guys wait for Pazhassi Raja - i heard from someone that PR album has the quality of Guru (Malayalam)!
Printable View
guys wait for Pazhassi Raja - i heard from someone that PR album has the quality of Guru (Malayalam)!
http://tamil.in.msn.com/entertainmen...mentid=1547259
doesn't say anything about Raja though.
I listened to Uliyin Osai songs for the first time.
I should say that Raja is well and truly back. Amazing composition. I am one of the elite few who have kept away from listening to any of the contemporary songs for the past 6 months. I listen only to Raja songs predominantly in my ipod and in my car as well.
I even liked Azhagi vara song which was trashed by a few.
I should say that there was a seamless liking of all songs in UO in comparison to all the Raja gems that I have been listening all these months.
This is to make it a strong testimony in addition to the one made earlier by people here with similar-music taste that made the likes of Mr.Judge to come back and listen to contemporary Raja songs :-)
Go for it folks...
What are those 18 films that IR has now ?
Tamil:
1. Dhanam.
2. NK.
3. Mayilu.
4. Azhagar malai.
5. Ayyan.
6. Malai kallan.
7. Nandalala.
Telugu:
8. Mallepoovu
Malayalam:
9. Pazhassi Raja.
10. SMS ( Eppo anuppuvaanga ?? )
remaining 8 ??
I have not included projects which has not been officially launched like Amir's Kannapiran.
Sorry.
Missed
11. Jaganmohini.
12. Some Kannada movie
remaining 6 ??
Add to the list:
1. Swamy Ayyappan (Animation movie)
2. Pa (balki - amitabh - abhishek)
3. Keka (Telugu - Teja - PC Sriram)
there is a IR-Gulzar movie which we discussed some time back.
Donno if Mukhbir is included in this.
Director of 'Hope' s next tlugu movie.
Chal Chale
what about Quick Gun Murugan (Jagpathy babu - Telugu)
QGM might not have IR music. It might simply reproduce some SPB - IR hits with permission.
and it is not jagapathy babu - it is rajendra prasad
I heard Keka was rejected by IR.
And Pa is not yet officially anounced.
So,
13. Chal Chale.
14. Swami Ayyappan.
any other ??
The Mavericks have analyzed the music of Uliyin Osai very well. I am glad that Illayaraja got to fore his intelligence and didn't give cliched classical dance numbers. The more I listen to this album the more I appreciate the thought that has gone behind each of the songs.
Got hold of the Kannada movie, 'Aa Dinagaluu' which has just been released on VCD. Outstanding background score by Illayaraja. The two songs in the movie are excellent melodies. The background score shows why Raja is the undisputed king in this department. The way her conjures up the menacing tones without ever sounding loud is a testimony to his genius. Background score enhances the overall mood of the movie and adds class to it.The movie is a decent one as well. You can watch it and enjoy even if you do not understand Kannada.
Mukhbir has music by Karthik Raaja (along with another composer - I don't know why).Quote:
Originally Posted by jaiganes
Yesterday night in some Hindi TV channel there was a special feature on the movie Chal Chale. It is a biggie with Mithun da, Mukesh Kanna and Shilpa Shukla of Chak De India. No mention of the technical crew, but the subject is same as the telugu movie Hope = Exam pressure leading to suicide among young students.
இளையராஜா பாடிய டூயட்
By JBR
இன்றைய தேதியில் அதிக படங்களுக்கு இசையமைப்பவர்கள் வரிசையில் முன்னணியில் இருக்கிறார் இளையராஜா.
பத்து வருடத்திற்குமுன் இசைஞானியின் முகத்தில் பார்த்த சந்தோஷத்தை இப்போது காணமுடிகிறது என்கிறார்கள் பரவசமாக. இளையராஜா இசையமைக்கும் படங்களில் ஒன்று 'ஜகன்மோகினி'. பொதுவாக படப்பிடிப்பு பக்கம் எட்டிப் பார்க்காதவர், மதுரை திருமலைநாயக்கர் மஹாலில் ஜகன்மோகினி பாடல்காட்சியை எப்படி எடுக்கிறார்கள் என்று நேரில் சென்று பார்த்தார். எதிர்பாராத இளையராஜாவின் விசிட்டால் பூஸ்ட்குடித்த உற்சாகத்தில் உள்ளது 'ஜகன்மோகினி' டீம்.
இளையராஜா இசையமைக்கும் இன்னொரு படம் 'அழகர் மலை'. சங்கிலி முருகன் தயாரிப்பு, பன்னிரெண்டு ஆண்டுகளுக்குமுன் சங்கிலி முருகன் தயாரித்த காதலுக்கு மரியாதை படத்துக்கு இளையராஜா இசை. பாடல்கள் அனைத்தும் பம்பர் ஹிட். அதற்குப் பிறகு இப்போதுதான் படம் தயாரிக்கிறார் சங்கிலி முருகன்.
இந்தப் படத்தில் நா.முத்துக்குமார் வரிகளில்,
"கருகமணி கருகமணி
கழுத்தில் ஆடுதடி...."
என்ற டூயட் இடம் பெறுகிறது. இப்பாடலை மும்பை பாடகியுடன் இணைந்து இளையராஜா பாடினார். சில வருடங்களாக டூயட் பாடலை தவிர்த்து வந்தவர் தானாகவே டூயட்பாடலை பாடியிருப்பது அழகர் மலை யூனிட்டை அதிசயிக்கவைத்துள்ளது.
பாடல்கள் அத்தனையும் ஹிட் என இப்போதே சொல்கிறார்கள் நம்பிக்கையுடன்!
source : cinesouth
Glad to hear that he is happy :DQuote:
Originally Posted by Sanjeevi
Yes ! I was about tell that "A cheerful Raja is the reason for his attracting more films" and this news came in :)
Or is it "more films on his side makes him cheerful" ?
Anyways, all that IR needs to do now is concentrate on how to consolidate this to come to the fore front ! And his 80's orchestra will be the key !
Adha vittuttu, thirumbavum "Kajuraho.." song-a eppadi rehash pannalaamnu yosichaarnaa avvalavuthaan :(
I remember the January of 2000. At that time around 5 films with his music were running simultaneously - Hey Ram, Time, Sethu, Kadhal Rojave, Kannukkul Nilavu.
I was telling Raja was back, but nothing happened after...So fingers crossed now :)
There was interesting compilation by one of the fans 'Alex' in orkut title non stop magic after 32 years :) Here it is
though few of the movies in the list are never going to materialise, Its interesting to note that a composer to have these many projects after 32 years in the industry is an achievement, nobody will ever be able to come near to. :)Quote:
In Tamil
01. Kangalum Kavipaduthey - Already audio released - New faces
02. Mayilu - Duet movies produced - New faces
03. Dhanam - Sangeetha lead role - waiting for release
04. Anal Katru - Balu mahandra
05. Naan Kadavul - Bala movie - Arya & Pooja - Shooting finished
06. Uliyin Osai - Kalaignar scripted - shooting progress
07. Kannabiran - Ameer movie - to be announced
08. Nandalala - Myskin movie - announced
09. Valmeeki - announced - Akil and Meera nandan are casted
10. Alagar Malai - Sangili Murugan Produced - New Faces
11. Malaikallan - Rajkiran movie - announced
12. Jaganmohgni - Namitha staring
13. Chinthamani - Rajkiran movie - to be announced
14. Mudhalvar Mahatma - Balakrishnan movie - New faces
15. Padma magan new movie - to be announced
16. Fazil Movie - Prativiraj & meera Jasmin staring
17. Adumkoothu - Cheran and Navyanayar -
18. Jayakanthan documentary - to be released
In Malayalam
01. SMS - Bala and Navya nayar - Audio released in hit
02. Pazhassi Raja - Mamooty & Kanika - Hariharan directed
03. Kutty Shranku - Mamooty & Meera - to be announced
04. Swarnamalikka - Mohanlal & Kavya madhavan - to be announced
05. Fazil Movie - Fazil movie - Prithiviraj & Mamtha mohandas
In Telugu
01. Sunny - New faces - Audio released
02. Mallepoovu - Boomika casted - New director - Shooting progress
03. Okkadasunnadu - Kalyanram & Genelia casted - to be announced
04. Guick gun Murugan - Jagapathi babu casted - to be announced
05. Teja new movie - to be announced
In Kannada
01. NANNAVANU.
02.Songoli Rayanna
In Hindi
01. Paa - Amitabh & Abishek casted - Balki Directed - shooting
02. Mukhbir - Jackieshroff acted - to be released
03. Chal chale - Mithun chakravarthy - shooting
04. Ajoy verma movie - yet not to be titled
05.Mumbai Cutting
In Multi langauage movies
01. Ajantha - Audio released - Tamil, Telugu, Kannada & Malayalam
02. Manikandan (animation)- Shooting - Tamil, Malayalam, Kannada, Telugu & Hindi
03. Twinkle Twinkle Twinkle star - - Tamil, Malayalam, Hindi, Telugu & Kannada
There was also an interesting observation by some hubber many years ago that every 16 years there will be a new music director claiming the top spot.
MSV - 1960
IR - 1976
ARR- 1992
Its 2008 now... will IR reclaim his position :oops:
My friend about whom I said in 'Nandalala' thread, who had written off Raaja was thrilled after listening to the songs and said 'Raaja is back' :) k
Though Personally I've kept my hopes low...Its a feel good news that the media is speculating about this comeback. :D
Quote:
I heard Keka was rejected by IR.
And Pa is not yet officially anounced.
So,
13. Chal Chale.
14. Swami Ayyappan.
any other ??
Oops ! I missed
15. Valmiki.
16. Ajanta ( eppo release ??? ).
So totally 16 films confirmed/anounced till date.
I don't think any other MD has so many films at hand. Though numbers doesn't really matter, this shows an under current in the film industry in favour of IR :D
hai,
another review of uliyin osai, here
http://www.cinesnacks.com/tamil-movi...es.php?nid=363
People, Dont wait for anything go and watch uliyin oosai. Once of the exordinary composition from raaja. You can feel the music and even songs are well caputured. I feel raaja is on the track. All the music directors should learn from him how to give a background music for a movie by seeing uliyin oosai. Once of the exordinary effort from raaja.
Yesterday only I listened to the songs fully on the promo that came on Isaiaruvi. I liked a few songs but didn't like the saapadu azagi song. I haven't got the CD yet and should get it today.Quote:
Originally Posted by sgmsin
I am reading Sivakamiyin Sabatham part 2 now, so if I watch the movie I will be enjoying it. As jaiganes said it, actors thaan konjam bayamuruthara maathiri irukkaanga but looks like the script is good so don't mind watching Vineeth, sagichchukkellamnu thonuthu. :D
I got the CD and gave it a back to back listen.
Awesome veenai for The sudha Raghunadhan Bombay Jayashree song. There are MD's who will invariably make a carnatic classical song slow and drawn out and less orchestrated. IR makes it rich, brisk and the result is as peppy as a modern hit. I liked even the Azhagi varra song. The sozha vala naadu was cool, very evocative and aptly tuned to bring to mind some images.
Ahandhayil aaduvadhaa aadal kalai is again another brisk numbe. Will hear it once more before posting my song by song thoughts.
jaiganes, plz post from where u bought UO CD in bangalore. Iam dying to get hold of this classical comfort by Raja . My God!! How long a wait!!
hello thumburu, you can get the CD in Forum.
thanks but where in forum? Anywhere near Indranagar?
Its in PVR cinema hall,Hosur Main Road , Koramangala , Bangalore- 560095
Please find the information in below link.
http://www.asklaila.com/listing/Bang...orum/1HJkfJVq/
Thumburu,
You should get it in Landmark in Forum. I bought in Calypso in Jayanagar. Not sure about music shops in Indranagar. I am sure Landmark will have it.
S.Suresh
I bought it on sunday from Calypso Jayanagar 4th block.
The movie is not an extensive classical music album - it is diluted, fast, made in view of the popular reach that a kalaignar movie will have. The competetion song - which had much scope to let Raja dwell more in depth with the intricacies in the charanams, he reigns himself in - so that the tune is in accordance to a dance competition - not a singing competition - so the comparison wit 'isai arasi' though it pops up - is not valid.
:shock: New to Bengaluru ? I am not sure whether you will get it in forum. Even for popular CDs, they take at least 1 week. Anyway, check it out :)Quote:
Originally Posted by thumburu
Director Shankar's former assistant Anantha Narayanan known to be an avid reader and keen thinker is wielding the megaphone for a movie titled 'Valmiki'.
The debutante director says, 'it is an unusual title and will be very different. Just like sage ‘Valmiki’ was a reformed after being a dacoit, my hero turns overnight into a new leaf'.
'Kallori' fame Akhil plays Pandian, a pickpocket, while Meera Nandan, the girl who made her debut in a Malayalam film ‘Mulla’, plays the female lead.
The heroine runs a crèche and an incident unites the lead pair. The change that comes over the hero and how it makes a change to many lives in society forms the story.
According to Anantha Narayanan, 'the whole movie is set in north Chennai. The very mention of the place makes one think of blood, gore and violence. But that won't be the case. It is about a man who commits petty crimes and how his life takes a turn'.
On his association with Shankar, he says, ' Shankar always gave us independence. He expects his assistants to develop individuality. Though I learnt the nuances of film-making from Shankar, I will always follow my own way'.
Music is by Ilayaraja and editing by VT Vijayan. Vaali does the lyrics and Alagappan handles the cinematography.
I bought the CD today. BigMusic has released it. I have listened to it only once. My pick is 'Pularkindra pozhuthu' by Sreeram Parthasarathy. Even after repeated listenings, I am sure it will be my pick.
Why didn't they show this song in the trailer? :banghead:
Rediff's comment on IR (amidst a very negative review of the movie):
Ilaiyaraja is one of those composers who are incapable of delivering bad work even when their hearts are not in it. His songs, especially, Kallai Irunthen and Ethanai Baavangal are worth a listen.
http://inhome.rediff.com/movies/2008/jul/07ssu.htm
After couple of listenings, I change my mind, I like kallAi irunthEn song very much now.
வடசென்னையை எடுத்துரைக்கும் மற்றுமொரு படம்
வ*டசெ*ன்னையை *பி*ன்புலமாக*க் கொ*ண்டு தயாராகு**ம் படம் `வா*ல்*மீ*கி'. இயக்குனர் ஷங்கரிடம் உதவியாளராக இருந்த *ஜி. ஆன*ந்த நாராயண*ன் இயக்கும் இப்படத்தில் வழக்கமான கத்தி, கபடா சமாச்சாரம் எல்லாம் இருக்காதாம்.
அடாவடியாக *திர*ியு*ம் ஒரு இளைஞ*ன் அ*ன்பான ஒரு பெ*ண்ணா*ல் *திரு*ந்துவதே கதையாம்.
பா*ண்டி எ*ன்னு*ம் அடாவடி இளைஞ**ன் வேட*த்*தி*ல் `க*ல்லூ*ரி' அ**கி*ல். அ*ன்பான பெ*ண்ணாக *மீரா ந*ந்த*ன். பூ*க்கா*ரி வேட*த்*தி*ல் *ஸ்ரு*தி நாய*ர். இவ*ர்களை மையமாக*க் கொ*ண்டே கதை நக**ருமாம்.
பட*ம் கு*றி*த்து மேலு*ம் *சில தகவ*ல்க*ள்...
இசை - இளையராஜா. மொ*த்த*ப் பட*த்தையு*ம் முடி*த்து* வி*ட்டு இளையராஜா*வு*க்கு*ப் போ*ட்டு*க் கா*ண்*பி*த்து, அவ*ர் எ*ந்தெ*ந்த இட*ங்களை*ச் சொ**ல்*கிறாரோ அ*ந்த*ந்த இட*ங்க*ளி*ல் பாட*ல்களை வை*க்க*ப் போ*கிறாரா*ம் இய*க்குந*ர்.
*விகட*ன் டாக்க*ீ*ஸ் பா. *சீ*னிவாச*னி*ன் இர*ண்டாவது தயா*ரி*ப்பு இப்படம்.
பாடல்கள் - வா*லி. எ*ன்.அழக*ப்ப*ன் ஒ*ளி*ப்ப*திவு.
Mallepuvu audio should get released by end of July according to this news. Also, looks like IR has asked for the tamil rights of this film!
http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/t...cle/39816.html
Also, read somewhere that "Chal Chale" should get released by end of September. Will try to post the link...if i get it.
Krishnan
Dhanam next month release. Audio may be out in couple of weeks then.
http://entertainment.oneindia.in/tam...si-080607.html
But I am not expecting anything great in this film...
Ilayaraja is back with a bang
IndiaGlitz [Tuesday, July 08, 2008]
After a brief lull, Ilayaraja is back with his best. His tunes in 'Uliyin Osai' went on to become hits. What's more…. his background score in the movie was also critically hailed.
Now the maestro is keen to continue his good run. He has got a couple of biggies in his kitty for this year. Director Bala's 'Naan Kadavul' and the Namitha starrer 'Jagan Mohini'.
Bala and Ilayaraja have always hit the bull’s eye with their association. Buzz is that the songs in 'Naan Kadavul' have shaped out to be very good.
There are also huge expectations for 'Jaganmohini' for it is a period film and Ilayaraja is known to weave magic in such ventures.