Lebanese Grilled Chicken (kugan)
[tscii]This recipe is for non-vegetarians.
LEBANESE GRILLED CHICKEN
Ingredients:
1 piece of chicken breast or thigh meat with the skin.
Mash up the meat a little
To Grind To A Fine Paste:
4 shallots
5 garlic pips
1 green chillie finely chopped
¼ tsp cumin powder
¼ tsp pepper powder
¼ tsp turmeric powder
1 tsp lime juice
4 tsp oil
Salt to taste
Method:
Grind all the ingredients to a fine paste, using oil only.
Clean the chicken breast or boneless thigh meat.
Flatten the meat a little.
Now apply the ground paste all over the meat.
Marinate the chicken piece in the fridge for 30 minutes.
Heat a non-stick tawa, add little oil.
Now put the marinated chicken, with the skin down.
Cook on slow fire for about 10 minutes.
Now flip it over and cook the other side.
Both the sides should be light brown in colour.
Remove and garnish with coriander leaves.
Serve with a dipping sauce, made with mayonise,
minced fine garlic, pepper powder, salt and coriander leaves.
[html:45d8c7fc07]
http://img835.imageshack.us/img835/9113/chickentg.jpg
[/html:45d8c7fc07]
Spicy Vinegar Chicken (Kugan)
[tscii]This recipe was given by my good friend Zahara.
Thanks friend. Kugan98
SPICY VINEGAR CHICKEN
Ingredients:
1.2 kg chicken, cut into 15 pieces
2 big red onions slice into rings
1 tbs aniseeds
1 tbs vinegar
400 ml coconut milk
200 ml water
To Grind To A Paste:
15 dry red chillies soaked
7 shallots
3 pips garlic
1 inch ginger
Sugar to taste
Salt to taste
Method:
Cut and clean the chicken pieces.
Squeeze out the water.
Now in a bowl, add in the chicken pieces.
The ground paste, aniseeds, coconut milk and the water.
Mix nicely and marinate in the fridge for ½ an hour.
Now add the chicken pieces with the gravy in a pot.
Cook on slow fire, till the gravy becomes thick.
It will take about ½ an hour.
Now add in the onion rounds, vinegar, salt and sugar.
Stir well, taste for salt and remove.
Good as a side dish for rice .
[html:6c84d55705]
http://img525.imageshack.us/img525/3383/spchicken.jpg
[/html:6c84d55705]
Re: Spicy Tomato Rasam (ISKCON)
Quote:
Originally Posted by NOV
Quote:
Spicy Tomato Rasam
For the masala powder:
1 tsp. cumin seeds
1 1/2 tsp. coriander seeds
8 peppercorns
2 lbs. Tomatoes
3 tbsp. tamarind water
1 tsp. lemon juice
2 pinches turmeric powder
1/2 tsp. chili powder
1/4 tsp. Asofoetida
Salt to taste
1 tablespoon chopped coriander
Roast the cumin seeds, coriander seeds and peppercorns for 1 minute. Grind into a masala powder. Cut the tomatoes in half and boil in 8 glasses of water. Add the remaining ingredients including the masala powder and boil for a further 10 minutes. Break the tomatoes with a spoon. Boil again for 10 minutes. Garnish with chopped coriander and serve hot.
Imm spicy tomato rasam suvaio suvai.
[html:a200cda5ab]
http://img37.imageshack.us/img37/2174/tomatorasam.jpg
[/html:a200cda5ab]
Re: kugan's kitchen part 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by PARAMASHIVAN
Quote:
Originally Posted by kugan98
Rajraj uncle :confused2:
Kugan98
He is under house arrest by Aunty ji :lol2: :yessir:
I was singing wedding songs in Virginia! :lol:
Balaka / Mor Milagai (ISKCON)
Quote:
Balaka
Ingredients:
50 Green Chillies
3 cups sour Buttermilk
4 tsp Salt
Wash and dry the chilis, then make a slit up two sides, half the length of the chili. Keep the chili intact, and don't open the slits up. In a bowl, mix together the buttermilk and salt. Submerge the chilis in the buttermilk bath for three full days, covering with cheesecloth, and stir a few times each day. When done, pluck the chilis out of the bath, reserving the liquid, and lay the chilis out on racks or trays to dry in the hot sun. Leave them under the sun all day, then return them to the buttermilk bath.
Repeat this process for about three days, then remove the chilis, discard the buttermilk mixture, and let the chilis sun dry for another four or five days, until all the moisture is gone and they are completely dried. If you don't have hot sun, you can dry them on the lowest possible oven temperature. This may cause them to be slightly sweeter, as the sugars carmelize at higher heats. (Lower heat, like 120 degrees F., cures the chilis much better than the lowest oven settings.)
Store the dried chilis in an airtight container and keep in a cool, dark place. They'll last for at least a year. To use them, fry in a little ghee until golden brown then toss into rice or sabjis.
Banana and Buttermilk Curry (ISKCON)
Quote:
Polodya (Banana and Buttermilk Curry)
Ingredients:
1 cup Raw (green) Banana, peeled and cut in chunks
2 cups Water
1/2 Tblsp Tamarind paste
1/4 tsp Turmeric powder
1/2 tsp Jaggery
1 1/2 cups Buttermilk
Salt to taste
For Masala:
1 tsp Channa Dal
1/2 tsp uncooked Rice
2 tsp Coriander seeds
1 tsp Mustard seeds
Ghee for tempering
2 Green Chilis
1/2 cup fresh grated Coconut
1/2 cup Water
For Seasoning:
1 tsp Urad Dal
1/2 tsp Mustard seeds
1 Red Chili
A little ghee
1/8 tsp Asofoetida
Put banana chunks and water in a pot along with the salt, tamarind paste and jaggery. Cover and cook on medium heat until the banana chunks are well cooked. Meanwhile, soak channa dal and uncooked rice in water for at least 20 minutes. Fry the coriander and mustard seeds in a little ghee until they splutter. Next, grind the channa dal, uncooked rice, coriander, mustard, green chilis and coconut, along with ½ cup water.
Once the banana is cooked, add the masala paste and bring to a boil. Remove from the heat and add the tempered seasonings. When the mixture has cooled down, add the buttermilk and fold together gently. Offer alongside rice.
Chow Chow Poriyal (Kugan)
[tscii]
CHOW CHOW PORIYAL
200 grms chow chow, cleaned and cut into small cubes.
1 onion chopped
5 pips garlic chopped
½ tsp red chillie powder
¼ tsp turmeric powder
¼ tsp aniseed powder
1 tbs channa dal, roasted and powdered
Salt to taste
¼ tsp mustard seeds
1 tsp urad dal
1 red chillie cut into pieces
1 sprig curry leaves
1 tsp oil
Method:
Heat a wok with the oil.
Add in the mustard seeds and urad dal.
After it splutters, add in the cut red chillie and curry leaves.
Now add in the onions and garlic.
Sauté well till the onions turn limp.
Add in the cut chow chow and fry for a minute.
Now add in the turmeric powder, chillie powder,
and aniseed powder. Sprinkle little water.
Add in the salt and cover and cook for about 5 minutes.
When the chow chow is cooked, add in the roasted channa dal powder.
Stir nicely till all liquid is absorbed.
Remove and serve with rice.
[html:8228c21c16]
http://img227.imageshack.us/img227/8...howporiyal.jpg
[/html:8228c21c16]
Chow Chow Peels Togayal (kugan)
[tscii]
CHOW CHOW PEELS TOGAYAL
Ingredients:
1 cup chow chow peels cut into small pieces
1/2 tsp urad dal
1 tsp channa dal
3 red chillie cut into pieces
½ tsp tamarind paste
2 tsp grated coconut
2 tsp oil
Salt as needed
Method:
Add 1 tsp of oil in a pan.
Add in the urad dal, channa dal and chillies
Fry till the dals turn golden brown. Keep aside.
Now in the same pan add in the other tsp of oil.
Add in the cut chow chow peels and the coconut.
Fry in medium heat till the coconut browns a little.
When every thing is cool, add in the tamarind and salt.
Use a grinder, sprinkle little water and grind to a fine paste.
Serve with rice.
[html:f86e76a908]
http://img72.imageshack.us/img72/987/peelstogayal.jpg
[/html:f86e76a908]
Spicy Mutton With Roasted Coconut (kugan)
[tscii]Another super recipe by my friend Zahara.
Well we can cook it with soya mealmaker.
thanks friend, Kugan98
SPICY MUTTON WITH ROASTED COCONUT
Ingredients:
1 kg mutton cut into small pieces
2 tbs tamarind juice
50ml coconut milk
6 tbs grated coconut , roasted and pounded well.
100 ml oil
Salt to taste
To grind To Paste:
20 dry red chillies soaked and drained
1 inch ginger sliced
6 pips garlic
1 tsp black pepper
1 tsp cumin powder
1 tsp fennel powder
2 tbs coriander powder
10 shallots
A pinch of nutmeg
1 cup water
To Temper:
2 big red onions sliced
1 cinnamon stick
4 cloves
4 cardamom pods
3 star anise
Method:
Heat a wok with the oil. Add in the tempering.
Sauté well till the onions turn golden.
Add in the ground paste, sauté well till the oil seperates.
Add in the meat, coconut milk, salt, and tamarind juice.
Mix well and simmer for about 30 minutes, or till the
meat becomes tender. Keep stirring off and on.
When the gravy thickens, add in the pounded roasted coconut.
Stir well, again the oil should separate.
Remove and serve with plain ghee rice.
Garnish with coriander leaves.
[html:970255b2fd]
http://img521.imageshack.us/img521/3...esekmutton.jpg
[/html:970255b2fd]
Re: Tamil Paruppu Rasam (ISKCON)
Quote:
Originally Posted by NOV
Quote:
Tamil Paruppu Rasam
Thoor Dhal - 1/2 cup
Rasam Powder - 1 tsp
Tamarind Juice - 1 1/2 cups
Tomato - 1 small
Salt - 1 tsp
Mustard seeds - 1/4 tsp
Cumin Seeds - 1/4 tsp
Asofoetida - a pinch
Chopped coriander, handful
Sprig of Curry leaves
Cook the dhal in 1 cup water. To the tamarind juice, add the salt, rasam powder, cut tomato, asofoetida and the curry leaves and over a medium heat, boiling the mixture. After it has boiled for about 8 minutes, add the cooked dhal to it and dilute with 2 to 2-1/2 cups of water. Boil further and garnish with the chopped coriander and mustard seeds and cumin seeds spluttered in ghee.
Another yummy rasam, that we all enjoyed.
Thanks anneh.
[html:4e5b8e994f]
http://img96.imageshack.us/img96/5924/img8806q.jpg
[/html:4e5b8e994f]
Quote:
Thanks Karthika for your post.
Well what I do is, apply oil all over the iron wok.
Then heat it up till smoking hot.
Let it cool back on its on self.
then I will soak it in the kanji,
that we get after cooking the rice.
Clean it and soak again.
Then remove and clean well.
See that there is no moisture.
apply oil and keep airy.
After using the wok, rinse with very hot water and clean with a plastic scouring pad. Don't use soap or steel wool.
Always pat wok dry with a paper towel.
Through repeated usage, a dark brown film of carbon will form in the wok. This is not only normal, it's desired: like a cast-iron skillet, the patina that builds up on a wok makes food less likely to stick and even imparts flavor.
Woks rust very easily. If your seasoned wok rusts through disuse or improper cleaning, wash and reseason it.
So far all my iron items do not have any iron smell.
Please friends, if you all have different methods,
please let our friend Karthika know.
Thanks, kugan98
Hi Kugan,
Thanks for your relpy.I have a doubt.The procedure u have mentioned is for daily usage?? :think: .I mean daily will u do dipping in kanji and other process... Here I dont know where to get kanji. I use cooker only.Let me try as per ur suggestion and will let u know. Thanks!!!
Quote:
Oh sorry Karthika, the kanjii treatment is for the first time only.
Even applying the oil and heating the wok too is for the first time only.
Daily, you clean well, dry it and apply a thin layer of oil.
This too after your wok is well seasoned you need not apply oil daily.
Only see that it there is no moisture.
Hi Kugan,
Ok.If I do the kanji treatment now will it show any effect?? I bought this wok one or two months before!! I am cleaning the wok with vim soap using scrub before and after cooking.Wiping it with a cloth nicely and apply oil to it.Cooking oil we can apply no?? or coconut oil?? After washing if i left it means brown coloured rust is showing!!! :cry: Thanks for your immediate reply!!! :ty: