Dear Neel,
Thanks for the rare song.
BHanu priyavin first tamil film i think.
nice lyrics..
Kadhal nenjin oosai keladho...
Once again thanks to you Neel.
With Love,
Usha Sankar.
Printable View
Dear Neel,
Thanks for the rare song.
BHanu priyavin first tamil film i think.
nice lyrics..
Kadhal nenjin oosai keladho...
Once again thanks to you Neel.
With Love,
Usha Sankar.
Nejamma read panninen, Neel! :)
Infact that night, I was watching IMAYAM, Mr. Y.G.M was not that bad or awful. At least in the name of comedy, he was not loud or irritating or unpleasant. He did good. I thank him for that. :ty:
question kekkadheengo, bhayamaayerukkey!
Orey amakkalamaa, indiscriminate drumming & guitar strumming speedy orchestration from our Raaja but I am missing the emotional impact! yennavo pongo!
Krishnachander is a good singer. Remember Edho mogam... etc..
:ty: Priya & Neel!
I prefer 'edho mogam....' , 'then poovey vaa ...', 'pon maaney kobam...', 'oomai nenjin sondham...'kind of Raaja's melodies that can make an emotional impact with a orchestral glamour!
These type of songs tunes, singer's bhaavam is powerful & memorable though the interludes are decorative. That's is the Ilayaraja , I love!!
I've been DYING to know the details of the song "Thamizh Paadattum" for a LOOOONG time. And now, I finally know. By the great MSV.
Dear Neel,
The Nermai story telling was really good. If my memory serves me right, this came out in 1985 May. Produced by KRG and directed by Billa Krishnamoorthy, this was the movie acted by NT that preceded Mudhal Mariyadhai. Saw it then and left it as such. Revisiting the story after almost 23 years, it doesn't look bad. May be the the way it was filmed left much to be desired. Thanks and please continue.
My Dear RR & Neel!
Can I like have the facility to play multiple songs continuously from POW without visiting the article page of those songs?
Vinatha
Good suggestion. I'll try to prepare a facility for you.Quote:
Originally Posted by baroque
RRji..Quote:
Originally Posted by RR
for us too... :redjump:
:ty: RR!!
Hello madhu,
yenakku mattum thaniyaa kodukka poraala? romba thaaney! :)
yellarukkum undu! :)
Nermai padaththai naanum paarththen........ quite boring film. Maduraiyil Natraj theatre-il release achchu. 2 weeks-kku pin padam engae ponathu endrae theriyavillai
Usha, you are welcome.
baroque, RR & yvsmani, thanks.
Nitya, welcome (back?) to the thread.
Murali, yes, the college part of the film was simple and good. The villains and their games, Sujata's unnecessary illness, and fight scenes were typical formula ingredients. They could have kept it simple. But then I won't have enough to write. :)
Pick #621
Song: malarOdu viLaiyAdum
Film: Deivabalam
Music: Aswathama
Singers: S.Janaki, P.B.Srinivas
Lyrics: Maruthakasi
Year: 1959
Thanks to baroque for sending this beautiful song.
http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow...arodu_vilai.rm
This is a very nice song by PBs and SJ
The music director is C.Aswathama none other than Father of Veena Gayatri
:redjump:
soffffffftest melody !
thanks Neel !!`
Neel: Deivabalam kadhai solla maatIngaLA? :(
:ty: Neel for hosting one of my favorite P.B.Sreenivos song!
P.b.Sreenivos is always very dear, such a konji konji voice, he is SPECIAL!!
Lyrics by Maruthakasi, it says in my CD
There is one more song 'nilavadhu thavari pennai....' with Janaki from the same film, lyrics again by Maruthakasi in that CD.
Though the tune is same as 'brindhavanamum.....' -gem in Raga suddhabangala (Rama bhakthi samrajyam......), I love it.
rajeshkrv, thanks.
madhu, it sure is a sofffft melody. You are welcome.
RC, "Deviabalam" nAn pArkkavE illaiyE. baroque, nIngga pArththInggaLA? Thanks for the lyricist. I have added it.
illaiye! :)
I have two assorted CDs 'Expressive Melodies - PBS' & 'Indrum Iniyavai - P.B.S duets' . I just run around listen to them for yrs. :)
Hope all great Vidhvans from V-R to Deva, Pattukkottaiyaar to Vairamuthu, mannikkavum. :D
There are fans like Mani sir & Sara and then Vinatha too! :) enna poyee kekkarele!
Hey Neel,
I have a song Rasa veetu.... in Paadu kuyile paadu, who is the M.D?
Vinatha.
baroque, theriyaliyE! Have you tried http://www.mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=1008 ?
Pick #622
Song: pUngkAththu vIsum
Film: Ondru Engal Jaathiye
Music: Gangai Amaran
Singers: Gangai Amaran & Chorus
Lyrics: One of (Muthulingam, Gangai Amaran, Thiruppathooraan, Pattukkottai Natarasan)
Year: 1987
"Ondru Engal Jaathiye" starred a young, slim and handsome Ramarajan, barbie doll Nishanthi, Raasi, Suslakshana, Vinu Chakravarthi, Ravichandran and others. Screenplay and direction by Ramarajan. The film is just like an MGR film, only without MGR. Ramarajan should have returned to directing after his acting career faded. He had the formula down pat.
Ramarajan is a hardworking fisherman who lives in a seaside village with his sister Raasi and their guardian K.K.Sounder. The two were raised by K.K.Sounder, a poor muslim, who came to India as a refugee from Srilanka and lost his family to the sea while making the voyage to India. Ramarajan and Raasi were born to Hindu parents who were killed when their hut was set on fire by the rich man Ravichandran, in order to silence Ramarajan's father who happened to witness one of Ravichandran's murders. Ramarajan and Raasi know that they are orphans but don't know it was Ravichandran who killed their parents. Nishanthi is a lively young girl who makes a living selling fish and is the daughther of an unemployed drunkard(Vinu Chakravarthi). Nishanthi is in love with Ramarajan. Every time some thug in the village tries to misbehave with Nishanthi, Ramarajan fights him to protect her.
Ravichandran is fish wholesaler. He and his men threaten or beat up the poor fisherman all the time and buy their catch at a very low price, or simply take the fish and drive away. Ramarajan fights Ravichandran's men to protect the fishermen. Ramarajan decides to unite all the fishermen and starts a union. The union starts selling their catch themselves instead of selling it to the wholesalers like Ravichandran. Vinu Chakravarthi works as Ravichandran's spy, for free alcohol and money, and keeps him informed about Ramarajan's plans. Angered by Ramarajan's efforts Ravichandran sends his men to destroy the fish market run by the union. Ramarajan fights them to protect the fishermen and the market.
Around this time a young widow named Mary(Sulakshana) arrives at the village after spending seven years in jail for murdering her own husband. As she gets out of the bus and heads into the village Vinu Chakravarthi stops her and yells at her to go back saying that there is no room for murderers in his village. When she does not heed his threat he attempts to beat her. But Ramarajan fights Vinu and protects Sulakshana. K.K.Sounder feels sorry for Sulakshana and offers her to come and stay in his house. Sulakshana moves in with them. (Thus people belonging to three religions come to live under one roof. Now you know the reason for the title of the film.). Sulakshana goes to church everyday. The father at the church keeps asking her to confess and seek redemption but she quietly walks away every time the father brings up the subject.
Ravichandran's son Mohankumar and Raasi attend the same college. They meet and fall in love. When Ramarajan finds out he gets very angry and forbids her to see Mohankumar. She sadly agrees. But Mohankumar talks to Ramarajan and changes his mind. Ravichandran who is initially angry at his son's love for a poor girl also changes his mind because he calculates that through this marriage he can buy out Ramarajan and have him dissolve the fishermen's union so that he can continue his cut-throat business dealings. Ravichandran comes to Ramarajan's house, sweet-talks and performs the engagement ceremony. Raasi is very happy. Ramarajan and K.K.Sounder scrape up every last bit of money they have and make arrangements for the wedding. In the meantime Ravichandran gets a marriage proposal for his son from a wealthy family living abroad who have a girl for marriage. Ravichandran changes his mind again and decides to accept the foreign proposal. On the day of the wedding the bride's family is ready at the wedding hall. But Ravichandran locks his son in his farm house, goes to the wedding hall and announces that the wedding has been cancelled. Ramarajan feels humiliated in front of the guests. Raasi is heartbroken.
That night Nishanti is asleep in her hut and a snake bites her. Vinu is home but he is so drunk and passed out he does not hear her scream. Ramarajan comes running to her rescue, sucks the poison out and takes her to the medicine man and saves her life. When Vinu is woken up and hears what happened he has a change of heart . He tells Ramarajan where Mohankumar has been locked up.
SPOILER ALERT! Skip the next three paragraphs if you do not want to know how the film ends.
Ramarajan goes to the farm house and rescues Mohankumar. Raasi and Mohankumar quickly get married in a temple with police protection. Ravichandran is not able to stop the wedding. He finds out that it was Vinu who helped Ramarajan. Ravichandran's men beat up Vinu. Bleeding from head to toe, Vinu goes home crying in pain. When he sees the church on the way home, he enters the church and asks forgiveness from Jesus for all his misdeeds. He cries out loud that it was he who framed Sulakshana as the killer of her own husband when in reality it was Ravichandran who killed her husband. The father hears Vinu's drunken confession and apologizes to Sulakshana.
That evening everyone in the village is celebrating Raasi and Mohankumar's wedding with song and dance. Angry Ravichandran and his men storm the village and set the houses on fire. The celebration turns into chaos. Ramarajan and the villagers frantically try to put out the fire. In the middle of the commotion Ravichandran abdcuts Nishanthi. K.K.Sounder tries to stop him but Ravichandran stabs and kills him. Sulakshana sees this, tells Ramarajan that Ravichandran killed K.K.Sounder and that he also killed his parents decades ago. She orders Ramarajan to take revenge by killing Ravichandran. Ravichandran takes Nishanthi to his house and attempts to violate her. Vinu follows them and fights to save Nishanti but Ravichandran stabs and kills him. As he proceeds to violate Nishanti, Ramarajan comes there and fights him. Ravichandran drags Nishanthi and runs to the boatyard. Ramarajan chases after him. Ravichandran picks up a machete and attempts to slash Ramrajan's neck. As he goes for Ramarajan's neck he slumps to the ground face down. Ravichandran's back is poked open and blood gushes out. An angry Sulakshana stands there holding a heavy, bloody crowbar.
Sulakshana goes to church and and this time she confesses. Then the police handcuff her.
SPOILER ENDS!
Today's pick is a nice fishermen song that comes at the beginning of the film to introduce the leading man Ramarajan.
http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow...ththu_visum.rm
3 maNi nEra kadhaya ippadi 3-E nimishaththula sollitIngaLE, Neel. :) engaLukku kadhai solluradhukkaagavE padam paathIngaLA? :P I thought Ramarajan always worked with IR in all his movies (directed by him).
indha pattu kEttu romba naaLaachu. Thanks!
Neel: Good base story for this Ondru engaL jAdhiyE, but the treatement in Thiriakadhai, cast etc spoiled the film. I am not joking :-)
The climax reminds me the one of Dhandanai. Jaichitra kills the villain, who killed her husband Chakravarthi. JC holding a gadapparai in her hand with lot of artificial sweat on her face while the villain (Sangili Murugan??) collapses. Vijaykant and Ambika were the lead pair.
Nice themmangu!! thanks.
Read the story too !!
RC, you are welcome. If it has been a while since I watched the film I will watch it again before I type the story. If not I will mix it up with other stories. :)
SN23, nIngga pArkkAtha padamE illaiyA? :) Yes, the cast wasn't great. But I thought that the screenplay was cleverly written to strategically place Ramarajan's character in several situations where someone was in trouble and he was there to protect or help them. And the story of the film was wrapped around those situations.
baroque, you are welcome. :)
matha songs pathi oNNum sollaiyE..
koodai niraiya meenu kondu vandhen naanu..
vandi varudhu vandi varudhu oora suthura vandi..
ippadipatta popular songs ellAm irukkE ! :froggrin: :rotfl:
madhu, unggaLukku theriyAtha pAttA? aapadiyE baroque kELvikkum badhil sollidungga (rAsA vIttu...). :)
I found one more song in Paadu kuyile paadu
Hare Rama.....
Listening to Hare Rama..... very funky orchestration, smooth singing by Lover boy! Must be 80's.
Pick #623
Song: kUdai neRaiya mInu
Film: Ondru Engal Jaathiye
Music: Gangai Amaran
Singer: S.Janaki
Lyrics: One of (Muthulingam, Gangai Amaran, Thiruppathooraan, Pattukkottai Natarasan)
Year: 1987
This week SJ celebrates her birthday. Happy Birthday SJ amma!
Today's pick, another MGR formula ingredient, is the heroine introduction song for Nishanthi. With her perfectly symmetrical facial features and slim figure she bounces around and dances in measured steps and programmed body movements just like a doll.
Songs in the film are:
pUngkAththu vIsum - Gangai Amaran & Chorus
kUdai neRaiya mInu - S.Janaki
vaNdi varuthu - S.Sivachidambaram & Chorus
kAththOda pOgum - Mano
eNNi varum eNNam ellAm - Malaysia Vasudevan, P.Jayachandran, Kovai Souderrajan & Chorus
http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/kudai_neraiya.rm
Happy Birhtday SJ yamma ! :P
I was looking for the name of the movie for 'kaathOda pOgum'. finally found it here :) Still I have bunch in my list without the name of the movie :)
WISHES & THANKS TO Janaki amma!!
Dear Neel..
SJ piRandha week-la reNdu request vaikkiREn..
if possible.... kaNdippA pOdungO !
1) inimEl naaLum iLankAlaithAn - iravu pookkaL
2) vasanthamum neeyE malargaLum neeyE - kaNNeer pookaL
:P
Happy Birthday To Janaki Amma.
Thanks to NeelD.
madhu, thanks. I will look for those songs.
From Mars, welcome back.
baroque, thanks.
Meera, you are welcome.
Pick #624
Song: naRumaNa malargaLin
Film: Urangatha Ninaivugal
Music: Ilaiyaraja
Singer: S.Janaki
Lyrics: ?
Year: 1983
Continuing with SJ solos...
"Urangatha Ninaivugal" was a sophisticated film, for its time. Radhika gave a wonderful performance. Do not remember the entire story now nor do I have the video to watch. But if you get hold of one, do not miss.
Thanks to Priya for sending this rare song.
http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/narumana.rm
:ty: :ty: :ty: Priya for a nice song.
RR, Can you enlighten us about the Raga!
Narumugaiye narumugaiye.... maadhiri yerukku.... with Nattai ambience to my ears!
Digression
Neel,
Vani is telling PON MAYAMAANA KAALAM VARUM ENDRU..... Do you have that song? I don't have that song. I have malligai en mannan..... only. Can you guide me!
End
love, Vinatha.
baroque,
Some Naatai feel is there (but the only similarity I see with 'naRumugaiye' is the first two letters), but it seems a mix of several ragas. May be Nitya/vel can throw more light. Why don't you post in ROS thread.
btw, nice one Neel & priya!
Many thanks for this song.Listening to it after nearly 20 + years. I have seen this movie.Remember as a good movie though cant recall the story line.
Was featured on Vikatan's cover as one of the top 3 movies in that year based on marks though it was not a success in box office.This song featured Sivakumar & Menaka.
Another good song in this movie is 'mOunamae nejil naalum' by KJY.
Here is the link for it
http://www.dhool.com/sotd2/552.html
all i remember abt Urangaatha Ninavugal was
Balu Mahendra was the cinematographer for that movie.
Wow!!! very nice song "VarumaNa MalargaLin", effortless singing by SJ amma, what a breath control. beautiful song.
Thanks to Priya and NeelD.
regards.