K, super recipes post pannureenga... enakku thaan time kidaikka maatnguthu ellamm read panni paarka... will be back soon...:)
Suvai, indha week konjam busy... next week free aagiduven...:)
Printable View
K, super recipes post pannureenga... enakku thaan time kidaikka maatnguthu ellamm read panni paarka... will be back soon...:)
Suvai, indha week konjam busy... next week free aagiduven...:)
Suvai, indha week konjam busy... next week free aagiduven...:)[/quote]
okee dokes....ongalukum madhukum thaan poten main ah kaanavillai ad.... :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
take yr time.....dev.....:-)
selvi...plz do keep us in the loop as to what is the item u r going to prepare for the competition....sareeya? ;-)
kugan nga.....i tried yr cluster beans with ellu....what a slurping recipe this is....it went very well with regular morekuzhambu......i also made it with regular beans...;-) superoo tasteooo :mrgreen:
sure suvai, i will keep u updated.
selvi-nga - i've tried cooking mutton curry with aachi masala - it was very tasty.
i marinated the meat with half portion of the masala for at least 2 hrs, together with blended garlic & ginger. I then did the usual thaalichi with more masala and pressure cooked the meat and dumped some cut potatoes and pressure cooked them till they were soft... it tasted yummy. I do not use coconut milk or any otehr milk in my cooking, somaybe it will taste better with the coco milk :).
i am also a fan of Aachi pappadam - is thin and tasty too.
we had these with Basmati rice, cooked and drained and then layered with fried onions and fried peas both fried in ghee ... yum!
are you allowed to have non-aachi'ed side dish like cucumber & pineapple pachchadi? they go very well with meat. but them, all of these is assuming you do take meat tho.. :oops: its just a mixture of pineapple and cucumber cut into nice cubes/slices, mixed well with chopped onions and green/red chillies with a bit of salt.
all the very best to you..!
yEtho enakku therinjatha solrEnunggOv :) ..you may have tried all of these before and it sounds so simple ... :oops:
idhukke Australia varalaamnu irukken ! :lol:
Quote:
Originally Posted by NM
vaangO! VaanggO! vaasal thiranthE irukkum :!:
i try to cook very fast since by the time i get home its time to feed Ananthiy and then cook dinner for Kan1000 and myself :).. so i literraly cut n cook at the same time and of course dump the veges in :) :lol:
neenga vanthaal pEthikku feed pannalaam :wink: while i do the thada-booda samaiyal :lol:
thanks alot NM. after tamil new year i will try out ur meat dish and let u know. ur procedure is something new to me. i will try it out and give u the feed back.
i have aachi chicken masala, meat masala and kulambu milagai powder with me .
selvika,i have ur recipe for suarikka porima,is it a dry one or a gravy one.Does it suits with sambar rice.
kuganka,what happened ?y no posts frm u
Suvai nga thanks for your compliments.
NM thanks for your recipe of the mutton curry.
Let Selviem try it.
Aarthii, I am here, p.c konjam problem.
That's it. Take care, Kugan98.
[tscii]My sister rang to tell me that the heat in Trichy is about 104Degrees. It's no better in Malaysia.
I called my aunty and asked her for few cooling summer drinks
that they serve in their hotel. She posted few for me.
Here is the first one.
SWEET CORN COOL
Ingredients:
4 cups of curds that are not sour
2 cups chilled water
1 cup cooked corn kernels
2 green chillies
1 tbs thick coconut milk
½ tsp of sugar
A pinch of asafetida powder
Little cumin seeds
Little ghee to season
Little finely chopped coriander leaves
Salt to taste
Little black salt
Method:
Add the cooked corn, green chillies, coconut milk,
asafetida powder, and salt.
Grind to a fine paste, now add the ground paste
with the curds, water, and sugar.
Mix well, now season the cumin seeds with the little ghee.
Pour it on the mixture. Leave it in the fridge to chill.
Pour it in a glass, garnish with the coriander leaves and black salt.
Serve cold.
[html:3a38f3b5fc]
http://img384.imageshack.us/img384/1...tcorndrink.jpg
[/html:3a38f3b5fc]
[tscii] WATER MELON PINEAPPLE COOL
Ingredients
4 cups of water melon pieces
1 cup ripe pineapple pieces
1 cup water
2 cups of crushed ice
¼ cup of caster sugar
¼ cup of honey
A pinch of salt
Method:
Add all the above ingredients into a blender.
Blend well and serve in tall glass.
[html:18febdf352]
http://img245.imageshack.us/img245/6...npineapple.jpg
[/html:18febdf352]
ELLANEER COOL
Ingredients:
4 cups of tender coconut water
2 cups of tender coconut flesh
2 cups of caster sugar more or less to taste
1 tsp lime juice
2 tsp of honey
A pinch of salt
2 cups of crushed ice
Few tender coconut flesh chopped for garnishing
Method:
Add all the ingredients in a blender,
except the flesh for garnishing.
Blend all the ingredients, pour it into glasses.
Garnish with the chopped flesh and some ice cubes.
[html:c8e2d27b0a]
http://img535.imageshack.us/img535/84/ellaneercool.jpg
[/html:c8e2d27b0a]
NEERAAGARAM
Ingredients:
1 cup of cooked rice
4 cups of filter water
1 tbs grated carrot
1 tbs chopped onions
1 tsp lime pickle
Salt to taste
Method:
Soak the cooked rice with the water in a mud pot.
The next day, squeeze the rice in the water.
Pour the cool rice water into a glass.
Add in the chopped onions, salt and carrots.
Serve with the lime pickle.
You will feel like in an air conditioned room.
Appadi oru cooling intha neeraagaram.
[html:e072726405]
http://img180.imageshack.us/img180/1194/neeraagaram.jpg
[/html:e072726405]
Dear friends, its going to be a very long and busy weekend for me.
F.L.W's first year thevasam, followed by Ammavaasai, and our
New year. Getting jitters as to how to cope.
Any way God is there to guide me.
Well my aunty has sent few more of the cooling recipes .
I think this will do to cool us :lol:
Eat a lot of onions, they are very cooling too.
Kambu khool too is very cooling
Fenugreek rice kanjii too is very cooling.
Thanks friends, take care.
Kugan98
kugan,
thanks for all cool drinks. pictures are so tempting.
me also, busy till new year. kids will be back to school from 11th of this month.
Aarthi
sorakai porima , u have it with steamed rice. this is a gravy type. u can have it with chapathi too.
Dear Mrs Kugan - your cooling drinks are so tempting - i'll be sharing them with my mum who's back in Malaysia. I have not tried the 'other' ingredients in the coconut milk and others... will keep them for next summer.
Advanced Puththaandu Vazhtukkal to all in case every one gets bz.
Selviem - try pannunga... aanaal, i forgot to add salt in the recipe above :(... so pls do so :)...
This weekend I am going to try some of the latest recipes posted on this thread ... :) :)
Thanks NM for your nice post.
Are you a Malaysian?
Ada paavathey, Selviem uppu poda marakathirkal :lol:
Joku thaan NM.
Please try out the recipes and give us the feed back.
Thanks NM, wishing you also a very Happy New Year.
Take care. Kugan98
:lol: illa, sila pEr recipe's la uppu pOda maattEn athaan :oops: :lol:
Thanks Mrs Kugan - for your wishes and yes, I am a Malaysian, refusign to give up my citizenship :).
Saringa, i'll be back probably later today as I don't work Fridays so have lots of cleaning and cookign to do before prayers :).
Take care and thinking of you this weekend. Anniversary prayers are the hardest to bear as i've been going through the last 3 years, so i wish you and your family the strength to get through this period.
Dis is Srilankan istyle damil :lol2: :rotfl:Quote:
Originally Posted by kugan98
Kugan ka were you born in Malaysia or you have migrated to malaysia from India.....
vaanga NM ka :)
kugan,
i make seasame okra for pumpkin morekulambu. it was very tasty. good combo for morekulambu. kids liked the taste very much
ennai kathirikai:
-----------------
small brinjal - 15 pcs remove the umbrella, slit in 4 down and in the upper side.
onion - 2 medium size chopped
tomato - 2 small chopped
green chilly - 2
Aachi kulambu milagai powder - 3 tblsp
salt - reqd
turmeric powder - 1/2 tsp
tamarind extract - big size lemon
seasame - 2 tblsp dry roast and make a powder
garlic - 15 cloves
grind:
-------
onion - 2 medium size
tomato - 2 small size
garlic - 4 pcs
grind the above to a fine paste
seasoning:
---------
kadukku - 1 tsp
urad dhal - 1/2 tsp
karu vadagam - 1/2 tsp
fenugreek - 1/4 tsp
pepper corns - 1/4 tsp
jeera - 1/4 tsp
curry leaves - few
in a kadai add 2 tsp of oil, add brinjals and fry for few minutes in a slow fire. once it is almost done, remove and keep aside.
in the same kadai, add 2 tblsp of gingelly oil, add the seasoning items. then add the chopped onions,garlic and stir for few minutes.
then add tomato chopped fry for few minutes till it comes like a gravy, then masla powder, salt, turmeric powder stir for 2 mins.
now add the ground paste and mix nicely, then add the tamarind extract once it comes to boil add brinjals, green chilly cover and cook till oil comes out of it.
then finally add 1 tsp of jaggery and powdered seasame just cook for 2 mins.
garnish with coriander leaves.
this goes well with steamed rice and bryani.
i will send the picture to kugan, she will post in the hub.
Selviem, I am glad that you all liked the sesame okra.
Thanks for the feed back.
Thanks, Kugan98
Friends this is our Selviem's ennai Kathirikka picture.
Nice with rice bread and things.
The gravy is very inviting. Thanks Selviem. Kugan98
SELVIEM'S ENNAI KATHIRIKKAI:
[html:6fbe72ce1c]
http://img411.imageshack.us/img411/8585/srecipie003.jpg
[/html:6fbe72ce1c]
Suvai nga engga pooitingga?
Registerla kai elluthu podungga :lol:
Missing you, Aarthii Suja and our beloved Dev.
Also namma Sudha and Madhu.
Take care, Love Kugan98
Thanks Nm, I can understand your feelings.
Prayer is the only solution.
Kugan98
Tamby, I have pmed you the answer.
Thanks. Kugan98
hello nga kugan.....vanthiten....odi register la kaiezhuthu poda......dev....sudha....aarthi..madhu.....inthaa nga varisaiyaa peNaava......pidinga.. personal stamp poda.... :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
oh wow selvi & kugan nga...the ennai kathirikai kuzhambu pic looks absolutely delcious.....Tasteavison & Smellavision irunthaaa innum super ah irukum.... :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
selvi...did u enter the competition with this recipe?
kugan nga will save all the cool drinks recipe for our summer here ;-) thank u !! They all look veryyyyy quenching!....never heard of the corn drink nga....thanks to yr aunt too!
vaanga NM....:-) onga vegetarian kai vanathaiyum kaatunga inga....;-)
suvai,
thats good, with a full spirit, u did ur signature.
aarthi will be busy during weekends.
suvai u r absolutely right, if there is smellvision and tastevision then it will toooooooo good.
yesterday, i tried ennaikathirikai curry with aachi masala.
got certificate from hubby and kids.
so planning this for competition.
naanum 'ullen ayya/akka' solliduren mudhalla...;)
Ennai kathirikkai kulambu looks very temptng...:slurp:
selvi....good luck with the entrance recipe..;-)
aachi maNaka
kuzhambu suvaika
vetri muzhanga
selvi parisu pera
athai padika
kugan's kitchen vaazhtha
naam ellorum magizhvom :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
signature ellaam sila samayam thaan velai seiyum selvi... :noteeth:
kugan nga........weekend neenga romba busyaa irupeenganu theriyum....we are all with u for the 1 year prayer function.....
dev.....penaava kaila pidicikitu irukeengalaa? unga pinaadi yaarum varalaiyaaa.... :mrgreen:
sari apo loud speaker thaan naan kondu varanum pola iruku :mrgreen:
Ok here is a simple katharikaai poriyal:
This is like a roast but with less oil if u do it on very low fire...enna onnu....time edukum...but worth it! ;-)
katharikaai small round ones....about 10 or 12 wash & slice them into 4 & put them in water.
(Drain just before putting them in a flat frying pan)
In a flat frying pan add about 1 tblspn or more oil.
Add in the drained / cut katharikai
stir to coat with oil & spread it out....now dont be touching it....low fire la...let it cook & brown well on one side & only then to turn them to brown on the other.......again no touching....only seeing... :mrgreen: ....after browning on both sides...add...idly milagaai podi to it....;-) & give it a stir or two...thats it.....:-)
soooper o soooper taste......trust me u all will surely love it....romba velaiyum kidaiyaathu.
variation...u can do the same for urulai but u have to thalichi kottufy with Kadugu/ulutham paruupu (lots)/karuvepilai.....then add boiled cut potatoes..nalla roast aaganum..l & then in the end add idly milagaai podi....yummy taste...this is a cross between kalyana urulai kizhangu & verum fry with plain chilly powder.....enjoy! with all 3 course meals...;-)
Mutton curry dosa at MUdaliar Idli shop in Madurai:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KzZ_9DYT_5s
It is about time Kugan and others went on youtube ! :)
The dosa reminded me of my hostel days when they served dosai with mutton kurma (kuzhambu). There was no mutton in it, only bones ! :lol:
of course we do go on youtube nga raj...:-)Quote:
Originally Posted by rajraj
ipo ellaam verum bones koduthaaa....avanoda bones ah norikiduvaanga .....raj nga...... :rotfl: :rotfl:
:lol:Quote:
Originally Posted by suvai
Hello Makkalae,
How are you all doing. Missed you all a lot. Selviem the Ennai Kathrikai looks super. We don't get Aachi masala here. But Ennai Kathrikai is my favorite. Selviem pottiyil vetri perra vazhuthukal.
Kugan a lot of recipes. Thanks for posting all these recipes. Hello to Dev, Aarthi, Suvai and other friends.
Suja
welcome suja....:-)
thanks for holding the pen after dev...now waiting for the next one to take the pen from yr hand...to sign on the register... :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
I LOVE ennai kathirikkai - will try selviem's recipe with aachi masala.
Suvai - ungalukkaga ...
pound together 5 dried chillies (more if you like kaaram), 1 big chopped onion or a few shallots which tastes better :)
Chop some curry leaves (about 2 sprigs)
Cube 4 potatoes and fry them
Now, in a pan, put some oil and add mustard seeds and fry the pounded ingredients and the chopped curry leaves until you have a nice fragrant. Add the cubed potatoes and mix together. Sprinkle some salt and some chili powder if you want. Mix well. You can add a touch of sugar if needed.
The dish is now ready to be served with rice and dhall :) or with chapati