Ramki (@ pm06*) on: Sun Sep 20 13:15:57 EDT 1998
Ravy thanks for the correction but i thought it should be
pazhagu pazhagu parthu pazhagu
idhu dhanae penn ulagam
padagu padagu aasai padagu
povomma ponnulagam??
(i can be wrong as i used to hate this song those days-it was a very lengthy song and SPB and Ps kinda spoilt the song(remember the lines
laila laila
salim salim
erichal varum lines)
More additions:
Ponnagaram(*ing Sarath,Shobha,Lavanya)-MSV
vazhugindra makkalukku vazhndhavargal paadamadi-JC
muthu radhamo moga kuzhalo-JC,VJ
Sondhamadi nee enakku(*ing Jai,Sripriya)-VK
pennalla nee oru bommai-JC,PS
Malargalae malarungal(*ing Vijayan,Sudhakar,RAdhika,Vanitha)-GA
jnabagam illaiyo-KJY,SJ
isaikkavo namm kalyaana raagam-JC,SJ
kuthum vizhi sudar dhan kannamma-PS
Kanavugal karpanaigal(*ing sArath,rani padmini,Roopa)-GA
Vellam pole thullum ullangalae-SPB
Kaatrukenne Veli(*ing Mohan,Radha)-Sivaji raja
rekha rekha kaadhal ennum vaanavillai kanden-Jolly Abraham,PS
chinna chinna megam ennai thottu pogum-SPB(Great song)
Thaniyadha dhaagam(*ing Subhadra,thamba)-Ibrahim
poove nee yaarukkaaga malargindrai,nee paruva thottathil oru malar-MV,SJ
chinnanjirukiliye(*ing Manobala)-GA
Vaigarai neeyaga vaanil thenoora manadhinil neeyada maalaigal aada-MV,SJ
anbae aaruyire(*Ing Sivaji,Manjula)-MSV
malligai mullai poopandhal-VJ
Imaigal(*ing Sivaji,Saritha)-MV
maadapuravo illai manjal nilavo
ravi varman ini varuvaan-MV,PS
From these lists i realise that GA was equally good as IR and what he has said in the interview is not completely false
vijay (@ 129.*) on: Sun Sep 20 19:39:13 EDT 1998
someone had mentioned about aval appadithan.
if u have not seen hat movie,pl. do not see it.
its like an art movie. totally different from the other kamal rajini movies of that time. i saw a portion of that film. could not stand it.
'uravugal thodarkathai' remeains one of KJY's greatest songs. takes me right back to my childhood days. i have recorded 7 assorted cassetes this time mostly IR songs. i can give a list of 50 of the best songs of IR from early eighties. u can also see the topic
IR's songs from 1978-1984 (golden age)
in the archives.
GV (@ d45-*) on: Sun Sep 20 19:49:31 EDT 1998
Ramki:
I have a solo version of "Gnyabagam illaiyo..." by KJY (MALARGALEI MALARUNGAL - music by Gangai Amaran). This version is slightly different from the duet, more classical, and with a haunting effect. I don't know whether this version was in the movie. BTW, this is one of my favourite Tamil songs.
Ramki (@ cs10*) on: Sun Sep 20 21:53:07 EDT 1998
vijay 'AA'was one of the very good movies in tamil i have seen. It was very realistic and truly haunting. Not many Indian film deals with 'child molestation`and the phschological effect.THe charecerterisation was very good and so were the performance.
I think i like realistic films compared to masala ones
yvs mani (@ hub.*) on: Mon Sep 21 00:51:33 EDT 1998
Can anybody help me?Yeaterday, I remembered one song,
" kaalangal mazhai kalangal pudhu kolangal ragangale sugangal mangal kalai maangal"
Pleasae tell me the name of the film.
Rajaraman (@ pano*) on: Mon Sep 21 03:12:54 EDT 1998
YVS:
It's from Ithayathil oru idam (I think).
NOV (@ 202.*) on: Mon Sep 21 05:19:07 EDT 1998
Rajaraman & mani - Thanks for the timely reminder. The song is indeed from IoI by Malaysia Vasu & S Janaki. There is one more good song in that movie.
RR - Did you watch Dharma Yudham last Saturday? Tow good songs by Ilayaraaja:
Oru thanga rathaththil oru manjal kuruvi by Malaysia Vasu, and
Aagaaya gangai, poonthein malar soodi by M'sia Vasu & S. Janaki.
I also loved the bit song sung by IR himself - extremely soulful Thanga rathaththil, manjal kuruvi when Rajani's sister dies.
yvs mani (@ hub.*) on: Mon Sep 21 05:49:45 EDT 1998
I like to add some more:
Poovannam pola nenjam by JC and SPS(???) - Azhiyatha kolangal
Muthu tharagai vana veethi vara - Oru kai osai by PS and SP
Aayiram malargale,Muthal muthalaga, Iru paravaigal - Niram maratha pookkal
Mazhaiye mazhaiye ilamai muzhuthum - Amma
Ramki - I think the song by SPB (solo) in Guru is
"Aadungal padungal pillai pon vandugal"
yvs mani (@ hub.*) on: Mon Sep 21 07:23:13 EDT 1998
Poonthalir aada , Aanantha ragam ketkum kaalam by UR from Paneer pushpangal,
Ponvanam panner thovuthu innerum (SJ), Mottu vitta mullai kodi (SPS & UR),Thalampoove kannurangu from "Indru nee, Naalai naan"
Mounam naanam malarum pudthu youvanam from Mayuri
Azhage Unnai,Abhisega nerathil, naane naana yaaro thana,En kalyana vaibogam,Kurinji malaril nanaiyum pozthu etc from Azhage Unnai Aarathikiren
Poo pole unthan by SPB from Kaverimaan (Sivaji & Sridevi)
Mazhai varuvathu mayilukku theriyum by SJ from Rishimoolam
There is another song , by Deepan Chakravarthy (?????) Aanantha ragam..... , a duet alongwith SPS
Radha (@ dwar*) on: Mon Sep 21 07:24:11 EDT 1998
I'd like to add some more:
1. Kanmaniye Kaathal enbathu - Aarulirunthu arubathu varai.
2. Kannan oru Kaikuzhanthai-Bhathrakali
3. Kanmaniye Pesu, Mounamenna Kooru.
4. Engiruntho azhaikkum en jeevan
5 .Methuva Methuva oru kaathal pattu.
6. Jaathi malligai nenjile saynthu konjam nee thoongu
7. Maragathavallikku manakolam
Shankar (@ webg*) on: Mon Sep 21 08:57:57 EDT 1998
here goes my list........
1.ennadA polladha vazhkai (thappu thAlangal)
2.chinna kannan azhaikkirAn, kuyile kavikkuyile(kavikkuyil)
4.nEramidhu nEramidhu (rishi moolam)
5.engengo sellum en eNNangaL(patta kathi bhairavan)
6.bhoopAlam isaikkum, Erikkara poongAtre (thooral ninnu pochu)
8.kakA kaanum kaNgaL mella (agni saatchi)
9.aananda thaagam (vaa indha pakkam -MD -shyam)
10.poovAdai kaatru (gopurangaL sAivadhillai)
11.uraven pudhiya vaanil(nenjathai kiLLadhe)
12.thEn malli poove (thyaagam)
13.kALi daasan kaNNadAsan (soorakkottai singakkutti)
14.uLLamellAm thaLLaduthe (dhoorathu idi muzhakkam)
15.oru kunguma chengamalam(Aradhanai)
yvs mani,
Is The song u have mentioned (deepan chakravarthi)
Ananda thaagam from vaa indha pakkam??,If so it was MDed by Shyam and the singer is Krshnachander
Ramki (@ wll1*) on: Mon Sep 21 10:21:43 EDT 1998
Mani thanks for reminding'oru kai osai'song-its a nice song and thanks for reminding the song from Guru
Few more additions
indha radha krishnan kaadhal enbadhu ragasiyamaanadhallavae-sondhamadi nee enakku-Spb,Vj-VK
kannellam un vannam nenjellaam un ennam-onne onnu kannae kannu-SPB,Swarna-VK
kannae kannana kanna ponne poomeni vanna-SJ,Suruli-pennukku yaar kaaval(*ing Jaichitra,srikanth)-Ramesh Naidu
janakar ponmaanae sreeraman naanae enadhu vaidehi nee dhanae-spb,PS-KVM-i cant recall the name of the film but it had Vijaykumar,SUdhakar,Rathi and Sumathi in the lead,vijaynirmala was the director
sujatha i love u sujatha believe me i like u sujatha-SPB-Kodeeswaran magal(*ing Sivakumar,Rajalakshmi)-Sathyam
kannadi amma un idhayam en kannae naan adhai parthal en mugam kattum-PS,VJ-MSV-again i dont know the name of the film but it had Jaichitra,Subha and Sivakumar in the lead and Beemsingh was the director(it could be paadhapoojai)
Ponni nadhi orathile aelelo ponnu onnu kathirukku aelelo-SPB-KVM-again:)i forgot the name of the film but it had sudhakar and Saritha in the lead(not ponnukku ooru pudhusu)
edhirparthen ilangiliye kaanaliye ilangaatre aen varalai theriyalaiye-andha rathirikku saatchi illai(*ing Kapildev,Sulakshana)-SPB-KVM
en ullam engindra vaanathile oru megam thavazhgindradhu-rathapaasam(*ing SIvaji,Jaichitra)-TMS,PS-MSV
Neengadha ennam ondru nenjodu undu-vidiyum varai kaathiru(*ing Bhakyaraj,Sathyakala)-MV,SJ-IR
vazhndhaal unnodu vazhndhiruppen endru vanam pugundhaal seethai-Savithri(*ing Menaka)-VJ-MSV
mazhakikaalamum panikkalamum sugamaanavai-JC,VJ from Savithri
Samudhra raajakumari sugapushpa sukumari navanaagarigamari namo namo namaha-aezhai vadhyar(*Ing Nagesh)-SPB,VJ-MSV
vaanil vaazhum devathai en neril vandhaalo-Uruvangal maaralam-SPB,VJ-SVRamanan
aandavanae unnai vandhu sandhikka vendum-MSV-from the same film
vasanthangal vazhthu solla anbu thangai marandhaalae-kadavulukku oru kadidham(*ing Sivachandran)-MV-SG?
malligai poovukkum pongiya thendralae vandhuvidu nenjam kodu-Maganae maganae(*ing suresh,karathe mani,poornima rao)-MV,SJ-IR
There is a duet by spB and PS from the film 'megathukkum dhagamundu'(*Ing sarath,Rajini sarma)-yaarukaavadhu jnabagam irukka?
Mano (@ ecar*) on: Mon Sep 21 14:20:57 EDT 1998
I don't know whether these songs are listed.
Here is my favouries:
Rajavey Unnai Than.. SPS (*ing Rajanikanth, Sridevi, Sri Priya)
Malarkalil Aadum Ilamai..SPS(Kalyaana Raaman) - Picturization is Great
Etho theiVeega Raagam..Jency(Ullasap Paravaikal) Jency's voice awesome in this song.
En Uyir Nee Thane..KJJ & Jency (Priya) First Stere phonic recording
Poove Sem Poove.. KJJ (solla Thudikuthu Mansu) What a Melodius Song
En Kanmani Un Kaathali..SPB & PS (Chittu Kuruvi) A different kind
Kamban Emmanthan..SPB(Nizhal Nizhamaakirathu) SPB's sweet voice
Thendraluku Endrum Vayathu..SPB (SPB's Sweet Voice)
Thulli Thulli Pokum..KJJ (Velicham) best from Manoj-Kiyan
Singaara Penoruthi..Mano (Oruvar Vazhum Aalayam) A good song from Mano
Amutha mazhai Pozhium..TL.Maharajan (Pombala Manasu) A haunting Voice
Ennama Kannu Soukiyamm..SPB & MV (MR. Bharath) Good song with 'konal' Sezdai
Ratha Azhaikiral..SJ (Therkathi Kallan) SJ's Sweet voice
Etho Thetho Ennam..Chitra (Punnagai Mannan) Chitra's Sweet Voice
Gatsby (@ 206.*) on: Mon Sep 21 16:20:38 EDT 1998
Though all the songs from Vaazhve Maayam are good I'd like to post
1) Neela vaana odaiyil... SPB
2) Mazhai kaala megam ondru... SPB & ...
MD : Gangai Amaran.
I have a list of movies, but I'm not able to recollect the songs right now. Can anyone remember the songs from these movies.
1) Kozhi Koovuthu (Not Anne Anne...)
2) Kokarako
Dir : Gangai Amaran, MD:IR
3)Kizhake Pogum Rayil, Ponnu Oruku puthusu.
How about Jonny :
1) Kaatril Enthan...
2) Senoreeta ...
3) Aasaiya kaathula ...
4) En vaanile...
5) ----------------
One more song, I usually forget this song, though I love this song in Jonny the most. Its the first song in the movie.
If these songs are already posted I'm sorry. I'm excited to list the songs here.
CM (@ kcpx*) on: Mon Sep 21 17:14:40 EDT 1998
Gatsby: The song is "Oru Iniya manadhu isaiyai anaithu sellum inbam pudhu vellam" from Johny.
Kozhi Koovudhu: The songs are
1. Anne Anne Sippai anne
2. Poove Illaya Poove
3. Edho Mogam Edho Dhaagam
4. Is the introduction song which I dont remember
Guys how about the following movies
Engayo KEtta kural
1. Pattu vanna selaikaari ennai thottukonda - MV
Ullaasap paravaigal
1. Germaniyin Senthen malare
2. Azhagu Aayiram ulagam muzhuvadhum
3. Naan undhan thaayaaga vendum nee
4. Engengum kandennamma pengal
5. Dheiveega raagam
Illamai Ooonjaladugiradhu
1. Ore naal unai naan nilavil paarthadhu
2. Thanni karuthirukku oru thavalai satham
3. Ennadi meenathci
4. Kinnathil then vadiththu
Thaatillaamal naanillai
1. Nadiganin kaadhali
2. Vadivelan manasa vachaan( I dont know how many like this song but I rate this as the best dappaguthu song Ive heard so far )
A few more songs that bring nostalgic ninaivugal are
1. Ponnulla Ponnulla paanina mookuthi( I often get ridiculed by my friends for my liking of this song. But somehow I cant take this of my mind )
2. Amman koil kizhakkaale - SakalakalA vallavan - gives me the same same feelings as the above said song from Chittukuruvi, and needless to say what my friends think
3. Madhanorchavam - Sadhurangam - SPB, VJ
4. Then sindhudhe vaanam - SPB. PS
5. Nandha nee en nila - SPB
6. Chinna Pura ondru - Anbe Sangeetha
Did somebody talk about Dharmayudham wow that brings back good memories
1. AagayA gangai - The opening by SJ is what I like the most in that song
2. Oru thanga radhathil pon manjal nilavu
3. Poda Poda ulagam perisu nee oru podi dappa
I dont know if u guys like this song
Adiye ennai paaramma pidivaadham ennamma - Jolly Abraham from Vanakathukkuriya Kaadhali
I also dont knoe the movie of this osng but nevertheless I like it a lot
Enna solli naan ezhudha en manavanin manam kulira
Also a song from a movie where Kamal acts as the bro-in-law to Sridevi. The song is
Ponne boomi adi sari sari sari rendum saami adi.
I think thats it for now more later
Shankar (@ webg*) on: Tue Sep 22 00:33:58 EDT 1998
enna solli naan ezhudha is from Ranitheni -starring mahalakshmi and deepan chakravarthi.
yvs mani (@ hub.*) on: Tue Sep 22 05:43:31 EDT 1998
The song from "Kokkarakko" is Geetham sangeetham nee thane en kaathak vetham
Some more to add:
poonthendrale nalla neram - by JC, SJ - Bhuvana oru kelvikuri
Poo poothathai yaar parthathu - by KJY - Kathanayagan
Ennullil etho engum - by VJ - Rosappu ravikaikari
Uchi vagudu eduthu - By SPB from the same film
Siriya paravai siragai virikka - by SJ and SPB - Antha oru nimidam
Athikalai nilave alankara sudare - by JC and Chithra(???) - Uruthimozhi
yvs mani (@ hub.*) on: Tue Sep 22 05:48:31 EDT 1998
Some more to add:
Kandene poomagal - KVG
Kuyile kavi kuyile - Kavikuyil
AAsai nenje nee padu - by SJ - Thai veedu
Vidiya vidiya solli tharuven - by PS and SPB - Pokkiri raja
Nadiyoram - by PS and SPB - Annai oru aalayam
Kaatrodu poovurasu - by Ps and SPB - Anbukku naan adimai
Idhayam poguthe - by Jency,Tham thana tham thana -by BSS and Jency , Van megangale -by MV and SJ - Pudhiya varpugal
yvs mani (@ hub.*) on: Tue Sep 22 05:53:26 EDT 1998
RR,Shankar - Thanks for informing me the name of the films.
Vidhya (@ 202.*) on: Tue Sep 22 13:02:50 EDT 1998
Can we have the songs from the film 'Thirmal Perumai' and 'Aasai'
Madhan (@ 202.*) on: Tue Sep 22 13:54:02 EDT 1998
1.Kaalai nera raagamey - Chitra - MD:IR from a 1985 - 86 movie - i don't remember the name.
2. Day by Day yenna maatram yenna maatram , day by day, yennai maatrum undhan thottam - Malgadi Subha- MD : IR from an early 1990s Ramarajan movie - this song has outstanding Western Classical opera style music !!!
3. Raathhingal rapaappaa - Malaysia Vasudevan - MD : IR from "POovizhi Vaasaliley"
4.ORey murai un dharisanam - S Janaki - MD : IR from "Yen Jeevan Paadudhu"
Krish (@ 193.*) on: Tue Sep 22 18:06:14 EDT 1998
There are a few good ones in "Anbulla Rajinikanth".
One in which Ambika and her husband sing before they get married
The otherr one is "Kadavul Illame" - a prayer song sung by Meena and her friends.
There is a beautiful song , not famous at all in "Alaya Theepam" - * Sujatha, Rajesh and Illavarasi. Sujatha sings this song praising her daughter
Aagayam Kanatha Suryodayam
Ennalum Thedatha Chandrodayam.
A slow melodious solo from Sivakumar, Sujatha starrer "Unnai Naan Sandithen" where Sivakumar sings for Sujatha who is sort of unwell. I don't remember the lyrics.
"Methuva Methuva Oru Kaathal Pattu" from Anna Nagar Mudhal Theru is also a very beautiful number.
vijay (@ 129.*) on: Tue Sep 22 18:24:36 EDT 1998
krish,
anbulla rajnikanth is a pretty decent album on the whole. the songs are
1. unnai ninaithen -spb,sj - a good melody
2. kadavul ullame- a lilting devotional song like
the old 'ammavum neeye appaavum neeye'.very good use of chorus singing.
3. muthumani chudare - KJY - good slow melody
unnai naan santhithen
devan thantha veenai - KJY
i feel that this thread has started looking like a
repetition of the IR early eighties song thread.
Ramki (@ wll1*) on: Tue Sep 22 21:03:32 EDT 1998
Vijay you are rite.
Guys/gals why dont we restrict ourselves to non IR ones.We have already had a discussion on IRs earlier films. It will be nice if we can discuss more on non-IR songs. Occasional references to his songs can be done,ofcourse.
My additions for today:
alaimagal malaimagal kalaimagal moovarum koluvidum rathiri navarathiri-Velli radham(VK)-Vijaykumar,KRV-JC,PS
thoduvadhenne thendralo malargalo-sabadham(VK)-Ravichandran,KRV-SPB
udhadugalil unadhu peiyar otti kondadhu adhai ucharikkum podhu nenjam thithikkindradhu-thangarathnam(MSV)-Thengai,Srividya,Manjula,vkumar-SPB,PS
chendumallipoove-shankar salim saimon(MSV)-Rajinikanth %co-SJ,MSV
aagayam boomi endrum ondra,nee andha vaanam-saamandhipoo(MV)-Sivakumar,Shobha-MV
malargalile un kolam engae-Sj(from same film)
unnai edhirparthen kanna nee vaa vaa-Radha(SG)-PRamila,Muthu,Jayanthi-PS
annai Mary unnai andri aarudhalai yaar tharuvaar-film?(SG)-PRamila-PS
nee megam aanal enne naan thogai aane pinnae
-thaiyilla pillai(SG)-TMS,PS-Vkumar,Jaichitra
thirupaarkadalil palli kondaiye sreeman narayana-charanam aiyappa(Devarajan)-ungal abimaana nadigargal-KJY
choodamani eduthu soodama ninnalaiyo-vazhga valarga(IR)-Saritha-Chitra
raagangal en thenilangal en kannile kaaviyangal-Thiruppam(MSV)-Sivaji,Sujatha-PS
pudavai katti kondu poovondru aadudhu-simma soppanam(MSV)-Sivaji,Saritha-TMS,VJ
pagai konda ullam thuyarathin illam-ellorum nallavarae(VK)-Muthu,Manju-KJY
yvs mani (@ hub.*) on: Wed Sep 23 00:25:02 EDT 1998
vijay - the song "Unnai ninaithu" actually starts as "Then poove poove vasamulla" from the film "Anbulla rajinikanth"
I like to add Varumaiyin Niram sivappu by MSV
1) Thathana than - by SPB & SJ
2)Nalla thoru veenai seithen
3) Theertha karaiyenile oru senbaga
4)Ranga rangaiyan enge ponalum - PS
5)Pattu onnu padu thambi
Ramki (@ pm06*) on: Wed Sep 23 00:30:47 EDT 1998
Mani one more song in VNS
thu hai raaja mai hoon rani-SJ(this song was written by PBSrinivas)
shankar (@ webg*) on: Wed Sep 23 04:29:11 EDT 1998
yvs,
AnbuLLa rajnikanth song starts as "thEn poove poove vaa thenral thEda"
NOV (@ 202.*) on: Wed Sep 23 05:34:45 EDT 1998
Vidhya - Thirumaal Perumai Songs
1. Thirumaal perumaikku nigar eithu
2. Malargaliley pala niram kandein
3. Kaagai siraginiley nanda laala
4. Maargazhi thingal mathi niraintha nannaal
5. Pachchai maamalai poal meini
6. Goapiyar konjum Ramanaa
7. Hari Hari Goakula Ramanaa unthan thiruvadi saranam Kannaa
Ramki - This thread is primarily for nostalgic reasons, primarily but not restricted to, late 70s and early 80s. If you exclude Ilayaraaja, then I have no business being here. :-))
Oru vendukoal - please forget the technicians behind the song - just wallow yourselves in the beauty and enchantment of the bygone days. :-))
Ramki (@ snot*) on: Wed Sep 23 09:29:59 EDT 1998
NOV my point is - many of them in this thread talk only about iraja songs and as u know our df has had enough discussions,analysis on his songs. SO ellamae jnabaga padutha patta paadalgal-for eg songs from panneer pushpangal,ilamai kaalangal etc has been scrutinised,awed,appreciated so many times that i dont feel they will ever be removed from our 'jnabagangal':))
If we are not able to discuss non ilaiyaraja songs then its really a pity-just to remind that till middle 80s other MDs were also in TFM and though they werent as good as IR they werent totally bad either:-))
Ravy (@ eagl*) on: Wed Sep 23 12:16:24 EDT 1998
Ramki:
When NOV started this topic I don't think he had another list making exercise in his mind. Some of the songs that you have mentioned were listed/remembered already in threads like KJY early hits, SPB early hits, V Kumar Hits, SG hits etc. What we (atleast I and hopefully NOV) expect in this thread is not just the songs but some snippets associated with those songs so that
they can walk us down the memory lane:-))
vijay (@ 129.*) on: Wed Sep 23 16:02:07 EDT 1998
ramki,
thanks for reminding me about the song choodamani by chitra. i think it must have been one of her earliest songs. her voice was raw in the song. i was looking for that film name.
Ravy (@ eagl*) on: Wed Sep 23 16:47:59 EDT 1998
Ramki,
The Sankar-Salim-simon song is Sindhunadhipoovae:-))
Shashi (@ fw1x*) on: Wed Sep 23 19:49:10 EDT 1998
Ravy,
Its interesting you mention sindhunadhipoovae; I have always liked this song and gradually forgotten it over the years. But, interestingly when I first "Kannalane..." from Bombay the first thing that struck me was Sindhunadhipoovae.
I guess both are in the same scale(kind of arabic) but more interestingly the 2nd stanza begining in Kannalane very closely resembles the line "yehi tho pyar hai, mohabat ki nishani hai".
Sorry for the digresion, just wanted to share.
Ravy (@ eagl*) on: Fri Oct 2 12:21:18 EDT 1998
NOV; Where are you??
Sashi: There is another song that was copied from KannaLanae .. it starts as Sollamalae - I don't have any other info. about this song.
My next selection is Bhuvana oru ?. (*ing Rajini, Sivakumar, Sumithra) MD - IR
Again I haven't seen this movie. There could be more than 3 songs that I'm going to mention here.
1. Poonthendaralae - JC and SJ(?). Nice duet. Sivakumar's is a playboy character. I suppose he was trying to woo sumitra in this song.
2. Vizhiyilae malarndhadhu - SPB. My pick. Excellent varNaNai song. The flute piece in the intro. music is just mesmerising
3. Raja enbar - SPB, SJ. Another good one that fits the storyline. This is the first movie that showcased Rajini's acting talents in a character role even before 6 - 60 varai. This one had a good storyline because it was adopted from Maharishi's popular(kuru)novel.
balaji (@ schu*) on: Fri Oct 2 13:06:37 EDT 1998
sollamalae is from poove unakkaaga.MD is SAR
Dev Mannemela (@ tide*) on: Fri Oct 2 13:11:09 EDT 1998
The interesting thing about "Sollamale", I think, is that the whole structure of the song is exactly like "Kannalane" (both the male and female voices, swaras etc..), but it's not a note for note copy...
Veera (@ 2cus*) on: Mon Oct 5 22:21:30 EDT 1998
Katrinile varum geetham is the movie.
Songs are
1. Kanden Engum Poomagal natiyam
2. Oru Vanavil Pole
3. Thaya rai thaya
These are gems of raaja.
Oru vanavil pole is somewhat similar to the hindi number "kabhi kabhi".
Andhapurathil oru maharani from Deepam has such fusion in it that makes some people wonder what stuff raaja had in 1978.
asdiwakar (@ ) on: Mon Apr 21 07:16:13 EDT 2003
Theertha karayinilae senbaga pushpangale sindhidum muthukkale
asdiwakar (@ 61.1*) on: Mon Apr 21 07:17:42 EDT 2003
Theertha karayinilae senbaga pushpangale sindhidum muthukkale - i think either was sung by k.j.jesudas or jayachandran, the actress was radhika
mythila (@ 137.*) on: Mon Apr 21 15:12:47 EDT 2003
There is a duet by spB and PS from the film 'megathukkum dhagamundu'(*Ing sarath,Rajini sarma)-yaarukaavadhu jnabagam irukka?
Ramki , Here is the answer after so many years!!!
The song is 'Maragada megham sindum mazhai varum neram idhu' . I rate this song as one of the best songs of MSV in the late 70's(which started getting rarer). Could anybody tell which raagam is this song based on?
Few additions to the nostagia trip
1. Vaanam enge - a melodious duet in Kalyani ragam (by Jeyachandran, Janaki)from film nenjil adum poo onru- a Sridhar movie, music by IR which never saw the light
2. AI vagai malargalai kai vazhi manmadhan
edupathum thodupathum idham - A fantastic song by SJ with SNSurendar's humming with IR music (some late 70's movie??)
3. Thoda varavo thondharavo - a coy duet by SPB /SJ in film Irunilavu , music RajanNagendra
4.Poonthottam
poovil pennil jaadaigal - an SPS solo from 'nadhiyai thedi vanda kadal' music by IR, another unreleased movie.
5. Udaya kaalame from an unreleased film Panchami , a BM movie with IR's treat , sung by PS
6. veru idam thedi povaalo - a classic solo by VJ from sila nerangalil sila manithargal MSV music
7. Oomai pennai pesa sonnal uravo a rare song in Ranjini raagam, sung by SJ from film?? music must be MSV , sometime in mid 70's.I think the movie is Alaigal , again Sridhar's touch.
8. 'Ayiram ninaivu' by SPB - I recollect Music director Thayanban(of film Unnidathil naan, he assisted MSV) telling us that MSV drilled SPB umpteen number of times till he got the opening humming(oho aha..) right.
'Unnidathil ennai koduthen' by SJ and 'ellorum paarka en ulaasa vazhkai' by LRE - great songs from avalukkendru oru manam , another Sridhar's movie with MSV music.
9.Mudhal mudhal varum sugam a melodious duet by SPB and VJ from kaalangalil aval vasantham MD: VB
10.Naano kan paarthen, neeyo man paarthai sung by KJY from film???? music???
11. Neeya azhaithathu a lovely Revathi raagam based duet by SPB/SJ in film Alaiosai and music by IR.