View Full Version : || ARR's versatility || (GAME) ||

21st March 2011, 07:21 PM
There are various numbers that Rahman Ji has composed that make us wonder if one person actually composed them.

The aim of this game is to recall two songs of complete different nature and genre and the songs mentioned cannot be repeated later on in the game. In addition to this, both songs have to start from the same letter. Please could you also state the movies name.

OK, here we go:

Pyaara Sa Gaon (Zubeidaa) - Paatshaala (RDB)

21st March 2011, 07:25 PM
I would like to add, both songs should start from the last letter of the previous post. :)

21st March 2011, 07:56 PM
Anbe Anbe Kollaathey (Jeans) - Athiradi kaaran (Sivaji)

21st March 2011, 08:55 PM
Nadhiye (Rhythm) - New New (New)

21st March 2011, 11:01 PM
The speciality of ARR is that he describes a doctrine of versatility within the album itself, within the song itself, within the ludes itself. It
RDB Title Track - Roobaroo
Ariziyan - Rehna Tu (Delhi 6) - Bhor Bhay
Tu Guzarish - Oh Behka (Ghajini)
Pettai Rap - Ennavale (Kadhalan)
Raasathi - Konjum Nilavu (TT)
Narumugaye - Vennila (Iruvar)
Chikku Bukku - En veetu thottathil

21st March 2011, 11:16 PM
Listening to ARR's album is like facing World X1 best bowlers each ball at their home pitch. Either I pretend like Tendulkar or a third umpire stuck with headphones & replays. That short spell is mostly earth-shattering experience.

21st March 2011, 11:22 PM
Sorry for the digression guys. Just an insight thought Keep going.

22nd March 2011, 01:02 PM
Sorry for the digression guys. Just an insight thought Keep going.

No problem

Game contd.

Wahji wahji (Sivaji) - Waltz for romance (Lagaan)

Kumar2020
22nd March 2011, 01:10 PM
Uyirum Neeye (Pavithra) - Uppu Karuvadu (Mudhalvan)!!

22nd March 2011, 01:15 PM
Ella Pugazhum (ATM)
En Kadhale (Duet)

22nd March 2011, 01:53 PM
Shakalaka Baby - SengAththE

22nd March 2011, 02:15 PM
Eechi Elemichhi (Taj Mahal) - Endendrum Punnagai (Alaipayuthey)

arthi2780
24th March 2011, 09:06 PM
Ilamai (GodFather) - Injerungo (Thenali)

25th March 2011, 01:00 PM
New York (SOK) - Madras (May Matham)

Kumar2020
25th March 2011, 07:19 PM
Oh Vennila (Kadhal Desam) - Oruvan Oruvan (Muthu)

music man
25th March 2011, 11:57 PM
Kannaalane(Bombay)-Kaloori Salai(Kadhal Desam)

26th March 2011, 02:26 PM
Yaro Yarodi (Alaipayuthe) - Yaarathu (Mr. Romio)

29th March 2011, 03:19 AM
Yaro Yarodi (Alaipayuthe) - Yaarathu (Mr. Romio)

Last letter = u

So therefore,

Udhaya Udhaya (Udhaya) - Ulundhu vithakkaiyilae (Mudhalvan)

AudazJay
29th March 2011, 07:40 AM
Evano Oruvan (Alaipayuthey) - En veetu thothatil (Gentleman)

thineshan54321
8th April 2011, 09:31 AM
lucky lucky (Ratchagan) - Lothlorien (Lord of the Rings Musical)

good to be back here guys!

akka
8th April 2011, 11:51 AM
No Problem (Love Birds) - Nahin Samne (Taal)

AudazJay
8th April 2011, 01:04 PM
Enna Solla Pogirai (Kandukonden Kandukonden) - Eechambazham (Pavithra)

//hi Thineshan54321 :-D//

23rd April 2011, 02:18 AM
Maaricham (Sillunu oru kaadhal) - Mann mohana (Jodhaa akbar)

8th November 2011, 01:21 AM
Hi all,

I thought it would be great if we start quizzes/puzzles etc. on Rahman ji. This will definitely connect us with Rahman ji's rare output. I will try to post a puzzle on a daily basis.

Here are the first two of many quizzes to come. Enjoy!

Guess the song in which these Rahman ji interludes play? http://www.reverbnation.com/artist/song_details/10895580

Guess the song in which these Rahman ji interludes play? Pt. 2 http://www.reverbnation.com/artist/song_details/10896717

8th November 2011, 04:34 AM
Rahman ji Piano Pieces

http://www.reverbnation.com/artist/song_details/10902137
(http://www.reverbnation.com/artist/song_details/10902137)
Which of these five Piano pieces is the most recent one and can you order these according to release?

13th November 2011, 06:39 AM
Rahman ji's piano pieces Pt. 2.

http://www.reverbnation.com/artist/song_details/10910335

13th November 2011, 06:40 AM
Rahman ji's Flute Pieces

http://www.reverbnation.com/artist/song_details/10922945

13th November 2011, 06:46 AM
nanRi hai Sunilji :thumbsup:

13th November 2011, 06:58 AM
Rahman ji Piano Pieces

(http://www.reverbnation.com/artist/song_details/10902137)
Which of these five Piano pieces is the most recent one and can you order these according to release?
1), 2) Answer is in the throat, couldn't bring out - 90s
3) Jeans
4) yeh taara woh taara
5) mel isaiyE
6) Cry Cry
7) enna vilai azhagE
8)again couldnt remember :oops:

13th November 2011, 07:08 AM
Rahman ji's Flute Pieces

I've uploaded 8 pieces in total and some of them may sound familiar and some may not. Please can you tell me:

1. The songs where these respective pieces feature?

2. The name(s) of the film where the interlude features flute and strings
(equally)? Hint: 2 possible answers.

3. What is the number of the interlude which features in a Prabhu Deva film?

4. Which of these pieces features the late Malaysia Vasudevan?

13th November 2011, 07:11 AM
nanRi hai Sunilji :thumbsup:

Your welcome ji!

Sathya and others, I'm in the process of compiling Rahman ji's guitar pre/inter-ludes & pieces and will be posting a quiz shortly

13th November 2011, 07:12 AM
Hi all,

I thought it would be great if we start quizzes/puzzles etc. on Rahman ji. This will definitely connect us with Rahman ji's rare output. I will try to post a puzzle on a daily basis.

Here are the first two of many quizzes to come. Enjoy!

Guess the song in which these Rahman ji interludes play? http://www.reverbnation.com/artist/song_details/10895580

Guess the song in which these Rahman ji interludes play? Pt. 2 http://www.reverbnation.com/artist/song_details/10896717

Answers:

Guess the song in which these Rahman ji interludes play

1. Udhaya Udhaya (Udhaya)
2. O Kadhale (Kadhal Virus)
3. Porale Ponnuthayi (Karuththamma)
4. Porkalam Ange (Thenali)
5. Thirakkadha (En Swasa Kaatre)

Guess the song in which these Rahman ji interludes play Pt. 2

1. Vaan Nila (Kadhal Virus)
2. So Gaye Hain (Zubeidaa – The Story of a Princess)
3. Sandhipoma (Enakku 20 Unakku 18)
4. Idhu Sugam (Vandicholai Chinraasu)

13th November 2011, 07:16 AM
Rahman ji's piano pieces.

(http://www.reverbnation.com/artist/song_details/10910335)Which of these five Piano pieces is the most recent one and can you order these according to release?

Answers:

The most recent piece was from Rockstar (Tum Ho)

The order of piano pieces is as follows:

1. Yedho Yedho – E20U18
2. Tum Ho – Rockstar
3. Marudaani – Sakkarakatti
4. O Re Chhori – Laagan
5. Mehndi Hai Rachnewali – Zubeidaa

The order of release of the above is

1. Zubeidaa – 2000
2. Lagaan – 2001
3. E20U18 - 2003
4. Sakkarakatti – 2008
5. Rockstar – 2011

Rahman ji's piano pieces Pt. 2.

http://www.reverbnation.com/artist/song_details/10910335

Answers:

1. Pogum Vazhiyellam – Ratchagan
2. Piano Theme – 1947 Earth
3. Jason & Cynthia Piano Theme – Couples Retreat

13th November 2011, 07:18 AM
1), 2) Answer is in the throat, couldn't bring out - 90s
3) Jeans
4) yeh taara woh taara
5) mel isaiyE
6) Cry Cry
7) enna vilai azhagE
8)again couldnt remember :oops:

Indeed, a very good attempt :thumbsup:

Will post the answers later on :)

26th November 2011, 09:16 PM
Name the songs from which these 10 guitar pieces are taken.

http://www.reverbnation.com/artist/song_details/11139461

26th November 2011, 11:02 PM
1. kaadhal anukkal
2. Elay
3. Spiderman
4. Chinna C Aasai
7. Kandukondein K
9. July Madham

6 :memoryloss:

26th November 2011, 11:22 PM
Flute pieces

1. Kathala katuvazhi from KC

26th November 2011, 11:23 PM
nice compilation sunil got some free time to check.

please see if you can give some more playtime in future :wink:

27th November 2011, 12:06 AM
1. kaadhal anukkal
2. Elay
3. Spiderman
4. Chinna C Aasai
5. uyirum neeye
7. Kandukondein Kandukondein
8. tamila tamila
9. July Madham
10. kun faya kun

27th November 2011, 02:55 AM
@Scale, Thanks btw first do some homework i.e. tell me no. 6 and only then will you get playtime ;-)
@baba all are correct but what's 6

others please feel free too :)

27th November 2011, 03:08 AM
Rahman ji's Flute Pieces

I've uploaded 8 pieces in total and some of them may sound familiar and some may not. Please can you tell me:

1. The songs where these respective pieces feature?

2. The name(s) of the film where the interlude features flute and strings
(equally)? Hint: 2 possible answers.

3. What is the number of the interlude which features in a Prabhu Deva film?

4. Which of these pieces features the late Malaysia Vasudevan?

Answers:

1. Then Kizhakku Cheemayile (Kizhakku Cheemayile) Kismat Se Tum (Pukar) Kannodu Kaanbadhellam (Jeans) Yeh Tara (Swades) Mel Isaiye (Mr. Romeo) Cry Cry (Jhoota Hi Sahi) Ennai Vilai Azhagae (Kadhalar Dinam) Dholna (Thakshak)

2. Pukar and Jeans

3. Five

4. The first flute piece out of all eight.

27th November 2011, 05:59 AM
A.R. Rahman - Vocal quizz

1) Name the songs? 2) How many songs have Rahman ji not only humming but singing too?

Good luck :thumbsup:

http://www.reverbnation.com/artist/song_details/11144428

27th November 2011, 06:04 AM
Wrong Thread

27th November 2011, 06:05 AM
@Scale, Thanks btw first do some homework i.e. tell me no. 6 and only then will you get playtime ;-)
@baba all are correct but what's 6

others please feel free too :)
6) Ishq Ada hai :)

27th November 2011, 06:10 AM

1) Name the songs? 2) How many songs have Rahman ji not only humming but singing too?

1) Chinna Chinna Aasai
2) Marudhani
3) Sahana
4) kaNNalanE
5) kuLichaa kuththaalam
6) Urvasi
7) KappalEri
8) saNdai kOzhi

6) Humming and Singing

27th November 2011, 06:15 AM
Wow, Sathya your on a roll. I will have to step the game up and start reversing interludes etc. hehe

27th November 2011, 06:19 AM

Answer for 1)

1. Chinna Chinna Aasai - Roja
2. Marudhaani - Sakkarakatti
3. Sahaana - Sivaji
4. Kannalanae - Bombay
5. Kulicha Kutraalam - Duet
6. urvasi - Kaadhalan
7. Kappaleri Poyaachu - Indian
8. Sandakozhi - Ayitha Ezhuthu

Answer for 2)

Urvasi - Kaadhalan

That was pretty easy 8-) Good job Sunil :2thumbsup:

27th November 2011, 06:21 AM
Thanks for the posts Sunil. you can try mixing instruments along with couple of vocals in your next list - 2 flute pieces, 2 guitars, percussion, new or not commonly used instruments like Cello, Continuum Keyboard etc.
Also, you can try posting instrumental pieces of songs with similar mood / setting - Like a theme.

27th November 2011, 06:22 AM
Answer for 1)

1. Chinna Chinna Aasai - Roja
2. Marudhaani - Sakkarakatti
3. Sahaana - Sivaji
4. Kannalanae - Bombay
5. Kulicha Kutraalam - Duet
6. urvasi - Kaadhalan
7. Kappaleri Poyaachu - Indian
8. Sandakozhi - Ayitha Ezhuthu

Answer for 2)

Urvasi - Kaadhalan

That was pretty easy 8-) Good job Sunil :2thumbsup:
you only vElli, iyaam thanga kiNNam!

27th November 2011, 06:42 AM
you only vElli, iyaam thanga kiNNam!

Elloorum oru verri ulladu

It's easy peasy lemon squeezy because these songs run in the blood vessels of us fans, innit?

LM try and be quicker next time :cool: and Sathya, thanks for the tips

I should start making a tally on who gives all right answers first. DW this will not be questioning your fandom and is just for fun

27th November 2011, 06:56 AM
I was drafting this post in notepad and it took time :cry:

27th November 2011, 09:55 AM
6) Ishq Ada hai :)

:clap: :clap:

27th November 2011, 09:57 AM
What is the first folk song in ARR's album?
Name the song that has fantastic bagpiper?
This is the only song which has three versions in the same album. What song is that?
What is the first copied song of ARR in Hindi?

27th November 2011, 11:44 AM
5. uyirum neeye
8. tamila tamila
10. kun faya kun

:clap: :clap:

How did you get that 10 right man it was toooooo short :amazing:

27th November 2011, 05:35 PM
What is the first folk song in ARR's album?
Name the song that has fantastic bagpiper?
This is the only song which has three versions in the same album. What song is that?
What is the first copied song of ARR in Hindi?

Thanks for the quiz

1) Maanuthu Mandhayilae?

2) Need to do my homework :lol:

3) Dil Se Niklegi, Desh Mere Desh, Kasam Tumko Watan - TLOBS

4) Mukkabla

Keep it up bro!

27th November 2011, 07:36 PM
4) Ottagathai Kattikko - Roop Sahane Laktha Hain (or something like that)

27th November 2011, 09:05 PM
4) Tere Liye Jaanam from Suhaag singers SPB & Chitra :lol2:

I myself want to recollect which is the first song 1994 had so many songs lifted from ARR in Hindi

There is a chinna chinna aasai & Anu Malik have copied 'Ottakatha kattiko' much before the remake of Gentleman 'Roop suhana lagta hai.

Mukkabla, Kulicha kuthalam, Anjali are all only later.

27th November 2011, 09:13 PM
3) Mangala Mangala & Kisna Theme also got 3 versions.

29th November 2011, 06:55 AM
A.R. Rahman - Percussion

http://www.reverbnation.com/artist/song_details/11169222 (http://www.reverbnation.com/artist/song_details/11169222)

As usual, name the songs

How many pieces have I used

What year did the film release containing the piece without percussion

There's one percussion piece which has a plucking instrument, who's the lead actress of this film

There are two pieces from the same song, 1) what's the name of this movie 2) where do they feature in this compilation

Who's the hero for the movie featuring the military snare roll

How many of these pieces are bgm

Good luck!

29th November 2011, 10:53 AM
As usual, name the songs

2. Kai Thatti Thatti - Jodi
3. Cinema Cinema - Baba
5. Mudhal Murai - Sangamam
6. En Veettu Thotatthil - Gentleman
7. Monalisa - Mr. Romeo
8. En Veettu Thotatthil (Humming)

8. En Veettu Thottatthi - Gentleman (1993)

There's one percussion piece which has a plucking instrument, who's the lead actress of this film

7. Monalisa - Mr. Romeo. Instrument is Sitar, I think. Lead actress - Shilpa Shetty

There are two pieces from the same song, 1) what's the name of this movie 2) where do they feature in this compilation

6 & 8 from En Veettu Thottatthil - Gentleman.

Who's the hero for the movie featuring the military snare role

:?

1 & 4. Can't place them at all :oops:

wizzy
29th November 2011, 11:42 AM
will fill in the blanks :)
1. innisai kuthu mix from Varalaru
4. Maja from JOK

29th November 2011, 02:21 PM
1 & 4. Can't place them at all :oops:

1 - Varalaaru Innisai remix interlude
4 - SOK Maja Maja interlude

29th November 2011, 08:40 PM
Good going guys and Welcome here, Wizzy :)

A.R. Rahman Piano Piece Pt. 3

http://www.reverbnation.com/artist/song_details/11176149

Name songs

Which of these pieces is not a piano, name the lead actor of this film and all his films with Rahman ji

How many of these pieces are just instrumentals

Whats the most recent piece

One of the pieces is from a film which featured an extra song in the dubbed version, can you tell me the extra songs name and the lyricst of that movie

Good luck!

Will post answers percussion quiz later on, there are still some unanswered questions

4th December 2011, 04:48 AM
Answers for percussion quiz

1. Innisai Remix. (Varalaaru/Godfather)
2. Kai Thatti Thatti (Jodi) / Tara rum pum pum (Doli Saja ke rakhna)
3. Dippu Dippu (Baba)
4. Maja maja (SOK)
5. Muthal murai killi parthen (Sangamam)
6. En veetu thottathil (Gentleman)
7. Mona lisa (Mr Romeo)
8. En veetu thottathil (Gentleman)

Shilpa Shetty (Mr Romeo)

There are two pieces from the same song, 1) what's the name of this movie 2) Where do they feature in this compilation
Gentleman. Clips 6 and 8.

Who's the hero for the movie featuring the military snare roll
Rajinikanth (Baba)

4th December 2011, 04:56 AM
Good going guys and Welcome here, Wizzy

A.R. Rahman Piano Piece Pt. 3

http://www.reverbnation.com/artist/song_details/11176149

Name songs

Which of these pieces is not a piano, name the lead actor of this film and all his films with Rahman ji

One of the pieces is from a film which featured an extra song in the dubbed version, can you tell me the extra songs name and the lyricist of that movie

Good luck!

Will post answers percussion quiz later on, there are still some unanswered questions

Some extra questions wrt the clip.

How many of these pieces released in the same year

One of these pieces (female) has another version (male), can you please tell me the male singer's name

Thank you

23rd December 2011, 01:03 AM
Answers to A.R. Rahman Piano Piece Pt. 3

(http://www.reverbnation.com/artist/s...tails/11176149) Name songs

Jillendru Oru Kaadhal (SOK)
Hello Mister Edirkatchi (Iruvar)
Himalaya (Connections)
Jessie's Land (VTV)
En Aatha Pon Aatha (Uzhavan)
Poo Pookum Oosai (Minsaara Kanavu)
Nila Kaikiradhu (Indira)
Theme 1 (Anthimanthaarai)

Nila Kaikiradhu (Indira)

Arvind Swamy

Roja
Bombay
Indira
Minsaara Kanavu
En Swasa Katre
Alaipayuthey

Himalaya (Connections)
Jessie's Land (VTV)
Theme 1 (Anthimanthaarai)

Jessie's Land (VTV)

One of the pieces is from a film which featured an extra song in the dubbed version, can you tell me the extra songs name and the lyricist of that movie

Teri Meri Baat from Sapnay (Minsaara Kanavu) and lyricist is Javed Akhtar

How many of these pieces released in the same year

3 – Anthimanthaaraim Iruvar and Minsaara Kanavu 1997

One of these pieces (female) has another version (male), can you please tell me the male singer's name

Nila Kaikiradhu - Hariharan