^ he used the continuum in Rehna Tu from Dilli 6 http://soundcloud.com/shakthi92/a-r-...-the-continuum
I liked the one used in TOI concert http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=81VPYBJAC5c
Printable View
^ he used the continuum in Rehna Tu from Dilli 6 http://soundcloud.com/shakthi92/a-r-...-the-continuum
I liked the one used in TOI concert http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=81VPYBJAC5c
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ff_-lhLLjLU
I'm sure I hear a raaga, but I wish I could decipher it :(
Rahman Ji (The real gadget boy of India) :clap:
RR, its the extended postlude, thanks for the link wizzy!
Also check this
www.youtube.com/watch?v=aKqOrq_O4XU
Rahman Ji humming the continuum portion @ 3:06 onwards
Quoting a friend of mine, who wrote the album review of Delhi-6 when it came. While reviewing Rehna Tu, he wrote the following about the tail-end piece on continuum:
"It is fascinating that this piece sounds like a carnatic raaga without actually being any one in particular that I can place. It is probably close to a begada-like raga (only in scale though, deriving from both Shankarabharanam and HariKambhoji; there are bits that sound like kafi, shankarabharanam, khamas, and a minor tonal-shift part that sounds like abheri near the end)."
RR,
http://www.hakenaudio.com/Continuum/...iew/Intro.html
or even a wiki page: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Continuum_(instrument) will give you lot of idea. This link has a demo: http://www.cerlsoundgroup.org/Contin...les/ex235.html
ARR used it in the tailend piece of Rehna Tu and in Acid Darbari in 127 hours.
The instrument must be a boon for Indian classical music firstly. Because there is no scope for gamakas on keyboards while continuum allows that. Infact, I am surprised that no one pounced on it yet, to explore Indian classical. Even ARR has not yet tapped its key strengths (ability to produce micro-tones, apt for Indian classical) to great extent, so far...
ARR has also bought/got another new instrument called Harpejji: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hyBL4uOqWzA
Aakarsh, you've read my thoughts! The continuum allows lots of room for flowing gamaks, but somehow hasn't been explored to any good extent yet. Even ARR's usage seems to be operating in simpler phrases (for all we know, this one could be very difficult playing!).
The Harpejji's a fascinating device! :thumbsup: Looking at the number of possibilities with it... wow! Waiting to see this one explored as well. Any idea in which movies this has been put to use so far? Anything in the credits?
Harpejji has not yet been used, as far as i Know. but ARR got one. (he is clearly an instrument man - the childlike enthusiasm on his face upon seeing a new instrument is evident)
Thanks aakarsh.
Coming back to topic :) Here's a set of videos by Charulatha mani on ARR's raga usage in a few songs. Very good insights, don't miss them!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ts1I3...eature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eF4IB...eature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a_CA7...eature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hg6gD...eature=related
To summarise them,
Part 1. discusses these two songs:
narumugaye (naattai, maand )
vellai pookkal (hamsadhwani)
2. kathal rojavae (kaapi)
en mel vizhuntha (-do-)
3. thakka thayya (madhyamavathi)
thom karuvil irunthom (-do-)
I this this is debatable. Hindustani experts need to confirm.
4. kannum kannum (sivaranjani)
malargale (saranga, saraswathi)
The saranga part is again debatable. Some call it suddha sarang.
//
RR, thanks for suggesting Shruthi Layalu. What a brilliant soundtrack! :shock: Mama! :bow:
That mandolin song... damn! I've gone nuts on this one! What stylish Mandolin playing! Is that U.Srinivas in the video (and/or behind the scene)?
Aakarsh, have you/Suresh/Plum written about this movie/songs anywhere? If not, here's your assignment, mate! :razz:
//
KV,
Sruthilayalu was a K.Vishwanath movie that had classical music as the premise. So, you know, it is bound to be good (in 80s). I havent written about the film because its been a long long time since I watched it. K.V.Mahadevan scored the music and I heard that mandolin Srinivas was employed for the mandolin pieces in the film. Coincidentally, the child-artist in the film was Srinivas (not U.Srinivas).
Thanks for the info, Aakarsh.
Theeyil vizhundha thEna (godfather)... what scale is this one in? I see traces of Charukesi. I have mayanginEn solla thayanginEn and Anbe en anbe anbe (june R?) ringing somewhere in my head. Some sites say Chakravagam/AhirBhairav and some others, Vaasanthi. Confusion!
Never heard that song. Must have heard only few times and if I dont remember it now, it means it didnt register much! somehow that album Godfather didnt impress me!
KV, it's charukesi scale but stresses a lot on vaasanthi part. Similar to 'kaathalin deepam ondru'.
Godfather also has a good hindolam - innisai alabedaye.
Thanks Wizzy, Sunil and Akarsh for the video links. Finished watching.
Will check Charulatha Mani's videos tomorrow.
The song Pal Pal Hai bhari (Swades) has raag Jaunpuri (apparently) and Jaijaivanthi(this i have felt). I like this composition a lot and i feel Swades is a very good album by him. Yeh Tara Woh Tara was based on raag Kalavathi.
aakarsh, I too like swades album. Most of the songs are good. Even the tamil dub is not bad. I think kalavati/valaji almost never failed MD's. Suits filmy tunes quite nicely.
RR,
True! But the extent of usage in films has been very limited (I have zero knowledge about Tamil film industry before IR). Back in 60s, composer Naushad gave "Koi Sagar" and Roshan had few songs (such as Kaahe Tarsaaye from chitralekha I think). Pt. Ravi shankar gave one, called "saanware saanware". Then in 70s, R.D.Burman's Hum kisise kum nahi title song had shades of this raaga. This song inspired Jatin Lalit for the title song of Sarfarosh. In 80s, ilaiyaraaja did a beautiful Kalavati in Swarna Kamalam (Telugu film). After that, Yeh Tara is the only song I heard in this raaga. ARR did it very well!
More recently, Leslie Lewis gave a very racy Kalavati "Jhanana Jhanana" in an obscure film called Apna Aasmaan.
aakarsh, there are several pre-IR kalavati's but let's recount them in another thread, just to avoid too much digressions.
For today, a pilu based song. I don't hear too many good pilu songs in TFM (though many in hindi films- 'mainu ishq da' from DHKMN is a beauty) except occasionally like 'vannam konda' by SPB. Then came this stunner from Jodi. Arguably one of the best hariharan solos under ARR. Listen to this 7 min wonder where both have given almost everything they got..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z1p4AzDVUiI
True ! Thanks for the song. Just a couple of nitpicks from the video slide - Lyrics are by Vairamuthu not by Vaali (all songs in Jodi are written by Vairamuthu). And the lyrics complement the tune and the theme very well and therefore credit must go to the right person. And if I remember correct this song appear fully in the movie (in the climax Ramesh Arvind performs it). Only the Sujatha-Srinivas version appears for 4 mins.
Never heard this one before. Good one!
Thanks, Roshan & aakarsh!
Roshan: of course lyrics is by Vairamuthu. Though being a VM fan, I didn't quite like the pallavi because it's very close (which I think was a coincidence) to
Vaali's unforgetable wordplay in 'ennai kaanavillaye netrodu' charanam..
Meiyaaga nee ennai virumbaadha podhum
poi ondru sol kanne en jeevan vaazhum
nijam undhan kaadhal endral..
Roshan: agree agree.. That's just my nitpick in an otherwise perfect combo in this song..
The rest of Jodi is a rehash of Doli Saja Ke which I guess aakarsh must've listened to. And, probably thought all songs are rehashes
and hence missed 'oru poyyaavadhu'.
Ok.. got it.
Regarding Raagas, I remember this was also during Super SInger Junior rehearsals.. Some one mentioned that pOraaLae ponnuthaayi is based on Mohanam and Mohanam is a pleasant Raaga which is used for happy and pleasant songs but AR in contrary has used it for a sad song (referring to the sad version of PooRaaLae..)...
RR,Thanks for Charulatha mani's videos, i know nothing about these ragas.. but enjoyed watching it to know how AR used these ragams. :bow: :bow:
Roshan: Strictly speaking, 'pOraale ponnuthayi' pathos version is not Mohanam. ARR tweaks it a bit (G2) and touches sivaranjani and this is what gives the pathos feel. But this idea is already used by IR, e.g. in 'paadu nilaave'. Note how he ends the line 'un paadalai naan thedinen' (touches sivaranjani) and the line 'ketkaamale naan vaadinen' (touches vaasanthi).
RR,
The latest - Aur Ho from Rockstar, has shades of Ahir Bhairav. Please confirm. If yes, then is this the 1st ahir bhairavi from ARR?
ARR churned AHIR BHAIRAVI in the film TAAL , it came around late 90s.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dO4liWZcKow
ni main samaj....taal
solah Baras Ki Baali Umar Ko Salaam
aye Pyar Teri Pehli Nazar Ko Salaam....ek tujhe ke liye...Kamal hasan!:swinghead:
Pandit Jasraj's aaj to anand ...... in Rag Ahir bhairavi, I meditate.:ty:
Vinatha
my son's favorite is the raga BHAIRAVI-(sindhu bhairavi):happydance:
taal se taal mila.......TAAL:happydance::musicsmile:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qFZa-MxJZQk
aakarsh, I can't confirm on the Rockstar one yet. But he has done a superb Chakravagam/Ahir-Bairav in Muthu:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FHCrN8QqvGk
Oh yes! I forgot this song. Yes, Ahir Bhairav! He didnt explore this raaga after Muthu? He seems to be fascinated more by Bhairavi..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M4jn0lDQL5k
A good example of ARR's usage of the raga Thodi.....he tweaks it a bit with the addition of G2 and D2 though....the notes of S G2 M1 P sung by karthik between uthatta nee konjam suzhikaiilla and maman thvikiraen give clear indications of the rag being close to thodi......
Sarfaroshi ki Tamanna - legend of Bhagat singh - Raag Desh
Can any one tell me the raga which is used in "Nila Kaigiradhu" song from "Indira"?
Bombay Dreams - I could live here
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=86DdQXmqIHA
Any idea what raag this is? I would like to hear other compositions set to this raag :)
What raaga is kural from connections because charanams of thalatum poongatru sound similar?
Yes, it sounds like Ahir Bhairav