Devadas & Chandi Raani were tamil telugu bilinguals (Chandi Rani may have had a hindi version too). G was probably the natural choice for this as in paathaala bhairavi, maayaa bazaar etc.
Printable View
Devadas & Chandi Raani were tamil telugu bilinguals (Chandi Rani may have had a hindi version too). G was probably the natural choice for this as in paathaala bhairavi, maayaa bazaar etc.
Wasnt P Susheela's first song a duet with AM RAJAH?
Kan moodum Velayilum Kalai yenna
is an ultimate song by AMR+PS
the following are the BEst Ever duets of AMR
1. Then unnum Vandu Vaa Malarai-Amara Deepam-AMR+PS
2. Thuyiladha pen ondru kanden-Meenda Sorgam-AMR+PS
3. Nilavum Malarum Paadudhu-Then nilavu-AMR+PS
4. Vaadikai Marandhadhum Yeno-Kalyana Parisu-AMR+PS
5. Thanimayile inimai Kaana-Aadi Peruku-AMR+Ps
6. Thendral Urangiya Podhum Thingal Urangiya -Petra Maganai Vitra Annai-AMR+PS
7.Mayakkum Malai Pozhudhe-Kulebahavali-AMR+Jikki
8.Brindhavanamum Nandha Kumaranum-Missiamma-AMR+PS
9. Vaarayo Vennilave-Missiamma-AMR+P.Leela
10.Kaalayum neeye-Then Nilavu-AMR+Sjanaki
Chandi Rani did have a Hindi version. The song was sung by Talat Mahmood.
was the music by MSV+TKr?MSV did mention about Chandi rani.but in HFM the credit is not given to them.Are there any Hindi movies like this for MSV-TKr?
O_IS_G, C.R. Subburaman was the official composer for 'Chandi Rani' in all languages but was incapacitated due to an ailment. MSV was the sole composer for 'Chandi Rani' as well as 'Jenovah' and TKR, a violinist in the troupe. MSV-TKR did 'nayA Admi' , I can immediately recall a Hemant Kumar-Lata Mangeshkar duet. Rafi too sang for them in this movie. I will try and get some links for those songs.
pooppola poopola sirikkum (TMS & PS)from naanum oru pen? chanda se hoga woh pyaara (PBS & Lata M) from main bhi ladki hoon/naya aadmi. They were called vishwanath - Rammurthi in Hindi.
kik, 'chandA sE hOgA' was composed by R.Sudarasanam in Tamil ('nAnum oru peNN') and lifted by a lesser known composer in Hindi, certainly not a MSV-TKR song.
Mr. Observer, I think you are referring to the film "main bhi ladki hoon" .... remake of Naanum Oru Penn. The MD is Chitraguptha...i have heard he and R Sudarshanam regularly composed jointly .... especially for these "remake movies". Even Ravi (known in MalayAlam film industry as Bombay Ravi) has done several such movies. In fact many of these Hindi movies were made in Madras - one is Grihasthi...that has a superb Asha semiclassical "jeevan jyoTh jalE".
I guess in old movies there were many lifts/inspiration/or even joint compositions either way, north-to-south or vice versa. Veda is one more such fellow. I have seen an interview of MSV on DD Marathi (in Pune) - of course it was translated. But it did show a lot about MSV's work, and also showed the praises showered on him by various celebrities ...one was SPB. herein he mentioned that Shankar Jaikishan were inspired by one of MSVs tunes, to create Lata's classic "ruk jA rAt theher jA rE chandA" in "dil Ek mandir".
AVR
AVR, yes, Chithragupta, though a very talented composer was relegated to doing B-Grade movies most of the time. Even the other famous song in 'nAnum oru peNN' , 'kaNNa karumai nirakkaNNA' was used as it was, in Hindi, a rare instance of plagiarization by Chitragupta.
'rukh jA rAth tehar' ..... check out the antara (charanam) of this Shankar-Jaikishen song, a typically short 'one-liner', but catchy. This tune is actually the tune for the anupallavi of 'azhagE vA aruge vA' from 'ANdavan kattaLai' by MSV-TKR, more than just an inspiration !!!! Please listen to the Tamil version of 'rukh jA', 'enna ninaiththu ennai padaiththayO' , a great number.
Please listen to the Tamil version of 'rukh jA', 'enna ninaiththu ennai padaiththayO' , a great number.
Whats the movie's name?
BTW - my point was that this isnt really a case of plagiarism by Chitraguptha because i've heard he and R Sudarshanam had done the score jointly. But what I have heard may be wrong.
I heard from my NI friends that Anand-Milind is just following their father's footsteps.(I used to tell them about the IR songs which were copied by AM.)
Though i do not have anything concrete on this allegation, i never got a very high opinion on CG from them.May be you guys can enlighten us?
o_is_g= true A&M have xeroxed IRs songs often. I dont think there are THOSE many copies by CG at all...in fact the # of copies by him are less than 4 AFAIK.
it is YEnna Ninaithu Yennai Azhaithayo
From Nenjil Or aalayam BY PS
AVR;
Anand Miliand also copied ARR songs as well as IR songs.
O_IS_G, Chitragupt is a very good composer who was simply not at the right place at the right time. He ended up doing movies like King-kong and some more Dara Singh starrers but came up with aces pretty frequently.
AVR, the name of the movie is 'nenjil Or Alayam'.
Mr. O, or anyone,
Do you know the starting lines of the AMR solo in the old movie `ULAGAM' starring T.E.Varathan & M.V.Rajammah? The tune was lifted from the hindi song `Mere kahaye' from `Deedar'. Thanks in advance.
BTW `Naamey Jeevasugam' in Jenova is by AMR & P.Leela, not A.P.Komala.
MSV had used Gantasala in `Thenaliraman' for Sivaji Ganeshan.
i louis from malaysia i want some lyrics songs of am rajah pls.........sent to me in this email address renu_louis@hotmail.com
please any body write the song
vadikkai marandhadhum aeno aenai vattidum
kelvium aeno?
what do the initials AM stand for in AM Rajah?
Sreedhar:
aEmala manmatharAju rAjA.
Sreedhar:
To add more info, AMR was born in 1929. He first signed up for the movie, kumAri in 1951; however, his first film song was for the movie samsAram, which also came in 1951. The sad song, samsAram samsAram sakala dharma sAram, was his first song. It is worth mentioning that P Suseela's first film song was a duet with AM Raja: EdhukkazhaiththAi Edhukku (petra thAi; 1952). I heard this song last month at Mr. Alikhan's shop ('PPP aYvu mayyam' at Vada Pazhani Road near Old Ram Theatre in Chennai); the song did not impress me much.
I want the wordings of the tamil song Brindhavanamum Nandha Kumaranum-Missiamma
usha
here it is
Brindhavanamum Nandha Kumaranum yaavarukkum Podhu selvamandro
Aeno Raadha indha Poramai
YAar than Azhagal Mayangathavaro (2)
Pullanguzhalisai inimayinaale ullame jillena thulladha
raagathile aanuraghamevinaal jagame oonjalil aadadha
kannanin unnadha leelaayi ninaithal thannaye
marandhida seiadha
aeno raadha indha poramai
Film: Missiamma
Music: S.Rajeshwararao
Lyrics:thanjai Ramiahdoss
Singers: A.M.Raja & P.Susheela
Hi Guys,
Can some one tell me who is the music director of the following AMR songs (movies)
a) Nalla Pillai
b) Aasai
Nalla Pillai - C.Ramachandra
It is the dubbed version of Albela.
Aasai - T.R.Papa, if I remember correct.
Thanks AA
Hi all,
Am surprised to see an A M Raja thread reappearing like Phoenix rising from the ashes. I thought people in tamil nadu have forgotten this man as raja means only one man now. But AMR was the original raja of TFM. What great compositions has he given! Absolutely wonderful music. And what a melodious voice! Probably his tamil diction could be faulted because he was a telugu, but so too is PS and how good her diction is! I remember seeing AMR in a small-time role in the A Nageswara Rao bilingual starrer Devadas. The last movie of CRS and his photo too appears in the credit. Anyway AMR was underutilised by TFM. Don't really know the reason. And another tidbit. AMR never used TMS when he was MD, though he has used Tiruchi Loganathan and Seergazhi. Neither did he use CS Jayaraman. Any particular reasons for this? Can anyone throw some light on why AMR was put in cold storage at the turn of the 1960s?
As a matter of fact, AMR did use TMS in the movie `Anbukkor Anni' for the song `Sathiyame Thunayanapothu'. I think he had used him in `Aadiperukku' too, but I cannot recall the song.
He has used PBS in `Vidivelli' and `Aadiperukku'.
AA,
I think there is no song for TMS in Aadiperukku. PBS (Puriyaathu Puriyaathu Vaazhaiyin Ragasiyam...) and SGR (Annaiyil Arulee Vaa Vaa ???) were the other singers other than AMR and PS who sung in that movie... I couldnt think of any TMS songs..Please let me know if u r able to recollect!
lyrics for vaadikai marandhadhum from the film Kalyana Parisu.
Hi, You are give songs to hear if the notes also given it will be nice to play with that
There was a great song by AMR + PS, called 'Roja malarai pole oru raaja varuvan kanna', any body know the name of that movie ?
thanks
the movie had AVM rajan & Subha in Lead
Movie ??
Raj,
The name of the movie, if told, would be nice :)
the film was "Enakkoru magan pirappan"
Music was by A.M.Raja himself
#1. MaappiLLai doi (Manam pola maangalyam)
Movie: Manam pola maangalyam(1953)
Music:Rama Rao
Singers: Raja and Leela
Lyrics:Kanakasurabi
Cast: Gemini,Savithri
maappiLLai doi maappiLLai doi maNiyaana madharaasu maappiLLai doi
my lady doi my lady doi manam pola vandhu vaacha peN jodi doi
kaappiyile pal theikkiraar maapiLLai doi
koppaiyile theeni thingiraar maappiLLai doi
kaappiyile pal theikkiraar maappiLLai doi
kooppaiyile theeni thingiraar maappiLLai doi
maappiLLai doi.......
soap-aale moonju thoikkiraa sundhari doi
suNNaambai kozhaichu poosuraa sundhari doi
soap-aale moonju thoikkiraa sundhari doi
suNNaambai kozhaichu poosuraa sundhari doi
my lady doi..........
sonnaalum puriyaadhu suyamaavum theriyaadhu
sonnaalum puriyaadhu suyamaavum theiryaadhu
mannadhi mannnan endru mannadhi mannan endru manasukkuLLe ninaichuduvaar
maappiLLai doi maappiLLai doi maNiyaana madharassu
peyaandithanai kaNdu nee yeNdi maiyal koNdaai
peyaaNdithanai kaNdu nee yeNdi maiyal koNdaai
peNgaLukku azhagaagumo
saa ri pa sa ri sa ri dha pa ma pa........
naayaay alaindhu thedi thaai maaman pidithu vandhaar
oyaadha kurumbai kaNdu theeraadha kaadhal koNden
(Those raga inclined will hear Saranga.)
Song list: A.M.Raja
1. MaappiLLai doi
2. Brindhaavanamum
3. Aadhavan ezhundhaan
4. VaanampaadigaL pole
5. Nilavum malarum paadudhu
6. Thanimaiyile inimai
7. Anbe vaa
8. Minnalpol aagum
9. Thendral urangiya
10. Unnai kaNdu naan vaada
11. Thuyilaadha
12. ThuLLi thuLLi
13. Then uNNum vaNdu
14. Chinna kaNNane
15. KaNN moodum
16. Maasilaa uNmai kaadhale
17. ULLangaL ondraagi
18. Yaenadaa kaNNaa
19. Muthaarame unnoodal
20. Pazhaga theriya veNum
21. KaNNeer thuLiyaal
22. Idai kai iraNdil aadum
23. Athi mathuraa
24. KaNpaadum pon vaNName
25. Chinna chinna kaNNile
26. Madhanodu rathi
27. Odam yerei sendre
28. Ninaikkumpodhe aahaa
29. Samsaaram samsaaram
30. Koduthu paar paar
31. Roja malarai pole
32. Kaalaiyum neeye
33. Kalaiye un vizhi
34. Naan seidha poojaa palam
35. Aasai nenjame
36. Vaadikkai marandhadhum yeno
37. Arugil vandhaaL
38. Idhaya vaanin udhaya nilave
39. KaNNizhandha manidhan munne
40. Karpanai kanavinile naan oru
41. Vaazhvinile vaazhvinile
42. Podhum undhan jaalame
43. Pazhagum thamizhe
44. Ezhil oviyam
45. paattu paada vaa
46. Aadaadha manamum aadudhe
I started posting lyrics for Jikki songs. I did not want to leave out AMR. Please join me in posting lyrics for AMR songs. I will keep the list updated. Thanks!
Cheers! :)
Song # 2: Brindhavanamum nandhakumaaranum (Missiamma)
Movie: Missiamma (1955)
MD: S.Rajeswara Rao
Lyrics: T.N.Ramaiah Das
Singers: A.M Raja and P.Susheela
Cast: Gemini, Savithri,Jamuna
AMR: Brindhavanamum nandhakumaaranum yaavarukkum podhu selvamanro
PS: Brindhavanamum nandhakumaaranum yaavarukkum podhu selvamanro
AMR: yaeno radha indha poraamai
yaar thaan azhagaal mayangaadhavaro
PS: yaeno radha indha poraamai
yaar thaan azhagaal mayangaadhavaro
Both: Brindhavanamum nandhakumaaranum yaavarukkum podhu selvamanro