check out Mahesh's latest Pokiri trailers
http://idlebrain.com/movietape/pokiri.html
Printable View
check out Mahesh's latest Pokiri trailers
http://idlebrain.com/movietape/pokiri.html
Chinna Jeeyar Swamy blesses Sri Ramadasu
On the occasion of completing 4 years successfully MAA TV has felicitated the Sri Ramadasu unit at Vijayawada on 14th April, 2006. Sri Trinadi Srimannarayana Chinna Jeeyar Swamy attended this event as special guest and blessed the entire Sri Ramadasu unit.
Speaking on this occasion Chinna Jeeyar Swamy praised the direction of K Raghavendra Rao and the performance of hero Nagarjuna. He spoke about 30 minutes in this function.
Hero Nagarjuna, heroines Sneha, Archana, producer Konda Krishnam Raju, director K Raghavendra Rao, MAA TV Chairman Murali Krishnam Raju, writer JK Bharavi, comedians Ali, Venumadhav, Jayaprakash Reddy and actor Hema attended this function.
Photo Gallery:
http://www.tollywoodinfo.com/modules....php?album=335
Music of Shekhar Kammula’s (Anand fame) forth coming movie Godavari was released today (on 7th April, 2006) at Viceroy Hotel, Hyderabad. Sumanth and Kamalini Mukherjee are playing as the main lead. Yuvasamrat Nagarjuna released the audio and gave the first cassette to Mr. Ramesh of Madhura Entertainments. GVG Raju is producing this under SSC Arts banner and KM Radhakrishnan (Anand Fame) composed the music.
Heroes Nagarjuna, Sumanth, Gopichand, heroine Kamalini Mukherjee, producer GVG Raju, ‘Dil’ Raju, ML Kumar Chowdary, director Shekhar Kammula writer Veturi, music director KM Radhakrishnan and Ramesh attended the function.
Director Shekhar Kammula said, “Godavari is like my second daughter while Anand is my first daughter. The movie will definitely become success and the caption we have choosen ‘Ee Vesavi Challaga Untundi’ got good response.
Hero Sumanth thanked the director and producer on this occasion. He also said that he enjoyed working with Shekhar Kammula.
Gopichand said that he knew the story of Godavari and also said that it’s going to be a big hit.
Lyricist Veturi said that after many years he got an opportunity to write pure Telugu songs in the form of Godavari.
Nagarjuna said that he liked Anand film and liked the simplicity in making from Shekar Kamuula. He also praised Radhakrishna for his classical music. He continued saying that he listened to the music of Godavari and liked it immensely. He also eulogized and predicted that Kamalani would get Nandi for sure.
Pournami and Pokiri songs are amazing...Check them out at raaga... :D
Is those are Tamil movies?? :roll:Quote:
Originally Posted by Kollywoodfan
No this is a Tollywood thread as well, right? So I was talking about the songs, any problem? :(
This thread seems to be a TELUGU thread to me under wrong section (looking at the news)
GOD SAVE TAMIL INDUSTRY FROM THE KILLINGS OF TELUGU FILM WORLD :cry:
MODS SAVE TAMIL FILMS SECTION FROM THE KILLINGS OF TELUGU AUDIENCE :cry:
One more time!
By Moviebuzz | Thursday, 20 April , 2006, 16:28
Lawrence and Prabhu Deva made their mark as choreographers in Tamil who graduated into doing lead roles but failed! However both have become top directors in Tollywood and are in great demand.
In spite of this success, their heart beats for Tamil cinema and are craving for recognition from the Kollywood audience. Lawrence’s first film Nagarjuna’s Mass in Telugu was a huge hit but when it was dubbed into Tamil it bombed.
Now Lawrence is once again trying his luck with the dubbed version of his highly successful Sankranti release Style which will be Lakshyam in Tamil. It is all about dancing and the story is about a guy who against all odds makes it big as a dancer. Prabhu Deva plays a cameo role in the film.
The Tamil version Lakshyam is also produced by the original producer Larsco and has foot tapping numbers with music by Mani Sharma. The highlight of the film is the special appearance of Telugu superstar Chiranjeevi and Nagarjuna.
__________________________________________________ ___
Hmm ... I think Tamil movies being dubbed into Telugu and becoming big hits is very common ... But I havent heard it the other way round ... Why dont these guys expose their directorial skills into Tamil movies straight ?? :? :?
Tamil to Telugu: One more movie
tamil.galatta.com
Tamil films that have truly rocked box-offices have regularly been dubbed in Teluguand released in A.P. There is a long list of films that have been dubbed. Pattiyal is now an addition to this list. Pattiyal is a real success on screens, featuring Bharath, Arya, Pooja and Padmapriya. This film is dubbed and renamed Gayam in Telugu. Earlier Bharath’s Kadhal was also dubbed and renamed as Premiste. Much is expected of Gayam in the Telugu film world as Kadhal was a real success too. This film is dubbed under the Blue Sky Entertainments by P. Kishore Babu. Let’s wait and watch if Gayam excels the record set by Premiste.
Sounds like one more potential Tamil movie becoming a hit in Telugu !!! :D :D :D
Pournami released today and it got unanimous flop talk from everywhere. its carrying 2-3weeks talks as lot of biggies are in race
really, I thought it would be good, until I saw the trailer...what's with Sindhu and Charmi?? :shock: :shock:
Pokiri seems promising and the music is fantastic as well :wink:
The tamil version of NVNV, Something Something, seems to be coming along nicely judging by the cute stills :D
Trisha, Charmee, and Sindhu i shink..
Prabhas padam flop avathe, epdi...
ayyo... trishavukku telugu floppaaa..... :cry:
Pournami puttukicha?
MS Rajoo (producer) sir solliruparu pola Chandramukhi matiri oru padam edungannu, athu mathiri enna athaye edukurannu nenachi edutturatu Prabhudeva
Here is the review
Story
Once upon a time, may be three centuries ago, there was a village that was severely hit by a famine. A danseuse from a traditional family comes forward to dance in Lord Shiva temple for rains. Since then it has become a tradition that a girl from that particular family should dance in Shiva Temple on Pournami day for every 12 years. During 1960’s it is the turn of Pournami (Trisha) to perform the sacred ritual and she goes missing a few months before the D-day.
Siva Kesava (Prabhas) arrives in that village and attracts Chandra Kala (Charmme) – sister of Pournami. The local Zamindar (Rahul Dev) lusts for Chandra Kala. Siva Kesava convinces Chandra Kala and her father that she could perform the ritual on Pournami. But, Siva Kesava’s past catches up with him. The rest of the story is all about how the dance performance ritual at the temple takes place.
Artists Performance
Prabhas: Prabhas is cool in his vintage attire in the beginning of the film. His dressing style and hair-do reminds us of 1960’s. Prabhas did well as the protagonist. There are lots of intense and emotional moments in the film for which he has done justice. It is nice to see Prabhas balancing his career with Chatrapati kind of mass roles and Pournami kind of soft roles.
Others: Trisha did the title role of the film. The fans of Trisha are in for a bit of disappointment as Trisha appears only in the second half. She did well. Charmme got major pie in the film and she justifies her role. Sindhu Tolani did a small role. Madhu Sharma did the role of a young wife who tries to woo the hero. Archana impresses with her dance as the first girl who performed the ritual at the temple.
Other actors: Kota Srinivasa Rao did the role of one-eyed factionist and his get-up and mannerisms are pretty good. Mukesh Rushi acted as one-handed father of hero. Rahul Dev is impressive as the baddie who loves music. Chandra Mohan is appropriate in the role of heroines’ father. Narsing Yadav’s characterization of servant is different. Tanikella Bharani and Geeta are adequate.
Technical Departments:
Story - screenplay - Direction: The basic storyline of the film is about the tradition of a girl dancing in front of God for every 12 years. MS Raju gave a nice twist to it by selecting the popular format of encapsulating the important episode in the form of flashback. The flashback episode is heavily inspired by the Portuguese film Abril Despedaçado (‘Behind the Sun’ in English). You can see flashes of brilliance in Prabhu Deva’s direction in certain scenes. Screenplay of the film should have been more compact. Narration is little slow. There are lots of heavy emotional scenes in the second half.
Music: Music by Devi Sri Prasad is good. The songs that come in second half in the combination of Trisha are excellent. There is ample touch of Prabhu Deva in choreography. Cinematography is average. Dialogues by Paruchuri brothers are adequate. Stunts by Peter Hein are OK. Lyrics by Sirivennela deserve a special appreciation. ‘Evaro Ravali’ and ‘Muvvala Navvakala’ songs have very simple and at the same time pretty effective lyrics.
Analysis: First half of the film is bit slower. The second half is bit heavier. The entire film is based on dance and the flashback story belongs to a revenge genre. Producer MS Raju should be appreciated to make a film that has classical dance and traditions as backdrop. Climax should have been better. The thread of main villain Rahul Dev is left incomplete. On a whole, Pournami is not for the crowds who watch morning shows on the day one and the masses. Commercial success of the film will depend on how family crowds embrace it.
Andhrudu Welcome to hub...
Keep updating this section because there are lot of people love Tollywood..
Im also a big fan of Telugu Movies..
Thanks Raikkonen
sure i will keep posting latest tollywood updates here
Andhrudu is Gopichand's movie rite with Kamna?
yeah! its a Gopichand film and its a decent hit
we need to watch him .he gave 3 hits in a row Yagnam,Andhrudu and Ranam
Big Films Irk Theatre Owners and Producers
It is becoming a Himalayan task to find theaters for new films as the new releases are gushing till the second week of May. Majority of the films releasing from last week of April to May 2nd week are the ones which are hitting screens with more than 100 prints.
The main theater owners are facing troubles as all the big hero movies are hitting the screens at a time. A few films are releasing with about 300 prints which is beyond the critical point.
On the other hand producers are feeling worried as they are missing their sentiment theatres.
'Pournami' was released amidst all this turmoil on 20th April, while 'Yemandoi Sreevaru' of Sreekanth and Sneha is releasing on 21st. Mahesh Babu's 'Pokiri' on 28th, Balakrishna's 'Veerabhadra' on 29th, Pawan Kalyan's 'Bangaram' on May 3rd, Teja's 'Oka Vichitram' on May 4th, EVV's 'Kithakithalu' on May 5th and 'Godavari' on May 11th are the releases in line.
The dates of release of a few films among these are subject to change. Hence theater drought is prevalent among film makers now.
Ya the guy was awesome in Nijam...
Tollywood Boxoffice report
Sri Ramadasu
Number of Weeks: 2
Run: Released on 30th March on the eve of Ugadi, Sri Ramadasu took the box office by a sweep. The film crossed the expectations and is running housefull in all centers. Sri Ramadasu is a devotional treat to the audience and is also a blockbuster at the box office. In Guntur, the film collected 26,75,617. 23,90.00 is recorded from Nellore. Krishna saw first week share of 19 Lakhs while East Godavari collected 25 Lakhs share. Uttarandhara registered 38+ lakhs share.
Ram
Number of Weeks: 2
Run: Ram released along with Sri Ramadasu. N.Shankar directed Nitin for this film. Raam is presently running with divided talk and is making moderate collections. Music by Yuvan Shankar Raja proved an asset.
Ranam
Number of Weeks: 9
Run: Ranam completed 60 days. This is another hit for Gopichand who is registering hit after hit at the box office. Choreographer Rajasekhar turned director with this film.
Devadasu
Number of Weeks: 10
Run: Devadasu is running towards 100 days. Exciting thing about this film is the raise in the collections after the 50 day mark. The film is competing with new releases. In fact, it is making money better than some of the latest.
Laxmi
Run: Laxmi is running steadily towards 100 days. VV Vinayak directed Venkatesh for this film. This is one of the biggest hits for Venkatesh.
Style
Run: Style is also running towards the 100 day mark. Though Style started out with great openings, the collections have dipped in the last few weeks.
[tscii]Arrangements are going on at brisk pace for Mega felicitation event on the evening of 23rd April. Anand Sai designed a cream color set for the function.
Highlights of the function tonight are going to be –
1. Amitab Bachchan and Sri Devi coming down from Mumbai as guests.
2. Actress Sobhana’s classical dance performance during the opening and the ending of the functions.
3. Dance programs by Chiranjeevi’s heroines – Shriya, Reema Sen, Sakshi Sivanand, Sangeeta and other actresses.
4. Allu Arjun’s special dance.
5. Choreography by Sundaram, Raju Sundaram and Lawrence.
Zee Telugu channel is doing exclusive live for the event. At 5:30 pm, there is going to be curtain raiser of the program. From 6 onwards, the deferred live of the program starts and will be continuously aired till the end of the event
here is the Guestslit for the function
http://www.princemahesh.com/pokiri/mahi_goh.jpg
Well the felicitation on chiranjeevi seems to be like they are felicitating mahatma ghandi...although he is a greata ctor and rgeat human being i wonder if a felicitation of such a scale is really necessary...sometimes it can make a person feel too "big" for his shoes...hope such functions become a rarity in the future.....anyway congrats to chiranjeevi sir for his success and contribution to cinema as a whole.
:shock:Quote:
Originally Posted by Raikkonen
:| :roll:Quote:
Perhaps, telugu is much closer and similar to Tamil Industry..
Ethukku ippa Aparachitudu reactions..
I wanted to say that Telugu movie world is lot similar to Tamil one compared to Bollywood or other language movies..
Chiru’s felicitation: All present, Rajini absent!!
Behindwoods.com
For fans of the Telugu mega-star Chiranjeevi, it was a mega-event on April 23rd, at the Gachibowli Indoor Stadium in Hyderabad. For Chiranjeevi, it was a long way up from the streets of his home village, Mogultoor in Andhra Pradesh. The Telugu film industry had organized a function to felicitate Chiranjeevi on his receiving the Padma Bhushan Award.
Big wigs from three film industries, Hindi, Telugu and Tamil, were there. The occasion was graced by none other than the Big B from Bombay. Unfortunately, Tamil Superstar Rajinikanth could not attend the function as he was away from India, shooting for his Sivaji.
Speaking on the occasion Amitab Bachhan said: “Twice I missed opportunities in attending a function connected with Chiranjeevi. First it was a hundred day celebration of a hit. Then, it was the occasion of his daughter’s marriage. I was ill then. But then, this time I have made it. It is difficult to sustain your success unless you are hard working and humble. Chiranjeevi is both humble and hard working. People think that Bollywood is the biggest movie industry in India. No, it is not. The Telugu industry is the biggest movie industry in India and Chiranjeevi is the reigning King here. He is therefore, the King of Indian cinema!” There was a noisy jubilation in the hall as the Big B said this.
Shobana, danseuse and actress, who had worked with Chiranjeevi in many films said: “He is very humble and hard working. He cares a lot for his fellow artistes.”
Said Vikram, himself a hit hero in both Tamil and Telugu: “I’ve come to see two superstars on the same stage. Chiranjeevi is a kind of demigod here. He is also a kind of brother, friend and a source of inspiration to me.”
Ex-heroine Suhasini, who had herself paired with Chiranjeevi in many big hits said: “I have been in his films both as a technician and a heroine. He is made of great stuff.” She also sang the song Malli Malli Idi Rani Roju. (This day will not come again and again.)
Radhika too had eulogies for the mega star, her style: “Chiranjeevi is not an ordinary man. I first met him when I was working with Sudhakar. Chiranjeevi was so shy then. His hard work and perseverance have brought him to what he is today. He followed the ABCD rule. A for ambition, B for boldness, C for creativity and D for Dedication. I wish him all the success and also that he get the Bharata Ratna and the Dada Saheb Phalke Award.” She concluded her speech by shouting Jai Chiranjeevi to which the audience responded with full spirit and gusto.
Radha, Chiranjeevi’s one time heroine said that she loved pairing with Chiranjeevi and that it was amazing working with such a talented artiste as Chiranjeevi.
Towards the end of the day’s events, a group of physically challenged children, trained by dance master Lawrence, gave a scintillating dance recital. There was a standing ovation to the event. Chiranjeevi walked to the dais and gave bouquets of flowers to the performers.
For the fans of Chiranjeevi and Telugu movie buffs, it was indeed an eventful day.
http://www.behindwoods.com/features/...i-1/index.html
* Wow, what jubilation that should have been for Chiranjeevi and his fans ... :D
* AB's statement abt Telugu movie industry should definitely make my friend NTR ecstatic .... :D :D
* Too sad Rajini wasnt there to complete the circle ... :cry:
Chiranjeevi Felicitation
Megastar Chiranjeevi is felicitated by the Telugu industry on 23rd April at Gachibowli stadium. The event started off with a song by singer Sunita. Suhasini lit the lamp kicking off the event. Sai Kumar and Paruchuri Venkateswara Rao anchored the event.
Heroines who acted with Chiranjeevi attended the event. Reshma Roy (first heroine of Chiranjeevi), Radhika, Radha, Suhasini, Jayasudha, Jayaprada, Sridevi, Anjala Javeri, Sobhana, Sakshi Sivanand, and Rambha are among the attendees. Other attendees included Pawan kalyan, Srikanth, Sivabalaji, Asin, Sandhya, Mahesh Babu, Raja, Vikram, Ali, Mohan Babu, Vishnu and many other celebrities. Also, directors and producers who worked with Chiranjeevi participated in the event.
Sobhana, who also received Padmasri, performed a classical dance. Sridevi expressed her happiness being a part of this event. She wished that Chiranjeevi will reach further heights.
Suhasini said, "Chiranjeevi always refers to me as chatter box. Probably he is now afraid that I might talk in length. To keep this short, I will just sing". She hummed Malli Malli idhi rani roju song and took every one by surprise.
Jayaprada said that it is the hard work that got Chiranjeevi to this height. "Now he is in the heart of millions of fans", added Jayaprada.
Jayasudha remembered her first impression on Chiranjeevi. "I thought he was head strong. We just met in a set and my first impression was that he is arrogant. But after further acquaintance, my impression changed. Chiranjeevi trusts in hard work and that is what got him here. That is one side of him. The other side of him is the responsibility towards the society. That shows in his social work. I am sure he will win Bharataratna also", said Jayasudha.
Yedida Nageswara Rao, who produced films like Apatbandavudu with Chiru, said, "Chiranjeevi winning Padmabushan gives me feeling that the entire industry is honored. He won awards for all the films that I produced with him. Swayamkrushi and Apatbandavudu are translated into Russian. The movies did very well there also".
"Chiranjeevi follows ABCDs of movie and hence he is successful.", said Radhika. She further eloborated that ABCD stands for Ambition, Bold, Creativity and Dedication. She went on to predict that Chiranjeevi will achieve Bharataratna, Dada Sahed Phalke and other prestigious awards. She concluded the speech with Jai Chiranjeeva slogan.
Bollywood superstar Amitabh Bhachchan came in while Radhika's speech was going on. Felicitation of Chiranjeevi started immediately afte rhis arrival. Chiranjeevi is handed over the momento. Following that Amitabh spoke. He said, "I am surprised at the turn out that came to felicitate a person. These moments are really magical. There is lot of hard work involved with how a normal person turned into such a great actor. Also, he is a man of great humanity. In fact, I dont have much acquaintance with him. I was invited by him for a 100 days function and also recently for his daughter's marriage. Due to prior commitments,I could not make it to either of them. I am very happy that now I could make it. Success does not come easy. It is one task to achieve success and it is a different one to keep it up. In fact, keeping it up is the toughest task. Chiranjeevi is a person who dealt with it in a great fashion. Also, his contribution to the society through the eye bank and blood bank is great. "
Amitabh further added, "People think that Bollywood is the biggest film industry in India. But the truth is Telugu film industry is the biggest. Commercially also, Telugu industry is very strong. Being the king of Telugu industry, Chiranjeevi can be called the King of Indian Cinema."
Responding to the words of Amitabh, Chiru said Amitabh is a legendary actor and also narrated a short poem written by Harivanshrai Bachchan. "Amitabh is a legendary actor. When I was an aspiring actor, Amitabh is our idol". Chiranjeevi then touched the feet of Amitabh. The entire audience gave a standing ovation to the two megastars.
Mohan Babu honored Chiranjeevi on behalf of MAA. Following that Mohan Babu said, "I and Chiru acted in few films together. In between there came a few misunderstandings. I invited Chiru to few of my functions. But he never called me for any of his. Probably he feels like calling me and Allu Aravind might be stopping him. (laughing)". He further added that those who spoiled the relation between us are not happy either. "Today I feel like the entire Telugu community is honored", he concluded.
Pawan Kalyan followed up. He referred to Chiranjeevi as Sakthi. "Usually a person is judged by his education or credentials. You all know I flunked inter 3 times. I am now where I am because of a gudiance, a Sakthi.. that is none other than Chiranjeevi. When I came into the industry, Annayya told me that I should use 3 point rule - Honesty, Hard Work and Dedication. He reminded me that I should be myself and not brother of Chiranjeevi. It is the energy that he imparted up on me that I am here now. "
Pawan further added, "Thammudu Mohan Babu spoke moments ago. They could be true or otherwise. I know about Annayya very well. I am blessed to see him from close cornor. I can vouch that all he knows is to love. He never hurts any one. He always feels to do some thing to every one. Blood bank and eye bank evolved from the same thoughts. Until today I never dared to see him eye to eye. But today I got this magic energy. I am telling him today that I will be with him always no matter what. I am not just saying this on my behalf but from all of us". His words got astounding response from the entire auditorium.
Vikram said that he is at the event not as a guest but as a fan. "Chiranjeevi is great. He is a humble human being. No award can evaluate him.", added Vikram.
Radha said, "Our pair clicked very good and in fact we were better known for dances. I am very happy to be a part of this event. "
Dasari Narayana Rao commented that Chiranjeevi is a bridge to the past to the present. "He has millions of fans who are ready to do any thing at his hint. He is a role model. "
Responding to all the compliments, Chiranjeevi finally said, "At times silence is better and now I feel that. I am overwhelmed. I dont have words. I learnt from Allu Ramalingayya garu not to think about the past. I look for today. I think about tomorrow. But never about past. Now, at this function, looking at all of you, I am getting reminded of the old days. It will be a wrong thing not to remember the past at this time (laughs). "
When Chiranjeevi was remembering his times at Pune film institute, Dasari took the mike and said that he is one of the members on the selection committee. "He was feeling a bit embarrased. Realizing that we asked him to do whatever he knew, and the rest is history", said Dasari.
Chiru continued and thanked one and all who attended the event.
The event also consisted of Allu Arjun's dance, a dance program by the handicapped students of Lawrence, Sakshi Sivanand and Sangeeta's dance programs, Devisri's remix of Yureka Sakamika.
Guys if someone could post reviews of the Telugu movies,We would know which movies to watch and which ones not to watch.It would def help.
Hmmm. Neenga mattum review va paarthuttu nalla padamaa select panni paarpeenga. Mathavanga ellaa padathayum paarthuttu kastapadanumaa :huh: :roll:Quote:
Originally Posted by ssanjinika
TM,
Adhukku thane inga review post panna sollaren..PM panna sollalayE :roll: :P
Sure I will provide the reviews for the latest films. check out pournami review from my previous posts in the same thread.Quote:
Originally Posted by ssanjinika
wait for Nag's Sriramadasu review in my next post.
Out of the releases in telugu this year ......
only happy was ok.....remake of azhagiya theeyae.....
sri ramadasu......no idea.....
all my friends are saying pournami is waste.....
asadhyadu....blockbuster flop......
everyone is hugely expecting (EVEN VIJAY :lol: :lol: :oops: :oops: :wink: ) pawan kalyan's bangaram...... and
Mahesh's Pokiri has good expectaions..... :D
Thanks andradu..will check out the review for pournami
Pournami's story looks very interesting.Will check the movie out when I get the time.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajithfederer
U got wrong information dude
This years starts brilliantly for tollywood.
Out of 4 pongal release 3 movies Lakshmi(venky),Devadasu and style ran verywell and finished 100days recently. Lakshmi became the biggest hit of venky's career.
Happy was below average
Ranam(gopichand) was decent hit and Nag's SriRamasasu stood out as Biggesthit and creating ripples at boxoffice.this movie surely end as one of the biggest hits,finest movies ever made in telugu.
from next week 3 biggies are coming Pokiri,Verabhadra and Bangaram with lot of expectations.need to wait and see who is going to win this time.
SriRamadasu Review:
rating: 3.75/5
Punchline:Srirama Naamamrutham
Genre: Devotional
Type: Straight
Banner: Aditya Productions
Cast: Nagarjuna, ANR, Sneha, Suman, Sujatha, Sameer, Nasseer, Nagababu, Sarath Babu, Brahmanandam, Jayaprakash Reddy, Sunil, Dharmavarapu, Hema, Veda & Master Teja
Music: MM Keeravani
Script - dialogues: JK Bharavi
Cinematography: S Gopal Reddy
Editing: Sreekar Prasad
Art: Bhaskara Raju
Screenplay - direction: K Raghavendra Rao
Producer: Konda Krishnam Raju
Release Date: 30th March, 2006
Review
Story
Gopanna (Nagarjuna) is a happy-go-lucky guy and marries his childhood love Kamala (Sneha). He secures the job of Tahasildar for Husnabad on the recommendation of his maternal uncles Akkanna and Madanna. He gets inspired by the devotion shown by Dammakka towards Lord Rama and the way she protects the idols of Rama, Seeta and Lakshmana. He becomes a great devotee of Lord Rama over night. He vows that he would stay in open place just like statue of Lord Rama till a temple is constructed. He collects 6 lakhs of coins through donations and constructs Rama temple in Bhadrachalam with the guidance of his guru Kabir Das (ANR). A few ill-minded people misinform emperor Taanisha (Nasseer) that Gopanna misused emperor’s money to construct temple. Meanwhile, Kabir Das confers Gopanna the title of Sri Ramadasu on the insistence of Lord Rama. The rest of the story is all about how Tanisha realizes his mistake and sets Sri Ramadasu free.
Artists Performance
Nagarjuna:Nagarjuna is perhaps the most luckiest hero among his contemporaries for getting such roles like Annamayya and Sri Ramadasu. He did extremely well in the title role. His histrionics in the last reel where ‘Dasaradhi’ song comes are extraordinary. Nobody knows how Sri Ramadasu looks like and whenever we think about Sri Ramadasu in the future, the image of Nagarjuna becomes the visual aid.
Others: ANR acted in the vital role of Kabir Das. He brought believability to this character that is considered as guru to Ramadasu. Sneha is fabulous as devoted wife of Ramadasu. Sujatha donned one of the most important roles in this film as Dammakka. She injects devotion into the soul of Gopanna with her deeds. Suman is good as Lord Rama. Nasseer is appropriate in the role of Tanisha. Veda is fair as Seeta. Nagababu is pretty good in the role of Ravana. Among the comedians Sunil and Brahmanandam are impressive.
Technical Departments:
Screenplay - Direction: K Raghavendra Rao has the uncanny ability of striking back whenever everybody writes him off. K Raghavendra Rao proved again why he is called a legendry commercial director with this film. He narrated the entire film in a simple way by giving more importance to the emotions than the grandeur. He made sure that the emotions graph goes up as the film progresses by capturing the attention of audiences. He used pretty good commercial elements in the last half an hour of the film. The thread of parrot is nicely woven into the story.
Music: Songs and rerecording by MM Keeravani is the biggest asset of Sri Ramadasu. We have 19 songs in this film and all songs are neatly blended into the storyline. Backgrund music is terrific. Keeravani’s background music for Sri Ramadasu is another fine example for how good music increases the emotional depth of the film. The last three songs (Yento Ruchira, Ishvakulaku and Dasarathi) take the film into different level.
Other departments: Cinematography by S Gopal Reddy is very good. Script by JK Bharavi is a plus point. The dialogues are very meaningful and appropriate. Especially the one - ‘Sreeramudiki nuvvu gudi kattinchavu. Ninnu Sreeramudu gundello vunchukunnadu’. The powerful dialogues written for Nagarjuna in Tanisha court in second half got great response. Editing by Srikar Prasad is fine. Artwork by Bhaskara Raju is good. Producer Konda Krisham Raju should be appreciated for coming forward to make such a different film.
Analysis: The first half of the film is decent. The emotional graph starts growing up from ‘Antha Ramamayam’ song and goes to the peak by the film reaches climax. Second half of the film is very good. The plus points of this film are Nagarjuna’s histrionics, Keeravani’s music, K Raghavendra Rao’s direction of JK Bharavi’s script. Sri Ramadasu film comes as fresh breeze when we are bombarded with routine and formula flicks. I recommend this devotional flick to everybody.
i heard that story wise style and devadasu are pakka craps....
i heard that devadasu was a big flop......
also now prabhas trisha starrer pournami is a flop too...
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajithfederer
storywise both movies are nothing but crap.
But style is a well narrated film with superb dances. If you like dances you lke this film. it finished 100 days in 40 direct centers in AP.
when Devadasu released it got disaster talk and collections also according to the talk.but after 4 weeks it picked up very well and still running with good collections. YVS Chowdary songs picturization and new heroine Iliana ( who is hot in telugu now) are the major plus points for this film.
in many centers this film is running towards 175 days. this film's run is sensation in some centers as it is lifted for 3 weeks and again release after 50 days and now its running with packed houses in those centers.
U r right on Pournami.it got flop talk from show1 itself
Gopichand in YVS's Saleem?
Gopichand seems to be in demand after consistently delivering hits – Yagnam, Andhrudu and Ranam. According to the buzz, he might be signed up for YVS Chowdary's next film titled 'Saleem'. To make it clear that it's a mass action film, the caption 'dhummu reputadu' has been affixed to the title. YVS would make a confirmed decision on the 1 st of May at the Devadasu 100 days function.
S. Gopal Reddy's film with Gopichand
Another high profile filmmaker has intentions of making a film with Gopichand. S. Gopal Reddy of Bhargav Arts was one of the top producers in the 90s for delivering blockbusters, mostly with Balakrishna in the lead. The producer took a break from filmmaking towards the end of 90s. He even openly spoke to the press a year back about his tiff with Balakrishna and how it was sorted out later. He said that he intended to make a film with Balakrishna, Gopichand and Prabhas. While he is yet to find a subject for the other two heroes, he seemed to have found a subject for Gopichand which the actor seemed to have okayed. Details of this project will be divulged later.