View Full Version : M. Ghibran - MD of Vaagai Sooda Vaa

13th September 2011, 03:42 PM
Vaagai Sooda Vaa (VSV) :musicsmile: M. Ghibran Ji :bow:

http://www.hindu.com/mp/2004/09/30/images/2004093000680302.jpg

All I can say is that in the recent time, I’ve never been so much bowled over by an album which is by a debut composer as much as I have been by VSV by M. Ghibran Ji. I rarely go gaga over albums which have music by debutants and it takes two or three albums to be released by them before I become aware of their presence.

Obviously like others here I also followed the word of mouth for this album and also read reviews highly praising the music. I got the album and decided to listen to it on my JVC producing headphones and instantly fell in love with every song. There was certainly some divine intervention happening whilst I sat alone looking out of my window during sunset listening to Poraney. As I had the album in shuffle the next song on list was in fact the karaoke version of Poraney and the same magic was repeated. After completing the album I instantly tweeted to M. Ghibran Ji expressing how much I liked the album. I wasn’t expecting a reply but was really pleased when he said, “Thank you Sunil”. Some might say that this might be his marketing strategy to become popular. From reading his other tweets I felt he seemed like a very spiritual and humble guy, a quality which every great music director possesses and again some people may say he’s pulling of a drama show so he can draw equal amount of fans as legends that still continue to rise in the industry.

As I try and be attention seeking sometimes I felt I should send him a Youtube link to my first beat. I was really surprised when he replied straight away saying he liked it and appreciated that I use his tabla, mridghangam, thavil, ghatam etc. loops in my beat. I would have never guessed that the loops I incorporated in to my beat were by M. Ghibran Ji. He also requested me to check out his ethnic virtual instruments that he produced for the Apple Logic Pro software.

Some of you might be thinking I’m sounding biased towards him now since he replied to me and heard my music, however I would like to assure that even if he didn’t reply to me or hear my music I wouldn’t have cared less and this is simply because I happily would have continued listening to VSV anyway as the music speaks for itself. It’s just been over two months now since the album released and I really feel that with the right amount of publicity it has the potential of achieving a National Film Award. Some portions of the album really display calibre of unimaginable talent and it is really inspiring when I hear debutants getting the praise they actually deserve. He has been in the industry for thirteen odd years working on ad films and jingles and also he already has two private albums under his belt. He surely knows what he’s doing.

With his permission I started the official fan club on twitter for M. Ghibran Ji the weekend the album released but he felt that it’s too early for a thing like this. I didn’t want to cause trouble so since then didn’t really update the fan club profile with tweets. I don’t know if he took it the wrong way or not but on the contrary of him telling me not to update the page, he had the courtesy to make me one of the administrators for his Facebook fan page, for which I am truly blessed.

Vaagai Sooda Vaa is apparently set to release on 23rd September so on behalf of the M. Ghibran Ji fan club I would like to kindly request those reading this to think about watching this film and suggesting it to friends and friends of friends.

Thank you

Sunil Malhotra

13th September 2011, 03:47 PM
To avoid confusion, M. Ghibran Ji was formerly addressed as Vijaygee.

source: http://www.hindu.com/mp/2004/09/30/stories/2004093000680300.htm Article by Savitha Gautham

Carnatic classics are given a world music twist by Vijaygee. Wonder how? Read on

FUSION WITH the nadaswaram? Why not, seems to be Vijaygee's answer. This young composer-arranger has given a world music twist to Carnatic classics in an album that's simply titled "Reverberations." And in the first week of October, "Reverberations II" will hit the racks. Both the albums have been released under the Kosmic Music label.

http://www.hindu.com/mp/2004/09/30/images/2004093000680301.jpg

For the first album, Vijay, an eighth grader in piano (practical and theory) from the Trinity College, London, and now doing his eighth grade with the Royal College of Music, has lent a fresh sound to such classics as "Nagumomu," "Samajavaragama" and "Ennathavam." The notes of the nadaswaram, played by G. Ramesh, lend the tracks a traditional touch, while percussionist Vikram and guitarist Anand provide African rhythms and rock riffs. And the strings lend that Western classical feel. There are some original compositions which have names such as "Missing Notes," "Pulse of Chennai," "Dawn to Dusk" and "Marriage in Monsoon."

Wider appeal

Why fusion, you ask the 24-year-old. "It has a wider reach and appeals to the younger generation," is his reply. "Also it gives me a chance to experiment with new sounds."

For "Reverberations II," the Octet Cantabile will be lending choral support along with Durga Prasad playing chitra veena and friends like K.G. Ranjith Kutty and Devaraj pitching in with vocal inputs.

Vijay, who has jingles such as Aavin, Gold Winner, Pothys and Arogya Milk to his credit, has also arranged music for the films "Five Star" and "Yeh! Nee Romba Azagha Irukkey," besides a couple of Malayalam films.

Unforgettable moment

"Sharing the stage with the Colonial Cousins at a show in Singapore" is an unforgettable moment for this youngster, who owns a studio, Akshara Sound Forge, in T. Nagar. "In fact, both the albums were recorded at my studio," he states proudly.

His influences? "These days, I enjoy listening to Deep Forest, Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan, Yanni and Nitin Sawhney. I draw inspiration from many artistes."

The future? "I want to study music composition, hopefully at Berkeley. And, make a world music album," says Vijay earnestly.

13th September 2011, 03:50 PM
Here are two of his interviews:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XXY5UP8MGWM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hFXyOpuQOY8

13th September 2011, 03:52 PM
Official fan club Twitter link - https://twitter.com/#!/MGhibran_Fans
Official fan club Facebook link - https://www.facebook.com/pages/M-Ghibran/237407306286991

13th September 2011, 03:54 PM
You can hear his former material at Raaga and Music India Online. Here are the respective links http://www.raaga.com/channels/fusion/music/Vijaygee.html and http://www.musicindiaonline.com/#/search/clips/global!q=vijaygee

13th September 2011, 04:03 PM
Also please check his former myspace page. You can hear his number Out of control http://www.myspace.com/music/player, which is highly scintillating.

baroque
13th September 2011, 08:49 PM
Thanks Sunil for the article and info on the artist.

Two new music albums for me to check out this evening :)

I checked out two compositions from Reverberations- vol-1 this morning while having breakfast.

Dawn to Dusk -
WIND INSTRUMENT plays RAGAM DESH - THUNBAM NERGAIYIL YAAZH EDUTHU INBAM SERKKA MAATTAYAA..

Longing and enchantment Desh induces is heartwarming.

I am under Sanjeev Kumar fever forever.
Late Sanjeev Kumar is amazingly romantic for me :-D...I can't resist.
Don't you just love those boys who adorable, huggable, soft and sensitive!
Sanjeev Kumar's Subtle emotions... such a superlative performer, I DIG

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bNLktsUjY9c&feature=related

Hubby and wife lost the intimacy, then did something about it. Gained the loving, intimate life back.

Kanu Roy's composition for phir kahi.........ANUBHAV

Handsome MGR's androru naal.........Nadodi.

http://www.raaga.com/player4/?id=155345&mode=100&rand=0.5510797744081708

Sorry I can't find the video.

Marriage in Monsoon -
Melody plays RAGAM PILU
bajarey yedhu naadham.....sadasiva brahmendra is one of my very favorite keerthanai.

Nice job. wonderful to listen.

VAAGAI SOODA VAA indeed a beautiful work.:musicsmile:

Arrangement is very good.

Good luck to him.

love,

Vinatha.

13th September 2011, 10:03 PM
Thank you Vinatha mam.

I highly recommend Pakkala Nilapadi - Spurt Of Values - http://www.raaga.com/player4/?id=76190&mode=100&rand=0.1576805497511422 What raag is this?

baroque
14th September 2011, 12:55 AM
Sunil,

All those keerthanais title tracks, I will check out this evening.
I assume he has done orchestration for the keerthanais.

There is a pakala nilabadi.... Thyagaraja krithi in rag Karaharapriya.

Dig

Are you aware of Ganesh (Kumaresh)'s album ADHRISHTA ?
Ganesh violin and Debashish Bhattacharya's slide guitar collaboration.
He has done some enchanting rags like Charukesi, Mohan Kalyani etc.. in his album.
It is not orchestral.

I listen to Slide Guitar works by Brij Bhushan Kabra, Fusion works of L.Subramaniam, L.shankar , Selva Ganesh works, Nadaka-Living Colours etc...

Check them out if you like.

End

Too much music too little time... Good for us, We have wide selections for our mood.

VAAGAI SOODA VAA is impressive. Wish him a long and exciting music career in Indian Films.

27th September 2011, 02:46 AM
Sara sara video - http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=xxjvz-WGhaE

2nd October 2011, 10:15 AM
Picturization is a disappointment :cry:

That girl's expression couldn't match with the rendition of Chinmayi. Innum konjam nalla panni irukkalam.

romba edhirparthen indha song video-va. but :(

music man
3rd October 2011, 11:39 AM
Yes...Picturization was a very big letdown. I loved this song and was expecting some cute picturization. BUt I also think, the cinematography was brilliant like that of P.C.Shriram on Margazhi Poove. But the heroine was very weak in emoting. She actually spoils the song in a few places..The choreographer could have thought a little bit different...
It also didn't help that the story was set in 1960's and the gal had no make up...But she had powerful eyes....Didn't she???Anyway heard the movie is excellent and lets hope it succeeds in B.O

3rd October 2011, 01:52 PM
BO Success konjam doubt thaan Music. Not sure. No talks at all about this movie! :roll:

Don't know how Senga soola kaara has come out.

Yeah... The girl could not emote well! Romba romba edhirparthen indha song-a! :(

3rd October 2011, 03:31 PM
That gal had already acted as Cheran's sister in Yudham Sei.

genesis
24th October 2011, 09:21 PM
For a debutant this girl has done a very good job... just compare her with some other leading heroines like Trisha, N-Tara. Moreover I think her acting was more subtle and natural. (I hope you are not expecting Sivaji era emotions, just because the film in set in 60's).

I caught this song first time couple of weeks ago in some TV channel. The music and photography (Some places look like graphics... need to see a better video) caught my attention first. It is been a long time since a debutant MD has got such attention... need to watch him for few more albums.

genesis
4th November 2011, 03:29 AM
I am hooked to this album for more than 2 weeks now. Chinmayi'e rendition for "sara sara" is beautiful. I expect her to pick-up few awards (including national) for this song.

For a such a nice album I would like to see some more activity in this thread.

raagadevan
5th November 2011, 07:57 AM
For a debutant this girl has done a very good job... just compare her with some other leading heroines like Trisha, N-Tara. Moreover I think her acting was more subtle and natural.

"Starry dreams"

http://www.thehindu.com/life-and-style/metroplus/article2591325.ece?homepage=true

15th December 2011, 06:08 PM
Vaagai Sooda Vaa Film OST Unmix

http://soundcloud.com/mghibran/sets/vaagai-sooda-vaa-film-ost

15th December 2011, 11:25 PM
The sound quality is excellent. hooked on to 9. aatukkaran and velu

I would love to hear him in the next GVM's movie.

16th December 2011, 04:10 AM
M Ghibran Ji tweeted today

yes working on the Next project...Waiting for Official announcement from Production :-)

:happydance:

genesis
16th December 2011, 11:09 PM
Thanks for the link Sunil.

I watched the movie just couple of days back. The story progresses slowly, but it is really well made. We need to appreciate director Sargunam for taking such a great story line (knowing box office risk). I am tempted to compare this movie with Ashutosh Gowrikar's Swades. Swades also had slow story line and a message. That movie also did not do well in BO. It is not surprising the Tamil audience used to punch dialogue hero and high BP villains (aka Prakash Raj) could not take this movie well.

Vimal was cheating everyone in Kalavani and in this movie he gets cheated by almost everyone in the village. The heroine Iniya acted really well - I am not sure whether the credit goes to her or the director (The dance for the Thaila Thaila is one of the best in recent times - comparable to Dhanush's dance in Aadukalam)

It is unfortunate MD Ghibran did not get a super hit debut like Roja, but I expect him to prevail despite VSV's failure at BO.

17th December 2011, 11:24 AM
(The dance for the Thaila Thaila is one of the best in recent times - comparable to Dhanush's dance in Aadukalam)

Any online like please

17th December 2011, 05:55 PM
The sound quality is excellent. hooked on to 9. aatukkaran and velu

I would love to hear him in the next GVM's movie.

Scale, N.B. the uploader is M. Ghibran Ji himself, so what we're hearing is directly from his studio. :)

17th December 2011, 06:14 PM
Vimal was cheating everyone in Kalavani and in this movie he gets cheated by almost everyone in the village. The heroine Iniya acted really well - I am not sure whether the credit goes to her or the director (The dance for the Thaila Thaila is one of the best in recent times - comparable to Dhanush's dance in Aadukalam)

It is unfortunate MD Ghibran did not get a super hit debut like Roja, but I expect him to prevail despite VSV's failure at BO.

As one of the admins of his FB page, I am trying my level best to promote but my job is easier as the music in his debut speaks for itself and has certainly reached the masses. For now, I wish he chooses/receives the best of projects. There have been various MDs in the past that have left a spellbinding mark with their debuts but sadly due to excitement they have signed numerous projects which have hindered their consistency in quality as well as a pleasant prospect. I pray M. Ghibran Ji doesn't go down this road.

Nayagan
17th December 2011, 06:31 PM
Two melodious tunes in the album that I liked are Poraney and Sara Sara Kathu.
Hopefully he can be consistent and sustain in a very competitive market.

genesis
17th December 2011, 10:40 PM
Thaila Thaila Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8pt76osDONE

I do not think Ghibran is going to fade away after few movies. But he needs a BO hit soon to reach masses!!

genesis
17th December 2011, 10:54 PM
True HD video of "Sara Sara Saarakaththu": http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DIITzONSskE&hd=1

Poraaney, Poraaney: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nWlV7gpqKmM&hd=1

18th December 2011, 10:12 AM
Thanks Genesis for the link.

18th December 2011, 12:31 PM
Vaagai Sooda Vaa - To me, is the best of 2011 in many aspects!

Best Album
Best Song - Sara Sara
Best Lyrics - Senga soola Kaara - Vairamuthu
Best Singer:
Anitha.. What a rendition in Senga soola kara! :bow:
Chinmayi. :bow: Oozing innocence in Sara sara... Should have been challenging for the heroine during the picturization. No wonder she failed to give the best in this song. She couldn't emote well!

Overall - Hats off to Ghibran! Warm welcome! Sincerely wish he signs very good projects thus not allowing himself to fade! I've already sent enough tweets to him conveying the same!

20th December 2011, 09:54 PM
Thoughts on Vaagai Sooda Vaa background score

http://www.backgroundscore.com/2011/12/vaagai-sooda-vaa-background-score.html

Thanks to M.Ghibran for releasing the entire background score of the film online..

23rd December 2011, 10:11 PM
MGhibran via twitter

Praise to God, "Vaagai Sooda Vaa’ won the second Best Film Award in Chennai International Film Festival

3rd January 2012, 10:27 PM
TamilFilmUpdate via twitter

"Vaagai Sooda Vaa" fame Music director @MGhibran's next proj. is FoxStar - @ARMurugadoss Combo's 2nd film #Upcoming

TamilFilmUpdate via twitter

Best Music Director (Songs) - @MGhibran for "Vaagai Sooda Vaa" #TFUMusicAwards2011

https://twitter.com/#!/MGhibran_Fans

8th January 2012, 07:18 PM
M Ghibran on Super Singer (Vijay TV)http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fBexoiLSt84

22nd February 2012, 03:05 AM
Adverts featuring M Ghibran Ji's Music

Mangai Nighties http://youtube.com/watch?v=EGWivBMFud0
Velammal School http://youtube.com/watch?v=uRPOwMv-jaw
Saravana Selvarathinam http://youtube.com/watch?v=ldC5PBW7p64
Saravana Selvarathinam 2 http://youtube.com/watch?v=Aydh9ymFrs4
Deccan Chronicle http://youtube.com/watch?v=EBK8IQP8M90
Pigeon http://youtube.com/watch?v=7aKYCMnK0k4
Panasonic http://youtube.com/watch?v=h-PruKJE8rc
Udhayam Dhall http://youtube.com/watch?v=DQhJE6e85Ws
Avita Masala http://youtube.com/watch?v=6-UhXMX-zzI
Vaibhav Jewellery http://youtube.com/watch?v=tF2Wo5gBo-4
Premier Coffee Maker http://youtube.com/watch?v=RFrJhyrInL0
Chennai Silks http://youtube.com/watch?v=3Dc5bk-QLkw
Bapalal http://youtube.com/watch?v=h1QU6Uh2I2I
Nakshathra http://youtube.com/watch?v=MYuy1YqruEU
Ganapathy Silks http://youtube.com/watch?v=NJijh8V-kh8
Kungumam http://youtube.com/watch?v=AgzTYtm1ZnM

15th March 2012, 07:41 AM
Vaagai Sooda Vaa Music Review http://www.backgroundscore.com/2012/03/vaagai-sooda-vaa-music-review.html

3rd August 2012, 11:12 PM
M Ghibran tweeted "ARM and Foxstar productions album is in final stages and If God will's the Album will be out by september"

8th September 2012, 03:30 AM
MGhibran tweeted

"Happy to inform that the AR Murugadoss and Fox star productions film has been named as "Vatthikuchi"(Match stick)"

20th October 2012, 04:14 AM
@MGhibran tweeted

Good news! #Vatthikuchi teaser will be released along with #Thuppaki from Diwali. Hope u will like it

13th February 2013, 05:43 PM
Vathikuchi - Jukebox (Full Songs)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Er2n10KKd7o&feature=youtu.be

stULana
15th February 2013, 02:53 PM
Ghibran - very impressive second album.
Kanna Kanna :clap: and Amma Wake Me Up (good use of chorus/voices :bow:) are very good compositions..keeping in line with the on screen happenings/mood..and not just for the heck of churning out hits. Kuru Kuru is also fresh and youthful.

26th April 2013, 05:18 PM
https://soundcloud.com/mghibran/sets/vathikuchi-film-ost-unmixed

R.Latha
25th September 2013, 12:51 PM
Teddy Bear Song Lyrics from Nayyandi
Tamil Lyrics
Song : Teddy Bear
Movie : Nayyandi (Naiyandi)
Music : M. Ghipran
Singer : Dhanush
Game Start

Teddy bear-a katti urangidum kutti malariva paartha
Mansu oru cutting adikkuthuba
Aththu meera nenaicha nenaicha paartha
I’m very very sorry
Aala vetty kolambu vechiruva

Aththu meera nenaicha nenaicha
I’m very very sorry

Kaka-vum Peacock-avum
Harmongal Aada weekkakum

Kaka-vum Peacock-avum
Harmongal Aada weekkakum

Konjam neram kumari kumari kumari udamba paartha
Courieril liver anuppiduva
Aambalainnu nenaichu nenaichu avalai
Nerungi nerungi pona
Ambulancil eathi vitturuva

Kaka-vum Peacock-avum
Harmongal Aada weekkakum

Kaka-vum Peacock-avum
Harmongal Aada weekkakum

Takkaru takkaru da Toppu Takkaru-da
Iva takkunu pukunthu
Usuru muzhukka ottura stickaru-da

Cookkaru cookkaru-da hot cookkaru-da
Mansu ivala marakka pannuthu makkaru makkaru-da

Sone pappadithan iva pesum paecha
Thaenu bottilu iva paerum aacha
Loli-pop-thaan iva costume-aacha

kalakkura mayakkura kavithai commy kavithai commy

Kaka-vum Peacock-avum
Harmongal Aada weekkakum

Kaka-vum Peacock-avum
Harmongal Aada weekkakum

Aththu meera nenaicha nenaicha
I’m very very sorry

Kaka-vum Peacock-avum
Harmongal Aada weekkakum

Kaka-kaka-vum Peacockcock-avum
Harmongal Aada weekkakum

Kaka-vum Peacock-avum
Harmongal Aada weekkakum

Kaka-vum Peacock-avum
Harmongal Aada weekkakum

vedio also is here.

http://www.cinemanewstoday.com/teady-bear-song-lyrics-from-naiyaandi/

R.Latha
10th January 2014, 09:06 AM
Song: Kannukkul Pothivaippen
Singers: Vijay Prakash, Sadhana Sargam, Charulatha mani,Dr.R.Ganesh
Music: M.Ghibran
Movie: Thirumanam Ennum Nikkah
Lyrics: Parvathy

Kannukull pothivaipen
en chella kannaney vaa
dhidhithajai jadhikkul
ennodu aada va va..

adikadi unnai pidikka naan, manraadida
idappuram viral madakki nee doo kaattida
en kannaney vaada vaa.
vishama kannaney vaada vaa..

Kannukull pothivaipen
en chella kannaney vaa
dhidhithajai jadhikkul
ennodu aada va va..

adikadi unnai pidikka naan, manraadida
idappuram viral madakki nee doo kaattida
en kannaney vaada vaa.
vishama kannaney vaada vaa..

Siru cittigai paasam perum kadalaai maara
manithuli ellaamey arainodikkul theera
mazhaitharaya ullam pisupisuppai theda
edharkkadi thindaattam kathakathappai kaana

NIlave inam sollaamal sollvaaye
sengothai manam un pechil thaan thaayen
unnaale yosikkiren.
un viralai pidithu nadakkum
ennidam yaasikkiren. (Kannukull pothivaipen..)

Uyir edhayo thaedum manam adhaye naadum
thaniye rendum oru vazhiyil odum
edhu edhukko poigal
edhir edhiraai meigal
edhu edhuvaai aagum
idai kadandhey pogum

kannaadi munai pol ennangal koorai
nee illaadhadhu pol ellaamey veraai
unnaale poorikkiren

Un sirippi sarathil magila
marathin poo thaikkiren.. (Kannukull pothivaipen..)

raagadevan
16th November 2014, 11:43 AM
Tune in to Ghibran

-By Sudhir srinivasan; The Hindu, November 15, 2014

"What’s music to Ghibran’s ears? Knowing he is composer for all three Kamal films coming up. Sudhir Srinivasan meets him on cloud nine."

http://www.thehindu.com/features/cinema/interview-with-ghibran/article6602906.ece?homepage=true