A lot of people from the US have come for their holidays to india.especially tamilnadu and chennai..
Can this release happen before Jan 7th ....??
Printable View
A lot of people from the US have come for their holidays to india.especially tamilnadu and chennai..
Can this release happen before Jan 7th ....??
crvenky,
It says the passwd is wrong. Can you pls pm me ?
Shankar, the password is same: irbgms
Gmail a/c are maestromagic@gmail.com and maestromagic2@gmail.com.
Right, probably this is the definition of classical music. I dont know why IR does not do this. Even thiruvaasagam was a disappointment for me in this aspect. For eg. if you listened to say, Beethovens 5th' even anywhere in the middle, you would recognize it. Thats how 'strong' the theme is or how expertly developed are the variations.Quote:
Originally Posted by Shankar
Maybe IR is a popular musician by heart, who knows the fundamentals of classical music and how to manipulate it, but gets the thrill out of entertaining the big crowd.
I had different expectations for this album. The word 'Mood' conjured up images of melodies of eera vizhi kaaviyangal etc. Ofcourse, I expected them with a WCM treatment. This racy, rhythm driven synth stuff is, er..frankly, a disappointment. Hope the complete tracks do atleast a little better.
Recently, I was listening to a lot of Rahman songs selectively from my computer/music streaming device on my main audio system. I was really having fun. The sounds were novel, the rhythms catchy, the melodies have good 'decorations' etc.
The moment I switched to an IR song, the difference was stark. I think, the song was, 'andha naaL naabagam' from adhu oru kanaa kaalam. The starting bit/prelude in this song sets the 'nostalgic' mood for the rest of the song. The focus of IR's music seems to be the 'emotional impact'. (whereas Rahman seems to go for the 'sonic impact' - novel fresh etc. and I think this sells better :-))
Now if this 'emotional impact' is delivered to you like a gentle breeze with a mass of violins...wow..yes, I am just echoing some of the same wishes you guys have expressed..orchestral score with melodic/emotional impact but well developed like say, 'a full meals' instead of a quick lunch or variety rice. that is what I want too..
Guys I recently listened to a great solo pianist's debut CD "Transcendent Voyage" and it has the following list of tracks:
1. Free Spirit
2. Dance of Enchantment
3. Beach Walking
4. Tropical Afternoon
5. Joy
6. Candlelight Fantasy
7. Irish Sailor
8. Elfin Melody
9. I'll Be Bach
10. Unity
11. Forest Echoes
12. Two Journey Within
Each track is aptly/perfectly named - the track Forest Echoes gives you the perfect ambience of a mist-filled forest with amazinf motifs developed on the piano, WITHOUT any tacky usage of forest-like sounds from a keyboard!
Thats the kind of stuff that I expect from IR - especially at this stage/age! is there noone at all, who can take these things across to him - (
and here is a description of the pianist composer's (name is Silvard)style:
"The style of Silvard’s original compositions has been called neo-classical, contemporary adult and New Age. But then some of his music is played on “smooth jazz” radio stations. Perhaps it is easier to describe his style by doing what the critics have already done: comparing it to the music of present-day greats such as George Winston, David Lanz, Enya, and Yanni. Most of his pieces “could have been written” by any of these composers. Some compositions, however, have a more playful, upbeat character, in a style akin to Jim Brickman’s; others sound like they could have been written by Rogers & Hammerstein. A few compositions by Silvard have a truly classical flavor (and rightfully bear titles such as “Mozartasia” and “I’ll be Bach”). And finally, very different yet, he has composed a ragtime piece named after a genus of (what else?) marine, intertidal gastropod: the “Littorina Rag!”"
IR needs this kind of publicity and exposure!
http://www.hindu.com/2006/12/29/stor...2915930200.htm
Says "THE MUSIC MESSIAH" will be released on Jan 7th.
Krishnan
Hope this album is well received, despite its low profile release. Word of mouth publicity can definitely help.
Being mastered in Malaysia, the recording quality must be very good and I am looking forward to buying the CD when it releases in January.
I guess copycats like Joshua Sridhar must also be eagerly awaiting its release... and soon we may hear these tracks in some Tamil movies as BGM score.
>>>>
I guess copycats like Joshua Sridhar must also be eagerly awaiting its release...
<<<<
Ooops...When did this guy join the long list of copycats ? :-)
Don't get me wrong here guys - This album no way matches with the previous non-filmi albums ..Not from the perspective of music ,but the effect the other non-filmi IR albums had was so spiritual/calm/soothing that i can't accept this ..
But it does create some excitement ,though
MumbaiRamki,
Have you listened to the full album?
>>>>>
This album no way matches with the previous non-filmi albums ..Not from the perspective of music ,but the effect the other non-filmi IR albums had was so spiritual/calm/soothing that i can't accept this ..
<<<<<
While I too feel the same, I will reserve my comments till I listen to the album completely. If the numbers 10, 2 & 3 live up to their promise, it will be an album worth buying.
Raja bhai ,
NO - i have not listened ..from the samples ,i got this feeling ..If this is a rip from GURU score ,i don't expect it to be like NBW -as far as the spiritual feeling is considered.
[tscii]http://www.hindu.com/2006/12/29/stories/2006122915930200.htm
It is about how the sounds of crisis give way to harmonious melody. The age-old story about restoration of unity and love by pushing away the conflicts and discord comes in a compact disc. The music is by maestro Ilaiyaraaja.
`The Music Messiah' will be released on January 7 at the South Indian Film Chamber of Commerce by Malaysia-based Agi Music. Based on western musical terms, the album is a smooth blend of two categories — soundtrack and world music. It has 10 tracks complete with a storyline.
The company has also signed a publishing deal with the composer in order to protect the intellectual property rights of his entire musical work. The new album will be available in India, Singapore, Malaysia, Canada and Dubai. For audio samples and details, log onto www.boxmusiq.com or www.agimusic.com
Agilan Lechaman
Agi Music Sdn Bhd
I wanted to post the invitation card here, but for some reason, my photobucket is painfully slow. :roll:
so, here it is...
The Music Messiah
A Musical Album by ILAIYARAAJA
Album Launching Function
Date: 07/01/2007 (Sunday)
Time: 6.00 pm
Venue: Film Chamber, 605 Annasalai, Chennai-6
Album launched by: Balu Mahendra
Received by: Pandiarajan (ma foi)
Special guests: Nasser, Cheran, Saran, Na Muthukumar
Compering by: Hema Sinha
[html:74f76fcf1d] http://i61.photobucket.com/albums/h4...hwebinvite.jpg [/html:74f76fcf1d]
:clap:Quote:
Originally Posted by kameshratnam
you can see many familiar names in the list above...
familiar as in past and current TFM page participants. :D
NOV,
Gopal Prasad thavira vEra "namma" kAla DFers YAru ?
Sree is vagulabhaskaran, my one time net thambi and fellow perumal piththan. :DQuote:
Originally Posted by Shankar
Sivakumar is PS
neels, sollavE vEndaam
and agilan.... :redjump:
I recognized most of the names there. Although Sree was actively involved in raajangahm I dont think he was a regular poster here. Neels = Neels D? Has been missing for a while.
PS is a genuine surprise. I thought he was still in US.
Indra Ayyar (along with Hari Govindan) have been regular contributors to IR-related writeups even in the past
NOV, do you happen to know what their role was as "project supervisors"?
:notthatway:Quote:
Originally Posted by vijayr
he was a subdued poster of the 1997s/1998s. no outlandish or controversial remarks from him. I wouldnt have known Sree if not for TFM pages.
in fact agilan came looking for me after having spoken to Sree. :lol:
no sorry.Quote:
Originally Posted by vijayr
I think Neels and NeelD are different persons. NeelD is very much active in VJ and TFM Pick of the week threads. Neels is an IR fan where as NeelD is a VJ fan
>>>>
Sivakumar is PS
<<<<
NOV,
I am 100% sure it is not PS !!! PS is in the US (chicago and I chat with him almost everyday) .
I think this sivakumar is MSK (But I think, MSK is also in the US. Doesn't MSK post with a different name in the forum these days ?).
I dont' know Indra Ayyar. Don't remember reading his/her posts.
Dig:
Nov,
Has sree moved back to India from Canada ?
About Music messaiah release
http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-mov...-07-music.html
http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/t...cle/28246.html
"Project Supervisors Sree & Sivakumar (Shanti Tailoring, Chennai)" - if the Sree and Sivakumar are the SREE and SIVAKUMAR that I am aware of, then this is my take: I thought guys in the IT sector were doing well in (even though they might have come back from the US) in India! since when did qualified hitech guys take to tailoring as a profession, unless of course they are doing it as a hobby!
Shankar:
Sree did move back to India shortly after Prasad Gopal moved to India.
As far as I know MSK is no longer part of Raaja.com. I don't think MSK is the Sivakumar mentioned in the credits.
In one of the links posted for this project I found a credit to the poet Manushya Puthiran. I am surprised to see his involvement in a project like this. I wonder what he did for this project.
I hate the title music messiah. I wish it is retitled with a sense of modesty.
Wf.
I hope the album comes out well and reaches the audience
I hope no one call this project
Idu enna Mess ayyah
self proclaimed title to counter awarded "mozart" of asia. Modesty is a virtue and we cannot expect that from Mess Iah!!!!
Vyasar ayyaa,
Romba nallaa sollitteenga..Poiyi paduthu thoongunga.
These days album titles are usually given by the music labels and those who are packaging it. In this case, the title seems to hold the story/ theme together. I don't think IR is referred to the Music Messiah here.
:exactly: SVN sir...the music messiah title has to do with the storyline of how music elevates melancholy and a supposedly troubled atmosphere in that story..thus named as music messiah. People just love to bash IR without even looking at proper sources or with proper understanding :lol2:
A pop music sound specialist is called the "Mozart of Chennai". Only God knows what Mozart has to do with pop music or what this guy has to do with Mozart :)
Such is the pathetic condition of music appreciation in this country ! So it is not a big fault if someone calls IR "music messiah" because he is truly a messiah for music to crores of people in South India atleast.
Raja_fan let us not bring ARR into the context..vysar did not even see the album and its storyline properly and deduced that this had something to do with IR...ARR neva calls himself mozart of chennai...it is called by his fans and the press...i think he is called mozart because of the way he has taken india and the abit globally by storm :D
Amen.Quote:
Originally Posted by Hulkster
BTW Y'Day was ARR birthday. Birthday wishes to ARR from IR fans.
I just read this interesting article on an upcoming composer Alexandre Desplat, who has composed for movies like “Syriana” “The Queen” and “The Painted Veil” and is being touted as a potential "Oscar nominee"!
http://www.nytimes.com/2007/01/07/mo...on&oref=slogin
there are a couple of things that come to my attention here:
1.The way/manner in which music compositions/scores are described/commented upon by film critics in the West is COMPLETELY different from what our critics are capable of!
2. Even though IR is miles ahead of anyone else in the Indian context (and perhaps several other composers in the West too) in the score department, the DISTINCT LACK of critics knowledgeable enough to understand his contribtuions and articulate enough to comment on them, has been a big drag! - IMHO, the one person who is both articulate, talented and knowledgeable enough to carry the 'take-home' message that IR is someone special in the music score department, is one Mr.Kamal Hassan!
3. Just look at the way Desplat's scores are described -
QUOTE: "He wrote and recorded the score for “The Queen” in just three weeks, after Stephen Frears, the film’s director, decided another composer’s score wouldn’t work. “The first thing I said to Stephen was, ‘It’s very tricky,’ ” Mr. Desplat said on a recent visit to Los Angeles. “You can’t go too dark, too suspenseful, too funny or too sweet. What I felt was necessary was music with some grandeur and elegance, but still wit. It’s a witty movie.”-UNQUOTE
doesnt that sound very familiar! I mean dont we know that IR has been doing similar stuff for more than 20 years!
Music messaiah Released
http://www.hindu.com/2007/01/08/stor...0817440200.htm
Anyone heard the full album ???
CDs will be available in music stores from tuesday.
I Called AgiMusic and confirmed that they have the CDs ready for those preordered. So, Will be getting a copy this evening.