http://thankyouilaiyaraaja.org.in/index.php
1 Crore Thanks to Raja Sir
Printable View
http://thankyouilaiyaraaja.org.in/index.php
1 Crore Thanks to Raja Sir
About IR's meeting with Paul Mauriut during his first tour abroad.
http://tamil.filmibeat.com/awards/il...at-035456.html
Krishnan
IRIR123 - Good comments in MSV thread and well written. MSV is a true LEGEND in every sense. I decided to post my comments in Raaja's thread because of his comments "I owe it to MSV" and why MSV did not get the proper recognition from Tamil film industry and National Award council.
http://www.thehindu.com/todays-paper...cle7427232.ece
http://www.thehindu.com/features/fri...cle7429656.ece
It is known fact that our Tamil Nadu government did not fully recognize MSV's contributions even though he has composed music for fims acted & created by four Chief Ministers. At the National level, MSV should have been honored several years ago. MSV deserves a Dadsaheb Phalke Award for his immense contribution to South Indian music. I sincerely hope that either Tamil Nadu state or Center would announce or rename the Best Music Director Award to bear MSV's name. MSV has scored the second highest number of film & non-film musical albums in the world. MSV's physical body just left this earth but his musical soul and creation is like "Athma". MSV's music will never die and let the younger generation listen to his lovely melodies. Generation Y should know what a "melody" sounds like.
IR to hold a tribute concert for MSV on July 27th.
http://m.timesofindia.com/entertainm...w/48133407.cms
Krishnan
Read in indiaglitz that Isaignani was hospitalized. Hopefully everything turns out fine for the maestro and wishing him a speedy recovery.
Venkat Prabhu said that Raaja was admitted to Apollo Hospital for gastric problem. Our prayers for his speedy recovery.
Mr. Viji Manuel passed away on Saturday. May his Soul rest in peace. I am hoping to see a TV program or public function where his musical contributions will be faithfully rendered.
http://www.thehindu.com/news/cities/...cle7548445.ece
Interview with Manuel less than a year go:
http://www.thehindu.com/features/fri...cle6379597.ece
The magic of Ilaiyaraaja
“Breaks were filled with exchanges on music and I made him listen to Pink Floyd, Led Zeppelin, The Beatles and Jimi Hendrix. I influenced Ilayaraja in writing baseline for melodies. I was amazed at his ability for swift western music notations.” He then recalled how music director Govardhan, who had composed songs for the film ‘Varaprasadam,’ asked Raja to do the re-recording. “I still remember the theme music he composed brilliantly alternating between Major 7th chords and Minor 7th chords.” Viji mentioned how Jude David helped him hone his skills in music writing and Govardhan master who taught him jatis, talas and notes writing in Tamil.
Thinking of Viji Manuel, how would "Sterephonic Sannata" sound if Manuel had played the keyboard and bass guitar. Manuel had played the keyboard for the first version of this musical wonder back in 1980.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o0PFiyuhRz4
many of IR's 80's gems came from below uppuma level films only..... and which had been the only reason for that otherwise poor films success..........
Solla thudikkuthu manasu was one such movie that comes instantly to my mind.. everyone would have loved the hit number in that film poove sem poove, but that film had several engrossing numbers including the female version of poove sem poove......... interesting story line, outstanding music but spoiled by some very amateurish direction, screen play and the heroine's acting
IR's interview
http://movies.ndtv.com/music/ilaiyar...rument-1208347
Krishnan
Ilayaraja official youtube channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVl...y80smEMr0KTBOA
Audio quality is extremely good
Maestro speaks about the official youtube channel launch
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oO28ck3Yw2U
http://www.dolbytheatre.com/events/details.php?id=155
Lake of Fire Film Director Raj Thiruselvan & Producers will be offering fans a once-in-a-lifetime live symphony background score music by MAESTRO ILLAIYARAAJA live Recording experience at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood, CA on October 10, 2015. The unique concert event will feature a new popular repertoire from a forthcoming collaboration with ILLAIYARAAJA and Grammy Award winning producer Ken Caillat.
Interesting news Sivasub. Curious to know how it will be.
Krishnan
Sivasub - This is a big news!!! Dolby Theatre in LA is a great stage for the world's record holder of maximum number of music albums. Having heard Maestro in O2 Arena, London in August 2013 (exactly two years) with non-stop 40 songs extravaganza, Dolby Theatre should be several notches higher and that too a Symphony. I will try to attend this once in a lifetime event of my Maestro. Why are these shows not advertised in US? Caillat has organized other performances the following week in his own production studio.
http://www.dolbytheatre.com/events/
http://www.kencaillat.com/index.html
http://www.artistmax.org/welcome
Yes rajasekar. Its important that they publicize and make it popular. This is a once in a life time opportunity and I am also planning to attend.
Game - Kannada & Tamil Bi-Lingual (Melliya Kodu in Tamil) Audio & Trailer to be launched soon. Exact date has not been announced. The film has Arjun, Manisha Koirala and Shyam.
Directed by A.M.R.Ramesh who shot to fame through films like Kuppi, Vanayuddham etc.
Looks like the event is cancelled :(. Not sure why? :???:
http://www.ticketmaster.com/Dolby-Th...od/venue/74167
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XvYrrn5qpH0
Guna Sekhar & Ilayaraja About Rudhramadevi BGM
the hindi song sounds very good....
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4HqlQ2gXP-o
Is Lata Mangeshkar the female singer in the Hindi version of the song, 'Naina' from Rudramadevi?
Guitar Prasanna performs 'Ilamai itho itho'!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_cgO2ABdHXs
Good interview by Gautam Menon in Hindu. Sudhir should have asked him about the Malayalam runaway hit "Premam" which has shades of Menon's VTV and NPV scenes.
Gautham Menon on why he prefers Ilayaraaja to A R Rahman, his unabiding love for Chennai and why 'Puli' and 'Baahubali' did not click for him. Interview: Sudhir Srinivasan.
http://www.thehindu.com/videos/enter...true&ref=video
Must watch tribute by Raaja for our beloved Mellissai Mannar.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_XYCFpuZ61I
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5C63VVQTreM
Ilaiyaraaja gets Centenary Award for lifetime achievement at the inaugural ceremony of the 46th International Film Festival of India (IFFI).
Hearty Congratulations to IR!
http://www.thehindu.com/entertainmen...cle7900519.ece
Krishnan
two more movies from Maestro
Prakash Rajs
http://www.telugucinema.com/news/Pra...ctor-announced
Nara rohit
http://www.idlebrain.com/news/today/...itnewfilm.html
Hari
Quite an interesting lineup of movies from IR for 2016..Looking forward to !!!
Looks like 2016 got interesting projects - Tharai thappatai, kamal movie, Priyadarshan movie, another Bala movie
IR's helping hand towards Chennai's rain/flood relief:
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?f...e=3&permPage=1
Krishnan
Thanks to Jaffer Bhai just listened to Abbayitho Ammayi and I double checked the CD cover to confirm the name of the composer.For the time being Iam spell bound,all other emotions i hope will follow in the coming days.I can hardly wait to hear what the new gen is going to post about the album.Do they have the courage and sense to embrace this bundle of joy.
Same here, I am emotionally connected to the album and kept listening to several times on loop even today.
Just yesterday I was listening to Mythri (kannada) and felt it has 4 nice numbers out of the 5 . I liked the fun/provoking song sung by Monisha & group the most followed by the one sung by Bhavatha. The one sung by Khailash Kher some how felt repetitive either with the feel or may be due to his monotonous emotions very dejavu (Un samayal Araiyil/ Oggarane).
Recent songs which were on loop for a very long time are all the songs of the following albums.
NEPV, Chithiraiyil Nila choru and Nadi Thudikkuthadi. Listening over and over again just for his sheer brilliance in his orchestration, the eloquent emotions he brings in each and every song, chorus giving their best every time. How much of variations he is able to bring in the chorus sections, something that many don't brag about. The critics and music reviewers in the main stream media hardly are paying attention to all this. They are reviewing just to fill few lines on their write ups. A great deal of soul is filled. "The more I listen the more it grows on me". Hard to find substitutes at least for me.
Bala
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nt_9WTsi5yE
Awesome Raja:-D Just because he is a celeb, he doesn't need to be politically correct all the time. He was asked an irrelevant question and he reacted the right way. This is how stupid reporters need to be shut up. Why ask about the beep song controversy when he has come to talk about the rain relief work? Even otherwise, is that "song" worthy enough to be a topic of discussion with one of the greatest composers this country has ever seen?
இளையராஜா இருந்த இடத்தில் வேறு யாராக இருந்தும் இப்படிப்பட்ட எதிர்வினைகளை நிருபரிடம் காட்டியிருந்தாலும் அது இயல்பானதே.
தன்னார்வு தொண்டர்களை மனம் குவிந்து கௌரவித்து வருபவரிடத்தில் மனம் பிறழ்ந்து கேட்கும் நிருபருக்கு இப்படித்தான் எதிர்வினைகள் வரும்.
செய்த தவறை உணர்ந்து ஊடகம் மன்னிப்பு கேட்கணும். இது ராஜாவை மட்டும் கோபப்படுத்தும் கேள்வியல்ல. தன்னார்வு தொண்டர்களின் இணையில்லா அர்ப்பணிப்பை அவமதிக்கும் செயல்.
/அறிவு இருக்குன்னு எந்த அறிவ வச்சு சொல்ற?/
சிந்திக்க வைக்கும் சொற்கள் இசைச் சித்தரிடமிருந்து!
சான்றோர்கள் சான்றோர்களே!
சங்கு சுட்டாலும் வெண்மை தரும்!
oodagam mannippu ketkirathaa?
http://www.indiaglitz.com/journalist...ws-148908.html
And this is from James Vasanthan who holds some grudge against Raja
http://www.indiaglitz.com/james-vasa...ws-148917.html
Salute to Raja for slapping the sensation seeking media, other stars need to learn this from him though if any other would have done this they would face more criticism even if that was the right thing
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Salute Music god once again
Let us spare that young ill informed and minimally trained media person. I think he got overwhelmed that he got a chance to crack it?
If it where another seasoned brat asking this he should have rodgered not mere slapping!
Pozhachi pogattum.
And this james character let us start ignoring. He is getting unnecessary media attention when he is only a television host
Media - newspaper, TV channels, radio etc - all live and earn only via popularity (via audience). Those days, when only doordarshan and all india radio existed, these kinds of sensationalism was quite minimal.
Now everybody wants a share of the pie since many competitors have sprung up.
Reporter's mistake - We all know IR can speak up provocatively, and the reporter used this to his best. He asked an irrelevant question (that is not even worth a dime) at an inappropriate occasion/time/person. It is like asking for a hot coffee on visit to funeral house.
IR's mistake - If I were in his shoes, I would have reacted the same way since the occasion was more high on a emotional note. With that said, I also think, he could have simply said 'irrelevant question or no comments'. That would have been a better rebuttal. Now the reporter has gained more attention what may have been the original intention.
Well, nobody is perfect. I hope people leave this behind and move on as the song in question itself is not worth of any discussion. It was done on purpose to gain attention and they did a perfect job.
Thats right.
IR could have beeped the question or answer and this could have been a strong refute more than slapping on the face.
I remember during shamitab press conference in his studio arena Balki was nice easy going and Naive with his approach and just one irrelavant question when he gets the notion of provocation then that is the end. The media guy has to run for cover.
We know his way of reacting even in his earlier days. He refrained from media for this very reason. Guys dont just get it.
Let him be the person he is.