It hurts to see an expert carnatic music critic like subbudu being bashed mindlesly by few ARR fanatics (who by their own admission have no inkling about carnatic music)just because he criticized one of his songs.Even Arr would cringe to see the disrespect showered on the doyen.
Subbudu's comment was not a statement, but a curt
reply to an idiotic interviewer who did not do his homework properly and foolishly gushed about Kedharam usage in "ennavaLe".
Kupps, "vel muruganukku"is in Mohanam and a pure one at that. I doubt if he would have commented on "Pon malai pozhudhu " song as it faithfully adheres to kedharam , leaving the wcm laced interludes apart.
ok i agree Ennai thalatha varuvala is 1 of the greatest song that year,but what else in the mvie songs that sounded as good as that,simple situation, my aunty a great fan of IR,and she never praises ARR (the normal thing i gues :wink: ),when during KM released,she bought the cassette,and listened only to that Ennai thalatha varuvala song,and others ,nope...she keeps on rewinding & i couldnt resists asking y..she said " mathathu avala nallale,ithu than best pa" and i let her listen to DSKR songs,after around 1998,i told her its the same movie of KM,but in hindi (not mentioning the MD :wink: )she said " ellam paatu supera iruke paa,i didint know hindi people can compose so great" and eventually she stole that cassette from me :P:P:P . . she was in shock when its by ARR,but she couldnt resists enjoying the songs...there was more in joy in her when all the songs came in tamil as Jodi,that she could enjoy the songs in our language,and def Jodi sounded 10000X better!
so what more i need, and IR fan, without knowing the md for the hindi movie is by ARR, praised it ,enjoyed it, & not to forget stole it :P:P..
>>>>
Kissa hum likenge and Thalata varuvala
<<<<
A TIE ?!?!?!?!?! Gaaawd...I don't want to argue anymore...Sorry, folks, our arguments would never end :-)
maddy,
>>>>>>>>>
hey shankar, wat technical aspects u need to discuss here abt DSKR and Kadhalakku Mariyadhai????
<<<<<<<<<
"Sounding" good is not technical...by technical, i mean handling of Ragas, interesting interludes...if there's a shift from one raga to another, how has the MD handled it, are there any interesting deviation from the way you expect the song to proceed...I can give inputs only from the score viewpoint (as I am not quite familiar with Carnatic classical, and i cannot identify only very few ragas)...I am a student of WC, and i can only discuss the technical aspects of the usage of instruments (how was the chord in the BG when the main song is being played...In the first interludes there was an interesting counter point between time x & y and such things)
>>>>>>
my aunty a great fan of IR,and she never praises ARR (the normal thing i gues Wink )
<<<<<<<
Yeah...My aunty's ammanji's son is 12 year old, and is an arr devotee...and gave him the "Rajasthan" CD (one of the worst by Raja), and he listened to it and said these songs are zillion times better than Roja/thirudA thirudA (and as you did, i too didn't mention it was Raja)..and when I said the MD was Raja, he decided not to listen to arr any more and ran to Raja's house in chennai and took deekshai....pOdhumA, enakkum burudA vuda theriyum :-)
">>>>
Kissa hum likenge and Thalata varuvala
<<<<
A TIE ?!?!?!?!?! Gaaawd...I don't want to argue anymore...Sorry, folks, our arguments would never end Smile "
I must not have posted when you said KM was overall a better album than DSKR.
Probably you should find some other forum where ppl will praise IR no matter How bad/good the songs sound. After all the feel is unimportant :rotfl:
Shankar, :lol: that was good .
shankar, u have shown ur true colors.....u just dunt want to accept any ARR song is better than a IR song.......so there is no need for me to speak to a person like u.......
i think jacky hit the nail on the head, there is no need for us to reply as u r never gonna listen.......bye shanki.......
mr.thumburu, if u feel bad that i bashed subbudu then isn't it fair enuf that i feel bad when subbudu bashes ARR????adha yen kanna yosikka maatengiringa?
>>>>>>>
Probably you should find some other forum where ppl will praise IR no matter How bad/good the songs sound. After all the feel is unimportant
<<<<<<<
This feel, sounding this way sounding that way are all subjective...I am a big supporter of Raja, no doubt, but I don't want to argue with people who claim "How bad/good the songs sound" - I had chosen an album which was a hit both commercially, and was praised by the reviewers...and I didn't want to discuss "rajasthan" or "thodarum" which according to me are lousy albums by Raja...I would rather call *you* biased bcos, you said an album like DSKR is better than KM :-)
>>>>>>
shankar, u have shown ur true colors.....u just dunt want to accept any ARR song is better than a IR song
<<<<<<<
"You, ARR fans" (thanks for that phrase, maddy :-) ) talk only about commercial success (which acc to you are the only parameter, "you arr fans" use to judge an album) of an album, and if it sells a 100 more, the album is better...Even in that way, KM was better than DSKR...
I knew your true colors when you made a comment like - "the judges in sapthaswarangaL are biased to Raja" and Indiaglitz is a Raja chamcha (now the moment they say arr is the king with some chennai-only sales figure of ah..aah , you will jump up saying indiaglitz is the most unbiased site !!