View Full Version : Some Classical music websites

23rd January 2005, 03:29 PM
Topic suggested by Aravind Srinivasan (aravinds98@hotmail.com) on Wed Feb 24 06:44:52 .

I would be thankful if you can send me some interesting websites of Indian Karnatic classical music from where I can down load songs.

Table of Contents (http://forumhub.mayyam.com/hub/lyrsort.php?t=1519)

Old responses (http://forumhub.com/indcmusic/12740.9143.06.44.52.html)

i would like to download manodharma sangeetam
sungplayed by top artists.please help me.

I am learning classical violin now I want notes for some carnatic songs like
1. enna thavam
2. maga ganapathim
3. vathapi ganapthim etc.

Can anybody provides the notes ...

Please ...

Nalini

hi i want to download mp3 format tamil movie songs and devotional songs suggest website

Hello, Can anyone tell me - where can I get recordings of Pt. Bhishmadev Vedi? He was a great singer, dancer and instrumentalist of India in 1950's to 1970's.
Also does anyone interested in exchanging live concert recordings of India Classical Music? Please email me.

hi, i am an addict to Karnatic Rag "Abheri" especially the title "Nagumo". I want to record the collection of "Nagumo" sung by all the greatest music legends of all times. Please help me out. Thanks

hi i need keyboard notes for marukelara. Any idea where i can find it?

Raag Bageshree - This raga with a sad and light emotions associated is available to download from many sites like musicindiaonline etc. For live concert recordings I found with search grand recordings of jitendra gore of samvadini solo. www.jitendragore.com or http://gore-jtendra.tripod.com

I have posted the vishnu sahasranamam and several other carnatic music classes at:
http://www.ecse.rpi.edu/Homepages/shivkuma/personal/music/index.html

or Sarali, Janta, Alankaram, Geetham, Varnam classes at:
http://www.ecse.rpi.edu/Homepages/shivkuma/personal/music/varnams/index.html

and manodharma mp3 snippets (alapana, swarakalpana, neraval, RTP etc):
http://www.ecse.rpi.edu/Homepages/shivkuma/personal/music/manodharma/index.html (http://www.ecse.rpi.edu/Homepages/shivkuma/personal/music/manodharma/index.html

You can also access these archives by using the search keywords "carnatic music class" or "carnatic music audio" on Google, Yahoo, MSN etc

best
Shivkumar

thanks to musicindiaonline.com. it is a wonderful website to learn carnatic music and to listen many wonderful songs by famous musicians

Hi my friends
if u want to listen indian music just log on
www.musicindiaonline.com

Respected sir,
i want the lyrics of the following songs.
Maninupuradhari -oothukadu
heygovinda -meerabhajan
rajaganapathy-tukaram
dekila dekila-tukaram
kanne kanmaniye-papanasam.
Please kindly send me the lyrics of all the above songs.

maNi nUpura. rAgA: nIlAmbari. Adi tALA

P: maNI nUpura dhAri rAjagOpAla kankaNa kinkiNa gaNa
A: maNI gOmEtaka lOhi taganIla marakata vAla vAyuja jAla makuTa
virAjita cigura manOhara mudira samakara kaLEpara kinkiNi gaNa
C: malayaja ranjana yakSa kartama varNakamishrta anubOdha tilaka makaika sugandha vilEpana
tribhuvana prakaTita pratApa jaladhara nIla samadhyuti bAla svAmi shrI rAjagOpAla lalAma kalOla lalita
lalATa mAlatamAla suvarNa kapOla lAlita gOpa gOpIjana lOla kALinga lIla karuNAlavAla lalAtava

kaNNE en kaNmaiyE. rAgA: kurinji. tALA: tisra Adi

P: kaNNE en kaNmaNiyE kaNNanE kaN vaLarAi
maNNulgil en vAzhvu vaLam pera vanduditta
A: kuyilishai kuzhalOshai un konju-mozhik-kiNaiyAmO
koNDa mana sancalangaL panjAi parandiDumE tAlO tAlO....
C: tEDAda en nidhiyE tighaTTAt-teLLamudE
vADAda men malarE manattuL inikkum tanittEnE tAlO tAlO....

The song that I have is by Surdas.

hE gOvind hE gOpAl hE gOvind erAkhO sharan ab tO jIvan hArE
nIr pivan hEta gayO sindu kE kinArE sindhu bIch basat grAha caraN dhari pacArE
cAr prahar yuddh bhayO lE gayO majdhArE nAkE pAr Dub na lAgE krSN kO pukArE
dwarakA mE shapadh dayo shOr bhayO dvArE shankh cakra gadA padma garuDa ni sitArE
sUr kahE shyAm sunO sharaNE tihArE abkI bAr pAr calE nand kE dulArE

Dear All,

I want some Notes(Swaram) for Srimannarayana (Annamacharya Krithi) to play on Veena which is in Bholi Ragam. Please email me @ sujana_d@rediffmail.com
Sujana

This is not a response, but I am looking for the lyrics of Papanasam sivan krithi "KAAVAVA KANDA VAA VAA" in VARALI ragam. I would appreciate any help I can get. Thanks in advance!!!!

kA vA vA. rAgA: varALi tALA: Adi

P: kA vA vA kandA vA vA enaik-kAvA vElA vA pazhani malai uraiyum uru-
A: dEvAdi dEvan maghanE vA para dEvi maDiyil amarum guhanE vA
vaLLi deyvayAnai maNavALA vA sharavaNabhava parama dayALa SaNmu-
C: AbattiruLara aruLoLi tarum appanE aNNaLE aiyA vA
pApat-tiraL tarum tApam aghala varum pazhanNi vaLar karuNai mazhaiyE vA
tApatraya veyil ara nizhal tarum vAn taruvE en kula guruvE vA
shrI padmanAbhan marugA rAmadhAsan vaNangum muttayyA viraivoDu

please inform the website which I can download classical carnatic music/devotaional songs of mrs. ms, Dr. Dalamuralikrishna etc.,

Any one have Qawali Songs collection or related music sites from where I can download music on Shirdi Sai Baba?

Hai,I would begreatful if u could send me the some interesting websites on Karnatic classical music ,where i can download songs & about some celebrities like SPB whom i can join as corus singers in their group.
thanking you
Mrs Natha

Have a look at http://www.geocities.com/hkssv for some devotional songs on Lord Venkateswara

Thank you very much for the lyrics of KAvavaa! It came in very handy. I am now looking for the lyrics of the Purandara dasa song RAAMA MANTRAVA JAPISO. Can you please help me out again.

A million thanks in advance!

rAma mantrava. rAgA: jOnpuri. Adi tALA.

P: rAma mantrava japiso hE manuja
A: A mantra I mantra necci nI keDabEDa sOmashEkhara tanna bhAmini korediha
C1: snAna maunangaLige sdhanada mantra mAnvaru manadi dhyAniya mantra
hIna guNangaLa hiskisutiha mantra Enembe vibhISaNage sAravinibha mantra
2: sakala vEdagaLige sAravinibha mantra mukuti mArgakke idE mUla mantra
bhakuti rasage ommebaTTe tOruva mantra sukhanidhi purandara viTTalana mahA mantra

26th January 2005, 08:17 PM
Is there any website hosting the december season concerts?

meena
26th January 2005, 09:18 PM
December Season 2004 in Chennai

http://www.kutcheribuzz.com/season2004/default.htm
http://www.sangeetham.com/others/seasonfeature.php3
http://carnatica.net/season2004/main.htm

28th January 2005, 09:08 PM
Thanks, but I couldn't find any audios.

pas
30th January 2005, 08:48 AM
RR:

The only one I know is 'numtv' .

http://sify.com/samacharbroadband/tv/

I know some friends who listened to concerts this way ..all originally
broadcast at Thyaga Brahma Gana Sabha at Chennai during the
recent Music season.

1st February 2005, 09:58 AM
Thanks, pas.
There used to be some sites hosting concert recordings (general, not december season). I can't find them anymore. Can you tell me the ones that are still alive? Thanks.

Lakshman
1st February 2005, 07:33 PM
I don't know what you mean by concert recordings but here are some websites for audio clips.

http://www.musicindiaonline.com/

http://www.musicalnirvana.com/index.html Click on Music Samples under the heading ‘Artists’

http://www.kannadaaudio.com/Songs/Classical/home/

http://www.malayalavedhi.com/Music/Musi … sical_____

http://as01.coolgoose.com/go/music?c=10003

http://www.udbhava.com/udbhava/albums.jsp?id=8

http://home.sprynet.com/~dsivakumar/music/intromus.htm

http://www.bhajanasampradaya.com/

http://sai.aros.net/music/karnatak/

http://www.carnaticliveconcerts.com/cgi-bin/home.cgi

http://www.rasikapriya.net/

http://www.eshakti.com Look for webcasts

1st February 2005, 08:52 PM
That's a good lot. Thanks, Lakshman. :) I meant audios recorded from real concerts - not the pre-recorded types.

2nd February 2005, 08:18 AM
I was looking for TVS' Soorya RTP for a long time. Found it today at carnaticliveconcerts (link above). Thanks a lot, Lakshman!

It's a wonderful RTP! Any idea who accompanied on the violin? It was good. Especially in the Behag piece that comes in the ragamalika part at the end. You can listen to it here:

http://www.carnaticliveconcerts.com/cgi-bin/play.cgi?TVS2+6 (Ragam,Thanam)
http://www.carnaticliveconcerts.com/cgi-bin/play.cgi?TVS2+7 (Pallavi)

tfd
25th February 2005, 02:24 AM
A new website for tabla beginners. Lots of prelimenary bols and taals including video and audio as well as Lehera audio.

http://www.tfd.nemlekars.com

sunayanaa
27th February 2005, 02:02 AM
TVS has been accompanied by Mysore Nagaraj on the violin in Surya RTP

sunayanaa
27th February 2005, 01:50 PM
Sorry, it is MSG on the violin for Surya RTP.

The other aulbum "Live from Music Academy 1991" features Mysore Nagaraj on the violin

viggop
27th February 2005, 02:19 PM
eSHakti seems to be a shopping site! Is the URL wrong?

viggop
27th February 2005, 02:23 PM
In coolGoose site,please search for songs under Kannada,Telugu and Malayalam sections too.Lot of carnatic mp3 songs for download.

msu
28th February 2005, 10:40 PM
Please visit my website to listen ti:
Madurai Somu, Kalyanaraman, DKJ,MSS,Sethalapatti and 78RPM audio.

www.thefilingroom.com
User: musiclover
Password: anupallavi

viggop
2nd March 2005, 06:12 PM
MSU
WHere are DKJ and MMS concerts? I could not find them when I logged in
Also
Does ARI stand for Ariyakudi Ramanuja Iyengar?
Who is MMD?

msu
2nd March 2005, 06:29 PM
Yes, ARI is Ariyakudi
MMD- Dandapani Desikar
Chitoor: Chitoor Subramanya Pillai
Thurayur: Thurayur Rajagopala Sharma etc.

I update this website daily with new audio clips and the old ones are deleted.

viggop
2nd March 2005, 07:06 PM
dear msu
please upload MSS and DKJ again. i would be very grateful. thanks

msu
2nd March 2005, 08:05 PM
DKJ concert has been uploaded. I will upload MSS later.

Enjoy. :D

viggop
5th March 2005, 11:17 AM
MSU
u'r username and password does not work anymore!!!
i'll be missing your MSS concert now.

msu
5th March 2005, 06:13 PM
viggop
I am having some issues with the website administrator due to
displaying the login/password info in a public forum- I am trying to
rectify this problem and will let you know.

thanks for your interest.

viggop
6th March 2005, 03:52 PM
thanks msu!
i read the terms and conditions of the site and i think they charge based on the number of users.
you can upload to rasikapriya.net if these are private collections which cannot be bought.
you can upload to coolgoose.com Tamil/Carnatic music section too.Coolgoose is a free site.

viggop
12th March 2005, 04:31 PM
MSU
any updates? As i said,you can upload to other websites too!

msu
12th March 2005, 10:11 PM
viggop
please e-mail me" rasokan@isp.com" and I will give you the
new link and access.

QuEST
24th March 2005, 08:12 PM
Hi all!

Please visit our site, http://www.pannalalghosh.info. This is site has all the rear music, image gallery and much much more.. Site is not run for commercial purpose.

srkris
18th April 2005, 09:07 PM
Hey Guys,

You can now register at one of the newest and most popular forums to discuss about Carnatic Music. It is called http://www.rasikas.org.

Registration takes just 5 seconds and then you can start discussing about all your favourite carnatic topics and singers with hundreds of members.

Some of the sections are:

General Discussions
All discussions that dont fall within any particular category

Music Season 2005
Events relating to December Music Festival in Chennai

Ragas & Alapanas
Which ragas had their most profound effect on you and why?

Talas & Tala Vadhya
Layam, the rhythm of life itself... what is your opinion?

Composers/Lyrics
Discussions on composers and their songs.

Musicians - Vocalists and Instrumentalists
They are of various hues... what do you think about them?

Events, Concert Reviews & Recordings
About upcoming Events and the latest concerts or recordings you attended/listened.

Q&A Section
Ask questions to other members about this website or other related sites.

Hindustani Music
Or should we better call it North Indian Classical Music? Whatever, enjoy it!

Bhakti
Songs/verses with a classical base having at their core the inalienable element of Hindu worship.

Languages
Various languages have enriched Carnatic Music. Music is a language by itself.

Semi Classical
This is the right place to discuss about semi-classical or light classical music.

Dance-Related
Music related to South Indian Classical Dance forms.

Click on http://www.rasikas.org.
and enjoy.

viggop
3rd May 2005, 09:54 AM
One more website

http://www.geocities.com/seethanarayanan26/

viggop
21st October 2005, 04:19 PM
Excellent site on the legend MS

http://sun.science.wayne.edu/~vhari/ms/

rpattabi
1st November 2005, 05:49 PM
Here are the two google groups, that might be useful:

Carnatic Resources
--------------------
If u r looking for carnatic resources, or thinking of helping some listener/learner: http://groups.google.com/group/CarnaticResource
it is not for stuff like "where can i download mp3 for this", etc. But for useful pointers like "List of Dwaram venkatasamy's cassettes/CDs/LPs available", "Carnatic theory suggestions", etc.

Carnatic Research
-------------------
If u r serious about Carnatic [research/composing/etc], try http://groups.google.com/group/ResearchCarnatic . Though there are no frequent discussions here, its something useful to keep it alive, as our music lags a bit when it comes to serious research and enrichment.

Anbudan,
Ragu

kvijayasree
22nd November 2005, 09:05 AM
Hello,

I am looking for meaning for the song Mani Noopura Dhari by OVS. Please help me out here? My email is kalaprerana@hotmail.com

viggop
4th December 2005, 06:23 PM
www.surasa.net
www.kannadaaudio.com
http://udbhava.com/

shuklas
1st April 2006, 03:56 PM
Dears :

We are looking for full length Kafi-Hori rendered by Pt.Ajit Chakraborty.

Shuklas
vrshuklas@gmail.com

ammassridhar
24th April 2006, 09:58 AM
Please find the Carnatic Links as Below:

Sites to Download Carnatic Songs
http://sai.aros.net/music/karnatak/
http://rasikapriya.com/
http://www.kannadaaudio.com/home/index.php
http://www.sangeethapriya.org/

Other Carnatic Links
http://www.annamayya.org/annamayya.asp
http://www.aumnamoshivaya.com/downloads.htm
http://www.artoflivingtn.org/bhajan-lyrics.htm
http://www.bhajanasampradaya.com/ListOfkeerthanas5.asp
http://www.carnaticcorner.com/
http://www.ecf.toronto.edu/~iyer/carnatic.html
http://telugusrini.tripod.com/carnatic.html
http://www.carnaticsangeetham.com/
http://carnatic2000.tripod.com/gaayaka.htm
http://www.sangeethapriya.org/~mss/
http://www.geocities.com/Vienna/4725/ragky.html
http://www.malayalavedhi.com/Music/malayalavedhi.php
http://www.carnaticcorner.com/other.html
http://www.carnaticcorner.com/lists.html
http://sky.prohosting.com/guruguha/
http://www.carnatica.net/handbook.htm

http://www.kannadaaudio.com/Songs/Classical/home/
http://minomus.narod.ru/Poba/Music/Ravi/Ravi.html
http://www.geocities.com/promiserani2/links.html
http://www.geocities.com/oothukkadu/
http://sun.science.wayne.edu/~vhari/ms/
http://www.ecse.rpi.edu/Homepages/shivkuma/personal/music/index.html
http://sai.aros.net/
http://www.tamilbeat.com/tamilsongs/devo/
http://chiuster.blogspot.com/2003_04_01_chiuster_archive.html
http://www.geocities.com/sridharan_vr/src/Default4.htm
http://www.chembur.com/carnatic/
http://mssubbulakshmi.com/
http://www.thaiman.ch/oldsongs/index6.htm
http://carnatic.geetham.net/music/index.php?p=Carnatic_Section&PHPSESSID=f4209e9ea488a6508912793902d5279a
http://sky.prohosting.com/guruguha/
http://www.karnatik.com/links.shtml
http://v.webring.com/hub?ring=carnatic
http://members.tripod.com/swamy_2/Links.htm
http://tam.cornell.edu/~venkat/carnatic.html
http://www.cs.umbc.edu/~mvasa1/favorites.php
http://www.vaisnava.cz/clanek_en.php3?no=24

shuklas
10th June 2006, 03:34 AM
http://www.sursangat.com

krishnamjc
19th June 2006, 04:20 PM
http://www.carnaticindia.com

guitarmonk
10th August 2006, 09:23 PM
I suggest few general but popular websites to you.

http://Raaga.com (for a strong database)

http://coolgoose.com (Search Raga in categories, I also played a raga there as "Ahirbhairava" on Guitar

My own website (www.guitarmonk.com) - It will give you some guitar links and music. I am soon coming with a database

http://desimusic.com (You may listen to an instrumental section here)

------Give me some time, I will bring more as not getting their names at this moment ------

krishnamjc
25th September 2006, 05:15 PM
navarathri celebrations at panachikkadu temple
This years navarathri celebrations is on at panachikkadu dakshina mookambika temple the detailed programme schedule is available at

http://www.carnaticindia.com/navarathri.html delete

krishnamjc
13th November 2006, 05:28 PM
visit http://www.carnaticindia.com the complete website on carnatic music for free carnatic music mp3 downloads

krishnamjc
22nd November 2006, 03:47 PM
visit the site http://www.carnaticindia.com for free mp3 downloads...nice site.

krishnamjc
22nd November 2006, 03:48 PM
I am learning classical violin now I want notes for some carnatic songs like
1. enna thavam
2. maga ganapathim
3. vathapi ganapthim etc.

Can anybody provides the notes ...

Please ...

Nalini

visit the site http://www.carnaticindia.com for free mp3 downloads and for the notation you asked for...nice site.

krishnamjc
22nd November 2006, 03:52 PM
visit the site http://www.carnaticindia.com for free mp3 downloads...nice site.

Lakshman
23rd November 2006, 03:43 AM
There is only one kriti discussed and there are no downloads at the link you have posted.
Please post the correct URL.

kvijayasree
9th December 2006, 06:43 PM
Request for Mani Noopura with Meaning moved to Sanskrit lyrics thread.

Please visit the Sanskrit lyrics thread.

guitarmonk
21st December 2006, 05:12 PM
(FUSION - COUNTRY+CLASSICAL)
This is theme name 'Heart & Passions' (The First song of my album, The Acoustic Guitar Moods)
http://www.4shared.com/file/7126106/921911b2/Heart__Passions.html

(INDIAN CLASSICAL)
This is Ragas Ahir Bhairav Audio on Guitar -
http://www.4shared.com/file/7276901/4c1a2877/Raga_Ahir_Bhairava.html

(INDIAN CLASSICAL)
This is Raga Baageshree video :)& THIS YOU WOULD LIKE as being different application on guitar, tell me about your opinion :)
http://www.4shared.com/file/7314038/ff2f1611/Raga_on_Guitar.html

(WESTERN CLASSICAL)
Minuet in G; J.S. Bach
http://www.4shared.com/file/7715169/d7b09d86/Demo_-_guitarmonk__Minute_in_G_JS_Bach_.html

(RHYTHM DEMO)
Click the following link to download the "STYLES OF RHYTHMS" DEMO.
http://www.4shared.com/file/7692113/1edf4282/thepassionofmonk_0002.html

shuklas
26th February 2007, 04:46 AM
Friends-

Please do download - Over 1.7.GB -Hindustani Classical Music Uploaded by us-

D.Sursangat's Collection
http://www.4shared.com/dir/2044749/e99f6118/sharing.html

http://www.4shared.com/dir/1700611/cdfe6cea/sharing.html

Shuklas

Vrshuklas@gmail.com

sursangat.com

26th February 2007, 05:55 AM
indiamusiczone.com

GOod collection ... Good musik

srima109
19th October 2007, 11:20 AM
I would like to share one of the website dedicated in expressing important details about mridangam which is a main percussion instrument in South Indian Classical Music /Carnatic Muisic and also in "fusion Programs that incorporate both western an Mridangam Instruments. You may want to know more details visit: http://www.mridangams.com

srima109
19th October 2007, 11:45 AM
Important topics regarding all aspects of mridangam Talas Instruments maintanence, Special Imported paste TVG paste etc...Theory and Applications of talas explained in the Web link: http://www.mridangams.com (http://www.mridangams.com)

Janar
17th August 2008, 08:55 AM
Go cooltoad.com dudes!! You'll love it..

sasibaloo
17th November 2008, 04:25 AM
You can browse and enjoy CM and HM by young artistes in the following sites.

www.ksar15.org
www.swaralahari.org.

sasibaloo

aanaa
10th May 2009, 02:06 AM
Thiruvasagam by Ilaiyaraja

[html:50d5b9d720]
<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/5iv4i4MZI7s&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/5iv4i4MZI7s&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>[/html:50d5b9d720]

rana19451
7th February 2011, 10:58 PM
www.alaap-agragharana.com features some excellent , highly appealing alaaps in a very rare style , sung by an unknown singer who died 30 years back . These rare songs have been equally highly acclaimed by both ordinary listeners and well known connoisseurs. The site is completely non-commercial and allows free download of all the songs .
Please visit the site . Hopefully you will not be disappointed .

venkatakailasam
15th September 2011, 09:23 PM
Shri lakshmanji: Can I include my Carnatic music blogs at:

E SWARA at:
http://myblogkumara.blogspot.com/
(carnatic music )
Saieswara at:
http://e-swari.blogspot.com/

(For Carnatic Devotional and Astrology)
http://apurvaabhi.blogspot.com/
(Annamachariar lyrics and Songs)

And also:

You can view and listen at:( over 1500 songs+Namasankeerthanam+ Barathanatiam
http://www.youtube.com/user/vkailasam

Russellnaz
29th October 2015, 03:42 PM
Topic suggested by Aravind Srinivasan (aravinds98@hotmail.com) on Wed Feb 24 06:44:52 .

I would be thankful if you can send me some interesting websites of Indian Karnatic classical music from where I can down load songs.

Table of Contents (http://forumhub.mayyam.com/hub/lyrsort.php?t=1519)

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCx2uJwwk-VbxDeH-omCHDuQ

This has all the artists with jukebox options.

Lakshman
31st October 2015, 03:36 AM
sangeethapriya.org