nAn eppO appidi sonnEn :confused:
The only movie I liked that had her was wOh sAt din and that one too was "despite" her :-)
I agree she was "not ugly" but never found a place in my fav books.
Ofcourse, her very talented sis was in :-)
Printable View
What context are you referring to you? The movie story line or situation? I can see there is context for Nila Kayudhu... I do not think there is any context for Poo Potta. If I go by your argument, is it acceptable to include porn for a first night scene? It is in context!!
V_S - Are you saying SPB/SJ are the best singers because they sang mukkal/munagal songs? Come on we have very talented singers very much comparable to SPB/SJ - TMS, PS, PBS, Chitra, KJY, Lata, Kishore, Rafi, Shreya are no less (to name few).
Re: mukkal munagal songs - I think there can be only these reasons 1) IR thinks/wants to assert he can make any sound musical (note donkey braying or goat etc) 2) He wanted to do anything to stay on top commercially. He will justify this very easily. In my books, these are the kind of situations he is just a smart human being :-) other wise he is god :-)
No absolutely not. I think you got it wrong. I can never ever imagine to comment on those yesteryear singers. Even if you note my post, I was only commenting on the current crop of singers. Also my post was not just because they can do only mukkal/munagal alone, we have already seen tons of songs in this thread, which covers varying range of emotions and genre where these two duo excel in whatever was given to them. Atleast based on listening experience right from my childhood to now, if you ask my preference (as everyone has their favorite list), Just after Rafi saab, definitely comes SPB in terms of versatility and without any limitation.
If you consider in female singers, definitely SJ comes among my top despite her voice is not that cute and sweet like others, even her higher octaves suffer strains, but again in terms of versatility, definitely she is up there with all the legends you listed above. She is a giant, period.
Chitra definitely she is also the best, but she has limitations.
Shreya, let me defer commenting on her, even though she is the best now, she is still a long way to go and let us not compare her to legends.
The way I see it is - Janaki and Chitra are playing in different genres. Just like SPB and KJY. People might get offended here. I see Janaki in the POP genre and Chitra in the classical/semi-classical space. Indian Film Music is a big world and no established terminologies or accepted classifications. Probably the link to the movie is tying it down or confounding the issue.
app,
you missed out vaali who wrote Gandhi desame .. brilliant lyrics to vent out the anger
Rajesh,
Gandhi Desame was by Vairamuthu. The lyrics itself as you mentioned would clearly indicate it is Vairamuthu. Actually out of the three SPB songs that App is going to discuss, Pen maane sangeetham paadavaa was by Mu.Mehta and Venmegam mannil vandhu was by Pulami Pithan.
காக்கிச் சட்டை படப் பாடல்களில் "பூபோட்ட தாவணி" .. அப்போதைய காலக் கட்டங்களில் எல்லா ஆர்கெஸ்டிராக்களிலும் பாடப்பட்டு வந்தது. கோரஸ், ஆர்கன், ட்ரம்ஸ், கிடார், பாலு குரலில் ஒரு ஆண் பாடகர் , ஜானகி குரலில் ஒரு பெண் பாடகர் இப்படி குறைந்த பட்ச அம்சங்களை வைத்தே அருமையாக நிகழ்த்திக் காட்டிவிடுவார்கள். குறைந்த வாத்தியக் கருவிகளைக் கொண்டு இப்படி பல அதிசயங்களை உருவாக்கி நூற்றுக்கணக்கான ஆர்கெஸ்டிராக்களை வாழ வைத்தவர் ராஜா. படம் வெளிவந்த இரண்டு மாதத்தில் இப்பாடல் எங்கள் கிராமத்திலும் வாசிக்கப்பட்டது ஒரு ஆர்கெஸ்டிரா மூலம். அடுத்ததாக வரக்கூடிய பாடல் சமீபத்தில் வெளிவந்து வெற்றிகரமாக ஓடிக்கொண்டிருக்கும் காக்கிச்சட்டை படத்திலிருந்து.. என மைக்கில் அறிவிப்பு வர, ஏக்கப்பட்ட கைத்தட்டல் கூடியிருக்கும் கமல் ரசிக கூட்டத்திலிருந்து. ட்ரவுசர் போட்டு திரிந்த அக்காலங்களில் நான் எப்போதும் விந்தையாக பார்ப்பது ட்ரம்ஸ் வாசிக்கப்படும் அழகை. வாயில் கொசு பூந்து வெளியில் வந்தால் கூட தெரியாத அளவிற்கு மெய்மறந்து ரசித்துக்கொண்டிருப்பேன். பூ போட்ட தாவணியும் ட்ரம்ஸ்-க்கு பெயர் போன பாடல். குறிப்பாக இரண்டாவது இடை இசை. கவிதை.
இதுல வருகிற முக்கல் முனகல்களை மேடையில் செய்துகொண்டிருந்த பெண் பாடகியை பார்த்து எங்க ஊர் பெருசு ஒன்னு அடித்த நக்கல் இப்போதும் ஞாபகம் இருக்கு. "போற போக்கப் பார்த்தா இவ நம்ம ஊர்லயே கொழந்தை பெத்துருவா போல!"
நெஞ்சம் உண்டு நேர்மை உண்டு........is a happy composition invokes the வீரம் and self - confidence . அது அறிவுரை composition from MGR -TMS gang . அது agenda பாடல்
app _eng ,
காந்தி தேசமே.....is a different kind of a composition .
காந்தி தேசமே ... is all about stating the அவல நிலை.
There is a sense of disappointment and heartache
பாலா is doing a good job of invoking the intended mood . chorus humming asserts the longing.
in உன் கண்ணில் நீர் வழிந்தால் by இளையராஜா, there is a மனத்தாங்கல் composition with dripping classism
என்ன தேசமோ இது என்ன தேசமோ.....யேசுதாஸ்.(na koi umang hai na koi tarang hai meri zindagi hai kya ik kati patang hai.....Lata's dard in R.D.Burman)
These compositions want you to think about it . They ponder on the pathetic situation while pointing the good and bad . still it is a hopeful composition .