And I contributed more personally with time and money as well as thro' many of my nontamil speaking Kannada, telugu friends who contributed decently ( BTW, my name is still missing from the donor's list, I am happy my friends names from NY, NJ area is in the list,)
Thro' the same avenue, I had an opportunity to interact briefly with IR , apart from my self gratification of having seen and interacted with the genious whose music has always played a predominant role in my life , I could only confirm his egocentric attitude a few times ( knowingly or unknowingly, that's probably how he has always been I think) which I had only read till then, still he could immediately again talk in the most modest way ever , so as MSK said, he probably could be good or bad, but definitely little eccentric, as many have known about him thro' media.
Now personally despite his creativity, talent and contribution to TFM and being a hero for some , Idealistic person for some, and a special position in my own personal life, I have always thought people in film industry are corrupted in one way or other, some even unknowingly because of being either too naive or some one else around them running their show ( this could be the case in IR too)
Fr.Jegath, I have had few phone conversations and met personally once in Chennai, he seems to be ( he is actually one, atleast for me) very well learned man but certainly me and many others would agree that he really put a llot of his personal time, efforts and money ( I am not sure how much or in what all forms, unless he shares that info in a public domain, he doesn't have to, but to be a honest way in making everybody believe with true figures), on the same note, me and many would agree that his or TM's experience in bringing a musical project from the time of conception to reaching people, is probably zero, they do not have prior experience , ( For people asking, not everybody has prior experience in starting a project, yes that is true, and because of this lack of experience the success rate and other outcomes will be definitely different than those with experience), with this big deficiency, the whole project attempt which in itself is first of it's kind in many ways,
1. project thro' donations from public ( OK with me , but the organizers need to be accountable, and I disgaree with MSK about the analogy with Khatrina or Tsunami funds etc, if it is a genuine charity org. they are totally transparent to everybody whether one donates or not, atleast in US and few other countries, and there are websites to check how the money collected exactly was spent by these organizations and they are monitored by IRS and Feds)
Genuine , I meant Red Cross and many such big ones, but ofcourse there are always scammers all around with any fund raising who play around, fooling with fake identities and giving feds and IRS also a run, most recently there was a practical joke with Khatrina Disaster how more scam artistes appeared on the web collecting funds even faster than feds coming for rescue operations), now if TM wanted to be clean and transparent if not as big as Red Cross, especially with more projects in pipeline, their website should have made every honest attempt to give a better picture from the get go till the project completion, everybody knows what a disaster the updating of the original TIS site was from the beginning, totally unprofessional and lack of experience speaking allover.
2. project funding thro' personal loans ( there might have been similar projects , but the endpoint , outcome, source and objective should be clear to the people doing themselves and to public, since a big share came from public also, in our case neither of them knew all these), again lack of honest and proper sharing of financial transactions is a big big minus. Public wouldn't have worried about personal loans but for just ridiculing depending on their own perception if no public donations were involved.
3. Project ambitions/endpoint totally either misconceived or reported misleadingly thro' media, fund rising events, user groups, forums ( numerous examples, money from project would be spent for futur TM projects, to be spent for IR's International college of Music, to be donated for Tsunami relief ( give me the biggest break here, why make statements when even someone had to make a contract agreement although at a later date under "DURESS", now who should believe this statement about contributing to Tsunami fund or making an agreement under " DURESS", BTW the definition of "DURESS" has too many meanings, one of them being "Constraint by threat" I don't know if KR on one side had a Gun and YSR had a Veecharuvaa on the other hand :roll:
So, TM or Fr.Jegath were too naive ( don't appear by his interactions in the past but appears so thro' his statement now ), in dealing with the agreements or financial transactions or copyrights thinking IR as a Saint or had some personal vested interests ( vested interests I mean both good and bad)
Some queries/comments for fr. Jegath's statement,
1."Reasons, I don’t intend to discuss in public" it's fine but it's like making a statement to tell people I don't wAnt to make a statemnet in public.
Due to lack of legal documentations at several stages probably he is in a position " mellavum mudiyame muzhungavum mudiyama", 2."Tamil Maiyam and Ilaiyaraaja Trust are holding joint copy rights, that too only for Tamil." if there was legal copyrights what prevented them in marketing the project in Tamil populated foreign countries Like many parts of Europe, Australia etc, again poor coordination, decisions made this only a dream, despite many volunteers from forum offering expertise in proper marketing ideas, it's too late now that many have illegal copyrights on the MP3 versions.
3."Tamil Maiyam doesn’t have rights for tracks or interpolation in to other languages".
why and how? If this was the original agreement and TM agreed then, there is no legal or personal accusations whatsoever that can be made on IR.
I remember TISK telling, how they had to cross several hurdles at several stages during the actual Hungary recording and final Sony studios master copying and mixing here in NY
The hungary symphony orchestra space rent and recording facility would'nt allow the thing to happen if the payment didn't happen in a matter of few hours at the last minute, and how a Texas based business man donated a huge amount and the money had to be wire transferred overnight etc...etc... and as many don't know then and now, IR was totally oblivious of the fact that there was a big possibilty of the entire session to have been cancelled due to lack of funds why... why? It wasn't a birthday party surprise cake to IR , what made TM OR TIS-USA to keep these things informed , (if IR also was going to be partner of copyrights) about the financial difficulties, I strongly doubt if TM was clear enough with IR himself with the financial constraints , difficulties and hurdles, for who knows, IR still may be thinking adaan ellam public money yai thane selavu pannanga, Welgate panam samadhichi TM kku kudutha enna kudukkalenne enna?
4."The agreement was signed under duress as IR had total control and possession of the tracks."
Phleaa...se, how come IR had total control, if every penny at Sony studio, Hungary , Bombay were being paid by TM presumably.
Anyway, instead of using words like " transcending" etc., If TM believes strongly with proper documentations legally they still can Tarnish IR's image for good reasons, if there is only any legal evidence that IR directly was the cause for the monetary losses , which I doubt given the scenario that TM as agreed for these eventualities not forseeing them.
Kiru, I can visit ur yahoo group, but what good the user group in itself would do, if nothing is transparent except for making statements with heavy language.
MSK and Kavin can't agree more with many of your posts.
Rajasaranam,
If u strongly believe with complete and clear picture of the entire financial , copyright agreements, first and foremost u probably can do is call a press meet thro' TM or yahoo user group and bring the whole issue to the public again If there is any grounds at all,
athaivida innum venumna, irukkave irukku "sunTv" who can easily take a sweet revenge against IR's recent Jaya Tv association , TIS-USA has all the fundraising events video clippings with all those nice , humble, innocent talks of IR ( I believed him then , I still believe, because I don't have anything transparent not to believe )
lastly personal question, ungalukku Kadavuzh, nambikkai illada kaaranathaal, I see u fuming about IR's contribution to "Mookambikai's" donation, what irks u in this regard, would u have been happy if same IR had contributed same 27 lakhs towards " AIDS prevention or some such cause.
In late 80's , after Armenia Earthquake, IR thro's minimally publicised concerts in TN contributed close to 1 crore and this was in many many news media.
If there is a foul play in the entire event from IR's side, it is yet to be proven, about all those who are breathing heavy, not able to dust, or listen to IR's music after this entire unestablished discussions, I think some Dfers have already answered it including rajsaranam, BTW, I didn't know Avvaiyyar drank Kallu... super pa(r)tti ya irundurukkum poleye, it's the music u beleive in not the creator.
Prabhudas