Was listening to Ae Hairathe. Amazing rendition by Hariharan and Alka Yagnik :thumbsup: This one song is enough to elevate the beauty of Guru. Am totally in love with the number now :D
Printable View
Was listening to Ae Hairathe. Amazing rendition by Hariharan and Alka Yagnik :thumbsup: This one song is enough to elevate the beauty of Guru. Am totally in love with the number now :D
Swades - ARRs best work.
Yes, I KNOW it is!
The film itself is Ashutosh Gowariker’s and SRK’s best film till date. I'm not sure how natives feel but as an NRI this film very emotional. SRK gave the performance of his career in this one.
Even though the film got critical acclaim, it's a shame the film bombed commercially leading to disappearance of the attention the music truly deserved. :(
However, I believe the album still lives in the hearts and souls of certain individuals. It certainly does for me and I can’t predict if ARR can ever compose a complete album like this and anyway I don’t care about the commercial scene and all I know is that I was touched by something supernatural when hearing this album.
What makes an album?
Well simply put a complete album is not a one track album, where only one song gets hyped and the rest get washed away.
This music of this album does not carry any influence of ARR prior to this or post this audio. It even doesn’t sound like any of the material he was releasing during that period. Yet ironically, the album carries the ARR stamp all the way throughout. For this reason, it soars so high that personally I feel ARR might have difficulty being on par with this album let alone surpassing it.
Each song can be termed as a complete album. They have so much weight, that even by pure chance I will never forget each individual song. All songs are different that it makes me wonder, did one composer actually make this album. I don’t know what phase ARR was going through, but the passion here is so spiritually nostalgic yet being modern and fresh to the core.
I’m too immature to write about the songs separately and probably will never talk about them as I don’t think me or for that matter any reviewer can do justice to these songs. I think everyone can relate to a song from this movie even if they can’t relate to the album as a whole.
Charan sparsh to the whole team of this movie.
(I’m not in a position to talk about Thalaivar’s best Tamil album or overall best album but for me in Hindi, this is the epitome of beauty.)
Sorry for deviating from the thread's title.
Sunil
Source: http://www.srktimes.com/2011/06/swad...gowarikar.htmlQuote:
Ashutosh Gowarikar is all set to make a sequel of his critically acclaimed film ‘Swades’. According to the sources, Ashutosh is in talks to retain Shah Rukh Khan, who played Mohan Bhargava a NRI in the prequel.
“I am planning to make ‘Swades 2’ but it’s too early to talk about it,” said Gowarikar who denied to divulge more details about the story.
The sources also informed that though SRK is the first choice of the filmmaker, there shall be change as far as actress in the film is concerned. Gayatri Joshi was introduced opposite Khan in ‘Swades’ but since she has quit the industry after marriage, a new replacement is being considered.
Sources added that the story board is like a second chapter where Mohan Bhargava, the protagonist will be on a journey to set up basic amenities for another part of rural India.
The 200 odd minutes film ‘Swades’ which had a message for every Indian who desired to make his name abroad when his soil needed him the most is all set to move forward with a sequel which will show the NRI trying his best for the upliftment of his fellow Indian citizens.
Thanks - Daily Bhaskar
:happydance:
Sorry for posting this here but since I've been gaga over swades since day 1, this is the biggest news of the year for me.
Please Rahman ji accept this project :bow:
AG & SRK :thumbsup:
we can understand that sunil :)
infact its a great project to be associated with.
lets see when things develop.
Where does all other threads disappear?
Just want to ask fellow hubbers what is your most listened soundtrack of ARR and why? And you think that never ceases out of your life.
or a specific song for that matter
Songs which come to my mind immediately:
pudhu vellai mazhai
urvasi
yakkai thiri
mann mohini
mangta hai kya
பூ கொடியின் புன்னகை
கண்டுகொண்டேன் கண்டுகொண்டேன்
மலர்களே மலர்களே
குறுக்குச் சிறுத்தவளே
குலுவாலிலே
நான் பாடும் சந்தம்
எதுக்கு பொண்டாட்டி
இஞ்சேருங்கோ இஞ்சேருங்கோ
எனக்கொரு கேர்ள் ஃப்ரண்ட்
Masakali - Everything about this song is pleasant. Mood changer
Yakkai Thiri - Kick ass and pure vintage Rahman
Munbe Va - Shreya Ghosal
Naan Paadum Sandham - One of my all time favourites
Kangalil Enna Eeramo - lullaby for me :)
Kaadhal Rojave - Humming onnu podhum, ennamo pannum... solla mudiyatha oru feeling
Minnale - SPB
Hello Mr Ethirkatchi - Those middle parts where Harini goes in a hush hush tone
Enge Enathu Kavithai - Nadhas + Chitra
Thanks for the response.
Let me take the initiative in explaining it further that could be more informative and useful share. Gone are the days are crazy youthful listening of Roja, Bombay, Thiruda Thiruda, Dil Se, ... even today as much as I look for a innovative album, the best of singing, emotional & meaningful lyrics, feel, I think these songs cannot be matched. ARR & VM have lacerated the listener's mind very deeply literally puts me into a state of deep rage and sympathy.
Yeah, that's Kannathil Muthamittal for me.
Oru Deivam Thantha Poove
Vidai Kodu Engal Naade
Vellai Pookkal
These three songs have surpassed all my favorite album/nos yet I think this will never cease out of my life.
Few more
Roja - pullannu onnu petha indha maathiri thaan pekkanum
Thiruda Thiruda - I would like to go back to school and seated in the last bench with this soundtrack. In particular playing Thee Thee.. A bench mark for future generation
Rasathi - Another smirk mark not to miss :-D
Fav albums in no particular order:
Roja
Bombay
Kadhalan
Minsara Kanavu
Jeans
Kadhal Dhinam
Alaipayuthe
Jodhaa Akbar
Swades
Vtv
Taj mahal
Fav songs:
Rukmini
mel isaye
mera rang de basanti chola
marudhani
margazhi thingal
rang hai
khamosiyan gun guna lage
kaalaiyil dinamum
oru deivam thatha poove
oru nanban iranthal
sahana
zindagi zindagi
nathiye nathiye
kismat se tum hum ko mile ho
pachai kiligal
evano oruvan
Fav songs sung by thalaivar himself
irumbile
rehna tu
only you
wedding qawwali from bombay dreams
columbus
araarikodi
mannipaya
velai pookal
mustafa
urvasi
athiradee
arathadee
theeyil vizhunda
mangata hai kya
Best preludes Rahman ji ever delivered for me are:
Mel Isaiye
Pogum Vazhiyellam
Taal se Taal
Thaniye
Munbe Vaa
Bhoola Tujhe
Puthiya Manidha
These preludes run through my blood
By no means is this my complete list hehe :D ...
Oru nanban irunthal is a surprise addition there Sunil.. Another song that comes to my mind is Oru poiyavathu sol kanne.
Both are quiet an unusual & underrated ARR song.
அன்பில் அவன் - இந்தப் பாடலை காரில் ஒலிக்கச் செய்து கேட்டு கேட்டு எங்கள் குடும்பத்தில் ஒன்றாகவே மாறிவிட்டது. இப்போதெல்லாம் நானும் என் மனைவியும் இதன் வரிகளை பாடிக்கொண்டே பாடலை ரசிக்க ஆரம்பித்து விட்டோம்.
நீ வானவில்லாக
அவள் வண்ணம் ஏழாக
அந்த வானம் வீடாக
மாறாதோ மாறாதோ
காதல் எல்லாம் நுழையும் இடம்
கல்யாணம் தானே
இன்று தொடங்கும் இந்த காதல்
முடிவில்லா வானே
தாமரையின் வரிகள் மிகவும் எளிமையாக, அதே நேரத்தில் சந்தத்தோடு பின்னி பிணைந்தே செல்கிறது. க்யூட்.
இசையைப் பற்றி சொல்லவே வேணாம். குதிரை பூட்டிய சாரட்டில் நம்மை உட்கார வைத்து சாலையில் பயணிக்காமல் காற்றில் உலவச் செய்திருக்கிறார் ரஹ்மான். முதல் இண்டர்லியூடில் அவர் சேர்த்திருக்கும் சிறு சிறு இசை ஒலிகள் ரம்மியமானவை. பூஞ்சோலைகளின் மரங்களிலிருந்து அதுவரை கூட்டமாக அமர்ந்திருந்த ஒரு இனப் பறவைகள் ஒரு சேர பறந்து செல்வது போலவும், வேறு இனப் பறவைகள் பறந்து வந்து அதே மரங்களில் அமர்வதைப் போலவும் இருக்கிறது ரஹ்மான் இந்தப் பாடலில் நெய்திருக்கும் சிறு சிறு ஒலிகள் வந்து வந்து செல்வது.
என்னமோ நேற்றுதான் எங்களுக்கு திருமணம் ஆகியது போன்ற புத்தம் புது உணர்வுகளை மனதிற்குள் பாய்ச்சுகிறது இந்தப் பாடல். குதூகலம், துள்ளல், ஆட்டம் எல்லாமே ஒரே இடத்தில் அமையப்பெற்ற பாடல்.
Yes anbil avan is one of a kind.
Techno, carnatic, and gospel - all in one.
Another techno/carnatic number that comes to mind straight away is Mayilirage, though this time the techno has more of a subtle presence.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XqidN...eature=related
yeah I know that. Only recently that song clicked for me... may be my taste and listening tendency have changed over the years :gangai amaran: maathiri maarittennonu oru feel. Actually its a nice song, situational lyrics but lacks only ARR's signature orchestration. HH modulation also might have raised the bars over the years esp the interlude start iravinai theetti Oh....:bow:
kaadhal kaditham theettave which was my fav has taken a backseat. :frightened:
gave one round listen to the songs of vandicholai chinraasu...
though there are some good tunes, i assume the album would hav been a disaster...
most of the places the orchestra and packaging looks like amateurish..
anybody who remember how this album was received when released? some experiences on that... and anybody like to hav some discussion on the songs?
senthamizh naatu thamizhachiye was a run away hit at the time of the release
chithirai nilavu was not a hit during the release but became a very popular song afterwards courtesy Sun Music and other music channels
ithu sugam sugam song - reserved for midnight masala songs i suppose
eh kaatu pana maram pola - during the time of the release adikkadi pottanga but vanished afterwards
parotta parotta - prior to the movie release and after cassette release enakku romba pidicha paatu (:D) but the picturisation was a huge sothappal
mothathula oru mega disaster movie ku rahman music pottirukave venaam...... but eppadiyo maatikittar ninaikaren....... this released in 1994 correct? Duet ku appuram cassette release aana padam........ Vandicholai sinraasu as a movie was not even worth a 1 show run, songs though not in the league of other rahman movies at that time had 1 or two chart busters, as usual album sales was good.......... and if i remember correctly, Anandavikatan while reviewing the movie pointed out rahman's music as the only solace for the entire movie
this parotta parotta starting pallavi is a folky tune?
this is the same tune as 'aalillaadha kaattukkulla vandhu... vambu pannum sinnappayya' from PV
yes, tune is folky tune ...... ARR style dappankuthu..........though in the picturisation it ended up as something like 3rd grade song.....
and no idea about your 2nd line
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sexdUSPsnek
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4G5RG...eature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QdIIuUlC1C8
padam flop aanalum,but songs r superhit!
VC - Saw FDFS, not because I wanted to. Was in Karur at my uncle's house and a multiplex (two theaters) was right next to where he lived. Went only because of ARR, I had not listened to the songs prior to watching it. Movie was :twisted:
If I am not wrong, Senthamizh Nattu thamizhachiyE was the only hit song from this film. Adhu ennavO theriyalai, appayum sari ippayum sari I don't like that song. But a huge fan of edhu sugam sugam adhu. Brilliant arrangements and SPB of course. Would have preferred SJ eventhough VJ had done exceedingly well. The only VJ song for ARR apparently. Haven't listened to Siththirai Nilavu in ages but think that song is quintessential early 90s Rahman.
My dizzy hardcore ARR fan brother used my weakness for Sathyaraj and dragged me to the film. Imagine our horror the way the songs were picturised and the cut and paste background score. The horror!!! Barotta song in youtube? A surefire hit among aNNan fan for sure.
there was a song ye muthupappa nee othuppopa by Swarnalatha & Malgadi suba. kind of fun song ..
Sithirai nilave is a fantastic song by PJ & Minmini .. lyrics by VM quite debatable though.
would like to discuss on Love birds, pretty advanced album for that time i guess...
how was it received?
1. kamaan kamaan oh kaamaachi - funny, ordinary lyrics, tried many things in orchestration, spb no, singing was good
2. om shanti - watta blast, appove nalla hit'nu nenakkiren
3. malargale - sun music favorite... idhula dhaan dress color maattha thodanginaanga.... variations from melody to heavy rhythms... fantastic interludes, nice melody though
4. naalai ulagam - very serene singing... but music was loud in many places which overshadowed the melody... lyrics were awesome
5. no problem - the song which i mostly use when i want to check the sound effects of a head phone or car music system... watta rap back then.. 1995 no?
2,3 & 5 were big hits then. Om Shanti was picturised well. Guess it was all PD.
My favourite still remains 'Samba Samba'. Chumma urutti merattirupparu.
ya i remember...
but too much experimentation and the music was too much blasting for that time...
so i wanted to know how did the non-arr fans and ir fans received it...
to start a healthy discusscion.
pls change thread title.
Peak ARR fandothula irundhappo vandha album idhu. Modho naale casette vaangi friend veetula kettom (appo Philips Powerhouse-na periya settu, mouse adhigam).
Engalukku appo full satisfaction. Don't remember "Naalai ulagam". And No Problem was a huge hit. Ummachi Indian oru round vandhuttrundhaaru. Appo "Kaman Kaman"-um romba pidikkum. The other songs have aged well
Except Malargale, nothing works for me in Love Birds... appavum ippovum...
Samba samba was definitely my favourite then, got to listen to it again.. TBH I was dissappointed with the picturization of all the songs.
Always like Aslam Mustafa, not sure what happend to him, his Ho gayi hai mohabbat is one of my all time favourites :)