:rotfl3::rotfl::rotfl3:
Printable View
suresh :lol:
use pannikkiraen...
Raja knows music, also implicitly means he knows film music, including what would be appropriate. But, if people what him to undercut himself and go down to compete with juvenile stuff, that many dir-MD combos who make routine duets/solos irrespective of any movie, added one theme song + or ending patriotic song. That is not going to happen.
ngoyyala... eppodaa paattu release aagumnu irukku...
mokkai podraanga :evil:
Suresh, Somalingam nu sollittu neengaLum oru Raamalingathai create pannitteengaLe!
Let me create another Sundaralingam :lol: Raja do music as per situation, ellaam ok and well known. Same raja had answered for a question thus - "Signal la car nikkuthu, oruthar pichai kekkuraar, 500rs eduthen, pdrathukkulla signal pottu vandi start aagiduchi. another instance, appo thaan signal pottu vandi stop aachu, appovum oruthar vanthu kaasu kettaar, neraya tayam irunthuchi, but appo pocket la ettaNaa thaan irunthuchi!"
Raamalingam, kaila kaasey, ss ss suntharalingam vaaila dhossey :rotfl:
:rotfl3::rotfl:mudiyalada saami!Quote:
Originally Posted by Suresh65
paatta kettu karutthu solradhu vera, varradhukku munname negative'a eludhuradhu vera illayaa?
right... ungalukku theriyaadha sattamillai uvar aanar... nadatthungal.
negative?! who ya?! where ya?! everybody telling their espettasan, thassaal
With so much of pre-release analysis going on, on NEVP... did anyone take into consideration the fact that this film will have a Hindi version too. It is titled as "Assi Nabbe Poorey Sau": http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Assi_Nabbe_Poorey_Sau
From the telugu/tamil promos, it is evident that Raaja's music will be a backdrop for the film (assuming that the promo scenes were from the movie and not just a marketing gimmick). But Raaja does not have a sizeable repertoire in Hindi, for it to form a backdrop for Hindi version. How is GVM doing to deal this? All said & done, Sadma is the only commercially successful album in Hindi belt and other albums are known only to raaja fans (even in Hindi).
Another question - Will Hindi version have same Tamil/Telugu tunes/arrangements? If yes, then success (of music) in Hindi version will be a key test. Because Hindi is a different ball-game altogether. All the more when the score is supposed to be a 'youth-based" kind.
If Hindi version will have different tunes, catering to the national audience, then we have a double album to cherish :-)
But overall - I am curious about the Hindi version now!
With Gautam unable to 'penetrate' indhi with even the mighty AR, and thus remaining a non-entity there, I don't think the indhi version of NEPV by IR will have any significant impact...(I'll be happy to be pleasantly surprised there).
Hence, as long as it hits in TF & TeF, the mission is accomplished :-)
Please enjoy the photo stills of our "Hearing Impaired" National Film awards jury members:
http://dff.nic.in/ReportPresentation59thNFA.htm
Look at the National Music awards since it's inception in 1968 - interesting facts:
- KVM was the first recipient, Maestro and Rahman (each 4) are highest recipients to-date, Hindi films (17) are the highest winners followed by
Tamil, Malayalam and Telugu (each winning 6 films). Can you identify the notable omissions here? - MS Viswanathan/ Ramamoorthy, Salil Chowdhary, Dakshinamoorthy, G Devarajan, M Jayachandran, RD Burman. Any prominent music directors that we know?
Year Awardee Name of the film Language
2011 1. Vishal Bharadwaj Ishqiya Hindi
2. Issak Thomas Kottakapally Adaminte Makan Abu (Film score) Malayalam
2010 1. Amit Trivedi Dev.D Hindi
2. Ilaiyaraaja Pazhassi Raja (Film score) Malayalam
2009 Ajay-Atul Jogwa Marathi
2008 Ouseppachan Ore Kadal Malayalam
2007 Ashok Patki Antarnad Konkani
2006 Lalgudi Jayaraman Sringaram Tamil
2005 Vidyasagar Swarabhishekam Telugu
2004 Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy Kal Ho Naa Ho Hindi
2003 A. R. Rahman Kannathil Muthamittal Tamil
2002 A. R. Rahman Lagaan Hindi
2001 Anu Malik Refugee Hindi
2000 Ismail Darbar Hum Dil De Chuke Sanam Hindi
1999 Vishal Bharadwaj Godmother Hindi
1998 M. M. Keeravani Annamayya Telugu
1997 A. R. Rahman Minsaara Kanavu Tamil
1996 Hamsalekha Sangeetha Sagara Ganayogi Panchakshara Gavai Kannada
1995 Ravi (Bombay) Sukrutham & Parinayam Malayalam
Johnson Sukrutham (Film score)[3] Malayalam
1994 Johnson Ponthan Mada[3] Malayalam
1993 A. R. Rahman Roja Tamil
1992 Rajat Dholakia Dharavi Hindi
1991 Hridayanath Mangeshkar Lekin Hindi
1990 Sher Chowdhary Wosobipo Karbi
1989 Ilaiyaraaja Rudra Veena Telugu
1988 Vanraj Bhatia Tamas Hindi
1987 Dr. M. Balamurali Krishna Madhavacharya Kannada
1986 Ilaiyaraaja Sindhu Bhairavi Tamil
1985 Jaidev Ankahee Hindi
1984 Ilaiyaraaja Saagara Sangamam Telugu
1983 Ramesh Naidu Meghasandesam Telugu
1982 Khayyam Umrao Jaan Hindi
1981 Satyajit Ray Hirak Rajar Deshe Bengali
1980 K. V. Mahadevan Shankarabharanam Telugu
1979 Jaidev Gaman Hindi
1978 B.V. Karanth Ghatashraddha Kannada
1977 B.V. Karanth Rishya Shringa Kannada
1976 Bhupen Hazarika Chameli Memsaab Assamese
1975 Ananda Shankar[4] Chorus Bengali
1974 Satyajit Ray Ashani Sanket Bengali
1973 Sachin Dev Burman Zindagi Zindagi Hindi
1972 Jaidev Reshma Aur Shera Hindi
1971 Madan Mohan Dastak Hindi
1970 S. Mohinder Nanak Nam Jahaz Hai Punjabi
1969 Kalyanji-Anandji Saraswati Chandra Hindi
1968 K. V. Mahadevan Kandan Karunai Tamil
Shame on the jury members to have given Best Film award to a movie that had a court case against the main screen play. Strangely our National awards don't have a category for "Original Screenplay" and "Adapted Screenplay". Our Jayakanthan, Sujatha and Bhaskar Shakti (A.Kudhirai novelist) would have got the screenplay awards. A.Kudhirai deserved "Best Film" award.
Reported in "The Hindu" - Writer Sara Aboobacker has claimed that the plot of the film, “Byari”, which recently shared the National Award for Best Film with a Marathi film was borrowed from her novel, “Chandragiriya Theeradalli”, without obtaining the rights to it. While the filmmakers have denied the allegations, Ms. Aboobacker has maintained that she has proof that the film is based on her novel. Ms. Aboobacker said that when the film was awaiting release, she had approached the local court to obtain a stay, but that the court ruled in favour of the producers. She could not approach a higher court in time. Mr. Althaf Hussain Chokkabetu claimed that he was not responsible if the writer had problems with the story. “I am only the producer. How am I to know if the story has been copied from elsewhere? She (Ms. Aboobacker) must approach the writer of the story (for the film) if there is a problem,” he said. Writer of the story for the film Irfan Chokkabettu said that there was “nothing in the allegations”. He said that he had written the story based on an incident in his village. He said that there had been an “iddat” wedding in his village. Mr. Althaf Hussain Chokkabetu said that the story of the film was based on the Shariah and that such an incident had happened in his village. “How can she say that the story is hers?” Mr. Althaf Hussain Chokkabetu asked.
Amazing explanation that a tune is just a matter of chance.. who says the man is not humble ( and he is honest too ).. I have mentioned this before.. this is like a sport.. you have to be a good/talented person to score high .. but you might also be out with out any points at any time.
For this movie, IMHO, if he sticks o real drum kit/instruments he can still be modern and not mess up the opportunity (like in Balki's movies). Even pazhassi raja had some synth and sound engineering faux pas. Guru that way was very clean.
I think it is high time we stopped the Speculation game about NEPV.... Raaja is not a MK (Music Kid). He knows what to give. We can always expect the unexpected from him. Forget about the music reaching to the Mass. (By the by, I really cannot understand the hype surrounding GM... Is he such a master director..?) Let's enjoy the current releases...
PRASAD releasing on 23-Mar-12
THANDAVAKONE releasing on 30-Mar-12
He is verymuch known for extracting good songs from MD, and known for picturing that well. THe quality of the song, its video, lyrics all will be of top quality. His films had fails but his songs are huge hit material. No doubt of that, irrespective of MD. added to that, he had frequently shown his love on 80's Raja albums, even in films other MD's were composing. He also produced ASK. So all this added hype to the combo. Needless to say, he is one of the rare director of today's gen, to come to raja. This may start a new episode for Raja's music, in TFM. Thatswhy this hype and hoopla.
Any song where both Raja and SPB sang jointly?
was going thru the back pages... situation kku best tune podrathu Raja is besht nnu sollirunthaanga. i hav a doubt for long time. Agreed and there is no doubt that IR kind of 'sethukkify' tunes for situation. This can be very much said for BGM, more than song, becos, there are many many many tons of repetitive situations and its very easy for us to replace/swap songs btw different films having same situations right? There is nothing too peculiar in most of the songs. In that way, there will be too common situations, very much present in NEPV too. We can even replace songs for them too. for this common situations, its really a great challenge to come up with a fresh, new, latest trend, non repetitive tune every time and this is the challenge which Raja is taking up almost for all film, these days. But alas, the end user is not at all aware of all these hardships. He is same dumb fan wanting for a new, fresh, catchy, trendy melody/tune, thats all. This is where (critics/knowledged fans/ardent fans like us) differ too much from general mass fans. That is why we are wondering why come there dumb mass fans are not adoring the recent Masterpieces of Raja.
The fact all of us know is that, even though great quality is available in Raja's current music, only we ardent fans take extra steps to listen them. For example, listening to Mallu/Telugu albums et all, only we ppl addicted to Raja's music, will do. We seek only for music, new sounds, and flowing creativity and language/actors are not a barrier. THat is one small example. Same can be said about the nice music Raja gives for the small, low budget tamil films which goes un noticed by these general fans. They always listen to songs which appear in Sun/Vijay TV, that too featuring new crop actors(except the legendory Kamal Rajini) and new heroines, new directors etc. They don't realize that, as far music is concerned, all these actors, actress, location etc are just glamorous carriers of the music. For ardent music fans it is finally the music that matters. They are ones who can avoid television for long days. Their only need is internet connection and headphones, to let the ultimate music flow. But now, there has come a chance where, the (pretty dumb) Mass fans meets the Gret Raja, through NEPV. Thats why, all this adithadi, diskassens, phights in this thread! All that is bound to happen and will happen even after many days of NEPV album release!
following told by JAY KUMAR in RAJA FANS facebook group
raaja was quite inspired by sd burman and rd burman bcz they were in full form when he entered the field and more over during that time tamil industry and its people were dominated by hindi songs and its influence one thing which is quite common in raja's background score is the theme music which follows through out the film and mostly this is based on a particular song like sundar kannal oru sedhi in dalapathi etc...
but this kind of a feel was not adapted by raja himself it was from his inspiration from s d burman sir who had done this way back in the 1972 n it had the theme of a song zarra nattkatt hai yeh sung by latha ji and this kept rolling over the whole film i was quite impressed when i saw this bcz that was the first of its kind in that era. ya now i understood why he kept telling about s d burman sir in all his interviews...
AN EXAMPLE OF GURU AND SISHYA #####
late g.k. venkatesh was one of the gurus of raja sir and he also accompanied gk sir for his films on guitars but as time passed on gk sir had no films and thus was in a bad state thats when raja sir asked his guru to be with him for his recordings composing etc... and he also bought him a own house and a car too, this things were told to me directly by gk sir when i happenend to meet him during shivas recording in mumbai infact he said no one else in this universe could take care of a guru in this manner and he was overwhelmed saying this and it was a nostalgic moment for both of us....
this was a discussion myself with my 2 friends had with purushotaman sir[ raja's rhythm programmer/arranger/conductor and ofcourse the drummer he had right from his 1st film we were in a good spirit and i was eager to know facts about raja's composing/ arranging and other technicalities which i wanted to know, so i was asking puru about all incidences which happened during that time
facts===
in kaadhal oviyam song of allaighal oivathillai --- hihats is manually played where as the kick and side stick was programmed and puru used to on the sequencer while playing the hihats when ever it was required and also stop it
there is a gadget in rhythm field which is called a synth drum which is similar to a the toms of a jazz drim but is smaller and lighter ya it is electronic and sounds that way so was one instance when puru had information about its arrival at trichy airport from where he had to collect it so he left in a hurry to get it and he also had a recording of allaighal oivathillai on the next day so he was just back from trichy in the morning but was a little late thus had to get into the studio with the equipment but he was quite eager to hear its sounds and just manged to open it and connect it as soon as he had finished doing the connections the song was already rehearsed by other fellow musicians and raja asked puru to go through the song , he said just a moment raja i just want to check my new instrument and then i ll be joining you all and raja agreed and puru just hit the pads f the drums and there was an electonic sound which came out and at the same time bharatiya raja was also in and as he heard the sound he was amused and asked puru to play that sound i the song so puru wondered where he could insert such a new sound so raja asked him to play it through out the song in after beat intervals and thats how this instrument was used instantly in the song----- the song was putham pudhu kaalai and one can make out the different sound it has in its rhythm
Great Minds agree - T.N.Seshagopalan talks about Raja in Manadhodu Mono.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C87Sg177OJc
punya...on veena...mad mad mod fugue...
http://www.dhingana.com/veena-in-vie...indi/pop/30233
but this is not the mad mod mood fugue piece...!!
rajaramsgi,
Thanks for the link
நானும் ரசித்தேன்! ராக தீபம் ஏற்றும் நேரம் - செரிவானப் பார்வை tns! கர்நாடக இசையில் புலமை பெற்றவர்கள் ராஜாவை சிலாகிப்பது போல ராஜாவின் மேற்கத்திய இசைப்புலமையை சிலாகித்து சொல்ல நிறைய இசை விமர்சகர்கள் வரணும். ரொம்ப அரிதாகவே (பிரசன்னா) அந்த பாக்கியம் நமக்கு கிடைத்திருக்கிறது.
wow!wow!wow! yes, thanks a lot rararamsgi for the link. How beautifully he explained the hamsanandhi raagam and how he gets into film song, explaining the beauty of the raagam, wonderful! While explaining the raagam I was overwhelmed when he said it requires wisdom to extract the brightness/essence/swaroopam in any raagam is what is most important, be it muthiah bhagavathar, papanasam sivam or Ilaiyaraaja. It is always to good to hear these words from these legends.
Three points to be noted/implied from TNS sir's thoughts.
How Maestro composed this film song (raagadeepam) in a purely carnatic classical way, yet it never sounds like a classical song, that's the beauty of the genius. Second, how he explored new and rare carnatic raagams in films. Third, any song which can be sung without any orchestration definitely has more weightage, as the melody content/soul is more in vocals.
Raaja is in London right now... Apparently for NEPV recording or mixing.
Contrary to popular belief here, Raja did score for youthful romances in 2000s. Ofcourse, Tamil films mostly gave him village based themes or melodramas, Malayalam family dramas and Kannada some indeterminate stuff. It was Telugu which gave him these 'youthful' romances. I can personally think of 'Sunny', 'Shambu' and 'Ninnu Choodaka Nenudalenu' and 'Om Shanthi' belonging to this category. The music in these movies is varied. I would say 'Sunny' and 'Shambu' are quite similar in their music, while 'Ninnu Choodaka Nenundalenu' is more like 'Mallepoovu', where melody is the key. 'Om Shanti' on the other hand in the newer, jazzier Raja that we have come to hear in the recent past.
Here is the link to the songs of 'Shambu':
http://www.raaga.com/channels/telugu...p?mid=a0000609
Songs of 'Sunny':
http://www.raaga.com/channels/telugu...p?mid=a0001202
Songs of 'Ninnuchoodaka Nenundalenu':
http://www.raaga.com/channels/telugu...p?mid=a0000275
Songs of 'Om Shanthi':
http://www.hummaa.com/music/album/om-shanti/35659
It must be said that as far as I know all of them were flops !!!! I personally love the music from all these movies and keep playing 'Sunny' and 'Om Shanthi' regularly. (The other CDs are not available) The songs didn't make much of an impact on the general populace, I should confess. (Maybe a couple of songs from 'Ninnuchoodaka.." were well known.) All these movies (with the exception of 'Om Shanthi' ) have one 'teen maar' or 'kuthu' song, which I love and which aakarsh hates from the bottom of his heart :lol:
My feeling is that NEVP will be in the lines of 'Om Shanthi'. That is Raja's new sound. The jazz and the Broadway musical style. And I will be more than happy if I get something like 'Chinna Polike'. If you haven't heard it do go to the 'Om Shanthi' link and listen to it.
Suresh,
you love to remind me about my dislike for those set of songs :-D
Though I agree with you that there were "youth" catering scores that Raaja worked on, in the last 5-10 years, I believe this NEVP is much more important and much more bigger. Because all the above mentioned films - were films made by non-entities. Sunny was almost a b-grade film I think and nobody knows Shambhu. Ninu CHoodaka Nenu Undalenu had many songs from Tamil (Enna Solli) and it too was not a big film as such. Om Shanti was backed by a big banner and yet, it was by a new director and the film flopped miserably. One common thing among all these films is - They all were made by directors who never had a name and who couldn't make a name either, with these films.
GVM, on the other hand, is a brand now. He has 'some' fans, irrespective of who acts in his films. His films may flop, but there is an audience who are willing to give his films a try. And more importantly, music has been a plus-point in his films, no matter who the composer was. The songs atleast, were hits. So NEVP is much more main-stream than the above mentioned films.
And honestly, I expect something much better than Chinna Polike. I recently heard Chinna Polike again and I felt it is just an 'OK' song (Gunjawala not withstanding), atleast compared to even more valuable nuggets such as Kooda Varuviya, Sneha veedu etc. And apart from Chinna Polike, other songs in the album really didnt catch me much, as much as some of the 2009 films of Raaja did. A Ediya Baagilu is much more innovative than a Chinna Polike, i feel. So I'll be disappointed if Raaja comes up with a Chinna Polike standard song. Give me atleast a Kannil Paarvai or Kooda Varuviya or Kai Veesu (Nandalala) anyday - they rank much higher, according to me.
From audience perspective - Telugu audience love Raaja's 80s works and they loved when he did Anthapuram. And they again loved his Rama Rajyam. But they couldnt get to love Sunny, Om Shanti, Shambu and all. So if Raaja composes another Chinna Polike standard song, I am not sure if the audience will lap it up.
Raaja is currently in London, recording/mixing NEVP. It very much shows the scale of this film. I hope the music lives up to the hype, which we all have generated :-)
Kamal,
'chinna polike' is definitely more than an 'OK" song. To me it is an amazing song.
Yes, none of those songs were hits and the directors were not famous guys and didn't become famous. The scale of NEPV is different of course and the expectation is also high. What I wanted people to understand listening to these songs was how Raja's brain worked. The level of complexity which was there even within the 'youth' and 'fun' songs. So you cannot expect Harris level dumbed down 'hits' :D
Its official - Raja is in London with GVM for NETP recording
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/e...w/12326707.cms
Music always plays an important role in a Gautham Menon directorial venture. Right from his debut Minnale, he's had good music.
This time around, his trilingual project Neethane En Ponvasantham, which stars Samantha as the female lead, while Jiiva, Nani and Aditya Roy Kapoor play the leads in Tamil, Telugu and Hindi respectively, will have music maestro Ilaiyaraaja composing the tunes.
The filmmaker is off to London to record the songs. "I am off to record the songs with Raja. He is someone I've grown up listening to and I love his tunes. I am excited about working with him as it is a dream come true for me," says Gautham.
While the teaser promo that was released a month back had the famous Ilaiyaraaja song that the film's title is inspired from, a little known fact is that Gautham himself sang the song that Jiiva lip syncs in it. Ask him if he will be singing the full song which will be remastered and released in this film and he says, "Oh no! I am not a singer."
Dear Fans of Ilayaraaja sir, you will have the official word from us soon. Yesterday fans of ilayaraaja met in chennai and we had the privilege of having Mr. Prabhakar and Mr. Jayamanickam as our chief guests. The musical discussion with them will be written in a separate topic. The main discussions of yesterdays meeting is we plan to collect a small fee from interested members every month. this money will be used to get audio releases of raaja sir for the group remembers. We target around 500 members and the subscription amount could be from 100 to 200 rupees a month. Comments welcome.
kamesh!
Please let us know more details. I hope this will not be a "project Gem" kind of effort. Project Gem got some good releases, but couldnt sustain because there were not many buyers. But now, with the advent of social media, i think things can work out well.
Rs.100-Rs.200 per month subscription? I didnt get this exactly. What is the plan as such? and how does it work out?