valli or not - IR's answers are weird - they are that way because the interviewer has no clue what to ask and how to ask!
the questions are like asking 'what did you eat for breakfast today?''what did you eat last night?'
sappa questions
Printable View
valli or not - IR's answers are weird - they are that way because the interviewer has no clue what to ask and how to ask!
the questions are like asking 'what did you eat for breakfast today?''what did you eat last night?'
sappa questions
Any update on the Mumbai function? Looks like RK attending, KH may attend
http://tamil.filmibeat.com/news/feli...ai-032819.html
that is one weird interview (TOI) ...
not sure about this Mumbai function too.. afraid its gonna be yet another "IR is great, greater than great!!" talkfest by KH, RK etc... while I do agree with the sentiments, it is pretty annoying to just bring people on stage and have them say the same thing again and again. Kamal will recite the hey ram story again... Anyway, this is the first time someone new is organizing the function hope it gets structured in a way that has minimal talk and more music.
The so-called celebration function may turn out to be a damp squib, for the following reasons:
1. Balki is doing this event/ promo on a shoe-string budget. So, it's not really a huge show involving thousands of spectators in a large stadium or a venue, open to 'masses'. It's a 'small scale' function held in a star hotel ballroom.
2. He is using this as a promo function for Shamibabh (Funnily enough the music label and production house have already released the songs on Youtube and Gaana.com a week earlier). Of all people, he is getting Dhanush to sing IR's older hits.. really? That's going to generate a greater awareness about IR's vast repertoire amongst the Hindi-speaking journos and news channels invited for the event?
3. These news channels will probably show a 15-second clipping of the 'event' tomorrow. Once again, their focus will be on the actor, not the composer or his music. At the most, they may show a short clip from Sadma, as a sample of IR's music.
I hope I am proven wrong.
Gowtham Menon, backed by the production house and Sony Music, organised a fabulous event with the release of Nee Thaane En Ponvasantham. Now, a similar event, with a carefully selected set of songs in a variety of Indian languages (and possibly the German song, "Ich Liebe Dich") performed by a live orchestra and prominent singers, with some sound bytes from eminent personalities, would be a true tribute to the man and his music.
PS: Indirectly, people are made to believe that Shamitabh is IR's 1000th film (although Balki has made a clarification), yet no news media is picking up the fact that this feat is rare and has not been achieved by any other MD.
Another irritant that I hope will be avoided this time would be Kamal narrating the anecdote about how, "Inji Iduppazhagi" was born and comparing it with "Yeh Dil Diwana Hai". He keeps saying this ad nauseam!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z3slAVqVESI
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wj3WocqHY4E
Appears to be bits of pieces of what happened at the event (celebrating IR's 1000 movies) at Mumbai. The first one has some video snippets and the second one has some photos. Dont know if we will get to see the whole event (may not be as elaborate as NEPV .... still).
Krishnan
Thanks for sharing the link, not sure they performed any of his old hits
Times of India has plenty of photos about the event. Balki and producers have invited known Hindi film artists for the function - Gulzar, Anu Mallik, Bappi Lahiri, singers, etc.
http://www.thehindu.com/entertainmen...gn=WidgetPromo
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/e...w/45931443.cms
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/e...w/45963906.cms
I would expect that Maestro be felicitated for this big achievement by South Indian MD Association, presided over by all MDs from South India, especially Mellisai Mannar who currently holds the big record for maximum number of film scores. Rahman was felicitated by all MDs and the South India Association when he bagged the Oscars. Moreover Bala has promised to hold a similar function when his movie's (which is the 1000th edition of Raja) audio will be formally launched.
Venkkiram - Thanks. We went through this discussion thread in March 2014, when Raaja hit the 1000th milestone. I also listed the comparative number for many MDs in India (copied below from my other thread). I am not belittling either Maestro or Mellissai Mannar's milestones here. Unfortunately, I am not aware of any official records or celebration for MSV's 1000 movie milestone. MSV's Wiki page seem to state that he crossed 1200 movies (including the combined movies with TK Ramamoorthy). Now Raaja and Director Baala too haven't denied the fact that MSV (along with TKR) has composed more than 1100 movies. It will be better for us to wait and see if South Indian Music Directors Association would release some firm numbers before formally announcing Raaja's name.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/M._S._Viswanathan
List of Music Directors with 75+ movies:
- MSV - 1100
- Ilayaraaja - 1000
- Chakravarthy - 960+
- KV Mahadevan is 600
- Bappi Lahiri - 500
- Deva - 400+
- RD Burman - 331+
- G Devarajan - 300
- Jerry Amaldev - 300
- Johnson - 300+
- Hamsalekha - 300+
- Shyam - 300+
- Lakshmikant-Pyarelal - 250+
- Vidyasagar - 250+
- AR Rahman - 200+
- Kalyanji Anandji - 200+
- Shankar Jaikishan - 171
- Hemant Kumar - 138
- MM Keeravani - 140
- Sankar-Ganesh - 130+
- V Dakshinamoorthy - 125+
- Naushad - 100 (maximum number of Platinum, Golden and Silver Jubilee hits)
- Yuvan Shankar - 100+
- Himesh Reshammiya, Raj-Koti, D Imman, G Ramesh Naidu, SA Rajkumar - 75+
Venkkiram - Wikipedia count for MSV appears inflated. The exact filmography of MSV is not an official record, but MSV's official website which is maintained by MSV Fan club members shows the total film count (Tamil & other languages) as 667 (site link copied below). There are several questions in MSV Fan club forum regarding this number and no one has provided the correct answer. Hence our Maestro could be the first musician world-wide to cross 1000 music albums. As I said in the other thread, this is a "Mind Boggling" number to even think about!!!. Raaja is actually a music robot to churn out hits after hits. Thanks to our members "RR" and "mappi" for compiling Raaja's filmography list. It's awesome!!!.
http://www.msvtimes.com/journey/filmography.html
Being a fan of MSV, I don't think he crossed 1000 films.
IR is not getting world-wide recognition for the fact of 1000 films, is because there is no proper record. Unless the association does something, his achievement will stay within the confines of India.
Even if we go by a simple mathematical calculation this can be proven wrong.
Assuming that MSV was dominating for 15 years and 50 films a year (which is huge number even to assume) it amounts to 750 + another 10 years and 20 films a year which is 200 more and this itself is lesser than 1000 films.
Highlight is once SPB mentioned in an interview that MSV has done close to 2000 films and even MSV used to tell that he has done around 1200 films. I guess they are assuming that MSV would have done so many films. While Raja crossing a figure of 40 films a year most of the times and being in industry for 40 years he has just touched the figure of 1000 films. So this number will be very difficult for any other MD to even think off.
By the way Raja's 1000 films are only direct films. If we include the dubbed films he has done around 1250 films. This is by all means is a humongous achievement
a 30 second trailer of Touring Talkies...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LI_U88FscTY
Amitabh Bachchan singing National Anthem....
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r41BmFFpCSI
who recorded it?
http://www.spectralhues.com/entertai...ing-surprises/
The song doesn`t have any background music and it was shot on Saturday at the Tagore monument named Jorasanko Thakurbari. At one of the press conferences, Bachchan said, “We went to music director Adesh Srivastava’s studio in Mumbai who felt it (the anthem) does not require any music.” The decision of including our national anthem in the film was not pre-planned but just taken a few days ago
Article about Shruti Hassan. Has references to IR. It wrongly credits IR for "Chachi 420".
http://www.mumbaimirror.com/entertai...w/46050677.cms
"..."This time my father was not involved but Rajini sir was. The tune is a remixed version of a'80s track, Asaiya kathula composed by Raja sir for Johnny which starred Rajini sir in a double role opposite Sridevi. The song was a huge hit back then and it felt special recreating such an iconic song from Tamil cinema 35 years later, for a Hindi film. The tune has been restructured for today by making it more robust and layered," says Shruti...She has the throw and the range and the way she pronounces Sannata is fabulous. No other singer could have pulled off this song, Raja sir was categorical that this was the voice he wanted," he says. The recording was just half a day's work at Ilayaraja's sprawling studio in Chennai which has a series of booths but also a huge hall where you can record with a string quartet. "After recording in matchbox size cubicles, it was wonderful to go back to this old school studio in Chennai and record a song under the baton of my first composer," Shruti smiles. And unlike her earlier song for Tevar, Joganiyan, Sannata was a song right up her alley. "They wanted me to sound like myself. The pitch was high, but within my range. I just had to ensure that I was able to translate Raja sir's vision musically," she says...Swanand points out that you don't need singers and song writer when the hero is mute and his song is silence... Sannata. "It was great fun jamming with Balki and Raja sir who I have worked with earlier in Paa. He's an institution in himself who pays minute attention to words, nuances and tonality. I came up with Piddly because of him. I had started out with the word Alam Ara but he insisted he wanted something small and threw me some Tamil words, one of which was idli from which Piddly came about," informs Swanand..."
Krishnan
http://tamil.filmibeat.com/news/isai...cy-033011.html
Anyone watched this movie?? just curious to know what he really showed in that...not sure it is worth it discuss SJ Surya movies here, but just because he wanted to gain some attention he used IR-ARR
A friend who endured this torture of a movie said, "Thank the dear Lord, this is SAC's last attempt at a movie.
When acts of revenge amount to the villains tricked into drinking urine and eating faeces, you can imagine the quality of this movie! He said the only saving grace was the BGM. How did Ilaiyaraja agree to score music for this Sh"itty (literally) film?"
I think its another attempt under the cloak of "humility" that ARR has used his handyman to belittle Raja. But I think God has devised things perfectly - just when a low life like Surya's movie comes out, Raja is faciliated by Amitabh, Kamal and Rajni and grabs national attention. Poetic justice....
Raja's genius is appreciated by the likes of Semmangudi, Dr. Balamurali Krishna, TVG, SPB. Its just this lowlife SJ Surya does not understand the impact Raja made to the lives of millions of people like us and does not understand that he has not acheived anything in his life to do such a movie. Its also a shame that no one in the industry stands up and takes on a lowlife like him. One can understand why ARR will not do that - he may even have indirectly funded this crap. Actually Praksah Raj deserves a lot of credit for walking out of this movie.
In fact, that lowlife SJ Surya playing ARR is a bigger insult if I was ARR than a desperate attempt by a biased pig to please his boss ARR
IR visits sets of "Thara Thappattai" and "Merku Thodarchi Maalai":
http://tamil.filmibeat.com/news/ilai...ot-033066.html
http://tamil.filmibeat.com/shooting-...ot-033121.html
Krishnan
here is BR's take on ISAI - https://baradwajrangan.wordpress.com...s-you-through/
".. In one of the couple’s early scenes, Shiva wraps his hand around Jennifer’s waist and wiggles his fingers as if playing the keyboard. In response, she closes her eyes and reaches the higher octaves, if you catch my drift. Then he commands her to place her hand on her chest and asks, “Ulla enna irukku?” When she flounders for an answer, he supplies one: “Idhayam.” If you insist. And if you like this sort of thing, you’ll love the plot point in which he’s bitten by a snake in a forest and she stumbles into him (she’s a local) and begins to administer medicine by straddling his legs and pouring the potion into his mouth. To counter the bitter taste, she soaks her fingers in honey and he sucks on them and… You don’t have to look any further if you wondered what it’d be like if a horny, hyper-imaginative teenage boy wrote a Penthouse letter...."
"isai" is among the worst movies to ever hit theaters. One wonders why someone like Sathyaraj would choose to associate himself with this movie. Forget the fact that it was scripted by one of the most twisted, warped, horny minds in the industry. The movie itself is so boring, stupid, crappy, unnecessary waste of time, effort, and money. Yes, kudos to Prakashraj for walking out of this movie. But, to even insinuate that Rahman has got anything to do with this movie is a cheap shot by any standards. One must remember that Rahman refused to compose for this movie and suggested SJ Surya to compose himself (many music fans are, rightfully, upset at Rahman for this suggestion but that's a different topic).
I wonder why Raja (or Rahman) fans would even choose to give any importance to this movie by discussing it. It doesn't deserve any discussion. If the director indeed had Raja and Rahman in mind while penning the script, then as they used to say "sooriyanai paarthu naai kuraippathu"kku samam.
The other day, in one of the tamil TV channel, he had an interview - the best PR stunt I have seen. Compere was praising SJ every other word, while SJ himself praised how hard the work was. And ofcourse, there was few 'staged' live phone calls, I guess.
I would not blame him and the producers. They are business men, simply catering to the needs of the public. Public should be blamed. Because their twisted minds are looking for such things.
If public is eager for a thiruvilayadal remake movie, then we see only such things. It is all demand and supply. And people are eager to make money in anyway.
Mineral water to be released with IR name (picture??):
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/e...w/46212468.cms
"...Meanwhile, South India's music maestro Ilaiyaraja too has given his consent to the company to launch the mineral water under his name. Rumours are rife that while the company is paying Salman about Rs 15 crore a year for the association, they are paying about Rs 5 crore to Ilaiyaaraja...."
Krishnan
IR speech - felicitation of TVG
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ExN_14sEvKw
IR to participate in a event which is a tribute to Mandolin U Shrinivas:
http://www.thehindu.com/news/cities/...cle6924119.ece
Krishnan
There are plans to have a big felicitation for IR on completing 1000 movies:
http://tamil.filmibeat.com/news/big-...ja-033324.html
"...அவருக்கு ஒட்டுமொத்த திரையுலகம் சார்பில் மிகப்பெரிய விழாவாக எடுக்கத் திட்டமிட்டிருக்கிறோம். இந்தியாவில் இதுபோன்ற ஒரு விழா நடத்தியிருக்க முடியாது என்கிற அளவுக்கு அது பிரம்மாண்டமாக இருக்கும்," என்றார்."
Krishnan
Video of IR at TFPCs food for thought event:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m41YeipFv94
Krishnan
Update on royalty case that IR had filed. Judgement in favour of IR.
http://www.newindianexpress.com/citi...cle2696547.ece
Krishnan
Looks like IR is contemplating on giving the rights of his work to Tamil Nadu Producer Council:
http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/t...le/126931.html
Krishnan
Came across this. It appears that no FM or tv channels can air IR songs without acquiring rights from either IR or producers council. I know this intellectual property was applicable for all forms of unauthorized distribution (and/or reproduction??) including CD, digital, FM, TV, etc, but I am wondering if making it strictly applicable for FM channels and TV channels will actually affect IR popularity (because we may not hear/see IR songs on TV/FM till TV/FM gets rights for the same)?
http://www.thehindu.com/features/cin...cle6958765.ece
Krishnan
It is quite a late move from IR. In tamil there is a saying that goes on like catching a tail rather than something....
I guess he must be seeing how 'smart' the latest composers are to 'mint' money from their 'mostly' copied productions in various ways like royalty, cell phone tunes etc.
Those days, such awareness was less and he didn't care much. Especially, it happens when you tune more 55 films/year.
Now everybody seems to make lot of money out of his intellectual property. Some companies abroad have even marketed mp3 of songs.
As much as I resent such practice, I also sympathize with IR. He can't rectify this.
I don't think he can stop any TV channel, radio station etc from broadcasting his songs. Even today afternoon (5th Mar 15, 92.7 FM station) I was listening to 3 hours of IR songs. If IR tries to curb these activities, he will most likely face stiff opposition and also resentment from public.
And ofcourse, such blockage would be 'unheard of' in the history of Indian film music, I guess.
He's right on principles to assert his IPR and it doesn't matter if it would dissuade radio stations from playing his music. This should have been done long ago anyway. As they say in Hindi, der aaye magar durust aaye.
IR press meet about IPR judgement:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m2g_cR_lft8
Krishnan
Rudramadevi BGM to be recorded at Hungary. Also, one song of movie "GAME" has been recorded...
"...It’s time to work. A ‘track’ singer is being trained while Sadhana Sargam chats with a friend. One song for Ramesh’s film has already been recorded in the voices of Karthik and Ramya. Another director is waiting to meet the maestro hoping he’ll like his ‘one line’. Time is scarce with Raja scheduled to leave for Hungary. He’ll be recording the background score of the ambitious ‘Rudramadevi’ which will take a fortnight. Ramesh waits for another melody to be recorded. ..."
http://www.thehindu.com/features/fri...cle6966309.ece
Krishnan
நன்றி நண்பர்களே.. சமீப காலமாக மேடைகளில் அடிக்கடி தென்பட்ட காரணத்தாலோ என்னவோ, ராஜா சார் பேச்சிலும் தேறிவிட்டார் :-) அவர் பேச்சில் இப்போதெல்லாம் பிசிறில்லை. சொல்ல வருவதை தெளிவாய் சொல்வதோடு மட்டும் இல்லாமல், தத்துவங்களை குறைத்தும் பேசுகிறார். இப்படியே போனால் தேவலாம்.Quote:
sivasub: IR speech - felicitation of TVG
krish244: Video of IR at TFPCs food for thought event
krish244: IR press meet about IPR judgement:
This High Court judgement and development has come after a long delayed period. A music composer who has released a world record number of music albums of more than 1000 is still an ordinary person whom anyone could mistake for a poor sadhu. Several years ago, Rahman mentioned in an interview on why he keeps increasing his fee for every film, he replied that producers and film world should give him whatever is worth for his composition including efforts by many musicians/ artists who toil several hours behind the scenes to finalize a song. Rahman specifically quoted that Raja Sir wasn't paid the market value for all his wonderful compositions and the industry should now start correcting this anomaly. He said that Raja Sir could have bought the entire state of Tamil Nadu with his music royalties. That's 100% true. Ilayaraja should be paid all the music royalties that's due to him.
Just listen to any internet radio channels worldwide, multiple stations playing Tamil, Malayalam, Telugu, Kannada songs, you will always find one Raaja's song being played 24x7x365. That's the power of this Sadhu. Based on my calculations (refer to my old thread in TFM), Ilayaraja's music royalty and number of albums sold (Cassettes, Vinyl and CDs) is valued than more than many world renowned musicians, including Michael Jackson and the current reigning music celebrity Taylor Swift. Taylor Swift, having sold over 40 million albums (27.1 million of them in the U.S. and 130 million single downloads), and is among the top five music artists who have sold the most digital music worldwide. Taylor Swift can dictate the royalties paid by top distributors like Pandora, Apple and Spotify. Here we have a Sadhu who has composed more than 1000 albums (in terms of album copies which is more than 40 million or 400 Lakhs) and trying to get music royalty from crooked distributors. This Man should be given the credit and royalty that's due to him.