PDA

View Full Version : Cyber Crimes, Archival Data & Their Investigation

Ramona
13th October 2010, 07:22 PM
Can you receive software files online by clicking on the wrong button that accepts such files sent to you?

How do such files operate and to achieve what?

I am using the word "file" for the lack of a better word since I have limited knowledge in this area.

Knowledge on cyber violations and archival data welcome. How can such violations be traced and how long such data is stored or can be traced.

Your response is very much appreciated.

Ramona
15th October 2010, 07:23 PM
Come on I need some responses.

Any knowledge on forensic investigations on cyber violations and archival data?

I noticed the other IT thread but this one is for specific discussions.

prashanth12
15th October 2010, 09:03 PM
I don't understand what you're asking. Clicking on a wrong button where? On a website? Clicking on a link in an email? Are you asking how to avoid spyware or viruses?

Ramona
16th October 2010, 02:51 AM
When I log on I get these messages:

"Updates are ready for your computer". "Click to install". I would ignore it. A few times I clicked on the message by accident and I believe by doing so, I may have accepted some of these files I know nothing of. I don't know what they are or how they operate and for what purpose.

Ramona
16th October 2010, 03:32 AM
I also tried to find a cyber centre that investigates cyber crimes, but I only found one in Bangalore, India. I don't know the coverage i.e. if it covers only certain parts of the globe or only India.

I have already been dealing with those directly installed ones relating to problems like those explained here:

http://www.computerforensicshq.com/cyber-crime-incident-response-computer-forensics/

There is limited chance of this repeating itself, I am wondering now if the recent discovery is just another way of obtaining the same objectives or results. I have made certain observation which