SACHIN TENDULKAR in million dollar babies PART 3
SACHIN TENDULKAR in million dollar babies PART 4
Printable View
http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/awar...ry/386596.html
Readers' Choice
Sachin holds sway
Cricinfo staff
January 16, 2009
So what if he didn't win any jury awards, Tendulkar took both batting prizes in the Readers' Choice segment © AFP
Cricinfo's readers begged to differ with the jury when it came to the two batting awards, voting Sachin Tendulkar to wins in both categories in the Readers' Choice segment of the Cricinfo Awards. Tendulkar's match-winning 103 not out in Chennai against England - his first fourth-innings hundred in a Test win for India - won by a small margin from Virender Sehwag's 201 not out, the jury's pick for the prize.
Tendulkar also took the ODI batting title for his 117 not out against Australia in the first final of the CB Series. The innings won by a sizeable margin (40% of readers' votes) from Yuvraj Singh's blazing 138 against England in Rajkot.
The two bowling awards confirmed the jury's picks by impressive margins. Dale Steyn was picked by 36% of the readers in the Test Bowling category for his second-innings five-for in Melbourne, and Ajantha Mendis' 6 for 13 in the Asia Cup final won the ODI Bowling prize by a landslide 55% from second-placed Ishant Sharma's 14% (for his 4 for 38 against Australia in the CB Series).
Graeme Smith's much-acclaimed 154 not out, which lost the top spot in the Jury Awards by just one vote, was surprisingly low on the readers' list, coming in at No. 5. In the Test Bowling category, the performance that came in second in the jury's ranking, Ryan Sidebottom's 7 for 47 against New Zealand, managed only a lowly 5% of the readers' votes, coming in at No. 6. Similarly, Stuart Broad's 5 for 23 against South Africa only managed sixth place on the readers' list for ODI Bowling, as against second on the jury's.
Readers were invited to vote on the shortlists online on Cricinfo and just under 10,000 took the opportunity to do so.
The readers' top fives
Test Batting
Sachin Tendulkar 103 v England, Chennai | Virender Sehwag 201 v Sri Lanka, Galle | JP Duminy 166 v Australia, Melbourne | Virender Sehwag 83 v England, Chennai | Graeme Smith 154 not out v England, Edgbaston
Test Bowling
Dale Steyn 5 for 57 v Australia, Melbourne | Ajantha Mendis 4 for 72 v India, Colombo | Shakib Al Hasan 7 for 36 v New Zealand, Chittagong | Harbhajan Singh 6 for 102 v Sri Lanka, Galle | Dale Steyn 6 for 72 v West Indies, Durban
ODI Batting
Sachin Tendulkar 117 not out v Australia, CB Series final, Sydney | Yuvraj Singh 138 not out v England, Rajkot | Sanath Jayasuriya 125 v India, Asia Cup final, Karachi | Shakib Al Hasan 108 v Pakistan, Multan | Salman Butt 129 retd hurt v India, Kitply Cup final, Mirpur
ODI Bowling
Ajantha Mendis 6 for 13 v India, Asia Cup final, Karachi | Ishant Sharma 4 for 38 v Australia, Melbourne | Praveen Kumar 4 for 46 v Australia, CB Series final, Brisbane | Mashrafe Mortaza 4 for 44 v New Zealand, Mirpur | Zaheer Khan 4 for 21 v Sri Lanka, Dambulla
© Cricinfo
:clap: :clap:
Did anyone of our hubbers voted there??
I voted for Sehwag's 83 and Sachin's 117 8-)
LM, :D and :thumbsup:
http://www.hindu.com/thehindu/holnus...0901162024.htm
Sachin will always be great: Vaas
Kolkata (IANS): Sri Lankan fast bowler Chaminda Vaas Friday said that International Cricket Council (ICC) rankings were no indicator of a player's calibre and Sachin Tendulkar would always be regarded as an all time great batsman.
Vaas' comments came in the wake of the Tendulkar being placed 26th in ICC's all-time great ranking.
Vaas, who is here to play local cricket for Mohun Bagan, said he was still fit to make a comeback to the Lankan one day team any day.
"At the moment, the selectors are focussing on inducting new blood. Still I am fitter and can comeback in the team," Vaas said.
He felt that Ajantha Mendis had improved a lot following the experience he gained in top flight cricket. "He has shown consistency in Tests and One-dayers. This shows he has evolved as a bowler".
On Zaheer Khan, Vaas said: "The left arm-pacer has matured very much since the England series and was now bowling in the right areas."
http://cricket.expressindia.com/news...dulkar/411584/
It's feels special to be part of history: Tendulkar
Agencies
Posted: Jan 16, 2009 at 1817 hrs IST
Hyderabad: Sachin Tendulkar described it as special feeling to be a part of the team which created history by claiming a record 38 Ranji Trophy titles, in Hyderabad on Friday.
"Mumbai cricket has had a terrific history and some terrific players who represented the state. It feels truly special to be part of history," Tendulkar said.
"I would like to congratulate all my team members who really worked hard and they deserved every bit of it," he told reporters after the 243-run win against Uttar Pradesh at the Rajiv Gandhi International stadium.
"Mumbai has done it for the 38th time. Wasim mentioned that we made it to the finals on 42 occasions. That's a great record to have," he added.
Tendulkar scored 122 in the semi-finals against Saurashtra despite suffering from fever, which continued till the final match.
ICC officials have no regard for greats: Kapil
January 16, 2009 15:04 IST
Appalled at the International Cricket Council's [Images] all-time greats' list, the legendary Kapil Dev [Images] on Friday said the ratings make a mockery of legendary players like Sunil Gavaskar [Images] and Sachin Tendulkar [Images] who "served the game with unmatched devotion".
"I am appalled at the International Cricket Council's methods of devising the best batsman and the best bowler. It is all the more disappointing when I see that the names of Sunil Gavaskar and Sachin Tendulkar do not figure on the top," Kapil said.
"The ICC [Images] has mocked at the greatness of those who served the game with unmatched devotion. When batsmen like Gavaskar, Tendulkar and [Rahul] Dravid and bowlers like [Dennis] Lillee and [Wasim] Akram languish at the bottom there must be something seriously wrong with the judgment.
"It is similar to the Duckworth-Lewis, who came up with a devise that only they understand," he added.
The ICC came out with its list of all time greats of the game with Matthew Hayden [Images] at 10th and 18th places in the Tests and ODIs list while Tendulkar and Gavaskar languished at lower rungs.
"I don't want to go into the nitty-gritty of this needless ranking but the ICC should have known what it was indulging in when it made the list public.
"I think some ill-informed officials in the ICC have little regard for history and the efforts that go into an individual attaining greatness by playing the game over a long period of time and that too with distinction," he fumed.
"What is the criteria that goes into deciding who is the best. I am not casting any aspersions on the abilities of those whom ICC thinks are good enough to be ranked above Gavaskar and Tendulkar but I am sure even those players must be embarrassed," said the only World Cup winning captain from India.
Making a case for Gavaskar, Kapil said it was because of him that India could avoid many defeats as the team managed draws because of his knocks.
"What are the parameters that the ICC uses to come to such ridiculous decisions? Does a batsman become big or important only if he helps the team win a match? What about the matches he helps to draw.
"Look at the statistics of Gavaskar and look at the quality of bowlers he faced. How can you take away the credit of a Gavaskar taking on the likes of [Malcolm] Marshall, Lillee, [Jeff] Thomson, [Richard] Hadlee, [Joel] Garner, [Andy] Roberts, [Michael] Holding, [Bob] Willis, [Ian] Botham, [Derek] Underwood, Imran [Khan], Sarfaraz [Nawaz], [Abdul] Qadir," he said.
Kapil, who recently turned 50, feels Tendulkar deserves to be ranked along side or next to Don [Images] Bradman and putting him anywhere below that mark is an injustice to the batting maestro.
"Take Tendulkar's case. All modern bowlers agree that he has been the most outstanding opponent in all conditions. Brian Lara [Images] comes closest to him. To be told that Tendulkar is not among the best 20 of all time is indeed laughable. We all accept Don Bradman as the all time best but there can be no other candidate for the number two slot than Tendulkar", he said.
"How about Rahul Dravid [Images], who averages 60 overseas, the best by any batsman in the history of the game after Bradman," Kapil said.
Kapil, who is ranked 34th on the bowling list, said he was embarrassed to be placed ahead of tearaway Pakistan speedster Wasim Akram.
"The same goes for the bowlers too. Most modern batsmen would confess to having nightmares facing Wasim Akram, who is listed at 59th spot. I am listed 34th but I rate Akram better than me. Akram will always be the first choice in my all time XI.
"But the ICC has a different opinion. Who would you agree with in such a case. The batsmen who have suffered at the hands of Akram or the ICC which has some ludicrous method to draw up its list of best all time 20," he said.
Kapil also wondered how ICC would rate some great players from weaker teams, who struggle to win matches.
"What will happen to a batsman from, say, Zimbabwe. He makes runs against the best teams in international cricket but fails to win matches because his team is weak. How do you rate him?
"Do you consider the runs he had made or the wins his team has notched? I know India was not good enough to win matches but Gavaskar, hitting century after century, ensured that we did not lose," he asked.
http://www.rediff.com/cricket/2009/j...eats-kapil.htm
Kapil veluthu vaangitaapla :shock: :lol:
Kabil Devu pecha ellam poi serious-a eduthukittu :lol2:
Yen appidi solreenga? :lol:
Quote:
Originally Posted by crajkumar_be
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Br9xh3Hoaso
:clap: :clap:
Watch tony greig say @ 2.00 exactly "There is Tendulkar, then there is daylight, then there is the rest"
Watch Thalaivan play a belligerent knock before Mcgrath gets the better of him.
P.S: When the score is at 99/4 Sachin hits a 50.
p.s 2: Is this 98/99 series or 2000/01 series in India?. Australia are with full strength with Gillespie, kasprowicz, fleming, warne and mcgrath.
http://video.google.com/videosearch?...emb=1&start=40
A murder @ chepauk, Atleast the shots look so :lol:
When was this played?
AF,
Both videos are same :P This is the 2001 series opener played in Mumbai. Sachin scored 50 in both the innings (top scorer too), but the other batsmen miserably failed.
Scorecard
P.S: Thalaivar's on/straight drives :notworthy: :notworthy:
http://cricket.timesofindia.indiatim...ow/3998241.cms
Only Sachin an automatic selection in team: Ganguly
18 Jan 2009, 2149 hrs IST, PTI
KOLKATA: With the exception of Sachin Tendulkar, every Indian cricketer will have to be ready to get dropped from the team, Sourav Ganguly said
Sourav Ganguly
The Cricket Association of Bengal gave a colourful farewell to Sourav Ganguly. (TOI Photo)
on Sunday.
"This holds true for everyone with the only exception being Sachin Tendulkar... getting dropped and picked is a part and parcel in everyone's life," Ganguly said at a felicitation hosted by his home association CAB.
The former India captain remembered his "difficult" days in 2005 when he had a spat with the then coach Greg Chappell and consequently dropped from the Indian team.
In an open forum titled 'Insider's View' which saw Arun Lal acting as the moderator with Sambaran Banerjee, Pranab Roy, Utpal Chatterjee, Saba Karim, Deep Dasgupta, Devang Gandhi, Rohan Gavaskar and Laxmi Ratan Shukla in the panel, Ganguly said he was very disappointed after the 2005 episode.
"I was not happy and very disappointed with the turn out of events (in 2005)," he said. He said he had even wanted to know from the then selector Pranab Roy what actually happened in the closed room of selection.
"There were players like Harbhajan (Singh) and (Virender) Sehwag who stood up and then had to face the brunt of getting dropped. I knew something wrong was happening at the selection," he said.
Ganguly declined to talk about the infamous spat with Chappell, but said players like Sehwag and Harbhajan are match winners now. "Remember those are the players who are still the match winners... It's important for a captain to generate trust among your players, who stand up in the difficult times. When you win matches everybody will go overboard, but when you are not doing well it's your players who support you."
"But I had already played 400 matches by then (2005). In fact, I had given up at one point of time. But all my family members, the Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) and the people here supported me a lot. I knew by getting disappointed and sitting at home won't get me a place in the team. So I had to take the grind," Ganguly said.
He praised CAB chief Jagmohan Dalmiya who "has also been a huge support to me". "The CAB and the staff had provided me with all the facilities required to be successful cricketer. Lot of players retire with the Indian cricket team. But I consider myself fortunate to finish as a player with Bengal. It's been an honour to be part of the Bengal cricket team," he added.
Ganguly was referring to his last match against Goa in the Ranji Plate which helped Bengal return to the Super League this season. "It was a very crucial game for Bengal. I congratulate the entire team, the coach and the manager for doing a wonderful job this year. I know it's tough to get back to Elite Division from Plate. It's not a small achievement."
Terming the promotion to Elite Division a huge achievement for Bengal, the former left-hander said the state should now try to be the best team taking a cue from the Ranji champions Mumbai.
"Getting into Elite again after we lost about seven players to Indian Cricket League (ICL) is a big achievement. I wish them all the best in future years. It's not just going into Elite again, you have to do the best. Trying to emulate what Mumbai have achieved over the last 38 years. I am sure you have the quality to do so."
Recollecting how he got into Bengal side at the expense of his brother Snehashish in the Ranji Trophy final against Delhi in 1989-90, he said, "I didn't know about it till my father told me after I returned from my tuition. He asked me about the match and I said yes I am in the playing XV. But he said 'you are in the XI.' I was happy and in the excitement I did not inquire who was dropped."
"Only at night my mother told me that my elder brother was dropped. It didn't affect me as I was very excited but later I realised that my brother was disappointed. But then we won the Ranji Trophy and he again made a comeback... everything became normal."
Ganguly said his ailing father who is being treated at a hospital could not attend the function.
"I wish my dad was here. He has being a part of the association for very long time. I wish he was here to give me the award. My family members are attending him at the hospital. I thank my family members during my initial years and my last thank you to everyone. You have been a huge support."
http://www.orkut.com/Main#CommMsgs.a...42095436785853
Tendulkar: Fame & Family!!!
THIS IS AN EXTRACT FROM TENDULKARS BIOGRAPHY WRITTEN BY Gulu Ezekiel.
Every entertainer, whether on stage, screen or field of play, has an ego. In Tendulkar's case, he has accomplished what all superstars strive for, to harness that ego in a positive manner.
Ego has driven some international sportspersons when they visit India to bring the media in tow as they do their good deed for the day. It is the done thing to be seen and heard, attempting to alleviate the misery of India's teeming downtrodden.
When was the last time you saw even a photo of Tendulkar at a charity function? And yet, he gives his spare time unstintingly.
Journalist Joe Hoover knows this hidden side of Tendulkar well.
Sports Editor of Deccan Herald (Bangalore), Hoover has organised numerous charity auctions and functions where Tendulkar is the star attraction.
Man of the Series against England last year
"He is so approachable and he never says no," Hoover told me.
"He doesn't need the publicity because unlike some other sportspersons, he sees no need to use these acts to improve his image."
Hoover recalled an incident in Pakistan in 1997 when he called Tendulkar in his hotel room and asked him if he could give some signed bats for a charity auction.
"Within minutes he was on the phone, informing his bat manufacturers in Meerut to send over a dozen to New Delhi for this purpose."
Down to earth
Vijay Lokapally, the cricket correspondent for The Hindu and The Sportstar, has undoubtedly interviewed him more often than any other journalist.
"Sachin once said to me "kiti lihishil?" ("how much will you write?"), Lokapally told me.
"I first met him at a Wills Trophy match at Kanpur. This was before his 1989 Test debut. The next occasion was in New Delhi just before the Pakistan tour, his first.
"He and Vivek Razdan, the other debutant were very excited. And do you know, he has that same excitement about playing cricket after all these years?" according to Lokapally.
Tendulkar is an icon for fans young an old
"I have always been impressed by the dignified way he carries himself both on and off the field. Despite all his fame and wealth, he is very down to earth. That has not changed a bit in all the years I have known him."
Friends, family, food (particularly sea food - he enjoys a spot of cooking too), cricket and music. These are Tendulkar's passions in life.
Lokapally says you can guess which hotel room is his by the music blaring out of it.
"Dire Straits used to be his favourite group. But these days he is into old Hindi music. He seeks these out and gets them specially recorded."
This incidentally is another trait he shares with Sir Don Bradman who would lock himself up in his hotel room and play his gramophone records after the day's play.
Price of fame
"Sachin Tendulkar is an important person of our country. He is our country's wealth and we will protect him," said Mumbai's Commissioner of Police, MN Singh.
This followed reports that Tendulkar and Ganguly (India's captain) were kidnap targets for militant groups.
Dire Straits used to be Tendulkar's favourite band
Such is the price of fame. Another heavy price is the loss of privacy.
"Ask me anything you want about cricket, but keep my family out of this," he has told journalists repeatedly.
Wife Anjali, daughter Sara and son Arjun are the centre of his existence. Just as his parents and siblings were when he was growing up.
"My family life is altogether a different issue. I have always kept it a very private affair and I don't want that to be public. Everybody is watching whatever I do on the field.
"Even today they (his family) look after me and ensure that my feet are on the ground," he said when questioned as to how he copes with all the hopes and adulation of the fans. (The Week, November 29, 1998).......
Family influence
.....Sachin has spent all his life in Bandra, first with his parents and brothers and sisters at Sahitya Sahawas in Bandra (East) and since the middle of 2001, at the swank La Mer apartments in Bandra (West).
They may share virtually the same address. But Bandra (East) and Bandra (West) are worlds apart.
"West looks down its nose at East," says one long-time resident of the more up-market side of town.
Tendulkar with wife Anjali
For the first few years of their marriage Sachin and Anjali stayed in a separate flat in the same building where he grew up.
Le Mer was recommended to him by Prahlad Kakkar who has been directing his many of his commercials for a decade now. The Tendulkars bought a duplex apartment there in mid-2001.
"The apartment has more glittering stars than the milky way," one Mumbai sports journalist told me.
In that sense, Sachin has made the transformation from his solid middle-class youth to the world of Mumbai's glitterati.
The influence of Anjali and her parents, Anand (an international bridge player) and Annabelle Mehta (who is English and a leading philanthropist) have played a large part in this transition.
After they first met and then started dating, it was Mrs. Mehta who would disguise Sachin in wig and beard and smuggle the couple out to the family holiday homes in Lonavala and Goa, according to a family friend.
The Mehta's are one of Mumbai's wealthiest families, a fixture on the city's high-society circuit.
That's all a far cry from Sachin's roots. But he still keeps in touch with his old school-friends and often drops by to enjoy his mother's seafood dishes which he relishes. ("Favourite Food: Anything cooked by mother" according to a 'Life Lines' article in 1997).
Anjali was a practicing paediatrician till the birth of Arjun in 2000. Now she looks after the two kids who are the apple of their father's eye.
It is the daughter who has inherited her father's curly hair. As for Arjun, his father has already gifted him a plastic bat and ball.
"It may be a batsman's game. But I would want him to become a good all-rounder", says the proud father with characteristic determination.
source:
'Sachin - The Story of the World's Greatest Batsman'
Extract taken from chapter 35 - Man and Myth.
Oh am sorry :lol: :oops:
It was the ranji trohy video where sachin plays the likes of aashish nehra, balaji and leg spinner mishra.
Quote:
Originally Posted by littlemaster1982
துபாய்: சர்வதேச கிரிக்கெட் கவுன்சில் (ஐ.சி.சி.,) வெளியிட்டுள்ள ஒருநாள் கிரிக்கெட் பேட்ஸ்மேன்களுக் கான ரேங்கிங்கில் இந்தியாவின் சச்சின் 11வது இடத்துக்கு முன்னேறியுள்ளார்
Link iyyandi :PQuote:
Originally Posted by ajithfederer
LM, please check whether the above link is working for you!!.
http://www.hindu.com/2009/01/21/stor...2156281900.htm
I can never be even half of what Tendulkar is: Sehwag
— Photo: PTI
PLAINSPEAK: Virender Sehwag says he would be honoured to be known as Sachin Tendulkar’s disciple.
New Delhi: He once said in jest that the only difference between him and Sachin Tendulkar was in their bank balances, but Virender Sehwag, a trailblazer in his own way, said on Tuesday that as a batsman he can never be “half of what the batting maestro is.”
Very early in his career, Sehwag, whose height and body structure nearly makes him a Tendulkar look-alike when they are at the wicket, had said “the only difference between us is in our bank balance. I am nowhere near him.”
In fact, Sehwag arguably the most daring batsman in world cricket today told PTI in an interview that he would be honoured if Tendulkar is viewed as his ‘guru.’
“I would be honoured if he is viewed as my guru and I as his shishya (disciple).”
Excerpts:
We all know Tendulkar is special to you, an icon you have been compared with throughout your career and about whom you once famously said ‘the only difference between us is in our bank balance.’
That quote was said in jest. Please don’t take that seriously. A Virender Sehwag can never even be half of what the batting maestro is. I am nowhere near him. I grew up watching and idolising him, his style, his shots I always tried to copy. The best I can be is to be his disciple. I would be honoured if he is viewed as my ‘guru’ and I as his ‘shishya.’
When you view Tendulkar, what’s the thing about him you wish you had?
Everything. And it’s just not about his unique style of batting. It is his humility, his entire persona. I really feel his records will never be broken.
For somebody to do it, he would not only need the talent and longevity but also a rare luck with injuries. And that still might not be enough!
He started his career at the age of 15 plus. Somebody would have to start at 14 years! The equations you need to have in your favour to get past his 83 international centuries and nearly 30,000 runs (and still counting) are nearly impossible.
A trait you seem to share with Tendulkar is being cool on the field. You never seem to lose your shirt in a heated battle in the middle?
It’s a philosophy I have learnt from my parents. They have always emphasised: If somebody teases you, you reply with a smile or laugh. It would only irritate him further.
Sure bowlers would have tried to rile you with their tongue over the years. A fiery fast bowler, say somebody like Shoaib Akhtar?
Yes they do. I remember Shoaib Akhtar launching a verbal fusillade during my triple century in Pakistan. He kept bowling bouncers and taunting me: ‘Maar. Himmat hai to ise maar’ (if you have courage hit these bouncers) or ‘tu sirf third man par hi shot mar sakta hai’ (you can only hit in the third man area).
I kept telling him: ‘Yeh tu mere non-striker saathi ko bowl kar ke dekh (You try bowling to my non-striker partner). My partner at that stage was Tendulkar.
I, on my part, kept telling Shoaib: “How come I am scoring runs at third man even when you have a fielder in that region? And when I hit him straight down the ground, I told him this wasn’t a shot square of the wicket!
It was Tendulkar who guided India to its biggest ever chase on home soil — a target of 387 against England in Chennai — a few weeks ago. But you set up the win on the fourth evening with a blistering 83 off 69 balls. Did you plan that innings?
On the contrary, I didn’t want to hit those fours. I kept telling Gautam (Gambhir) that I wouldn’t hit fours. But they kept bowling short and I kept square-cutting. And they all were fours.
Out of the first eight fours, six were from square-cuts. Gautam just told me to bat as I normally do. But I really didn’t want to hit fours on the fourth evening!
Eventually we finished the day on 133 for one and the platform for a win was firmly established. — PTI
http://www.hindu.com/thehindu/holnus...0901221540.htm
Clean sweep: Sachin to drive home cleanliness message
Mumbai (PTI): Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) will make a short film featuring master blaster Sachin Tendulkar to spread the message of cleanliness.
Asmita Chitra, a venture owned by Smita Talwalkar of the Talwalkar Group, has been appointed by the BMC to make the film.
Officials from the the civic body said the film will show the level of cleanliness that the citizens should maintain in their surroundings. It will also highlight the importance of keeping the metropolis clean.
The project is expected to cost Rs 50 lakh, they said.
"The shooting will begin soon and the 30-minute documentary will be ready by the next financial year," said Geeta Chaddha, Production Controller of Asmita Chitra.
"Sachin Tendulkar's appearance will create an impact on citizens and the message given by him will be taken seriously," she said.
"The film will be made on behalf of the BMC. Once ready it will be shown in theatres. Its CDs and DVDs will also be available and they will be distributed in municipal and private schools and colleges," said a BMC official.
"Earlier actor Aamir Khan was approached but due to his prior commitments he was not able to do the film. Later Tendulkar was approached and he agreed to play a role in the film," Chaddha said.
wizards-ai paththi kErattar study paNrANaam....a la Silpa KumarQuote:
:notworthy: @silpa reference
INTERVIEW / Sachin Tendulkar speaks about 2008, an year of more glory than struggles
I dont know how much impact I have made
R Kaushik
"It was a good year. I was quite happy with the way the year has gone by, from a personal perspective."
Sachin Tendulkar began 2008 in a blaze of glory, with a century in the Sydney Test, and ended it in glorious fashion, making an unconquered 103 to help India overhaul 387 in a stirring run chase in Chennai against England. The 35-year-old hogged the limelight all the way through last year, along the way playing a lead role in India’s triumph in the triangular series in Australia and supplanting Brian Lara as the highest run-scorer in Test history.
In this chat with Deccan Herald, Tendulkar looks back at the year that was, among other things. Excerpts:
Both from a personal and team perspective, 2008 was quite a success, wasn’t it?
It was a good year. I was quite happy with the way the year has gone by, from a personal perspective. We have been able to achieve some good things and I have been a part of it. It feels nice. I am quite satisfied with how things have worked out. As a team, we have been able to achieve certain things and while doing so, I have been able to contribute. That makes it even more satisfying.
Your defining moment of last year?
Winning the tri-series in Australia. We beat Australia in the two finals. That would have to be the highlight, I would say. There are not many sides that have done that to Australia in Australia. Throughout the series, we were on top. Eventually, we lifted the trophy. It makes it truly special. From a personal point of view, in those two crucial games, the finals, I was able to contribute. That is very satisfying.
During that last-day hundred in Chennai, did memories of unfinished business against Pakistan in 1999 ever come back to you?
Somewhere in the back of my mind, it was there. Because that match against Pakistan which we lost hurt me so badly that it was obviously hard to forget. It was very much there in the back of my mind. This win did compensate a little bit for that loss. Looking at the timing and the way we played, it certainly makes me feel better. Yes, I would say it did compensate for 1999.
You were a central figure in the Harbhajan Singh-Andrew Symonds controversy. What impact did the saga have on you and the team?
It just brought us all even closer. We were determined only to be focused on the game and not to focus on anything else. That is what we did. We didn't let the controversy affect us, and it showed. The very next Test in Perth, we won that game. We were rather determined to go out there and produce good cricket because so many people had come there to watch good cricket; we wanted to go out there and win. It meant a lot to us. The target was to win that Test match. We played hard, we fought hard and we won that Test match. Especially after what had happened, it was extremely important for cricket to leave all the controversies aside and make sure that the cricketers do something special to make people forget about all those things and get on with the game.
Tell us about the maturity and composure you have shown over the last 19 years. Does one have to be born with it or can it be learnt?
It's something you can learn, and I learnt it from my father. I learnt it in my family. It’s not that my father always told me what I needed to do and what I needed to say. Just observing my father closely, the way he handled situations, it taught me a lot. Now it's there in me, I know that. I learnt everything from him and it has made a huge difference. My father was a huge guiding force. Not only my cricketing problems, but all his cousins, my cousins, everyone... if anyone had any problem, they would just walk up to him and look for advise. He was a major force in the family and everyone relied heavily on him.
Have you ever reflected on the kind of impact you have made on the cricketing world?
No, to be honest, I don't know how much impact I have made. I know people love me, they like me. It has been terrific. I have been extremely fortunate and God has been very, very kind. But about the impact on the next generation or generally among the people, I really don't know how much. I know people like me and are around me; all that feels great, obviously. It feels even better when people appreciate your performances. But I have not really taken aside some time to think about all these things. I have just gone with flow and tried to be as natural and normal as possible. Whatever I have done for a number of years was only because I felt I should deal with a particular situation in that manner, and people have liked me for that. I have not made any special effort to change myself to be different or something. In short, I don't know how much impact I have made!
The Sri Lanka Test series was one of the rare failures for the team and for yourself...
That tour was a close tour, according to me. The decisive third Test was a pretty tightly fought Test to an extent. In the middle part, Ishant got injured, then I got injured. I thought we were very much on track and then it gradually started to slip away due to various reasons including injury. We lost 2-1. It wasn't as bad as it was made out to be. Barring a couple of guys, we obviously didn't get enough runs, and that will happen if you have players playing for such a long time. But that's fine. It made us even more determined to do better in the next series.
Post Sri Lanka, all the talk was about the Fab Four...
It's probably a trend to talk about age. If we can focus on performances and nothing else, that is how it should be, according to me. If somebody is performing, that’s good. Because it was again the same Fab Four, as they say, that played against Australia. We won that series. There was one change from the Fab Four against England (following Ganguly’s retirement), and we won that series too. People only remember those things which they want to remember!
Your impressions of Mahendra Singh Dhoni, the skipper?
He is a balanced guy, he has shown tremendous character. He is calm, and he handles situations very well. He is a good student of the game, I picked that quite early in his career when I used to be in the slips and he used to discuss various things. I knew that he was talking differently compared to many other players. I felt he was pretty capable of managing various situations. He has lived up to the expectations. It's nice to see that he is calm and composed and through the good times and the bad times, he has been quite balanced. I feel he is doing a good job.
India haven’t won a Test series in New Zealand for over three decades now...
I am sure that would be our target. Our target would be to go out there and play good cricket. I know that if we do that, we would have done a good job. We don't want to chase victories. We want to focus more on playing good cricket. The process that we have all been following — we want to chase that. If we can manage to catch up with that, then the rest will follow. It's not only about winning, it's also about how we get there. We want to be more focused on how we get there. It will happen provided we follow our processes. That is where the focus would be.
http://www.deccanherald.com/Content/...0121113881.asp
:ty: AF. Check pannittu solren :)Quote:
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/...ow/4027049.cms
Tendulkar, Harbhajan share light moments with NSG commandos
NEW DELHI: In a bid to honour the courage and sacrifice of National Security Guard commandos during the Mumbai terror attacks, Indian batting
maestro Sachin Tendulkar and off-spinner Harbhajan Singh spent a day at the NSG headquarters at Manesar near here.
During their stay, Tendulkar and Harbhajan also tried their hand at the tough 26 obstacle training course of the commandos, which includes jumping from heights, climbing heights, running through large distances etc.
The cricketers also witnessed the Anti Terrorist Conditioning Course, which the commandos undergo in almost real life terror situations, complete with fire, smoke and live bullets.
The duo also interacted the with the commandos who participated in the 26/11 Mumbai terror operation.
During an interaction with the commandos, an emotional Tendulkar said, "Without a doubt it's you guys who are the real heroes, we just play cricket, you play with your life so that we are secure, I salute and your families because they have an important role in your sacrifice."
"It's truly an honour for both of us to be here and see what all of you are doing. Your hard work and contribution to the nation can never be compared with that of an actor or a sportsman. Although we always give our best to keep the nation flag high but our contribution in front of yours is much less in comparison to your contribution to our Nation. We are the role models for many people but we are proud to say that you are our role models."
LM, Enna doctor checkup aa panreenga?? :twisted:
Office-la irukken. Back after one week leave :oops: Veettukku poidhaan paarkkanum :ashamed:
Sirikanth innumA commentry sollrAn. And Ranji-la color costumes :shock:Quote:
Sachin range-kku jujubi matter. But the shots were terrific. No slogging whatsoever which is what makes him special.
Yes i am shocked to see ranji la colour costumes. And yeah jujubi matter. oru couple of slapsweep shots over midwicket/longoff over mishra :shock: :notworthy:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nerd
eppo nadantha ranji match?
http://www.orkut.com/Main#CommMsgs.a...876771&start=1
jus now saw a video in cnn-ibn ....sachin n harbajan went to meet the commandos n their family who fought in 26/11...sachin became emotional n cried when he met one of the lady who lost her husband in 26/11 ....this show that he is kind hearted n patriotic ...i even got more emotion on seeing this video
Did anyone see this in cnn-ibn??
Quote:
Mishra, Balaji, Nehra ellAm orE team viLayAduraanga. It is not Ranji.Quote:
I think it is some Challenger's trophy match.
Having said that, a few years back they did have Ranji ODi tournament which was played in colors.
Yeah, it's a Challenger Trophy match. There was another video of this match in Youtube too. Can't find it now :|
My friends watched this match live :sigh2:
Oh Thanks PR.
LM, Nalla velai neenga pogalai :lol2: :yessir:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prabhu Ram
http://cricketnext.in.com/videos/377...-memorial.html
Quote:
AF :twisted:
http://www.cricket360.com/947-tendul...the-globe.html
Tendulkar: Motivator of Cricketers across the Globe
It seems that the nightmare of Sachin Tendulkar bashing Shane Warne still haunts him in his dreams. It is manifest from his observation that though the current Indian cricket team under the leadership of Mahendra Singh Dhoni is scaling new frontiers in the international cricketing arena, its aspiration to become Number 1 Team in the world cannot be realized if Sachin Tendulkar is not around.
The stalwart like presence and the inspiration that Sachin brings to the dressing room, Warne feels, would be one of the key catalytic factors that would catapult Indian cricket team to become number one in the world.
If it comes from the mouth of Shane Warne, Cricket360 feels, it has to be taken as an acknowledgement about the prowess of Sachin as when Sachin had literally thrashed Warne, and sent him into an era of sports wilderness, Warne was bowling at the peak and prime of his career. Warne's mere presence in the Australian team used to send threat down the spines of the opponents, and when he was made mince meat by Tendulkar, the acknowledgement indeed is a salutation to the genius of Tendulkar.
Warne holds Tendulkar in the highest esteem for the sheer reason that Tendulkar is one of the best judges of the line and length of the bowler and the manner in which he conducts himself on the pitch.
He is also of the view that the level of competitiveness that Australia injected in the international cricket is the reason why other teams have caught up with Australia and it is good for the International Cricket. He also felt that there was no disgrace to acknowledge that India was able to defeat Australia in the recently held series, as they were a better team and losing to a better team is always the motivation to upscale the performance to avenge defeat at a future date.
Shane Warne has fond memories of his performance as a captain and coach for Rajasthan Royals, and he holds the view that the team spirit that he was able to create was the memory that he would always cherish for his life. He, however, still holds the view that Rajasthan Royals got him at a cheap price in the bargain, when viewed from the fact that he led the team to victory in the first season of Indian Premier League.
His success with 20-20 does not mean that Warnie has forgotten Test Cricket, which gave him international recognition. He holds the view that he was a great aficionado of test cricket, and 20-20 would not in any way be able to diminish its aura.