they love heroism rangan...simple.Quote:
Originally Posted by rangan_08
they wanna see their forefathers as heroes.
Printable View
they love heroism rangan...simple.Quote:
Originally Posted by rangan_08
they wanna see their forefathers as heroes.
Oh ho! Wrong interpretation!! I thought you meant he was too shy to put forth his solution. Yes, it does make sense :).Quote:
Originally Posted by equanimus
caught glimpses of Bombay on KTV (seems to be manirtnam vaaram :lol:)
romance scenes in the begining, amidst backdrop of beautiful natural scenary is so fresh and leaves us breathless........manirtnam has to be the most chivalrous director in history of tamil films...........its always the male protaganist who goes tirelessly after the female protaganist and not the other way around........i cant remember any instance where the female lead takes the lead in love in Mani's movies except for simran in kannathil muthamittal where she expresses her love indirectly to madhavan and "second" aish's flirting with mohanlal character in iruvar.....amala after prabhu in agni natchithram and radha after mike mohan in idhaya kovil can be passed as abberations in this trend........its such a refreshing change from other greats like KB who always has 1000+ females lined up after his male protaganist.......and even today's directors like aameer make movies that have female protaganists who confess undying love for male characters........ :D .....
another scene that caught my eye was when the marriage registrar office peon asks the couple "aap log madhrasi hai kya"? manisha retorts back smiling "athaadi, naa idha varaikkum madras paathhadhe illa".........it is a dig at general mumbaiites view that "madras = TN+AP+Kerala+Karanataka" :lol: .........it was appreciated in chak de too which came 13 yrs after Bombay......
the discomfort the house owner's wife shows on knowing Manisha is a muslim is a very realistic description of mumbai's conservative marathi people.........there are many areas in mumbai, where muslims are not given houses for rent....i know that for a fact.. :oops: .....i think mani has used his short life in mumbai to a great extent in this movie........ :D
Maniratnam - Indhiyavin kurusowa :lol2:
rendu series of scenes-ume abarama irukkum.. 8-)Quote:
Originally Posted by MADDY
So far removed from the ground realities, isn't it ? :-)Quote:
aishwarya rai showed her potential in romance and rama right in her first movie...adhukapuram onnum perusa...mmm
she gave any good performances in hindi?
Guru :D .....Quote:
Originally Posted by Vivasaayi
aaama aaamaa :lol: .........azhagan padam ellam paathhutu, veetla irukkura ENO, gelusil ellam dhwamsam :oops: :cry:Quote:
Originally Posted by Prabhu Ram
:oops:Quote:
oru difference...
ulagam fulla kurasawa va copy adichainga
mani visayathula ulta
8-)Quote:
Originally Posted by crajkumar_be
DilSe truly India ki Dil Se.Quote:
Everything in the movie was Superlative, except the audience.
:shock: :shock:Quote:
Originally Posted by jaiganes
sonnadhu nee dhaana :roll: sol sol :lol:
rajini,kamal movie release ana eppadi avannnga fans ellam 'uyira viduvanggalo'athu mathirthan ennaku maniratnam movie :D
antha alavukku naan 'mani paithiyam' :lol:
avaru padam release date nerunnga-nerunnga ore irukkum santhosama irukkum.athey nerathila manasu thik..thik-kunnu adikkum[padam flop agakudathunnu]release annaikku office-la off. :D movie pattutu veliya vara audiance reaction-na paapen,seriuse-sa vanthangga ore happy!polabikiitu vantha ... :(
movie flop-po illa hit-to,eppadiyum 1week athey sinthanaithan.eppadiyum4 show pattudiven .anthalavukku avroda movie-inna oru veri :lol: guru varaikkum poikittu irukku.he is my 'chellam' :lol:imo tamil cinema -ve avarukku nandri kadan patti rukku :2thumbsup: nandri ketta tamilan oru silar avara ennma kindal pannarnunnga!
Yes!!Quote:
I have reservations on his Bombay and Iruvar (probably due to the political chopping of so many dialogues and scenes). But Dil Se is a unique movie where he brings in so much of "intensity" and the Delhi backdrop usage, it was simply too good. Sore points were there- but overall it was sincere and offcourse thecreative minds in the project were at their best - Santhosh Sivan, ARR, Gulzar and Mani.
The 'Fatal' attraction aspect never reached the audience(so did the symbolism aspect) as the discussions in the previous pages have aptly brought out.
மணிரத்னம் இந்தியிலும், தமிழிலும் ஒருசேர எடுக்கவிருக்கும் படத்தில், இந்தியில் அபி ஷேக்பச்சன் - ஐஸ்வர்யாராய் நடிக்க, தமிழில் விக்ரம் - ஐஸ்வர்யாராய் ஜோடியாகி இருக் கிறார்கள்.
ஷங்கரின் `ரோபோ' படத்துக்கு முன்பே ஐஸ்வர்யாராய் விக் ரமுக்கு ஜோடியாக நடிக்கத் தொடங்கி விடுவதால், ஷங்கர் படத்தில் ஐஸ்வர்யாராய் நடி�பாரா என்ற கேள்வி தொடர்ந்து கொ�டிருக்கிறது. ஷங்கர் ஐஸ்வர்யாராயிடம் 2 வருஷமாக மொத்த கால்ஷீட் கேட்டதால் ஐஸ்வர்யா தர�பில் தயக்கம் �டித்த தாகவும் தகவல். அதே நேரம் மணிரத்னம் கேட்டதும், கேட்ட தேதிகளை கொடுத்துவிட்டார், ஐஸ்வர்யாராய்.
தமிழில் விக்ரம் - ஐஸ்வர்யாராய் ஜோடி சேரும் மணிரத்னம் படம் செ�டம்பர் 27-ந் தேதி தொடங்குகிறது. இந்த� படத்தில் விக்ரம் நெல்லைத் தமிழில் பேச வே�டியிரு�பதால் அதற்காக `நெல்லைத் தமிழ்' தெரிந்த ஒருவரை பயிற்சிக்காக விக்ரமிடம் அனு�பி வைத்திருக்கிறார், மணிரத்னம்.
I heard vikram is out of the project now.Quote:
Originally Posted by R.Latha
mani sir shankar maadhiri 2 varusham padam eduka maataru...neat planning ...neat finishQuote:
Originally Posted by R.Latha
:yes:Quote:
Originally Posted by Vivasaayi
looks very weak nowadays.... :(
http://www.behindwoods.com/features/...ondaan-20.html
what is his age, now?Quote:
he is 1956 born , 52 yr old now :)Quote:
Originally Posted by raaja_rasigan
avaru innum mappila mathiri 'jammu innu' irukkaru sir :lol: ,enna avaru hair-rukku mai adicha ellam sariayidum :DQuote:
http://thatstamil.oneindia.in/movies...-abhishek.html
Quote:
ரூ120 கோடி..மணியின் நவீன ராமாயணம்!
இந்தியாவின் மிகச்சிறந்த இயக்குநர்களில் ஒருவராகப் புகழப்படும் மணிரத்னம் தனது அடுத்த படத்தின் படத்துக்கு தயாராகிவிட்டார்.
தமிழ், தெலுங்கு மற்றும் இந்தி மொழிகளில் தயாராகும் இந்தப் படத்துக்கு இந்தியில் ராவண் (ராவணன்) எனத் தலைப்பு வைக்கப்பட்டுள்ளதாகத் தெரிகிறது.
தமிழ் மற்றும் தெலுங்குப் படங்களின் தலைப்புகளும் ராவணன் என்றே வைக்கப்படக்கூடும் எனக் கூறப்படுகிறது.
இந்தப் படம் ராமாயணக் கதையின் நவீன வடிவமாக இருக்கும் என்கிறார்கள் விவரமறிந்தவர்கள்.
ராமராக அபிஷேக் பச்சனும், அவர் மனைவி சீதையாக ஐஸ்வர்யா ராயும் நடிக்கிறார்களாம். முக்கிய வேடம் ஒன்றில் அமிதாப்பை நடிக்க வைக்கவும் முயன்று வருகிறார் மணிரத்னம்.
ராவணன் எனும் பவர்புல் வில்லன் பாத்திரத்தில் ஆதித்ய பஞ்சோலியும் அனுமானாக கோவிந்தாவும் நடிக்கவிருப்பதாகத் தகவல்கள் தெரிவிக்கின்றன.
இந்தப் படத்தின் தமிழ்ப் பதிப்பில் அபிஷேக் பச்சன், ஐஸ்வர்யா ராயுடன் விக்ரம் மற்றும் கார்த்திக் இருவரும் நடிக்கப் போவதாகக் கூறப்படுகிறது. இவர்களில் ராவணன் யார், அனுமான் யார் என்பது மட்டும் இன்னும் முடிவாகவில்லை.
இந்தப் படம் புராண ராமாயணம் கிடையாது. அதே நேரம் அந்தப் பாத்திரங்களை நினைவூட்டுகிற விதத்தில் திரைக்கதை உருவாக்கப்பட்டுள்ளதாக மெட்ராஸ் டாக்கீஸ் வட்டாரங்கள் தெரிவிக்கின்றன.
இந்தப் படத்தின் பட்ஜெட் கிட்டத்தட்ட ரஜினியின் ரோபோவுக்கு நிகராக இருக்குமாம். காரணம் மிகச் சமீபத்தில்தான் மணிரத்தனமும் அனில் அம்பானியின் ரிலையன்ஸ் நிறுவனமும் இந்தப் படம் தயாரிப்புக்கான ஒப்பந்தத்தில் கையெழுத்திட்டனர். அதன்படி ரூ.120 கோடி செலவில் பிரம்மாண்டமாக உருவாகிறது இந்தப் படம்.
ஏற்கெனவே, மகாபாரத்தைத் தழுவி அதன் நவீன வடிவமாக தளபதி படத்தை எடுத்தவர் மணிரத்னம் என்பது குறிப்பிடத்தக்கது.
உங்க ராமாயணத்துல 'சேது' வருமா மணி சார்!
http://sify.com/movies/tamil/fullstory.php?id=14734984
Quote:
Mani makes more money!
By Moviebuzz | Wednesday, 06 August , 2008, 12:51
India's best known director Mani Ratnam and his Madras Talkies has signed a record Rs 120 crore deal with the Anil Ambani run Reliance Entertainment Big Picture, for his new untitled film in three languages- Hindi, Tamil and Telugu.
Mani sir as he is affectionately known in Kollywood has been quietly working on the script of this film, since the release of his super hit Guru in January 2007.
The Hindi version will feature Abhishek Bachchan- Aishwarya Rai and Govinda in a negative role. The Tamil and Telugu version will have Vikram doing Abhishek’s role while Aishwarya Rai will be the common heroine for all the three versions. It is going to be a tight rope walk for her as she has to juggle her dates with Shankar's Rajinikanth extravaganza 'Robot', during the same period.
And the role being done by Govinda would be essayed by Pritviraj, who actually started his career in Tamil in a villain's role in Kana Kandein. There are rumours that Karthik who last worked with Mani in Agninakshthram, will also be roped in to play an important role. Priya Mani too will be playing a role in the film which will start rolling in Karaikudi from September 10, and will also be shot in the forests of Madhya Pradesh.
Mani's all time favourite and his 'discovery' A.R Rahman will be composing songs for this film which has now become one of the hottest projects in the country. Ace cameraman Manikandan who is now shooting for Priyadarsan's Biloo Barber in Pollachi will be the cameraman.
Mani sir as usual was unavailable for comment and Reliance Entertainment Big Picture spokesman in Chennai too refused to talk about the deal.
If this is true - my sincere condolences to Maniratnam fans...Quote:
Originally Posted by sakaLAKALAKAlaa Vallavar
Abishek - aishwarya - reliance indha nexuslendhu eppo velile varuvaar?
Amir Khan padam lajjo drop
Kamal udan adutha padamum drop
what is happening to money ratnam?
ithu ellam oru periya problem illa sir!dont worry :cool2:Quote:
Originally Posted by jaiganes
avaru yyaru kuda pannarar enbathu mukkiyam illa!product eppadi varathu innuthan mukkiyam.avar padam pannrar endra news-se namakellam perum santhosam:D
I wish I could share your enthu.
After seeing Guru - I must say I am dampened by Mani's moves these days. If this news is any true, then it will be third movie with Abhishek who cannot act and there are loads of manoj bajpais, Amir Khans, KKs and Ranvir Shoreys out there in Bolly who are way better actors than abhi- no -shake bachan. Lesser spoken about Mrs Aish bachan's acting talents the better - not a company you should be in at the stage when your career is knocking on international fame.
A rainy weekend prompted a viewing of Anjali. The downpour probably reminded me of the opening sequences. The usual suspects greatly enhance the re-view quotient of the movie. Shamili still brings that ever-familiar lump to ones throat. During every introduction scene for Anjali, the back of the frame, from where she enters, is invariably over-lit. Couple that with the translucent white gown she is perennially clad in and one is forced to believe that Mani and Madhu Ambat wanted to convince the audience that we were definitely viewing a cherub descending to earth. Raaja is his usual glorious self - equal parts poignant and playful in both the soundtrack as well as the BGM. The performances, particularly Revathi, Raghuvaran and the little child who plays Anu, are all excellent. If Revathi holds fort in the latter half during her sequences with Shamili, Raghuvaran is brilliant in his silent suffering in the initial stages. There are a couple of seconds where he shares screen space with Revathi, unable to answer her (rather justifiable) question after slapping his daughter, during which his eyes are brimming, not with tears but with pain. Serves to remind you that there is skill and then there is talent.
Anjali, as with most Mani saar films, is exceptionally well written and designed. There is great consistency in character description (the daughter has this little tik of repeating kaNNellAm thaNNi after saying someone is crying that repeats throughout the movie) and motivation. But there is one specific aspect that revealed itself to me during this viewing that actually enhanced my understanding of the charm this movie held for me as a child.
As a child, answering the telephone as quickly as possible came to be an unconditioned reflex for me. Even when most often the person at the other end would peremptorily request to speak to someone of more importance within the household because I was just a kid. In the world that Mani creates in Anjali however, an Assistant Commissioner of Police doesn’t think twice before informing Shekhar’s young son that his father’s life might be in danger because a ruffian baying for his blood has just been released on bail. There are no “just kids” in Anjali. They are accorded the respect of post-adolescents, if not full-fledged adults. They have their own tribe, initiation rituals and bonding patterns. The knee-jerk reaction to adversity (Arjun being confronted by an older kid when they walk in with the vegetables) is one of machismo, not the familiar run-and-hide-behind-authority or propriety. The kids take an active part in getting their pregnant mother to the hospital and are even allowed the freedom to speak out of turn and call adults out on their inadequacies. Mani’s biggest success was creating a world were children are afforded as much respect as their guardians and in doing so he was able to connect with the need of every child in the audience to be taken seriously.
Ilaiyaan is the hero of Anjali. It's been a long time since i watched it (loved it the first time i watched it as a sinna pulla). IMO, not one of Maniyaan's better works. It had artificiality written all over it
crajkumar_be: Definitely not Mani's best work. Pre-Roja that would go to Mouna Ragam (IMO) and post-Roja to Iruvar. I just revisited the film and was trying to understand why I liked it so much when I first saw it.
Kannathil Muthamittal?
My favorite work is Iruvar. Nayagan has its 'inspiration' imsai sadly, to become my second most favorite film. :)Quote:
Originally Posted by complicateur
Iruvar > KM, just my opinion.
And Iruvar is better than Nayagan too.
As for Anjali, I previously posted a PFC article which I seem to agree with. Mani certainly inspires from TKAM, and in many ways, he has come out alright. Though "Anjali" in the end falls prey to its denouement. The characters and their relations are certainly derived from "To Kill a Mockingbird". Shekar is Atticus, and "Boo" is shared between Prabhu, and at different times, Anjali and Janagaraj, Arjun and Arun are Scout and Jem, the Bob is not a racist here, but a criminal, and it's not a wrongly accused rape case, and unlike Atticus, Shekhar is a mere witness. Mani's optimism wanes unlike TKAM. Anjali's Boo (Prabhu) kills Anjali's Bob, but he is also taken off and acquitted to jail (Again). Boo is a social misfit like Janakaraj, but the latter is taken to the asylum. Boo is mentally challenged, but he has this fondness for kids, like Anjali. But Mani decides to share Boo's character with Prabhu's character, Janakaraj and an Autistic child, and from the beginning to end, he intends to use the characters as emotionally manipulative element. None more so than Anjali. That's where I believe Chitra's character fits in.
In any case, I find this interesting. And I don't mean to say he has totally derived from TKAM by any means. But I find it to be an interesting parallel. :)
And One particular thing that Mani hasn't lost it is the kids.
Arjun and Anu evolve through the length of the film, while they start off with lies, false maturity, and childish tricks - IMO, they are no less irritating kids than Scout and Jem. In the end, there is a definite change, not exactly "mature", but a new-found understanding of the world. A&A are confronted by Anjali's reappearance, her condition, and their father's tussle with the criminal (Like Scout and Jem's with boo and Atticus' tussle with Bob). But this being suburban Chennai, I'd assume it's far fetched to expect Racism being part of the theme. What Mani succeeds at, as I said, the film as windows of the children (A&A). Towards the end, they have compassionate sibling love for Anjali inspite of her condition, and the fear of Prabhu is rightfully lost. In TKAM, Scout and Jem have similar change with Boo as the film goes by.
:shock: That's the biggest negative of Anjali in particular and Mani films in general IMOQuote:
Originally Posted by thilak4life
i hate kids in manis movies :mad:
just now realised how mani combined to kill a mocking bird and ET in his movie :)
That was in context to TKAM's kids, he hasn't lost the essence of the book. The bold part below.Quote:
Quote:
Arjun and Anu evolve through the length of the film, while they start off with lies, false maturity, and childish tricks - IMO, they are no less irritating kids than Scout and Jem. In the end, there is a definite change, not exactly "mature", but a new-found understanding of the world. A&A are confronted by Anjali's reappearance, her condition, and their father's tussle with the criminal (Like Scout and Jem's with boo and Atticus' tussle with Bob). But this being suburban Chennai, I'd assume it's far fetched to expect Racism being part of the theme. What Mani succeeds at, as I said, the film as windows of the children (A&A). Towards the end, they have compassionate sibling love for Anjali inspite of her condition, and the fear of Prabhu is rightfully lost. In TKAM, Scout and Jem have similar change with Boo as the film goes by.
I got that but couldn't agree with this :)Quote:
Originally Posted by thilak4life
[Upd: chi, read that again :oops: ... i mean Scout and Jem are nothing compared to our brats here]
Quote:
IMO, they are no less irritating kids than Scout and Jem.
yes... :?Quote:
tkamb kids not even irritated 20% as much as the anjali kids.
Not even their characterizations? Scout and Jem are written with similar "adhigaprasangithanam", but they do have a feel of childlike quality about 'em. But when you adopt it into motion pictures, there are other elements which could come into this. Acting, dialogue delivery, etc. Mani's kids suffer from a pseudo-voice pivoting them, and his long history of kids portrayal leads us to believe this way. In fact, Most of his kids act, and behave like a young Suhasini, too irritating for their own good. If you get what I mean.Quote:
But I believe the characters A&A are no less irritating kids than Scout and Jem. This is of course with respect to Shekhar/Atticus, and other adults. Not necessarily my "reaction" to them. Or their acting in general.
Vivasaayi,
This could be because of acting, language, and the way they deliver some lines. But If you ask a random person of this film in isolation, who doesn't know Tamil and perhaps even Mani's history, there is a strong possibility of 'em not feeling irritated of the kids as we are.
And yeah, most of what I wrote above is in terms of theme of the film, and the characters. Sure I didn't really "love" the kids. But, my reaction to them is no different from my reaction to Scout and Jem. Though with Scout and Jem, their "innocence" were striking, but with A&A, you don't get that feeling.