Best in Thalapathy's career.. Enjoyed a lot. BB all over
Printable View
Best in Thalapathy's career.. Enjoyed a lot. BB all over
Positive reviews everywhere.. Happy annachi..
It was good but it was a little too long. Detailed review later
Looks like emotionally attached movie. Good one for Vijay. Way to go. Lot of positives on vijay acting :happydance:
THERI MOVIE REVIEW
Finally the day that Vijay fans were eagerly awaiting has arrived. Yes, we see the arrival of one of the most anticipated Tamil films of 2016, Theri. After an experimental Puli, Vijay gets back to his commercial route. The plot of the movie revolves around an ex-cop who is being revenged by an evil politician and the battle between the two. In simple words, Theri is a story about a good father versus a bad father.
Vijay is the real Theri of the film; he brings in that spark to the floor. He sports three different makeovers and if his third get up had not been revealed in the trailer, there could have been a surprise element for the audience. Be it as a loving father or as an honest fearless cop or as a caring husband, Vijay shines in every frame. The Theri man has given his best. Overall a performance that will satisfy all center audiences and it is the most convincing cop avatar Vijay has portrayed.
20 minutes into the movie, there is Baasha kind of a moment for Vijay, his fans waiting for the real ‘Vijay kumar’ to erupt. You sense the restlessness, and when it does happen, it is the perfect first day first show fan moment. Special mention for editor Ruben for his fast cut edit pattern in the opening stunt. Jithu Jilladi is also one such addition for the fans to have a blast, creatively canned.
One thing that goes against the film is the predictability factor. When there is a suspense moment, you would want the audience not to guess it right. But in Theri’s case, viewers are able to connect the dots and predict what is going to happen next. Perhaps could be a case of trailer revealing more than needed.
Atlee must be lauded for handling the emotional scenes very well, but few such scenes look a little force fitted and dramatic taking the pace away. Two duets also slow down the proceedings.
You would find a momentarily mass scene whenever you feel the screenplay is tilting towards the slower side, which would keep the crowd buzzing now and then. One of the best high points of the film would be the interval block. There are quite a few fight scenes in the film for fans and all are crisply choreographed.
The biggest find of Theri is obviously the legendary director Mahendran’s acting skills. His mannerism, style and dialogue delivery are all top class. A couple of battle scenes between Mahendran and Vijay will be talked about. Motta Rajendran travels throughout the film but does not have too many chances to score, but whenever he gets a chance, he makes the best use of it.
Theri could be one of Samantha’s best roles; she plays a doctor and has given out a soulful performance. Amy’s makeover in Theri as a teacher based out of Kerala, is quite convincing. Nainika is a doll and her expressions are just adorable. She scores the second highest claps and whistles in the hall, after Vijay.
Theri will also be known for its visual brilliance. Be it the action sequences or the songs, you would find some top notch camera angles as well as lighting, thanks to cinematographer George C Williams.
GV Prakash’s background score definitely adds the mass as well as the emotional connect elegantly. One more credible work to his list.
On the whole, Theri is a little predictable emotional ride with some great performances, superlative technical work with a mix of commercial elements.
Verdict: A little predictable, but an enjoyable mass ride with Vijay aka Vijay Kumar aka Joseph Kuruvilla
http://behindwoods.com/cmsadmin/images/star-2.75.gif( 2.75 / 5.0 )
VishalVerified account @VishalKOfficial 5m5 minutes ago
All da best dearest vijay Dhanu sir Ruben and atlee Dir for #Theri. Wish u rocking success in the boxoffice. God bless
Sibi Sathyaraj @Sibi_Sathyaraj 23m23 minutes ago
Congrats to #Vijay anna,@Atlee_dir and the entire team of #Theri! Getting super reviews! Watching it today Matinee
Kollywood Cinema @KollywudCinema 2h2 hours ago
#Theri Review 3.5/5 Overall #Theri Talks about Good Father & Bad Father. Bonding between Father and Daughter is outstanding Good Entertainer
Jiiva @Actorjiiva 2h2 hours ago
All the best to team #Theri Vijay anna and @Atlee_dir for a great success..
sridevi sreedhar @sridevisreedhar 3h3 hours ago
#Theri is paisa vasool entertainer Go for it, u will get ur time and money worth#vijayfan
Nikkil @onlynikil 3h3 hours ago
#Theri is Therific....Electrifying. Entertaining.. Actiontainer...@actorvijay @Atlee_dir @gvprakash @iamAmyJackson @Samanthaprabhu2
soundarya rajnikanthVerified account @soundaryaarajni 4h4 hours ago
All the best @theVcreations uncle this is a big year :):):) @Atlee_dir for giving us a super entertainer @actorvijay Anna , u rock!!! #Theri
MovieCrow @MovieCrow 5h5 hours ago
#Theri Review - Vijay exudes cuteness, youthful as ever; super-fit as a cop. Atlee could not capitalize it
Kollywood Cinema @KollywudCinema 7h7 hours ago
#Theri Overseas ReportFirst half Engaging & Second half Very Good. @gvprakash Songs & Background score really worked out very well. #GV50
SivakarthikeyanVerified account @Siva_Kartikeyan 11h11 hours ago
Best wishes @actorvijay sir,and my friends @Atlee_dir @george_dop @AntonyLRuben on #Theri release
Watching tonight and again on Saturday. Will post my review in the morning. Hearing mixed to positive reports. Lets see.
average stuff..had high hopes on atlee because of raja rani..theri clearly shows his inability to handle mass films..his story is weak and the screenplay is inconsistent..logic takes a backseat in the second half..in addition hindi padam mathire end credit-le oru pattu :banghead:..
might turn out to be an average grosser..or maybe can be another vedalam..
Watched It - Liked it.
Just go watch and enjoy. Don't think too much about the film.
Watching again on Saturday.
Was expecting a nice entertainer. Average Stuff..Engaging to a certain extent similar to Raja Rani. Will fare good at BO considering no other movie to compete with. I dont know how this guy maintains his physique. Amazing. I did not like the Kudumi style on him though. Nainika was excellent, Mottai Rajendran was rocking as usual.
Theri : All style, minimal substance
Caught it last night at Rex Cinemas, Singapore. The friend I was with is the kind that thinks Vijay's only good movie was Thuppakki. After the movie ended, she told me she liks this more than Thuppakki and it might be Vijay's best performance to date. And guess what? She isn't wrong.
I loved the movie. I don't remember the last time a movie made me laugh and cry so much in equal parts. Mahendran Sir, Baby Nanika(Indeed a kutty Meena), Motta Rajendran, Radhika all bought their A game to the movie. Samantha did her role beautifully. Amy, on the other hand, was a cardboard. She even seemed disinterested at some parts. Finally, Vijay. What a performance. Vijay showed a glimpse that he's more than just an entertainer, that he's an actor in Kaththi as Jeevanandham which still is my favourite Vijay film. Atlee has extracted that part and portrayed it beautifully. Vijay excelled in everything he did, be it a father, a wife, a son or a cop. It was beautiful to watch.
The biggest negative of the movie is the story. The content is not strong. Atlee has packaged a neat action flick with a social message but the story is flimsy at best. This is where Thuppakki/Kaththi, and by extention, ARM, comes up on top. Other than that, the only other negative are the songs. They weren't placed well and tended to slow the momentum of the film. BGM was top notch though so kudos to GV. The fight scenes were realistic and raw. Loved it. Editing crisp. But I need to single out one particular technician. George C Williams. I loved his work in Kaththi. He continued on with Theri. Each frame was excellent. The close ups during mass scenes even more so. He really bought Theri to the next level.
As a whole, I loved it and totally worth the asking price. Atlee didn't disappoint with his second film. I will be watching it again on Saturday. Theri will hit 100cr without problems. Even the neutrals and haters like it.
திருச்சி மாநகரில் ஒட்டப்பட்டுள்ள 40 பிட் போஸ்டர்
https://scontent.fmaa1-1.fna.fbcdn.n...4b&oe=57AEAF40
திருச்சி மாநகரில் (TT ஏரியா வில்) முதன் முதலாக 45 திரைகளில் திரையிடப்பட்ட காவியம் எங்கள் சூப்பர் ஸ்டார் விஜய்யின் தெறி - திருச்சியில் அனைத்து திரைகளிலும் தொடர்ந்து ஹவுஸ்புல் காட்சிகளாக வெற்றிநடை போடுகிறது
TT ஏரியா வில் 61/2 கோடிக்கு விற்பனையான முதல் தமிழ் படம் விஜய்யின் தெறி
https://scontent.fmaa1-1.fna.fbcdn.n...b8&oe=57AB4BE2
@ Shankar very good review....fuming inside tat I still didn't watch(not released in kanchipuram because of chengalpet issue) it wen most of the people raving about movie and vijay's acting...kanchipuram alone movie easily collects around 60 lakhs on day 1...4 days easy 1.5 Crs...wat a costly miss...not sure wat dhanu gonna achieve in this....its really worrying to c thousands of people standing outside the theatre from early morning daily to c whether movie gets release today...
Film Awesome !!! Weak Storyline but Execution perfect ! Btw why did they include scene n bullet ?? Significance eh illa.... Jithu Jilladi :thumbsup: Thalaivar Top Takkaru nd Nainika Soo much cute ! Way to go....
watched theri baby yesterday. the first half was good with vijay and meena's little girl. vijay looked great. vijay -samantha portions were good too. the songs and picturization were nice.
i felt the 2nd half was a little bit long and a drag. but ok. i didn't like that ghost theory part.
one word=ajith's yennai arinthaal vijay version
Watched again today, Superb response in theatre. Went with 2 neutral and 1 Ajith fan. Everybody liked it and the neutrals want to watch it again for cute Nainika.
Vijay fan inside me want to watch it again :)
Stylish cop VJ is a treat to watch on screen (Tip : Book your ticket in a a large screen and in some front row).
Real heroes are GVP's BGM and George Camera, Therikka vitrukanga..
More later.
I am super happy.
Just seen it! Awesome movie! Amazing acting by vijay, samantha and nainika. Thank you Atlee.
Please dont compare this with YA.
Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk
Record Collections all over. Thalapathi da :smokesmirk:
Comparing with YA? :rotfl2:
i have some more time to write about what i loved about theri... here we go!
Atlee said during photo teaser reveal that people will know after watching the movie why it has been named Theri and he is correct! My word, the sparks were flying left, right and centre throughout the movie! I feel acting wise this has been vijay best in some time. Thupakki and Kaththi and amazing but this one just edged it as some scenes he would be casually talking and change it mid scene to a serious scene. You could see that in school scene, interval block scene etc - Just too good!
First half went super fast - Although it is a police movie most of it was Vijay the "family man" instead police man. If anything there was just three scenes for police cases - school, beggars and rape scene. Second half - seems slow but it is not that is due to the fantastic first half and the interval block. Second half was really intense as you want to know what happened to Samantha and Radhika and how Nivi survived - it was brilliant! The ghosting technique is typical mass tamil cinema we have seen it in 100s of movies in the past!
I must add only two songs were visually great and both of them were with Samantha. I expected a lot more from Eena meena but Jithu Jilladi was a major let down! Not sure why they thought Deva would suit vijay - it was such a miss match and the voice did not fit in especially when vijay looks so young!
Overall, very happy with Theri. Looking forward to Vijay60 now!
Watched my Theri baby last Saturday.
Movie superb.
My theri baby terikkavidrukkar.
Thank to Dir. Atlee
hearing great news that enthiran collection in uk has bean beaten by thalapathi after 6 years but it will end in 2 months
THERI - A Family Mass Entertainer
• Atlee loves Vijay like Siruthai Siva loves Ajith
• Engaging Screenplay
• At interval (I watched 9am show on 14th) lot were calling their friends & relations guaranteeing/recommending THERI for its entertainment.
• Frame to frame Colorful show with lot of close-ups
• Except two songs story moves in other songs
• After a long time Parrys corner/ high court location used for a fight sequence
• Ever next scene is guessable but Atlee have made it interesting
eg: IT Management in-charge talks irresponsible while Vijay’s investigation, we know Vijay going to hit him...Director skips the hitting & shows Management in-charge person touching his nose, blood in this fingers.
• Chemistry between
VIJAY & his daughter - CUTE
VIJAY & his mother - bit over acting (both vijay & radhika) but interesting
VIJAY & his Lover, Wife - Adorable
VIJAY & AMY - Need to wait for sequel
Records all over.... va va va ipa va...
Brand Vijay :smokesmirk:
Official.. 86 crores in 4 days.. Worldwide.. Therrrrrrrriiiiiiiii....[emoji122]
Theri
Post 2004, I rate this film as the 3rd best after Thuppakki and Kaththi in bringing out the best in Vijay. The story is nothing new. A sincere cop, nearly killed by the villain, manages to survive for his kid. He leads a different life in another part of the country, only to be found again by the villain. But Atlee ensures that it is told in the right way, hitting the right chords with the audience. Bravo!! :)
Vijay excels in his most convincing cop role till date. I especially loved the undercurrent in the scenes involving Vijay and Mahendran. The romance portions with Samantha was superb and the mom-son chemistry was fabulous. It was a treat to watch Vijay in such an uber cool avatar. பின்னீட்டீங்க தலைவா...
Samantha's luck with Vijay continues with Theri. More often than not, the love portions in an action film acts as a speed breaker. Even in a film like Kaththi, I felt it took some pace off. But here, it worked really well. Amy's role was needless though. Except for listening to the flashback, she doesn't have anything to do. I hope the directors let go the cliché of having a second heroine if the first heroine dies in the film.
Rajendran gets a lifetime role which is quite similar to the ones Goundamani used to do when he was at his peak. A faithful assistant to the hero. Few of his one liners brought the roof down. Radhika has a small role for her abilities. But she has done full justice to it. The real surprises though were Mahendran and Nainika. The former's mannerisms reminded me of Rajinikanth in many places. And I don't remember any other mass entertainer where the hero doesn't even touch the villain once through the film. Well thought!! Nainika was a delight to watch, especially for her witty replies to her dad. There was always a danger of the kid going overboard but thankfully it didn't happen
GVP's songs didn't appeal to me much on the first listen. But they worked really well in the film and the score was also pulsating. A memorable 50th outing!!
George C Williams and art director Muthuraj (has done a cameo as the villainous Chetaa) have done a fabulous job. The market fight is the right example to show how good the cinematography,art direction and stunt choreography was.
The film is not without flaws. The last 30 minutes could've been much better. I would like to quote the example of Sethupathi, another cop film that i recently enjoyed. The mass of the hero is boosted with some intelligent and clap worthy scenes. Theri was missing that. It was like a smooth flight affected by turbulence while landing. Second, the abrupt cuts. Even though the screenplay is racy enough, the cuts were so irregular in an otherwise neat presentation.
On the whole, its a memorable film for Vijay fans and like any Vijay blockbuster, the film is continuing to draw large crowds to the theatre. A 75% full hall on a weekday in Dubai is something i have not seen. I witnessed that yesterday.
That was THERI,Babeeeey!!!
Sent from my SM-G531F using Tapatalk
Ajay [emoji122][emoji122][emoji122]
I really enjoyed the romance between Samantha and Vijay but I have to disagree with Ajay on the romance not slowing the pace down. Not the romance part but the little things that came with it that could have avoided. For example the talk with Samantha's father. They should have also trimmed the romance portion of the story as I felt it took way too long to get to the actual plot. The interval scene should have come way sooner and more time spent on the interaction between the villain and hero. I wanted to see more of the ending concept (people who watched will understand as I don't want to spoil).