Those scenes after Ron left Harry and Hermione, dragging a bit IMO. :)Quote:
Originally Posted by Wibha
Printable View
Those scenes after Ron left Harry and Hermione, dragging a bit IMO. :)Quote:
Edhu andha east German civilian espionage padama?
Quote:
Originally Posted by P_R
adhethaan!..
Another movie that has a similar kind of theme - Being a part of another persons life, without their knowledge -is "A shortfilm about Love" by kieslowski.Just loved it..liked it much much better than Lives of others.Well...except that line of similarity..both movies are different.
The climax of Shortfilm about love is one of my most fav.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajithfederer
Watchmen.
Nallathan poyittirunthuchu, but the last half an hour intha maramandaikku yeerala. Totally blur. Don't know what the cow was going on. I suppose those who have read the graphic novel may get better grasp. Rorschach character is fascinating, with and without mask.
:yes: Last friday.Quote:
Loved it... and unlike nassar, I didnt find it dragging :P
Minority report (2002)
Of the sci-fi dumeels done by Spielberg I like this dumeel better. It has quite the entertainment.
AF, if you mean sci-fi action, then yeah it's pretty entertaining. Cliched, but fun. But verum sci-fi-nu paarta, nothing can hold candle next to Close Encounters. Maybe lighted match, not candle :wink:
Yeah i should have written properly. Of the sci fi films of spielberg that I have watched, I like MR more. I haven't seen Close encounters yet.
Quote:
Originally Posted by groucho070
The Killing
What a brilliant film :clap:
Apart from Strangelove - which too yineeq for any comparison, this is the most enjoyable Kubrick film I have seen.
Barring oru sila stagey dialogues , it is extremely well written. Absolutely gripping, accessible and interesting till the very end. Executed very well.
Lalidha paathura vENdiyadhu dhaan.
Godard wasn't impressed by the film because of its derivativeness..
In deed the most accessible and intriguing film of early Kubrick..
Sterling Hayden. :thumbsup: Thilak, yes most accessible.
Quote:
Originally Posted by [url=http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?p=2305609#2305609
Hai... Fee TA, idhu dhAnE vONaandradhu.Quote:
Originally Posted by kid-glove
When you insert something absurd, surreal (and it is not the funny 'life's like that' absurdity) in an otherwise pretty straight movie, it is most natural for the viewer to react "what the deuce does this mean?". Calling them 'symbol hunters' and saying you wanted to satisfy them, ellAm konjam three much.
Till then I only felt the movie was long winded, but apart from that I kinda liked some of the characterizations, dialogues, sequences etc. That climoks made me recalibrate everything and say idhu aavuradhillai.
It's a pretty straightforward movie?! The film flows with an Operatic sweep. That's the point of having non-diegetic mood music like that. All the characters sing 'Wise up' (diegetic) like a Dennis Potter work. And to top it all, the different vignettes as prologue.
To the characters, it offers a temporary relish. But the moment might come off as surreal/absurd. But it could happen. But how one reacts or links it depends on the person. If a religious person gets to watch it, he'd obviously look for biblical allusions. Trying to make a meaning/parable about it. That's why PTA overdoes all the 8: 2 Exodus symbols for one to get it.
Have said enough about it here.
If he wanted to have made it more naturalistic, he'd have gone the "Shortcuts" route with naturalistic characters (rather than showbiz). And like Altman, would only have elements (incl. Sound) from its diegetic world (if I'm not mistaken, that film begins with the natural sound of Helicopter). Not those quirky prologues, not the operatic bgm, not the all-uniting music number..and definitely not something Fortean (absurdly surreal but happens in real life..just as in the movies!).
And above everything else, isn't it also puritanically childish to look out for such events?! In a chaotic domestic situation, the child would hope for something out of his capacity to break in the situation. OR even it is to break the everyday mundaneness. Personally, I had always wished for heavy rain (maybe not frogs) each night as it would mean holiday the next day.
Oh dhreat-A irukkA. ippo dhaan pAkkuREn. Will read now.
Didn't realize Punch Drunk was his. So I have actually seen three of his films !!
Straightforward - in the sense - nothing convoluted, 'deep' (ulp!), profound etc.
Anyway, coming back to 'The Killing', all I remember in Godard's 'breathless' is the jump cut. maththapadi cinema varalaatril yEdhAvadhu avarudaiya cultural significance paththi perusA theriyAdhu.
I think I get why he is calling it 'derivative' but that worked fine with me. I actually prepared to see some dense and demanding film when it turned out to be anything but.
Groundhog Day
Good.
Unstoppable
Much better than Scott-Washington's previous outing 'Taking of pelham 123'. The film moves at a very rapid pace...
I recently enjoyed watching "The Big Sleep" (1946) directed by Howard Hawks. I watched this film around 5 times so far, as I felt so complex to understand the plot. The movie starts with the criminal investigation by a private detective about a black mail in a family. But as the movie progress, there would be series of murders, knot after knot which will keep the audience so tight, so gripping with an unbelievable climax.
This movie is based on the Novel by Raymond Chandler.
Climax is so unpredictable and unimaginable and very cleverly done. It's better not to reveal the story and climax, but I enjoyed watching this film and can watch this film any number of times. Another reason I would watch this film is because Humphrey Bogart became my favorite actor after I watched Casablanca, but I like this movie little beter than Casablanca. Also his other movies like 'Treasure of Sierre Madre' and 'Maltese Falcon' not to be missed. Great performer!
Friends, if you have watched this movie, please share your thoughts. Not to be missed movie.
This is a great forum with diversified interests and threads with hubbers with great knowledge on the subject, which makes so much interesting and fun!
The Best Years of our Lives
Kood :clap:
Straight and surfacey. suBtlety ellAm kuLo enna vilai.
But so what I say. Lovely film.
Early Wyler. :boo:
Angel Heart (1987)
late pickup. eerie resemblance to Chinatown at places, but then the genre totally changes from noir to voodoo, horror, thriller, the works! paathuttu enna peelingsnu sollave mudiyala, appdi oru padam...very atmospheric! is this a novel-to-cinema by any chance? Mr. Rourke is excellent. De Niro saar in a bery bery special appearance. the music and cinematography adds to the overall weirdo mood of the film. oru vaatti paakkalaamnu thonudhu! :?
The girl with the dragon tattoo - One of the best films I have seen in recent times. Kept me guessing till the very end. Throughly rewarding experience. Fine writing backed up by pretty good performances. Could have tried to squeeze in more stuff from the book for e.g. her tattoo stories. The title has no relevance w.r.to the movie now. I saw an English dubbed version, now I can't wait to see how Fincher has written it - the dialogues especially.
Wasabi
Enjoyed to the core and desperate to see how KSR had murdered Luc Besson.
Due Date
Todd Philips is still in 'The Hangover' but manages to evoke laughter every now and then.
+1.
Watched it yesterday. Was quite good. Never takes you for a ride in any moment unlike many action flicks these days. Based on true events in my state it seems.
+1 againQuote:
Originally Posted by ajaybaskar
Netflix playable mode-la irukku. Pa-aaaathuduren.Quote:
Originally Posted by ajaybaskar
Orae oru thadavai than paathuruken and i liked it. Andha Captain Mcclusky pesaradhai follow panrardhukkae thaniya ingless padikanum. Very very rare to be telecasted in tv channels.Quote:
Originally Posted by Nerd
Quote:
Originally Posted by P_R
Inglorious Basterds
superb film..the compilation of 5 episodes leading to the climax..tarentino takes us to the fantasy world of his..this might b the way tarentino wanted hitler to b killed :lol: ..with nearly no action sequences..this is one of the best action films :clap:
brad pitt and the oppicer hans(peyar theriyala :oops: ) :clap:
this story might go very well with our contemperory politics too :wink:
Rocknrolla
Disappointing. Enjoyed the chemistry between Butler and Hardy though.. :lol:
8 mile - eminem film. Paatha varaikkum nalla dhan irundadhu.
Has anybody seen 127 hours? Its been released close to where I live. I have not read any reviews. I heard its (the amputation scene) difficult to watch, especially for ladees, is that true? :oops:
Thanks LM. I think its a bit exaggerated too.Quote:
Originally Posted by littlemaster1982
I think we will eventually settle for Tangled :lol: :oops:
Its just horrible.Quote:
Originally Posted by Nerd
don't EVER EVER watch it. :|
Tangled is really cute ;) :)
The Lives of Others - Good :thumbsup: very close to 'The Conversation'
Inception
:omg: ..wat a film...camman..yellarum ketta kelviye nanum kekren.."ipdi ellam yeppadi yosikireenga nolare?"
hollywood hollywood dhan pa...1 of the best films ever made IMO..
Dicaprio ends up getting gems like these...and gets chances to work wid gr8 directors...
after watching the film..i was discussing abt it without realizing..my mom gave me wierd looks after watching me penathifying abt the movie :lol:
hatts off yaar....wat a film..take a :notworthy:
Nerd,
I have read 127 hours script. I haven't seen "Buried", but I'm told that works purely as a minimal, cynical thriller. Unlike the hopeful, life-affirming mainstream Beaufoy script (and it's also interesting to see Boyle's point of departure with this Beaufoy colloboration from his earlier nihilistic films!). There are lot of flashbacks here that one would consider as 'cheating'. But this doesn't seem like a restricted 'genre film' (like most Boyle films) to pass such 'considerations'.
There is however showmanship with triptychs, cross-cuts, multi-cam filming and bravura editing techniques. Juxtaposition with deliberate product placement, etc. Counterpointing the buzzing aggregation (with pointers for the director like 'this is humanity') vis-a-vis loneliness of the protagonist (and his breakaway from human interaction).Then WHAP, it becomes confined, one huge monologue inside the canyon. The reflection turns from serious to quasi-fantastical. But personal to be sure.
Vast portions rest wholly on face and body of James Franco. And the script gives the pointers from the first smile, cynical quirkiness, to wail of cry. Et all. The emphasis of each step and near-falls should make for a thrilling set-up before that 'encounter inside the boulders'.
That said, great scope for Rahman again. I don't know which source would be used for the concert recording (that Aaron listens to in first third..'act'-nu solla mudiyadhu indha script-A) but the sisters he encounters on the way deride his musical taste at one point. Edhavudhu alt. pop/heavy metal-lA irukkum namburEn. Nostalgic piano notes played by young Aaron often cuts into the silence of boulders and Aaron recounts 'em. At times, in anecdotal manner. And in final sequences, the family play the piano number from Big. Not sure it'll be replaced by Rahman's. Lot of potential (with familial and non-platonic relationship) for leitmotifs. Will be watching it for Rahman lest assured!
Naa soundtrack kooda kaetkaama wait pannikittu irukkenQuote:
Originally Posted by littlemaster1982
128 Kbps audio files torrentla irukku, thEdi paaru!Quote:
Originally Posted by Ramakrishna
VCB
Vicky leaving to meet Juan Antonio for the last time
Self davut etc.
Her husband gets a call
"you're breaking up....you're breaking up....ah..yeah..that's better. Just stay still"
ketta vaarthailaiyE thittinaalum, idhellAm enakku remba pudikkin :-)
Thanks Kid, if not now will certainly watch it in DVD only for Rahman's score. I listened to a couple of tracks, but I dont think they can be enjoyed as stand-alone pieces unlike a slumdock or a couple's retreat which is a good sign.