Thanks Aarthii and Rajraj uncle.
Uncle, I will surely visit you and aunty when I come to Canada.
Thanks, Kugan98
Printable View
Thanks Aarthii and Rajraj uncle.
Uncle, I will surely visit you and aunty when I come to Canada.
Thanks, Kugan98
[tscii]Dear KPR, here is your request for the kurma.
Sorry for the late reply. Enjoy KPR.
PLAIN KURMA
Ingredients.
2 big red onions sliced
1 big tomato chopped fine
3 tsp ginger garlic paste
¼ tsp turmeric powder
½ tsp garam masala powder
½ tsp aniseeds
1 stick cinnamon stick
2 star anise
2 bay leaves
3 cardamom pods
1 sprig curry leaves
3 tbs ghee
Lime juice to taste
Salt to taste
Little cut coriander leaves
To Grind To Paste:
5 green chillies
1 tbs coriander powder
½ tsp cumin seeds
1 tsp aniseed powder
6 cashew nuts
1 tsp kas kas
5 tsp grated coconut
Method:
Heat the 3 tbs of ghee in a pot.
Add in the ½ tsp aniseeds cinnamon, star anise,
bay leaves, curry leaves and cardamom pods.
After a minute add in the sliced onions.
Sauté well till the onions turn limp.
Add in the garlic ginger paste, sauté well.
Now add in the chopped tomatoes, and cook till mushy.
Now add in the ground paste, salt, garam masala powder
and turmeric powder. Fry the masala till oil seperates.
Add in about 3 cups of water and allow the mixture to boil.
Once it boils and the gravy thickens, remove from the stove.
Add in the lime juice and garnish with the cut coriander leaves.
Can be served with pooris, idli, idiyappam, chapathi.
Use this kurma to fry kotthu parotta.
NOTE: Always remove the spices such as cinnamon sticks and things before serving this kurma.
[html:9caaf4a34f]
http://img408.imageshack.us/img408/9857/kurma.jpg
[/html:9caaf4a34f]
HAPPY NEW YEAR
HAPPY NEW YEAR to everyone in the Kugan's Kitchen
May you have the greatest time bringing it in, and make it the the most amazing year ahead for you!
Wish you all the best for the new year.
I am looking forward to 2011.
Hope it turns out to be a much better year than the previous one!!
CHEERS everyone. Kugan98
[html:6877cc7289]
http://img192.imageshack.us/img192/3...db9598b04d.jpg
[/html:6877cc7289]
Thanks for the new year wishes kuganka.
Dear Friends,
Wish u all a very happy and wonderful new year :)
Dear Kugan and all friends,
May 2011 bring peace and prosperity to all!
Kugan, I wish you and all our friends a very happy new year.
Thank you so much for all the nice recipes.I hope you will continue to give us more and more recipes in the coming year.
God bless your selflessness in giving us your recipes.
Happy new year.
Hai Kugan, happy new year to all my friends in Kugan's Kitchen. May this year be good to everyone.
Sorry kugan did not post anything for sometime.
Very busy, thanks for everything.
Rose75
Hi K and KK's friends :)
A very happy new year to all of you!
May the year ahead brings lots of great health, great wealth and greater happiness in all our homes :)
Happy New Year ! :)
A very Happy New year to all of KK's friends.
Suja
Thanks, thanks for all the kind wishes for the New Year.
NM, welcome, hope you enjoyed your holidays.
Suja, please come to the forum, when you have the time.
Do not forget us.
Aarthii, Lakme, Rajraj uncle, Rose75, Gulabjamun, Selviem, Dev, Suvai, bkarthika, Madhu, Sudha, P.S Tamby, Tiru Tamby, Jay Tamby, and last my NOV anneh.
Kugan, humbly begs for forgiveness, if Kugan has left out any names.
Thanks for the nice 2010. You all made it happen.
Take care, Kugan98
[tscii]
Let me start the New Year with a sweet dessert.
This is a Bengali delicacy, served in parties as a sweet dessert.
It is served in cups just like how we serve ice cream.
MISTI DOI
Ingredients:
1 litre full cream milk
1 cup sugar
1 tbs smooth fresh curds
¼ cup sugar
3 tbs water.
Method:
In a heavy pot, pour the milk and 1 cup of sugar.
Boil milk till almost ¾ of its original quantity.
Leave it aside.
Blend the ¼ cup sugar and 3 tbs of water,
on a extremely slow flame and lightly caramelize.
Quickly stir the caramel into the hot milk and whisk vigorously.
Leave it aside.
When the milk becomes slightly lukewarm,
stir in the smooth curds, till well mixed.
Pour into individual cups or single vessel.
Set over night in a warm place.
Chill when set. Enjoy.
[html:0ad952d8dd]
http://img718.imageshack.us/img718/4180/sweettayir.jpg
[/html:0ad952d8dd]
Hello nga kugan!!! & all our friends!!!!
Wish each & every one one of you a Wonderful 2011!!
May this year bring in more Joy / Good Health & Happiness to all!!!!
kugan nga......seekiramey.....posting pictures mattum ilaamal....koodavey videovum.....arambikka.....my wishes... :thumbsup: :mrgreen: i can see all the ladies....shaking the head "yesssss" :mrgreen:
konja naal absent na....recipes to try list long aagi poiduthu :noteeth: .....chila looks fab.....misti doi recipe fabulous...;-) thank u ngo!!
May you & all your family enjoy a wonderful / healthy 2011 nga kugan...:-)
Hi Kugan,
What a way to start the New Year. The Misti Doi looks good. I made your Mango pudding, the kids absolutely loved it. When you have some time can you kindly post how to make Ragi Kali. No hurry take your time.
Our New Year wishes to you and your family.
Suja
Thanks a lot foe thr NY wishes friends...:)
Am back with 2 recipes from kerala!!!...
Okra patchadi:
Fry some sliced okra in lil oil until well cooked. set aside.
Grind together coconut+mustard seeds(1/4 tsp mustard fr 1 cup coconut).
Heat a tsp of coconut oil in a pan and add in chopped shallots and curry leaves. once they turn slightly brown, add the okra n the paste. mix well.
Add in some curd and cook on medium flame until it starts to bubble(nuraichu varum stage). Take off flame.
Serve as a side dish with rice.
Note: If u don't like the taste of mustard, reduce the qty .
Tomato Moru curry:
Heat a pan with 1/4 cup water,turmeric pwd n salt.
Add in some tomato diced, sliced shallots(optional), slit green chillies, curry leaves. Cook for few minutes(2 mins or so). The tomato should stiil be firm after cooking but it shouldn't smell raw.
Grind to a paste- 1 cup coconut, 2 garlic, 3-4 shallots,1/2 tsp cumin n green chilly to taste.
Mix this paste with thick buttermilk.Add in the cooked tomato mixture aswell.
Put it on flame and cook on slow flame. Let the mixture boil for 2 minutes and then take off flame.
Heat coconut oil. splutter mustard n add in curry leaves and shallots and saute till golden. Add it to the moru curry.
Yummy with rice...:)
SIL has noted down few more recipes from the chef...will get it from her and post them soon...
Dev hope u had a nice vacation.Thanks for the recipes too.
kuganka,thanks for the dessert recipe.looks good.
Well said suvaika.Kuganka videoavoda recipes potta innum kalakkal thaan. :D Namma Kugan's kithcenku guests innum jasthy aagiduvanga. :DQuote:
Originally Posted by suvai
Suvai, thanks for your wishes and compliments.
I hope I can fulfill your wishes.
Soon will post your request for some recipes.
Thanks and take care, Kugan98
Yeah, had a very nice time... Sure to visit that place again...:D It's a small resort right on the backwaters...it's on an island actually...can reach there only by boat... It had a very homely environment n the cooks were mostly women... the cook was ready to share any recipe we asked for... very kind of her... It's a great place to stay with kids as they oblige to any special requests... they even allow us to use the kitchen to do some light cooking for the kids...Since it is a secluded place, it is better to travel along with some company than travelling as a single family...For those interested, this is the resort...
http://www.greenpalacekerala.com/
K, super misti doi... U can make chila with spring onion greens as well... It's a quick dish for BF/snack... :slurp:
Wow!!!...recipes with videos on KK... :clap: Good luck K... :)
Suja, nice to see you in the forum.
I have already posted the recipe for ragi kali,
In kugan's Kitchen 2 page 88.
I will post the link for you.
http://forumhub.mayyam.com/hub/viewt...asc&start=1332
You know Suja, they even make ragi halwa?
Try the recipe out. Take care, Kugan98
K, oru nalla, easyaana chocolate pudding recipe post pannunga,pls...
Dev, welcome back. I am soo happy for you.
Hope you had a very nice holiday.
Did your little one enjoyed her trip?
You kept your promise and brought back some recipes.
Thanks, a lot, I will soon cook and post your recipe.
Dev, you can add onion greens in the chilla.
You can add any finely chopped veges as you like.
I had a hectic start of the new year.
Suddenly had to organize a birthday party to a girl who lost her mom a month ago on the first.
The second morning was the monthly thithi for my F.I.Law.
Had to cook for about 30 people, I did puli saatham, potato varuval and fried rice vadagams.
Afternoon lunch for about 10 people.
I will post the picture.
Rice, sambar, rasam, snakegourd kutoo, spinach dal, chillie tofu,
cauliflower manchurian, fried bitter gourds, cabbage poriyal,
cucumber raitha, soya mutton varuval, and sooji payasam.
The cucumber raitha and payasam are not in the picture.
Dinner for about 5 people who came from India.
Too tired to take pictures.
I cooked chapathi, iddiappam, poori, sambar, poori kilangu,
onion sambal and green peas curry.
Tomorrow is Amavasai, another big cooking.
I will be on my heels as school starts tomorrow.
Take care, Kugan98
[html:70c7a25d54]
http://img607.imageshack.us/img607/643/img0376r.jpg
[/html:70c7a25d54]
ahaaaa ahaaaa aahaaaaa thaango kugan......super spread..every dish looks very tempting & inviting....i bet everyone enjoyed each & every item...;-)
very excited that u r going to post videos too soonnnnnn.....awesomeeeee!!! looking fwd to it....another positive step from your side.....good luck!!!!!... :thumbsup: :thumbsup:
dev....the link looks very interesting.......the place looks very calm & beautiful......adutha murai india varumbothu poga paarkaren...;-)
very kind of the ladies to have shared the recipes......both recipes sound very new to me.....will try it out....;-) glad u all had a good time.
aarthi....stay warm....:-)...ya i am equally excited about the video postings on here ;-)
bitter gourd fry recipe koduthu irukeengala? thx
Happy New year to KK friends.
kugan, spread looks tempting.
more excited to see video cooking.
kuganka,spread looks great!
Kuganka,everyone is eagerly waiting for the recipes along with the vidoes.So plz post the first recipe along with the video soon.:)
Kugan,
BELATED NEW YEAR WISHES to Kugan and all Kugan thread friends....
Kugan the spread looks tempting....Thank u for the Doi recipe. Sure I will try.... Kugan do you have the recipe of Onion Sambar for Idli... Pls post it whenever you find time.... Thanks
Super spread K... eppadi thaan manage pannureengalo!!!... mega cooking ellam mudichittu, rest eduthittu aprom vaanga...:)
Yeah, the kid enjoyed the trip...we had 5 kids in the group... so they were like "let's stay here and visit our hometown once a month"...:lol:
Suvai, do try to visit the place when u r in India... I am sure U'll like it...:)
i have few more recipe- one is cabbage thoran n another one is aviyal... I'll have to ask the other ladies in the group if they have noted down any more recipes... Food tehre was fantastic... their nool puttu n kadalai curry is to die for... so is the egg curry n fish curry...:slurp:
Looks like I misunderstood K's reply to Suvai... She was telling about fulfilling ur recipe requests, I thought she was talking abt the video recipe request... :oops:
Cabbage Thoran:
This cabbage thoran was part of our lunch everyday... very easy to make...
Grind together coconut, green chillies,jeera, garlic- 1 or 2 and turmeric powder. Do not add water and don't make it into a paste. Just grind it roughly without adding any water.
Chop cabbage very fine and miX it with the coconut mixture and salt. Mix it well with hands and leave it aside for 15 mins. It'll leave some water. You can also add finely sliced onions but it is optional.
Heat oil in a pan. Add mustard seeds n let splutter. add urad dhal n curry leaves and let it brown.
Now add in the cabbage mixture and keep the flame on low-medium. Cover it with a tight lid and let it cook. Keep mixing it once in a while.
If the mixture sticks to the bottom, just sprinkle a handful of water. but it's better to cook without adding any water atall.
When the cabbage is 3/4th done, switch off the flame. Let it sit for 5 mins in the same pan.
Serve as a side dish with rice.
Note:
This dish will be crunchy as the veg is cooked 3/4th only. if u don't like it that way, u can cook it till fully done.
The cook said thoran can be prepared using bens, carrot, greens etc etc...
Instead of grinding, u can add shreadded coconut, chopped g.chillies,jeera as such. Avoid garlic in that case.This is how they do for greens.
Suvai, thanks, thanks for all your nice comments and compliments.
I think I have posted the recipe for the bitter gourd crisipes.
I can see Dev and Madhu starring at me:roll:
Anyway I will post the recipe again for you :lol:
BITTER GOURD CRISPIES
Ingredients:
5 young bitter gourds cut into rounds
1 marble size tamarind
1 tbs chillie powder
tsp tumeric powder
cup rice flour
cup besan flour
Little corn flour
a pinch of perungayam
salt to taste
oil for frying
2 sprig curry leaves for garnishing.
Method:
Mix the tamarind in about cup of water and little salt.
Let it soak for about an hour. Drain the bitter gourd.
In a basin mix all the flours , salt chillie, tumeric powders,
And perungayam.
Now slowly mix the bitter gourd with the mixture.
Add little water, if the mixture does not coat the bitter gourd.
Heat oil in a wok and deep fry the bittergourd.
Fry the curry leaves in oil, and garnish the crispies.
It will stay crisp for a long time.
[html:c08151141a]
http://img715.imageshack.us/img715/8...rdcrispies.jpg
[/html:c08151141a]
Thanks Aarthii, Selviem and bkarthika for your nice comments and compliments.
Karthika, I will post the vengaya sambar for you soon.
Did you try our method of fermenting idli flour?
Thanks Dev for the thoran recipe.
All the three recipes will be cooked soon.
My India relatives are still here. Daily have to take them for sight seeing all of K.L.
Their flight is on the 7th, then I will have some time.
Daily cracking my head for breakfast and dinner:think:
Lunch is easy to cook, breakfast and dinner almost the same items. Idli, thosai, chapathi, puttu, aapam, upma, adai, parotta, meehoon and so on.
Have to make 2 items for breakfast and at least 2 items for dinner.
[tscii]
CHOCOLATE PUDDING
Ingredients:
¼ cup cocoa powder
¼ cup sugar
2 tbs corn flour
2 cups full cream milk
1 large egg
120 grms sweet chocolate chips
A pinch of salt.
Custard or ramekin cups
Method:
Mix the sugar, cocoa powder, corn flour and salt,
in a heavy pot.
Now add in the milk and whisk slowly till there are
no lumps.
Put the pot on the stow on medium heat.
Bring to a boil slowly, whisking constantly till the
pudding is thick. It will take about 5 minutes.
Remove from heat at once.
Immediately beat the egg lightly in a heat proof bowl.
Very gradually add in the hot chocolate mixture to the egg.
keep whisking constantly.
Add in the chocolate chips and keep whisking until they
melt and the mixture is smooth.
Pour into the cups. Cover the surface with wax paper
to prevent skin forming on the surface of the pudding.
Refrigerate for about 2 hours. Serve.
[html:2201658bb0]
http://img195.imageshack.us/img195/9...atepudding.jpg
[/html:2201658bb0]
[tscii]
Dev, a macoroni fitters recipe for you.
Pasta is not over in my house yet :lol:
MACORONI FITTERS
Ingredients:
200 grms elbow macaroni
1 tsp olive oil
Little salt.
1 onion chopped fine
3 fresh red chillies chopped
50 grms chives cut into ½ inch lengths
1 egg (optional)
2 cups all purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 cup warm water
Salt to taste
Oil for frying.
Method:
Boil the pasta with the olive oil and salt.
When it is cooked, drain and keep aside.
Now add in all the other ingredients and make it
into a soft batter. Add in the cooked pasta and mix well.
Heat a wok with the oil, when it is hot, drop in
spoonful of the dough and fry till it is cooked and golden in colour.
Drain on kitchen towel, then serve hot with chillie sauce.
Ideal evening snack.
[html:a77ae100c1]
http://img80.imageshack.us/img80/334...onifitters.jpg
[/html:a77ae100c1]
Kugan,Quote:
Originally Posted by kugan98
I tried... I think each time i am making an unknown mistake :roll: ...This time Idli was soft and the flour also raised :thumbsup: But i got flat idli.... :( :cry2:
Anyway Every week I am learning to Grind and make Idli. .... :banghead:
Thanks!!! :cool2:
This dhal was served in the first day... very mildly spiced n very tasty too...
Katti parippu- kerala style moong dal:
Cookmong dhal until well cooked and mushy. Mash it well.
Grind to a paste- 1 cup coconut, 1/2 tsp jeera, garlic-2 or 3, green chillies, few peppercorns, few curry leaves,salt n turmeric powder.
Add the paste to the dhal. Add req water and let boil for 5 mins. Keep it on medium flame n keep on stirring. This dhal should be medium thick.
Take off flame. Heat coconut oil. splutter mustard. Add curry leaves, dry red chillies and chopped shallots. Fry till they brown and add to the dhal. Mix well and serve with rice.