The thing is that the low budget movies wouldn't be low budget movies anymore if ARR scores the music.
Printable View
The thing is that the low budget movies wouldn't be low budget movies anymore if ARR scores the music.
i just returned from blue. horrible movie. never seen such a movie in years. i dont know how ARR composes music for these types of films. there was no scope to show his talents. almost all the songs are wasted. only two mins of chigg wiggy and aaj dil was there in the movie. yaar mila tha was missing. fiqrana was played at the end after the movie. i almost left the cinema hall when fiqrana was played. i ran again to the hall to see the song. rehnuma was used in the title.
Ofcourse, Money is significant! But by composing films except remuneration nothing could benefit him which is probably 2-5 cr that too depends on the banner. If I have to believe the sources he was offered only 30k UKS for SDM. Thanks to Oscar its an overdue recognition. With KM label under his name he can easily source a production house locally/internationally and go for a full-fledged creative album. Sure Paisa Vasool and that would be an extraordinary musical treat for fans.Quote:
Originally Posted by MADDY
I feel it is natural for him to wish to do a light hearted film. How such an attempt would turn out, is totally beyond his control. Let us all accept, he is a bit freakish... :P
the dir treated ARR songs that badly??? :shock: I think Kalaprabhu showed more interest in using ARR songs than this dude.Quote:
Originally Posted by seevaa
Just watched the movie....I really don't understand what else was needed....
The movie rocks....technically, first of all....nothing much to say on the acting...as it was just sufficient. But ARR rocked big time.....it's an action movie....go watch Bad Boys, Bad Boys 2, etc and decide....how action movies are made....
This is one of the best recent Hindi movie ....I thoroughly enjoyed the show....
Blue Grosses 19 Crore In Its First Weekend
Monday 19th October 2009 14.00 IST
Boxofficeindia.Com Trade Network
Blue has easily won the Diwali opening battle by grossing around 19 crore nett over its first weekend. The Telugu version added a further 70 lakhs nett. After a strong start the film held steady in the bigger circuits like Mumbai, Delhi/UP and East Punjab on Diwali Saturday which is normally a dull day for business due to festivities. Even Southern circuits were fairly steady. However smaller circuits like CP Berar and CI did show big drops on Saturday. Sunday was super strong all over.
The approx breakdowns for Blue over the weekend are 6.50 crore nett on Friday, 5 crore nett on Saturday and 7.50 crore nett on Sunday. The film will have a strong Monday but Tuesday will decide if the film can sustain.
Blue could set a new record for Monday business by beating Wanted's total of 7.25 crore nett which was set last Month. The film could do anywhere between 6-8 crore on Monday giving it a 25-27 crore nett total for its extended four day weekend
http://boxofficeindia.com/npages.php...1214&nCat=news
Quote:
Originally Posted by united07
i dont understand what rocks in the movie. bad boys is a far better movie than blue. i m not concerned about the fate of the movie. it is the producer who has to worry. but ARR songs and time has been wasted.Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by seevaa
Dear Seevaa,
Are you expecting them to break into songs in the middle of an action movie? I sincerely didn't. Yes I do feel that ARR's songs didn't add much to the movie...but his BGM surely made up to it....listen to Ring Fight BGM and Zayed Khan's intro bike chase and the Bangkok chase scene BGMs.....Also when the villain attacks Sanjay and Lara in their house.....the BGM continues until the scene where Akshay, Sanjay and Zayed talks....I find that interesting......ARR's doing his bit of "story telling" there....these BGM rocks!....
Bad Boys is definitely better...We can't compare these 2.....All I said was the treatment are similar. And do u know what was the budget BB team had? It's Jerry Bruckheimers' production for god's sake....but BLUE sets a standard for Hindi cinema. Have u watched Dhoom? Thats horrible....
Anyways...I liked the movie...I have nothing to complaint...ARR did well with the BGM ...the movie was good....I enjoyed it thoroughly.... Cheers mate....
you can watch any other movie and enjoy it...who am i to complaint :)
Blue - Telugu Version Sound Track Listing
1. Chiggy Wiggy
Artist(s): Karthik, Suzanne (Sonu Nigam replaced by Karthik)
2. Gundey Lo
Artist(s): Sukhwindher Singh, Shreya Ghoshal
3. Chintela
Artist(s): Vijay Prakash, Shreya Ghoshal
4. Yemayyindo Mansukhi
Artist(s): Rashid Ali
5. Blue Theme
Artist(s): Blaze, Naresh Iyer, Vijay Prakash, Raqueeb Aalam, Raihanah, Sonu Kakkark (Jaspreet Singh replaced by Raihanah)
6. Priyathama
Artist(s): Shreya Ghoshal, Naresh Iyer (Sonu Nigam replaced by Naresh Iyer)
7. Priyudu Kalisinadaiya
Artist(s): Udit Narayan, Madhusree
Kalyan K.
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/arrahm...message/126919
Why don't we get a Tamil version? :(
Do dubbed Hindi films do well in Telugu land?
athane, tamil-la intha varusam oru album kuda illa!ithayachum dub panna oru aaruthala irukkum,namma makkal intha album tamil version-la kandippa kekkanum! :DQuote:
Originally Posted by Yathu
HA ha ha...they are singing "Celaka" in Blue Theme.....ha ha ha....
which part????? :lol:Quote:
btw, 'buluuuu' sounds wrong both in Malay and Tamil :twisted: :twisted:
Quote:
Originally Posted by dinesh2002
Dinesh...the first stanza....
BULU sounds bad too! Ha ha ha
:lol: Athethan...!Quote:
Guys
I have listened to Blue songs many times over but some how the satisfaction is not there yet.
I really like the Sukhwinder Song in the lot. Kyle's song starts of promisingly but is very slow in the middle - Sonu props up and energizes the song with his punjabi style singing.
I hate the Udit Narayan song.
Just my thoughts. No wonder the music did not make it big.
Bulueee theme Rocks!!! :2thumbsup:
No prob sunnyg......you can enjoy any other music too....Quote:
Originally Posted by sunnyg
Blue only works for those who believe in its complexity...
agreed very sophisticated arrangements. i was listening to the interludes and the preludes and they r so symphonic. very well done.Quote:
Just watched Blue in a new theater with good sound system. The BGM was just too loud and very unoriginal. To make it worst the scenes were also heavily copied from many hollywood flicks like Torque etc. Songs did not impress either. The only good song Fiqurana was used at end credit and sadly not a single person bothered to stay and listen.
EDITED - Ok, i was rude... haha... had to edit it out...
Ezy, i pity u didnt enjoy the songs. Period.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezy0265
It was a mistake of the director to squeeze 2 songs during the credit roll....most of the people didnt know....but when I watched....there was 10 others who stayed until the end to watch those 2 songs.....
anyway....thanks for your 'review'....
Yeah... thanks for your opinion Ezy
:lol: thanks to rahman, made him/her to watch all the movies of Rahman :mrgreen: , i yet to watch... TV,what about you? :PQuote:
Originally Posted by Benny Lava
Blue Telugu Songs
http://www.raaga.com/channels/telugu.../A0001555.html
No Kylie on Chiggy Wiggy? Also, where are the Autotune effects on Chintela (Fiqrana) and Priyudu Kalisinadaiya (Yaar Mila)? There are a few little extra sounds on a couple of the songs that I didn't notice on the Hindi version.
http://www.boxofficeindia.com/cpages...eName=earnings
Blue at no.2.....escapes from being a disaster.....its touted as Average.... :D
Chicky wicky or whatever is wasted attempt for rahman - the singer's dance was a pity, voice was good. such a fantastic song should be billboard no.1.
A funky BGM from Blue
http://www.mediafire.com/?ynygaxyxcxj
Rahman replicated rhythmic accompaniment beats
Any guesses about what’s common between A R Rahman’s ‘Chiggy Wiggy’ (Blue) and his nephew G.V. Prakash’s ‘Un Mela Aasadhan’ (Aayirathil Oruvan)? These two songs have been rocking at top of charts for past six months and still remain favorite numbers on everyone’s list.
Now, it’s revealed that A R Rahman has replicated the rhythmic accompaniment beats from a famous album R. Kelly’s Thoia Thoing. When you play these numbers together, nothing makes a big difference over the rhythmic spell. Similarly, G.V. Prakash has picked the instrumental part on flute for his ‘Un Mela Aasadhan’. As in relativity, Yuvan Shankar Raja had scored a prototyped music for ‘Adada’ (Sarvam).
‘Un Mela Aasadhan’ has been making high waves in town for the catchy tunes and lyrics. More than all, actor Dhanush and his wife Aishwarya Rajnikanth crooning the song has made it yet more attractive.
R. Kelly - Thoia Thoing
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mO9Odejc6Yg
After listening to that song, I feel there is a certain amount of similarity to Kylie's portion.
This 'Thoia Thoing' song already copied to a song in Aitraaz years back ..sung by adnan sami
My thoughts on Blue
Though I don’t listen to it frequently, I still nevertheless rate this album as Rahman Ji’s finest work. Blue as we know was Rahman Ji’s first project post his Oscar victory. The album might have a low play count amongst my Rahman Ji library, but whenever I do revisit the album, the album is as fresh as when I heard it initially.
There’s a vast number of factors that contribute in deciding Rahman Ji’s best album but as it stands in Hindi, my top 5 currently is:
- Rockstar
- Swades
- Blue
- Yuvvraaj
- Rangeela/Taal
(This list only includes Rahman Ji’s original Hindi work and not his dubbed/remade/bi-lingual work)
There’s no denying that Blue is still underrated amongst the masses, the film is largely to blame for this. This was also the case to an extent with Raavan, but for me Raavan was better as a film and Blue was better as an OST. I cannot compare the two albums, but I’m only drawing parallels due to these albums/films being considered Rahman Ji’s blips amongst North Indian fans.
I’m not going to review the album, rather I’m going to share my experience. Blue does not deserved to be heard, it deserves to be experienced.
Let me start with Bhoola Tujhe...
Extremely extremely underrated, for me the repeat values solely lies in the prelude. Rahman Ji’s orchestration pleasantly paints a shore with a staircase to heaven. I cannot stress how great of a prelude this is by him. Best till date! Hear this at sun-set or even better at night, to completely drown in to this paradise soundscape. Abbas Tyrewala pulls out some chaste Urdu lines, which make this song an even more concrete Sufi number.” Ya khuda pyaare khuda, pyaare khuda”.
Fiqarana is always a great sing along. Delightful vocals Vijay Prakash, an out and out Rahman Ji melody polished with mind-boggling flanging, stuttering and phasing guitar work. Great song to get a party started.
When the album released, all eyes were on Chiggy Wiggy, due to it being the first collaboration between Rahman Ji, Kylie Minogue and Akshay Kumar. Ever since Mohra, as a kid I have always tried to imitate Akki’s Tu cheez badi mast mast dance, so for me to see these two veterans join was a big moment. Chiggy Wiggy is two songs, one being Hip hop the other being Bhangra. I need to be true to myself and admit, this song fell short of my expectations. The lyrics were silly and the arrangement was not up to mark. But there is something which pulls me towards this song and I’m baffled as I still haven’t clocked what this could be. So I just enjoy once in a blue moon.
Rehnuma
This one is a Jazz, BGM fest and first of its kind by Rahman Ji. The mystical, spy mission centred music definitely overtakes the ambiguous structure of the song and melody. I would’ve preferred this to be the main theme of the movie in instrumental form. Although kudos to Sonu Nigam, IMO he leaves Shreya Ghosal miles behind in this number.
Blue Theme
Is this the most layered track by Rahman Ji? A rap fest which can be attributed more to Akshay Kumar then Rahman Ji. As an Akki fan, Rahman Ji has delivered best of both worlds, with his own sensibilities and sensibilities of hardcore Akshay fans. The Punjabi lyrics stand tall even amongst the haywire arrangements. The folk touch is clearly glaring and if Bhoola Tujhe had a whopping prelude, then the Blue theme has the best answer for a postlude.
Aaj Dil
Has all the sensibilities of a Rahman Ji track. A vintage number, which displays jazz, classical, contemporary and world music via one dimension. It’s definitely another great sing along. The intentional tipsy singing by both legends steal the limelight of this song.
I had to leave the best song for the last...
Yaar Mila Tha
I was depressingly missing a typical Bollywood duet by Rahman Ji and when I heard this all my questions were answered and cravings were taken care of. This song wasn’t featured in the film, which p*ssed me right off. My favourite song in the OST. So many factors which I can relate to, the main one being that it’s an out and out 90s number. It’s always a treat to hear Udit Narayan and Madhushree, the duo that brought us Hum Hain Iss Pal Yaha. I think this was the first time I heard Udit Narayan in Auto-tune. Definitely a tailor-made song for the badmash yet adorable Akki of the 90s. Double thumbs up to Rahman Ji for illustrating this essence.
I know I have faulted this album at a few places, but as I said whenever I do revisit this album I simply cannot forward any song. I hope I’ve tried to convince the haters of this album to give it a second chance.
http://musicindiaonline.co/album/7-h...8-Blue__2009_/