rajraj sir,
Very nice to know about your sons. Western Classical violinists, wow! Great to hear that. :D Thanks for sharing some wonderful songs of Jhanak Jhanak payal bhaje and Pandit Jasraj's bhajan.
Printable View
rajraj sir,
Very nice to know about your sons. Western Classical violinists, wow! Great to hear that. :D Thanks for sharing some wonderful songs of Jhanak Jhanak payal bhaje and Pandit Jasraj's bhajan.
sun sun madras ki chori from Mujrim:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jLmJMuD6TWI
I was listening to 'vatapi ganapatim bhajeham' in Hamsadhwani this morning. Hamsadhwani is one of the few carnatic ragas adopted by Hindustani musicians. There was a time when carnatic concerts began with 'vatapi ganapatim bhajeham' by Dikshithar. I am not sure that is true any more.
Here is a Hindi movie song from Parivar(1956) in Hamsadhwani:
Ja tose nahi bolun kanhaiya.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4jWb_pdmRqI
Here is a carnatic classical rendition by M.L.Vasanthakumari:
vatapi ganapatim bhajeham.....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=POODk...eature=related
Ajoy Chakraborti's rendition of 'vatapi ganapatim bhajeham'. It is rare for Hindustani musicians to sing Sanskrit compostions. I like this one.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9z-9B...eature=related
In school prayer we used to sing a song in Hamsadhwani- aruL purivaai karuNai kadale
Have a good weekend! :)
Raj,
I'm hearing Ajoy's 'carnatic' rendition for the first time. Kalakkittaar! Precision & perfection. In fact I have to say he thookki saapputufy 99% of the current-day evening slot music academy artists.
Interesting to hear 'ja tose' - atta copy :lol:
raj nga......this is also my first time listening to Ajoy's rendition......adengappaaa.....pularichi poidichi.....romba romba pramaadam.....save pannikiten naanum :noteeth: thank you....kaathiley innum olichikitey irukunga....beautifullll....ty once again nga!
Tamil month 'thai' is here and the wedding season has begun. Here are two songs from Mother India (1957), a popular movie of the fifties.
Pi ke ghar aaj pyari........
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rFjdj...eature=related
You see a caravan of bullock carts in the clip. That reminds me of the first wedding I attended in my ancestral village. There was the wedding ceremony in the morning with nadhaswaram. After dinner there was a flute concert. Before the ceremony they were playing 78 rpm records with a loud speaker. I am still puzzled about how they did it when there was no electricity in the village. The gramaphone did not require electricity. You had to wind the spring to store energy and rotate the record (called plate those days). It must have been batteries. There were petromax lights in the night. The flute concert was my first concert.
The next morning there were about ten bullock carts. I thought the guests were returning home. But, it was for wedding party to take the bride and groom to the groom's place about 20 miles away. One of my uncles had a jeep. The groom was driven away in the jeep. The bride and some family members including some kids like me took the bullock carts. We used to get off from one cart and get into another cart, just for fun.
It was a fun ride. Of course there was not much traffic in the road. Bullock carts are gone replaced by vans and buses. No fun! :)
Here is a song that tells you about the fun of riding bullock carts:
Oh gadiwale gadi dheere........
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VNC2tuDjyNY
PaathaaLa bhairavi was a hit movie in Tamil and Telugu released in 1951. All the songs were popular.It was made in Hindi later.
Here is a song from the Hindi version:
kahin preet se.....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tWlxTmSuEaI
Tamil version- ennathaan un premaiyo.....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RrR29PQUe3M
Telugu version -entha ghatu premaiyo....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AL4yiMinXww
My favourite in Tamil version was 'amaidhi illaadhen maname en maname......'. I could not find a Hindi equivalent.
"tista nadi si tu chanchala... mein bhi hoon bachpan se man chala..."
K.J Yesudas and Hemalata singing a non-filmi song on Doordarshan
Lyrics/Music: Ravindra Jain
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qdK2-wk-FEY
Concluding Hindustani concerts with Bhairavi was the tradition. Not sure it is true anymore. We hold a musical evening at the end of the year where friends sing in Tamil,Sanskrit,Telugu,Kannada and Hindi, and also play sitar and veena. The evening usually ends with Bhairavi sung by our north Indian friends. Here are those songs in Bhairavi:
Madhukar shyam hamare chor.... by K.L.Saigal in Bhakta Surdas(1942):
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m4fyfd3E5zo
Tu Ganga ki mauj.........from Baiju Bawra(1952):
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oj3t5jOTYmw
We started the musical evening to let the Indian children learning music (violin,viola,flute and piano) play what they learnt during the year. It was fun to watch the children move up from 1/8 size violin to full size violin.
Here is a piece our children played in their annual concert, played by a group of children:
Minuet by J.S.Bach
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3wNVY...eature=related
Notice the size of violins! :)
Have a good weekend!
Once in a while I will post some concert pieces from Mozart,Beethoven,Bach,Haydn,Handel and others!
raj,
tu ganga ki mauj lovely song.
yeh zindasgi usiki ..
very nostalgic yester year lives. Lot more lovely songs.. I need to relive.
Minuet is new to me. I liked it.
Gaadiwali gaadi dheere haak re.. nice. I am listening to it new. thanks. seriously these songs transports us to diff life. dliff era.
SP, Hw z it..
Tum ho
Tum ho paas mere
Saath mere ho
Tum yun
Jitna mehsoos karoon
Tumko utna hi paa bhi loon
Tum ho mere liye
Mere liye ho tum yun
Khud ko main haar gaya
Tum ko, tukmko main jeeta hoon
Raj sir,
Very nice to read your bullock cart travel experience. Yes, they are no longer now. :sad: Ennathaan Un Premaiyo is my all time favorite composition. Like a gentle breeze passing over us, nothing like that. Good to hear the Talat ji and Geeta ji's version.
Been wrapped in this song throughout the whole weekend :musicsmile:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YMcg7TMj1RM
nice rock star. Just watched the song :thumbsup:
nice song sunil!
A song from Samadhi(1950)
Gore gore o bonke chore......
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LuCtgwQ0_Ks
This is supposed to have borrowed from the west:
Chico chico in Puerto Rico.....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B2qDKribLIg
And then to the south.......
oh saami ayyaa saami avoji saami ayyaa raayyaa vaayyaa you come ayyaa.....
http://www.dhool.com/sotd/aiyasaami.rm
From Saravanan's SOTD in dhool. The singer is none other than M.L.Vasanthakumari! :)
Is there a better movie to celebrate on valentine's day than Basu Bhattacharya's ANUBHAV!
Urban , gorgeous couple lost romance & intimacy , sucked into their busy life
Wife realized it , wanted to do something about it & she did .
Beautiful Tanuja with dazzling Sanjeev kumar in ethereal black & white picture ..... What a masterpiece !
romance oozes in Kanu roy -Geeta Dutt team's composition.
meri jaan, mujhe jaan na kaho meri jaan ....
oh ...darling ! don 't call me your life , because life is not permanent ....says Gulzar .
Well, in this non permanent life, the lady took her marriage seriously, did everything in her powers to turn around the situation, rejuvenated the physical intimacy and affectionate gestures that made love such an awesome experience.
phir kahin koi phool..... Desh ragam composition is my favorite too.
vinatha.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F6FkVPOMtvM&feature=fvsr
that I call delicate film making!
beautiful tanuja indeed!!!!
//that I call delicate film making! //
lol...truely picturised to show daily life as it is(tune compliments too), rather than showly filmy song sequence :)
thats what makes it more real and may be delicate!?
song reminds me of a diff album "tu jahan jahan chalega"
Ive heard the song "gore gore oh banke chore", now visually feasting it.
thankyou baroque, and raj
yeah.... Shakthi, the entire film filmed in their apartment, with Tanuja looking homely & urban in wonderful sarees, Sanjeev Kumar in kurthas, playing cards etc...., she is dotting him with cooked food, hugs,looking beautiful together, Wow! soulful movie.
Are you mentioningalbum MERA SAAYA of LATE MADHAN MOHAN?
Sunil dutt with Sadhana with little pathos & hubby missing his wife longing etc...
Mera Saaya is a wonderful movie too with beautiful compositions.
Ragam Bhimpalasi.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VXbJwAstSR4
yeah mera saaya.. There was a remix version in dd those days of a mother and son (who goes for military)
and the song goes "tu jahan jahan chalege mera saaya saath hoga"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vOvwXhK4y6E&feature=related
there was a remix version too of 'mom and son'. thanks for the song :)
//the entire film filmed in their apartment, with Tanuja looking homely & urban in wonderful sarees, Sanjeev Kumar in kurthas, playing cards etc...., she is dotting him with cooked food, hugs,looking beautiful together, Wow! soulful movie.///
Can relate...cant we :) ..thats why it gels well.
Charukesi is another raga that migrated to the north from the south. Here is a song from Dastak(1970):
baiyan na dharo balma...........
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VSERYQGm6fE
A classical rendition by Pandit Jasraj (in a close relative to Hindi) :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=osbic...eature=related
Charukesi exposition by M.S :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R6A4_z9tezQ
Probably the most famous Tamil movie song:
Manmadhan leelaiyai vendraar uNdo by MKT in Haridas:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lt3MRCvAtao
There is a story behing my singing 'manmadhan leelaiyai'. I was a small boy and was fascinated by this song and used to sing a few lines. Our neighbour who also sang this song asked me whether I knew the meaning. I said no.
Then he said that I should be singing a different song and taught me 'deena karunakarane nataraja' by MKT. I am reminded of this whenever I watch the music competitions for children where they sing songs that are not fit for their age! :( Change? :)
O Saiyyan http://youtube.com/watch?v=fyx-NM0wZeY
Abhi Mujh Main Kahin http://youtube.com/watch?v=M9yL6eYfC3M
I have no words to describe the beauty of these two numbers...
:bow: Ajay-Atul, Roop Kumar Rathod, Sonu Nigam :bow:
Here is a song from Phagun(1958):
Chun chun ghungroo bole.......
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sC7-p...eature=related
Here is a dance by Vaijayantimala in Chhoti si Mulaqat(1967):
kam nahin paye jiya more piya........
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qgriw...eature=related
It is Nayaki Kanada, a variation of Darbari Kanada.
I opened one of our annuual musical evenings with 'thoomaNi maadathu' ( 9th verse of Thiruppaavai) in Hamir Kalyani, because it was the month of Margazhi. When I finished one of my north Indian friends,an expert in classical music, came to me and said that he was happy I started with Kedar. Kedar is the Hindustani equivalent of Hamir Kalyani with a slight difference.
Here is a song from Mughal E Azam(1960) in Kedar:
Beqas pe karam kijiye........
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DaeiwBG_DbE
There are not that many compositions in Hamir kalyani in carnatic music. In addition to the thiruppaavai verse I like 'Purahara nandana' and 'ParimaLa ranganatham' by Dikshithar. Here is Purahara nandana...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J8dncHW5JXk
Here is the Thiruppaavai verse 9 ( by Vedavalli, I think):
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GSM18...eature=related
Wow! Baiyon na dharo and Beqas ke prem. Where are hindi songs now? Million thanks raj sir for sharing these two beauties from Madan ji and Naushad ji. Thanks for the raaga information too.
I thought I would post a song by Vani Jayaram. Here is a prayer from the movie Guddi(1971).
Humko manki shakthi dena............
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bqx8NlEQu94
You are welcome V_S! :) I like songs that bring out the ragas well. For some reason the songs of the 60s and earlier seem to do that. May be, I misssed everything from the 70s ! :lol: I will cover a few more ragas.
This song brings back memories of my school days when we started the day with a prayer and ended with 'vaazhiya senthamizh' by Bharathiyar
Beautiful song raj sir and good to hear your childhood memories through this song.
Here is my pick in 70's. One of my often visited song. The first one was composed by legendry Salil Chowdhury in 60's for Gulzar's lyrics and sung by Sabita.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eCtyS...eature=related
R D Burman ji used the same lyrics of Gulzar and composed entirely different tune sung by none other than Kishore ji which will haunt us for ever.
Jaane kya soch kar nahi guzra from Kinara (1977).
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oUkp4BdSC1A
The song V_S posted appears to be in Yaman or a variation. I picked yaman for the weekend. Yaman is Kalyani in carnatic system.
Here is a song from Chhaya(1961):
ansu samajh ke....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lkP1V...eature=related
There are many more movie songs in yaman/kalyani. I will post a few later. Here is a Tamil song in Kalyani:
mukathil mukam paarkkalaam......
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9-iemtv2YjM
A violin concert:
Nidhi chaala sukamaa........ ,a composition of Thyagaraja
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XFn-N...eature=related
In some other thread I read about Jazz being used in Tamil movies. Rag preceded Jazz. Scott Joplin is considered to be the pioneer of ragtime compositions .
My youngest son plays Scott Joplin on the piano whenever he comes home. The piano in the Hindi song reminded me of that. Here is 'Maple Leaf Rag' by Joplin:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pMAtL...eature=related
That was a great post raj sir, covering the same/similar raaga from different origins (from hindi film song to tamil to classical). :smile: First time hearing chayya songs. Thanks a lot for introducing all these classics. Salil chowdhury and Talat ji, beautiful combination! Very nice to hear about your son playing Scott Japlin. Congrats to him.
You will like this song too! :)
Bol re papi hara..... by Vani Jayaram in Guddi(1971)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-TorJ...eature=related
Live performance:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c9CXXnuxbnM
One of our singers sang this in one of our annual musical evenings. I liked it and thought I should share it with you! :)
Thanks V_S. We will cover a few more ragas! :)
The Hindu article says that Star Talkies in Triplicane is set to be demolished. The article also says that Madhumati ran for 50 weeks and Yaadon ki Baarat ran for 100 weeks in that theatre.
http://www.thehindu.com/todays-paper...cle2965317.ece
I think I posted a song from Madhumati. Here is a song from Yaadon Ki Baaraat(1973)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j81sn...eature=related
I understand that the movie was remade in Hindi,Tamil and Telugu. Here are the songs from the remakes:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q-2v-...eature=related
I chose this song (old version) because of the dress worn by the kids. It brought back memories of Deepavali as a kid. You notice that the kids are wearing similar shirts and trousers. That was what we had. My father used to get yards of cloth a couple of weeks before Deepavali. The next day a tailor would show up at our home to take measurements for all of us brothers. A few days later the tailor would deliver the shirts and half trousers and collect his charges. On Deepavali day we would appear in similar clothing! :) A yard cost between one and a half rupees to two rupees depending on whether it was Binny Mill or a mill from Bombay state.
Same thing happened with haircuts. On a Sunday a barber would show up and give haircuts for all of us starting with my father! :lol:
It is sad to see landmarks disappear. In Bangalore I used to frequent Opera Theatre for English movies. Now it is a shopping centre! :(
I can't forget Bol re pappi, as my niece won first prize singing this song. Ultimate and one of the best by Vani Jayaram. Thanks sir for raaga info, but surprise to hear the raaga name, 'Miyan ki Malhar'. Ippadi oru raagamA? :smile:
Nice to read your dress memories with appropriate Yaadon Ki Baarat song. I too had similar experience during many festival seasons, wearing similar dresses. Hilarious to hear the haircut sessions. Yes, I too remember this. But we had much bigger line as we lived together. It will start with my grandfather, his three sons (including my father), my brother and cousin. :wink: Thanks, you brought back all good memories through your posts and songs. :smile:
Regarding Yaadon Ki Baarat song, I feel happy that Thamizh version did not copy the hindi version, like the telugu version did. MSV changed it significantly and localized it perfectly.
Another of my very favorite of Kishore Kumar ji and R D Burman ji, Raat kali Ek Khwab Mein Aayi from the film Buddha mil gaya (1971). I really love the dialogue between Naveen Nischol and Archana. :lol: What a voice and singing! Very seducing!!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q4vJJVEwxpY
This version does not have the dialogue but we have the visuals.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gbcoL4fCSbE
:ty: raj and vs
for yaadon ki baarat, raat kali ek kwaab
//On Deepavali day we would appear in similar clothing! A yard cost between one and a half rupees to two rupees depending on whether it was Binny Mill or a mill from Bombay state.
Same thing happened with haircuts. On a Sunday a barber would show up and give haircuts for all of us starting with my father!
It is sad to see landmarks disappear. In Bangalore I used to frequent Opera Theatre for English movies. Now it is a shopping centre! //
I like yaadon ki baarat than, "naaLai namathe"
somehting abotu yaadon ki baarat is more........ realistic.
rdb, never fails to impress me.
You are welcome SP. :smile: Yes, original is always the best. RDB is a magician, added with Kishore ji voice, nothing like that. Listening to 'Oh Majhi re'. Best song in any angle, be the lyrics (by Gulzar), voice, tune, pain, visuals; fanastic! The pain in Kishore ji voice gets a lump in my throat. Wonderful Composition!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JFTaTokxsdc
R.I.P Ravi Sharma Ji!
One of my personal favourites is Chalo Ek Baar Phir Se from Gumrah (1963) http://youtube.com/watch?v=cE5q9kst-Zc :clap:
A sad day indeed, for all music lovers. Here is another classic from Ravi Ji:
Asha Bhosle singing "tora mann darpan kehlaaye..."
From KAAJAL (1965)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v02RrUwycu0
Oh No! Can't believe, Ravi ji is not with us. No one can forget this song, 'Chaudhvin Ka Chand' whenever we think of Ravi ji. May his soul rest in peace. :sad:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Ud2rsMT5ng
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i0uaBMfLYDU
sad indeed!:(
pahadi composition from Neel Kamal.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=my6kFSdKsY8
Swing composition from China town......baar baar....Rafi
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=75SRg70XrVY
a comedy, wacky song from dilli ka thug.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GLVJ_QGcPyE
Waltz romance from the same movie
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jGzclBNJX9w
sajna saath nibhana....early Asha with Rafi-pathos part.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rNuwzYaU944
children song from the composer, Lataji's wonderful composition.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q7EZLZlQbgA&feature=player_embedded
vinatha.