indha post-a appadiyae eduthutu poi Illogical nu thread iruku .. adhula put !Quote:
Originally Posted by hamid
Printable View
indha post-a appadiyae eduthutu poi Illogical nu thread iruku .. adhula put !Quote:
No, Hamid, my point is, even when one qualifies it as "so-called," one's still approving of such a classification (but is doubtful of the merits of "class"). This whole "class vs. mass" idea, as we all know, relies on a certain classification of the film-watching audience. But a superstar like Rajini really cuts across all sections of audience. So it's really pointless to examine how he caters to the "class" audience when clearly most of them enjoy his regular films in the same way as others.Quote:
At the outset, I think I should first confess that I don't think Rajini is a great actor. (I know it's blasphemous, may be it's just me. :)) I'm trying to find out why the essential Rajini is being traded for the "serious actor" who unusually did some "serious films," some of which are so poor anyway. (Sri Raghavendra and all, really?!)
Not to take away anything from Rajini's merits as an actor, but to a large extent, he has indeed transcended what one would call "serious acting" in the traditional sense for decades now, isn't it? What I'm trying to say is, a proper response to these kind of criticisms has to be (and can very well be) well within the framework of the phenomenon that he is, and not by harking back to a different phase of his career as early as the 70s!Quote:
ennamo poanga :roll:
Naan moderator a latchchanamaa amaithiyaa irukaen.. Ethuvaa irunthaalum decent aa discuss pannungappaa :shaking:
TM,
I didnt want to get into Rajini Vs Kamal discussion.. athaan unga post-ku reply pannala.. but seems this is headed in that direction. anyway if thats what needed so be it..
Bala,
Joke adichu vilayaadrathaa?? :rotfl: athu yaar panrathunnu ellarukkum theiryum.. Dasa collected triple times of sivaji collections, 10 page la thread lock aakiduchu athunaala dasa-thaan winner etc etc.. ithaiyellam vida periya vilayatta enna naanga aadurathu :huh: :rotfl2: :rotfl3:
discuss panrappa eethum pesa mudincha pesunga.. illatti unga threadla poy vilayaadunga.. atha vittuttu een ippadi summa sound mattum kodukkariinga? sari athaan mudiyumna carry on..
Oh, really! :lol2:Quote:
By the by, 10-page lock-a!!!? adhellam naan sollakkidayaadhu yuvar aanar!
And triple time collection please ask the sources which said that, i'm merely a messenger! :lol2: (Source e kudukkaama vaai la vada sudra aatkal neenga enbadhu vera vishayam)
Seri, i'll stay in the topic and contribute to the discussion without "giving sound", ok va??Quote:
You are being too restrictive, i say!
Why stop with #1 star and # 1 actor, #1 star actor, #1 acting star etc?
How about #1 comedy star? # 1 action star (pipping Arnold to the post)? #1 theater star?
Kamal would have been a light boy and whatever he is now is due to the "humility" (sammandhame illama ella edathulayum indha humility-ye solreengale-nu kekkara madayan yaaru adhu?) and the 'mercy' of Rajini because he choose the 'other path'. everybody in every other field is in top only because Rajini did not choose to grace that field!
Had Rajini joined the Indian cricket team, he would be #1 ICC/Ceat/Maruti ranked player and Sachin Tendulkar would have been throwing balls from the boundary line in white and white (ball boy)! And U.N General secretary post wouldn't have been far off..
Kamaan :yes:
Equa,Quote:
Originally Posted by equanimus
Fine..Im glad and why dont we discuss this.. (konjam simple sllunga :lol:)
Equa, yes he is a phenomenon.. but the discussion started when I wondered the path he chose might be wrong.. IMO even if he has taken the serious acting path he would have been successful. now that you say some of the serious acting films are so poor.. i wonder which of those you refer..Quote:
appavi saar niinga :lol:Quote:
Originally Posted by Thirumaran
:sigh2: naan kuuda oru nimisham nejamaathan solriingaloonnu :shock: ninachi muzusa padichitten.. sari en thapputhaan.. :lol:Quote:
Originally Posted by Bala (Karthik)
Hubber Maddy's favorite dialogue from Maharasan
Kamal: "(something like)Savalakkadi girigiri....Idhukku enna badhil solra?"
VKR Ayya: "Idhekkellam yevan ya (serious-a) badhil solvaan"
illa Hamid, nAn solla varRadhu ennannA... Let me illustrate the point with an example. (I think I've expressed this before too, so pardon me if you've already heard it.) I find it a bit inappropriate that a film like Thillu Mullu is so routinely picked as Rajini's funniest film, especially considering that comedy is among his greatest strengths. Not in the least because it's not a hilarious film, but because it's in a mould that's just not Rajini enough (in the sense of what Rajini does to the film). Of course this is very much subjective, but I'm curious about the near certainty with which Thillu Mullu tops the list.
equa.. reason behind Thillu Mullu is his first full fledged comedy film and it remains. we have lot of comedy films which carries a tag " muzhu neela nagaichuvai" but there exists some dull scenes which are not very comical.. But Thillu Mullu IMO, is entirely different. Even a dull scenen or a scnee where Rajini gets frustrated or upset makes the audience laugh - thats where Thillu Mullu is different from others.
Even in the climax, when Thengai is being targetted by characters all round the corner, there is still a comical touch in the dialogues delivered by Poornam, Charu hasan etc. Thillu Mullu for me the funniest film of Rajini and the best with co. of Visu and KB.
Equa, i think u have said something similar before.. but still I am not getting it clear.. :oops:
1. thillu mullu is the funniest films of Rajini and comedy is said to be one of his strength.. but u didnt find thillumullu that much funny. ( hence Rajini is not so good at comedy)
2. there are better funnier films of Rajini than thillumullu.
3. thillumullu is funny, not because of Rajini, coz of everybody and even if someone replaced Rajini, it wil still be the same?
Hope u imply one among these... :lol: illa 4-tha ethavathu?
just out of curiosity, can you name not some or atleast one movie ? I am expecting a full fledged comedy as we are comparing his other films with Thillu Mullu.. soneengana naanum paarpaen :)Quote:
aalavanthaan.. niinga vera uudaala kozappathiinga..
I asked whether equa implies any one of these...
:clap: NerdQuote:
Originally Posted by Nerd
Thank You
Aalavanthan,
That (it was his first full fledged comedy film) is an interesting explanation. I think you do have a point here.
Hamid,
(1) -- Not at all. (How can one even infer the last statement?!)
(2) -- Not particularly my point, though there may be.
(3) -- Yes, to a large extent. But, in a larger sense, this is not really the sort of comedy ("Sabha drama" type) that one would instantly associate Rajini with. This ties in to the whole idea of trying to find Rajini in a "class" film, which is why I mentioned it here.
equa, looking at implications of you "liking" perarasu, and this thread, you must be the most misunderstood hubber ever, and one must say you dont help matters with your prose either :-)
Even if I am wrong about these particular episodes of misunderstanding your point, I still would be right in the overall sense, including the fact that in that case, I would be wrong, and therefore an example of misunderstanding you
Er... I also like several of those 'snatches of scenes' which you are dismissive of. His simple expressions in vetri nichayam song in Annamalai for instance, I find it impressive in itself. So much so that the speculation on whether Kamal can do it or KuLLamaNi can do it is not very interesting to me.Quote:
Originally Posted by Plum
That was impressive because there was a something about Rajini himself in that. Whether the star is feeding the role is feeding the star - is something we can't quite comment on ably enough.
Even for certain cliches to come alive on screen is a challenge. For instance, I was just watching snatches of veera the other day. There is one scene where upon Meena's return, Vadivukkarasi is upset that she has forced her son to make the wrong decision in asking him to marry Roja. So rather than she consoling Rajini, Rajni is consoling her. Mother 'sendimend' and 'we have done no wrong so why fear' is as old as the hills. But Rajini is so fluent in that scene.
IMO Thalabadhi is last movie where the movie and his performance are thoroughly enjoyable for me. But I would not be dismissive of everything he did after that.
Equa, without Rajini if anybody else have done thillumullu. no way.. it wont be this much funny at all.. yep. it will still be an enjoyable movie.. but itz Rajini who took that movie to great levels.Quote:
Equa.. what was said was, Rajini can give superior performance in Class acting, comedy, villanism, style.. never said his comedy is a classical..Quote:
hail the insecurity :)
illa illa, Hamid, appadi sonnadhA 'llAm sollala. (I'm actually trying to debunk the notion that certain modes of comedy are "classical" and superior to the rest.) Thillu Mullu 'la Rajini'yOda essential features avvaLavA irukkAdhunnu dhAn solREn.Quote:
equa, the mean streak in me is perversely enjoying the constant misinterpretation of your statements and thoughts :-)
Yes.. in Annamalai. .once classic exapmple is the innocence he brings in early and the kind of depressed/detached at the same time majestic characterisation he brings in the later half.Quote:
Originally Posted by P_R
the scene where he challenges sarath babu along with the bgm is terrific..
the scene where he slaps his daughter, the dialogue after that and the consoling later :notworthy:
Plum, it will not fall in the category u can dismiss off.. yes there are a few which can be in that list.. but not Annamalai..
ok, I will revisit and tell - although my prejudice against Deva might still come in the way.
Ok..i think i got ur point and deprieved plum's enjoyment for a while :lol:Quote:
Is it?? essential features-nu etha solriinga? i belive his timing and his comical expression are his strength in comedy.. u can find both of them in this..Quote:
TEO/veera are better and have Rajini's essential features?
enakennavo niinga buutakamaave pesura maathiri irukku :oops: ponniyin selvan-la i have felt few people know whats is happening or what is going to happen. but no one will say it openly.. athe maathir irukku :lol:
:cool: tell us your comments after watching it :)Quote:
LOL! Ok, vEra mAdhiri varEn.Quote:
niRaiya Rajini padangaLil oru strong subaltern presence irukkum. Thillu Mullu padaththula adhaRkAna suvadE pArkka mudiyAdhu. ada, ivvaLavu Enga, oru fighttuk kUda illainga andha padaththula!
Excellent & scrupulous compilation, Nerd. A big round of applause for you. Very meticulously done !!! Great.
aamaallaa(like VV wondering)Quote:
sollirundhaa indhran chandran nejamaave rettai piravi, Ramachandramurthy chinna vayasula avinga appaara konnu soththai soorayadittarnu kadhayai maathi pallaavaram raiway gate kitta trackla kaal sikkirappala oru climax ezhuduvomaa..
Jaiganes,
But I hope you get that I don't mean it in a demeaning way. Rajini's comic side very much extends to his fight sequences. It's really so there in a lot of his memorable films!
rajinikku demeaningaa sollalai.Quote:
summa seriousaa poittu irukke, ungala vechu caamedy pannalaamennu dhaan.
enakkennavo nneeenga dhaan engala vechu majoraa comedy panra maadhiri slightaa feel aavudhu.
<appadiye escape route checking>
nInga irundhAlum ivvaLavu periya meesicalA irukkak kUdAdhu!Quote:
இந்த waerd இங்க debut-nu நினைக்கறேன்.Quote:
அடுத்த தளத்துக்கு போயாச்சுன்னா இனிமே திவச மந்திரந்தான் :P
vetri nichaya'thukku kooda bronze bowl kidayAdhA ??Quote:
mmhmm..meettavaE meetAdhu pOla irukkE.
neenga vera.. naan paadhi equa text-a "appadiyae" word webla copy and paste panni life-a otitu irukaen :lol:Quote:
Originally Posted by P_R
Quote:
habba.. oru post thelivaa purinchidu..:lol: Equa.. ithe maathiri post pannalaame.. :cool:
:lol: actually I tried that once today .. u know what.. the meaning was more confusing.. athunaala antha ideava vittutten..Quote:
Originally Posted by Aalavanthan
Idhu Rajini favorite scenes thread. Idhula indha post vandhadhukku edhukku ungaLukkellAm eRiyudhu? nEthu kooda dhAn Guna dhAn best performance by any actor ever-nu 4-5 pEr sonnInga naanga adhai koNdu pOyi illogical thread-la pOdunga-nu sonnOmA? I don't get it, whats the problem with Hamid's post here? Its his freaking opinion, if you don't like it stay away or put it politely.Quote:
NerdQuote:
Originally Posted by Nerd
In fact I also said Guna is oscar worthy performance and did not object any others' opinion. People have opinions and we should leave at that as you said.