View Full Version : || PUNJABI MAA BOLI NU PRANAAM || Songs thread

23rd April 2011, 03:50 AM
Not an ardent follower of Punjabi, I admit I listen to more Tamil music. But since there's no thread on Punjabi music, this thread is honor of my mother tongue. My first post is a song that I grew up listening and it is a song based a mother and daughter relationship. This rendition is by Jaspinder Narula while the original version is by Surrinder Kaur, who I can't forget as she was the first artist I saw at a concert.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iTznYk1cHjc

23rd April 2011, 03:51 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gp9HfRMDPis&feature=fvst

23rd April 2011, 04:03 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vPpYw_RbMiE

A tamil who has made me proud of my mother tongue. :cry2:

Only ARR! :bow: Charan Sparsh

V_S
23rd April 2011, 04:13 AM
Nice thread Sunil. Never heard Punjabi songs. Please continue and should be so special to you as it is your mother tongue.

23rd April 2011, 04:28 AM
Thanks I hope to expose the less familiar punjabi songs which get overshadowed by stereotypical bollywood/punjabi songs and the new generation of bhangra which doesn't depict the rural, meaningful folk and full emotion of punjab, in it's true essence.

V_S
23rd April 2011, 05:13 AM
Thanks I hope to expose the less familiar punjabi songs which get overshadowed by stereotypical bollywood/punjabi songs and the new generation of bhangra which doesn't depict the rural, meaningful folk and full emotion of punjab, in it's true essence.
Yes, I got to know some songs due to some Bollywood movies, but I know they were not truly depicting the culture, tradition of Punjab, just making it commercial. Good that you are here with us and we are in for a treat.

23rd April 2011, 04:13 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jZlMIHBCAcU

23rd April 2011, 04:15 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3DjQU-wS5ro&feature=related

Song shot in Kerala - Nice to see Kathakali dancers :)

24th April 2011, 12:08 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GLO-rrdh4a0

Nusrat ji, we'll never forget you

24th April 2011, 12:09 AM
Gurdas Mann is performing today at the Royal Albert hall in London. I had the chance to visit one of his concerts.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ckcJz47-geo

V_S
25th April 2011, 08:36 PM
Sunil,
Listened to first two songs. Brilliant. The one by Hans raj Hans was truly moving. His voice is very seductive. Thanks for opening my punjabi account. When hearing these songs, it reminds me of my trip from Gujarat to Haryana (I assume they too speak punjabi). From Gujarat to Dehli by train and from Delhi to Kurukshetra by bus, through the historical Panipet hearing those punjabi songs in the bus. I got down at panipet just to have a glimpse of the town. Can't forget that trip. Kurukshetra is again one memorable place. Eventhough I only stayed for one night (for one REC interview), those people, streets and daabas. Lovely! Let me hear the other songs today.

25th April 2011, 10:21 PM
My brother visited India this year in Feb and went to Kurukshetra, as he said his dream was to visit Mathura, Vrindavan and Kurukshetra. I'm happy for him, he mentioned Kurukshetra was the highlight of his trip. Too bad I couldn't go due to my final year at uni. But next time I visit India, some of my places of priority to visit are Kerala, KanyaKumari and Thirupathi hills.

Thanks, it feels nice that my song selection reminded you of your trips and yes you're correct Haryana state does speak punjabi. Haryana, Himachal Pardesh and bits of J&K were part of a bigger punjab then what it is now. However more of the punjab region lies in Pakistan, therefore there's a lot of Classic singers from there e.g. Noor Jehan and Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan.

I hope I live up to your expectations

25th April 2011, 10:23 PM
@V_S, can you recall any songs during your vacation? It would be nice if you could share them.

25th April 2011, 10:25 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AMuUyDkluJQ

One of Noor Jehans most famous songs

25th April 2011, 10:30 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RZk2q2L3CXY

A bhajan by Nusrat Ji who broke the barriers of religion with this serene composition :bow:

V_S
25th April 2011, 11:31 PM
@V_S, can you recall any songs during your vacation? It would be nice if you could share them.
Sorry Sunil. It was way back in 1997 and also a new language for me, so could not recollect, but I was enjoying the songs with my friend who accompanied me. Yeah I know the western Punjab. I am little slow, but will surely listen to Noor Jehan and Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan saab.

V_S
25th April 2011, 11:47 PM
My brother visited India this year in Feb and went to Kurukshetra, as he said his dream was to visit Mathura, Vrindavan and Kurukshetra. I'm happy for him, he mentioned Kurukshetra was the highlight of his trip. Too bad I couldn't go due to my final year at uni. But next time I visit India, some of my places of priority to visit are Kerala, KanyaKumari and Thirupathi hills.

Thanks, it feels nice that my song selection reminded you of your trips and yes you're correct Haryana state does speak punjabi. Haryana, Himachal Pardesh and bits of J&K were part of a bigger punjab then what it is now. However more of the punjab region lies in Pakistan, therefore there's a lot of Classic singers from there e.g. Noor Jehan and Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan.

I hope I live up to your expectations
Good to know about your brother and his trip to Kurukshetra. Mathura is also a nice place, I have been there. All the best for your exams and after that welcome to our land. You will definitely enjoy! I appreciate taking your time here and posting some excellent stuff while you are busy at your exams.

26th April 2011, 04:07 AM
You can listen to them in your own time... Appreciate your support, I need it as I don't have a long concentration span hehe so I feel the need to balance my time. I should be devoting more time to revision but April has been the most delighting month in terms of music and these musical distractions occurring don't make me bored and insane from studying :)

26th April 2011, 10:11 AM
Great Thread Sunil..nice to know someone who knows about Punjabi music...Most of my friends are Punjabi so I get to listen to a lot of Bhangra and some pretty addictive remixes...the beats are just so infectious!! But as for more folkish/traditional songs...guess I'll have to find out from this thread...hope to hear more! :thumbsup:

26th April 2011, 05:23 PM
Great Thread Sunil..nice to know someone who knows about Punjabi music...Most of my friends are Punjabi so I get to listen to a lot of Bhangra and some pretty addictive remixes...the beats are just so infectious!! But as for more folkish/traditional songs...guess I'll have to find out from this thread...hope to hear more! :thumbsup:

:) I'm not surprised Que, there are a lot of punjabis based in Canada, especially Surrey.

26th April 2011, 05:28 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gStDSgD0-lE

Album-Akhiya Ch Paani (Water in the eyes)
Singer-Nachhatar Gill
Music-Gurmeet Singh

Beautifully shot at Niagra falls :thumbsup: Your land Que.

Another song by N Gill

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gStDSgD0-lE

V_S
27th April 2011, 07:30 AM
Thanks Sunil for the excellent share! :thumbsup:
At last listened to all songs and delighted. You made my day! Excellent collection. All songs are very good, especially the 'Sanson Ki Mala Pey' (unbelievable stuff!) by Ustad Nasrat ji, 'Peer Tere Jaan Di' by Gurdas Mann, 'Sanu Nair Wale Pul' by Noor Jehan and not to forget the Mann Chandre by ARR are very touching and took me to emotional heights.

In qawwali it is amazing how they go to that much higher octaves and still stay there doing brigas. I think it is mostly sung in highest octaves which is very special compared to other classical genres where they don't go that higher. I may be wrong, but that I what I got.
I was also of a opinion that Nasrat Ji and Noor Jehan sing in Urdu mainly.

God is so cruel sometimes he takes some amazing talents very soon. Nasret Ji, we miss you so much.:(

27th April 2011, 06:11 PM
God is so cruel sometimes he takes some amazing talents very soon. Nasret Ji, we miss you so much.:(

May be the world was't the right place for them and they deserved a much better place. But whatever happens, one thing is sure that they have left their mark on this world and will forever remain immortal in terms of music.

28th April 2011, 06:01 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EXm3ApKs1x4 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EXm3ApKs1x4) - Nice live performace by Attaulla Khan saab.

:clap: for the guy playing the flute

V_S You are right, Nusrat ji and Noor mam do mostly sing in Urdu this is because they have composed/sung many songs for Pakistani films. The Pakistani film industry is based in Lahore, Punjab so their Urdu does have a lot of Punjabi twang in it. However, when they perform at functions/concerts I believe they mainly sing in Punjabi.

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

30th April 2011, 10:41 PM
Jasbir Jassi - Mahiya (Adaptation)

Composed by Wayne Sharpe (Who is famous for working with Prakash Jha)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JcWz_nwcY54

15th May 2011, 10:32 PM
Challa [HQ]

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YNb6Mev84-s

Kadi te has bol ve - Naseebo lal

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xe3HR3h7sNU&feature=related

The second link has numerous versions :)

Flute version of the link above

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EwJ0_1yHzZU

ps Both songs have been used by Pritam to suit the new age of Bollywood.

31st May 2011, 07:36 AM
Not really full on punjabi songs but thayya thayya, dholna and saiyaan (taal one and not the nayak one) have a lot of punjabi sufi influence. Lyrics of Dholna deserve a special applause. Sukhi aint Sukhi without ARR ji.

31st May 2011, 08:03 PM
Ghalla Guriyan by Punjabi Mc

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x_pioBeIyPY&feature=related

Nice melow tune from artist who gave us Mundeya to bach ke. The original of this song is by Noor Jehan.

11th June 2011, 09:19 PM
Now that I finished my exams, I'll be sharing more songs :) Please do contribute!

Sun ve malli(Sarabjeet Kaur) - Dr.Zeus

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vI2TPHfUwqg&feature=related

mehsopuria punoo haniya

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jxUSr3hypt8

These are two songs from the UK Bhangra scene. :musicsmile:

11th June 2011, 09:22 PM
Recently been hooked on these two songs from Coke studio, season 4.

Kirkir - Sajjad Ali

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MQEO0lx9l00

Ni Oothaan Waale - Attaullah Khan Esakhelvi

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=55-ExedKAr0&feature=related

11th June 2011, 10:04 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8uHTNudccVU

Madan Maddi - Tere naa (translated to your name is nice)

12th June 2011, 02:49 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EPZKp_Vk3Gc&feature=fvsr

Sukhshinder Shinda & Rahat Fateh Ali Khan - Gumsum

suvai
12th June 2011, 07:27 AM
hello sunil...............enjoying this thread............:-) thank u for sharing your picks......awesome!...:-)

12th June 2011, 05:21 PM
You're welcome

13th June 2011, 04:02 AM
Sanjana Bhola on Saregamapa Li'l Camps 2011

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MRK9tvc1rog

Ganpati Maharaj ki jai!

Here is the original by Satinder Sartaj

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qM3FjnpTsvY

This is a Muslim sufi song sung by a Sikh and a Hindu girl has portrayed her adaptation. Wow, way to go Sanjana Bhola!

Truly speechless :cry: :bow:

19th June 2011, 06:28 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=15yHrWlFazM

This is real talent :bow:

19th June 2011, 06:33 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0v8UPUOLdSc&feature=relmfu

Here is the original - Akheeya udhik diyan

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cXQz1yTSGA4

One of Nusrat's most memorable qawwali

8th July 2011, 03:59 AM
Chooteh laareh (False promises) This song speaks of a betrayed lover who expresses his frustration as his lover is getting married off to someone else. This song only came out this year and is sung by JK (Jatinder Kumar) and produced by True Skool (Surjit Singh Olk), both are from Derby, England, UK.

It is a sad song which has no beats i.e. dholak, table etc. The instrumentation involves bansuri, acoustic guitar and a tumbi. The instrumentation especially the authentic bansuri set the scene of this song in an agricultural village, where the lead character is expected to sit under trees crying whilst reminiscing about the good old days.

The most heart wrenching lyric comes after the second interlude “Paakeh mohabbatan je nae si niboniyan, beleyan de wich chooriya nae si khwoniya” eng: If you weren’t going to live up to our relationship then you should have never fed me sweets infront of your friends.

The second interlude - harmonium - almost feels as if we are there with the hurt male secretly seeing his lover off at her wedding.

The song doesn't have a video as of yet but some songs are left better without one letting the mind directing its own reel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Z49R3HSQiQ

8th July 2011, 04:17 AM
Yeh jo sili sili :musicsmile:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HCpOnP7FF84

Hans Raaj Hans :clap:

8th July 2011, 04:21 AM
Je apaan doway rus eng: If we both are down then who will liven our moods

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dqu7CLSTXDE

The uploader mixed Hans Raaj Hans's version along with Naseebo lals to make this INDO-PAK border breaking duet.

tvsankar
8th July 2011, 11:22 AM
Yeh jo sili sili aandi hai.mp4

Sunil,
Madhyamavathi group.. In Raja's compositiion, have heard for happy mood................
your pick gives the sadness.
never expect..........

17th July 2011, 07:21 AM
Saregamapa L'il Champs 2011 July 15 '11 - Patiyala Boys Special (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gbopk2DkIGY&feature=relmfu)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gbopk2DkIGY&feature=relmfu

Totally :-O by the performance of these musketeers rendering, Jugni.

3rd August 2011, 02:42 AM
Saregamapa L'il Champs 2011 July 22 '11 - Salman

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SUb7rcKRSeU

Here is the original by Master Saleem which is a Mata ki bhent.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L502AoyRJBg&feature=related

3rd August 2011, 02:44 AM
Nusrat - Kinna Sohna tenu

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i8npC1TAIao

:happydance:

3rd August 2011, 02:48 AM
On a contrasting note here is Malkit singh known for uptempo songs singing in praise of mothers :bow:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SPRUpa2ydIY

3rd August 2011, 07:10 AM
Saregamapa L'il Champs 2011 July 22 '11 - Nitin kumar

meri zindagi tera pyar (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AVF6Qm8MM2w)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AVF6Qm8MM2w

3rd August 2011, 04:38 PM
Sun Charkhe Di mithi mithi- Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=usOX3kA44Pk

3rd August 2011, 04:52 PM
Here are folk songs that are still popular today:

Lathe di Chadar

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kYNWp1jRTYM

Kala doria

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ot4gDo7VEv0

Mera laung gawacha

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1sc8VvTOHqQ

4th August 2011, 03:28 AM
Nusrat saab dominating this thread will always be an understatement. Here is one of the greatest man to set foot on earth doing a Qawwali in praise of Guru Ravidas

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Aq8har6x_T0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=imVUICpDjTQ

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ob_unmtg80s

4th August 2011, 03:33 AM
We've heard many variations of jugni and challa but who are the founders?

Well jugni is by alam lohar, the master of the chimta and challa is by inayat ali, the brother of another legend shaukat ali

jugni

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5sI9Kakzxa4

challa

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LhJmo_lfdN8

4th August 2011, 03:52 AM
The most heard album in my pre-teens

http://music.raag.fm/Punjabi/songs-9840-Dhola_Ve_Dhola-Various

I recommend dhola ve dhola and par nagah deh. *Saxophone bliss* :musicsmile:

18th August 2011, 04:54 AM
Chooteh laareh (False promises) This song speaks of a betrayed lover who expresses his frustration as his lover is getting married off to someone else. This song only came out this year and is sung by JK (Jatinder Kumar) and produced by True Skool (Surjit Singh Olk), both are from Derby, England, UK.

It is a sad song which has no beats i.e. dholak, table etc. The instrumentation involves bansuri, acoustic guitar and a tumbi. The instrumentation especially the authentic bansuri set the scene of this song in an agricultural village, where the lead character is expected to sit under trees crying whilst reminiscing about the good old days.

The most heart wrenching lyric comes after the second interlude “Paakeh mohabbatan je nae si niboniyan, beleyan de wich chooriya nae si khwoniya” eng: If you weren’t going to live up to our relationship then you should have never fed me sweets infront of your friends.

The second interlude - harmonium - almost feels as if we are there with the hurt male secretly seeing his lover off at her wedding.

The song doesn't have a video as of yet but some songs are left better without one letting the mind directing its own reel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Z49R3HSQiQ

The video for the song above released this week.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cGYeNNoX3b4

23rd August 2011, 05:47 PM
Continuing here with wedding songs but on the contrary to the previous video these ones have a happy mood.

Aaya Laadiye Ni by Musarrat Nazir

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ceyvjobiU1g

This former was recently heard in the prelude of, Saj Dhaj Ke from Mausam.

Another number by Musarrat Nazir - Mehndi Ni Mehndi

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gW4V9PHVX70

13th November 2011, 01:06 AM
Old Punjabi song - Lai aa te torh nibhaveen chhad ke na javeen mahiya http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lEEG_zUqbyE

13th November 2011, 01:17 AM
Satinder Sartaj :musicsmile:

Cheere Waleya

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CkwhrN5e160

Yamaha

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DyRXrRfBo2k

My brother has been playing the above two non-stop, The former is very very folkish while the latter is contrastingly youthful :happydance: I wasn't really fond of either when I first heard them but now because of constant exposure they have kind of become second nature.

That's the power of being influenced :)

13th November 2011, 01:23 AM
Dr. Zeus is one of the dozen artists who I feel is keeping the Bhangra scene alive in the U.K.

Phate chak te

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x_117I45evQ

Zindabaad

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NgALJc3InN4

13th November 2011, 01:25 AM
Kangna - The song that transformed Dr. Zeus into what he is right now. :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x4D0PhKL3NA

13th November 2011, 04:59 AM
Sahan To Pyariya by Garry Sandhu

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LhTawDtYf6w

Nice slow romantic song :musicsmile:

21st November 2011, 08:17 AM
The PropheC SOHNI ft. Deep C (Official Video) (HD)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Z7cP_vAp4E

21st November 2011, 08:28 AM
Dil le gaya koi - Mohd. Rafi

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=82BAIZpvpl4

Dads been playing this on loop so tried finding it on net and just found the song on Youtube.

21st November 2011, 08:29 AM
Surinder Kaur - Chan Kithan Guzari

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ae-E-zQNlKo

21st November 2011, 08:35 AM
A young Gurdas Mann in Mamla Gadbad Hai

song: Dil Da Mamla

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lLEutB-MAK4

4th December 2011, 09:24 PM
May the pioneer of Punjabi folk RIP...

Latif Mohammed alias Ustaad Kuldeep Manak JI 1949 - 2011 :bow:

Here are two of his classics

Tere tille - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-28rGWKgeqk

G.T. road feat. Punjabi MC - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G-XlDdy1XNc

14th January 2012, 06:46 AM
Happy Pongal (South India), Lohri (North India), Makar Sankranti (Central and West India), Bhogali Bihu (East India) >>> Harvest festival :)

Lohri song:
Sunder mundriye ho!
Tera kaun vicharaa ho!
Dullah Bhatti walla ho!
Dullhe di dhee vyayae ho!
Ser shakkar payee ho!
Kudi da laal pathaka ho!
Kudi da saalu paata ho!
Salu kaun samete!
Chache choori kutti! zamidara lutti!
Zamindaar sudhaye!
Bade bhole aaye!
Ek bhola reh gaya!
Sipahee far ke lai gaya!
Sipahee ne mari itt!
Sanoo de de Lohri, te teri jeeve jodi!
(Cry or howl!)
Bhaanvey ro te bhaanvey pitt!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PExE4AOq6G8 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PExE4AOq6G8&feature=related)

30th April 2012, 11:35 PM
Tung Tung

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RAqSMVIMgKw

Sneha Khanwalkar, a Marathi female composer has come up with this Punjabi folk/dubstep song. I definitely been trippin over this song since I heard it... Nice to know dubstep is getting more mainstream recognition.