well told family drama, nice situations, performances. The ending was disappointingly contrived. But it was a good timepass overall.

Jayaram :lol: ungaluku goundar evalo pudikkumnu theriyin..adhukaaga... :P

7th December 2010, 03:27 PM
:oops: Freudian slip...corrected

7th December 2010, 06:39 PM

Jayaram - Gouthamani

7th December 2010, 11:58 PM
Where are those books available, Vivs? Can I try Landmark/Odyssey ?

Btw, why duplicate thread?

Already we have one for Mallu cinema here:

http://forumhub.mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=13408&highlight=

Year old and hasn't even touched the quarter of the norm(100)..

8th December 2010, 12:29 AM
Where are those books available, Vivs? Can I try Landmark/Odyssey ?

I ordered it from udumalai.com

http://www.udumalai.com/?page=search&keyword=%26%232986%3B%26%232999%3B%26%233008%3B%26 %232992%3B%26%233021%3B&x=0&y=0

not sure about landmark/odyssey

8th December 2010, 02:27 PM
I bought some Malayalam novelettes translated by சுரா (not சு.ரா. - நான் அப்பிடி நினைச்சு தான் வாங்கிட்டேன்!) in Landmark (published by Nakeeran !!). Including one written by Padmarajan. They were quite unimpressive.

Basheet translations in Tamil (haven't read) by Kalachuvadu are available in Newbooklands T Nagar (at the foot of the Saravana stores flyover. Opposite Tanishq showroom)

8th December 2010, 02:55 PM
gouthamani

8th December 2010, 03:54 PM
I bought some Malayalam novelettes translated by சுரா (not சு.ரா. - நான் அப்பிடி நினைச்சு தான் வாங்கிட்டேன்!) in Landmark (published by Nakeeran !!). Including one written by Padmarajan. They were quite unimpressive.

Basheet translations in Tamil (haven't read) by Kalachuvadu are available in Newbooklands T Nagar (at the foot of the Saravana stores flyover. Opposite Tanishq showroom)

nanRi hai

AravindMano
10th December 2010, 11:44 AM
I have read parts of his 'உலகின் புகழ்பெற்ற மூக்கு'- a collection of short stories, translated by one yusuf, published by Kalachuvadu. It was good. (A particular story, பூவன்பழம், was deliciously sarcastic. The sarcasam might be my reading, JeMo says it's chauvinism). It might take some time to get used to the narrative of 50s and 60s.

AnyIndian (http://www.anyindian.com/) is a good shop to buy. It's just next to T Nagar Bus terminus. You can call them and order and then collect it. Or you can get them at the book fair in January. Kalachuvadu, which has many of his translations, might kazhichchu kattify them in a buy 1 get 1 offer! :)

28th December 2010, 06:19 PM
[html:89d85ddad9]
http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash1/hs784.ash1/167480_488043004209_164670459209_5682822_4419887_n .jpg
[/html:89d85ddad9]

28th December 2010, 06:32 PM
Simplicity personified!!

28th December 2010, 09:22 PM
Mammookha nalla mabbu ! :D

28th December 2010, 09:23 PM
And oh, they both DESPISE each other. :)

29th December 2010, 11:51 AM
Oh is it?!
Single beediyai sare paNNi kudippAnga, appidinnu ellAm solluvAingaLE.

29th December 2010, 12:24 PM
mammooty is muslim no? and muslims don't drink, no? :confused2:

29th December 2010, 12:28 PM
Apdinnu yaarpa sonnadhu?

29th December 2010, 01:39 PM
enga oorla appadithaan.
in fact the religious police will catch you and take you to religious court for prosecution according to muslim laws.

29th December 2010, 01:52 PM
It is more a social more here NOV - nothing legal.

The more orthodox refrain from drinking. But I guess that would be the more conservatives Indian families in all religions.

Sikhs are also not supposed to drink. Proscribed in their religion. Enakku therinja sardar kitta ellAm kudikka koodaadhunnu sonnA - angeyE nenju vedichu sethiruvaan :lol2:

29th December 2010, 01:59 PM
hows the relationship between them?...do they really share a relationship that this picture emulates?

29th December 2010, 02:14 PM
Sikhs don't smoke I think, :D
Thanks PR.

jinju
30th December 2010, 11:57 AM
hows the relationship between them?...do they really share a relationship that this picture emulates?

it was as the picture shows for quite a long time, but now i don't think it's the same tho they maintain the status quo in public!

Ilayathalapathy Fan
2nd January 2011, 09:33 AM
Hi guys I just saw a classy malayalam film by the great director Sathyan Anthikkad and it is called Kadha Thudarunnu. It has Mamta Mohandas and Jayaram in the main roles and after watching this film I felt really good because it has been done extremely well and is very classy. I fell in love with Mamta Mohandas after seeing this film because she has performed very well in her role and yet at the same time she looks so cute as well... and it is also a big comeback for Jayaram who has given a great performance throughout the whole film.

The hit director of the 90s once again proves that he is an expert in giving feel good movies and succeeds with bringing out a story that is able to capture the heart of the audiences. Hats of to the great director and crew. I felt that we need films like this in tamil cinema and hope that malayalam directors like him will come and do original scripts here in tamil cinema for the tamil audience as well. If you guys say BEB is a good movie in tamil then you won't even dare speak about it again after you see this film. Once again malluwood proves that it is able to give some of the best scripts/stories in Indian Cinema.

raagadevan
17th June 2011, 02:00 AM
When Pappu met Rathi…

SARASWATHY NAGARAJAN

As filmmaker T.K. Rajeev Kumar's ‘Rathinirvedam' reaches a world-wide audience, the director talks about the remaking of a film that redefined Malayalam cinema in the early eighties.

http://www.hindu.com/fr/2011/06/17/stories/2011061751230100.htm

raagadevan
15th June 2012, 02:24 AM
"In the right spirit"

Spirit, a Mohanlal-starrer directed by Ranjith, explores how and why a person falls prey to any kind of addiction.

http://www.thehindu.com/arts/cinema/article3527915.ece?homepage=true

raagadevan
17th June 2012, 06:36 AM
"Cinema's Own Country"

The story of how it became possible for 'parallel' cinema to be commercially more viable than 'mainstream' masala in Kerala.

http://www.thehindu.com/arts/cinema/article3531741.ece?homepage=true

Arvind Srinivasan
20th June 2012, 03:54 PM
Spirit.... Disappointing.. Too preachy for my comfort...

raagadevan
23rd December 2012, 07:33 AM
Mohanlal lands in trouble

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/regional/malayalam/news-and-interviews/Smoking-poster-Mohanlal-lands-in-trouble/articleshow/17718584.cms

ufukenabikr
7th January 2013, 04:44 PM
A good review of Shyamprasad's Arike. Check it out.

http://www.madaboutmoviez.com/2013/01/arike-movie-review-in-quest-of-love/

raagadevan
19th January 2013, 09:09 PM
Scene Onnu Nammude Veedu:

http://www.thehindu.com/arts/cinema/scene-onnu-nammude-veedu-scenes-from-the-cinema-world/article4133005.ece

raagadevan
28th March 2013, 04:26 AM
Sukumari - Timeless roles, priceless acting

http://www.thehindu.com/features/cinema/sukumari-timeless-roles-priceless-acting/article4552038.ece

raagadevan
31st August 2013, 05:33 AM
Fans wait with bated breath for latest offering from M.T.-Hariharan stable

http://www.thehindu.com/news/cities/Kochi/fans-wait-with-bated-breath-for-latest-offering-from-mthariharan-stable/article5076426.ece

raagadevan
16th November 2013, 09:31 PM
Ghostbuster returns

http://www.thehindu.com/features/cinema/ghostbuster-returns/article5350923.ece

4th December 2013, 01:08 AM
Geethanjali

If we pull out a list of over rated directors in India, Priyadarshan will easily top the chart. He proves it again with his latest outing Geethanjali. He has shamelessly ripped off 'Alone' which already inspired the Malayalam film 'Nadiya Kollapetta Rathri' and was also later remade in Tamil as Charulatha. If P Vasu did a mockery of Manichitrathazhu, Priyadarshan has gone one step ahead and has made a totally unworthy sequel to the classic. Sir,please stick to your current job of remaking your own malayalam films in hindi. Dont spoil others' films.

raagadevan
16th January 2014, 05:34 PM
The original super star

Prem Nazir gave the fledgling Malayalam cinema its first super star, a star who made sure that
his feet was on terra firma. A tribute to the actor on his 25th death anniversary, on January 16.

http://www.thehindu.com/features/cinema/the-original-super-star/article5582174.ece

Neighbour’s pride

Prem Nazir established his credentials in Tamil cinema as well.

http://www.thehindu.com/features/cinema/neighbours-pride/article5582193.ece

Russellxom
30th March 2014, 05:49 PM
Megastar **** backs

http://youtu.be/ab4_JvHfrWA

Russellxom
31st March 2014, 08:21 AM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn2/t1.0-9/10153176_604454246302721_1433134329_n.jpg
https://scontent-a-sin.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-prn2/t1.0-9/1975071_604457106302435_1127207097_n.jpg
https://fbcdn-sphotos-f-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/t1.0-9/1959383_604457316302414_1142274226_n.jpg

raagadevan
19th December 2015, 02:58 AM
A picture that transformed a life

-P. K. Ajith Kumar; The Hindu, December 19, 2015

The photo inspired an award-winning movie & changed a 10-year-old's world.

http://www.thehindu.com/news/cities/kozhikode/jayarajs-ottal-changes-ashadul-islams-life/article8006027.ece?homepage=true?w=alstates

raagadevan
27th September 2017, 08:18 AM
As the years roll by, Madhu@84

The Hindu; September 24, 2017

Actor Madhu has in recent times preferred quiet birthdays, the ones which slip away without even him noticing it. However, on his 84th birthday, his home in Kannammoola had quite a few visitors, and those who could not make it were all ringing him up.

http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/kerala/as-the-years-roll-by-madhu84/article19744782.ece

raagadevan
15th April 2018, 03:17 AM
അവാര്ഡ് യേശുദാസിന്; പൊട്ടിക്കരഞ്ഞ് പ്രേംദാസ്...

http://www.mathrubhumi.com/movies-music/specials/national-film-awards-2018/yesudas-national-award-8th-national-award-premdas-lyricist-viswasapoorvam-mansoor-song-ramesh-naraya-1.2741964

raagadevan
15th April 2018, 03:19 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HhjbJ0qEKI4

raagadevan
15th April 2018, 03:37 AM
പടം: മഴ എത്തും മുമ്പേ
കവി: കൈതപ്രം
സംഗീതം: രവീന്ദ്രൻ
രാഗം: ശുദ്ധധന്യാസി
പാടിയത്: ദാസേട്ടനും ചിത്ര ചേച്ചിയും
നടീനടന്മാർ: മമ്മൂട്ടിയും ശ്യാമളയും

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VHnjx6NQeV8

25th September 2018, 11:43 PM
Straw Dogs (1971)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yXkqGVfm1mo

Straw Dogs (2011)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jc2WepwFcWE

Varathan (2018)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=STHwR_ZzEGU

The End

raagadevan
17th June 2019, 10:58 PM
Girish Karnad’s long connection to Malayalam

By P.K. Ajith Kumar - The Hindu, June 11, 2019

https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/kerala/girish-karnads-long-connection-to-malayalam/article27766976.ece

raagadevan
28th June 2019, 05:45 PM
Vijaya Nirmala: Malayalam’s most loved Yakshi

By P.K. Ajith Kumar - The Hindu, June 27, 2019

https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/kerala/malayalams-most-loved-yakshi/article28191780.ece

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vGGRVGnn-ok

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=93PagQrP5QY

Link to the 1963 classic BHARGAVI NILAYAM:

youtube.com/watch?v=nUjTPYtgyC4

raagadevan
23rd December 2019, 02:02 PM
The 25 best Malayalam films of the decade

By Saraswathy Nagarajan - The Hindu, December 19, 2019

https://www.thehindu.com/entertainment/movies/the-25-best-malayalam-films-of-the-decade-premam-maheshinte-prathikaram-kumbalangi-nights-and-more/article30349548.ece

raagadevan
21st February 2021, 02:01 AM
‘Drishyam 2’ movie review: A decent follow-up to a much celebrated film

By S.R. Praveen - The Hindu, February 19, 2021

https://www.thehindu.com/entertainment/movies/drishyam-2-movie-review-a-decent-follow-up-to-a-much-celebrated-film/article33877526.ece

Jeethu Joseph to remake ‘Drishyam 2’ in Telugu, Tamil and Hindi

By P.K. Ajith Kumar - The Hindu, February 20, 2021

https://www.thehindu.com/entertainment/movies/jeethu-joseph-to-remake-drishyam-2-in-telugu-tamil-and-hindi/article33888521.ece