MAC, Motera, Mohali, Mumbai - MSD :D
Printable View
MAC, Motera, Mohali, Mumbai - MSD :D
yes, 83' squad was less talented than current squad but they had no expectations and pressure to win unlike this team.......pressure can break the most talented sides too ex: SA .......
im happy with anything that is good for Dhoni.......if relinquishing ODI and T20 captaincy means longevity - then surely yes.......but inime vida maattanga :lol:
nice of Mahi to mention all the past greats.
kumble said, dhoni was as cool as he always is when he met him during the celebrations where things were going helter.
Nothing seem to change his nature and persona.:thumbsup::notworthy:
my drunken post:
2003 indian team membersayum kooptu cup kooda ninnu ellarum photo edutthukitta nallaa irukkum....
ganguly and dravid deserve to be there to too....
Idhu dhAnA unga drunken posttu? Fail.
neenga pass ;)
nAn eppOvumE distinction :)
yes..kapil's team won against the best ever team in the game's history..but for us this is the first time experience..so this will stand in front of every other cricket moment...felt very emotional like all of the Indians...i will proudly say this is the best moment of my life..
and with Dhoni--he has lot more to offer..best captain of India illa..best ever captain in cricketa avaru namma MSD :smoeksmirk:..still AUS series win irukku..adhayum jeikkanum
and i think these players deserve a long brk..after the turmoil they have gone through...odane arambikkudhu IPL :banghead:..just imagine,the players would once again have to buckle up and go through the agony again...indha WC winna atleast oru 1 month enjoy panna venama :evil:
Dhoni should skip IPL.
Sachin should skip, too. Apram IPL paduththurum so neither will happen
N Srinivasan is the key. Dhoni fans - do the needful. Chennaila dhAne irukkAr - :)
Worse to come.
IPL getting over on May 28
WI tour from mid june to july, Eng tour from July to Sep, CL in Sep, Aus tour from Nov (IIRC)
auuuuuu. Rotation basis la aadi odamba paarthukkaNum. Dhoni, Sachin, Zak, Yuvi, Sehwag and Gambhir should take rest in turns. Lax and Dravid only for Tests. Raina, Kohli for ODI. lets see.
They earn more from IPL than WI & Eng Tour put together..
yes, beneficial for fringe players and who are not regulars / don't get selected - Like Sourabh Tiwari. But, Dhoni, Sachin etc cannot avoid any of these. angadhAn work load problem varudhu. a well planned rotation and rest system should be in place.
yes, yes. West Indies mAdhiri opponents kitta Dinesh Karthik, Murali Vijay, C Ganapathy ellAm select paNNanum. Cheeka, pls do the needful :)Quote:
Rotation basis la aadi odamba paarthukkaNum.
even a 3rd string team would be enough for the WI tour..Ashwin,piyush,virat and some more youngsters thavira all players from the WC squad shud be rested
thalaivar for tests please :D Oasi centuries yaar viduvA? (ippadi nenappudhAn pozhappa kedukkum )
SUPER
thnx Ajay :D
World Cup winner Dhoni now targets T20 crown
London, Apr 4: After winning the 2011 World Cup, Indian skipper MS Dhoni is planning to add another feather to his cap by targeting the Twenty20 crown, with the tournament being played in Sri Lanka next year.
The Indian team is No.1 in the Test rankings and is World Cup champion for the first time since 1983.
And with the Twenty20 World Cup back here in the subcontinent in Sri Lanka next year, Dhoni has set his sights on the trophy as present champions England will struggle to keep hold of their trophy, the Daily Express reports.
"We have achieved something great here," said Dhoni, after his 91 not out helped India to a six-wicket win.
"It is something we planned for one and a half years when we first targeted this World Cup. We had a long-term goal. But we are growing as a sporting nation and particularly cricket.
"The Twenty20 win in 2007 [in South Africa] was where this team started doing things differently, but we must close that chapter now," Dhoni said.
India's win ensures that 50-over cricket's immediate and medium-term future. India will defend the title in Australia in 2015. England will host the tournament four years on from that.
Emotional Sachin says Dhoni the best captain he's played under
http://www.rediff.com/cricket/report...r/20110404.htm
Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar [ Images ] was at his emotional best while talking to the media on Monday.
After all, his most cherished dream had been fulfilled after 22 long years.
"Winning the World Cup was my biggest dream," he reiterated, adding, "I was only 10 when we won the World Cup in 1983.
"And my dream has got fulfilled now. It doesn't get better than winning it in Mumbai [ Images ].
"I became extremely emotional, which was rare. The tears in my eyes were happy ones."
Tendulkar also took the opportunity to express his gratitude towards his team.
"I was touched when the players said they won it for me," he admitted, adding, "It was because of a collective effort and responsibility that we won the Cup.
"We had actually to convince ourselves that we won the Cup."
Asked what worked for Team India [ Images ] in the tournament, Tendulkar was categorical.
"We peaked at the right time and that was important," he said.
The Master Blaster was also all praise for captain MS Dhoni [ Images ].
"Of all the captain I have played under, he's certainly the best," admitted Tendular :clap:, before proceeding to elaborate on his point.
"The maturity and alertness he showed was tremendous," explained Tendulkar, adding, "He reads the situation well and works accordingly.
"He understands the situation and doesn't show frustration. And that's good for any captain."
The soon-to-be (on April 24) 38-year-old, though, avoided questions pertaining to his retirement.
Dhoni the best captain I have played under - Tendulkar
http://www.espncricinfo.com/icc_cric...ry/509507.html
illayA pinna? MSD is instrumental in fulfilling thalaivar's dream in cricket. oNNu mattum pending - Aus series win in Aus. indha varusham adhayum fulfil seiyyarOm :yes:
Mahendra Singh Dhoni
Dhoni has proved he is human after all
Mumbai: India's captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni defied logic when he said that Piyush Chawla needed to play crucial World Cup fixtures ahead of the 'mentally strong' Ravichandran Ashwin.
That he would be satisfied if part-timers went for over six an over, as long as they did their job. That he didn't want to place a square leg fearing injuries. The mystery that is Mahendra Singh Dhoni continues to grow. On Saturday, those missing pieces in the jigsaw puzzle were brought together by his instinctive moves. MiD DAY draws out five points in an attempt to crack the 'MSD Code'.
"I don't know. I can't remember how I felt during the final of the CB Series or the Tri-Series at Dambulla," he said when Ravi Shastri asked him at the toss if the Indo-Pak semi-final was the biggest match of his life. Dhoni continued to insist the World Cup was just another event. When the euphoria exposed its finest colours on Saturday, he shed a few tears, proving that he's just human.
He went out to collect the trophy in a sleeveless shirt, just as he had done during the 2007 WT20. At that time, he drew criticism. But, did it again. Was it just to prove a point?
Afterwards, he didn't want to compare the two triumphs. Again, he showed signs of a man who lives in the moment.
At the post-World Cup briefing, he was physically and emotionally drained. For the last 12 months, he had been harping on the process that began in October 2008. The drained expression on his face yelled out just two words: Mission Accomplished.
There was cheekiness in the way he responded to a foreign journalist's claim that this was a rare moment of glory in India's otherwise poor sporting history.
He responded by reminding the reporter, not of the cricket team's achievements in the last 18 months, but of other sports such as shooting, hockey, archery and boxing. A deep sense of nationalistic spirit was highly evident. So, what are the odds of Dhoni not entering politics after his career, and change the game like he did with cricket?
The pair of Yuvraj Singh and Dhoni fashioned the 17 successful run-chases in 2005-06. Fittingly, the pair were in the middle on Saturday.
After Rahul Dravid relinquished captaincy, there were murmurs of Yuvraj and Dhoni not seeing eye-to-eye because the former was keen on leading the side. Last year, Dhoni made a bold call in dropping Yuvraj for the Asia Cup.
But, he knew all along that Yuvraj was a big match player and kept backing him all the way through the five-match ODI series in South Africa. To ensure Yuvraj hits top form at the World Cup, he threw the ball to the left-armer frequently in South Africa.
'Dhoni's knock one of the best in WC finals'
http://static.cricketnext.com/pix/si...ni3009_630.jpg
London: Mahendra Singh Dhoni's aggressive unbeaten 91 in the World Cup summit showdown against Sri Lanka matches the greatest innings played by a captain in a final of the showpiece event, according to former England captain Mike Atherton.
Atherton said Dhoni's 79-ball knock could be compared to the match-winning 102 by West Indian captain Clive Lloyd in the 1975 final against Australia.
"Dhoni's unbeaten 91, topped off with a towering six over long-on to win the match, was an astonishing innings. It was fashioned under pressure but with a freedom found mostly a peg or two down from the kind of stage upon which a World Cup final is played," Atherton said.
"The greatest innings ever played by a captain in a World Cup final was Clive Lloyd's monumental hundred against Australia at Lord's in the inaugural tournament in 1975 and if this was not its equal then it was not far behind," he wrote in his column for The Times newspaper.
"Lloyd was in Mumbai in his role as chairman of the ICC's Cricket Committee and as Dhoni past him on the stage to collect his man of the match award, the West Indian would have recognised a fellow traveller," he said.
Atherton was all praise for Dhoni's leadership qualities, especially when he was under intense scrutiny throughout the tournament.
"Nobody, except Sachin Tendulkar, has been under more scrutiny. Every decision, every move, every statement has been pored over by an army of writers and pundits. After the defeat against South Africa, Dhoni criticised his batsmen for playing to the gallery rather than for the team and it was as if he had tossed a meaty bone to the most voracious pack of jackals imaginable ... they gnawed on this juicy offering for days to come.
"When, in the same match, he gave Ashish Nehra the final over instead of Harbhajan Singh, an instinctive move that was perfectly reasonable but one that was backfired, it was a ploy that was commented upon and chewed over ... And why, everyone wanted to know, was Ashwin not playing at all?" wrote Atherton.
"Throughout, though, Dhoni has carried himself with the air of a man for whom such matters were trivial. Not once, until he let the mask slip on the podium, did he complain about the spotlight; not once did he lose his cool on the field."
The former England captain said there was no doubt that India had the talent to win the World Cup but the question was whether they would be able to soak the pressure and come out triumphant. He said with Dhoni at the helm the team went on to do its job calmly and with confidence.
"This was a triumph of leadership, pure and simple. The question throughout was not whether India had the talent to win the World Cup but whether they had the men to do it. Could they cope with the round-the-clock scrutiny, the suffocating, all encompassing demands of public for whom anything other than the ultimate victory would have been unacceptable. In short, did they have the bottle?
"They had it all right - whole jeroboams of it - and, on a magnificent and moving night in Mumbai which sealed the glorious career of one modern master whilst bringing down the curtain on another, nobody embodied this strength of mind and character more than their captain Dhoni. His calmness throughout has been a key factor in enabling this team to reach its potential," wrote Atherton.
Atherton felt Dhoni's move to promote himself up the order in the final was the perfect example of a captain taking upon himself the responsibility of leading from the front.
"From the very first ball, which he blocked, but with such crispness and determination in his footwork, it was clear that Dhoni was ready to seize the moment and shape his team's destiny.
"When he came into the Indian team he was a bit of a showpony, if truth be told, riding his man of the match bike around the outfield, and playing crazy shots almost for the sake of it. Few would have guessed that a mature leader was lurking within.
"Yet there he was on Saturday evening, as the fireworks lit the Mumbai skyline, millions hanging on his every word and waiting for the moment when he would become only the second Indian captain to grasp the World Cup in his hands."
A road for MS Dhoni in Bangalore
It seems that chief minister BS Yeddyurappa doesn’t want to lag behind his counterparts from other states in feting Team India.
After announcing a 50ft X 80ft site for all the members of Indian cricket team, Yeddyurappa on Sunday went a step ahead and declared that one of the roads in the city, in all likelihood the Banashankari Temple Road, would be named after Mahendra Singh Dhoni.
“Our boys have done the entire country proud by bringing back the world cup after 28 years. They deserve full praise for their historic feat. A grand felicitation function would be organised in Vidhana Soudha soon,” Yeddyurappa said. Mayor Nataraj has said that BBMP would take a decision within a week on naming a road after Dhoni.
One question though - is the line of thinking that Ashwin's non-inclusion justified by final result?
Indha lawamni En tamizh cinema police mAdhiri ellAm mudinjappuram correctA varAr eppovum?
Lessons in life Dhoni gave us
The Indian captain did many things right to help us lift that cup. Psychiatrist Dr Harish Shetty tells you what you can learn from him
While you're basking in the glory of India's world cup victory, you may as well take some tips from M S Dhoni on how to stay on top of your game. Psychiatrist Dr Harish Shetty decodes the mantras that have made our captain among the greatest of all times.
Let criticism inspire you
During the presentation ceremony of the 20-20 World Cup, Dhoni looked at Ravi Shashtri and, with a genuine smile, said, "I remember you called us underdogs and so we have won the cup for you". Here is a man who does not collapse under the weight of a comment from an important cricketer but works forward with gusto, logic and a renewed determination. When important people undermine or underestimate you, get in touch with your feelings of fear, dread, anger or sadness and convert these into greater resolve. As a kid, Sachin Tendulkar too would not rest till he had defeated his friends in a table tennis match after a loss at his old residence Sahitya Sahawas.
Move on
When India loses, Dhoni often publicly accepts the team's shortfalls but does not dwell on them for long. During one loss, he said, "This match is over, let's plan for the next". Unlike captains of yesteryears, who would brood, ruminate and introspect too much, our reigning captain has mastered the art of leaving things behind. Fear and disappointment are not allowed to percolate his mind. Just focus on newer frontiers with a fresh pair of eyes and a refreshed mood. Do not be the victim of excessive critical appraisal from yourself or others. It may paralyse you.
Us, not I
On the day of victory, the World Cup was in every player's hands, except Dhoni's. A couple of years ago, Dhoni asked Anil Kumble to take the cup after a victory in a test series. His genuine affection for his team is visible and the bonding is strong. He has praise for all but neither did he mince words when Gambhir failed to make his 100 due to a bad shot. He is genuine, even blunt. He has publicly made statements such as, "Our middle order should perform" or "Sreeshanth should behave".
Stay cool
Dhoni is cool during tense moments. No sledging, or rash words. It would be interesting to learn more about his self-talk. It probably involves thoughts such as 'Calm down', 'Focus now' or "Let me try something new'. The feeling of dread and fear is allowed to pass. He probably observes these emotions come and go on his mind screen. This thought process is visible on his face that remains childlike many a time during a crisis. So, when the chips are down, just observe your feelings as they come. If you find yourself fretting or yelling, you have been hijacked emotionally and will lose friends and battles. If not, creative responses will emerge.
Keep at it
MSD teased Ravi Shashtri by saying, "If we had lost, many questions — why Sreeshanth, why did I bat before Yuvraj — would have been asked". His getting into the middle of a battle shows he loves challenges and does not bother with incessant advice from exgreats. Like Anil Kumble, who shared at his retirement that he ignored all criticism during his lean period and persisted, our captain also practices 'dogged perseveration with risk-taking'. The Dhoni mantra is clear — persevere while down, take risks and obey your instincts.
Gratitude
Lastly but importantly, Dhoni feels and expresses his gratitude openly. After the win, he said, "I chose to come before and Gary backed me". Thanking 'Gary and Paddy', and others significant to his performance as well as that of the team, comes naturally to him. Gratitude is a part of his personality.
http://ibnlive.in.com/news/iaf-annou.../148257-3.html IAF to fly MS Dhoni in a Su-30 MKI
New Delhi: The chief of Indian Air Force PV Naik on Tuesday stated that he will seek special permission from the government so that India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni and legendary batsman Sachin Tendulkar can experience a flight of Su-30MKI- the best fighter plane of IAF.
"Sachin Tendulkar is already our Honorary Group Captain. Once both Sachin and Dhoni are free from their cricketing engagements, I will ensure that they get to fly Su-30MKI. They have done our country proud and it will be an honour for us," Naik told on Tuesday.
ACM Naik informed that as of now there are no plans of awarding any honorary post to the Indian captain like Tendulkar.
Dhoni who was accompanied by his wife Sakshi was there at the Air Force chief's residence for over an hour as he interacted with senior officers.
The meeting with ACM Naik was organised by former Indian team manager Wing Commander M Baladitya.
ACM Naik presented Dhoni with a plaque on behalf of the Indian Air Force.
The skipper and his wife were at ease as they interacted and answered various cricketing queries.
When the wives of the senior officers congratulated the couple, Sakshi said,"You all supported the team. Congratulate yourselves."
Someone asked about his bald look, the skipper smiled and said,"I thought World Cup is over so let's just get it off."
Dhoni was seen asking ACM Naik, a veteran fighter pilot about his flying experience. "I used to fly MiG-21, MiG-23 during my days."
He patiently answered all the cricketing queries although it was evident that he would now like a few days away from cricket.
"IPL will be very hectic," he admitted
Dhoni is a leader by example, says Kirsten
Heaping praises on India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, the outgoing national team coach Gary Kirsten today said that the skipper not only leads by example and puts in maximum effort on the field but also feels it the most when the team loses.
"Dhoni is a leader by example. I have never seen a player give as much effort to every game. He leads by example. He is the 100 per cent man. I've never seen him lose his temper. He loves taking responsibility and when the team loses, no one feels it more than him," said Kirsten.
"He is a great leader. He is the captain for next few years, no doubt," he added. Kirsten, who took up the coaching job with the Indian cricket with no prior experience, said he looked at creating an environment where the team was happy and for that he relied heavily on batting maestro Sachin Tendulkar.
"There is man-management which is the most important. You have to give options to the cricketer to cross the ropes and perform his best. It's about understanding individuals, working with what they have got and how they can improve without changing their technique," said Kirsten.
"I wanted to create an environment where the team was happy and felt like team. Sachin for me was the leader in this way," he added. The South African also said it would be great if Tendulkar could continue to play till 2015 World Cup but admitted that he was getting old and must now become selective in his approach.
"In 2015, he would be 42...I think that would be great. He doesn't want to retire because he is enjoying the game. I am proud of him. But he is getting old and he would have to pick and choose his games," said Kirsten.
Dhoni the greatest Indian captain - Ganguly
Sourav Ganguly, who led India to the final of the 2003 World Cup, has called MS Dhoni as greatest Indian captain. Dhoni led India to victory in the 2011 World Cup, with a crucial unbeaten 91 in the final against Sri Lanka and Ganguly said Dhoni's leadership record in each of the game's three formats spoke for itself.
"There can't be any doubt about it," Ganguly told Mid-Day. "Dhoni is the greatest captain of our country. His record is proof of that. Under Dhoni, India have won the Twenty20 World Cup and the Asia Cup. Under him, India have become the No. 1 ranked side in Test cricket. And now, we have won the World Cup. Obviously, he is the greatest ever captain to lead India."
Ganguly's pronouncement came a day after Sachin Tendulkar rated Dhoni as the best captain he had played under. Dhoni made his international debut under Ganguly, before becoming a key player under Rahul Dravid's captaincy. Eventually, Dhoni took over the reins of the side and Ganguly even played under him in the closing stages of his international career.
Ganguly said he was sure India would win the tournament once they got past their 2003 nemesis, Australia. "When they beat Australia in the quarter-finals, I knew India would win the World Cup," Ganguly said. "A lot of people thought Sri Lanka would win, but I was confident."
nee gentleman... :notworthy:
will miss u in ipl :(