An interesting interview with Sonu Nigam; didn't know where else to post it!
I am not a God gifted vocalist: Sonu Nigam
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/e...w/19726166.cms
Printable View
An interesting interview with Sonu Nigam; didn't know where else to post it!
I am not a God gifted vocalist: Sonu Nigam
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/e...w/19726166.cms
Shamshad Begum in Hindi and Tamil from Dusedoff tribute http://dustedoff.wordpress.com/2013/...gum-a-tribute/
Apparently, the Tamil version was drpped from the film in favour of the one by Rajalakshmi. First the Hindi version
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wkDui6p66vo
Tamil version by Shamshad Begum
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JtV-VK70Lbs
Rajalakshmi version
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=NYUEbhdipvs
Perhaps Rajraj and others can tell us the problems with her pronunciation.
Happy 94th Birthday to the one and only Manna Dey...
Here are two of his classics!
1. "laga chunri mein daag chhupaun kaise..." from DIL HI TO HAI composed by Roshan
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uD5Pe4k3myI
2. "jhanak jhanak tori baje payaliya..." from MERE HUZOOR; composed by Shankar Jaikishen
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0qpIQygF-VQ
Uthamaputhiran is being discussed in Sivaji Ganesan (Nadigar Thilakam) thread.
Here is a song from Sitamgar, Hindi dubbed version of Uthamaputhiran :
mein bi teri....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cUZd1j8AxnY
The original:
unnazhagai kanniyargaL sonnadhinaale.....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KnM_GD1WuSw
A lilting song from Patanga:
O Dilwalon Dil Ka Lagaanaa....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8nz2O8mnrx8
A Tamil song in the same tune from Digambara Saamiyaar(1950):
oosi pattaase vedikkaiyaa thee vachchaale vedi dabaar dabaar....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DH-__OEW1wU
oosi pattaase.. was one of my favourite songs during my middle/high school years (early 50s). The song is about fireworks for children during DeepaavaLi ! :lol:
Rajraj,
The Tamil version is new to me and is a very nice adaptation.
I found the Telugu version, not the video, in http://desitunes.desibantu.com/agnipareeksha
The site has songs in various languages.
Thank you Swarup for the link; an interesting collection of multilingual songs! :)
In a short span we lost four stalwarts in music - Shamshad Begum, P.B.Srinivas, T.K.Ramamurti and Laalgudi Jayaraman. But, we will always remember them, thanks to modern technologies.
Here is a song about memories from Dil Ek Mandir, Hindi remake of Nenjil Or Alayam(Tamil):
Yaad na Jaaye....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A4Wad2VKzIw
A song from the original with similar sentiment:
Nenjam Marappadhillai....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TyPPUBH6otg
M.S.Viswanathan and T.K.Ramamurti were the music directors for the movie.
Lalgudi Jayaraman composed several thillaanaas. Here is one in Desh:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=USb9qjGJe2I
He composed thillaanaas in Hindolam,Bageshri,Yamuna Kalyani and other ragas. I have a 33 RPM record of those thillaanaas somewhere. If I find it I will attempt to post them! :)
A short Meera bhajan from Jogan 1950. Does anybody know who the male singer is?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y9AzBOeXZK4