MADDY, Hi
I don't have the habit of watching Ajith Kumar movies.. unless the movie is too good.. I might go and watch Kireedam and billa..
I was able to see an intended pun in your statement, anyways :)
Printable View
MADDY, Hi
I don't have the habit of watching Ajith Kumar movies.. unless the movie is too good.. I might go and watch Kireedam and billa..
I was able to see an intended pun in your statement, anyways :)
'guruhttp://sify.com/movies/tamil/fullstory.php?id=14369392'-going great guns!
`Guru`- Going great guns!
By Moviebuzz | Tuesday, 16 January , 2007, 18:02
Mani Ratnam’s Guru’s Hindi version is going great guns in his home town Chennai and in Kerala. The Tamil version of Guru is above average in the towns of Coimbatore and Salem, but in smaller centers it is a washout.
In Chennai, for the Pongal weekend (Jan 12 to 15) the Hindi version has grossed an awesome 98 percent at Sathyam Cinemas, an impressive 92 percent at Ega and 90 percent at Mayajaal. This proves that the Mani brand is intact and he has a huge fan following in Chennai.
And in Kerala, at Ernakulam Sridhar Guru touched the magic 100 percent, and in Tiruvananthapuram Sri Visakh a record breaking 98 percent for the weekend (Jan 12 to 14). Please note that in Kerala, Dhirubhai Ambani on whom the film is based, is truly a legend. A lot of people in the state grew rich by investing on the Reliance shares in the late 80’s.
At Ernakulam and Tiruvananthapuram, the film has been trimmed by 11 minutes. The boring post interval celebration song Ek Lo Ek Muft… has been removed along with Madhavan proposing to Vidya Balan including the smooching scene.
Now with Abhishek- Aishwarya engagement announced, Guru is going to be the biggest gainer, as advance booking for the film in Chennai has gone up.
The views expressed in the article are the author's and not of Sify.com.
Print | Mail | Post your comments | Rate this Feature
http://www.time.com/time/arts/articl...8636-1,00.html
by Richard Corliss.
The entire article shows how much he enjoyed and analysed MR's films.
Guru, a fine polyester :thumbsup: :notworthy:
athu!!! :lol: mani enna 'kokka'?? :bluejump: :thumbsup: :2thumbsup: :clap: :clap:Quote:
Originally Posted by Scale
Thanks for the link. Iam frankly surprised by how much Corliss has been into Mani's films. In his reviews he constantly switches between Hollywood and Hindi refernces which is uncommon for a writer from his part of the world. He probably watches more desi films than anyone else.
Its puzzling to figure out Mani's popularity in Bollywood(where big stars are willing to slash their salaries and sometimes even their wrists to work for Mani) and abroad, when his best(both commercially and artistically) has always been in Tamil films. Guess some of his themes seem to have an universal appeal, coupled with the treatment he gives them. And that's what probably helps.
this is AR RAHMAN forum... or MANI RATNAM forum.... ?????? :confused2:
I heard the "Barso re" played repeatedly on FM channels. I find it pretty ordinary, despite good singing and esp the first charanam tune seems to be like a filler. May be the other songs match the hype.
Theen ganta munafa (three hours of profit) :D
When Maniratnam gave a lack lustre Yuva/Ayutha Ezhuthu, his fans and critics were stunned into a silence. The same silence is observed after the climax of Guru as well, the only difference being the silence for Guru is due to speechlessness that audience undergo after watching such an intense yet positive film. All those doubts – is Gautam better than Mani, is Cheran better than Mani, are Ameer/Selva better than Mani have been clearly answered by Mani in this movie. He clearly shows that he is still the best director in India, depicting powerful human beings/concepts with subtle underlying human emotions.
Abhishek Bachan: Have we found the next Aamir for bollywood? This is the feeling i got after enjoying his performance as the Villager, young restless youth, unconventional businessman, tremendous believer of abilities. He perfectly enacts a typical maarwadi/Gujarati businessman who have business acumen of a Harvard pass out but an unconventional/funny way of talking like a ordinary suburban train traveler in Mumbai. The most difficult part in this exhilaratingly complex role for Abhishek was to live as a Gujarati business icon and do things naturally. I consider this as a success for Abhishek as I failed to see him but could only see Gurubhai in those 3 hours. Take a bow Abhishek , for pulling off a performance that spans 40 years, with ease.
Maniratnam: If Abhishek is the foreground process in this success story then Maniratnam is the vital background process. He towers over his much younger and illustrious compatriots in fusing the human emotions with powerful storyline. The scene where Abhishek sees his Vidya as Maddy’s vidya is a testimony to my fact that mani is “The Master”. And don’t think this is some boring documentary story about a Gujarati businessman, Mani arrests you with his powerful story telling in the second half. Movie has so much depth in terms of sequences and emotions, mani tops it with a tinge of positive attitude. Truly, Form is temporary and class is permanent.
Script/Screenplay: The screenplay which was the most feared about in such period biopics was surprisingly swift and interesting. First half sets you up for the second half and the second half with Maddy’s youthful yet small role quickens up to a lively interesting pace. The people who were giving cat calls in the first half, couldn’t help themselves clapping in the second half for the powerful climax/pre-climax scenes. Maniratnam has scored a 10/10 in this aspect. Though it had many similarities to Dhirubhai’s life history, it showed more truth than false unlike his earlier flick Iruvar. And to all those people who think climax and some sequences were far from truth, you are wrong. They are close to truth and it all happened in a man’s life some 15 yrs back.
A.R.Rahman/Rajeev Menon: It seemed that these 2 premier technicians had a fight amongst themselves as to who will dish out the worst performance in the movie. ARR’s BGM was not really upto the standards, though jaage hain bits in the background were as effective as Abhishek bachan in some scenes. And as far Rajeev sir, I was really expecting a cinematographic marvel from this man and could find none. The camera work in Barso re (parts) and the abhishek-stroke scenes stood out. Tere bina was picturised badly to say the least. Ay hairathe was cut – maniratnam special as usual :evil: . Songs placing were also bad. Best choreographed song was surprisingly “Yammo yammo” song. Mani hasn’t given much scope to ARR in this movie and ARR didn’t fill the space aptly given to him. Rajeev menon - Disappointment.
Ash/Maddy/Vidya/Mithun: Get ready for a great Aishwarya performance in this movie. She has bettered her performance in Iruvar. Her love chemistry with Abhi baby is something to watch out for in the movie – after all they were in love when this movie was getting shot. Madhavan, who seems to be the messiah for small roles :cry: has done a great job in pepping up the movie. His romance with Vidya is so good, that you feel its real. :wink: Vidya balan’s emotionally packed role is the Mani touch in the movie. Mithunda – just like our dada in Indian team. He does the role of Ramnath Goenka sorry Manekdas Gupta :wink: to perfection. To many bollywood critics/movie watchers, he showed why he has won national awards before. The fringe actors have done their part in sprucing up the movie.
Flaws:
Lack of depth in showing Guru’s growth
Some scenes were stretched to get to the point
Misplaced emotions in some scnes
All in all, a great positive, interesting movie which is a must watch for all audiences. The movie is all about Human victory over inability and doubts/fear. If you watch it then you are in Profit :lol:
4.5/5
'Guru' music review in Nilacharal.com
http://www.nilacharal.com/enter/revi...review_296.asp
:bluejump: :thumbsup:
AHAAA!!!!'GURU' HIT :thumbsup: :bluejump: :notworthy: :clap: :yes:
Rediff's this week's Box Office says Guru has posed an average collection.
:cry:
guys guys, i saw aaj tak channel yesterday morning....they told Guru's production cost was some Rs.15 crores.......within 2 weeks, movie has collected Rs.20 crores and overseas report is pending which should fetch nearly 5 crores......now, endha madayan calls it a flop??Quote:
Originally Posted by Fliflo
this is just for 2 weeks...... :D .....Guru is surely a hit 8-) ......give it back to those who call it a flop.... :arrow:
endha madayan calls it a flop??
Great respect. Words show your mind.
the news clipping I gave is from rediff. If that info is wrong and what you have said is correct then good for the makers. Otherwise, I still don't understand why you feel jingositic. Who really cares if it's a hit or not?
fiflo maddy wasnt calling u a madaiyan, he was calling the rediff editors madaiyan for posting the wrong information. If u think we shouldnt care if its a hit or not, then why did u post the news in the first place that its only average? chill man, and have fun with the music of guru.
REDIFF COM. ONLY GIVES NEGATIF NEWS ABT. GURU,MUSIC REVIEW'LA IRUNTHU,MOVIE REVIEW VARAIKKUM CONDERM PANNI KITTUTHAN IRUKANGGA. :hammer: ALWAYS SIFY.COM THAN INTHA MATHIRI VELAI ELLAM SEVANNGA.AVANGGALE 'GURU HIT'INNU SOLLARANGGA INNUM ENNA FLOP????'GURU DEF. HIT' :thumbsup:
MR.FLIFLO,madayan'innu maddy sonnathu unngala illai sir!!! :lol: appadiye unngala sonnatha neenga nenachalum,unnga comment padicha unmaiya kuda irunthalum irukalam pola theriyuthu :lol: :lol:Quote:
"If u think we shouldnt care if its a hit or not, then why did u post the news in the first place that its only average?"
I thought this thread is to post everything about Guru as the title says. If it is only for oilers and soapers then I will surf for only such articles from now on.
"appadiye unngala sonnatha neenga nenachalum,unnga comment padicha unmaiya kuda irunthalum irukalam pola theriyuthu"
Madayargal sabaiyil ellarume madayarkal thaan.
r u trying to peck a fight?Quote:
Rediff is run by purists who don't give a damn about masala films. Give them a "different" film like Dor or a Munna Bhai and they'll shut up. Especially Raja Sen, who's in denial of hating SRK in general. They're partial to Mani Ratnam and all, but they aren't trade analysts.
Anyways, indiafm confirms that GURU is a box-office hit and holds 1st position. With SEI arriving this weekend, it may or may not pose a threat to Mani's film, but from Taran's review and trade verdict, it seems that GURU will continue it's dream run till EkLavya or HTPL arrives.
So it's safe to say that GURU is a super-hit.
r u trying to peck a fight?
nope. just friendly fire
Fliflo - i was referring Rediff and not you.....Period....Quote:
thats worse than enemy fire. our own man fireing at us.Quote:
a.r.rahman music panna movie hit aana 'ORU SILARUKKU MANDAIYE VALIKKUM' :huh: pola!!! :rotfl:
Bollywood film Guru opens the door to Indian movies
TINA DEPKO
Lively conversation about the continued success of the Bollywood flick Guru filled the air at a Brampton media screening Wednesday night.
Although it has been nearly two weeks since thousands of fans flooded the streets around Toronto's Elgin Theatre for the film's world premiere, Guru continues to bring in big box office dollars.
Guru is attracting major attention as the first Indian film to mark its world-premiere in a Canadian city. It is also monumental for the Bollywood biz as this is the first Indian movie to be picked up by a major Canadian distributor.
Roger Nair, one of the people responsible for making this all happen, was all smiles at the Brampton screening.
"It is overwhelming and it is beautiful," laughed the Mississauga-based film distributor in an interview with The Brampton Guardian. "I believe Canada is ready for this type of film. Canada is actually very receptive to any good film."
Nair screens more than 800 Bollywood films each year. Guru came highly recommended, predominantly because it is by renowned director Mani Ratnam (Bombay, A Peck on the Cheek). Abhishek Bachchan and Aishwarya Rai, two of India's hottest actors, give it star power, while reputable composer A. R. Rahman (The Lord of the Rings musical) provides the soundtrack.
However, it is really the storyline that convinced Nair to take the risk.
The Hindi-language movie traces the rise of a poor village boy to the head of the most successful business in India. Add several song and dance numbers and you have a powerful Bollywood film.
"It is a success story," Nair said. "Every time there is a rags-to-riches story, you feel good and you can relate to that person somehow or you want to be them."
Guru is currently running in 16 theatres across Canada. It is slated to open in four more theatres in the coming weeks, including Halifax, which is a major breakthrough, according to Nair.
"We're going to be opening this film in a locale where no Indian film has ever opened," Nair exclaimed. "The East Coast is very white, but I think it is going to make it there. It is very encouraging to see a response like that."
Guru is among the highest grossing films in the world at the moment, winning over fans from many different cultures.
Mayor Susan Fennell added herself to the growing fan club Wednesday night after what was her first Bollywood experience.
"I have been around people involved in the Bollywood productions, but this is the first time I've seen an entire movie," she told The Guardian after the screening. "It was one of the best movies I've seen in years. There was fun, laughing and dancing, and then there were parts that were sad and moving. It was extraordinary and really fabulous."
Nair said Guru is a film that brings Canadians together.
"I was at a theatre in downtown Toronto the other day watching it, and there were all age groups and it was beautiful," he recalled. "It is just like when I go and watch good Hollywood films and see everybody there-- you'll see Indian people, Chinese people, white people-- you see everybody."
The Canadian distributor is currently in negotiations to bring as many as five more Bollywood films to Canadian theatres in the near future, possibly as early as April. He thinks Guru has opened the door for Bollywood in this country.
"I foresee Canada becoming the next U.K.," he predicted. "In the U.K., our films usually hit the top five. I'm talking when you compare it with Hollywood. In Germany, the Bollywood films are much bigger than Hollywood films. I think Canada, on a whole, is a truly multicultural society. We really appreciate anything that comes out of anywhere. We are truly a global village."
http://www.northpeel.com/br/entertai...-4462212c.html
Quote:
Originally Posted by sat_srini
Jan 29 Box Office results
http://specials.rediff.com/movies/2007/jan/29box.htm
Boxoffice results from Indiafm - says guru is a hit
http://www.indiafm.com/trade/top5/index.html
http://www.indiafm.com/trade/domesti...ice/index.html
http://www.indiafm.com/trade/oversea...ice/index.html
Top ten albums -
http://www.indiafm.com/features/2007...172/index.html
Watched Guru for the second time at INOX.. This time in hindi....
http://www.indiafm.com/movies/boxoff...838/index.html
regionwise breakup of Guru's collections..... :D
it seems another 15-20 crores will come in overseas.... :shock: ......which will push up the collection to approx 40-45 crores...... :shock: .......Guys dont forget that production cost is just 15 crores.....
time to rejoice i guess..... :D
sweet news :thumbsup: :bluejump: :redjump:Quote:
Originally Posted by sat_srini
Guru's success (audio) continues .....
http://www.indiafm.com/features/2007...196/index.html
Shauk hai..A small song in Guru which comes as BGM for Maddy-Vidya scenes
http://d.turboupload.com/de/1492317/012q8f2973.html
guru continues to dominate the southern region but is not seen first in other regions. Guru is second in west but only 4th in north and east.
http://www.boxofficeindia.com/musiclatest.htm
Lets hope Guru catches up to atleast 2nd position in east and north.
Yaaraavathu intha song kaetteenglaa?Quote:
Originally Posted by Ramakrishna
i am totally addicted to this number. For the past one hour I have been listening to this song over and over again even though it is a short song. This song should have been extended and used as a main song.
it's TOO COOLLLLLLL....... i heard it :D :cool:Quote:
Maddy-Vidya scenes kept coming in ur brain??? :wink:Quote:
Wow, its so good..... 8-) .......i really liked the Vidya balan track in the movie......it was a important track to show Guru is not just a businessman but a man of emotions too......and ARR's BGM/this song for Vidya was too good.....
i guess ARR-Maniratnam combo have reached a new height in understanding each other........did i hear Mani is looking for someone else as MD?? never is he gonna change ARR in his life.... :wink: