View Full Version : Tamil film titles

25th February 2011, 07:47 PM
just wanted to discuss about the interesting titles been given to tamil films since the earlier days.

first lets start with animal titles.
though blue-cross prevents animal torturing, the torture still continues with movie titles...
some of the titles in the recent times are:

sirutthai
singam
puli
aadupuli
aadukalam
nadunisi naaigal

25th February 2011, 07:50 PM
Unimaginative/crass:
sirutthai
singam
puli

25th February 2011, 07:52 PM
sirutthai
singam
puli
aadupuli
aadukalam
nadunisi naaigal
There is one more waiting in the cans. Singam Puli :lol:

And, aadukaLam is playfield :hammer:

arthi2780
25th February 2011, 07:57 PM
Is "aadukalam" an animal name ? just wondering

Forthcomming animal title films :
Adu Puli
Singam Puli

Does animal sounds count also : Garganai

Some tiles : Vella purai, Muratu Kalai, Kalai, Sura, Vengai, Myna, Pachai Kili Muthu Charam, Pasa Paravaigal, Mirugam ... (enough)

25th February 2011, 08:00 PM
Vella purai

வெல்ல புரை -ன்னா என்ன ? :roll:

25th February 2011, 08:02 PM
If this thread is about different titles rather than animal names .few movies comes to my mind are தாய் மகளுக்கு கட்டிய தாலி , குலேபகாவலி , ஜெனோவா

25th February 2011, 08:06 PM
sorry for aadukalam..
en friend orutthan solluvan... aadu'nu peru vechu kozhiya katranga'nu.. andha effectla adhayum pottuten :)

arthi edho tea-kadaila porai saapta nyabagathula irukkanga... adhu vellai pura...

more:
paayum puli
paayumpuliyum padhungum nagamum
pournami naagam

kazhugu
mainaa
kuruvi

25th February 2011, 08:07 PM
If this thread is about different titles rather than animal names .few movies comes to my mind are தாய் மகளுக்கு கட்டிய தாலி , குலேபகாவலி , ஜெனோவா

yes joe, its not about animals, any diff titles can be discussed here.
kulebagaavali'na enna?

25th February 2011, 08:14 PM
kulebagaavali'na enna?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gul-e-Bakavali

arthi2780
25th February 2011, 08:19 PM
SoftSword : Your favorite title : Padayappa ;)

25th February 2011, 08:21 PM
exactly...
when that title was given, it was so embarassing to even discuss abt this title... so weird then...
now another dull one 'ranaa'

V_S
25th February 2011, 09:46 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gul-e-Bakavali
But I remember in the film they used to mention 'Kuleb' as the flower and 'Bagaavali' is the kingdom (country) which has that flower.

25th February 2011, 10:25 PM
But I remember in the film they used to mention 'Kuleb' as the flower and 'Bagaavali' is the kingdom (country) which has that flower.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Epiphyllum_oxypetalum

Nice flower with a rare kind of fragrance!

We had in a pot when living in Kerala and this rarely malarndhifies and that happens only during night.

The first time, we were awake for hours - watching the whole process (as it will vAdify the next morning).

A picture from wikipedia :

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/6/6e/Epiphyllum_oxypetalum_flower.JPG/280px-Epiphyllum_oxypetalum_flower.JPG

cinema
25th February 2011, 11:06 PM
ithu thaanda police

25th February 2011, 11:16 PM
திரைப்படத்தலைப்புகள் மலையாளத்தில் கொஞ்சம் கவித்துவமாக இருப்பது வழக்கம்.

ஆனால் ஒரு பச்சை மலையாளியே வியந்து போற்றிய தமிழ்ப்படத்தலைப்பு : "அலைகள் ஓய்வதில்லை"

இவ்வளவு அழகாக வேறெந்த மொழியிலும் சொல்ல முடியாது என்று அவர் முழு மனதுடன் பாராட்டியது எனக்கு மறக்க முடியாத அனுபவம் :-)

26th February 2011, 02:45 AM
alaigal oyvadhillai... whats special about this...
there are many similar:
payanangal mudivadhillai...
gopurangal saaivadhillai...

V_S
26th February 2011, 03:29 AM
Some very thoughtful titles, should be great films too!
dishyum
ko
June R
ji
ei (sarathkumar)
E - jeeva
tha
kokki

few more...
A Aa E Ee
Kulir 100°
Vedigundu Murugesan (so many with nicknames)
Quick Gun Murugan
Saa Boo Three
villu
sura
va quarter cutting

26th February 2011, 04:29 AM
there are many similar:

AO was the first (others followed).

From that friend's POV, that title cannot be expressed as stylishly in any other language that he knew of (Malayalam / Hindi / English)

26th February 2011, 05:33 AM
ithu thaanda police

:lol::lol:

26th February 2011, 09:44 AM
paththaavadhu padichittu summaa irukkom - saw a poster in Saidapet. padam vandhudhaanu theriyala

26th February 2011, 09:52 AM
alaigal oyvadhillai... whats special about this....everything.
Bharathiraja's titles are well thought of.

On screen it read as: Bharathirajavin Alaigal Oivathillai

Similarly, he paid tribute to Sivaji, in Bharathirajavin Mudhal Mariyathai.

When he joined back with IR, Bharathirajavin (En) Uyir Thozhan

26th February 2011, 10:04 AM
Wow, speaks highly of the man's humility.

26th February 2011, 10:09 AM
Wow, speaks highly of the man's humility.he probably saw it as self-confidence

but he met his waterloo in Bharathirajavin Kodi Parakkudhu :rotfl:

26th February 2011, 10:17 AM
:lol: Imagine if he had directed films like Andharanggam, for instance.

26th February 2011, 10:19 AM
:rotfl: T E N

26th February 2011, 10:20 AM
he wouldnt have named it such. :poke:
its always postive...

Bharathirajavin Vedham Pudhidhu
Bharathirajavin Kadalora Kavithaigal

26th February 2011, 10:22 AM
Well, for one, Bharathirajavin Taj Mahal is a blatant lie.

26th February 2011, 10:29 AM
maybe its just Bharathirajavin Bommlaattam? :boo:

26th February 2011, 11:09 AM

Or 'Chinnaveedu'?

26th February 2011, 11:44 AM
AO: Romeo & Juliet kaalthulerndhu nadakurathu thaan

BR's female intree/leads has some nice titles

Pudhumai pen - Revathy
Kathal Oviyam - Radha
Kadalora Kavithaigal - Rekha
Nadodi Thendral - Ranjitha
pudhu nellu pudhu naathu - Suganya
kangalal kaithu sei - Priyamani
Bommalattam - Kajal Agarwal :lol:
Captain magal - kushbo :lol:

26th February 2011, 12:28 PM
16 vayadhinile??

Sigappu rojakkal ?

27th February 2011, 08:15 PM
there are many similar:

alaigal oyvadhillai is truth
g s -- paisa gopuram
p m -- every payanam will end at some stage.. atleast when the traveller dies

printhan
27th February 2011, 08:56 PM
g s -- paisa gopuram

Ahaa.. ithuvallava vilakkam..

Dinesh84
27th February 2011, 09:08 PM
Tik tik tik

when ever i see this title, i am remembered of alwa vaasu's dialogue ..

28th February 2011, 12:43 AM
g s -- paisa gopuram

when the traveller dies, the journey is incomplete.

28th February 2011, 12:44 AM
Tik tik tik

when ever i see this title, i am remembered of alwa vaasu's dialogue ..

indha title'a oru site'la thamizh'la potrundhanga.... sadaarnu paatthuttu naan apdiyae shock aagitten :lol:

28th February 2011, 12:53 AM
சுவரில்லாத சித்திரங்கள்
புதிய வார்ப்புகள்
நிறம் மாறாத பூக்கள்
எத்தனை கோணம் எத்தனை பார்வை
தூரத்து இடி முழக்கம்
கண் சிவந்தால் மண் சிவக்கும்
கிளிப்பேச்சு கேட்கவா
குருதிப் புனல்

arthi2780
28th February 2011, 08:50 PM
Enakkul Oruvan

28th February 2011, 09:20 PM
namma honest-kaaga : sirayil pootha chinna malar

arthi2780
28th February 2011, 09:23 PM
sirayil pootha chinna malar

Enga walla ya ? (lol)

28th February 2011, 09:25 PM
????????????

arthi2780
1st March 2011, 02:59 PM
Ridicule Titles = name of the hero character :
Red, Kokki, Malayur Mamatiyan, Komberi Mookan, Ji, Jaggu Bhai, Citizen, Vasool Raja MBBS, Padayappa ...

Ridicule Titles : No sense
Va Da, Rajathi Raja ... Krishna Kamarajan, Aye, A AA E EE, Sura, Villu, Kuruvi, Dishyum, Youth, Once More, ...

1st March 2011, 03:12 PM
Sila Nerangalil Sila Manidhargal
Oru Veedu Iru Vaasal

1st March 2011, 04:00 PM
Red, Kokki, Malayur Mamatiyan, Komberi Mookan, Ji, Jaggu Bhai, Citizen, Vasool Raja MBBS, Padayappa ...

Va Da, Rajathi Raja ... Krishna Kamarajan, Aye, A AA E EE, Sura, Villu, Kuruvi, Dishyum, Youth, Once More, ...

malayur mammattiyaan ellam riducule'a? maybe announce pannappo....
apdipaattha haridhas kooda hero peru dhaan... adhum dhaan ridicule...

enna kodumai... aayidha elutthu'nu vech aotthukkureenga... a aa e ee'nu vechaa otthukka mattringa...

1st March 2011, 04:08 PM

Well, he actually made "BharathirajAvin vAlibamE vA vA". Would be funny if he had made it now :-)

1st March 2011, 04:12 PM
Well, he actually made "BharathirajAvin vAlibamE vA vA". Would be funny if he had made it now :-) :lol: :lol:

Dhakshan
1st March 2011, 04:13 PM
enna kodumai... aayidha elutthu'nu vech aotthukkureenga... a aa e ee'nu vechaa otthukka mattringa...

:lol:. Room pottu yosipingalo..

1st March 2011, 05:13 PM

add also veera ... and ranaa ... explaination irunthalum, title paakum pothu :shock:

arthi2780
1st March 2011, 09:04 PM
"Action" Titles : Vetaikaran, Maaveeran, Paruthi Veeran, Madurai Veeran, 1000thil Oruvan, Kaki Sattai, Walter Vetrivel, Captain Prabhakaran, Nethi Adi, Sanda Kozhi, Yudham Sei, ...

"Work" Titles : Vellaikaran, Kavalkaran, Padagoti, Meenava Nanban, Ejaman, Villu Pattu Karan, Kargattakaran, ...

"Relation" Titles : Mapillai, ... :( - See softsword listing below (post #50)

"Danger" Titles : Andha oru Nimidam, Nadusini Naigal, Uchakatam, Neeya, Athe Kangal, Yaradi Nee Mohini, 13am n° Veedu, Satham Podathae, Naan Sigapu Manithan,

"Elements" Titles : Neerum Nerupum, Thaneer Thaneer, Vanamey Ellai, Kadal Meengal, Sevandha Mann, Moodu Pani, ...

1st March 2011, 09:48 PM
relation'la neraya iruku arthi...
maaman magal
captain magal
emtan magan
thambi
chinna thambi
engal annan
periyannan
en aasai machan
therku theru machan
enga maama
murai maaman
pangaali

pls add...

prashanth12
1st March 2011, 09:52 PM

Agree.
Most unimaginative titles: hero's name, an animal's name, or a single english word.

1st March 2011, 10:17 PM
chinna thambi

Another interesting thing about titles is "sentimentu".

As chinnathambi was a huge hit, they started naming many Prabhu movies as "chinnaxxxx" (chinna jameen, chinnavar, chinna maapLE etc).

The worst case of such superstitiion is the Thamizh rendering of "thanikkAttu rAjA". It was "தனி காட்டு ராஜா" with no "க்", to make the count of letters not 8. (8 is considered nattam / nashtam by farmer / biz community in TN. I have seen villagers counting the grains in measures like "lAbam, reNdu, moonu, nAlu, anju, ARu, Ezhu, Ezharai, ombOthu" :lol:)

Note: West is no holy cow in this aspect either, Boeing does not have seat number 13 in flights

1st March 2011, 10:24 PM
Thes best tiltles

1) Singam - Lion
2) Sura - Shark
3) PeN singam - Lioness
4) Singam Puli - Lion Vs Tiger
5) Siruthai - Leopard
6) Paayum Puli - Jumping Tiger
7) Kazhugu - Eagle
8) Nagam - Cobra

1st March 2011, 10:27 PM
guess endhiran shankar likes no.8...
and the boeing thing is funny... namma oora vida inga pei pisasukku adhigam bayapadranga pola.

1st March 2011, 10:37 PM
Thes best tiltles

1) Singam - Lion
2) Sura - Shark
3) PeN singam - Lioness
4) Singam Puli - Lion Vs Tiger
5) Siruthai - Leopard
6) Paayum Puli - Jumping Tiger
7) Kazhugu - Eagle
8) Nagam - Cobra

9) Raja Nagam - King Cobra

1st March 2011, 10:46 PM
apart from Wild life influence, we have landscape influences too

1) Annamalai
2) Ezhumalai
3) yErimalai

printhan
1st March 2011, 10:49 PM
oor names..

Thirupathi
Thirupaatchi
Pazhani
Sivakasi
Thiruththani
tharmapuri

1st March 2011, 10:53 PM
Minor correction on the seat number 13 on flights (http://www.airlinereporter.com/2009/11/row-13-some-airlines-have-it-some-dont/)

It seems the problem is with Airlines (and may not be Boeing). I have seen #13 seat in Airbus & Embraer flights but not on Boeings...it's probably a coincidence.

2nd March 2011, 12:51 AM
One of the most irritating movie titles ever in TF - billA :-(

Unfortunately, this enjoyed a repeat and there may be another as well - corruption beyond redemption!

(For those who don't know history, Billa was a child-molester / murderer in Delhi and was given capital punishment. One heartless TF producer glorified that brute's name by sticking it to Rajinikanth. Another producer happily followed up, attaching his associate's name also to Rajinikanth - Ranga, Billa's accomplice brute who also met with the same punishment...that way, two of the ugliest criminals in Indian history were glorified by TN movie fellows)

2nd March 2011, 12:57 AM
More stupidity around that billA name was this huge, huge popular song 'my name is billA', sung by all impressionable youth of TN :-(

How many responsible / good characters of history had similar publicity in TF / TF songs?

And we complain about corrupt society / politicians etc...அயோக்கியனுக்கு மகத்துவம் கொடுத்தால் சமுதாயம் எப்படி விளங்குமாம்?

arthi2780
2nd March 2011, 02:07 AM
For those who don't know history, Billa was ...

Thats a news to me, and thanks for the info. Did Billa the culprit accussed before or after the 80's ?
Anyway, Billa name is catchy, and I feel thats the only reason they choose that name. Ranga too ...
Maybe soon there will be another History poping up around the title "Veera" to be "Veerappan" and Rajini giving Homage to him too ... just wondering !

2nd March 2011, 02:20 AM
Did Billa the culprit accussed before or after the 80's ?
Anyway, Billa name is catchy, and I feel thats the only reason they choose that name. Ranga too ...

Billa-Ranga were the headline newsmakers when the name was chosen for the remake of Amitabh's Don.

It was obviously for the supposedly "shock value" of the name - nothing to do with "catchiness / being cool etc". BTW, what does 'billa' mean in Thamizh? How many 80's people of TN had that name? And what's cool / catchy about it? :confused:

That someone talks about that name being "catchy" after 30 years shows how paedophile history can be conveniently hidden and criminals given glory - if that's packaged along with a mega star / catchy meesic etc.

At least some responsible magazine columns those days criticized the producer for the choice (who ofcourse had "tholikkatti" and dusted off such critics).

arthi2780
2nd March 2011, 02:21 AM
"Good characters of history" Titles : Karnan, Avvaiyyar, Tenali Raman, Sri Valli, Sri Raghavendrar, Saraswathi Sabatham, Kandhan Karunai, Thiruvarutchelvar, Harichandra, Sivakamiyin Selvan, Veerapandiya Kattabomman, Bharathi Kanamma, Vali (but negative use), Asoka, Bharathi, Kapal Otiya Thamizhan, ...

arthi2780
2nd March 2011, 02:26 AM
Billa-Ranga were the headline newsmakers when the name was chosen for the remake of Amitabh's Don.

I did not know that too. (I was 5 then :)) I understand your emotion on this issue ... and myself, I am :(
Let us know more (facts) news like this :)

2nd March 2011, 02:54 AM
Fazil's titles are usually a delight:

Some aesthetic ones :

பூவே பூச்சூட வா
பூவிழி வாசலிலே
கிளிப்பேச்சு கேட்க வா
காதலுக்கு மரியாதை
கண்ணுக்குள் நிலவு

And some better-than-average ones:

அரங்கேற்ற வேளை
வருஷம் 16
என் பொம்முக்குட்டி அம்மாவுக்கு
கற்பூர முல்லை

Ofcourse, his Malayalam ones are lot more aesthetic :-)

arthi2780
2nd March 2011, 03:13 AM
Fazil's titles are usually a delight: => Yes :)

How about Balu Mahendra's :

Azhiyadha Kolangal
Moodupani
Moondram Pirai
Un Kannil Neer Vazhinthaal (one of my favorite films ; I like every film of Mahendra sir though)
Neengal Kettavai
Rettai Vaal Kuruvi
Vanna Vanna Pookal
Raman Abdullah & Julie Ganapathi
Adhu Oru Kana Kaalam

2nd March 2011, 10:04 PM
=> Yes :)

How about Balu Mahendra's :

Mostly nice ofcourse! He tries to give poetic titles with some embedded meaning (moondRam piRai, for e.g.)

Another nice title by Robert-Rajasekar :
பாலைவனச்சோலை
(I believe this got reused recently)

Some of Mahendran's were nice too :

முள்ளும் மலரும்
நெஞ்சத்தைக்கிள்ளாதே
உதிரிப்பூக்கள்

However, he also had some unimpressive ones (Johny, naNdu, metti, poottAdha poottukkaL, azhagiya kaNNE)

2nd March 2011, 10:06 PM
Ofcourse, he tries to give poetic titles with some embedded meaning (moondRam piRai, for e.g.)

Another nice title by Robert-Rajasekar :
பாலைவனச்சோலை
(I believe this got reused recently)

Some of Mahendran's were nice too :

முள்ளும் மலரும்
நெஞ்சத்தைக்கிள்ளாதே
உதிரிப்பூக்கள்

However, he also had some unimpressive ones (Johny, naNdu, metti, poottAdha poottukkaL, azhagiya kaNNE)

app, is gardening ur hobby?

2nd March 2011, 10:08 PM
app, is gardening ur hobby?

Ofcourse yes, when in India...can't do much now, in a 2nd floor apt here :-(

2nd March 2011, 10:23 PM
In this aspect, Mani / Shankar are very weak...bland stuff.
(I have a doubt that Shankar got his first film's title from me, through someone who moved around with me during school days..."gentleman" was the hero of my kattukkathai narrations to smaller children, the stories were mostly inspired by muthu comics but irumbukkai mAyAvi will be replaced with this "gentleman" in a slightly localized version...there's another reason for me to suspect Shankar as he cited someone close to my dad -and also me - as his inspiration for a character in that movie in an interview :) )

2nd March 2011, 10:27 PM
(I have a doubt that Shankar got his first film's title from me, through someone who moved around with me during school days..."gentleman" was the hero of my kattukkathai narrations to smaller children, the stories were mostly inspired by muthu comics but irumbukkai mAyAvi will be replaced with this "gentleman" in a slightly localized version...there's another reason for me to suspect Shankar as he cited someone close to my dad -and also me - as his inspiration for a character in that movie in an interview :) )

neenga dhanae adhu...
inimae ungala robinhood'nu koopidanum.

2nd March 2011, 10:29 PM
Sorry, it should read - this someone was also close to me, he was dad's friend and used to call me 'marumaganE' :-)

2nd March 2011, 10:45 PM
i was k'ing app.

2nd March 2011, 11:45 PM
SS, :-)

One good title by Shankar - 'anniyan'.

Ofcourse, titles are like book covers and that's about it. There was this movie with a lovely title "ஈரவிழிக்காவியங்கள்". It also had one of the best scores ever from IR :-(

Fortunately, not many had to undergo the punishment of watching this movie as it didn't survive the first day in most places I think :-)

3rd March 2011, 01:05 AM

There you go.. mauna raagam, naayakan, akni natsathiram, ithayak koovil, alaipaayuthee, kaNNukkuL muthamittaaL, aayutha ezhuthu - all can be considered as classic titles.

3rd March 2011, 01:19 AM
kaNNukkuL muthamittaaL - this is classic, 'kannaththil muththamittAl' is ordinary :-)

mouna rAgam - suttufied from Bagyaraj's 'mouna geethangaL'.

nAyakan, agni * - ordinary everyday stuff, what's classic about these :confused2:

Agree on ithayakkOvil & Ayudha ezhuththu. Excellent titles :thumbsup: though I've not seen either of the movies and cannot comment on how appropriate these were...

(alai pAyudhE, borrowed from a classical song, was kind of inappropriate for the movie IMO)

3rd March 2011, 01:39 AM
While kAdhalan, mudhalvan, enthiran, nAyakan, thaLabathi, uyirE, rOjA, Indhiyan, pourNami, amAvAsai etc are non-irritating titles (i.e. not offensive as "pOkkiri", "poRukki" etc), they are what one would call unimaginative / bland.

MR had another interesting one : பகல் நிலவு :-)

3rd March 2011, 01:43 AM
It would have been phenomenal if they retained Sujatha's "என் இனிய இயந்திரா", for example, instead of the neenga evvalvu periya "mekkAnical" :-)

arthi2780
3rd March 2011, 01:56 AM
MR had another interesting one : Pagal Nilavu :-)

Whats interesting about it, its normal if you had considered "Agni Natchathiram" normal.
Mani/Shankar, I accept the remarks on their titles, but they did have a style - Shankar titles are mostly "one" word (another style is it does not correspond with the movie ... LoL :))

But one director, who is considered sucessful - Gautham Vasudevan Menon - has no interest in titling his films. My view is that, all his titles are not artistic as much as he is projected to be ! latest title being "Nadusini Naigal". Remarks/views are welcome :)

arthi2780
3rd March 2011, 01:58 AM
mauna raagam, naayakan, akni natsathiram, ithayak koovil, alaipaayuthee, kaNNukkuL muthamittaaL, aayutha ezhuthu - all can be considered as classic titles.

But none are neither innovative nor original. But good titles though.

arthi2780
3rd March 2011, 02:00 AM
It also had one of the best scores ever from IR :-(

ஈரவிழிக்காவியங்கள் = I have not seen this movie (never heard about it, but I got a huge collection of Raja sir songs. Will look in my collection tonight). Could you give me more info on this movie please. If you talk about IR quoting "one of THE best", then its a must watch :)

arthi2780
3rd March 2011, 02:07 AM
(i.e. not offensive as "pOkkiri", "poRukki" etc), they are what one would call unimaginative / bland.

Once I got blasted for expressing the same : Enna padam title idhu, pokiri Poriki inu ... got a warning with Vijay Punch dialogues. Beleive me they repeated his dialogues to convey a message... :) Was scared to death that I have not watched this movie yet ... LoL but saw it in Telugu. I like Telugu masala - Total Crap that you fall in love with it (just like exploitation movies of the 70's and 80's) ... :).

3rd March 2011, 02:21 AM
Whats interesting about it, its normal if you had considered "Agni Natchathiram" normal.
Mani/Shankar, I accept the remarks on their titles, but they did have a style - Shankar titles are mostly "one" word (another style is it does not correspond with the movie ... LoL :))

But one director, who is considered sucessful - Gautham Vasudevan Menon - has no interest in titling his films. My view is that, all his titles are not artistic as much as he is projected to be ! latest title being "Nadusini Naigal". Remarks/views are welcome :)
kadhalan
indhiyan
mudhalvan
boys
anniyan
sivaji
endhiran

idhellam padathukku sammandhamana title dhane....

and kaakka kaakka was related... vinnaithandi varuvaya... was apt.

arthi2780
3rd March 2011, 02:25 AM
[QUOTE=SoftSword;645228]idhellam padathukku sammandhamana title dhane....QUOTE]

Repeatu : "Shankar titles are mostly "one" word (another style is it does not correspond with the movie" ;)

arthi2780
3rd March 2011, 02:27 AM
kaakka kaakka was related... vinnaithandi varuvaya... was apt.

A story about an "encounter" specialist is titled "Kaaka Kaaka" ?
Vinnaithandi Varuvaya : Did not see the movie !

3rd March 2011, 02:27 AM

Moon is typically associated with evening / night, even though we can at times gaze at that little faded moon on the sky during daytime. In other words, the 'day time moon' is neither paid much attention to nor celebrated by kavi's. So, some amount of curiosity is generated (much like mouna geetham, the oxymoron thingy)

OTOH, 'agni natchaththiram' is a routine summertime phenomena in TN where people spend a few weeks cursing the scorching sun, sweating etc with 100+ deg F temp.

Had he named "kaththiri veyyil", it would have at least recalled an old Thamizh term to "padiththa pAmararkaL", arousing some curiosity :-)

3rd March 2011, 02:30 AM
ஈரவிழிக்காவியங்கள் = I have not seen this movie (never heard about it, but I got a huge collection of Raja sir songs. Will look in my collection tonight). Could you give me more info on this movie please. If you talk about IR quoting "one of THE best", then its a must watch :)

One of the dumbest movies (not worth discussing, Pratap Pothen lives in hut, wearing jeans, playing guitar, hoping to become a rock star someday in Chennai...need I say more about this 80's flop?).

It had this shiny title and excellent Raja score, celebrated by many of his HC fans.
To listen to the songs, please go HERE (http://www.thiraipaadal.com/album.php?ALBID=ALBIRR00125&lang=en)

arthi2780
3rd March 2011, 02:30 AM
OTOH, 'agni natchaththiram' is a routine summertime phenomena in TN where people spend a few weeks cursing the scorching sun, sweating etc with 100+ deg F temp.

I am "so so" convinced with your "Pagal Nilavu" explanation, but your take on Agni Natchathiram is funny !

3rd March 2011, 02:45 AM
kaNNukkuL muthamittaaL - this is classic, 'kannaththil muththamittAl' is ordinary :-)

mouna rAgam - suttufied from Bagyaraj's 'mouna geethangaL'.

nAyakan, agni * - ordinary everyday stuff, what's classic about these :confused2:

Agree on ithayakkOvil & Ayudha ezhuththu. Excellent titles :thumbsup: though I've not seen either of the movies and cannot comment on how appropriate these were...

(alai pAyudhE, borrowed from a classical song, was kind of inappropriate for the movie IMO)

If "காதலுக்கு மரியாதை" can be an aesthetic title, then the above mentioned Mani titles also.. I still consider "நாயகன்" is a poetic, classic, aesthetic title for such a story been narrated in that film. Its plain and simple.. but still feels good.

3rd March 2011, 03:02 AM
ok, IMO, nAyakan is as commonplace / ordinary a title as singam / siRuththai / thalaivan / rAjA / manthiri / vivasAyi / thozhilALi :-)

While appropriate to the movie, nothing to arouse my curiosity or alert the grey cells which some title like "K Mariyathai" definitely did to me. Obviously, opinions and choices differ and there's no rule here.

Another interesting title - T Rajendar's - "ஒருதலை ராகம்"

arthi2780
3rd March 2011, 03:08 AM
To listen to the songs

Thanks, just listened to them. Never heard them before (do not know how I missed them). One thing is for sure, "Opening Kingu" na Raja sir than !

3rd March 2011, 03:38 AM
idhellam padathukku sammandhamana title dhane....

Repeatu : "Shankar titles are mostly "one" word (another style is it does not correspond with the movie" ;)

but nan sonna listla irukkura titles ellaam 'correspond to movie'ya illaya?

and reg the KK, did i understand the meaning of kaakka wrong? kaatthal means protecting rite? policemen are not protectors?

3rd March 2011, 12:07 PM
Another category: Telugu dubbing titles:

Idhu Thaanda Police
Naan dhaan da CID
Yenga da unga MLA
Yavana irundha enakkenna

But these are better than our classics Eee, Aei, Tha, Va, Ko :-(

3rd March 2011, 12:15 PM
Hattori..

How could u forget 'Pongada neengalum unga arasiyalum'?

Dhakshan
3rd March 2011, 12:18 PM
Idhu Thaanda Police
Naan dhaan da CID
Yenga da unga MLA
Yavana irundha enakkenna
'Pongada neengalum unga arasiyalum'

:lol: :rotfl2:.

3rd March 2011, 12:35 PM
Ajya, appidi onnu vandhudha? Actually Telugu titles themselves were quite funny - Assembly Rowdi, Donga Alludu.

I like many of Kamal's movie titles. He never sticks to the trend. When single name titles like Thalapathy, Guna, Sathya were getting popular he came with MMKR. Kurudhippunal, Nala Damayanthi, Avvai Shanmughi were quite different too.

3rd March 2011, 12:45 PM
HH,

See the dubbing films list of 92..

http://www.lakshmansruthi.com/cineprofiles/english%20Films/1992.asp

Few other interesting dubbed film titles..

EM PURUSHAN ETHIR VEETU PONDAATI
KAUNDER PONNA KOKKA
NEE MANTHIRIYA IRUNTHA ENAKENNA

Dhakshan
3rd March 2011, 12:53 PM
:lol: Podhum ya, office le ellaarum oru maadhiri paakuraanga.

SuraTheLeader
3rd March 2011, 01:09 PM

Idhu enna genre film....:confused2:

3rd March 2011, 01:12 PM
HH,

See the dubbing films list of 92..

http://www.lakshmansruthi.com/cineprofiles/english%20Films/1992.asp

Few other interesting dubbed film titles..

KAUNDER PONNA KOKKA
NEE MANTHIRIYA IRUNTHA ENAKENNA

:rotfl: shabba, thanga mudiyala

3rd March 2011, 02:05 PM
While kAdhalan, mudhalvan, enthiran, nAyakan, thaLabathi, uyirE, rOjA, Indhiyan, pourNami, amAvAsai
app in great form :rotfl:

Idhu Thaanda Police
Naan dhaan da CID
Yenga da unga MLA
Yavana irundha enakkenna
'Pongada neengalum unga arasiyalum'
The glory of it is one of this is a remake of Kireedom, dont remember which.

3rd March 2011, 02:07 PM
Could be the dubbed version of EVV Sathyanarayana(recently famous in Cine Quiz thread)'s "Maa Avida meedhottu, mee Avida chAlA manchidhi". Literal translation of it is "en poNdAtti mEl ANai, un pondAtti romba nallava"
Now, beat that for imagination, all you tamil title lovers :-)

3rd March 2011, 02:44 PM

Remake of Kireedom is 'Aambilai'

arthi2780
3rd March 2011, 02:56 PM
Jagadeka Veerudu Athiloka Sundari aka Kadhal Devathai

printhan
3rd March 2011, 11:27 PM
OMG.. :rotfl:

unga thollai thaanga mudiyela.. velai seiya vidungappa... naan sirikka ellarum oru maathiri paakiraanga...

4th March 2011, 12:15 AM

ennanga neenga ipdi SJS version aakiteengha

4th March 2011, 01:20 AM
kudaikkuL mazhai

4th March 2011, 02:44 AM
ennanga neenga ipdi SJS version aakiteengha

It was possibly a typo by Venkkiram and I just used it :-)

4th March 2011, 03:05 AM
In the movie "engal thanga rAjA", Sivaji did a rowdy disguise character. Much like "dharmaththin thalaivan" but not dual role, the soft doctor character actually does not die but pretend to have been killed and reveals in the end that the cooling-glass, meesai, motor cycle slam-bang rowdy is one and the same...that rowdy character had terrific response from his fans.

Thrilled by the response, some jAlrA director decided to make a movie with the title named after that rowdy character.

It was "பட்டாக்கத்தி பைரவன்".

The songs 'எங்கெங்கோ செல்லும் என் எண்ணங்கள் ' and 'தேவதை, ஒரு தேவதை, பறந்து வந்தாள் வென்றாள் சென்றாள்' are fondly remembered by anyone who loves the IR-SPB-SJ combo even decades after they arrived...though one doesn't like to link such sweeties with such a harsh film title :-)

4th March 2011, 04:24 AM
Dr. Jaggesh Creations in Kannada

Bhanda Nanna Ganda = english translation " My husband is a coward"
Tharle Nan Maga - My son is an Idiot
Yaardo Duddu Yallamana Jaathre " In someone's money Yallamma's Fair" :lol:

4th March 2011, 07:24 AM
In the movie "engal thanga rAjA", Sivaji did a rowdy disguise character. Much like "dharmaththin thalaivan" but not dual role, the soft doctor character actually does not die but pretend to have been killed and reveals in the end that the cooling-glass, meesai, motor cycle slam-bang rowdy is one and the same...that rowdy character had terrific response from his fans.

Thrilled by the response, some jAlrA director decided to make a movie with the title named after that rowdy character.

It was "பட்டாக்கத்தி பைரவன்".

The songs 'எங்கெங்கோ செல்லும் என் எண்ணங்கள் ' and 'தேவதை, ஒரு தேவதை, பறந்து வந்தாள் வென்றாள் சென்றாள்' are fondly remembered by anyone who loves the IR-SPB-SJ combo even decades after they arrived...though one doesn't like to link such sweeties with such a harsh film title :-)I didn't know it's origin, thanks app. But the film itself was terrible. Horrible. Arrr.....:rant:. But the songs, especially Thevathai, lovely.

4th March 2011, 09:05 PM
There were also some "serial" titles for Sivaji films during early 80's :
பைலட் பிரேம்நாத், ஜஸ்டிஸ் கோபிநாத், பட்லர் உமாநாத்(?)

4th March 2011, 09:10 PM
Butler illai Hitler. I have seen that film in Doordarshan.

4th March 2011, 09:27 PM
Butler illai Hitler.

Sorry for the miss :-(

4th March 2011, 09:54 PM
Yen Purushan Yethir Veettu Ponnu

Ya , nee romba asigama irrukea ! or something..

5th March 2011, 01:48 AM
When the Sivasankari novel "ஒரு சிங்கம் முயலாகிறது" was filmed, the title given was "அவன் அவள் அது".

I've read the novel but didn't see the movie. A very apt and interesting title for the story.
(Though happily married, the gynaec wife - who is internally disabled and cannot conceive - insists on having a child of her husband thru a "paid garba pAththiram". The husband ends up committing adultery with the pregnant surrogate, i.e. singam becomes muyal per Sivasankari but the movie director thankfully changed it into a better one)

5th March 2011, 01:51 AM
oh -Oh, there seems to be two movies with this title.

The 80's one was what I talked about, starring Sivakumar / Lakshmi / Sripriya. There was a sweet MSV-SPB-VJ song with the pallavi "இல்லம் சங்கீதம் அதில் ராகம் சம்சாரம்"

There seems to be a recent one starring Madhavan. No idea whether that was a remake.

5th March 2011, 03:27 AM
தழுவாத கைகள்
மெல்லத் திறந்தது கதவு
விடியும் வரை காத்திரு
ஆகாயத்தாமரைகள்
நினைவே ஒரு சங்கிதம்
அம்மன் கோயில் கிழக்காலே
பாடாத தேனிக்கள்
தண்டிக்கப்பட்ட நியாயங்கள்
புவனா ஒரு கேள்விக்குறி
சாட்டை இல்லாத பம்பரம்
யாரோ எழுதிய கவிதை

5th March 2011, 09:05 AM
There seems to be a recent one starring Madhavan. No idea whether that was a remake.no relation
its naan aval adhu and is supposed to be a ghost story
bayaththula innum padam veli varala :shaking:

5th March 2011, 09:11 AM
azhagaai irukkiraai bayamaai irukkiradhu

5th March 2011, 09:20 AM
azhagaai irukkiraai bayamaai irukkiradhuone of my friends who watched this movie commented

first half - azhagai irukkirai, second half - bayamai irukkiradhu

5th March 2011, 10:15 AM
app_e,

Is KM title ordinary?

Oh no, I love that title. Its a classic, parenting act of conveyancing, convincing, joy, bliss so much meaningful juxtaposition to an adopted child. Whereas Kannukkul Muthamittal totally interprets the meaning.

5th March 2011, 06:09 PM
"kannathil muththamittaal" is hardly original. its from Bharathiyar's song, chinnan chiru kiliye kannamma selva kanjiyamE

கன்னத்தில் முத்தமிட்டால் உள்ளம் தான் கள் வெறி கொள்ளுதடி....

similarly, all Gautam Menon's movie titles are song-derived.

5th March 2011, 07:20 PM
lorry driver raaja kannu

6th March 2011, 08:56 PM
once upon a time, a hubber called OISG opened a thread called anti social films of sivaji based on lorry driver and was eventually forced down to close it although he was a staunch sivaji fan himself :)

Saai
6th March 2011, 09:36 PM
Shivaji gave callsheet for all people he knew it seems...lots of junk movies!

7th March 2011, 07:29 AM
'தூறல் நின்னு போச்சு' - அருமையான நாட்டுப்புற டைட்டில்...அதே மாதிரித்தான் 'தம்பிக்கு எந்த ஊரு' என்பதும் :-)

(மலையாளத்தில் "தூறல்" என்பது "ஆயி" ஆதலால், "சாரல் நின்னு போயி" என்று மாற்றி வெளியிட வேண்டி இருந்தது)

7th March 2011, 08:53 PM
My Recomended titles for future Projects

1) Aadu Maadu
2) Puzhu Poochi
3) E Erumbu

:lol2: :yessir:

Saai
7th March 2011, 08:57 PM
'தூறல் நின்னு போச்சு' - அருமையான நாட்டுப்புற டைட்டில்...அதே மாதிரித்தான் 'தம்பிக்கு எந்த ஊரு' என்பதும் :-)

(மலையாளத்தில் "தூறல்" என்பது "ஆயி" ஆதலால், "சாரல் நின்னு போயி" என்று மாற்றி வெளியிட வேண்டி இருந்தது)

To understand it right

you mean in malayalam "aayi" means drizzle - so to translate "aayi ninnu poyi" would sound ridiculous for tamilians and hence not used

or

in malayalam thooral means aayi (eewwkk [I yam also decent fella reaction]) - which means "thooral ninnu poyi" would sound funny to malayalees..

7th March 2011, 09:05 PM
ஆஹா, ஆயி'க்கும் டபுள் மீனிங்கா:-)

"தூறல்" = excretion in Malayalam...

Saai
7th March 2011, 09:08 PM
ஆஹா, ஆயி'க்கும் டபுள் மீனிங்கா:-)

"தூறல்" = excretion...

just for some confirmation..already in office lots of confusion

while eating

telugu vala : "dinner aayi poyindhi?"

ippothanda saapidreen..adhukkulla epidraa?

arthi2780
8th March 2011, 06:50 PM
telugu vala : "dinner aayi poyindhi?"

ippothanda saapidreen..adhukkulla epidraa?

Kalachitarama ... ellorum siringooo ... :rotfl:

8th March 2011, 06:56 PM
பட்லர் உமாநாத் :rotfl3:

Butler illai Hitler. I have seen that film in Doordarshan. Me too. அதுல கோழை சிவாஜியை வீரனா மாத்துறதுக்கு KR விஜயா ஒரு பாட்டு பாடுவாங்க: motivating him to get inspired by Hitler's veeram :rotfl:

15th March 2011, 08:41 PM
Got reminded of the title "சிவகாமியின் செல்வன்" while posting something on the thread that talks about the new Maniratnam film.

Kalki's first classic had the name "சிவகாமியின் சபதம்" and his final one, with five huge volumes and still a best seller had the name "பொன்னியின் செல்வன்". Both had appeared as weekly serials in the Kalki mag and later had releases as book volumes that enjoyed huge sales. They're now "nationalised" IIRC as gov bought the rights from the owners and made them an "open source". (There are pdf's available on the web for anyone to download and read these classics).

When the famous Hindi film 'ArAdhana' (that had evergreen classic songs as "mere sapnE ki rAni", "roop tErA mastAnA" and the biggest hit for Rajesh Khanna / Sharmila Tagore) got remade in Thamizh with Sivaji Ganesan in 1974, the title given was "சிவகாமியின் செல்வன்", apparently combining the names of two Kalki classics.

Wait, some HC-Sivaji-Kamarajar follower will now come and tell me that the film was titled such because the name of Kamarajar's mother is Sivakami.

That way, a movie with many possible stories behind the title (but didn't live up to any expectations)...

srimal
15th March 2011, 09:39 PM
anyone mentioned these yet ....

en thangachi padichava
aatha naan passayittaen
ellamae en thangachi

we also had a phase after malaiyoor mambattiyan....

karimettu karuvayan
kumbakarai thangaiya
seevalaperi pandi

15th March 2011, 09:45 PM
so how many colors yet?

vennira aadai
karuppu roja
sivappu sooriyan
sivandha mann
pachai kudhirai
dhooratthu pachai
vellai roja?
neelappadam?? ( i mean length ya...)

srimal
15th March 2011, 09:51 PM
sigappu rojakkal
pachai vilakku
neela malargal ???
oru oodhappoo kan chimittugiradhu

vithagan
15th March 2011, 09:52 PM
relation'la neraya iruku arthi...
maaman magal
captain magal
emtan magan
thambi
chinna thambi
engal annan
periyannan
en aasai machan
therku theru machan
enga maama
murai maaman
pangaali

pls add...

Anbulla Appa
Amma vandhachu
En Annan
En Thangai Kalayani
Mapillai
Thambi Pondatti
Purushan Enakku Arasan, En Kanavan etc
Pondaati thevai, Manaivi Ready
Periyamma
Periyavar
Paatti sollai thattadhey

15th March 2011, 10:11 PM
manjaL veiyyil
manjaL malar (matter)
colour kanavugaL

15th March 2011, 10:13 PM
sathya :lol: link please...

15th March 2011, 10:17 PM
link for what? manjaL malar posterla paarthadhudhAn.

15th March 2011, 10:18 PM
thanks for the pm sathya.

16th March 2011, 09:12 AM
Tharle Nan Maga

its a slang usage.... chellamaa use pannuvaanga.

Yaardo Duddu Yallamana Jaathre

its a proverb. similar to "Osila mangalam paaduradhu"

16th March 2011, 10:17 AM
ஊமைவிழிகள்

நெற்றிக்கண்

16th March 2011, 10:17 AM
thanks for the pm sathya.

எமக்கும் ஒரு தனிமடல் :noteeth:

16th March 2011, 12:17 PM
pagal nilavu
iravu sooriyan
Murali acted in both

12th April 2011, 11:40 PM
more animals coming (http://www.dinamani.com/edition/story.aspx?&SectionName=Cinema&artid=402476&SectionID=141&MainSectionID=141&SEO=&Title=)

=====quote====

"சிங்கம்', "சிறுத்தை', "நடுநிசி நாய்கள்', "ஆடு புலி", "குள்ளநரிக் கூட்டம்', "அழகர்சாமியின் குதிரை', "புலிவேஷம்', "முரட்டுக்காளை' என விலங்கினங்களின் பெயர்களை வைப்பதுதான் இப்போதைய தமிழ் சினிமாவின் டிரெண்ட். இந்த வரிசையில் "வரிப்புலி ஜாதி', "சிங்கத்தின் கர்ஜனை', "ஆட்டுக்குட்டி', "புலிப்புள்ள' உள்ளிட்ட பெயர்கள் பதிவு செய்து வைக்கப்பட்டுள்ளதாம்.

====end quote====

lydayaxobia493
27th April 2012, 05:18 PM
Nice thread SS..

I lik to list out some titles of Tamil ilakkiyam saarntha tiltles... hope not listed previous pages...

Almost all GVM titles..

1. Varanam aayiram
2. Nadunishi naaygal
3. Pachaikili muthusaram
4. Ponniyin selvan
5. Kalki

Any else ?

28th April 2012, 12:06 AM
pagal nilavu
iravu sooriyan
Murali acted in both

good find

28th April 2012, 01:49 AM
வெல்ல புரை -ன்னா என்ன ? :roll:

shankarbharath
29th April 2012, 12:34 PM
Titles not used till now (from my very limited knowledge, kindly correct / add)

1. Nizhal Yuddham
2. Agni Paravai
3. Settril malarndha sendhamarai
4. Poontheril kalandhu
5. Tholaidhooram
6. Maru mugam
7. Thaalatukku Oar Thaalam (Oar = Oru)
8. Nadhi Kadalai Thediya Padhai
9. Oru Desam, Oru Nesam
10. Pulveliyum Panithuliyum

29th April 2012, 07:04 PM
nan oru title vechurundhen.. oru kaalathula..

seerippAyum thOtta :shoot:

29th April 2012, 07:09 PM
actually Marumugam is a movie under production starring Daniel Balaji (Vettaiyadu Vilayadu villain).

SenGOEk
15th November 2013, 02:46 AM
-deleted-