kugan nga....superdelicious idea to try it like yr friends method too.....without the shrimp :thumbsup:
even i have not tried the lassi nov ngov has mentioned.....
Printable View
kugan nga....superdelicious idea to try it like yr friends method too.....without the shrimp :thumbsup:
even i have not tried the lassi nov ngov has mentioned.....
Hmmm.. oru naal 15 pErukku samaichatukkE 2 naal iduppu nagurthu, kaal vali vanthuduchcu, eppadi namma Mrs K frequent-a samaikkuraangalo :roll: :roll: :lol:
suvai - neenga 'ring' pannathum ungala vara sonnene, yEn varala :?: :P vanthu irunthaal paarthuraththa namma sernthE urutti irukkelaam :lol: :lol:
well friends - i didn't cook much, just white basmati, paasipayir sambar with carrots, thakkali, kaththirikkaay and kilangu plus side dishes like snake beans, okra, tofu sambal, potatoes varuval, vege fish kulambu and tomatoe chutney plus mixed fruits and ice -cream for dessert :D
...ellorum epapdi irukkeenga?
Nm, super menu cook panni irukkeerengga.
I am sure your friends would have enjoyed
their meals.
You are a super cook, intha leg valliyilum
neenga cook pannanathu great.
Naanna suriti paduthu irrupen.
Thanks Nm, nice to see your post.
Take care and do please look into your
leg pain. Kugan98
Mrs K : :D :D
Thank you for the moral support :)
vaanga nm....ipadi jamaichi thalli irukeenga......with aches & pain....i tell u when the guests enjoy the food.....it is worth all the pain one goes thru ileengala ;-)
sincerely hope that u will feel better soon nga nm...
neenga en number ah pottu iruntheenganaa karandiyum kaiyumaa vanthu irupeney.....kitchenai oru kallaku kallaki iruka maatomaa naama... :rotfl: :rotfl:
yr menu looks
karandiyum kayumaavey ennai pick up pa :thumbsup: athennaanga thakali nu pottu irukeenga...athai kathirikaayoda senjeengala?
what is snake beans ngov? (pudalangaya?)
Kugan nga...neenga ellaam surundu padukara aal maathri enaku therila.... :noteeth:
wish we were all living close by so that we can get together in one persons house once a month....how awesome it wld be eh????
NM, super menu... :slurp: Take care of ur leg...:)
Suvai, snake beans is long beans...http://kochconnect.com/wp-content/up.../snakebean.jpg
K, amma always make biriyani this way...but she adds vvery lil of biriyani masala pwd insted of cori pwd...
dear dev, K and suvai-nga - thanks a lot for your concerns. You concerns must have reverberated through the universe !
Today, out of the blue, my colleague, a medical doctor and well known in his own field, enquired me about it and asked me to let him know if i need his help in getting a referral to a better specialist :).
Thanks Friends :)...
oru joke kElungga -
NM veettu tomatoe rice = K's simple briyani recipe without vegetables, curd, chillies & chillie powder;
NM veettu ney soru = K's simple briyani recipe with just 1 tomatoe, without vege, curd, chillies & chillie powder :rotfl2:
:lol: @ NM
K, Roti Gambang recipe therinja post pannunga...:)
Suvai, I too wished, it would be nice if we all lived close by :sigh2: Thanks Suvai, Kugan98
Nm, pray God unggalukku eppadiyaavathu
oru nalla vazhi kidaikanum.
Kugan98
Dev, I remember that it is an Indonesian recipe.
My former maid used to do that.
Let me check my file and post the recipe.
Thanks, Kugan98
K - Happy Independence Day!
Yes K... its an indonesian recipe...:)
WISHING ALL MY FRIENDS
A VERY HAPPY KRISHNA JAYANTHI
[html:a0f54cef55]
http://img444.imageshack.us/img444/3551/krishna.jpg
[/html:a0f54cef55]
[tscii]Friends, I made, murukkus, tattai, vella seedai, uppu seedi, for the prayers. We also have aval and fruits for the prayers.
The pooja is performed in the late evening as Krishna was born at midnight. Generally most of the sweets and savouries are prepared on that day only. The front yard is decorated by drawing a kolam .
This is done using soaked rice ground to a fine paste and mixed with lot of water. Krishna’s feet is drawn from the front porch to the pooja room, indicating that the lord is entering our home. We do the Srikrishna Ashtothra Naamavali (chanting of 108 names of Lord Krishna) for the Pooja.
Thanks friends, take care,
Kugan98
[tscii]
BRINJAL TAMARIND MIX
Ingredients:
250 grms brinjals cut into small chunks
150 grms onion chopped
150 grms tomatoes chopped
3 green chillies slit and cut across
1 tsp ginger paste
1 tsp garlic paste
Lime sized tamarind soaked in 2 cups of water
3 tsp coriander powder
2 tsp red chillie powder
½ tsp turmeric powder
1 tbs oil
2 dried red chillies cut into pieces
1 tsp mustard seeds
2 sprigs curry leaves
Little coriander leaves chopped
Salt to taste
Little jiggery
Method:
Heat a pot with the oil.
Add in the mustard seeds, cut red chillies and curry leaves.
Let the mustard seeds splutter.
Add in the onions and sauté well, till it browns a bit.
Add in the ginger garlic paste, sauté well.
Add in the tomatoes and sauté well
Now add in the brinjals and stir nicely.
Let it cook for a minute. Add in the green chillies.
Now add in the chillie , coriander and turmeric powders.
Mix nicely till the spices coat the brinjals well.
The brinjals should cook till a bit mushy.
Now pour in the tamarind juice, add salt.
Mix nicely and cook on medium flame till the gravy thickens.
Add in the jiggery. Boil once and remove.
Goes well with simple basic biriyani.
[html:2f304055c6]
http://img535.imageshack.us/img535/5...amarindmix.jpg
[/html:2f304055c6]
[tscii]Suvai, here is your carrot mango chutney.
Enjoy. Kugan98
MANGO CARROT CHUTNEY
Ingredients:
200 grms carrot grated
½ tsp oil
200 grms sour mango grated
1 tsp ginger finely grated
To roast and grind to powder:
1 tsp urad dal
½ tsp cumin seeds
¼ tsp fenugreek seeds
5 dried red chillies cut into pieces (more if you like)
To Temper:
1 tsp mustard seeds
1 sprig curry leaves
A pinch of asafoetida powder
1 tsp oil
Salt to taste
Method:
Heat the ½ tsp of oil, sauté the grated carrots.
Sauté well till the raw smell goes.
Roast and grind all the ingredients to powder.
Now add the sautéed carrots, grated mango, ginger,
the roasted powder with salt and grind to a paste.
Sprinkle little water and grind to make to chutney consistency.
Heat a pan with the oil, temper all the ingredients.
Pour it on the chutney, and serve.
NOTE: See that your mango is sour.
Not over sour. The sweetness of the carrots
and the sourness of the mango and the
heat from the chillie should blend.
[html:2975f0a80e]
http://img535.imageshack.us/img535/7...rotchutney.jpg
[/html:2975f0a80e]
engE RajRajacholan uncle ah kaanOm :lol2: :yessir:
Hi to all,
How r u all? I am a silent reader of this thread.Once or twice I have posted messages in this thread. :o
Kugan madam can u pls post poriyal recipe that can be done with chow-chow.I am bored of doing Kootu and sambar with it.And also Vinayakar chathurthi is coming.Can u tell me apart from kolukattai and modhagam what else we can offer (simple and easy dish)to Lord Ganesh!!!
Really everyday our menu contains one dish from this hub.Today I made Vendaikka kulambu given by Aarthi
:swinghead: It came out well.Thanks Aarthi!! :ty:
Thank you Kugan for all your mouth watering recipes.
I think you still owe me fried onion ring recipe.
Also please post few non-vege recipes.
Dear bkarthika, welcome to the thread.
Its nice to see, silent readers posting.
Glad that the forum is of help to you.
As for your request, I have pmed two types of poriyal to you.
I will cook and post with pictures in the forum.
You can even make moor kulambu, patchadi, and raitha
Karthika, normally, I will do the kolukattais, modagam, sundal and puli saatham.
I do not do lot of sweets for the prayer.
Different famalies, have different type of preparations.
Thanks and take care, Kugan98
Sorry Gulabjamun, I will soon post the recipe for you.
As a bonus, I will post some non-vege recipes for you.
Thanks, Kugan98.
Rajraj uncle :confused2:
Kugan98
He is under house arrest by Aunty ji :lol2: :yessir:Quote:
Originally Posted by kugan98
K, oru doubt... everytime I make boiled peanuts(raw peanuts with shell), it doesn't absorb enough salt no matter how much salt I add n however long I cook(I cook it for somethng between 8-10 whitles in a pressure cooker)... any tips?
SIMBLY dont boil it :yessir:Quote:
Originally Posted by dev
Dev, oh I love boiled peanuts.
Here is how I do it.
BOILED PEANUTS
Wash unshelled peanuts thoroughly in cold water until water runs clear; then soak in cool, clean water for approximately 30 minutes before cooking.
Place 1 kg of peanuts still in the shell in a large heavy pot.
place soaked peanuts and cover completely with water.
The water should cover about 3 inches above the nuts.
Add 1 cup of salt for about 4 litres of water.
Boil the peanuts for approximately 1 to 2 hours, stirring occasionally.
After 1 hour , reduce the heat to maintain a rolling simmer.
Taste in 1 hour for , both for salt and texture.
Keep cooking and tasting until the peanuts reach desired texture (when fully cooked, the texture of the peanut should be similar to that of a cooked dry pea or bean).
Remove from heat and drain peanuts after cooking or they will absorb salt and become over salted.
Serve peanuts warm.
NOTE: Do not add any additional salt until near the end of the cooking process, the peanuts apparently don't really start to absorb the salt until near the end.
Newly harvested nuts cook faster than the old ones.
I have not tried in pressure cooker.
Some people add little tumeric powder while
boiling the nuts.
[html:4aeb8ce3b8]
http://img713.imageshack.us/img713/2...ledpeanuts.jpg
[/html:4aeb8ce3b8]
[tscii]VALAKKAI PODI TUVAL
Ingredients.
2 fully matured valakkai
¼ tsp turmeric powder
1 tsp tamarind paste
Salt to taste
To Roast In Oil And Grind Into Coarse Powder:
2 tsp coriander seeds
1 tsp channa dal
1 tsp urad dal
4 dried red chillies
Little asafoetida powder
Little oil
¼ tsp mustard seeds
1 sprig curry leaves
½ tsp oil
Method:
Skin the valakkai, slit it into two length wise.
Then cut it into ½ inch pieces.
Add 1 ½ cups of water to the tamarind paste,
Add in enough salt and the turmeric powder.
Add in the cut valakkai pieces.
Boil till ¾ cooked, drain and keep aside.
Prepare the podi with the ingredients.
Heat a wok with the oil.
Add in the mustard seeds and curry leaves.
Let it splutter, add in the boiled valakkai.
Saute nicely in the oil.
Now add in the ground coarse powder.
Stir and mix nicely. Roast well in the wok and remove.
[html:1efdb5ff4d]
http://img411.imageshack.us/img411/5218/img8850y.jpg
[/html:1efdb5ff4d]
[tscii]
VALAITHANDU PORIYAL
1 cup chopped banana stems in thin moru.
1 tbs moong dal soaked and boiled
1 tbs grated coconut
1 tsp oil
½ tsp mustard seeds
½ tsp channa dal
½ tsp urad dal
¼ tsp asafoetida powder
2 dry red chillie cut into pieces
1 sprig curry leaves
little tumeric powder
salt to taste
Method;
Heat a wok with the oil,
Add in the mustard seeds, channa dal, urad dal.
Sauté for a minute, add in the curry leaves and red chillies.
Sauté them well.
Now squeeze out the thin moru from the stem.
Add in the cut banana stems to the wok.
Stir fry nicely, sprinkle little thin moru if needed.
Add salt, tumeric powder and stir fry till cooked.
Add in the boiled moong dal
Stir, fry again, lastly add in the grated coconut.
Stir, fry well and remove.
Serve with rice.
[html:4b05230cca]
http://img822.imageshack.us/img822/7...lwithgrams.jpg
[/html:4b05230cca]
Friends, our buddy Aarthii is suffering from very
bad sinus. She says she cannot even lift her head.
To make things worse, her husband is away in Ireland.
She finds it so difficult to converse in Hindi.
Pity her, pray that she gets better soon.
Take care Aarthii, Kugan98
Kugan, the vazhakai recipe sounds so good-I'll try it next time I get it. Good wishes to Aarthii.
K, homeopathy is very effective for sinus... If possible, ask her to c a homeopath... I hope she gets better soon... My prayers for her quick recovery...:bow:
K, I'll try boiling the peanuts as per ur method next time...Hope amma doesn't kick me out of the house for finishing off a quarter cylinder to boil peanuts...;) :lol: you know, LPG cyliners are not freely available in our place... there is always a long waiting time to get it delivered...:sigh:
hello nga kugannnnnn :-)
thank u for the mango & carrot chutney...neenga enaku sonna measurement vachey try panninen...romba tastya irunthichi.....thank u nga.
ahaaa...boiled peanuts ah......enakum romba pidikum dev & kugan......i dont put it for 8 to 10 whistles dev......romba kuzhainchi poidum.
(remember the peanuts we get here are different from the ones we get in india) that is why probably that needs more whistles.....apo thaan thirumbi paarkum pola... :mrgreen:
ingeytha peanuts ku oru whistle adicha pothum....(thirumbidum) vendhudum.:mrgreen:
vendha verkadalai thaalichi kottina superrrrr o superrrrrr....verumna saapitaalum arumaiyo arumai....entha vagaiyila saapitaalum vegu jore...;-)
kugan nga...thank u for the vazhaikai podi potta poriyal & vaazhai thandu poriyal....rendumey amarkalamaai iruku....panitu solaren...(kaai kidaikumbothu) maybe i can try urulai kizhangu or cheppangkizhangu the same style ;-)
aarthi......hope u recover soon. keeping u in my prayers.
dev if cyclinders are not freely available.....how r ppl managing??? :-(
Dev, maybe Suvai is right.
India groundnuts konjam tough pola :lol:
Soak it first for 30 minutes.
Then boil for about 1/2 an hour and check Dev.
Maybe it will cook by an hour or 45 minutes.
Cylinder no problem, naan anupi vaikkeren.
Take care, Kugan98
Suvai, glad that can see your post every week.
Thanks for the feed back.
I will make groundnut sundal at times.
Boil the raw groundnuts, than talichify it.
Tastes great. Thanks, Kugan98
[tscii]I made this subji for simple ghee rice.
The combination was great.
MUSHROOM SUBJI
400 grms fresh button or oyster mushrooms
¼ tsp turmeric powder
2 tsp coriander powder
1 tsp chillie powder
½ cup grated coconuts roasted until golden colour
5 cashew nuts
1 big onion chopped
1 big tomato chopped
1 tsp ginger paste
1 tsp garlic paste
2 green chillies slit and cut across
1 tbs ghee or oil
½ tsp mustard seeds
1 sprig curry leaves
1 tsp garam masala powder
Salt to taste
Little coriander leaves chopped
Method:
Grind the roasted coconut and cashew nuts
to a fine paste and keep aside.
Clean and cut the mushrooms and keep.
Heat a wok with the ghee or oil.
Add in the mustard seeds, let it splutter.
Add in the chopped onions and sauté till lightly brown.
Add in the chopped tomatoes and cook till mushy.
Add in the turmeric, chillie , salt and coriander powder.
Sauté and cook till the raw smell goes.
Add in the mushrooms, mix well and cook for a minute.
Add in the curry leaves, green chillies and the ground paste.
Add little water for the gravy, mix well and boil once.
Add in the garam masala powder, and the coriander leaves.
Mix well and remove.
Goes well with simple biryani
[html:eb3a6969dc]
http://img37.imageshack.us/img37/2664/mushroomsbjii.jpg
[/html:eb3a6969dc]
Dear Lakme, thanks for your post.
Try and post us the feed back.
Thanks and take care, Kugan98