Quote:
Originally Posted by rajasaranam
Thanx rajasaranam,
But i heard about only one lakhs album has been produced for the first phase of selling. Is it true?. If it is true, konjam late-a vanganumnu ninacha kidakkathaa?
Printable View
Quote:
Originally Posted by rajasaranam
Thanx rajasaranam,
But i heard about only one lakhs album has been produced for the first phase of selling. Is it true?. If it is true, konjam late-a vanganumnu ninacha kidakkathaa?
I dont know abt this. If its true i think their strategy is wrong - its better to sell AMAP during the initial period itself.....Quote:
Originally Posted by Sanjeevi
BTW yaean lateaa vaanganum :? Sikiram vaangi isaiyil moozhgungal :)
After repeated hearings.....
The album is not entirely new in my perception. it is RAJA stamp all over the album. The album reminds me more of yesteryear IR compositions. The only difference is that, the orchestration is performed by BSO. Apart from that the album is a treat for lovers of 80's IR which had rich orchestral and choral backing. The album on the whole makes me yearn for such orchestrations in his film songs too which he has lessened in the post 97 scenario. Its all Synths only nowadays for his film music. This album proves beyond doubt that IR can still give us the orchestration and his trademark tunes for which most of his fans are longing for, AIMHO :)
BTW anybody noticed the music which comes in 'polla vinayaen' at the fag end ' just before 'Easan adi potri...' I heard it in 'Kadhal kondaen' as BGM.....
If it comes in Rediff it will be great
but right they are busy analyzing top 5 heroines of tamil cinema :cry:
It would have been great to have got the CD today...so that we can peacefully listen to it during the long weekend...but guess we cannot expect too much.
murali - all CDs ordered through tis-usa.com (Paypal) were shipped from NC.
Hello,
Any chance that they are in stores in Boston area or distributed by someone?. Just wondering if we can get a copy before the mail arrives on july 5th or 6th.
Bhanu.
Bhanu
If someone is visiting NJ this week, then you can get it at dvdunlimitedonline.com. Otherwise you will have to wait till 5th.
RajasaranamQuote:
Originally Posted by njv
I lost this competition. My blind is blank. I am still trying to fit "Polla vinayaen" in my mind, but could not. Like suresh reviewed, this is probably the most complex composition I have listened to. Gladly, I had a very nice music system, so I could see atleast 20 different instruments in this song. I wonder how a musician in general will decide on the usage of instruments when composing a song, which needs a seperate topic/discussion, but as far as TIS goes, I need to listen atleast 100 times before I can correlate what I know in the world so far with this.
BTW no one mentioned this (surprisingly), but Poovar Senni Mannan was another mind blowing song. When I first played the CD, I increased my volume littlebit (more than the usual volume I keep for "BEAT" songs) because I thought its going to be mild/slow songs, more like slokas, but when the song started it just blowed my heart. It has lot of inspiration from the way they read "Sama Vedam".
The last piece "putril vaazharavam" is a case in point for "IR's composing technique"!!!
It was lyrics for tune surprisingly !! as IR himself explains it in the album.
IR's voice suits the album 199%
And BTW I bought 3 CDs, one for my parents, one for my in-laws and one for myself.
The thumbee song is set in Tilang raagam (IMO, maybe inaccurate). The raaga is the MSV beauty "Kangal Inge" from Karnan. Oh what a beautiful song! All 6 songs are superb.
IR's musical breeze blows the wind out of artificial plastic music, while lifting the listener gently like a leaf lifted to the top of a building.
After listening to the album, so many times...now i am very very eager to know the exact meaning of the songs. Especially the 5th song. Can anybody suggest any book or E-text(In Konar guide style) where i can get the meaning of each song, word by word.
thanks NJV. While a trip to NJ is almost 5 hours each way....I asked some NJ freinds to go buy them as they were not aware its available already. May be I should make that trip today...but I am scheduled to go that side again on Tuesday...so will try to hold off. I am telling myself...it took years for this...can try and wait for few days -:)
Bhanu
Go here.Quote:
Originally Posted by Vkrish
http://www.shaivam.org/siddhanta/thivapop.htm
You can find Thiruvasagam English translation by G.U.Pope.
Can TISK confirm if the rumors of all CD's being sold out is true. Also, if we still order when would we get it?
jeera...the CDs are not sold out atleast in the USA :-)...TISK is in Dallas (at the TNF event) so you might have to wait for a day if you want to hear this from him directly...
got this from a post by a member in IR yahoo fans club:
-------------------
I take immense pleasure in conveying this very very happy news to you
- trade circles have already declared that 'Thiruvasakamby Illayaraja'
is a SUPER HIT !!!!!!!
This is the news we have been waiting for. The hard work,sweat and
toil of Raja,Father and the entire team has yieled the fruit.
1. I went to a lot of music shops in the city yesterday to enquire
about the sales of TIS. I introuduced myself as a Tamil Maiyyam
volunteer.
I was litrelly moved to tears when i heard the responses from the
music shop owners. Everyone were extremely excited about the sales of
TIS. I spent atleast 10 minutes in each shop and in front of my eyes
atleast 20-30 CD's were sold.
Music world sold 850 CD's in a single day.
Landmark sold 500.
AVM sound zone has sold 550.
Giri Trading has sold 475.
Many music shop owners remarked that TIS sales is their personal sales
record. They have never sold so many CD's in a single day.
Wherever i went , they were demanding a minimum of 500 CD's for todays
(sunday) sale.Unfortunately Welgate Audios have not been able to meet
the demand which is the major complaint from the audio shop owners.
Bottomline - the album is a commercial hit. It has reached all kinds of people.
I request everyone to visit music shops near their homes to see
whether they are facing any problems w.r.t distribution. If so,pls
call me @9840328498. I shall take up the issues to Welgate audios.
2. I also went to Burma Bazaar and Ritchie street. So far pirated TIS
CD's are not available at these places. Thank god.
Friends, let us rejoice the super success of TIS. This has clearly
proved that if good music is given, public support will always be
there.
Warm Regards,
Srivatsan P
Would be interested in hearing more updates on the sales figures from India/USA/elsewhere(like middle east, singapore etc.) from time to time
Also, if you guys find any more good reviews on the album from around the net, please post the links here. Will try to do the same.
I hope Welgate audios doesnt bungle it up.
With utmost shock and displeasure, :x i found TIS mp3 downloadable at tamil napster website. Iam not sure whether they are just sample or a complete download. I have sent a mail requesting them to remove the same.
I was little bit disappointed not to have received the TIS cd before the long weekend, but i will be spending the coming weekend on the beach and planning to listen the TIS on cd walkman on the beach watching early morning sun rise.
Here are the reviews at mouthshut.com ( 2 reviews here so far ):
http://www.mouthshut.com/product-rev...925051455.html
Thops! yeppo Shankar is returning and when do i get my order in Bay area?
baroque...orders before June 29 have been shipped already and you can expect to receive the CD early next week...other orders will ship on tuesday after the break...
thanks! I ordered before june 29th, good for me!! Hope Shankar is enjoying his trip to Dallas!!! He deserves some enjoyment!!!
baroque,
Wish he could. While everyone was rejoicing about the release event and sales on Jun 30th and Jul 1st, they were probably the most difficult days for Dr. Sankar. He had to go around, contact others and got the consignment released from customs with great difficulty, only to ship as planned and make us all happy (even though getting the consignment was actaully beyond his control). His daughter helped him in bringing the CDs. They along with Mrs. Sankar and thops have done the shipping on 1st and 2nd. And then, that morning Dr. Sankar had to leave for Dallas along with CDs with hardly any time to breath:-) He probably felt like crying, but ended up laughing, I guess:-) orey comedy!
I understand that the response in Dallas has been very encouraging. He'll probably have more to add on his return. Yes, he deserves atleast some enjoyment, but probably not yet;-) Testing times:-)
Live Report: There is a awesome response in Dallas Tamizh Vizha.
Infact we run out of of the Cd's here, and lot of orders have been given. Some of the tamil lovers and IR devoted fans wanted desperately the combo pack .
We are closing the shop early and will reach Raleigh soon to excute all other orders...
YIA
Dr Sankar or TIS USA members,
Can you please let me know if any song or portion from the original recording is not included in the CD, to suit the CD length or due to any other factor.
I ordered the special volume DVD/CD from Chennaionline on June 27th, 2005 - when can I expect the delivery ?
Anyone can give a rough idea about the business that Thiruvasagam has made? In Chennai, I heard through my friend that it did wonderfull business. In Music India, there was a huge crowd itseems. In Bangalore (Landmark), the previous day they had the CDs displayed just before the help desk. I took 3 copies. All three were taken by my friends and I was left with no copies the next day. Then I went to buy one for me and one for my friend and found only half of the previous day's stock present over there. I hope Bangalore's business was also considerable. Please give us an idea about how many CDs have gone so far
Some of my colleagues doesnt know about the release of Thiruvasagam. Is that because the publicity given is not enough? Can the publicity be enhanced a bit more?
Irfan
The mp3s are also in mohankumars, but with the following note.
======================
Dear Music Lovers..
All the songs of Maestro Dr.Ilaiyaraja's "Thiruvasagam in Symphony" is for 'Preview' only. You can listen them by clicking the link from "Download URL". This streaming is to enjoy listening before buying the Original Cd's / DVD's.
Please support this multi-crore Project by buying the Original CD's or by donating directly to "Tamil Maiyam", who brought out this album.
======================
I find the album put in more than one mp3 site till now.Donno whether this is going to help the sales in any way.
In Bangalore,I find it selling pretty well.In landmark,i bought the Cd on saturday.I went first to check for the avialbility,went to the cassettes side and came back to take the CD.I found 3 CDs gone by that time;felt very good.
rooky - can you write to mohankumars and request/plead with them to remove the MP3s - putting MP3s on their site is in no way going to improve the sales scenario IMO
yes...people have ways to download songs even from streaming sites and will sell those copies for cheap, and one of my friends (working for an MNC) asked me to lend my cd to burn a copy....I asked him to go away.
Madhan, you know him :-)
I am Humming Koathumbi Koathumbi all the time.
Amazing and wonderful!
Highest recording quality !! ?thanks to Richard King and feeling ecstatic to hear Manikka Vaasagar's verses in recording quality of this high order.
Three cheers to the choir - Thamizh and English . One word - Beautiful.
A grand salute to Stephen Schwartz for capturing essence of "Pollaa Vinayen". "JOYOUS HAIL".
The orchestra has done a splendid job. Excellent listening experience.
THANKS for Maestro to have sung all songs by himself. He has lent his life to the melting verses of Manikka Vaasagar.
All six songs are packed with enough special features which students of music will do PhD on in the coming years.
I am desparately waiting for DVD of TiO to be released.
Also waiting for RPO symphony and other ventures like "thaayumana swamigal" songs and Puranaanooru.
ps: I bought the CDs in Landmark Chennai and I can see most of the hands having TiO carry more than one!!! :thumbsup:
Coming back to poo eru konum (track # 3). The starting violins sound so "Hindolam" to me, much like the track in "nothing but wind". The lyrics are set in a different raga, while the music is in a different raaga and both come together in "Koa thumbi" and my mind starts buzzing like a thumbi (Dragon fly).
Can somebody contact mohankumars.com to remove the mp3 from his site ?
The site doesn't seem to provide any contact details.
I posted in Tamilnapster and got a reply. I dont understand how to proceed further :?
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Admin please remove this from the site, I had been a supporter of Tamilnapster from the beginning. though i download the songs i would always make it point to buy the albums if they are really worth it.
But this album warrants no piracy or Mp3's. All involved in this production have toiled long- for more than 3 years to see this day of light. I dont wish to see their hardwork go as a waste. please consider this as a request and remove the album from this site.
Though i understand your intentions in promoting this album from whatever you have given as disclaimer, i belive you can always give sample clippings of the album for people to listen before they buy, not the full album.
If needed ill upload some good samples ripped off when this thread is removed. please do the needful.
Hope you understand the pain of many of IR fans.
regards,
Rajasaranam
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hi Rajasaranam,
We are not asking people not to buy the cd's, infact we are acting as Preview for all. If you see in forums, most people have shown their interest in postive manner to preview and buy the cd's once the hear it and we at TamilNapster will try the best to support the project. We ourselfs bought a Original cd and not a pirated which other sites do.
This is just a way to make the album popular and make people buy them. So I dont think we will be breaking the hearts of the IR fans. If you still think, we are on the wrong way, please reply or PM me for full details.
Also read the complete post on the forums and you will understand wht we are trying to convey to people.
Maja
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This is the disclaimer and request they have put up at site........................................
Project Info
Before you proceed to download the songs for a Preview, please spend some time in reading information about this project and how you can help the project.
Thiruvasagam is Multi Crore project which is being funded by various institutions all around the world, the only way the artists can be benefited is by over all sales of this album world wide. They have to re-pay the loan which was borrowed.
TamilNapster’s request for all music lovers is, "We have spent our money and purchased this album and so we request the same from you. By purchasing this album you donate to the musical society of India and help this project grow, there by making more such projects come"
We have planned to do something different with this release. We have released many audio's in the past, but this is not the same as others, we should so our passion for tamil music , so we would like to request all you Tamil music lovers, to download this and preview the album and if you like them, please purchase the Original CD from nearest outlet.
Else you can donate TamilNapster, from which 70% of all donations collected in this month will be donated to the society of Tamil Maiyam. This is the only way we can help the 150+ artists who worked so hard for this project for 3 years.
If you really respect the passion of Tamil Music, you can donate us and help Tamil Maiyam community and also purchase the original cd from retail outlets.
Donation Information
70% of all donations made for this Release, will goto the "Tamil Maiyam" community for their expenses and remaning for TN for its server expenses for providing songs.
Additional Information (Disclaimer) :
The purpose of TamilNapster.com is not to enable you to download music you would otherwise purchase; instead, this site's purpose is to allow you, the user, to sample the music first in the comfort of your home and help you decide on what you want to purchase next time at the music store or at an online music store.
The songs are NOT in any way meant to replace the actual soundtracks of the album. If you like what you hear, be sure to purchase the original cassette or CD.
The songs are meant for promotional purposes only and their sole copyright rests with their respective Audio Music Company.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Now what shall we do??? Ive seen already that 100's of people have downloaded the songs, while they have posted that they will buy the album for sure. But how far can it be trusted is a BIG ?
Rajasaranam
I wrote to tamilnapster and got the following reply,
Hi Sats,
I do agree your point, read our full post information, we also wish to donate some to the community. So if people like you download and just preview the albums, and since many have downloaded it already, there is no use removing now.
Anyway, if you really respect this Audio, either you buy the cd or donate us a minimum money, so tht we will send 50% of all money collected by donation.
Maja
PS. If you still want to remove the links, please send a detailed info to my email : tamilnapster@gmail.com and I will see if i can remove this off.
I sent a reply back to tamilnapster@gmail.com saying their attitude of such making availalbe this MP3 and asking people to buy the cd or donate money is like "Cigarette is injurious to health" on a cigareet pocket. May be a lot of people have to send mail to tamilnapster to get this removed.
I have written to them to remove the MP3s from their site.Also,wrote to tamilnapster yesterday.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sats
Incase,they are really interested in promoting the album,they can put one minute samples of the audio instead of full songs.
I feel these are just measures to protect their site from people who might sue them...We should insist on removing the files...If they really want to promote why should the upload the complete score...
I too have mailed them, and we should update Welgate Group, or whoever concerned to mail them and ask them to remove the samples.
I will try finding the contact of welgate, mail them and update it here.