Ya ... even i ve heard about this famous quote !
Was Aayirathil oruvan the first color movie in our industry ????
Printable View
Ya ... even i ve heard about this famous quote !
Was Aayirathil oruvan the first color movie in our industry ????
The first tamil colour movie is 'Alibababum 40 thirudargalum'Quote:
Originally Posted by bingleguy
MGR didnt take 10 years to complete Nadodi mannan. I think it was abt 2 yrs or so.
After Ulagam Sutrum Valiban, MGR directed Madhurai meetiya sundarapandiyan...which was released after he was sworn in as CM. But the movie didnt do well in box office!
YES !! And I think the first cinemascope movie is IDHAYAKKANI !!! Both the firsts go to MGR's credit !! :DQuote:
Originally Posted by joe
Was he a person who wishes to try something new in every movie of his ???
Nope. The first cinemascope was Raja Raja Cholan, directed by AP Nagarajan and starring NT.Quote:
Originally Posted by m_23_bayarea
MGR is first and foremost an entertainer, who later skewered his movie towards his political leaning. That is why, even hardcore MGR fans prefer his films before the 70s.
My questions are still pending answers.
1 - MMSP - direction is credited to MGR, though the credit also thanks K. Shankar. Do you think the latter has ghost directed MMSP (this knowing well that MGR was freakin' busy in politics and election that year).
2. Actual reason for MGR/MRR problem?
Bay thampi,
There are many firsts in tamil movie related with NT
1.First cinemascope - Rajacholan
2.First tamil movie shooted overseas -Sivantha man
3.First movie without song -Antha Naal
4.First movie ran more than a year in overseas -Vasantha Maaligai
5.First and only movie ran 100 days in second release -V.P.kattabomman
6.First movie release dialogue audio disk before the release of movie -Gowrawam
and many..
Dear Alavanthan,
MGR while making Nadodi Mannan met with an accident. He was staging a drama "Inba Kanavu" on behalf of his MGR Drama troupe. In that there is a scene where he had to lift Gundu Karuppiah. While lifting GK, MGR lost his balance and GK fell on his leg which led to the fracture of MGR's leg. This delayed the production. Meanwhile, Saroja Devi had been booked for Thirudathe and MGR wanted her in NM and booked her. Banumathy the ever rebelious character did not take kindly to this and already the relation between her and MGR had soured and her character also ended like that. People used to say MGR used the same techinique in Arasa Kattalai, where S.Devi would die and JJ would become the queen.
Dear Groucho,
MMSP was produced by BRBanthalu and was directed by K.Shankar.
The film was in the making for long.When BRB passed away, MGR took over the direction from Shankar and he was given credit credit in titles of having helped the film.
Regarding MGR vs MRR, the exact truth had not come out. What ever that came in media was for public consumption. What transpired exactly between them, nobody knows. But MRR Vasu (He had joined Congress(O) and used to frequently address meetings) once in a meeting at Madurai had hinted that it had something to do with women. I am not sure how far his words could be trusted. He also said that contrary to general perception that having shot MGR, MRR tried to commit suicide is also wrong. Vasu said that both shot at each other. While MRR shooting MGR was made public, MGR shooting MRR was suppressed, Vasu alleged. Truth, God only knows!
This is really making me angry. How come all these have not been made public? When people think of achievement not involving acting, they talk of MGR. NT's achievement is only highlighted in acting.Quote:
Originally Posted by joe
I think media has long been either ignorant or simply too biased to make these records known. Out of the 6, I know only first three. I think its the duty of people like us to educate others of these records. I know that if I were to talk to my friends/relatives of NT, I will make sure that I mentione these achivements. Thanks Joe for highlighting that.
And Murali-sar, thank you for enlightening me on those issues. What Vasu mentioned somehow seem more realistic. Two things make even higher level people to raise arms - Money and Women. I've heard of the money issue between two before, but not the women. Oh well, its not important.
Oh shoot! I am in the wrong thread. I should have been angry in NTs thread.
aah Thanks Joe & Murali for your words with great memory. I am still thinking of what lunch I had yesterday :)
I smelled something fishy about the movie because of Banumathy's character, introduction of SD. well MGR had this tendency but eh who cares, those movies were hit. So sometime or the other, the initial heroine died and a new girl took the position. But JJ survived until today ! oops No politics - hehe
Joe, yes, I came to know about USV only after reading the latter pages of this thread.
MS, again very informative on MRR and MGR. You just gave a new dimension for this issue which we youngsters were not aware of. It is interesting that even Radharavi didnt mention this when he was in DMK.
Currently I am reading a book titled 'Suttachu suttachu' regarding the entire episode and court hearing of MRR-MGR shoot each other case .I may come later with some interesting truths.
:clap:Quote:
Originally Posted by joe
Thanks for the info JOE !
I believe it was PARIS :-) for Sivandha Mann !
Is there any place in net were we can find MGR's or for that matter sivaji Ganesan's Biographies ?
எம்.ஜி.ஆரை சுட்ட வழக்கில் கைதான எம்.ஆர்.ராதா, தண்டனை முடிந்து வெளியான*தும் பத்திரிகையாளர்கள் பேட்டி கணடனர்.Quote:
Originally Posted by joe
"எம்.ஜி.ஆரை சுட்டது பற்றி என்ன நினைக்கிறீர்கள்..?" என நிருபர்கள் கேட்டபோது,
"என் வாழ்க்கையிலேயே நான் அரைகுறையாக செய்த காரியம் அது ஒண்ணுதான்"...என்று பதில் சொன்னார் ராதா.
படங்களில் மட்டுமல்ல நிஜ வாழ்க்கையிலும் வில்லனாகவே இருந்திருக்கிறார் அவர்.
Can't wait. Very interesting title, though.Quote:
Originally Posted by joe
Quote:
Originally Posted by groucho070
Whoops !! Sorry guys .... :oops:Quote:
Originally Posted by joe
Thanks for the correction though !! :D
//படங்களில் மட்டுமல்ல நிஜ வாழ்க்கையிலும் வில்லனாகவே இருந்திருக்கிறார் அவர்.//
இதை நான் மறுக்கிறேன் .எம்.ஆர்.ராதாவைப் பொறுத்தவரை நிஜ வாழ்வில் மிக வெளிப்படையான போலித்தனமில்லாத மனிதர் .கொண்ட கொள்கையில் உறுதியானவர் .
I agree Joe. Like NT, he is straight forward, nothing to hide, does not glow to praises. I heard that Thevar (Thevar films) is a very rough man too, very direct and does not shy from using vulgar words. But does that make him a bad guy? There are people like that, and there are also diplomatic people like MGR.Quote:
Originally Posted by joe
Have you finished the book, Joe?
//Have you finished the book, Joe?//
No Yet.Still going through .Very interesting one.
I had a chance to hear an old interview of MRR (after the MGR episode). He reflected his thoughts in a straightforward way !Quote:
Originally Posted by joe
It was like "Had I planned for killing MGR, then I would not have stopped firing just one bullet. I would have gone for more if I had those intentions"
A bitter truth which we should acknowledge indeed !
plenty onlineQuote:
Originally Posted by manuel
this one i saw for MGR
http://www.kathalnet.com/cinema/acto.../page/mgr.html
iru perum thilagangal :thumbsup:
News from Hindu&Express says good collection from NADODI MANNAN. They are planning to release AADIMAI PEN &USM . Good news. I think it is good idea to release MGR&NT movies , for a change people can enjoy good movies/melodies songs.
ramesh
Makkal Thilagam's Nadodi mannan making Box office record even now
http://madippakkam.blogspot.com/2006...g-post_10.html
To all MGR fans,
A monthly magazine by the name of "Ithayakani" is published for MGR fans for the past 5 years. Now it has been uploaded in cyber space.
Its URL is
www.ithayakkani.com
The interesting tidbit about this is, the editor of this magazine is one Mr.Vijayan. Earlier he was a hard core NT fan.Hailing from Rajapalayam, he ran a magazine called "Engal Sivaji". He had presented a shield to Madurai CinePriya Theatre in 1978, when Andhaman Kadhali had its first 100 shows as House full shows in that theatre. He would have stated in the shield "Irupatham Nootrandin Inaiyatra Kalaigan Shivaji". He was a part of NT fans club at R'Palayam who went on a marathon run from R'Palayam to Tiruchy in 1978/79 when Indira Gandhi came for a conference and NT was also participating in it. They brought a torch (Jothi) and handed over the same to NT. Such a hard core fan came to chennai and became a cinema journalist. Then from a hard core NT fan, he slowely changed to MGR anuthabhi, then MGR Rasigar and afterwards MGR Bakthar and now he is the President of Tamilaga MGR Manidha Neya Mandram. On the plus side he always used to give accurate info about films and even minute things, he would not have missed. He also wrote "Sigarangalai Kadantha Sivaji" in Cinema Express. quite an informative serial
Regrds
Murali,
Thanks for the info
Btw,The correct URL is http://www.ithayakkani.com/
I read many articles written by S.Vijayan on both NT and MGR .
Quote:
Originally Posted by selvakumar
even after the wound he continued with his own voice distinguishing his exceptional courage and strength .
some poke fun @ his voice after the shooting too :hammer:
tamil film industry failing to honor its past heroes ( including directors , musicians ,singers , ) soon will have no heroes to honor . happening already .
http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-mov...08-06-mgr.html
Chennai screens witness the MGR magic again!! Aug 08, 2006
Even time cannot take away the magic from certain things in life. This has proved again with MGR starrer Nadodi Mannan hitting the silver screens in Chennai now. As far as Tamil cinema is concerned MGR is the undisputed king in terms of commercially successful movies. His biggest fan following is the single most proof for this and this continues even now.
He was a gold mine for producers and never let them down. His movies have always been a success even in 3rd and 4th round releases . Such is his screen presence and charisma.
Cashing on this and the success of Imsai Arasan, Nadodi Mannan is being screened in Bharat, Raj and Lakshmi in Chennai and Narayanamurthy in Kanchipuram now. The movie is running to packed houses and is getting a response like that of a newly released movie.
Now with the re-screening of Nadodi Mannan, we can expect all the old royal theme movies of Sivaji Ganesan and MGR to hit the screens and run successfully too.
i saw online ad too selvakumar dinakaran online version
yaa not just enjoy good movies learn something good tooQuote:
Originally Posted by umaramesh
:D Please take a snapshot of that and upload it here ! :)Quote:
Originally Posted by tfmlover
:clap: :notworthy: :whistle: :P :DQuote:
So, it is gonna be more or less equal to 15 shows :clap: :notworthy:
Am really jealous of you people over there. We can never get big screen rerelease of MGR and NT films here. We can only dream, sigh.
I watched both Padagotti and Pudhya Paravai on the big screen in the 80s. So don't give up hope yet. :DQuote:
Originally Posted by groucho070
:clap: Nice to see NM receiving good response even after a long gap that too in chennai :DQuote:
They should release in more places. :)
Nov, 80s was long time ago. They are taking Collesium (Tamil movie theatre here in KL for non-Malaysians) away. What chances do we have watching old flicks on big screen? I kinda give up already-lah.Quote:
Originally Posted by NOV
groucho070 and Nov,
Yeah! Fans in TN are very lucky .Even in cities there are many second hand theatres release MGR and NT movies contineously ..Some theatres release NT and MGR movies alternateively ,one movie per week ..Some mostly MGR movies ,some mostly NT movies .
I personally experienced this when I was in Trichy and Chennai ..In trichy Prabath (which is demolished now) used to release only NT movies 90% of the weeks .In chennai I know Liberty used to release at least 2 NT movies in a month .North chennai has some theatres used to screen MGR movies contineously.
Besides this ,some times NT and MGR movies used to be release in New DTS A/C theatres with new print ..I have seen Deiva magan and Ulagam sutrum vaaliban in Sangam and Alankar.
As every day pass by , my admiration / respect for Makkal thilagam increases like anything !
I love watching his songs first more than anything else .
NAN EN PIRANDHEN is one such lovely song with a clear message to society
This is a title song & one could see a cheerful MGR coming back to his native with a yellow full arm shirt & blazer on his shoulder casually running with full of enthusiasm !
He never spared any chance to convey his social messages . The song captivates me with punch lyrics :
naan en pirandhen
nattukku nalam enna purindhen
endru nalum pozhdum vazum varayil ninaithidu en thoza
ninaithu seyal padu enthoza… udane seyal padu en thoza !
Midway, he comes across a trio of drunkards & pleads them :
Ippadi kudichi kudichi nerathe veenakureengale . Indha nerathula naatukku edhavadhu nalladhu seyya koodadha ?
The drunkard guys scream at him :
Nadaamla nadu . Nadu engalukku enna senjichu ?
Now its MGR’s turn :
nadena seidhadhu namakku . ena kelvigal ketpadhu edharku ?
nee enna seidha adharku ena ninaithal nanmai unakku !
A sold response from MGR seem to convince the guys & immediately they break the liquor bottles !
Next he passes by a river side & sings :
malayil pirandha nadhiyal , makkal dhagam theerndhadhu
marathil pirandha kaniyal , avar pasiyum thanindhadhu
kodiyil pirandha malaral engum vasam thavanzdhadhu
While completing the above words, now he comes across 2 guys playing cards & adu puli aatam . Now he asks them :
annai madiyil pirandha unal enna payan dhaan vilaindhadhu ?
Again immediate response – the 2 guys move away convincingly !
Finally he reaches a roadside wherein a school going boy was getting beaten by his mother .
MGR immediately picks up the books & caringly puts them inside his bag & tells a lovely message to the boy :
pathu thingal sumandhale aval perumai pada vendum
unnai petradhanal aval matravarale potra pada vendum
katravar sabayil unakaga thani idamum thara vendum
un kannil oru thuli neer vandhalum, ulagam aza vendum !
Now this boy also takes the bag from MGR & goes to the school cheerfully while his mother gives a happy look !
Just through this song, MGR gives solid advice to 3 set of characters !
Having achieved some success in reforming , MGR, cheerfully runs further to reach his village
The entire song gets picturised in a nice , simple, clean manner in some hill side
This was one exceptional movie wherein he played the character of a middle aged man with slightly grown up children & in pursuit of money .
No fight scenes !
A landmark album for Shankar Ganesh
It was big risk for Makkal thilagam to have ventured into such a type of movie sans fighting , romance , love duets , dream songs !
You will never see that normal aggressive Makkal thilagam but the body language of a matured man , middle aged with all the etiquette & simplicity
I was really stunned by his performance
IMO, MGR did extremely well as an actor, proved everyone that he could also play character roles comfortably
Unfortunately, this movie didn’t do that well at the Box office
And MG went back to his action oriented roles
Its really sad & unfortunate to see Makkal thilagam’s name being tarnished time & again in NT’s thread .
Even some senior hubbers & knowledgeable guys there seem to target Pon mana chemmal either directly or indirectly which doesn’t augur well
To my knowledge, NT-MG had shared excellent off screen relationship sans their political rivalry
If MG had been so wicked or bad, more than 2 million wouldn’t have come to pay last respects .
MG was highly respected as a politician by the Delhi based politicians & I personally witnessed 2 PRIME MINISTERS :
A. A paralysed MGR was visited by the then PM Indira Gandhi & I watched her zip past the Mt. Road with her arms showing Vanakkam to all of us
B. Within few days after her assassination, Rajiv Gandhi , who took charge as PM, also visited Apollo hospital to find out the status of the LEGEND . This time, I saw Rajiv near Saidapet junction
Makkal thilagam always maintained a cordial relationship with union government to ensure he gets the best
The entire Tamil nadu was praying for his welfare & the song AANDAVANE UN PADHANGALAI was being played all through the state purely for the below lyrics :
ULLAMADHIL ULLAVARAI
ALLITHARUM NALLAVARAI
VINNULAGAM VAA ENDRAAL
MANNULAGAM ENNAGUM
MGR's towering personality as A GOOD HUMAN BEING was recognized by none other than KANCHI PERIYAR Shri Chandra Sekaraendra Saraswathi Swamigal
Upon his death, the Seer asked all temples of TN to do A MOKSHA DEEPAM as a mark of respect for the great leader of the masses !
At this moment, I recollect one incident when MGR pays a visit to the Seer & while they were conversing, a huge crowd gets formed .
On seeing the crowd growing uncontrollably, the Seer says to MGR :
Ivargal ellam ungala paarka thaan vadhirukaa ! Dhayavu seidhu avargalai parungal !
It was MGR who launched SATHUNAVU THITTAM , a fine tuned version of Perum thalaivar Kamaraj’s mid day meal scheme & though several guys tried to destabilize that wonderful scheme, it still went on successfully. This scheme of MGR inspired other states as well & I remember some states implementing it following MGR’s path .
It was MGR’s PERSISTENT EFFORTS LIKE BAGIRATHAN TO BRING IN WATER , STRUCK AN UNDERSTANDING WITH THE THEN CM OF ANDHRA – the great NTR AND TELUGU GANGA ( Krishna water ) WAS BORN
Though this project took a very long time to complete due to various political games & financial constraints, it finally got completed & one could see some water passing through now.
If Krishna gets enough water, one can witness the free flow to Chennai also
I wish & pray that the benefits of this project is reaped in the long run , it will benefit both the states AS A LONG TERM SOLUTION
MGR’s 2 path breaking policies were torn to smithreeens by THANKLESS VOTERS :
1. MG reintroduced PROHIBITION ON LIQUOR
2. Introduced ECONOMIC CRITERION for getting admission in colleges
Both were not taken in the best spirits & he paid a heavy price for this . Subsequently, he had to withdraw both measures & had to continue like any other politician
Makkal thilagam might have been a bad man for a couple but was a Kadavul to crores of people
Whether he had contributed anything positive as a politician or not is immaterial but THROUGH HIS MEANINGFUL SONGS, MGR HAD ALREADY DONE HIS PART
His movies are still popular with the masses & one could witness heavy crowds & shows running to second weeks even now !
Whether as a movie maker or as a politician or as a human being , Makkal thilagam rules supreme
We cannot get another MGR !
Desr Balaji,
When you said that some people are tarnishing the image of MGR in NT's thread, I don't know whether you meant me. I don't think myself or anybody for that matter would want to speak ill of a person who is no more. But in NT's political innings, while narrating some incidents that had happened during that time, some comments I have quoted. Well I thought ,when you are documenting History, some need to be said. You had highlighted 2 of MGR's policies (Prohibition and Reservation on economic criteria) which I had explained in detail. So I have been true to History as for as my knowledge is concerned putting both good and the bad in thr thread.. If you remember when Rajesh KRV came out with a request earlier regarding the same topic, I had given him a long reply. So nothing is intentional from my part. But if it had hurt you (mine or someone else) sorry.
PS: Is this the reason for which you are not visiting/contributing to NT's thread nowadays?
s balaji :thumbsup: :clap: :clap: :2thumbsup:
where are you selvakumar :?:
vanthu whistleladeenga selvakumar