Thanks Thattai!! and big thanks to Mrs Mano for the great recipe collections!!
Printable View
Thanks Thattai!! and big thanks to Mrs Mano for the great recipe collections!!
Thanks Preeti and Saji for sending the recipe collection. Hearty thanks to Mrs mano for the recipes .
DD
Can anyone send me the collection of Mrs.Mano's recipes? My email address is khasthu@yahoo.com
Could somebody please email Mrs.Mano's recipe collection to anusrilak@yahoo.co.in?
Thanks so much in advance.
hi all ,thanks saji and preeti for sending mrs mano's recepie collection.thank u
Hi
Can anyone send the recepie for bread halwa . And also the recipie for chalna or salna which is usually served for parrottas in South India. I really miss them here in US
Hi!
The recipe files have been mailed to anusrilak@yahoo.co.in & khasthu@yahoo.com.
Can anyone send me the collection of Mrs.Mano's recipes? My email address is lerin80@yahoo.co.in
Dear Mrs. Mano
I am away from my motherland temporarily and hence all my favourite recipes- which I like to follow by following step by step from book- are at home and not available to me. Thank God I found this site and you sent me your recipe collection.
To end the long story, I tried your naan recipe and it turned out really good. The family enjoyed it. Thank you.
Can you please send me your second set of recipes to ambu.vasu@gmail.com? Thanks and regards
amba
Guhapriya,
The recipe for salna was long back discussed in this forum.
I have posted the link here.
http://www.forumhub.com/southfood/18575.09.12.36.html
http://www.forumhub.com/southfood/24571.10.20.30.html
Hope this helps
Saji
Dear Thattai!
Thanks a lot for the feedback on kariveppilai kuzhambu. I am happy that yr family have enjoyed it.
Hello Amba!
I don’t have any second set of my recipes collection. One of the friends who usually visited this forum hub used to send my recipes in 2 sets to those who needed them. Now she is unable to visit this hub.
Thanks you very much for the feedback on Naan.
Here I am again posting two recipes on Keerai.
KEERAI PARUPPU KOOTTU:
INGREDIENTS:
Green gram- 150gms [cooked finely]
Keerai- 2 bunches [finely chopped]
Mustard seeds- 1 tsp
Black gram- 1 tsp
Onion – 2 [finely chopped]
Tomato- 2[finely chopped]
Chilli powder- ½ tsp
Fennel seeds- ½ tsp
Shredded coconut- a handful
Oil- 3 tbsp
Turmeric powder- ½ tsp
Salt to taste
PROCEDURE:
Grind the coconut with the fennel seeds finely. Heat a kadai and pour the oil. When it becomes hot, add the mustard seeds. When they splutter, add the black gram and fry them to a golden brown colour. Add the chopped onion and the tomato and cook them finely until they are well mashed and the oil floats on the surface. Add the chopped keerai with the turmeric powder and the chilli powder, mix well, close it with the lid and cook it on a slow fire. When the keerai is cooked add the cooked green gram and the ground paste. Cook for a few minutes until every thing is well blended.
KEERAI PULI MASIYAL:
INGREDIENTS:
Arai keerai- 2 bunches [chopped finely]
Tomato- ¼ cup [chopped finely]
Sambar onions- a handful [chopped finely]
Tamarind- a gooseberry size
Mustard seeds- 1 tsp
Black gram- 1 tsp
Turmeric powder- ½ tsp
Gingelly oil- 2 tbsp
Salt to taste
PROCEDURE:
Soak the tamarind in a cup of water for half an hour and extract its thick juice. Heat a kadai and pour the oil. When the oil becomes hot, add the chopped onion and the tomatoes with the turmeric powder. Fry them on slow fire until they are well blended. Add the chopped keerai and close the kadai with a lid. Cook the keerai on slow fire. When it is cooked add the tamarind juice and cook it until the raw taste of tamarind is gone and the keerai is thickened.
Here I am again posting two recipes on Keerai.
KEERAI PARUPPU KOOTTU:
INGREDIENTS:
Green gram- 150gms [cooked finely]
Keerai- 2 bunches [finely chopped]
Mustard seeds- 1 tsp
Black gram- 1 tsp
Onion – 2 [finely chopped]
Tomato- 2[finely chopped]
Chilli powder- ½ tsp
Fennel seeds- ½ tsp
Shredded coconut- a handful
Oil- 3 tbsp
Turmeric powder- ½ tsp
Salt to taste
PROCEDURE:
Grind the coconut with the fennel seeds finely. Heat a kadai and pour the oil. When it becomes hot, add the mustard seeds. When they splutter, add the black gram and fry them to a golden brown colour. Add the chopped onion and the tomato and cook them finely until they are well mashed and the oil floats on the surface. Add the chopped keerai with the turmeric powder and the chilli powder, mix well, close it with the lid and cook it on a slow fire. When the keerai is cooked add the cooked green gram and the ground paste. Cook for a few minutes until every thing is well blended.
KEERAI PULI MASIYAL:
Arai keerai- 2 bunches [chopped finely]
Tomato- ¼ cup [chopped finely]
Sambar onions- a handful [chopped finely]
Tamarind- a gooseberry size
Mustard seeds- 1 tsp
Black gram- 1 tsp
Turmeric powder- ½ tsp
Gingelly oil- 2 tbsp
Salt to taste
PROCEDURE:
Soak the tamarind in a cup of water for half an hour and extract its thick juice. Heat a kadai and pour the oil. When the oil becomes hot, add the chopped onion and the tomatoes with the turmeric powder. Fry them on slow fire until they are well blended. Add the chopped keerai and close the kadai with a lid. Cook the keerai on slow fire. When it is cooked add the tamarind juice and cook it until the raw taste of tamarind is gone and the keerai is thickened.
Can someone tell me what is keerai in english/hindi/kannada?
Hi Mrs. Mano,
Can u send me ur recipe collection pls. I've seen it much discussed and requested. I too want to have a copy.
I had tried ur microwave carrot halwa and it was delicious.
Pls send the recipe collection to : freaky456@indiatimes.com
Hi Tomato,
Keerai is soppu in kannada & greens in english...
Dear Mrs Mano,
Can you suggest any recipes which uses cooked rice and curd? I have excess quantity of both and have already prepared mixed-riced varieties, and used the curds for koottu, aviyal, lassi and mor. I still have huge quantities left.
I have actually posted this query on a separate thread and also on H.T. Cookery Corner and now here as well. I'm desperate!!!
Thank you.
Shoba
Dear friends,
Can anyone pls send me all of Mrs.Mano's recipe collections. Pls send it to this e-mail address : dks0709@yahoo.com
Thank You.
Hello Mrs.Mano,
I was thinking of trying ur keerai puli masiyal, but u haven't mentioned abt the karam, can i add green chillies or red chilli or chilli powder to it? I usually do keerai poriyal and kootu, i am bored with that and tried ur keerai sambhar recipe and which was very nice and different. thankyou!
Kz
Dear mrs. mano,
I'm one of a silent reader of this thread. I like to try your recipes. I couldn't go to the begining of this thread to collect your recipes. Could you please send your recipe collection to my email address?
inimai@bizhat.com
Anybody who have mrs. mano's recipe collection please email me.
Thanks!
Hi Shobha,
Shreekhand is a sweet from Maharashtra. It is like a dip. U can use it with chapatthis or puris.
curd / yogurt 1 lt
sugar (as sweet as you like)
saffron(a few strands)
elaichi/cardamom seeds
pistas and almonds
a pinch of salt
1. Tie the yogurt in a muslin cloth for 3 to 4 hours(or longer till all the water has drained out) and hang it.
2. Powder the sugar and elaichi(seeds) together.
3. Mix sugar and a pinch of salt in the hung curd and beat it in the blender for a couple of minutes till a smooth finish.
Now add the slivered almonds and pistas. Garnish with a few saffron strands.
This can be stored in fridge for upto a week or so.
The recipes have been mailed to
freaky456@indiatimes.com, dks0709@yahoo.com, inimai@bizhat.com
Hi Saji,
Thanks for sending me the recipe collections!
can anyone give cake recipe in microwave.thanx in advance
hi Mrs Mano,
i tried you recipe for raw banana kootu...came out well ..but i do have a question- u have not mentioned when the cooked tuar dal has to be added....i assumed in the end and did that and let it boil a couple of more minutes and then added the tadka.
plz clarify.
Dear Mrs.Mano,
How are you?..I have been trying a lot of ur recipes recently and as usual i got the best results..I just wanted to remind u about the omapodi and thenkuzhal recipes...Please do reply when u have the time.
Suganthi
Hi Mrs.Mano,
Tried coconut burfi in paruppu thengai mould and it came out very nicely.
Thanks thanks a lot for sharing such a soft and tasty burfi.
Bye.
Hello Mrs.Mano,
I have tried parupu urundai kuzhambu and microwave plagova. Came out good. Thanks for the recipe.
Hello R,
What is paruppu thengai mould?
Hello Kavitha,
Paruppu thengai is just a word and dont know where it came from. The shape is just like a cone and it uses mainly for all the functions and during ritual ceremonies too.
Sweets like laddu, mysore pak, coconut burfi, or cashew/badham/peanut burfi are used to make in this mould. You have to prepare the sweet just like how u use to do and put it in this greased mould. After some time(when it is cold), you have to take it out of this and you will get a conical shape sweet.
Like I said earlier, for example, we are keeping so many sweets for marriage; this is also one of the sweets in those lists. The function will not be completed without this cone sweet.
Hope I am clear here.
Bye.
Thanks for the reply R. I am happy that i know abt cone shaped sweet. I was unaware of that. Thks.
I am new to this forum. I read in the forums lot about Mrs Mano recipes. Are these recipes posted on a website. If not send me the recipe collection to vijibalu_r@yahoo.com .
V
Dear Shoba!
About using excessive curd-Saji has given a good idea. But the curd must be fresh for making that recipe. It should not have a sour taste. You can make hung curd like that and store it in a box and keep it in the freezer. When you make potato and chicken fry varieties, you can add 2 tbsp of this hung curd when you fry the onions initially. This will give a delicious taste.
About using excessive cooked rice- you can prepare killu vadagam. You must coarsely grind this rice with a little green chillies, asafetida powder and enough salt. Then you must add chopped sambar onions, chopped coriander and curry leaves with 2 or 3 spoons of cumin seeds. Mix thoroughly using your fingers. Make small balls and dry them on the heat of hot sun. You can fry these vadakams in hot oil whenever you need them.
Dear Mrs. Mano,
I want to try your Ribbon pakkoda-I recipe. Can I use the readymade rice flour? 'coz, here in US, I can't get the rice flour as we do in India (soaking, drying and grinding the rice in the mill). Could u suggest me regarding this?
Also, I want to know to get a spicy ribbon pakoda, shall i increase just the chilli powder or do i need to add something else?
You have mentioned just rice flour. Is it raw rice or boiled rice?
Thanks!
Hai
Here is a recipie for those who are bored having spinach the same usual way. Even kids who dont eat greens like it this way
Spinach chappathi
Wheat flour 2 cups, Spinach a bunch
Jeera powder 1 tsp
Garam masala powder 1tsp
Salt to taste
Take wheat flour and add salt ,chopped spinach . jeera and garam masala powder .
Add minimum water and the knead the flour to make it soft.
And roll it out as usual chappattis .
Serve with any chutney or raitas.
Guhapriya
I'm new to this forum. Even I have read a lot about Mrs. Mano's recipes. Can anyone please send them to my id - anuradhasethu2001@yahoo.com
Thanks a lot in advance
hi saji and preeti, i got mrs mano's recepies which u guys sent. but i'm unable to open the second set of recepies cos of virus. can u resend it. i hate to ask u guys to re send it ,and i'm sorry. thanku
Hi inimai,
You can try to do with the ready made rice flour to.I also reside in US and i have tried out this recipe many times with readymade rice floue and it comes good.so start doing the recipe and enjoy
from
kals
Thank you so very much for all the suggestions. The vadakams took care of all the rice, thank God!
Warm Regards,
Shoba
dear mrs mano
i would like to buy microwave oven ,pls guide me what all the features i have to look into , and pls suggest me which brand would be best , will microwave will be good in baking cakes, grilling etc pls help ,thanks in advance
Hi Luz,
The file has been re-sent to you. Hope that you are able to open this one...