Thank you Sureshji, for the link!
One rarest kind of interviews ever to appear in Thamizh media!
Printable View
Thanks app_ji :)
Really a wonderful article. The team has done a great job in including some lovely clips. I have requested that SuKa and Solvanam do such interviews with the other gifted instrumentalists of Raja's team like Sada, Puru, Viji Manuel et al. (All these names are mentioned by SuKa). Hope they do it in the near future.
/Total Dig
#ShamelessSelfPlug BTW, my article on music of Muktamma of Brinda-Mukta fame is also published in the same issue. You can check it out here: http://solvanam.com/?p=13509
/End Dig
Thanks Suresh :notworthy: superb one
When youtube'd enjoyed these old clips..hope you too will !! Sada rocks !!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gX0C1...eature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZDmfy...eature=related
Thanks for the link Suresh... http://solvanam.com/?p=13509
.. so interesting to listen to those lovely clips that Balesh had played with such a versatility...he is highly gifted artist.
Thanks a lot for the links vkirsh......
made my day!
right now hooked up with 'Kanne Ithu' from 'AanAzhagan' http://www.mediafire.com/?0wbzhuclib3
Here you can see the violins and cello rehearsing 'Ananda Raagam' / 'Saara Yeh Aalam'. Got it via my friend DilsoftRaja in twitter.
http://cellosekar.com/
Suresh..........
gr8 link which took more time for me to come out from solvanam. thanks solvanam to make me identify shenoy in songs..
Mahanadhi scene is dam good with shenoy..when Shobana show her face, shenoy starting....amazing..
http://rajamanjari.blogspot.com/2011...-musician.html
Lovely write up............
cello sekar's website is not working, anyone have a copy of Sara yeh aalam rehearsal? By the way, Cello Sekar is the son of popular violinist Kunnakudi Vaidhyanathan.
Thanks Suresh for the Solvanam article link. One of the best reads I had in recent time. Hard to come out of it especially the last piece of music performed after the conclusion of the interview still lingers on. Yet to read the Cello Sekar article.
http://www.hindu.com/mp/2011/03/29/s...2950360100.htm
"The list of music directors she's worked with is rather impressive too. But, is there anyone that she really enjoys working with? “Ilaiyaraaja sir is an institution and I feel like a student when I work with him. He likes my work and that's the biggest certificate for me"
No guesses for who the singer is :)
At last finished reading solvanam article about shenoy and Pandit Balesh. Many thanks to Suresh ji for posting such amazing article. Waiting to finish my work and rush back home to create IR's shenoy playlist to hear from tomorrow:-D.
Some remarks about Raja sir which I liked.
Quote:
இவரிடம் ஒருவர் வாசித்துவிட்டாரென்றால் உலகத்தில் வேறு எங்கே வேண்டுமானாலும் போய் வாசித்துவிடலாம். அதனால் இவரிடம் வாசிக்கும் ஒவ்வொருவருமே மிகப்பெரிய இசைக்கலைஞர்தான்
Also Balesh sir hit the nail on the head about the current trend. I also have same concern.:sad:Quote:
பிலாஸ்கானி தோடி என்றொரு அரிதான ராகம் இருக்கிறது. தான்ஸேனின் மகன் பிலாஸ்கான். அவர் உருவாக்கிய ராகம் என்பதால் பிலாஸ்கானி தோடி என்று பெயர். அதில் வட இந்தியாவில் கூட திரைப்பாடல்கள் அதிகம் இல்லை. ஆனால் இவர் அதில் பாட்டமைத்திருக்கிறார். ‘உதயகீதம் பாடுவேன்’ பாட்டுதான் அது
But I see this western trend more in Hindi and Telugu compared to other languages.Quote:
இப்போது புதிதாகத் திரைத்துறைக்கு வரும் இசையமைப்பாளர்களுக்கு இந்த ராகங்கள் எதுவுமே தெரிவதில்லை, புரிவதுமில்லை. தெரிந்தாலும் அவற்றை வெறும் நோட்ஸ்களாக மட்டுமே பார்க்கிறார்கள். ஜீவ ஸ்வரம், ராக ரூபம் இதெல்லாம் ஒன்றுமே தெரிவதில்லை. ‘ட்ரெண்ட் மாறிப்போச்சு’ என்று சொல்லி இதையெல்லாம் எதுவுமே தெரிந்துகொள்ளாமல் தப்பித்துக் கொள்கிறார்கள். ‘ட்ரெண்ட் மாறிவிட்டது’ என்றெல்லாம் ஒன்றுமில்லை. ராகங்களை வைத்துக்கொண்டே நவீனமாகவும் பாடல்களை உருவாக்கலாம். ராகங்கள் என்பவை நம் ஆதாரமான மெலடிகள்தான். அவற்றை ஒரு குறிப்பிட்ட வகையில், குறிப்பிட்ட ஸ்வரங்களுக்கு, பிரயோகங்களுக்கு அழுத்தம் கொடுத்துப் பாடும்போது உருவாகும் இசை நீண்டகாலம் ஜீவனோடு இருப்பதைக் கண்டுகொண்ட நம் முன்னோர்கள் அவற்றைப் பாரம்பரியமாகப் பாதுகாத்துவந்தார்கள். அதுதான் ராகம்.
Quote:
கே.வி.மகாதேவன், எம்.எஸ்.வி, இளையராஜா எல்லோருமே ராகங்களின் அடிப்படையில் அந்தந்த காலகட்டத்துக்கேற்ற மாதிரி நவீனமாகத்தானே பாடல்களைத் தந்தார்கள்?
I can only :lol: for thisQuote:
முன்பெல்லாம் தயாரிப்பாளர்கள், இயக்குநர்களெல்லாம் இசைப் பரிச்சயம் உள்ளவர்களாக இருந்தார்கள். இன்று அவர்களுக்கும் தெரிவதில்லை. அதனால்தான் பல இசையமைப்பாளர்களும் தப்பித்துக்கொள்கிறார்கள். இது தமிழ்நாட்டில் மட்டுமல்ல, இந்தியா பூராவுமே அப்படித்தான் இருக்கிறது.
Reserved the last video for the night, as I know that will capture me and will not be able to do other work when I hear during the day time. As expected, I was in heaven! What a talent Pandit sir :notworthy: Gifted to hear such amazing performance!! Special thanks to Suka!!
from the tweets of @600024
Quote:
BREAKING NEWS:Illayaraja confirms dat he will do the Background Score 4 Ponniyin Selvan,while Rahman is taking care of the songs
Their website is http://600024.com/Quote:
We are Interviewing Ilayaraja abt Ponniyin Selvan today evening.Have Qs 2 ask him? Reply & will ask u onbehalf. No Controversies pls.
Now I still dont believe this until it comes out from the mouth Raaja himself!
anyways I've posted a question to Raaja
meaning for raagas/sunil: Is it possible to compose symphonic music using the ancient instruments of Tamils? If possible will you do it?Quote:
சிம்பொனி வடிவத்திலயெ முற்றிலும் தமிழர்களின் பழங்கால இசைகருவிகள் மட்டுமே கொண்டு இசைஅமைப்பது சாத்தியமா? சாத்தியமென்றால் செய்வீர்களா?
Nice way to fool people.. :-)
hahaha. you didnt see that coming RS :-) I too was surprised, for a minute & then i realized.
On the flip side, if this news is indeed true, then I consider that they got me on April 1st. :-)
PS: Thanks RS, for remembering to translate, for my sake!
Did Ponnar Shankar Audio got released? There has been no discussions on that.
Happened to watch 'Hrudaya Raga' today noon on Suvarna TV, a felicitation to KJY for his contribution to Kannada film music, that IR also attended.
This happened sometime last month in Bangalore I think and I'd seen IR's picture in one of the posters.
IR's speech was nice with his usual philosophical and historical anecdotes. He copiously showered praise on KJY (whom he referred as anna), and sat through the program with a warm bright smile on his face.
He spoke in Kannada (broken, but fairly decent). Here's a jist (in first-person narrative) of what he said (not verbatim):
One of the ways to find peace in our stressful lives is to listen to this man's voice. Just two minutes of listening to his singing can relax the mind.
I generally dont attend many functions, but I am here just for KJY.
I've played the guitar, organ and electronic instruments for many songs sung by KJY under several MDs like Dakshinamurthy, Devarajan, Baburaj and GKV.
He's always been friendly with all instrumentalists and that is how I got to know him early on.
After I became a composer, we have collaborated on many songs, all of which are beautiful ones.
When I wasn't able to get KJY, I chose to sing instead and that is how and why I started singing myself, though I didn't really prefer to.
What can we give him in return to what he has given us all these years? Nothing. All we can do is give him a big round of applause.
Like anna told earlier (KJY had spoken about listening to good music and practising rigoursly to succeed as a singer) we need to choose and listen to the right music.
There are many busy people here today doing different things, like Manohar (conductor?) and Vijay Prakash (who was the compere). You just cant catch hold of this guy nowadays! (to which Vijay quickly bowed down and touched IR's feet).
KJY performed a handful of songs (his voice sounded less aged compared to how it has been off late). Do give it a watch if there are any links around.
THanks for sharing those moments..This happened at Palace Grounds,Bangalore in the first week of Feb and unfortunately I couldn't be there,though I wished to be there..
Youtube has a couple of links of this program,but not the entire function. If you get the video clips,kindly post it.
KJY also has a great amount of respect for raja and always run out of words, while talking of Raja..
Ponnar Shankar songs..
http://www.raaga.com/channels/tamil/...p?mid=T0003043
Ponnar Shankar = The album of the year so far and I doubt that there will be another album to beat this one...!!!
Bavani Varugira...starts totally differently but slowly sway into a superbly waved melody.
Kannai Padithean...out of this world composition...what a melody...easily the pick of this year until know !!!
Thedi Vantha Dhevathai...My Raaja in innovative mood...this song shows clearly that this man never getting old :D
Malar Vililea...Another song to contest for the pick of the album...this song shows Raaja in full form...what a composition and arrangement...U feel the fusion all over the song.
For those ppl who asked abt a full album in tamil where Raaja shows his caliber...eat this...!!!...This is what I have been waiting for...A whole album where Raaja just unfold his wings and takes me under it...musical treat from the one and only..!!!
kanna_82 : Thanks . How will you compare with old IR carnatic classics ?
(Also pls post in new albums thread ..)
No words to describe. Saavadi album, to be listened to believe
Awarded Padma Bushan
"reclusive" music director-aam. :)
I just love this album... A complete entertaining one from Raja after a long time!!
I wish the producers had invested in marketing for the film earlier on. Not many people are aware of this movie. Even 'sappa' films get good marketing nowadays!
http://articles.timesofindia.indiati...lakshmi-manchu
A new telugu film coming up!
veteran hubber complicateur's recent article in Chennai Times - makes for an interesting read.
http://complicateur.blogspot.com/201...l-trinity.html
From a link jaiganes posted in Kamal thread in TF section :
Vannanilavan on the making of 'avaL appadiththAn':
Ilayaraja was an upcoming music director then. He used to be present right on dot at 8.00 am, on the days when he was to score music, along with Gangai Amaran. They would come to the office of Kumar Arts, together. Ilayaraja used to just roll one tune after the other from his harmonium even in those days, endlessly.
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/e...ow/8024036.cms
Happi to release in Black & White on May 20th.
which means, the audio should be releasing anytime now (or should have been released by now).
sooper hit'nnganna!! Sengaathu Boomiyilae...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AF3y5...er_profilepage
Vel,
From that video, we can gather that there are 5 songs in the film and 2 of them seem to be melodies. Interesting! looking forward to the album. Is it out in the stores?
raagas, CD releases on April 23rd
yov. ennaya nadakkudhu. We don't even know such a film exists and suddenly the music is released !!! Sounds good from what I heard. The recording is quite good. Let's hope that they don't do a 'Ponnar Shankar' again !!! (Anyway, by listening to the clips of 'Sengaathu Bhoomile' I can clearly 'see' both the sides of the argument now itself :) )
High hopes raagas. Going by the 'Ponnar Shankar' experience it will not be a surprise if the audio releases (if it does) after the movie releases :) But to be honest, I am also looking forward to the music of 'Happi' to see what Raja has done in Hindi after 'Paa'. Let's hope they release it soon. ('SRK' is totally shelved now I guess. No hope there.) Which brings us to the Marathi movie for which Raja had toured Maharashtra. No news on that yet. Maybe they will also release it suddenly? With Raja, you never know :)
alov, surprising you were not aware of sengaathu boomiyilae - http://tamil.galatta.com/entertainme...ile_46357.html
Same here Suresh. Happi is the album I am looking forward to because it is special on many counts:
1. Raaja's Hindi album - To see what Raaja does in Hindi where tamil tunes are not rehashed (i think this film has fresh tunes). So it is like starting with a clean slate, on an unfamiliar territory.
2. collaboration with a Hindi/North India based film-maker - I always wanted to see what the film-makers based in Bombay/delhi would like hear from Raaja. What can they extract from him? Or rather what can Raaja deliver to their sensibilities? Given that he somehow could not make any significant inroads into Hindi film music (despite being respected by them), this film is a litmus test to see if he can tame that game or not. His previous hindi films are mostly by South Indian film-makers (Balu Mahendra, Kamal Haasan, Ramgopal Varma and Balki - tamilian anyway,though he made hindi films). Somewhere, Raaja understood their thoughts and the language of their needs and catered accordingly. But this time - it is a different game.
3. Sensibilities of film-maker - Bhavana Talwar's previous film 'Dharm' did impress me. Though Raaja has some experience of working with women film-makers (no discrimination as such, but it is always interesting to see the taste of a woman film-maker) such as the lady who made Vishwa Tulasi, this time, he is collaborating with a woman film-maker (who is into non-commercial films) whose preferences seem to be western classical music and the music of S.D.Burman & Madan Mohan (from the interview of Bhavana Talwar).
4. Experimental Film - This is a non-commercial/experimental/parallel cinema kind of film that is now being turned into Black & white. The songs are sung by lead actor Pankaj Kapoor, who has probably never sung before.
Given these factors and context, in my opinion, this should be the most awaited album for Ilaiyaraaja fans. If Raaja breaks the myth (that he couldnt cater to Hindi sensibilities), then it could be a big turning point for his career as well. I am doubtful if the film will be successful enough to spin its music sales too. But still, if music lovers appreciate the album - it will be an achievement and prove his detractors wrong.