Another one from Love in Tokyo:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ToM0WAi3aTc&feature=relmfu
Printable View
Sayonaaraa, Joy Mukherjee :(
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QHT28UX8i_I
Another one from Love in Tokyo:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ToM0WAi3aTc&feature=relmfu
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dT04ZoBFMAs&feature=fvwrel
EK MUSAFIR EK HASENA is a masterpiece from O.P.N.
AA JA RE......rafi's ever popular romantic ever!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_EHanmlDOhA
vinatha
Here are two songs to celebrate Holi. I delayed it as a mark of respect to the deceased souls. May their souls rest in peace ! :(
The songs are in Madhumadh sarang. The carnatic equivalent is Madhyamavati.
From Kohinoor(1960):
tan rang lo.......
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SaJOeQEVG28
In color from Mother India (1957):
Holi aye re.......
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q705S...eature=related
Here is Kunnakkudi on violin:
Bhagyada lakshmi baarammaa in Madhyamavati:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=60ImJ...eature=related
Have a good weekend! :)
Joy Mukherjee's first film Love in Simla (1960). Handsome Joy and Beautiful Archana. Sweet songs in this film, composed by Iqbal Qureshi. 'Dil Tham Chale', my favorite Doordharshan days song.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wrUE_13aVvQ
http://youtube.com/watch?v=dytT_O_1kfgEk
Ek Kali Muskayi (1968). A memorable song by Rafi for Joy Mukherkee, composed by one and only Madan Mohan.
http://youtube.com/watch?v=LHpUPuLVrfo
Rest in peace. :sad:
you will like this too. Bekasi hadd se jab................. from Kalpana(1960) :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LolLb0nU1M4
PathaLa Bhairavi was produced in Tamil,Telugu and Hindi (1951/52).
Here is a song I used to sing(Tamil version):
Tan man mera tarse...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iVx2uPMltow
Tamil version- amaidhi illaadhen maname.....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LSknrz1S0b4
Telugu version= kalavaramayi madhilo.............
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XM7HvAHDFRM
You are welcome V_S ! It is by Asha.
You said something about Miyan ki Malhar, another raga I like. Miyan refers to Tansen who was a court musician in Akbar's court. I think Miyan means scholar or Sangeetha kalanidhi in our parlance ! :) Some Hindustani ragas are attributed to him as the creator.
There is a lot about why O.P.Nayyar did not use Lata. I don't think we want to discuss that here! :)
A little bit of "gossip" about Asha!! :)
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/i...w/12283321.cms
Thanks raj sir for the insight on miyan ki malhar raaga. It seems you have a lot of treasure like this. :smile:
I think I posted the movie clip of this song by Lata Mangeshkar long time back.
Here is the rendition by the music director of that movie, Sudhir Phadke:
Bandh preeti phool dor manleke chit chor.............
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tXc-1pFYjck
The movie clip, if you like to listen again:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l4-K7vbU0rM
This one of the very few songs I listen to often ! :) Of course, I like Jaijaiwanti (Dwijawanti in carnatic system).
Have a good weekend!
raj sir,
Completely bowled hearing this composition. Wow! what a rendition by Lata ji :notworthy:. Many thanks for introducing this wonderful composer, Sudhir Phadke and his rare video footage. I just checked some more details on this composer here. Looks like he has done a lot of marati films. Thanks again for the raaga info. On hearing Dwijawanthi, I keep hearing MSS's akhilandeshwari.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sudhir_Phadke
From the above site, I found one more song by Lata ji; Jyoti kalash chalke, beautiful song.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EBQT1m6xrzg
You are welcome V_S ! :) Phadke probably has composed more for Marathi movies. There are some Marathi songs I like. May be, I will post some later!
There is a Tamil compostion in Dwijawanti by Periyasami Thooran I like and sing in our party. It is;
'engu naan selven ayyaa enai neer thaLLinaal..........'
I posted the lyrics in 'Lyrics,queries,meaning - Tamil' thread under Indian Classical Music. The audio link does not work! :(
But, here is Bombay Jayashri:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KLN1DAoljCE
Bombay Sisters have also rendered this composition.
Thanks again raj sir for 'engu naan selven ayyaa'. Baandh preeti bol is very close to this song. I could clearly relate dwijawanti to this now. Great singing by Bombay Jayashree. Thamizh'la kEtta sugame thani!
A song from the comedy movie Albela(1951)
mere dil ki ghadi tik tik............
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nIl9X4-zRok
From Tamil dubbed version
maNi adithadhanaal......
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GBcGlusYR4g
V_S: I already posted 'Jyoti kalash chalke' in Dec . It is in Bhupali ( Mohanam in Carnatic system). I also posted Giridhara gopala by M.S in Mohanam ! :)
I think it is time to make a list of the songs posted I will take a break and do that for my own convenience so that I can avoid repetitions! :)
oops! How did I miss it? May be I was absent from this thread that time. Thanks for reminding raj sir!
One of Naushad ji's best composition in early 40's and it seems he shot to fame with this film Ratan (1944), a blockbuster. Can't take ears from this song; O Janewale Balamwa by Amirbai Karnataki and Shyam kumar. A revolutionary concept in composition that time, breaking out of the shackles. Imagining how this song would have been received, that too before our independence.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LgTxMaqv6C8
Aah (1953)
Rajaa ki aayegi baraat.........
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WQAC3...eature-related
kalyaaNa oorvalam varum.......
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p1uuO_yDqGs
I sing this song in our annual musical evening (by demand! :lol:). One of our north Indian friends sings the Hindi version, like jugalbandi! :) Fun!
The lyrics for the Tamil version is a close translation of the original Hindi version.
baroque, rd,
thanks for all those ravi's neelkamal songs...
baar baar dekho - cool.
"yeh ratein yeh mausam"...-so soothing...
Wish we get transported to a place where are there are no species around
except the concerned two! lol...
joy mukherje...never could manage romantic aura...songs however
carried it.
aa ja re aa zara...hearing after AGES! :ty: surprisingly jm is quite convincingly
a good romantic in this song :P
I am sure I am gonna keep murmuring "yeh ratein yeh mausam" for next two days lol
raj,
amaithiyillathen maname and kalavaramayi madhilo.... loved it better than hindi. Ghatasala is the main reason.
I cant leave behind, sugar coated p.leela. :bow:
//You said something about Miyan ki Malhar, another raga I like. Miyan refers to Tansen who was a
court musician in Akbar's court. I think Miyan means scholar or Sangeetha kalanidhi in our parlance !
Some Hindustani ragas are attributed to him as the creator.
//
Post some songs mentioning the raaga :)
Dwijavanthi....I think vs added more understanding as to how much I have listened to the raaga with "akhilaandeshwari"
Raaga is capable of shifting u elsewhere...literally...mayangiye pogalam....beautiaful raaga.
Drip by drip, need to be soaked in this raaga. oh wow.
Thankyou for engu naan selven ayya :bow:
so well dipped in bhakthi.... what more can I say! :bow:
I should say most voices prior to 60s....has something very natural in them...so very easy to relate.
rajkapoor, nargis....cant help being reminded of one of my most fav song of old times.
peps me...even during lowest mood. Probably the lyrics has its magic.
"more saajan lechal mujhe thaaron ke paas
lagta nahin hai dil yahaan..."
magic of some unknown land always does it. easy from sajan's side too as its cost nothing :lol:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nIkFW78x6UA
herez another.....
"panchi banoon udthi phiroon mast gagan mein
aaj mein aazad hoon...."
Freedom thats life....atleast from a woman's point of view, is too precious, reminds of of jj's song
"chittukuruvikkena kattupaadu thendrale unakkedhu sondah veedu
ulagam muzhudhum...parandhu parandhu ... " :)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bcT4UHsjq7c&feature=relmfu
Very well put SP :thumbsup:
Thanks a lot raj sir and sp for sharing Nargis and Shankar-Jaikishen classic! Seeing how the 'panchi banoon' was composed and picturized, back then hindi film industry was firmly to their roots, but now all songs are generic (hawa hawa mein :smile:) and no reflection of our culture, very sad!
V_S : Thanks for sharing "Oh Maaji Re" and "Chaudhvin Ka Chand". Such melodious numbers.
SP : Thnx for sharing "Panchi banoon udthi phiroon" and "Aaja sanam madhur chandni mein hum" - such peppy numbers.
If you liked Madhmad (madhmadhavi) sarang here is another song from Rani Rupmati(1957)
Mukesh:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hyIVG9SM46Y
Lata Mangeshkar:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-_dqxw_sH3M
".......ik pal hai hansna ik pal hai ronaa..........."
That is life! :)
You can relate madhyamavati more easily with this song!
Designer: You are welcome! :)
You are welcome Designer. Thanks raj sir for another raaga information with a beautiful song.
Here is a song in Malkauns I like. One listener says that Rafi considered this as one of the best 25 songs he sang.
Zindhaga bhar gham......from Miss Bombay(1957):
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9HHM2...eature=related
Malkauns is Hindholam in carnatic system.
oooh! raj sir :notworthy: neenga neengathaan naanga naangathaan. :smile: Can't thank you enough for Zindagi Bhar Gham Judai. I have already listened to it 25 times and still going strong. What a composition by Hansraj Behl and outstanding singing by singing God, Rafi saab. Not surprised that he listed this one as one of his best 25 songs. I have heard a lot about Hansraj Behl that he composed some great songs in 50's for Saawan, Milan, Rajdhani, Changez Khan, but not yet listened to him so far. This is my first song from him, should listen to him more often after listening to this extremely beautiful composition. Thanks again!
My small contribution again from Rafi saab with inimitable combination of Madan Mohan ji (my all time favorite and top most hindi composer). Teri Aankhon Mein Siva Duniya Mein from Chirag (1969). Wonderful lyrics by Majrooh Sultanpuri. Anytime listen, great voice and what a graceful singing! I fall flat to Madan ji feet for this tremendous composition. The beauty is when Rafi sings 'Mera jeena mera marna inhi palkonke thaley', a big kiss to Rafi saab. Followed by Lata ji in her memerizing voice, feels like a mother singing this as a lullaby. A very rare song and some excellent poetry by Majrooh and out of the world composition by Madan ji. These songs are never born again. What more can I say!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=InoD-N-hntY
Kisi ki muskurahaton pe ho nisar
My favourite Mukesh song in the film Anari (1959). Lyrics: Shailendra; Composer: Shankar Jaikishan.
The gist of the first stanza is :
Be in someone's smile,
Take the pain away from someone,
Be there for someone with LOVE in your heart,
That is what is called living.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=69pPYkGiEAQ
My respect for Hindhi music shot up to great heights after listening to old hindi classics in past few days..
Shankar Jaikishan, Naushad, SD Burman, Salil Choudry with Manna de, Rafi and Lata Mangeshkar... tooo good...
Some songs that were on constant loop...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gwp-f7p-Y14
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5_e5Wbs59aY&feature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=27ASuBNWBQQ
Here is a song in Bilawal from "pran jaaye par vachan na jaaye"(1974):
chain se humko kabhi..........
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tVO7x_MRGpI
Sankarabharanam is the carnatic equivalent of Bilawal. Raga Sankarabharanam always reminds me of 'Saroja dhaLa netri' ,a composition of Shyama Sastri, rendered by M.S.Subbulakshmi. Thyagaraja composed two songs in Sankarabharanam, "gatha mohaa" and " vara leela gaana" that are significant. I could not find a presentable version of 'gatha moha'. My sons played it on violin for their violin teacher and String Orchestra Director at our place after dinner. I sang the song. He complimented us as a musical family. That is a little bit of stretching! :lol:
Here is 'vara leela gaana' by Unni krishnan:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wNFJcMullHc
I am sure you feel the difference! :) It feels like listening to a western classical piece! Because, C major in western classical is equivalent to Sankarabharanam. Gatha moha will sound the same.
Summer holidays are beginning. Here are two songs in Bilawal/C Major for kids.
Do Re Mi Fa from Sound of Music:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xIjobdArtiA
Sa re ke sa re ga........from Parichay
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b_kTeoaSkek
I thought of posting a concert piece in C major. I will ask my youngest son for suggestions and post one next time I post a song in Bilawal or some raga close. He played viola in his college symphony for four years and also formed his own string quartet when he was in high school and performed in weddings and other functions. I am sure he will suggest a good one! :)
=
didn't make much of this
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FyEnG_DEB1I
until i saw this
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bJ30GCjPEjY
...and; how about this? :)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=WDKAS9sUsO4#!
My two cents :)
The great showman, Raj Kapoor - Did any one know that Raj Kapoor’s favourite raga was Shivaranjani?
Mera Naam Joker Jaane Kahan Gaye Woh Din http://youtube.com/watch?v=Q9ULWBTokzw
Jis Desh Mein Ganga Behti Hai - O Basanti Pawan Paagal Na http://youtube.com/watch?v=vkWFtG5nFyI
Sangam - O Mere Sanam O Mere Sanam http://youtube.com/watch?v=EagBXY4TqKI
More Raj Kapoor... This time with Mukesh
Mera Joota Hai Japani, Jeena Yahan Marna Yahan, Woh Chand Khila Woh Tare, Awara Hoon, Sab Kuchh Seekha Ham Ne, Kisi Ki Muskurahaton Se, Ramayya Vastawaiyya and Ichak Dana Bichak Dana (The latter two being favourite songs when I was a kid – Yes, I’m still a kid lol)
Whatever happens, happens but these will always remain evergreen!
Two videos black and white classics I’d like to share
Zinda Hoon Is Tarah Ki Gham-e-zindagi Nahi
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ro6xp09uEy4
The next one is by Mukesh but it’s for Bharat Bhushan and not Raaj Kapoor, but a great song in its own right. Hope you lot enjoy this one :)
Rani Rupmati - Aa Laut ke Aaja Mere Meet
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0INulXYo5Jc
(PS Don’t miss the Lata Ji version of the second song above)
aaa laut ke aaja mere meeth :musicsmile:
madhyamavati more easily with this song! :ty:
// The beauty is when Rafi sings 'Mera jeena mera marna inhi palkonke thaley', a big kiss to Rafi saab.//
I like his JEEVAN when he sings "rakha KYAA..hai" .. emoting with voice.... :bow: and lata is on par...
When I was a kid, I used to wonder, why do lovers/spouses cry even during happy moments :rotfl2:
ramky, and saai.
saai, nice picks. thanks a lot!!!!!!
"tu pyaar ka saagar hai" ... I am sure some tamizh song /telugu version which has the same tempo. Someone can clarify.
"ammavum neeye appavum nee" must have been inspired by this song.
raj thanks a MILLION... loved every bit of sound of music and "vara leela gaana". Its nice if u add infos on technical front, for novices like me to undersand the BASIC DIFFERENCE. I ABSOLUTELY loved it.... :ty: :ty:
rd, tfml :D :thumbsup: :ty: .... tracing the original calls for experts. lol
thanks sunil....
I am too fond of "shivaranjani"
RK liked "shivaranjani"
therefore I like "RK" too :bow:
herez "she" talking thro divine guitar....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ru2JLGUSDqo
:bow: :bow: :bow: