Yaar enna sonna namakku enna saar? Namakku nalla music kidachirukku. Enjoy pannuvom. Public response is awesome.Cds sold outnu Sonye sollittanga. Nalla eriyuttum vayiru.:-D
Superbly put V_S. My request to everyone is the same. This is an album at an entirely different level when it comes to film music and I see it as milestone in Indian film music, just like 'Guru' was.
Mannichidunge anne..got carried away by this magical album..just wanted to convey that proper respect and inspiration is a requisite element apart from paying salary to bring the best out of Isaignani.By the way thiru 'BRIGS' avargal should apply for a patent for that magnificent invention
IMHO (im a layman..no technical or scientific knowledge on music..just a listener) with 'MUDHAL MURAI' and to some extend 'PENGAL ENDRAAL' Ayya says "F O" loud and clear to all pseudo rockers,(com)Posers,baile funk importers and the schmucks who spend money and time on them as well as the reviewers who assume the role of the authorities in music
Good point. Most of Raja's songs has lot of depth in it. So it allows for more than one interpretation. He often uses one musical idea to express multiple things and color/contrast one emotion with a related emotion or different emotion. It is not easy to figure out all.
indha shankar kozhappam enna?
Hub Shank = BR Blog Shankar = BR's BITS Pilani mate. CorreettA?
innoru shankar yAru?
(andha innOnnu DhAnga idhunnE sollikittirukkInga :scratchead:
Its for everyone to see that Raaja does on the spot composing unlike those midnight wallahs. He never does anything behind the back of the directors and when they narrate the scene music is born right in front of them. That is his style for more than three decades now. So the accusations of getting inspired or ripping tunes from x,y,z are laughable and are best ignored.
Agree ..after repeated listening .. this is in the filmy/popular genre..but a milestone it is ..
I have always thought of "Indian Film music" as a genre.. and I said it "reached" its peak with IR (once - in the context of style shift after IR). But I have to say now he is taking this genre "higher".
The fundamental composing style is still the same . With
* interludes (solo violin in muthan murai interlude is a Raja touch)
* no percussion or atleast for a short time in the interludes
* use of the orchestra in interludes
* use of the strings/orchestra for the higher octave portions of pallavi-charanams
* the use of "bridge" from pallavi-charanam to interlude and vice-versa
* charanams much quieter with subtler rhythm so you can enjoy the lyrics/tune (muthan murai, pengal enRal have quiet charanams)
But different/more fresh with -
* more infusion of harmonic elements (vaanam mella, kaaRRai konjam)
* conscious avoidance of oft-used guitar chords etc (saaindhu saaindhu)
* avoiding same instrumental phrases (except the first charanam in ennodu vaa vaa instrumental usage sounds fresh throughout)
* the non-annoying anglicized accented singing
* there are some changes in tune composition too (cannot put my finger to it though)
* heavy usage of rock elements which have only been seen in a very muted/minimal way in earlier works (pengal enRaal - interlude sounds Pink Floydish to me, the cello string/electric guitar prelude to muthan murai is awesome)
Consequently there is freshness and lack of familiarity to hard-core IR fans (including self).
To echo venkiram - this is a "Renaissance of the Orchestra" in film music .. A revival of the genre (in my opinion).
Super ji :clap:
The first interlude and the charanams are my favorite. So many things going on in the first interlude. Sax conversing with the electric guitar(?), followed by the chorus, flute and the violins with the piano playing a counter melody all this time. The piano continues without any accompaniments for a while till that pause. Then the oboe playing the piano's tune. Blissful. Also the pallavi after the charanam has delightful violin 'punches'.