For doing make-up of traditional indian folklore getup, make-up artists were flown down from Thailand & Korea :lol:
Uttama Villain to release before Vishwaroopam 2
http://www.thehindu.com/multimedia/d...g_2073207f.jpg
Actor-filmmaker Kamal Haasan-starrer Tamil comedy “Uttama Villain” was recently wrapped up and will release before spy-thriller “Vishwaroopam 2”, which is currently stuck in the post-production phase.
“There’s a lot of graphics work involved in ‘Vishwaroopam 2’, hence the delay. It will only release after ‘Uttama Villain’, which should be out very soon,” a source close to Kamal told IANS.
“Uttama Villain” is said to be the story of an ageing superstar, played by Kamal Haasan, who has also penned the story of the film.
The film also features Jayaram, Andrea Jeremiah, Pooja Kumar and Kamal’s mentor K. Balachander in important roles.
Kamal Haasan is currently busy shooting for Tamil thriller “Papanasam”, a remake of Malayalam blockbuster “Drishyam”.
http://www.thehindu.com/entertainmen...rue&theme=true
Tamil comedy :confused2:
OK..at last thalaivar clarifies the "comedy" cliches of UV. (is he tucking in or is it really flat:smile2:)
http://www.thehindu.com/multimedia/d...2_2071990g.jpg
Actor has moved on to his NEXT FILM, remake of the Malayalam hit, Drishyam, after wrapping up Uthama Villain
Kamal Haasan is perhaps the busiest actor in Tamil cinema today. After completing the shoot of Uthama Villain, in which he plays the role of a popular star, the actor has already moved on to his next, Papanasam, the Tamil remake of Malayalam superhit, Drishyam.
Going by his past record of alternating a serious film with a comedy, Uthama Villain is perceived to be a comedy because it comes after Vishwaroopam, which was about global terrorism.
The actor, however, reiterated the film doesn’t fall under the genre of comedy. “There are some very funny moments, but it is not a full-fledged comedy. I think it is all in the audience’s mind. I like doing comedies but I have never consciously done it,” he said. When asked about Vishwaroopam sequel, the actor said Uthama Villain would release before Vishwaroopam II.
“Vishwaroopam II is in post production. There is a lot of computer graphics that needs to be done. As far as the logistics go, Uthama Villain will release first,” he said.
Is he anticipating protests against Vishwaroopam II as well? “Absolutely not,” he said.
http://www.thehindu.com/news/cities/...?homepage=true
UTTAMA VILLAIN IN OCTOBER, VISHWAROOPAM2 IN NOVEMBER
Uttama villain in october, vishwaroopam2 in november
It is known that Kamal's Uttama Villain is likely to be released for Gandhi Jayanthi ie., on October 2. Now the latest is that Kamal's most expected Vishwaroopam-2 will be released by mid of November. If all goes well, two Kamal films will be released in two consecutive months and needless to say, both October and November will be a festival month for Kamal fans.
Uttama Villain is jointly produced by Kamal's RKFI and Thirrupathi brothers, while Vishwaroopam-2 is jointly produced by Kamal's RKFI and Aascar Ravichandran. Both Uttama Villain and Vishwaroopam-2 has Pooja Kumar and Andrea to its star cast, also Ghibran and Shyam Dutt is taking care of music and cinematography respectively.
Mean time, Kamal is busy with Papanasam(Drishyam remake) shooting in Tenkasi and the film is likely to be wrapped by October
that shouldnt happen. they will eat each other's BO collection. atleast 4 months gap is desirable.
Aascar Ravi sollrathellaam seyya maataar ..
Actor-filmmaker Ramesh Arvind, who is busy with the post-production work of upcoming Tamil directorial “Uttama Villain”, says the film’s dialogues were written by superstar Kamal Haasan, and not by writer Crazy Mohan as being speculated.
Haasan, who plays the lead in the film, has also penned the film’s script.
“Kamal sir has written the film’s script as well as dialogues. Crazy Mohan was initially involved in the brainstorming sessions and his inputs were recorded,” Ramesh Arvind told IANS.
“The film is Kamal sir’s script, hence he was keen on writing the dialogues to do complete justice to the story,” he added.
“Uttama Villain” is said to be the story of an ageing superstar, featuring Kamal Haasan, who plays a double role.
Kamal Haasan is currently busy shooting for Tamil thriller “Papanasama”, a remake of Malayalam blockbuster “Drishyam”.
cr, its impossible to wrap up by Oct. he has to do PP works of UV and remaining PP/vfx works of VR2. are we in some kind of time-warp zone of 70s when three/four of his movies released in single year!
his next may be indian2?
Does anyone know when UV will be releasing? Very little promotion so far considering that it was said to be releasing on Oct 2. Seems to be dragging on forever (seems like a typical trend for KH movies these days)
http://www.onlykollywood.com/intervi...ttama-villain/Quote:
“Initially, we started working on an idea. After few months, we ditched that idea and embarked on another one. It was bound to change because we were brainstorming throughout. After few months, we decided we’ll work on a story that eventually became Uttama Villain. It’s extremely different from Vishwaroopam, and it has a lot of emotional content. The best part about the script is that it has a very profound message which attracted me to it,” reveals Ramesh Aravind.
On directing the triumvirate of Kamal Haasan, K. Balachander and K. Vishwanath Ramesh Aravind considers himself lucky to direct this triumvirate of Kamal Haasan, K. Balachander and K. Vishwanath in one film.
“It was Kamal sir’s idea to cast KB sir and Vishwanath sir. I’m a huge fan of all three of them and to have them work in the same film was a fantastic idea,” he says. In Uttama Villain, K. Balachander essays the role of a mentor to Kamal Haasan, who plays an ageing cine star in the film’s 21st century portions. ”Kamal sir was very keen that we should only cast Balachander for the role because he felt only he could naturally fit in it and do justice to it. When you watch the film, you realize nobody else pic 7 copycould do the role besides KB sir. Had we cast someone else, then we would have had to include a few more scenes to establish the master-disciple relationship. We wanted to avoid all that because there certain advantages and liberty when you cast certain people,” justifies Ramesh the idea behind casting K. Balachander.
Ramesh never felt sort of pressure directing his mentor, thanks to his good relationship with Iyakunar Sigaram. “I thoroughly enjoyed directing because I had nothing else to worry about. I had a very supportive crew and since KB sir was required to be himself on screen, there was hardly any work involved in directing. I would happily sit back in my chair when a shot was over and start afresh when it was time to shoot a new scene. Moreover, since I was working with seasoned actors, there was absolutely no need to tell them what to do and what not. With KB sir, it’s always a pleasure to work because there’s so much you can still learn from him,” says Ramesh.
Theyyam – A thousand year old traditional art form
A little googling will tell you that Kamal Haasan plays an 8th century drama actor in Uttama Villain – as one of the roles – who practices Theyyam, a traditional art form originated in Kerala thousand years back. “It was once again Kamal’s idea to dabble with the traditional art form. When he initially showed me how he would use it in the story, I was totally zapped,“ Ramesh tells us. He also brushes aside reports that they have copied the art form. ”I want to set the record straight because we’ve only been inspired by it and have used it with certain creative liberties. Initially, when Kamal sir had suggested Theyyam, we all sat down and learnt about it individually and then collectively brainstormed about how we could use it in our story. Finally, when we zeroed in on an idea we had developed based on the traditional art form, we decided to include it in the film.”
As we plan to conclude the interview, we ask Ramesh the most important question,
“When can we expect Uttama Villain to come out”.
With a loud laugh, he says “There’s lot of VFX work in the film. We are currently working on it. I’m hoping it should be out in about ten weeks from now”.
Once Uttama Villain was wrapped up, Ramesh Aravind sent a text message to his crew, and it read: “Thanks guys for working on the film. We’ve made a film we can all be proud of and I’m confident about it”.
With a loud laugh, he says “There’s lot of VFX work in the film. We are currently working on it. I’m hoping it should be out in about ten weeks from now”.
Interesting .. that puts it off 10 weeks from the date of interview which is not mentioned. Even if the interview is a month old (unlikely), we're talking about last week of October :confused2:
10 weeks from the interview's publication date (Sept 7), puts the movie at November 21st being a possible release date.
Aascar Ravi said during Ai announcement that Vishwaroopam 2 will release 3 weeks after "Ai." As per him, Ai is releasing on Oct 23rd. 3 weeks later is November 14th Tentatively that maybe dates, but looks like both UV and VR2 will release before end of 2014.
Back to back releases?? Doubtful.
Nickraman,
I was throwing in the best case scenario of an earlier release of Oct 21st if the interview was a month ago which is mostly not the case. Yours is the worst case of Nov 21st. There's also VR-2 releasing between Ai and Linga which is Dec 12 (SS's birthday). So things are still uncertain at this point unless UV is out before October end.
Yes. Also, with the recent Censor Board in Chennai being vacant, lots of proposed movies have yet to release. So I dunno if Sir is planning on Censoring UV and VR2 in Mumbai given the recent Rakesh Kumar fiasco.
Not sure when the interview with Ramesh Aravind was conducted. I was simply going by publication date. Hence "tentative." Logic wise, it doesn't make sense to release back to back. And Lingaa will say Dec 12th for publicity.
Mudhalla audio varattum, illanaa innoru Kochadaiiyaan maadhri delay aagi, 2 varasham thallitu, well...it's been said and done.
actually both Uthama Villain and V2 are in safe hands with respect to publicity ..
ரூம் போட்டு யோசிப்பாங்களோ
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/E...w/42515778.cms
Some light at the end of the tunnel for UV, with Eros coming in. Release date is rumored to be Nov 7th. Let 's hope for the best.
#ThirupathyBrothers Bose Said "Talk Have Come To Final Stages & Both #Eros & Our Production House Will Be Releasing KAMAL'S #UttamaVillain !
Latha Srinivasan @latasrinivasan
.@ErosNow has apparently bought 3 films from @ThirrupathiBros - #UttamaVillain #rajinimurugan... & #karthi s film- for a whopping amount!!
Soundarya Rajinikanth snaps 'Uthama Villain'
After achieving massive success by procuring ‘Kaththi’ audio rights, Soundarya Rajinikanth has inked a two film deal with Tirupathi Brothers to release ‘Uthama Villain’ & ‘Rajini Murugan’ across the state on behalf of EROS International. Recently she released Mahesh Babu ‘Aagadu’ across the southern states, and she’s in no mood to put a comma in her dream run.
Producer Chandrabose has acknowledged the above news that his production house ‘Thirupathi Brothers’ & EROS international will release Kamal’s ‘Uthama Villain’ & Sivakarthikeyan’s ‘Rajini Murugan’. Both the films are in different stages of production, and Kamal starrer might release on the first week of November while ‘Rajini Murugan’ is yet to go on the floors.
http://www.indiaglitz.com/Soundarya-...il-news-115294
So the article only proves that Anjaan really did bite the dust in collections. That explains the silence from UTV Govind in the twitter verse.
And I hope that Eros deal goes through. After long time, KH movie getting released under a corporate banner since UPO.
MMA was red giant and gemini .. vishwaroopam was the other movie .. uthaman and papanasam are easily saleable due to their modest budgets.
THE 10 MOST EXPECTED MOVIES
http://behindwoods.com/tamil-movies/...waroopam-2.jpg
UTTAMA VILLAIN AND VISHWAROOPAM 2
Kamal Haasan has always created expectations, and surpassed them with ease. These two movies that are expected to release in the last quarter are definite choices in the list.
From a KH fan in Twitter:
Ramkumar Prabakaran @ramanishpsg
@KamalHaasan my inspiration towards utthama villain I too tried thyyam face painting on mine.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Bzqw9RMCUAA9_MY.jpg
According to reports Papanaasam might release before VR-2 and UV.
'Uthama Villain' postponed to Pongal, 2015?
Uthama Villain - What was supposed to be an Oct 2nd release got postponed to Nov 7th Owing to some pending technical works. Now our trusted source says that the movie might not release this year as the makers have decided to release it for Pongal, 2015.
The other magnum opus ‘Viswaroopam 2’ is also waiting for a long time as the producer, Aascar Ravichandran wants to release ‘I’ first and then the Kamal Andrea starrer after 2-3 weeks. Ravichandran is quite firm in his decision and announced the same on his personal interview with indiaglitz.
Meanwhile, Ulaganayagan is currently busy with ‘Papanasam’ and progressing swiftly. The shoot for this drama thriller is expected to complete around the November end and if other two movies do not reach the finish line then this one will reach the cinema halls before them. Watch this tab to know which of these three will release first.
http://www.indiaglitz.com/uthama-Vil...il-news-116229
For the sake of Kamal and Aascar, I hope "I" becomes a financial success and in return, Aascar gives VR2 the same promotional boost "I" had.
It's bad enough Anjaan's flop status led to delays with UV.
I wouldn't be surprised if Papanasam gets released first. There is no CG work involved and post production work should complete sometime next month.
Lingu's mess is impacting UV. Too many ventures at the same time leading to losses. I is also completely done and is impacted by financier's losses elsewhere. Of course, KH is right in the middle of all this.
But if I is in financial loss, how did Mr Ravichandran deliever a grand event just for the sake of audio launch that too roping in Arnaald? If it were in a finance crisis, how is Vikram/Shankar still doing PP and Dubbing in other languages (Hindi/Telugu)?
This is sadly reminding me of that Pyramid Samira fiasco post 10A when Marmayogi was launched only to be dropped due to Kuselan loss (and later a court case against Kamal during UPO release time.)
No, I is not a financial loss. In fact, based on the interest it is generating, he is trying to sell in other areas including Hindi. Arnold and now Jackie Chan for Telugu/Hindi audio release is all for that one reason only. He is trying to sell I at a very high price to get out of all the financial loss he has incurred in the past year (he has produced some movies and has been a very active distributor). Even during I production in the last 6 months, it seems they had money issues and there was many months gap where no work was done. Vikram got sick and that was also being told as one reason.
Eventually, I would release. But if the result is sub-par then it creates issues for VR-2 for sure.
How can it be medium budget? Is Nammavar acting for free?
I read that Papanasam is given free dates and he asked to pay him after the film runs and they get money. If Nammavar does the same for all movies, Marudanayagam and other dream projects will never happen.
Atleast for commercial movies like UV, he should have got his remuneration !!