View Full Version : gAna gandharvan K J Yesudoss - பாடகராக 50 ஆண்டுகள்!

Pages : [1] 2

24th June 2011, 04:07 PM
One word. Legend.
When all sorts of johnny come latelys have threads, blasphemy that he doesn't have one.
If there is one already, pls delete and revive the older one

24th June 2011, 07:44 PM
Let me start with KJY's first Thamizh song :-)

நீயும் பொம்மை நானும் பொம்மை
நெனச்சுப்பாத்தா எல்லாம் பொம்மை
(படத்தின் பெயரும் 'பொம்மை') (http://tamilvideosongs.info/view/327/neeyum-bommai-naanum-bommai-kjyesudas-first-song/)

google says this link has the video (but I cannot see it at present)...can anyone see the video? This song seems to exist in youtube as well.

Anyways, there are tons of audio / mp3 links if one googles for this song from the movie that featured veeNai S Balachandar.

Sounds like a zombie singing :-)

24th June 2011, 11:48 PM
An unusual kind of KJY number with VJ (http://www.thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs='SNGOLD1589'&lang=en)

R Govardhanam was the MD for varaprasAdham that featured this sweet song 'gangai nadhi Oram Raman nadanthAn'.

radio hit of 1976.

Now, why unusual? For two reasons - one, a rare MD who served most of his career as an able assistant (BTW, close associate of IR and the titles of varaprAsadam had "Raja" as the assistant as per Usha chechi. Which Raja?)

second - among the few pre-IR-70s songs that I used to love hearing on radio, I loved the lead guitar sounds particularly

Now, there is one thing that's NOT unusual - there are very few KJY-VJ numbers that I don't like :wink:

25th June 2011, 12:06 AM
Two more 70's KJY - VJ - MSV numbers that gave me immense pleasure :

andha mAnaippArungaL azhagu, iLam pAvai unnOdu uRavu
(andhamAn kAdhali, 1977) (http://www.thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs='SNGOLD0858'&lang=en)

What a fantastic song! The way Jesudas sings the saraNam will melt anyone!
(warning - don't search for youtube, you won't like the actress Sujatha thereafter)

ninaivAlE silai seydhu unakkAka vaiththEn
(same movie, infamous for the 'therukkOvilE Odi vA' by our gAna gandharvar)

25th June 2011, 12:26 AM
Two more KJY-VJ numbers very dear to me (and I'll stop for the day) :-)

1. இறைவன் இரண்டு பொம்மைகள் செய்தான் தான் விளையாட
அவை இரண்டும் சேர்ந்தொரு பொம்மையை செய்தன தாம் விளையாட
(படம்: உயர்ந்தவர்கள், சங்கர்-கணேஷ் இசை, வடக்கு இறக்குமதியாக இருக்க வாய்ப்பிருக்கிறது) (http://www.thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs='SNGSHK0152'&lang=en)

Once again this 'bommai' business :-)
Once again the keralalite style pronunciation of 'ள' in the word விளையாட...despite, a sweettO sweet song, the veeNai (or sitAr) portions are simply delicious!

2. Female : இது இரவா பகலா? Male : நீ நிலவா கதிரா?
(நீல மலர்கள், எம் எஸ் வி இசை) (http://www.thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs='SNGOLD1255'&lang=en)

The sErndhisai in the saraNam, MSV-special-trumpet and the killer melody makes this song an instant winner. (On screen was the best-ever-TF-pair, i.e. KH-SD IIRC)

25th June 2011, 07:45 AM
There so much to talk about this man and his magical voice. Let's start early, the 60s (as you did App). By the way, check out these two handsome dude and beautiful babe.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dXkpv-ZJ6Hw

26th June 2011, 06:22 PM
google says this link has the video (but I cannot see it at present)...can anyone see the video?

Nice video! (it has this astro velliththirai logo)

Is the movie a thriller? One gets a chill up the spine (though there's nothing suggesting that in the song)

27th June 2011, 11:22 PM
What was KJY's first song for MGR?

Was it 'thangaththONiyilE thavazhum peNNazhagE' of USV or had he sung any other prior?

27th June 2011, 11:54 PM
Ondre kulamendru?

27th June 2011, 11:57 PM
Ondre kulamendru?

per wikipedia, USV was 1973 & pallANdu vAzhka (features KJY completely, onrE kulamenRu / pOy vA nathi alaiyE / indRu sorgaththin thiRappu vizhA) was 1975.

28th June 2011, 12:03 AM
It's quite interesting to see that MGR remade a 1957 / 1958 Shanta Ram movie (dO AnkEn bArA hAth) in 1975!

28th June 2011, 06:18 PM
Ah At last a thread for this legand :clap: been a Fan of his "Devotional songs (esp Murugan songs)" , a "brilliant" Carnatic vocalist, but on the negatives sides, not a versatile singer when it comes to Cinema Songs, and not a singer who can modulate voice or emote well (except sad songs) .

Some of my Favourites

1) Vizhiye kathai ezhuthu
2) Chinnaum chiru vayathil
3) Amma endralaikatha
4) Thendral vanthu ennai thodum
5) Poove poochudava

more later ....

28th June 2011, 09:50 PM
Unless any KJY song exists for MGR prior to 1973 (not easy to find, mostly TMS in the post-AM Raja era, occasional SPB), thangaththONiyilE (http://www.thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs='SNGOLD0797'&lang=en)of USV was his first.

However, because of the bullet-effect on MGR's voice, KJY was preferred to do a lot thereafter.

The one Plum mentioned, pallANdu vAzhga (1975), had KJY monopoly for MGR with very sweet songs under KVM.

Ofcourse, the best by KJY for MGR, IMO, came under MSV when Sridhar did a MGR movie.

விழியே கதை எழுது
கண்ணீரில் எழுதாதே
மஞ்சள் வானம், தென்றல் சாட்சி - உனக்காகவே நான் வாழ்கிறேன்!
(சுசீலாவுடன், உரிமைக்குரல், 1974 ) (http://www.thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs='SNGOLD0815'&lang=en)

28th June 2011, 09:55 PM
I really like All of his Sindhu bhairavi songs, except "thani thotti", that was an Experiment that went "horribly" wrong !

28th June 2011, 10:05 PM
With all "respect" to Dr KJY :notworthy: He is known for his தமிழ் உச்சரிப்பு. esp கிழி as kili திரு கோவில் as தெரு கோவில்! :|

28th June 2011, 10:15 PM
Param,
KJY never had problem with ழ.

It was his Malayali way of pronouncing ள that created some issues. It was his slightly softer way of singing கிளி, which is acceptable in Kerala but not in TN, created irritation.

It almost sounded like கிலியே கிலியே to our ears :-)

28th June 2011, 10:17 PM
ennayaa peru vekkireenga?
everytime i read it as கங்காதரன்.

28th June 2011, 10:18 PM
Interestingly, all three la's - ள ல ழ - are idaiyinam and variations are as many possible as the number of speakers / singers :-)

That said, therukkOvilE Odi vA was a real comedy :lol2:

28th June 2011, 10:21 PM
It was his Malayali way of pronouncing ள that created some issues. It was his slightly softer way of singing கிளி, which is acceptable in Kerala but not in TN, created irritation.

Yes, I was refering to his song "Poovili vaasalil yaradi vanthathu kiliyE KiliyE instead of KizhiyE KizhiyE. BTW I am no expert in Tamil Literature, I did not study tamil at all, I can only read/speak in tamil, but I can't write in Tamil :(

28th June 2011, 10:23 PM
That said, therukkOvilE Odi vA was a real comedy :lol2: My mum told me that once MSV was "highly irritated" with KJY over this! It is strange that Malayalam is a Close relative to tamil than Telugu, yet KJY had this problem, while SPB's tamil pronounciation was perfect !

28th June 2011, 10:25 PM
Yes, param it was 'parrot, parrot' (i.e. கிளியே கிளியே) and not 'tear, tear' (கிழியே,கிழியே) :lol:

What KJY sang sounded like 'parrot, parrot' to Malayalees.

However, it sounded 'fear, fear' (கிலியே,கிலியே) to Thamizh people :-)

28th June 2011, 10:27 PM
Yes, param it was 'parrot, parrot' (i.e. கிளியே கிளியே) and not 'tear, tear' (கிழியே,கிழியே) :lol:

What KJY sang sounded like 'parrot, parrot' to Malayalees. However, it sounded 'fear, fear' (கிலியே.கிலியே) to Thamizh people :-)

:rotfl: ......

28th June 2011, 10:30 PM
ok, before someone comes and asks me whether கிலி is a Thamizh word, here is a proverb :

புலி அடிக்கு முன்னே கிலி அடிக்கும்
(Fear will kill one, much before the tiger actually kills)

28th June 2011, 10:32 PM
app,

கிலியே - we can use this way.
plis explain கிழியே.

28th June 2011, 10:40 PM
KizhinA sollanum? KiLi-nu dhAnE sollaNum

28th June 2011, 10:48 PM
app,

கிலியே - we can use this way.
plis explain கிழியே.

கிழியே is not a proper use, you're right...it can be கிழியேன், கிழியேன் :-)

28th June 2011, 10:51 PM

That was Param's confusion, Plum :-)

kiLi (parrot) is intended and KJY did right according to Malayalees. Per Tamils, he softened it to 'kiliye' and was fearful.

(The tearing apart was Param's and not mine, no need for kizhi here)

Murali Srinivas
28th June 2011, 10:54 PM
App,

KJY's first song for MGR was "Thangathoniyile" in USV but technically speaking KJY had sung in a MGR movie way back in 1966. The movie was Parakkum Paavai in which he sang சுகம் எதிலே இதயத்திலா along with TMS and LRE [a very rare combo song] and his playback was for Chandrababu [again a rare occasion].

28th June 2011, 10:59 PM
WOW, what a rare piece of info!

Thank you Murali sir!

28th June 2011, 11:38 PM

Trust Param to derail any thread :sigh2:

29th June 2011, 07:11 AM
ennayaa peru vekkireenga?
everytime i read it as கங்காதரன்.+1, reminds me of the wisecrack at the beginning of Vasool Raja MBBS.

29th June 2011, 12:15 PM
That's, like, his title in Kerala, folks. App, correct me if I am wrong - that's what his loving devotees in Keral(as northies call it) call him right?

29th June 2011, 03:10 PM

:sigh2: without going through the entire post, you are making an assumption! I was talking about KJY's tamil pronounciation issue!

29th June 2011, 03:13 PM
That's, like, his title in Kerala, folks. App, correct me if I am wrong - that's what his loving devotees in Keral(as northies call it) call him right?

he is being called as கனகந்தர்வன் in kerala?

29th June 2011, 03:19 PM
I have noticed one thing about these "Mallu singers" , Most of them have similar voice to KJY (PJ, Unni Menon, Madhu Balakrishnan ..etc )

29th June 2011, 03:26 PM
adhu gAna gandharvan. ContextukkEthApla padichukkaNum - always transliteration perfectA irukkaNumnu edhir pArkka kUdAdhu. mathavanga kAl pOda maRandhAlum context poRuththu namma kAl pOdaNum :evil:

29th June 2011, 03:29 PM
aana neenga eppovumae a A, b B, n N, l L correcta poduveenga...
so neenga ezhudhirukkeenga'nra context'la padichappo i could not think there was a mistake in spelling. nejamaa dhan solren.

P.S: andha context paatthu kaal podradha patthi kisu kisu thread'la ezhudhavum.

29th June 2011, 03:49 PM
he is being called as கனகந்தர்வன் in kerala?

Ganagandharvan is how the Mallus "Fondly" call him, just like
tamilians fondy call SPB as "Paadum Nila" !

29th June 2011, 06:25 PM
One of Dr KJY's song which gives me the goosebumps ! IR+KJY+SS
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1aF0eSl67jI&feature=player_detailpage

30th June 2011, 04:43 PM
70's Classic by KJY :notworthy:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d03mavMw2Ig&feature=player_detailpage

30th June 2011, 10:42 PM
A nice thAlattu song from 70's :
(for MGR, there's also a Varalakshmi version of this number, MSV music)

இந்தப்பச்சைக்கிளிக்கொரு செவ்வந்திப்பூவினில் தொட்டிலைக்கட்டிவைத்தேன்
(நீதிக்குத்தலை வணங்கு) (http://www.thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs='SNGOLD0801'&lang=en)

How is the 'kiLi' in this? :wink:

1st July 2011, 03:10 PM
A nice thAlattu song from 70's :
(for MGR, there's also a Varalakshmi version of this number, MSV music)

இந்தப்பச்சைக்கிளிக்கொரு செவ்வந்திப்பூவினில் தொட்டிலைக்கட்டிவைத்தேன்
(நீதிக்குத்தலை வணங்கு) (http://www.thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs='SNGOLD0801'&lang=en)

How is the 'kiLi' in this? :wink:

App anna ,

I love this song :) ithula Dassana's ( Like how SPB fondly calls him :) ) pronounciation was much better , I think :lol2:

1st July 2011, 03:16 PM
Oh boy...the movie on the other hand...MGR and Nambiar goes to college it seems.:roll:

1st July 2011, 03:23 PM
Oh boy...the movie on the other hand...MGR and Nambiar goes to college it seems.:roll: :rotfl: nalla kaalam naan padatha paakala :lol2: seen only the song !

1st July 2011, 03:30 PM
Actually pretty disappointing album. Only the two versions of this song, and Kanavugale by TMS' worth listening to. By the way, college poyee, car race ellam pannuvangga. Butterfly collars, bell-bottom, the clearly in their 50s looking MNN and MGR carrying college text books....oh my eye :sad:

1st July 2011, 03:34 PM
By the way, college poyee, car race ellam pannuvangga. Butterfly collars, bell-bottom, the clearly in their 50s looking MNN and MGR carrying college text books....oh my eye
Rakesh anna

Only Possible in Tamil Cinema! ithulla MGR pink Blazer/Shoes Lipstick ellam pOtiruparE :lol2: :lol2:

Dont' make fun of MNN :x, I yaam a Fan of MNN :)

1st July 2011, 03:50 PM
Beautiful song ! Ridiculous Movie ( I really dont know why NT opted to act in such "crap" movies in the 70's :( :( )
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4YCm11DX3wg&feature=player_detailpage

1st July 2011, 04:22 PM
I think Kamal many times refers to in his interviews that he doesnt want to act in movies like coming home to amma after college and saying amma nAn pAsAyittEn. I was always curious why he formed that as a defining image of tamil movies that he wanted to change. I guess he must have been scarred by these movies during his formative years

1st July 2011, 09:19 PM
Oh boy...the movie on the other hand...MGR and Nambiar goes to college it seems.:roll:

BTW, I think it was a bike race (and not car)...remember seeing the movie, MGR will ride motorcycle on steps / stair case etc :-)

1st July 2011, 09:21 PM
IIRC, there was another KJY song in 'neethikku thalai vaNangu'...

"என்னை விட்டால் யாருமில்லை, கண்மணியே உன் கை அணைக்க"

Murali Srinivas
3rd July 2011, 02:13 PM
App,

"என்னை விட்டால் யாருமில்லை, கண்மணியே உன் கை அணைக்க" is from Naalai Namadhe and not Neethikkku Thalai Vanangu. NTV had only one KJY song which you had mentioned.

4th July 2011, 12:58 AM
Thanks again Murali sir, for the correction :-)

Do you know what was the yAdOn ki bArAth equivalent of 'ennai vittAl yArumillai'? Was it 'Oh mEri Soni, mEri tamannA' or 'churA liyA hai?'

nALai namathE had another KJY number, a nice duet with PS - 'kAdhal enbadhu kAviyamAnAl kadhA nAyakan vENdum'.

Accordingly, these two KJY numbers are the equivalents for those two YKB duets mentioned above IIRC.

4th July 2011, 07:03 AM
I think it's car race, app. Need someone else to verify. Bike race was Rajini in Pudhu Kavidhai.

Regarding Nalai Namathe those two are the best songs. Title song was so and so, and then there was Nan Oru Medai Padagan, that even my hardcore MGR fan dad makes fun off (the Inglis especially).

Murali Srinivas
5th July 2011, 12:15 AM
App,

நீல நயனங்களில் ஒரு நீண்ட கனவு வந்தது is the Suraliya equivalent. Oh Meri Sony came out as காதல் என்பது காவியமானால் கதாநாயகன் வேண்டும். என்னை விட்டால் யாருமில்லை, கண்மணியே உன் கை அணைக்க is the song in the closed room and my vague memory says that the Hindi song would be like Kamre mein ----.[Not sure]

Rakesh,

App is correct. I would tell the reason for your confusion. The MGR character would drive cars in a rash manner and would cause the death of a child(?) and later when he leaves his home to repent his mistake, he would participate in a bike race to win prize money for the affected family. That's the reason for the confusion.

Murali Srinivas
5th July 2011, 12:33 AM
App,

To clear your confusion once for all, AFAIK here is the full list of songs sung by KJY for MGR.

1966 - Parakkum Paavai

சுகம் எதிலே இதயத்திலே

1973 - Ulagam Sutrum Vaaliban

தங்க தோணியிலே

1974 - Urimai Kural

விழியே கதை எழுது

1975 - Naalai Namadhe

நீல நயனங்களில்
காதல் என்பது காவியமானால்
என்னை விட்டால் யாருமில்லை

1975 - Pallandu Vaazhga

ஒன்றே குலம் என்று பாடுவோம்
போய் வா நதி அலையே
இன்று சொர்கத்தின் திறப்பு விழா
என்ன சுகம் என்ன சுகம்

1976 - Neethikku Thalai Vanagu

இந்த பச்சைக் கிளிகொரு

1976 - Uzhaikkum Karangal

நாளை உலகை ஆள வேண்டும்

1976 - Ooruku Uzhaippavan

அழகெனும் ஓவியம் இங்கே
பிள்ளை தமிழ் பாடுகிறேன்
இதுதான் முதல் ராத்திரி
இரவு பாடகன் ஒருவன் வந்தான்

1977 - Navarathinam

மானும் ஓடி வரலாம்

1977 - Indru Pol Endrum Vaazhga

அன்புக்கு நான் அடிமை

1977 - Meenva Nanban

தங்கத்தில் முகமெடுத்து

1978 - Maduraiyai Meetta Sundara Pandiyan

தென்றலில் ஆடும் கூந்தலை கண்டேன்

5th July 2011, 11:48 PM
Thank you Murali sir for the comprehesive KJY-MGR list :-)

Now, let us get greedy, can you please favor us with a KJY-NT list also? :-)

BTW, interesting to know that there's a 'kamrE mein' song in YKB also :lol:

(I know of 'hum tum Ek kamrE mein bandh hO' is from Bobby ; Rishi Kapoor / Dimple Kabadia are the ones locked inside a room).

6th July 2011, 07:24 AM
Sorry about the confusion, App. Thank you, Murali-sir. Chinna vayasula parthathu, trying to purge it off my mind, athan confusion. Yes, I too want a list of KJY/NT songs, if you have time.

Wonder anyone has "Oorukkum Vetkamillai" youtube or other links. Fantastic writing by Kannadhasan (I think, sounds so much like him because he ends the second charanam with Kadavulukkum Vetkamillai :lol:) and cynical style of singing by KJY.

6th July 2011, 08:10 AM
best of KJJ

NEela nayanangalil from Naalai namathe

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QCf_Dvr95G4
b'ful lyrics by Vaali. KJY & PS

Neelaman kadal alayil
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y4ABypAldNg

Thanga thoniyile thavazhum
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Nj9ciqD09Q

Iraivan irandu bommaigal
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f0nnN1irafg

Malare kurunji malare
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2C05SOaTVs8

baroque
6th July 2011, 09:20 AM
யாருக்கு யார் சொந்தம் நான் சொல்லவா.....விஜய பாஸ்கர்'s ஹிட்
வானமெனும் வீதியிலே......ever popular பாடல்.
ராகம் பைரவி- கர்நாடிக் ராகம் திருப்பாற்கடலில்....
இறைவன் இரண்டு பொம்மைகள் செய்தான்......
எனது வாழ்க்கை பாதையில் ......
இரண்டு கைகள் நான்கானால்....
நல்ல மனம் வாழ்க.......
நானோ கண் பார்த்தேன்......
வரவேண்டும் வாழ்க்கையில் வசந்தம்......
என்ன சுகம் என்ன சுகம் உன்னிடம் நான் கண்ட சுகம்.....
வான் வந்து தேன் சிந்தும் நேரம்
ஏன் இந்த பூமிக்கு நாணம்......
சிவரஞ்சனி pathos ...பாடி அழைத்தேன் இதோ உன்னை....ரசிகன் ஒரு ரசிகை gem of a album.
மனமே மயங்காதே.....கண்மணியே பேசு.
தோடி ராகம் பாடவா......மாநகர காவல்.
மூக்குத்தி பூமேலே காற்று....
சோலைப் பூந்தென்றலில் ஊஞ்சலாடும்.....
என் காதலி...male டூயட் with பாலா.
தேவேந்திரன்' s ஹரிவராசனம் விஸ்வ மோகனம்....meditative composition
mmm...couple of more T.R compositions, MGR kku songs etc..

then
Yesudas in Shri.Ilayaraaja sangeetham, Gazillion of his malayalam film music and Hindi composers

6th July 2011, 01:18 PM
That kamre mein song is "App ke kamre mein koi rehta hai".

indhi is a dangerous language, kamre konjam pisaginA kamar Aayidum*

* kamra = Room
* kamar = hip
App ke kamre mein koi rehta hai - there's someone in your room
App ke kamar mein koi rehta hai - there's someone on your hip

6th July 2011, 01:29 PM
In Malay, Room = Kamar. Avingga rendu peru pesina adittadithaan....

6th July 2011, 03:08 PM
Wonder anyone has "Oorukkum Vetkamillai" youtube or other links. Fantastic writing by Kannadhasan (I think, sounds so much like him because he ends the second charanam with Kadavulukkum Vetkamillai :lol:) and cynical style of singing by KJY. Love this song! Really love the lyrics Only Kavi arasu Possible :notworthy:

6th July 2011, 10:46 PM
Eriyile oru kashmir roja (beautiful song with PS)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IhkSguNAvvE

Sinthiya venmani from Poonthotta kavalkaran
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_2pwmzia2fs

Vaana mazhai pole from Idhu namma boomi

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ghLN00oaK0w

Thulli thulli pogum penne from Vellicham
Beautiful no gr8 lyrics by vairamuthu

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4P4TzFq2oq4

Maampoove siru mainave from machana paatheengala

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kawsiIyVxL0

7th July 2011, 03:27 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M-OK49NIvIs&feature=player_detailpage

Excellent stuff by Dr.KJY/Dr.IR , not to mention Balu Mahendra ! Sothapal by "four eyed" Pratap Pothan :lol2:

7th July 2011, 03:27 PM
BTW, I heard "Balu Mahendra" was originaly from Eezham? is it true ? :roll:

7th July 2011, 04:56 PM
Yes, he spent his childhood there but IIRC, that's because his father was an Indian posted in Colombo or something. IIRC, his origins are Keralan

7th July 2011, 04:59 PM

What is IIRC?

7th July 2011, 05:06 PM
Digression
>>Balanathan "Balu" Mahendran (Tamil: பாலநாதன் மகேந்திரா) (born 20 May 1946 in Batticaloa, Sri Lanka) is an Indian filmmaker, screenwriter, and cinematographer widely regarded as part of the first in a wave of directors and screenwriters from the Chennai film industry who revitalised Tamil cinema. He initially developed an early interest in photography <<

7th July 2011, 05:22 PM
As far as I rememberr, his father went there on a posting and Balu M was born there.

7th July 2011, 05:26 PM
As far as I rememberr, his father went there on a posting and Balu M was born there.

Sari, what is IIRC ?

7th July 2011, 05:29 PM
If I remember correctly...

7th July 2011, 05:34 PM
O i c :)

Murali Srinivas
7th July 2011, 10:44 PM
App/Rakesh,

I am listing out the NT- KJY songs till 1980. Will comeback on the remaining.

1975 - Dr. Siva

மலரே குறிஞ்சி மலரே

1976 - Unakkaaga Naan

ராமு ஐ லவ் யு [For Gemini]

இறைவன் உலகத்தை படைத்தானா [For Gemini]

1977 - Deepam

பூவிழி வாசலில் [for Vijayakumar]

1978 - Andhamaan Kadhali

அந்தமானை பாருங்கள்
நினைவாலே சிலை செய்து

1979 - Thirisoolam

திருமாலின் திருமார்பில் ஸ்ரீதேவி முகமே
இரண்டு கைகள் நான்கானால்

1979 - Kavarimaan

ப்ரோவோ பாரமா

1979 - Imayam

கங்கை யமுனை இங்குதான் சங்கமம்

1979 - Naa Vaazha Vaippen

ஆகாயம் மேலே பாதாளம் கிழே [For Rajini]

8th July 2011, 07:28 AM
Thank you, Murali-sir. Never heard of the Kavarimaan song.

raagadevan
8th July 2011, 08:43 AM
"brOvabaaramaa raghuraamaa..." - Nadigar Thilagam/Thyagaraja/Ilaiyaraja/KJY

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cnIH0k44hRI

8th July 2011, 08:49 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cnIH0k44hRIOh, thank you thank you.

8th July 2011, 09:59 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cnIH0k44hRI

First time hearing, sounds like a standard keerthanai recorded with KJY voice...not sure whether IR composed it or modified a standard one with a different rAgA etc (as in sindhubhairavi).

8th July 2011, 10:32 AM
Paada vanthathor gaanam with PS(ilamai kaalangal)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2dgsJXmZrQ0

Rendu kannam sandhana kinnam from sivappu malli

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HJQQZDjknbI

kannan oru kai kuzhanthai from badrakali

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bg_UheUH2lk

Maragatha vallikku manakkolam from anbulla appa
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rFHqEOToU4A

kanchi pattuduthi from vayasu ponnu
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fd2DwOSTn3U

Meen kodi theril from karumbu vil
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QIZnYfA6crA

8th July 2011, 03:52 PM
1977 - Deepam

பூவிழி வாசலில் [for Vijayakumar]

:shock: enaku intha paatai keatkum pOthellam "KiliyE KilyE" thaan Gnyabaham varuthu :lol2:

Just joking Murali sir :)

8th July 2011, 03:54 PM
There is one very nice song by Dr KJY from Rajni's film, "Sree Raghavendra" Can't actually remember the song :(

8th July 2011, 04:49 PM
Not one but many
Aadal kalaiye
Rama naamam
Mazhaikoru devane
Thedinen deva devaa

8th July 2011, 04:57 PM
Plum anneh

I am talking about the Climax song, when He enters the "Samadhi" State. :roll:

8th July 2011, 05:18 PM
adhuvum nAn koduththa listla irukku

8th July 2011, 05:25 PM
adhuvum nAn koduththa listla irukku

Ok, I found it, BTW, what did you think of Rajni's acting in the movie? was it a hit?
I really like Rajni's calm acting here, IMHO, he ie the "only" Versatile actor after NT !

8th July 2011, 05:26 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iBKn4lunE28&feature=player_detailpage

8th July 2011, 07:05 PM
Thank you Murali sir, for pointing out some great numbers and certain rare ones :-)

I heard the kavarimAn number for the first time!

Waiting for more updates on NT-KJY numbers :-)

8th July 2011, 08:46 PM
VaravEndum vazhkayil vasantham by Dr KJY is a good song, was it for Muthuraman?

raagadevan
8th July 2011, 10:52 PM
First time hearing, sounds like a standard keerthanai recorded with KJY voice...not sure whether IR composed it or modified a standard one with a different rAgA etc (as in sindhubhairavi).

"brOvabaaramaa raghuraamaa..." in KAVARIMAN was a shortened version of Thyagaraja's original composition in Bahudari raaga - Ilaiyaraja provided the orchestration, but did not modify anything.

8th July 2011, 10:54 PM
"brOvabaaramaa raghuraamaa..." in KAVARIMAN was a shortened version of Thyagaraja's original composition in Bahudari raaga - Ilaiyaraja provided the orchestration, but did not modify anything.

Thanks raagadevan for the info!

raagadevan
9th July 2011, 12:16 AM
You're welcome, app_engine!

12th July 2011, 04:12 PM
There was a BM film which had Prashanth in the early 90's , If I remember correctly it was called "Vanna vanna pookal" , it had a lovely song by KJY called "Ilam poovE vaa thendral thErinil engum poi varalam" or some thing along the lines! Can some one pls confirm the name of this song?

priya32
12th July 2011, 04:31 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PZWto_hI3Ug

12th July 2011, 04:32 PM
Thanks Priya :)

baroque
15th July 2011, 01:13 AM
பச்சை கிளிகள் தோளோடு
பாட்டுக் குயிலோ மடியோடு
பூலோகம் ஆனந்தத்தின் எல்லை
இந்த பூமிக்கு கண்ணீர் சொந்தம் இல்லை.....early ரஹ்மான்'s காபி ராகம் with positive கவிஞர் வைரமுத்து's வரிகள் in இந்தியன்...யேசுதாஸ்.:musicsmile:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tb8osakKQm4

15th July 2011, 03:39 PM
Touchy song by KJY called ennatha .... ! from Uzhavan
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5xgGPUzI8VY&feature=player_detailpage

baroque
15th July 2011, 10:13 PM
Vijayakanth sir kku Yesudas, Bala along with Jayachandran has sung some superb compositions.

Dripping classism:swinghead:
my choice will be,

மழைக் கருக்கையில் சோலைக் கருங்குயில்......சிவரஞ்சனி ராகம் ..... நீதியின் மறுப்பக்கம்...யேசுதாஸ்...ஜானு.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T2BfLQQvTok&feature=related

hubby pampering pregnant wife

சிந்திய வெண்மணி சிப்பியில் முத்தாச்சு.....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_2pwmzia2fs
I cherish the composition in my heart.

Composition came around late 70s . Forever green in our memories. (This eternal bliss is for Vijayakanth, I found out)
early இளையராஜா's masterpiece ஏதோ நினைவுகள்.....யேசுதாஸ் & ஷைலா.
ஹம்மிங், strings , கிடார் counterpoint ..second bgm is out of the world
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=blx2qZmECXs

Two Yaman kalyan...
Shri.Yesudas the GREATEST.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=11yh-UCeev4
jab deep jale..... chitchor.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8TvN4e05t9w
உன் பார்வையில் ஓராயிரம்.....அம்மன் கோயில் கிழக்காலே.

I meditate with these compositions.
praise the 80s sangeetham! :musicsmile::clap::ty:

18th July 2011, 07:54 AM
Posting about thooRal ninnu pOchchu in the MV thread reminded me of the two KJY numbers in that movie :-)

The funny 'Erikkarai poongARRE' (http://www.thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs='SNGIRR3683'&lang=en) where KJY tried to mimic an old man in a comical way - a rare case in KJY's career possibly!

The classy 'boopALam isaikkum poomakaL oorvalam' (http://www.thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs='SNGIRR3681'&lang=en) with Uma Ramanan :-) What a sweet number!

baroque
19th July 2011, 09:27 PM
mirudhangam lovers must listen 80s ILAYARAJA:musicsmile::happydance::swinghead:

kastoori maane ......

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=URbNVtEPL_4&feature=related

vinatha.

19th July 2011, 09:36 PM
Vinatha

This song has miruthangam throughout the song! :)

raagadevan
19th July 2011, 09:42 PM
mirudhangam lovers must listen 80s ILAYARAJA:musicsmile::happydance::swinghead:

kastoori maane ......

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=URbNVtEPL_4&feature=related

vinatha.

Here's the video version with more mirudhangam:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O3lXoq5wd2s&feature=related

19th July 2011, 09:59 PM
Talking of Mirudungam, another song that comes to my mind is "Gangai karai mannadi" from varusham 16! My Fav from this movie is "Pazha muthir solai unakaga thaan" :thumbsup:

baroque
20th July 2011, 01:22 AM
yeah.. Raaja has used mirudhangam in his several classical compositions.

oru raagam paadalodu......mirudhangam, tabala, flute, violin, veena..Romantic bliss

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GGekCjufNWY

80s Ilayaraja!:bluejump:

20th July 2011, 03:57 PM
Vinatha

Oru raagam paadalodu had mainly "Tabla" beats than Mirudungam :)

baroque
20th July 2011, 08:38 PM
yeah... dominating tabala

there you go.....

Abheri delight from early Ilayaraja with Yesudas for a mirudhangam

chinnanchiru vayadhil......

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DRiTjObUXSM

vinatha

20th July 2011, 08:45 PM
If you want more mirudangam combo of KJY and IR, then all songs from sindhu bhairavi has it. None of them are without mirudungam :)

baroque
20th July 2011, 08:49 PM

posting KAADHAL KASAKKUDHAIYAA.....in Ilayaraja thread.
vinatha

22nd July 2011, 03:25 PM
What a beautiful song? KJY+SJ+IR and last but not least Rajni :notworthy:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4zRmprbzkJg&feature=player_detailpage

22nd July 2011, 05:56 PM
ஏரியிலே ஒரு காஷ்மீர் ரோஜா ஏனடி நீராடுது , this song is from some Jai shankar movie right? IIRC this song was banned for some reason!

Who was the MD for this song and what is the film name ?

22nd July 2011, 09:38 PM
Kucah pal from Phir Milenge (2004) Music by Bhavatha Raja (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MWsy40_WYgA)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MWsy40_WYgA

Most underrated song of KJY but IMHO the best out of his Hindi discography.

priya32
22nd July 2011, 10:30 PM
ஏரியிலே ஒரு காஷ்மீர் ரோஜா ஏனடி நீராடுது , this song is from some jai shankar movie right? Iirc this song was banned for some reason!

Who was the md for this song and what is the film name ?

பாடல்:ஏரியிலே ஒரு காஷ்மீர் ரோஜா
திரைப்படம்: மதன மாளிகை
இசை: M.b.ஸ்ரீனிவாசன்
பாடியவர்கள்: கே.ஜே.யேசுதாஸ் & பி.சுசீலா

25th July 2011, 03:33 PM
பாடல்:ஏரியிலே ஒரு காஷ்மீர் ரோஜா
திரைப்படம்: மதன மாளிகை
இசை: M.b.ஸ்ரீனிவாசன்
பாடியவர்கள்: கே.ஜே.யேசுதாஸ் & பி.சுசீலா

தெய்வமே உங்களால மட்டும் தான் முடியும் ! மிக்க நன்றி :)

raagadevan
25th July 2011, 11:22 PM
Thank you, Raghu! I posted that on a lighter vein, but deleted it almost immediately because I did not want anyone to be offended, even unintentionally! Looks like you responded to it before I could delete it! :)

26th July 2011, 03:11 PM
Thank you, Raghu! I posted that on a lighter vein, but deleted it almost immediately because I did not want anyone to be offended, even unintentionally! Looks like you responded to it before I could delete it! :)

I have deleted it , there was nothing offensive at all ! :) BTW what was KJY's last song in Tamil ?

raagadevan
30th July 2011, 07:52 AM
Kucah pal from Phir Milenge (2004) Music by Bhavatha Raja (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MWsy40_WYgA)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MWsy40_WYgA

Most underrated song of KJY but IMHO the best out of his Hindi discography.

Sunil: The singer of "kuch pal..." is Vijay Yesudas; who is KJY's son :)

raagadevan
2nd August 2011, 06:44 PM
சிந்து நதிப் பூ / சௌந்தர்யன் / கே. ஜே. யேசுதாஸ் & ஆஷாலதா:

பாடல்: "ஆத்தி... வாடையில பட்ட மரம் கோடையில கொழுந்து விடாதா..."

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MHQ0xPiCFRY

2nd August 2011, 07:02 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NVHm4yHYZGw&feature=player_detailpage

4th August 2011, 03:26 PM
It is very upsetting to see more posts and discussions on "Average" singers, when Legends like KJY are "forgotten”!

4th August 2011, 04:10 PM
Classic !
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DRiTjObUXSM&feature=player_detailpage

raagadevan
7th August 2011, 07:47 AM
"யோசனா கமல லோசனா..." - "சிந்துபைரவி" - த்யாகராஜா/இளையராஜா - சிவகுமார் - கே. ஜே. யேசுதாஸ்

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YJb8r81gQ60

9th August 2011, 11:01 PM
Two unique TFM numbers this morning- that are both KJY solos.

1. poongARRu puthithAnadhu (http://www.thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs='SNGIRR2070'&lang=en) - the whole movie is a poem and the situation of the song so unique. 'iraNdu uyirai iNaiththu viLaiyAdum' - and what a different kind of two souls! How can one describe the relationship? father-daughter / teacher-pupil / caregiver-patient / two playful friends / lovers...? It fits all and still not any one of them. Very peculiar situation and the song's melody / orchestration / lyric / singing all capture this in a tremendous way!

2. poovE poochchooda vA (http://www.thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs='SNGIRR2855'&lang=en)- AhA, another not-often-seen kind of situation and what a song! 'endhan nenjil pAl vArkka vA' - KJY sings it in such a motherly / grand motherly way that one will have to do a total surrender! The melody, the orchestration, the singing, the lyric - all are unique and unlike any other song prior IMO. Extraordinary situations bring out extraordinary results when genius personalities are at work :thumbsup:

(thiraippAdal has the singer's name incorrect in the links for poovE poochchooda vA, KJY song listed as KSC)

baroque
10th August 2011, 12:48 AM
POONGKAATRU.......:ty: APP_ENG.
Playfulness Ilayaraja conjures with his guitar, violin prelude is contagious.
lyrics is very soothing and comforting.
Yesudas is sucha sugam.
Dazzling bgm.

moondram pirai - early Ilayaraja.

I am loving KAATTU VAZHI.....thandavakone of IR.

I wanna post a
philosophical composition of Yesudas , Shruti for Ilayaraja.:musicsmile:

Rottoram paattu sattham kaetkuthaa? .......en mana vaanil......ilayaraja.

http://www.raaga.com/player4/?id=38386&mode=100&rand=0.18711794964838258

What a calming melancholy!
yearning mood Yesudas's humming...mood reflective ilayaraja's bgm
EN JEEVAN PAADUDHU.......NEEDHANA ANDHA KUYIL.
nice album from 80s Ilayaraja

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A_3A8vByml0

vinatha.

10th August 2011, 05:01 PM
"Thulli thulli pOgum pennE sollikondru pOnnal enna Kanni unthan pEr enna ", lovely Song by KJY +IR!

IIRC, this song was for N.Ravi in a Karthik movie right ? was it "kanN simittum nEram" ??

10th August 2011, 08:45 PM
It is most definitely not IR

10th August 2011, 08:45 PM
I think Chandrabose

10th August 2011, 08:46 PM
It is most definitely not IR

:shock: then who was it ? Manoj Gyan ( Oomai Vizhigal) ?

10th August 2011, 09:42 PM
kaNNE kalaimAnE (http://www.thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs='SNGIRR2067'&lang=en)a few times last evening and this morning.

Perhaps the most famous KJY number with IR.

enna oru inimai - kEtkum pozhudhellAm sugamO sugam!

Even the Hindi version (slightly inferior orchestration IMO) seems to be popular - going by the fact that it got featured in the "KJY-Hindi-best-collection-cassette" of my Palakkad Malayali friend, frequent humming of my previous co-worker from Assam and the references here and there on the net, including youtube.

Very soothing number, adorable picturization by Balu Mahendra with Kamal-Sridevi.

Has this additional honor of being among the last couple of film songs by Kavingar, given to IR -with a declaration that 'rAsA adhirshtakkAran, thirumbi vandhu pAttu ezhudhuvEnO theriyAthu' - prior to his leaving to US for treatment :-(

raagadevan
10th August 2011, 10:06 PM
"Thulli thulli pOgum pennE sollikondru pOnnal enna Kanni unthan pEr enna ", lovely Song by KJY +IR!

IIRC, this song was for N.Ravi in a Karthik movie right ? was it "kanN simittum nEram" ??

படம்: வெளிச்சம்
இசை: மனோஜ்-ஞான்
பாடகர்: கே. ஜே. யேசுதாஸ்
பாடல்: துள்ளித் துள்ளிப் போகும் பெண்ணே...

http://www.dhool.com/sotd2/278.html

10th August 2011, 10:08 PM
படம்: வெளிச்சம்
இசை: மனோஜ்-ஞான்
பாடகர்: கே. ஜே. யேசுதாஸ்
பாடல்: துள்ளித் துள்ளிப் போகும் பெண்ணே...

http://www.dhool.com/sotd2/278.html

Oh thanks, my second guess was right about the MD! :) I am 100% sure the song was for N.ravi , but I cant remember any other scenes from the film :(

raagadevan
11th August 2011, 09:04 PM
கரஹரப்ரிய at its best: [From உன்னால் முடியும் தம்பி]

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qFU-jSsdWT0&feature=related

raagadevan
19th August 2011, 09:59 PM
"rudraveeNa" / "unnaal mudiyum thambi"

(K. Balachander; Ilaiyaraja; Chiranjeevi / Kamal)

maanava sEva dhrOgamaa / maanida sEvai dhrOgamaa

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CWJ6aH_tZHI / http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xbh9LXRZwdI&NR=1

neethOnE aagEna sangeetham / nee onru thaan en sangeetham

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MjIE3XC8TO0&NR=1 / http://www.hummaa.com/music/song/nee-ondru/1032314

laLitha priya kamalam (In Tamil, it is "idhazhil kadhai ezhudhum..." sung by SPB)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0EnG1Dyk6-w /

SMI
20th August 2011, 10:53 PM
Read some where that "this song is million times greater than the great". Sounds very exaggerating only till you listen to that. Composed and written by that visually impaired genius Ravindra Jain, whose wish if ever he gets his vision was to see KJY first.

http://google.saregama.com/music/pages/listen_popup?mode=listen_popup&query=INH109435590

SMI
20th August 2011, 11:31 PM
I have heard the good fortune to have listened to quite a few mailanji songs and none better than this. Never understood the meaning - I think most of the words are just put in for the rhythm they bring. Not sure who composed it and the lyricist has done a terrific job too. If any body has a better link, pls provide it. A must listen for any KJY fan.
http://www.4shared.com/audio/VxamnuZc/Mailanji_-_Samkritha_pamagari.htm

raagadevan
21st August 2011, 07:07 AM
SMI: Here is the Tamil version of "samkritha pamagari..." :smile:

http://captainvijayakanth.com/downloads/download.php?d=Mp3%20Songs/Moondrezuthil%20En%20Moochirukkum&filename=NDEgLSBTYW50aGFuYSBLaWxpIFJlbmR1IC0gSy5KL lllc3V0aGFzLm1wMw==&p=0&sort=0

"sandhanak kiLi reNdu..."

SMI
26th August 2011, 11:43 PM
SMI: Here is the Tamil version of "samkritha pamagari..." :smile:

http://captainvijayakanth.com/downloads/download.php?d=Mp3%20Songs/Moondrezuthil%20En%20Moochirukkum&filename=NDEgLSBTYW50aGFuYSBLaWxpIFJlbmR1IC0gSy5KL lllc3V0aGFzLm1wMw==&p=0&sort=0

"sandhanak kiLi reNdu..."

Oh yes! Thanks for reminding. But very poorly made and not sure if it got even 10% of the reach of what samgritha pama gari got.

SMI
28th August 2011, 11:53 PM
மாலையில் ஒரு மல்லிகை
என மலர்ந்தவள் இந்த கன்னிகை
மன்மதன் கணை ஐவகை
அதில் ஓர் வகை இவள் புன்னகை

MSV's flavour runs all over this song, but an IR original. I think the IR version of this song is: நதியில் ஆடும் பூவனம்

baroque
31st August 2011, 01:55 AM
caressing and romantic sriranjani from Ilayaraja.

oru ragam vandhadum veenai......Shri.Yesudas is enchanting as always.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9VBafXItgl4

Listen to Janaki. She delights our senses. :musicsmile:

How can I move on without treating myself to longing mood VANDHADHU
VANDHADHU.....KILI PECHU KETKKA VAA... same ragam.

நீதான் மெச்சிக்கொள்ள வேணும் கண்ணனை
எங்கள் நீல நிறமேனி மாதவன் செய்வது....ஊத்துக்காடு......மகாராஜபுரம் சந்தானம்... :musicsmile:

How about the GRAND நாதம் எழுந்ததடி.........ஸ்ரீ.யேசுதாஸ், ஜானு போர் ஸ்ரீ.இளையராஜா....கோபுர வாசலிலே.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yInVRv54ilA&feature=related

vinatha.

31st August 2011, 05:47 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R8q9EsVrQDA&feature=fvwp&NR=1

Wow Dr KJY sir and SJ madam, amazing stuff, simply love it to the core, IR sir only you possible, I love this song to the core

raagadevan
1st September 2011, 10:20 PM
One of Ravindra Jain's greatest melodies:

Movie: Gopal Krishna (1979)

Actors: Sachin/Zarina Wahab

Singers: K.J. Yesudas/Hemalata

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F1-WrzeYA3s&feature=related

SMI
9th September 2011, 11:55 PM
Picture an ice melting faster - a fast paced melody.

கண்ணுக்கும் கண்ணுக்கும் மோதல்
நெஞ்சத்தில் நீ தந்தாய் காதல்
என்னென்ன எண்ணம் வாழ்க வாழ்கவே
மாலை தென்றலே மாலை கொண்டு வா
வேளை வந்ததே வாழ்த்து பாடவா

நினைக்கத் தெரிந்த மனம் மறக்கத் தெரியவில்லை கவிஞனின் கவிதை
இதற்கு அடுத்த வரி எனக்குத் தெரியவில்லை டாட்டா பை பை

15th September 2011, 02:17 AM
King Khan miming with Yesudas ji's for Thaai Sonna thaalaattu - Film Desam by A. R. Rahman ji

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hifIP4nn0xI

The translations are for Hindi not Tamil, but its the only link I could find to this song so apologies.

raagadevan
20th September 2011, 01:00 AM
Another gem composed by Ravindra Jain; rendered by K.J. Yesudas and P. Susheela; this one in Telugu!

"priya cheliya..." from BRAHMARISHI VISWAMITRA (1991), directed by N.T. Ramarao (I think this was NTR's last movie)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d5xTKy3Rffk

20th September 2011, 06:42 PM
pillai thamizh paadugirEn from some MGR movie, pls confirm the movie name. Thanks.

20th September 2011, 07:00 PM
pillai thamizh paadugirEn from some MGR movie, pls confirm the movie name. Thanks.

oorukku uzhaippavan

20th September 2011, 09:23 PM
Raaga devan

priya cheliya is a beautiful song by KJY & PS. yes Ravindra Jain was the Music director.

NTR's last movie was Samrat Ashoka directed by Himself.
http://mahaanatudu.blogspot.com/2011/05/samrat-ashoka_22.html
http://mahaanatudu.blogspot.com/2011/05/samrat-ashoka-part-2_23.html
http://mahaanatudu.blogspot.com/2011/08/samrat-ashoka-part-3_12.html

raagadevan
21st September 2011, 05:37 AM
Rajesh: I had the audio recording of "priya cheliya..." for so many years, but came across the video only very recently :) If I remember correctly, you had posted the audio in the Telugu Film Music thread a while ago. Thank you for the info on NTR.

raagadevan
30th September 2011, 10:44 PM
KJY's first Hindi song, composed by Salilda for the movie Anand Mahal. The movie, based on Badal Sarkar's Bengali play Ballavpurer Roopkathaa, was completed but never released!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EoP8mdiX0-0

Here is a sad version of the same song; a duet sung by KJY and Sabita Choudhury:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tsOp7W1u2vs&feature=related

raagadevan
9th October 2011, 01:28 AM
Salilda followed up Anand Mahal with Chhoti Si Baat (1975) in which KJY sings "jaanE man jaanE man tErE dO nayan...", a duet with Asha Bhosle. Amol Palekar is watching a movie in which Dharmendra and Hema Malini are singing the song, but then Amol's fantasy takes over and himself and Vidya Sinha take over the screen!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5o6bD5EutOQ&feature=related

For those who can follow Hindi, here is an extended version with some funny scenes that precede the song:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4fVM_PviY7E&feature=fvsr

raagadevan
25th October 2011, 08:15 PM
A rare KJY duet with Mano from a comedy movie!

"isai pOla kalai illaiyE..."

Singers: Mano & KJY

Music: Isai Vaanan

Movie: minor maappiLLai (1996)

http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=10150135664690336

rajkumarc
26th October 2011, 01:43 AM
Paruvam Kaninthu Vandha Paavai Varuga from Yaaro Ezhuthiya Kavidhai, music by Ananda Shankar. Lovely tune and beautifully sung by KJY & VJ.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6jU7EKqpd7k

raagadevan
31st October 2011, 08:22 AM
"manasulOni marmamunu thelusukO...", pleasingly rendered by S. Janaki and KJY - From the Malayalam movie "Ente Mohangal Poovirinju" (1982) - Thyagaraja / V. Dakshinamoorthy:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m422ms9WDwI

"raghuvara nannu..." from the same movie... Balamuralikrishna/KJY/S. Janaki - Thyagaraja / V. Dakshinamoorthy:

http://www.in.com/music/track-raghuvara-nannu-393587.html

14th November 2011, 11:24 PM
KJY's 50 years in the field
(http://dinamani.com/edition/story.aspx?Title=50+ஆண்டுகள்;+50+ஆயிரம்+பாடல்கள்:+ கேஜே.யேசுதாஸ்+சாதனை&artid=507016&SectionID=164&MainSectionID=164&SEO=&SectionName=Latest)

Congrats!

San_K
15th November 2011, 12:28 AM
How sweet his voice

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QCf_Dvr95G4

baroque
15th November 2011, 06:31 AM
http://www.raaga.com/player4/?id=232004&amp;mode=100&amp;rand=0.15427674265954405

EZHAVADHU MANIDHAN........L.VAIDHYANADHAN'S KALYANI.....MAHAKAVI BHARATHIYAARIN VARIGAL.

Enchanting Yesudas with Neeraja.
:musicsmile:

Vinatha.

raagadevan
15th November 2011, 09:59 AM
"A musical odyssey, all the way"

http://www.thehindu.com/todays-paper/tp-national/tp-kerala/article2623678.ece

raagadevan
16th November 2011, 01:35 AM
"உள்ளமெல்லாம் தள்ளாடுதே..." - தூரத்து இடிமுழக்கம் - Salilda - KJY/S. Janaki:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y_38s-_m5dI

16th November 2011, 08:13 AM
இன்னைக்குத்தான் இந்தப் பாடலை முதல்முதலா கேட்கிறேன். இணைய நண்பி ஒருவர் அறிமுகப்படுத்தினார். இனி என்றைக்கும் மறக்க மாட்டேன். அந்த அளவுக்கு குரலின் வீச்சு இருக்கிறது. நாதஸ்வரமே வாசித்தது போல ஒரு உணர்வு. 50 ஆண்டுகள் யேசுதாஸ் - நிறைவடைந்த தருணத்தில் எனக்கு கிடைத்த இந்த அனுபவம் மிகவும் பிரத்யகமானது.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r8WB3qOTTH8&feature=share

raagadevan
25th November 2011, 10:02 AM
"kasthoori maNakkunnallO kaatE..." (Lyrics: Sreekumaran Thampi - Music: M.K. Arjunan)

Sung by KJY for the 1975 Malayalam movie PICNIC:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X50jsoI7Xb8

The same song, sung by KJY in 2011 and rerecorded for the new movie NAAYIKA:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=75N3oHVkGjc

25th November 2011, 12:57 PM
Song looping in my head from morning: Magizhampoove Unnai pArthen mayanggi pOnEn..

Somewhat this line touches me, "...vAzkkaiyennum pAdhaiyilae sErndhu pOvOmae
nAmum vAzndhu pArppOmae..." reminds me of my wife saying that we shall go through this (pregnancy) together....

...Anyway, KJY, what a career!!!!

R.Latha
28th November 2011, 03:31 PM
Lifetime Achievement Award for K.J. Yesudas, who has sung more than 50,000 songs in several Indian languages including Malayalam, Hindi and Tamil, at the Asiavision Movie Awards at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium on Friday.

http://gulfnews.com/arts-entertainment/film/southern-stars-shine-at-asiavision-awards-1.938579

R.Latha
30th November 2011, 08:15 PM
frontline article with rare photos.. http://www.frontline.in/stories/20111216282513000.htm

raagadevan
4th December 2011, 07:53 AM
KJY in Bengali:

"path haraabo boley ebaar..." - Movie: PROTIGGYA - Music: Salilda

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OWtJrsfzN18&feature=related

"naam sokuntola taar...'' (Duet with Sabita) - Movie: SRIKANTAR WILL - Music: Salilda (Original tune composed for the Manna Dey solo in the Malayalam movie CHEMMEEN)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E7htG0dMxqk&feature=related

"Nahi Surjo Nahi Jyoti..." -Movie: VIVEKANANDA - Music: Salilda

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=URVbGOfXDOM&feature=related

"Om nama shivay..." (With Arti Mukharjee and chorus) - Shiv Bhajan composed by Ravindra Jain

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B9F4CrTjoV8

raagadevan
11th December 2011, 09:11 PM
Another "rare" KJY duet:

பாடல்: "இமை தொட்ட மணிவிழி..."
திரைப்படம்: உனக்காக நான் (1979)
பாடியவர்: டி.எம். சௌந்தரராஜன் / கே.ஜே. யேசுதாஸ்
இயற்றியவர்: கவிஞ்சர் கண்ணதாசன்
இசை: எம்.எஸ். விஸ்வநாதன்

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CFj4Tb9KEYw&feature=related

11th December 2011, 11:58 PM
Enn aathafrom Rahman ji's Uzhavan - Heart wrenching composition with KJY sir's vocal tearing hearts out :'( and on a happier note is Rakozhi rendu from the same album.

http://www.raaga.com/player4/?id=134,4112&mode=100&rand=0.5489381913555508

raagadevan
18th December 2011, 12:18 AM
"Yesudas, A Legendary Singer" - TV9 (Telugu)

Part 1:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qzSkzLSYfZE&feature=relmfu

Part 2:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jIMQWscBYYQ&feature=relmfu

Part 3:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c7wVQ41pUoQ&feature=relmfu

20th December 2011, 09:17 PM
Congrats KJY Sir, a True legend :clap: :notworthy: :clap:

raagadevan
24th December 2011, 10:24 AM
One song; in three languages - composed by Salilda:

maadapraavE vaa... from madhanOlsavam (Malayalam):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TgHW1vIOCTY&feature=related

Tamil:

maadapuraavE vaa... from paruva mazhai (Tamil):

http://www.4shared.com/audio/n-6_TLOw/madappurave.html

and

pyaar mein jO bhi... from Dil Ka Saath Dil (Hindi):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PhwE7jdepKk

raagadevan
30th December 2011, 12:38 AM
பாடல்: "பூவோ பொன்னோ பூவிழி மானோ காதல் தீபமோ..."
திரைப்படம்: புதுயுகம் (1985)
பாடியவர்: கே.ஜே. யேசுதாஸ் / எஸ். ஜானகி
இசை: கங்கை அமரன்

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O6QNx_SRc3w

raagadevan
2nd January 2012, 01:55 AM
"Evergreen Voice in Tamil Cinema Award for Yesudas at Vijay Music Awards"

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0MxUigTW_Hw&feature=related

Yesudas Wins CNN-IBN Indian of the Year 2011 Award for Outstanding Achievement

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dba2yOdEKWw&feature=related

For the Yesudas segment of the CNN-IBN awards ceremony, please forward to 1:29:50.

raagadevan
10th January 2012, 03:56 AM
Happy 72nd Birthday (January 10) to Yesudas!

Here is a classical concert by Yesudas and his Guru Chembai Vaidyanadha Bhagavathar; organized specially to celebrate his 33rd birthday.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3UUQIWHaca8&feature=related

Another song from that concert:

"paavana guru pavanapuraa...":

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i-ZymG4VN0w&feature=related

V_S
10th January 2012, 05:35 AM
A Very Happy Birthday Yesudas sir. May God bless you with best of health and happiness for many many more years to come.

raagadevan, thanks for the great shares. Wonderful memories of Chembai Vaidyanatha Bhagavathar.

10th January 2012, 06:16 AM
Happy birthday to the greatest Yesudas Ji

In most of his speeches, he makes sure he always mentions theres no difference between religions. :bow:

raagadevan
10th January 2012, 07:41 PM
Birthday Special - NTv (Telugu):

http://ap7am.com/ap7am_show_detail_videos.php?newsid=53699

10th January 2012, 09:07 PM
Happy birthday Dr KJY sir :)

R.Latha
12th January 2012, 02:36 PM
Puttur, Jan 12: The annual ‘Dharmashree’ award being conferred to people with distinguished services to the society was this time, given to internationally renowned musical legend, Padma Vibhushan Dr K J Yesudas. The award is conferred annually by Dharmashree Foundation, Eshwaramangala, in the taluk.

Yesudas, addressing the gathering after accepting the award, compared Hindustani music to river and Carnatic classical music to ocean. “Carnatic music is backed by 72 independent Raagas, and it is inspired by nature. It has the power to strengthen the roots of culture. Because of these qualities, this music has gained global recognition,” he reasoned.

http://www.daijiworld.com/news/news_disp.asp?n_id=127148

raagadevan
22nd January 2012, 09:55 PM
K.J. Yesudas acts and sings in the Malayalam movie "kaayamkuLam kochchuNNi" (1966)

Music: Chidambaranaadh - Lyrics: P. Bhaskaran / Abhaya Dev

"kunkuma poovukaL pooththu..."

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=UeKSyHIsVx8#!

"nalla surumaa nalla surumaa..."

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jQEmvZPKZCg

"aatuvanchi kadavil vachchu annu ninnE njaan kaNdappOL..."

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FUDv5xLnJzg

raagadevan
19th February 2012, 01:54 AM
பாடல்: "காலை மாலை பாடு பாடு..."
திரைப்படம்: ஞான பறவை (1991)
பாடியவர்: கே.ஜே.யேசுதாஸ், சித்ரா
இசை: எம்.எஸ். விச்வநாதன்

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vuGT7FU4G7I

raagadevan
4th March 2012, 03:47 AM
Two songs from from ஈர விழி காவியங்கள்.

(Thanks to RajsMed for the youtube upload)

"கனவில் மிதக்கும் இதையம் முழுதும்..."

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=endscreen&NR=1&v=zslw4PVNrZs

"காதல் பண்பாடு யோகம் கொண்டாடு..."

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YWeE8auckU0&feature=related

16th March 2012, 05:56 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=xQrELEIMQwM

16th March 2012, 05:56 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=naPrtH7O2Yg

16th March 2012, 06:17 PM
A very nice melody of KJY from rendu janmam, malayalam.

memories.... memories....

http://youtu.be/GnLqf8HmVwA

16th March 2012, 06:18 PM
An old nectar... always sweet...

KJY with sulamangalam in film Jeeva nadi

http://music.cooltoad.com/music/song.php?id=322233&PHPSESSID=11fdc851451a86f4d58ef969cc8b8e69

baroque
18th March 2012, 10:36 AM
mmmm.... still celebrating hubby, wife celebrate each other
My favorite Vanimma romances Yesudas in GANGAI NADHO ORAM....kekkaama povenaa!:musicsmile:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pYyWJZaK9oA&amp;feature=related

vinatha.

19th March 2012, 05:15 PM
mmmm.... still celebrating hubby, wife celebrate each other
My favorite Vanimma romances Yesudas in GANGAI NADHO ORAM....kekkaama povenaa!:musicsmile:

vinatha.

I remember reading somewhere that rAsA was a guitarist for this song (MD - Govardhanam)...

tfmlover
19th March 2012, 10:13 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j5LxF8nk_F8

baroque
20th March 2012, 01:10 AM
yeah... app_eng, in tfmpage and dhool, makkal mentioned about the days IR worked as assistant, he has helped to compose some compositions.

so... idhu namba raja pattu dhaan:-D

raagadevan
20th March 2012, 02:55 AM
Thank you baroque and tfmlover for uploading the really rare songs :)

Divine22
21st March 2012, 08:31 AM
Hi

Can any one verify ? The song "Yaar pogum vazhiyil'' from the movie ''Yaro Ezhuthiya Kavithai ''. Was it sung by KJY and who is the MD for tht movie/song ?

raagadevan
21st March 2012, 08:48 AM
Divine22: "yaar pOgum vazhiyil..." was indeed sung by KJY. The MD was the talented Bengali musician Ananda Shankar.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FfyG2Tf00r0

Divine22
21st March 2012, 01:51 PM
Thank you so much Raagadevan sir :)

baroque
22nd March 2012, 09:34 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OaqSkhBjKFg

SaReGaMa's LEGENDS SERIES is such gorgeous collections!

I was listening to Shri.Yesudas melodies while driving today!:musicsmile:

nostalgic compositions, I cherish them in my heart!

வரவேண்டும் வாழ்க்கையில் ...........
vinatha.

23rd March 2012, 12:24 AM
Yesudas live in concert at World Trade Centre Dubai tomorrow to mark his 50th year as playback singer! Joining him on stage are Sujatha, Vijay Yesudas and Sujatha's daughter Shwetha. Stephen Devassy on the keyboard.

baroque
23rd March 2012, 09:44 AM
wow! let the music fans enjoy santhoshamaa!:musicsmile:
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

ஏழிசை கீதமே .......What a heart wrenching stunner by ஸ்ரீ.யேசுதாஸ் for music composer ரவீந்திரன் from Shri.Yesudas Cd this evening while driving. rag sivaranjani composition , my heart melts!

:musicsmile:Creator & the person delivered Immortal!:ty:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_qfAW3cgfAQ

raagadevan
7th April 2012, 05:14 AM
"பூவே செம்பூவே உன் வாசம் வரும்..." from the movie:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CQXmGk4x-bo&feature=related

Live at the என்றென்றும் ராஜா concert:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7qf-MGAH6Rc

raagadevan
20th April 2012, 08:44 AM
"எந்தன் கைக்குட்டையை யார் எடுத்தது..."

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P-AiKZ1Btnk

எந்தன் கைக்குட்டையை யார் எடுத்தது
அன்பு காதலின் சின்னமாய் எந்தன் காதலி தந்தது
நீயா நீயா நீயா நீயா

ஆ ஆ ஆ ஆ ஆ ஆ ஆ ஆ ஆ ஆ
சின்ன சின்ன நூல்களில் பூக்கள் வரைந்தேன்
ஆஹா என்னை வைத்து நான் அதில் பின்னி இருந்தேன்
கைக்குட்டையில் சின்னம் ஒன்று கண்டு பிடித்தேன்
நீ பின்னி வைத்த பூவுக்கு முத்தம் கொடுத்தேன்
காதல் இதயம் கண்டு முடித்தேன்
கண்ணின் இமையால் தந்தி அடித்தேன்
பின்னி முடித்த நூல்களுக்குள் நான் சிக்கி தவித்தேன்
சிக்கி தவித்தேன் சிக்கலெடுத்தேன்

நீயா நீயா நீயா நீயா

கைக்குட்டையில் வேர்வையை துடைத்ததில்லை அதற்கு
வலித்திடும் என்று நான் மடித்ததில்லை
உந்தன் கையில் தந்தது துணியும் இல்லை என்
இதயத்தைதான் தந்தேன் வழியும் இல்லை
உன்னை நினைத்தால் உறக்கமில்லை
இன்ப கிளியே இரக்கமில்லை
வாய் திறந்து என் பெண்மை சொல்வது வழக்கமில்லை
பழக்கமில்லை விளக்கமில்லை

அந்த கைக்குட்டையை யார் எடுத்தது
அன்பு காதலின் சின்னமாய் இந்த காதலி தந்தது
அந்த கைக்குட்டையை யார் எடுத்தது
நான்தான் நான்தான் நான்தான் நான்தான்

raagadevan
17th May 2012, 05:44 AM
"ab chiraagon ka koi kaam nahin..." is a melodious duet sung by Lata Mangeshkar
and Yesudas for Jayapradha and Rakesh Roshan, in the Hindi movie BAAWRI (1982).
Khaiyaam Ji set music to his own lyrics. Here it is!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K8vUUeuDzo8&feature=related

28th May 2012, 03:19 PM
Wow Excellent songs, Thanks Ragadevan ! :thumbsup:

raagadevan
31st May 2012, 07:53 AM
Happy 60th Birthday (May 29) to Ambareesh!

Yesudas singing for Ambareesh:

"aalaapanam aalaapanam..." Duet with S. Janaki

Movie: GAANAM (Malayalam - 1982)

Music: V. Dakshinamoorthy

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hNbYNp1eGUI

[B]"andavo andavu kannada naadu..."

Movie: Mallige Hoove (Kannada - 1992)

Music: Hamsalekha

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ae9cMVFj4kM

priya32
9th June 2012, 01:15 AM
What a stunning song by KJY & SJ! :)

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xjoq7f_y-yy-yy-y-yy-yy-1981-kj-yesudas-s-janaki_music

baroque
13th June 2012, 07:01 AM
ragam hamsadhwani, Priya!

:ty:

oru naal oru kanavu.....irish bgm from Ilayaraja for Shri.yesudas.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jURe7fdlA5k

raagadevan
8th July 2012, 04:37 AM
A traditional Arabic song by Yesudas

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ULG8j1Fvd-Q&feature=related

raagadevan
16th July 2012, 02:40 AM
"neelimabbu kondallOna..." (Telugu version of "then kizhakku seemaiyilE...")
by K.J. Yesudas and K.S. Chithra - Music: A.R. Rahman

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rSpRMnlv8q4

baroque
19th July 2012, 06:37 AM
salilda's ahir bhairavi in swami vivekananda
chalo men jayen.....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1XPrvx2DLq0

20th July 2012, 03:24 AM
Maha Ganapathim in KJYs voice

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j3elIEZlOao

8th September 2012, 04:52 AM
Onnukkonnu :musicsmile:

http://www.thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs='SNGIRR4167'&lang=en

Rural music always has more of an evergreen charm which never gets lost in time :bow:

raagadevan
8th September 2012, 05:36 AM
Good selections, Baroque and Sunil :)

Here's the video of "onnukkonnu...":

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VFoxA8sKS1o

baroque
11th September 2012, 02:15 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&amp;v=EPXAv0Az4-c

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OjjDdVL-EMo

aruNa kiraNa maNi gOpura vaathalil..."
Johnson for the Malayalam movie NAZEEMA.

THANKS RAAGADEVAN

vinatha.

raagadevan
11th September 2012, 08:56 AM
Baroque: Thank you for "karuNaakaranE sivasankaranE..."; for the youtube upload and the posting
on these pages. Great composition; great singing! :)

The song "aruNa kiraNa maNi gOpura vaathalil..." that you posted was composed by music director
Johnson for the Malayalam movie NAZEEMA. Here is the original video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=JHeY2o7SNNM

Ilaiyaraja's "aruNa kiraNa deepam..." from GURU was also a masterpiece :) Here it is:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4bRPQCNG-sM

baroque
11th September 2012, 12:03 PM
Thanks raagadevan.
I corrected it.

Thanks for the movie - Guru composition link! :)

MANAME MAYANGADHEY.....SHRI.YESUDA'S PATHOS FOR SHRI.RAVINDRAN....VARIGAL VAIRAMUTHU!:musicsmile:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pKZKXmfFl4E&amp;feature=player_embedded

raagadevan
29th September 2012, 08:09 PM
Here is a "rare" pick in Tamil, sung by யேசுதாஸ், சித்ரா and chorus, from the 1990 movie
பாட்டாளி மகன். Music was by சந்கீதராஜன் (famous in Malayalam as எஸ். பி. வெங்கடேஷ்);
and the song featured அர்ஜுன் and சிந்து.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QmDVlIYZO9c

baroque
30th September 2012, 12:03 AM
இறைவன் இரண்டு பொம்மைகள் செய்தான்
தான் விளையாட
அவை இரண்டும் சேர்ந்தொரு பொம்மையை செய்தன
தாம் விளையாட...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BDClstLMTNI&playnext=1&list=PL2CCD5824E7EB543D&feature=results_video

KOSHISH'S soja baba mere.....Rafi's composition...Composer Madhan mohan.

3rd October 2012, 02:47 PM
Help needed pls !

There was a song by Dr.KJY and VJ called something along these lines " antha maanai parungal azhagu" or some thing like that, can some give some info about this song?

Such a beautiful song!

3rd October 2012, 02:56 PM
Help needed pls !

There was a song by Dr.KJY and VJ called something along these lines " antha maanai parungal azhagu" or some thing like that, can some give some info about this song?

Such a beautiful song!

PS... enna ippadi kaettuteenga ?

adhu oru super duper hit song illaiyo ?

idho youtube link...

http://youtu.be/1aF9TaRHS8c

3rd October 2012, 03:07 PM
Thanks madhu anna :) ennaku marathi konjum Jasthi :oops:

3rd October 2012, 03:25 PM
Thanks madhu anna :) ennaku marathi konjum Jasthi :oops:
thanks ellam edhukku ? enakku ungalai vida maradhi adhigam :kikiki:

raagadevan
13th October 2012, 02:24 AM
From Doordarshan archives:

"tista nadi si tu chanchala..." (Duet by Yesudas and Hemalata; lyrics and music by Ravindra Jain)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=djsN3jP_CAs&feature=relate

"prakriti kE kaN kaN mEin sangeeth..."

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FrIZenkSYd8&feature=related

Complete audio version of prakriti ke...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yk0zWGxh0e0&feature=related

26th October 2012, 04:48 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=OhnIGSkRxrI

Superb song :clap:

raagadevan
31st October 2012, 07:16 AM
"devude ichchaadu veedhi..." (Telugu)

(dheivam thandha veedu... in Telugu; featuring Rajnikanth)

From Anthuleni Katha (1976)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RllsvcZxqzo

9th November 2012, 08:06 PM
Was listening to some vintage KJY stuff (unnidam mayagugirEn)! There was always some "Confusion” about whether the singer was KJY or PJ. The same confusion existed over the song " poovE poochudavA".

Well it is clearly KJY.

raagadevan
3rd December 2012, 11:57 PM
திரைப் படம்: சிறைப் பறவை (1987)
இசை: இளையராஜா
குரல்கள்: யேசுதாஸ், சுனந்தா
நடிப்பு: விஜயகாந்த், ராதிகா
வரிகள்: மு. மேத்தா

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0IFZXv6wbf8

ஆனந்தம் பொங்கிட பொங்கிட பொங்கிட
காதல் சலங்கைகள் காதில் ஒலிக்குதடி

மேகங்கள் தாளமும் மேளமும் கொட்டிட
ஆடும் இளமயில் தோகை விரிக்குதடி

வான் மழை போல் துள்ளி வா வா வா

லாலி லாலி சுப லாலி லாலி

பூவோடு மஞ்சள் உண்டு
என்னாளும் இன்பம் உண்டு

லாலி லாலி சுப லாலி லாலி

கண்ணான கண்மணிக்கும்
கல்யாண மாப்பிள்ளைக்கும்

லாலி லாலி சுப லாலி லாலி

மாலை இளம் தென்றல் ஆளை மயக்குது
சோலைக் குயில் வந்து சொல்லும் மொழி எதுவோ
தேரில் உலா வரும் தேவ இசை குயில்
நேரில் உலா வரும் நேரம் எது இதுவோ
நேரம் அந்தி நேரம் கீதம் வந்து சேரும்

ஆடைகள் மூடிய மேனியில் சுயம்வரம்
ஆயிரம் ஆயிரம் ஆசைகள் சுகம் பெரும்
நான் அருகே வரவோ மனம் உருகிட

தோரண வாசலில் தங்க ரதங்களும்
தோழிகளும் என்னைச் சூழ வலம் வருவேன்
வானவில்லை அங்கு காணவில்லை என்று
மேகம் அலைந்திட தேகம் தனில் அணிய
கண்கள் உன்னை தேடும்
கால்கள் துள்ளி ஓடும்

என் மனம் உன் மனம் ஆனது ஒரு மனம்
இந்திர பூமியில் இன்னொரு திருமணம்
பூ முகமே சுகமே இனி தினம் தினம்

மேகங்கள் தாளமும் மேளமும் கொட்டிட
ஆடும் இளமயில் தோகை விரிக்குதடி

வான் மழை போல் துள்ளி வா... வா வா

லாலி லாலி சுப லாலி லாலி

raagadevan
16th February 2013, 01:51 AM
பாடல்: கூந்தலிலே நெய் தடவி
திரைப்படம்: கல்யாண ஊர்வலம் (1970)
பாடியவர்: கே.ஜே. யேசுதாஸ் & எஸ். ஜானகி
இயற்றியவர்: கவிஞர் வாலி
இசை: ஆர். பார்த்தசாரதி

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IvKOzk3wKLI

கூந்தலிலே நெய் தடவி
குளிர் விழியில் மை தடவி
காத்திருக்கும் கன்னி மகள்
காதல் மனம் ஒரு தேனருவி
இளம் வயது வளர்ந்து வர
கனவு தொடர்ந்து வர
கல்யாண ஊர்வலமோ

கூந்தலிலே நெய் தடவி
குளிர் விழியில் மை தடவி
காத்திருக்கும் கன்னி மகள்
காதல் மனம் ஒரு தேனருவி
இளம் வயது வளர்ந்து வர
கனவு தொடர்ந்து வர
கல்யாண ஊர்வலமோ

மாப்பிள்ளை நெஞ்சம் மஞ்சம்
அதில் மல்லிகைச் செண்டு கொஞ்சம்
மாப்பிள்ளை நெஞ்சம் மஞ்சம்
அதில் மல்லிகைச் செண்டு கொஞ்சம்
காதலி உள்ளம் வெள்ளம்
அதில் காதலின் ஓடம் செல்லும்
இளம் வயது வளர்ந்து வர
கனவு தொடர்ந்து வர
கல்யாண ஊர்வலமோ

நெஞ்சமெனும் ஆலயத்தில்
நின்றதெல்லாம் என் அண்ணன் மகள்
என் மனதைத் தன்னுடனே
எடுத்துச் செல்வாள் அந்த அன்பு மகள் புது
மனையில் புகுந்து
மணவரையில் கலந்திருக்க
கல்யாண நாள் வருமோ

நெஞ்சமெனும் ஆலயத்தில்
நின்றதெல்லாம்
என் அண்ணன் மகள்
என் மனதைத் தன்னுடனே
எடுத்துச் செல்வாள்
அந்த அன்பு மகள் புது
மனையில் புகுந்து
மணவரையில் கலந்திருக்க
கல்யாண நாள் வருமோ

சித்தப்பா...

ஆயிரம் காலத்தைக் கடந்து
விழி நீரினைக் கண்கள் மறந்து
ஆயிரம் காலத்தைக் கடந்து
விழி நீரினைக் கண்கள் மறந்து
அன்பெனும் வானத்தில் பறந்து
நீ வாழ்ந்திட வேண்டும் இருந்து
இளம் பருவ மழையில்
இரு உருவம் நனைந்து வர
கல்யாண ஊர்வலமோ

6th March 2013, 07:49 PM
was listening to "poo vizhi vasalil yaradi vanthathu kiliyE kiliyE" :lol2: Lovely song though :)

raagadevan
6th March 2013, 11:41 PM
was listening to "poo vizhi vasalil yaradi vanthathu kiliyE kiliyE" :lol2: Lovely song though :)

Thank you Paramasivan for bringing this up again! :) I remember you complaining a while back about KJY pronouncing it as "kili" instead of the correct way which, according to you, was "கிழி"/"kizhi"!!!

To refresh your memory, here is what you posted on this thread on June 28, 2011:

With all "respect" to Dr KJY :notworthy: He is known for his தமிழ் உச்சரிப்பு. esp கிழி as kili...! :|

Yes, I was refering to his song "Poovili vaasalil yaradi vanthathu kiliyE KiliyE instead of KizhiyE KizhiyE. BTW I am no expert in Tamil Literature, I did not study tamil at all, I can only read/speak in tamil, but I can't write in Tamil :(

raagadevan
11th March 2013, 06:04 PM
Ragadevan sir :)

How do you right கிளி in english then ? :confused2:

Paramasivan: Don't pretend like the problem is that you do not know how to "right" கிளி in English! :) Whenever you run out of things to say on mayyam pages, you go back to KJY singing "கிலியே கிலியே"! : For example, this is what you posted (again) on July 8, 2011:

:shock: enaku intha paatai keatkum pOthellam "KiliyE KilyE" thaan Gnyabaham varuthu :lol2:

Just joking Murali sir :)

Following your postings that I quoted on March 6, 2013, there was a lot of discussion about it. I was sure that you then understood how to write "ழ" and "ள" and "ல". Again, to refresh your memory:

Param,
KJY never had problem with ழ.

It almost sounded like கிலியே கிலியே to our ears :-)

Yes, param it was 'parrot, parrot' (i.e. கிளியே கிளியே) and not 'tear, tear' (கிழியே,கிழியே)

That was Param's confusion, Plum :-)

kiLi (parrot) is intended and KJY did right according to Malayalees. Per Tamils, he softened it to 'kiliye' and was fearful.

raagadevan
11th March 2013, 06:05 PM
Sorry for the long, long discussion! I promise not to talk about this subject any more!

raagadevan
19th March 2013, 05:14 AM
படம் : தீபம் (1977)
இசை: இளையராஜா
பாடியவர்: K.J. யேசுதாஸ் & S. ஜானகி
வரிகள்: புலமைபித்தன்

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D0Gi2ktrsDE

பூவிழி வாசலில் யாரடி வந்தது
கிளியே கிளியே இளங்கிளியே கிளியே
அங்கு வரவா தனியே
மெல்ல தொடவா கனியே
இந்த புன்னகை என்பது சம்மதம்
என்று அழைக்குது எனையே

அங்கு வரவா தனியே
மெல்ல தொடவா கனியே
என்று அழைக்குது எனையே

அரும்பான காதல் பூவானது
அனுபவ சுகங்களை தேடுது
நினைத்தாலும் நெஞ்சம் தேனானது
நெருங்கவும் மயங்கவும் ஓடுது
மோகம் வரும் ஒரு வேளையில்
நாணம் வரும் மறு வேளையில்
இரண்டும் போரடுது
துடிக்கும் இளமை தடுக்கும் பெண்மை

கிளியே கிளியே ஆஹா
இளங்கிளியே கிளியே ஆஹா
அங்கு வரவா தனியே ஆஹா
மெல்ல தொடவா கனியே ஆஹா
என்று அழைக்குது எனையே ஆஹஹா

இள மாலைத் தென்றல் தாலாட்டுது
இளமையின் கனவுகள் ஆடுது
மலை வாழை கால்கள் தள்ளாடுது
மரகத இலை திரை போடுது
கார்மேகமோ குழலானது
ஊர்கோலமாய் அது போகுது
நாளை கல்யாணமோ
எனக்கும் உனக்கும் பொருத்தம் தானே

இங்கு வரலாம் தனியே
மெல்ல தொடலாம் எனையே
என்று அழைக்குது உனையே

கலைந்தாடும் கூந்தல் பாய் போடுமோ
கலை இது அறிமுகம் வேண்டுமா
அசைந்தாடும் கூந்தல் நாமாகவோ
நவரச நினைவுகள் போதுமா
பூமேனியோ மலர் மாளிகை
பொன்மாலையில் ஒரு நாழிகை
நாளும் நான் ஆடவோ
அணைக்கும் துடிக்கும்
சிலிர்க்கும் மேனி

கிளியே கிளியே ஆஹா
இளங்கிளியே கிளியே ஆஹா
இங்கு வரலாம் தனியே ஆஹா
மெல்ல தொடலாம் எனையே ஆஹா
என்று அழைக்குது உனையே ஆஹஹா

raagadevan
18th April 2013, 05:55 PM
Another great song by the Ilaiyaraja/K.J Yesudas combination;
from the 1992 move UNNAI VAAZHTHI PAADUGIREN...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8G_eZGclbsg

raagadevan
3rd May 2013, 08:24 AM
Yesudas rerecords his first Tamil movie song (நீயும் பொம்மை நானும் பொம்மை...) for the new movie மூடர் கூடம்:

Song: Neeyum Bommai...
Movie: Moodar Koodam
Starcast: Oviya, Jayaprakash, Anupama, Kuberan & Others
Director: Naveen
Singer: KJ Yesudas
Lyricist: Vidwan Ve.Lakshman
Composer: Natarajan Sankaran
Producer: M.Shaik Davood (AKA) Naveen
Banner: White Shadows Productions

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DnvmBDKvu-8

raagadevan
3rd May 2013, 07:47 PM
Here is the original version of நீயும் பொம்மை நானும் பொம்மை...; recorded exactly 50 years ago!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=buQ6KQ0LASw

baroque
6th May 2013, 11:23 PM
:ty:raagadevan, UNNAI VAAZHTHA VANDHEN...:musicsmile:

Ultimate karaharapriya, it's been long I enjoyed!

ravishing composition from Ilayaraja!
fascinating bassguitar prelude & melodious flute interlude &
charanam...aahaa!
Tabala Raja hyped the joy with his jadhi increase!
Shri.Yesudas's resonance & Chithra's sweet vocals, joy has no bounds!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E1_ERZjfbk4

DHARMATHIN THALAIVAN is the music Cd in my car this morning!

raagadevan
27th May 2013, 07:53 AM
In memory of the one and only TMS, I am re-posting this "rare" TMS/KJY duet...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=CFj4Tb9KEYw

27th May 2013, 03:44 PM
innoru arumaiyana TMS, KJY song irukku .. adhu already namma POW-la post aagi irukku..
andha link idho

http://www.mayyam.com/talk/showthread.php?4451-Pick-of-the-week-1-Mar-to-5-Aug-2006&p=76890&viewfull=1#post76890

chinnakkannan
8th June 2013, 09:38 PM
உன்னை வாழ்த்திப் பாடுகிறேன் என்ற படம் வெகுவெகு மெல்லிய புகையாய் நினைவில்..
உங்கள் ஒளி நாடாவை (இன்னாபா அது வீடியோன்னு தமிழில் சொல்றத விட்டுட்டு!)
பார்த்த பிறகு பார்த்த நினைவு வந்தது..கதை சுத்தம் நினைவுக்கு வரவில்லை.. பார்த்திபனுக்கு கேஜே ஒய் பாட்டு..கொடுத்துவைத்தவர்..
சுமா ரங்கனாத்தாக அறிமுகமானவர்..இளமையாகத் தெரிந்து கண்ணைக் கவர்ந்தார் அந்தக் காலத்தில்.
.பிற்காலத்தில் சுமன் ரங்கனாத்தாக வடதேசம் போனவரை நான் ஃபாலோ செய்யவில்லை- எனில் அப்போது ஃபேஸ்புக் இல்லாததால் ஓரிரண்டு ஹிந்திப் படங்களில் அழகு குறைந்து காணப் பட்டார்..பார்த்திபன் பத்தி சொல்லவா வேணும்.
.அந்தக்க்காலத்தில் அவரது படம் பார்த்தால் கொஞ்சம் ஜெலுசில் போட்டுக் கொள்ள வேண்டும்..
அது சரி பாட்டு..அபாரம்.. நன்றாக இழைந்து பாடியிருக்கும் ஜேசுதாஸ்.. மனசுல ரீங்கரிக்கிறது..
சுமா ரங்கனாத்தின் அவுட்டோர் நடனமும் கண்ணில் கொஞ்சம் ரீவைண்ட் ஆகிக் கொண்டிருக்கிறது..ம்ம் யாருக்குமே வயசாகக் கூடாதுப்பா

Another great song by the Ilaiyaraja/K.J Yesudas combination;
from the 1992 move UNNAI VAAZHTHI PAADUGIREN...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8G_eZGclbsg

raagadevan
23rd June 2013, 06:53 AM
This is a rare song. First of all, this is the only song that K.J. Yesudas sang in a
Rajesh Khanna movie (even though the song was not for Rajesh Khanna!).
This song is from one of only three movies in which Yesudas sang songs composed
by R.D. Burman. In the video of the movie that I watched, only a few seconds
of the aalaap (humming) in the middle of the song were included. I do not know whether
or not the theater copy of the movie had a longer version. Most, if not all, of the LP records,
CDs, and on-line collections of the songs from the movie had this song excluded, but the movie's
titles credited Yesudas as one of the singers. (Don't want to start discussing movieland politics!).

Without further ado, here it is:

Song: "raam rahim mein anthar na hi..."
Movie: ALAG ALAG (1985)
Directed by: Shakti Samanta
Starring: Rajesh Khanna, Shashi Kapoor, Tina Munim
Lyrics: Anand Bakshi
Music: R.D. Burman
Singers: K.J. Yesudas and Asha Bhosle

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B5feedZKjMo

raagadevan
7th July 2013, 04:20 AM
பாடல்: "ஒரு கோடி பௌர்ணமி..."
திரைப்படம்: தலைவன் (2013)
இசை: வித்யாசாகர்
வரிகள்: கவிஞர் அறிவுமதி

http://www.4shared.com/mp3/eqCeMnSI/Oru_Kodi_Pournami.ஹ்த்ம்ல்

ஒரு கோடி பௌர்ணமி உரையாடும் வெண்பனி
என் தாயில் பார்க்கிரேன் பார்க்கிறேன் பார்க்கிரேன்
பலநூறு வண்ணமாய் உறவாடும் பூக்களை
ஒரு காம்பில் பார்க்கிரேன் பார்க்கிரேன் பார்க்கிரேன்
உயிரோடு பேசி உரையாடும் நேரமே
இதமாக சுகமாக இசை பாடுதே நிலா...

raagadevan
4th August 2013, 10:01 AM
A tribute to Dakshinamoorthy Swami...

Song: ponveyil maNikkachcha azhinju veeNu...
Movie: Nruthasala (1972)
Lyrics - Sreekumaran Thampi

This is one of the earliest Indian movie music compositions that experiments with the concept
of harmonizing through Countermelody; and Swami uses Naadaswaram in this process. It is
interesting that he had absolutely no interest in or exposure to western concepts of music.
Another interesting aspect of this song is the mixed use of thabala, thavil & idaikka.

Yesudas sang most of Swami's great compositions in Malayalam. Swami had a very long
association with Yesudas' family, starting with his father and continuing until his granddaughter.
I will post some details at a later time.

Here it is:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bXcUpkZCbmo

raagadevan
4th August 2013, 07:11 PM
Collection of Dakshinamoorthy Swami's Malayalam compositions sung by K.J. Yesudas (205 songs):

http://en.msidb.org/listSongs.php?tag=Search&musician=V%20Dakshinamoorthy&category=singers&artist=KJ%20Yesudas&limit=205&page_num=1

raagadevan
2nd October 2013, 01:10 AM
13 minutes of musical bliss; written and composed by Ravindra Jain for a movie
that was to be titled TANSEN. The movie was never made, and the song was
never (officially) released.

Here it is...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wEpWWp7tct4

raagadevan
10th January 2014, 10:03 AM
Happy 74th Birthday to K.J. Yesudas!

Russellhaj
10th January 2014, 10:54 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LggayXONwiU

What a beautiful and an outstanding song by both Raja and K.J. yesudass in Ragg "Hindolam"

Russellhaj
10th January 2014, 10:59 PM
One more Gem from K.J. Yesudass.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q1a1y-Fr46A

raagadevan
10th January 2014, 11:40 PM
What a beautiful and and an outstanding song by both Raja and K.J. yesudass in Ragg "Hindolam"

The original video of ஸ்ரீதேவி என் வாழ்வில் அருள் செய்ய வா...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0bA-iA9e13Y

Russellhaj
10th January 2014, 11:59 PM
Thank you very much.

Russellhaj
12th January 2014, 02:38 AM
Another Nice One !!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QCmsZbarARE

12th January 2014, 09:33 AM
வழக்கமாக தளத்திலிருந்து வேறுபட்ட ஒரு நிறம்.. ராஜாவின் முனைப்பிற்கு ஏசுதாசின் முயற்சி அற்புதம். (ஏசுதாஸ் பங்குபெற்ற டூயட்களில் ஆகச் சிறந்தது என தேர்ந்தெடுத்தால் பெரும்பாலான பாடல்கள் ராஜாவின் இசையில் மலர்ந்தவை. )

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3vOd87w9gb4

raagadevan
12th January 2014, 10:28 AM
Great selections Poem and Venkkiram! :)

raagadevan
13th January 2014, 04:04 AM
வழக்கமாக தளத்திலிருந்து வேறுபட்ட ஒரு நிறம்..

Here is another வேறுபட்ட ஒரு பாட்டு:

படம்: ஒத்தையடிப் பாதையிலே (1980)
இசை: ஷங்கர்/கணேஷ்
பாடகர்கள்: யேசுதாஸ் & வாணி ஜெயராம்

செப்புக் கொடம் தூக்கி போற செல்லமா
நான் விக்கிப் போறேன் தாகத்திலே நில்லம்மா...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QlWTGYkA5Dg

Russellhaj
13th January 2014, 06:04 AM
நான் விக்கிப் போறேன் தாகத்திலே நில்லம்மா..

கேள்வி-பதில் ஸ்டைலிளில் அமைந்துள்ள நல்ல பாடல். சங்கர் (சங்கர்-கணேஷ்) ன் நடிப்பு funnyaயக உள்ளது. நடிகை யார் என்று தெரியவில்லை.

முற்றிலும் வேறுபட்ட இன்னுமொரு சிறந்த பாடல் !!அருமையான பாடல் வரிகள், மிக சிறப்பான இசை.நல்ல குரல் வளம் . ......கங்கை அமரனின் மிக சிறந்த பாடல்களில் ஒன்று.

உன் நெஞ்சிலே பாரம்..
உனக்காகவே நானும்
சுமைதாங்கியாய் தாங்குவேன்
உன் கண்களின் ஓரம்..
எதற்காகவோ ஈரம்
கண்ணீரை நான் மாற்றுவேன் ......My all time favorite
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hwk5m4r4hck

Russellhaj
13th January 2014, 06:16 AM
இந்த அச்சு பிச்சு சிவகுமாருக்கு ராஜா எப்பொழுதுமே மிக மிக நல்ல பாடல்களை கொடுப்பார். அதில் மிக முக்கியமான பாடல் இது !!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_I8HiX3GQJA

Russellhaj
13th January 2014, 08:17 AM
சென்றது கண்ணுறக்கம்…
நெஞ்சில் நின்றது உன் மயக்கம்
இங்கு ஓய்வதேது தேய்வதேது உந்தன் ஞாபகம்
உன்னிடம் சொல்வதற்கு…
எண்ணம் ஒன்றல்ல நூறிருக்கு
அதை நீயும் கேட்க நானும் சொல்ல ஏது வாசகம்
பாத சுவடுகள் போகும்
பாதை அறிந்திங்கு நானும்
கூட வருகின்ற போதும்
கூட மறுப்பதோ நீயும்
உள்ளக் கதவினை மெல்ல திறந்திங்கு
நெஞ்சில் இடம் தர வேண்டும்…

ஊரெல்லாம் உன் பாட்டுதான் உள்ளத்தை மீட்டுது
நாளெல்லாம் உன் பார்வைதான் இன்பத்தை கூட்டுது
நீயல்லால் தெய்வம் வேரெது…
நீயெனை சேரும் நாளெது…ஓஹோ

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=opgarAM0Pw0

raagadevan
15th January 2014, 02:48 AM
நான் விக்கிப் போறேன் தாகத்திலே நில்லம்மா..

கேள்வி-பதில் ஸ்டைலிளில் அமைந்துள்ள நல்ல பாடல். சங்கர் (சங்கர்-கணேஷ்) ன் நடிப்பு funnyaயக உள்ளது. நடிகை யார் என்று தெரியவில்லை.

Are you sure it was சங்கர்? A youtube posting of the song by INRECO listed the actors as கணேஷ் & பௌர்ணமி.